Hi bliss,
your ex-colleague is definitely very brave. And she is brave to try ivf for the 2nd child as well. Can imagine how much she suffered.

debz.. mabbe should start to call you babyhopes?? :p .. create a new persona...
let us know that it is still you though... nice number of eggs leh.. GROW GROW GROW!!

mala - you strong strong girl!! all the best!!

bliss - nope.. no headaches today, mabbe becos i went out.. haha.. just dizzy only... yah.. problems with bowels too.. i used to be super regular.. now.. can sit on the throne forever, but no feeling...

kalki - yah.. tell me abt it.. me and my hubby usually very independant one.. but since i start IVF, he'll kacau me every now and then.. after puking.. better still.. every 1-2 hours will kacau me..
i probably will find it irritating after awhile, but for now, since i super needy now.. am enjoying it.. hahah..

Lina,
yes, I agree. When I told her I have laparoscopy once, she told me she has gone thru 3 times! I was so shocked. I think she had the problem of getting fibroids repeatedly and had to go thru 3 different times to get rid of the fibroids. Poor thing really.
So I guess this was why she needed to keep relying on ivf to conceive as she has the difficulty to get pregnancy naturally.

babyhopes - welcome!!! >

first time updating.. so, i hope that i did it right...

stage 1: (lucrine or suprefact)
Seiki
Happyever - 8 Sep
Dwi
Grace_BB
Ivf0908
Sue-6 Oct

Stage 2: (puregon or Gonal f)
Louise - 5 Sep
Sri - 11 Sep
babyhopes - ET 20 Sep
Comfort-19 Sep

Stage 3 - 2WW:
Bliss - ET 5 Sep
Kalki - ET 11 Sep
Mel Wong- ET 11 Sep

Graduates:
Bebecraze08, Elle, Imel,
Feibb, Maykel, Juju78,
Cale, Josephine, Bakaholic,
Dimple

small change my dear mel
Seiki
Happyever - 8 Sep
Dwi
Grace_BB
Ivf0908
Sue-6 Oct

Louise - 5 Sep
Sri - 11 Sep
babyhopes - 20 Sep
Comfort-19 Sep

Stage 3 - 2WW:
Bliss - ET 5 Sep
Kalki - ET 11 Sep
Mel Wong- ET 11 Sep

Graduates:
Bebecraze08, Elle, Imel,
Feibb, Maykel, Juju78,
Dimple

Babyhopes i think you are going for er and not et right

Me blur

Seiki
Happyever - 8 Sep
Dwi
Grace_BB
Ivf0908
Sue-6 Oct

Louise - 5 Sep
Sri - 11 Sep
Comfort-19 Sep

Stage 3 - 2WW:
Bliss - ET 5 Sep
Kalki - ET 11 Sep
Mel Wong- ET 11 Sep
babyhopes - ET 20 Sep

Graduates:
Bebecraze08, Elle, Imel,
Feibb, Maykel, Juju78,
Dimple

I update the list.

Seiki
Happyever - 8 Sep
Grace_BB
Ivf0908
Sue-6 Oct

Louise - 5 Sep
Sri - 11 Sep
Dwi - 11 Sep
babyhopes - ET 20 Sep
Comfort-19 Sep

Stage 3 - 2WW:
Bliss - ET 5 Sep
Kalki - ET 11 Sep
Mel Wong- ET 11 Sep

Graduates:
Bebecraze08, Elle, Imel,
Feibb, Maykel, Juju78,
Dimple

Hi Dwi,
Yup, you are absolutely right.
You should be Stage 2. ^_^
I have update the list for you.

Hi Sue,
After ER, they only told how many egg retrieved.
Before/After ET, you can ask them how many egg fertilised and what grade are the grade. (cos normally the doc straight away go, so you better dun forget to ask this if you want know before your doctor left)
Hahaha, dun think too much. Last time I also got dream I got BFN.
Just enjoy the journey. Be Happy

Hi debz,
You can not change your UserId, your only can change your nick.
Your name in bracket is your userId. :D
Hahaha :D you create a new Id, are you?

All ladies,
In stage1 and 2 just wanted to share with you ensure is available in can now (just brought it in ntuc unityhealthcare). Tried already and it is 2.10 cents for 250ml, so it still works cheaper than the scahet of 10 for 19.90(app).
They carry straberry,choc and vanilla. It is better because you can drink it cold if you want also ready mix,so will not have issue of mixing in office.

hi december.
i'm wif lc foong at gleneagles. done one iui wif him, waiting to do second.

mel
the clouds darkened..... then bingo, the sun came out again!
in the end no rain but hot like mad. i jus returned to my study room cos it's gets the afternoon sun, much cooler now...

mala
glad that u r popping by this forum still
drop by anytime when u feel like talking k?

bliss, kalki
jus read yr posts abt UTI. hey, i was hit twice this yr, tho i nvr had it b4 in my entire life! the first episode was soooo serious, i was literally peeing blood, i went hysterical! and it came jus when i started taking chinese med, so imagine my panic - i called my sinseh crying and asking her wat she gave me in the med to cause me to bleed! :p at that time still din know it was UTI, so really freaked out....
wonder if UTI is common among women ttc-ing?

Pooh
I heard my doc say that it is normal when your flow is high or very low during AF. So it is something to do with AF and he was also commenting that it is normal for those who have undergone some treatments(like in my case ivf).
I will check the medication he gave me it is some anti fungal or something forgot. It is good for 6months.

Hi pooh,
I did not have UTI. My problem was recurrent vaginal infection.
Well, as far as I know, UTI is not common among women ttc. It is better to drink more plain water to prevent UTI and eat more vege and fruits.
As for vaginal/yeast infection, it is due to certain bacteria in the vagina over multiplying and causes an imbalance in the ratio of various (good and bad) bacteria inside the vagina, thus causes itchiness, red swollen and burning sensation. Not life risking, but it is really an irritation in daily life. This was what I was suffering in the past.
And for vaginal infection, it is rather common among pregnant women. Although it can always be treated, recurrent and serious vaginal infection may cause premature birth or miscarriages. This is what I have learnt after doing research last year. And that's why I am very concerned about this.

I update again

Seiki
Happyever - 8 Sep
Grace_BB
Ivf0908
Sue-6 Oct

Louise - 5 Sep
Sri - 11 Sep
Dwi - 11 Sep
Comfort-19 Sep

Stage 3 - 2WW:
Bliss - ET 5 Sep
Kalki - ET 11 Sep
Mel Wong- ET 11 Sep
babyhopes - ET 20 Sep

Graduates:
Bebecraze08, Elle, Imel,
Feibb, Maykel, Juju78,
Dimple

Bliss
Actually your 2 week wait is over already then how come your BT is only on 22nd?
Just wondering!!is it because you had your et done early?

1726092.gif

Kalki,
KKH will do blood test only on 17dpET. They feel that it is more accurate and prudent to do it later than earlier. Like what I mentioned in eariler posting, one of the nurse in KK told me yesterday why KK tests later while private hospitals normally test on 14 dpET or even earlier.

I went to NUH to sign some papers today. Apparently, the nurse told me that the hospital will decide whether to do ICSI or not. Its not up to us to decide. Is it like that elsewhere?

Kalki, may i ask, at puregon stage good to drink Ensure issit? For what benefits ah?
1726486.gif
To have more protein so eggs grow better?

Bliss and Kalki,
BFP! BFP! BFP! Jia You! Jia You!

Kalki,
All you said is very profound and true. You are right, we have done our part. The rest is left to nature and God. I appreciate what you have shared, now if I start to panic, I'll try to recall what you have said.

Mel,
I know how u feel bec my E2 was no good last month. Glad ur Doctor is giving you extra support. Everything will be fine. Go watch some mindless movie and have a great laught.

hi Babyhopes,
new comer ya?
Hahaha........I know who u are. You got good numbers of eggs, multiply, multiply, multiply.

Babylou,
All the best to your ER tomorrow.

And for myself,
Have been watching La Bi Xiao Xin to help release tension. Bec I going for the E2 test again tomorrow. Hope I pass my E2 test tomorrow so that I start my Gonal-F to go on to Stage 2.

hi ladies, thank u all for your encouragement!
News from care this morning was not so good....nurse told me my hormone level is quite high so i need protein replacement tomorrow during my ER. I think i can only do my ET two months later. I am worried that my embies will not survive the thawing

Going with a heavy heart tomorrow...

Hi Debz, good luck with your ET on Sat ya! Did your dr tell u the grade of your embies?

I went KKH today. Told my gynae I wanna do IVF. I went for my blood tests etc today for what she called my 'baseline', before she proceed me to the IVFKK centre.
I'm rather excited now. Just hope all is fine and I can proceed with my IVF treatment soonest.
I appreciate the infos read from this forum.

Baby dust to everyone!

After so much reading from this forum, I realise the journey to motherhood via IVF is not an easy one. Lots of pain and heartbreaking news. But you ladies are so brave!..

It's really worth to go thru this pain, right?

Grace,

Im with NUH also... from my understanding from the talk session I attended I thought everyone would have IVF-ICSI done...

Then was talking to my husband, he said, if the sprim is not strong enough the ICSI process would be needed but if its not necessary then it is closer to natural way, the non-ICSI. He says that that was his understanding from the talk session...

ummmmmm.....................

now this is another thing... to think about..

I dont know... but, some how... I dont feel comfortable with somethings, and ways done there.....

for infertility treatments, some books says, it is important to choose the right doctor for "you"....I suppose if I keep on having doubts about things... even a procedure that may go well.. might not....

some times.. I feel like a test object... there...one of the others for number of results...

Dear ladies,
I have another temperature drop by 0.08 this morning! This the 4th day of my BBT drop. It is not a good sign to me to have 4 consecutive days of BBT drop at this stage. Well, sorry to say that I really dont feel good now.
I will still hang in there as long as my AF has not arrived. But at the same time, I guess I am not that hopeful and I am prepared to see AF coming before or on the day of my beta test.

Hi anxious,
just be mentally prepared for all the physical and emotional roller coaster you will be going thru during the whole ivf journey. I am sure you can really overcome many obstacles as long as your stronge drive to have your own baby is much greater than anything else.
Yes, I must say we are all very brave women here! However we are forced by circumstances. If not, I am sure no one would like to experience all this and to be brave and strong in this way.
I wish you all the very best!

babylou,
what do you mean by having your ET in 2 months time? Are you having OHSS? So the outcome will only be known tomorrow, right?
Dont worry too much. You have done your best.

akachan (ivf0908)
You need the protein mainly for the egg growth and after ER you need to make sure that the water retention from you body is balanced properly. So during the period between ER and ET you still need protein, so the kidney will function more to make sure you drain the protein and as a result more liquid flow. This is what i learnt, if wrong ladies please correct me.
But even after ET you take enough protein so your embi will grow well. Addition protein always needed during preg.
Take it easy and enjoy the cycle(stay cool and calm.which is really important)

Happy
Yes you are right. Just stay calm. For me i make sure i don't get angry and frustrated. I try to avoid stressful situations. Do not watch any TV show other than for cartoon show. Make sure you are in your own world during the 2ww. Things are going to anyway happen so why stress.
This is for all the ladies going for the cycle.

Dear ladies,

Would anyone be able to run thru the IVF stages/procedures for me?

And also I don't understand some of the jargons used above. What is ER, AF, HSG & ET?

mel - thanks for the warm welcome

bliss - Hang in ther n pray for the best

Grace BB,
they do icsi only when the sperm count is very low and when both the husband and wife got problem(like my case) and they do not go for blastocyst also,cost is high. And also the doc feels that when you have the possibility to hit without the extreme why not try it.
so let the doc decide take it easy.

Bliss Darling,
Calm down dear. You don't stress yourself,its not good. Stay positive. I am not sure how to make you feel better. HUGS dear. You have read so many books and you know for a fact that need to be strong and positive. Just a few more days hang in there.
1726960.gif

Kalki - Thanks.

I had been schedule to meet Dr Yong next month. Tts y I'm asking so many questions here so that I will be well prepared when I c her next month ;)

Thanks, kalki! It is very kind of you to send this happy pic.

Yes, I will still hang in there. My hubby keeps telling me that BBT taking is not very accurate indicator and I do know that. But as I have been charting for a long time, my BBT taking has been rather accurate...so I am just feeling no good. I just hope this time will be different, that's what I can do now.

Hi Zaza,

For acronyms "ER-AF-HSG-ET", you can see this link:
http://www.fertilityplus.org/faq/acronyms.html

I only know procedure at KK IVF:
Stage1:
1. Oral tablet (21 days)
2. Lucrin injection (start after D14 after the oral tablet)
3. U/S Scan after D14 of lucrin whether your hormone suppressing or not. If not then continue the lucrin. (your AF should be come on D10/D14 after Lucrin).

Stage 2:
4. If hormone suppressing, then buy puregon. Jab in the next day (for 8 or >= 10days) + lucrin
5. U/S scan on day 8 after puregon see the follicles enough size or not. If not enough continue puregon + lucrin for few days till follicles size enough.
6. Pregnyl jab in the next day at night.
7. After 2 days, ER (Egg Retrieval)

Stage 3:
8. After 2 days ER, then ET (Egg transfer)
9. Welcome to 2WW (2 week waiting). After ET, you can choose whether you want to get hormone progestrone jab or urgostane tablet (put inside your vagina). If you choose jab, then you must prepare yourself to come to KK to get jab for 14 days + you need to pay the medicine. For tablet, you do not need to come to KK + medicine is free.
10.D5 after ET, blood test to check your progesterone hormone.
11.D17 after ET, blood test to check your HCG level whether you pregnant or not.

Please correct me if I am wrong.

Which hospital you go? and under which doctor?

Babyhopes, may you have bountiful harvest of eggs!
1726992.gif

Happy, all the best for your E2! May it be at good levels so you can start gonal F soon. U will be doing scan too? At KKIVF, we also do scan to see how thick is lining and whether ovaries suppressed enough. Hehe, i also like La Bi Xiao Xin! He very notti!

Anxious, all the best! Yea, i think its worthwhile especially when we get to carry our little ones in our arms.

Sue, i also think if eggs many and sperm good, doctor likely wont use ICSI, will just use IVF since thats more natural, let the egg and sperm meet on their own. But if little eggs and sperm not that good, then doctor will use ICSI, choose the best sperm and force it in the egg hoping they will marry each other. Correct me if i wrong.

Bliss, hmm .. take it easy ya? Its not final yet as long as AF dont come.

Kalki, thanks! So do i drink now? I starting puregon tomorrow leh. Did you drink while on puregon or only after ER?
1726993.gif

zaza
Ok here is the cycle detail
Stage1: contraceptive pill(someplace follow this)+lucrine
Wait for AF(periods)to hit.
BT(blood test) on day 1 or 2 and US(ultrasound scan)

Stage2: Lucrine or Suprefact(name of the medictions,some use lucrine and some suprefact)+ puregon or Gonal F(this is to boost the egg)
Go for US+BT on D5(day 5 of gonal f).
Based on result increase dosage. Then US+BT on D6 or D7 to check egg growth and lying of uterus.
OR or ER is egg retrieval date is confirmed
After ER wait for 2 to 3 days for ET and then

BIG
2WW wait and after that BT again.

Zaza,
Hope you have read the webpage I sent to you and find it useful.
Well, AF means Aunt Flo (menses)
ER is egg retrevial
ET is embryo transfer
and HSG is hysterosalpingogram, an X ray of the fallopian tubes and uterus to determine whether and where your tubes may be blocked as well as to define the size and shape of your uterus. This test involves injection of a colorless liquid or dye into the opening of the cervix. While the dye is flowing through the uterus and tubes, a series of pictures is taken.

Hope this info helps.

Haha Kalki, no lah, whats there to be offended? Hehe, we two got similar craze over emoticons, haha. But i like smaller ones hehe.

Ok thanks for your tip! I go see if i can buy some during lunch today. Thanks gal!

okie thank you. Anyway get the can one if possible it is so much easier just shake and drink,don't have to stir till the lumps dissolve. All the best
and don't give way to stress during the cycle.

babylou,
Take plenty of water to drain out unwanted stuff and just rest well. Because you need to bring your body back to normal.
Take Care

Hi 0908!
I like the eggs! They look so colourful and cheery!

I'm very excited abt my eggs and ET tmr. Dr said he will not call me today. I'll only be able to know my grade of eggs tmr. Yah, will heed advice, ask b4 ET starts, in case dr leaves.

Bakaholic,
Where's the ET done for Prof? In the hospital OT or where? Can my hubby be there? Nurse told me need bed-rest, can't be resting at the clinic right? And also, do I need to make extra payment? I need to bring cheque along.. Dun wann apay using credit card coz the 'refund' fr medisave will be put back in credit card.

Hi babylou,
Sorry to hear that your ER and ET isn't smooth as expected. Well, it's ok. You've waited so long and gone thru' so much. Things will only get better!

i have been getting weird but mild cramps since last night... Having constipation too... The cramps is making me moody and worry... sigh...