Nancy, Develyn and bee,
Thanks for support.. Juz sometimes u cant help it coz we have feelings afterall..But have to be strong i guess.

Lyn, BlesswwBB and baby,
I have high metabolism too.. Drink milk, milo, eat alot but hardly put on weight. My mum was also like that.. But she put on weight after she gave birth to me.. Have to be strong i guess.

Thanks for being here gals..*hugz* Need all the positive energy n have to stay away from insensitive ppl.

As for all of u best of luck too k? We have to be strong.

Itjabi, me too.. same as you. No matter what I eat or how much I eat, I'm still skinny. I'm super underweight. But don't worry too much. I have a friend who is very skinny too and she gave birth to 2 healthy babies also. We must stay happy and don't bother what others say. As long as we stay healthy, skinny or not, doesn't really matter

Dear Itjabi ,

Yes.. all of us here have the same goals and facing diffrent levels of difficulties with family , friends , hubby and colleagues.. as long as we are POSITIVE... :D

develyn, baby,

thanks for your encouraging words...

yup, initially tot we can go ahead with IVF as my side able to sustain if we strike. basically i've already paid most of the pre-IVF tests and consultation fees already....

now, my concern is after strike... cos my hubby side income is not stable so sometimes have to use my side to sustain the household expenses etc and committments....

so, i also quite stressed if strike, then how...

wait will be very stressed for the both of us etc.... *sigh*

and sometimes when i talk to him about this, he says "chuan dao qiao tou zi ran zhi". but sometimes his comments make me think like i'm forcing the IVF thru and like not appropriate time like that....

cos i also know he quite stressed with his starting of biz and funds also very tied up...

i very dilemna now... today AF reported already...

so, tonight will have to discuss with him. if feel that now is not the right time to start, then i will forget it and resume life as per normal and just be prepared that it will always just be us two....

sorry, if i'm giving negative vibes... just that there is no one i can talk to about this and this is also a sensitive issue which i dread to talk to hubby about....

so, i feeling depressed over it... he also don know... cos i don't really want to tell him. wait become like a burden like that...

i just tell myself that if no BB... life still goes on lor...

the rest of you, be positive and i sincerely wish you all will get you BFP BFP soon!!! ^_^

What does it means when a person who is on puregon for 6 days and the follicles grow to size of 16mm? 16mm is the ideal size for er. Does it means she is reacting well to puregon?

Hi Baby

Aiya, I think you are 3 weeks ahead of me even in stage 1. Have you started your stimulation jabs, as you are feeling bloated?

Is this your first time on assisted reproduction methods?

wy

Develyn
I once bought one in pharmacy. Cant remember how much abt $60 for 6-7 sticks. That one very clear cut and digital. Ovulate there will be a Face but not smiling if ovulating it's a happy smily face like this

U can use this together with measuring the basal tempt every am. That one helps too. Gathering the BT chart, ovualation kit and Dr Zou prediction, u can try optimal with best timing. As for the rest for the time, let ur hubby rest. His sperm quality and production will be better too. Jia you but dun stress urself out. Take it as a chance but if fail dun give up. Try again next month

December
It's good to communicate to ur hubby abt this IVF path but men is like that. They only say a few words and we go like non stop for minutes and hrs. Dun take it that he is not concern or dun care but u or this IVF path.

He is not wrong to say the chinese "boat at dock "saying but too us maybe like he doesnt really bother. They do but cant say more if not stresses u even more.

I think since u decided on this and paid some money on tests and all. Go ahead and try. Stay positive. If really pregnant, then discuss further. If now if keep thinking abt all these issues it dosent help much.. Take care and hugs

Hi December

So sorry to hear about all these struggles that you have within yourself and with your husband. My advice to you is that if he is not ready, do not start on ivf, as you need to be 100% committed and strong to go thru' this treatment. Seems like his reasons for not wanting to start is financial. I don't know how old you guys are but we should try to start not too late as both male/female fertility declines with age. Also, if you're a parent later in life, you will also have less energy taking care of yr children and seeing them to adulthood. You should have a good talk with him if he can live with not having children at all. If both of you are not agreeable on that, then I don't think you shld start on ivf. For me, my husband has always wanted children but I wanted to go natural if possb becos I'm afraid of the side effect of those hormone drugs on our bodies, esp when I have history of breast cancer in my family.

I wish you success in your discussion with hubby.

wy

December
It's good to communicate to ur hubby abt this IVF path but men is like that. They only say a few words and we go like non stop for minutes and hrs. Dun take it that he is not concern or dun care but u or this IVF path.

He is not wrong to say the chinese "boat at dock "saying but too us maybe like he doesnt really bother. They do but cant say more if not stresses u even more.

I think since u decided on this and paid some money on tests and all. Go ahead and try. Stay positive. If really pregnant, then discuss further. If now if keep thinking abt all these issues it dosent help much.. Take care and hugs

Hi Boon

Thanks for your well-wishes and I also wish the same for you in all your treatments, which leads to the same goal as for all of us.

wenyih

I don't know if any of you are have the same experience. I am not motivated in my job but am there just for the money. I am by nature ambitious, so difficult for me to be less on the ball. BUt as I am due to start on ivf, perhaps it is better to be more chilled-off, esp my co is going thru' merger. My husband ask me to think of my salary as savings for our future babies. I will try to focus on that but find it hard.

any advice?
thanks,
Wy

nancy, wy,

thanks for your advice...

sometimes i just think he's too busy with his startup of his biz and also maintaining of biz.... so this IVF thing seems like we started off at the wrong timing...

cos becos like become he so busy with his biz things still must bother abt this IVF thing...

both of us wants children but it always seems that i'm more proactive in such things. maybe like nancy says he doesn't know how to express himself or he has so many things to do unlike me... haa...

anyway, tonight have to discuss then see how lor... cos actually nurse also pre-booked a slot for me in March liaoz... i was all ready to go for it but now also ???

anyway, enough of me...

hope to hear good news from you guys soon!!! ^_^

hi blesswBB

Just back from my final jab. Was told tummy will get even more bloated.. starting to feel it already. Ya, like a few months pregnant liao! I ate quite a lot lately too. When I last weighed myself after ER, I was 2Kg heavier. Dun dare to weigh now. Hubby consoled "well, you will be heavier each day till delivery!" haha

Btw, they told me to drink prune juices to avoid constipation. Start with a small cup in alternate days.

Hi LYn,

TFC uses pregnyl to sustain the pregnancy. I didnt ask them the details but develyn's explanation sound logical and correct

December,

Let your husband know that there will never be a perfect time to go thru' ivf and have babies. I really think he is not ready, financial wise or not. In that case, you have compromise and give him some time.

Good luck

Hi December,

Not too stress yourself. Sometime we think no money a lot of thing we can't do. Especially when we talk about IVF or TCM treatment etc..

Maybe you can approach your family members, if their financially not too tight.

Hi WY,

I have the same experience. As initially I wanted to start IVF treatment in early this year, I quit Banking job to work as a secretary early this year. In fact, this is not my first time to let go a good job, I had a similar experience 3 yr ago. My pay was cut more than half.

Anyway, since you are starting IVF, I think it is better to relax and rest well. I have started to give myself a relax time even I am not in IVF treatment now. Example I am enjoying follow the thread to learn more inf from you all. Get to go back home earlier to cook a good meal for hubby and myself.

December
I am also the one who talk a lot while my hubby is the quiet one. But that doesn't mean they dun care! Men are just not good at expressing themselves... Am sure ur hubby cares

Sorry, but it seemed to me that you want the baby badly while ur hubby is okay with/without a baby in the family. however, he is willing to fulfill ur wish to hv a baby, else he wont hv said "the boat / dock" phrase.

For your case, I would think there are bound to be other things in life that both of u worry about now and till at least end of financial crisis which no one can tell when. But I do think that if both of you are determined and committed to go thru this tough time together, somehow, both will have this power / energy to wave thru the storm!

Yes, pl communicate and discuss with your hubby tonight. I will advise that you to embark on IVF journey only if both are fully committed cos otehr than financials, u will need the emotional and mental support from ur hubby during the journey.

Oh, pls dun shoulder all the worries urself. Let him share ur load and u could share his load too! At times like this, a massage on the shoulder or a pat on his cheek, work better than words!

All the best!

hi bee,

yes, i do that most of the time to my hubby... keke...

cos i'm more expressive than him... he's more of the quiet sort which can really frustrate when you need his opinion etc...

Wy
Just my views : Not sure if you know what is ur passion... I think most people work for money and good working evnironment only, not the work itself! We are in the generation where most choose the fields that fetch the best career prospect ($$$) and not base on self-interest or passion. I guess most likely bcos we dun really know what we like to do (easier to know what we dun like)... so, we end up following the majorities / external forces. With the many commitments in life esp after marriage (housing loans, car loans, insurance etc), we are also more risk adverse!

If your family can afford u to be jobless, u can take the opportunity to do some "soul-searching" and do things that u like while doing ur IVF. Otherwise, bear with it and learn to let go.

December
That's so sweet of u... i do that too! heehee! Have a good talk with him okay? tell him what u want and hear what he wants... am sure both of u will work out something! Cheers!

Dec, this is a real tough decision to make. At times i also have baby vs fiancial debate within myself. One side of me see others having a child i m full of envy and wanted a bb of my own too but the other side of me feels so lucky that i m burden free and enjoy shopping whenever i want to. I fully understand ur dilemma.But at the end of the day whats most important is the agreement between husband and wife coz we cant be self fish and make a decision only to one party satisfaction.
Have a good talk with ur hubby and see u should proceed to ivf now or give both of u a certain time to save up more first.If u feels that this ivf is giving u fiancial stress then i think u shld go to govt hosptial coz i myself used to c dr foong at gleneagle but decided to go kk coz of the govt grant. A/c to my frd who did ivf in kk she only pay less then 1k whereas gleneagles need cash abt 8-10k. Save this 8-10k for ur delivery, bb or for rainy days.
I believed since u have already made the first move to go for consultation for ivf it already shows ur desire in having a bb juz that now u r confused coz of money.But again i agreed with wat other ladies had said, it is better to have a child as young as possible due to our health declining year afer year

Ya i agree most ppl work for the sake of money and rarely ppl work for interest. Interest in long running u will feel meaning coz there is always other new challenges somewhere else. For me i work truly for the income and also for the less stressful environment which is definitely a plus point for ppl like us who is trying so hard to conceive.

Hi Boon Boon ,

Ok , i will guess that passwords .. haha cos i didn't use that email address most of the time :p

Hi December ,

Follow your heart and dun get stress up okie..
All the best for a big talks with hubby.. my hubby is quiet too and the answer always comes , if u want it .. we go for it together.. keke..

Hi Nancy / Bee / Boon Boon ,

Sure .. i will give my hubby big rest.. meanwhile will try to check the ovulation time by the chart and temperature.. :D

Bee,
How many jabs of pregnyl did u have? How many units is given? I was given 1000IU for 3 times every 3 days gap. Yesterday was my last jab. How come yours so fast last jab liao? Do u still need to have bloodtest in between your 2WW?

December,
Since u already half way thru, talk to your hubby abt it and not stress too much. Guys tend to talk less and don express much. Good luck.

BlesswBB
I am not sure what is the dosage. I had one on the day of ET (14 Feb) and one today. Two and that's it! I dun need to take any bloodtest in between my 2ww. Do you need to? hmmm.... why so different huh?

baby
It is normal to feel bloated and full after every meal. Me too! I snacked a lot during GonalF stage (eqv to ur puregon). I am at 2ww stage now. You can brewed some ginger tea to reduce the bloatedness. Dun buy off-the shelf from those chinese medicine shops cos those may have other herbs in it which are not good for pregnant woman

Wah .. feels like I haven't been in here for so long liao! Was back in SIN last week, then went for a short trip to Phuket to celebrate my hubby's b'day on V-Day. Nice relaxing time ... too bad not "fertile" day, else can try one last time. haha!

Oh! Went to see Dr Zou also. Hmm ... do you ladies feel any pressure or pain when doing the acupuncture (when she hook you up to that electrical jolt thingy). Cos the one on my right leg feels a bit painful after a while, and the 2 on my lower abdomen gives a little "crampy" sensation midway through the 20mins acu. But her herbal drink is bearable. The one I got from Dr Tan was 10x worse - more bitter, more black and thicker too!! Will visit her again on my next trip back in March. She gave me the herbal drinks for 2 mths' worth.

Finally got great news. Boss confirmed that I'd be posted back to SIN on 30Apr
*grin grin grin* I'm so happy! Looks like everything will be on track, and I should be able to start my Stage 1 in early May after my Apr AF cycle. Wooooohooooo! So excited!

Sori ladies, kinda ranting a bit, cos just feels very happy about being able to come back finally! Heh.

Hi WY Koo, I just started my stage 1 injection few days ago only.

Twinstars, I'm new to this thread too. I'm in stage 1, only a few days ahead of you

bee, I'm in stage 1 only leh but already feel very bloated since the injection
I suppose the bloatness will be worse in stage 2??? Oh no...

bee, good luck to you
Hope you will strike and spread some baby dust to us!!!
Remember to relax and don't carry any heavy stuffs and don't walk too much.
Rest well and enjoy the 2ww

Dec, going through IVF need a lot of support from the husband. So you gotta have a good talk with him.
Hope you and your husband can come out with a decision soon

I have tried unsuccesfully for a year to have another baby naturally...I am very disappointed and moody for the many failed cycles and this frustrated my hb that he suggested we go for IVF.

Under what infertilty circumstance should one consider IVF?

It's seem like a complicated and complex process and I feel you girls are very brave....

Hi! baby,

Same here.Watever i eat also no use. Have u started ur Stage 1 yet? Im starting on the 24th of Feb.

Hi! Twinstars,
Maybe we can be cycle buddies.

All the women,

Thanks for ur support. Really appreciate it..

Hi Stileto, you may want to see a gynae and hear what the doctor say.

Some couples have no problem but just cannot conceive, so IUI / SO-IUI is one option for them, before they go for IVF.
For ladies with blocked tube & men with low sperm count, doctor will suggest IVF too.

We have been through the same disappointment and frustration as you before we go for IVF.
In fact, we wasted a lot of money seeing private gynaes for about 2 years but none of the gynae wanted to do IVF for us. They keep asking us to try naturally and ask me to take clomid for months. Still no good news, so decided to head straight to KKH and the doctor suggested us to go for IVF since we are not getting any younger. Finally can start my IVF program!!! Happy!

Have to go through a checkup and take a few blood tests. The doctor may suggest you to go for HSG to check if your tube is blocked.

I don't find the injection for stage 1 scary. It is not painful also. In fact, I feel that the days pass very fast. I'm already having the injection for almost a week already
Not sure about stage 2. Hope it won't be painful too ;p

If you are uncomfortable going through the IVF at this point of time, don't force yourself. Grab more information from the gynae before you decide.

Itjabi, I started few days ago already

Jia you and let's prove to our friends that we skinny people have no problem getting pregnant!!! Hee..

Hi Lyn,
Saw your question on the FSH level.... I thought FSH level varies depending on when you did the test during the cycle... My gynae prefer us to do the blood test during our Day 2. Thus below i try to summarise the result interpretation. Hope it'll help.

FSH level (unit : IU/L)
Children : <6.0
Follicular Phase : 2.5 - 10.2
Mid-cycle Peak : 3.4 - 33.4
Luteal Phase : 1.5 - 9.1
Pregnant : <0.3
Postmenopausal (untreated) : 23.0 - 116.3

LH Level (unit : IU/L)
Follicular Phase : 1.9 - 12.5
Mid-cycle Peak : 8.7 - 76.3
Luteal Phase : 0.5 - 16.90
Pregnant : 0.1 - 1.5
Postmenopausal : 15.9 - 54
Contraceptives : 0.7 - 5.6

Estradiol Level (unit : pmol/L)
Menstruating Females
(by day in cycle relative to LH level)
Follicular Phase (-12): 40 - 253
Follicular Phase (-4): 231 - 606
Midcycle (-1) : 536 - 1930
Luteal Phase (+2) : 121 - 551
Luteal Phase (+6) : 250 - 719
Luteal Phase (+12) : 132 - 488
Postmenopausal (untreated) : <136

T-HCG Level (unit : mIU/mL)
Non Pregnant : <5
Grey Zone : 5 - 10
0.2 - 1 week : 10 - 50
1 - 2 weeks : 50 - 500
2 - 3 weeks : 100 - 5000
3 - 4 weeks : 500 - 10000
4 - 5 weeks : 1000 - 50000
5 - 6 weeks : 10000 - 100000
6 - 8 weeks : 15000 - 200000
2 - 3 months : 10000 - 100000

Hi develyn,
I am not doing any IVF but don't know why i came in to read.... cos i felt that i am like all of you, trying very hard to conceive.... was lucky to conceive naturally early this year but miscarriage it, body too weak to carry the baby i guess. So Dr Zou also accu the ear area?

Ah Bee,

Notti gal you suppose to be resting and lying flat as much as possible not posting.. just hang in there.. another 11 days and ou can post as much as you want.. go rest ok. So has the baby attached herself/himself to the wall of your womb? Guess the scan and the blood test can tell rite? Those 'tonic' injections are very painful as they do not contain powder but oil... it is a booster to help in pregnancy. The doc injected that on me every alternate days for a week during my last miscarriage trying to save the baby...damn painful... worse then 700ml of puregon.

Baby,
I am waiting for my next menus to come then I can start again for the cycle. But this time round, after my D1 menus, they will inject me with puregon. I can rest and wait another month then start the cycle but I have decided not to wait. As for the question of age, I am definately more then 37 but I am not giving in cause of that. Every single egg is hope
As much as everyone here, I am still hanging on and trying.

I went back to my chinese doc to help me this week before my menus will come after my first ivf cycle. It will help strenghen my body for the next cycle.
Wish me luck that I have more healthy eggs next

Bluegal,

Build up your body first. I had 2 natural miscarriages also. Body was not strong enough as well.

As for those who are worried being commented about too fat or too skinny, don't bother about that. Who cares about skinny or fat, ultimately it's the end result to see the bundle of joy that makes a difference in our lives
As long as you feel happy and healthy don't bother what people say

Hi bluegal, thnks for ur effort in providing the range. I did my blood test during day 1 coz day 2 is a sunday. This time the range the lab states is 3.5-16 for follicular stage so 9.5 should be consider high although it falls within the normal range. But my E2 is ok 115. So my concern is wat effect does high FSH has on ivf? Too high cant start? Wat is consider too high?

Twinstars, baby, Ltaji

My first injection for Phase 1 starts on 6 March. Yes, we can definitely encourage one another along the way! Welcome to the Phase 1 club, ladies!

You ladies are scaring me with all the bloatedness and rapid weight gaining stories during Phase 1. Is it really true?

I am trying to wear all my tight skirts/pants as much as possible as probably will not be able to wear them very soon when treatment starts, based on what you said. Haha!! Am also trying to get fit and lose some weight in preps for the weight gain.

WY

Bee, Boon &amp; LYn

Thanks for all your advice, career-wise. Yes, I guess I should learn to let go/take it easy and know what are my priorities at this moment in my life. If I am not doing IVF, I would have tried my hardest to find a more challenging/better job.
Sigh!

Hi Bee, can brewed ginger tea really reduce bloatedness? I am kinda scared becos already during my natural cycle, I get quite bloated waiting for AF to arrive. I suppose it will get worse during IVF. Can you pl explain how to brew this tea and what kinda ginger to use?

For those who have gone thru' IVF, what are the foods that we should avoid during treatment, if any?

Thanks,
wy

Hi Stileto

Just a word of encouragement. Many of us here have tried to hv babies unsuccesfully for years before we turn to IVF, so trying without success for 1 year is nothing. I know this for myself. It seemed like you are considering ivf for a 2nd baby, if I understand yr posting correctly? My advice will be to keep on trying as most p/p who managed to have babies naturally will go on to have more naturally. So, probably not a good time to do IVF.

hope this helps,
wy

Its been quite sometime since i posted. I had my ivf recently and the end result was negative. Retrieved 8 eggs and my bad luck only one could fertilize to 2 celled stage on day 3. The doctor had a talk with us prior to ET. I was so disappointed as it was not encouraging at all. So it was very disheartening and didn't have any hope during 2ww. When i met the doctor for my follow up, i was told i didn't respond much to the drugs and might be my ovarian reserve is diminishing. My heart really sagged as i was so hopeful that ivf is the final destination and i will surely succeed. Failures started striking me one after the other for past four long years. What i feel is, it really differs from person to person and not exactly what we read in ivf books. we are planning to start our next cycle once my mind and body copes up probably with higher dosage this time.
Wish you all a good luck!
I pray for all of you and lots of baby dust.

Hi Rosypink,

I know it is sad. But don't give up! Take a good rest first. Btw, may I check with you did you do any blood test (hormone test D2). if yes, I hope you don't mind to share with me. As i read high FSH or Low E2 is the cost of to have "Diminished Overian Reserve". That is why my hubby think it is not a righ time for me to do IVF...

Hi Lyn,

I have the same concern. if you did your blood test on D1 then maybe your FSH is on the high side. I was told the good range should be below 6 on D2. As for E2, not sure whether is should be so high. I can't remember where I read, it indicate the level should be below 80 or 90 on D2/3. If hormone is not good, more likely our body will not respond well to those IVF drug. Like Rosypink wrote maybe turn out to be diminished ovarian reserve. If you have chance to see your Dr, please check with them. I have schedule to see Dr Loh in March and will confirm with him since he is the expert in IVF...

Yeah rosypink, dun give up..try again..! Have a good rest first before embarking again.

I was just wondering whether anyone knows of my situation. I have went for my first scan of puregon and the doc told me that my follicles are growing fast and of size 18mm. She wants me to proceed with er immediately. My concern is..why are my follicles growing fast after only 6 days of puregon. I thot i can wait a little longer so that i can grow more eggs. Now i am worried. Any idea why? Is it because i am reacting well to the medications?

bee,
according to the nurse they have to check whether the body can produce enuf HCG. If is below the target level an increase of dosage is required. Ya lor so different. Think yours is higher dosage that y donno need to hv so many jabs. U have it on your tummy or thigh?