Constipation then you need to take enough yogurt stuff,can be flavored yogurt or yakult or the yogurt drink. Because it also has enough protein and the live bacteria helps digestion.
This is one way if you are not a fan of fruits. You can also eat some raisins in the morning hours to reduce the problem.
Take Care

Mala

I know how you feel. Don't give up! Ganbatte!

My hubby and I talked about adoption too. I am for it and he is against.

Thanks newbride!

Really can feel for you regarding your conditions. Dont' be sad anymore and worry too much now. Try to sort out what you can do right now and what can be arranged so that the expenses can be reduced and something can be done to help prevent anymore OHSS, and also keep yourself positive. Just do what you can, dont give yourself too much pressure, ok?

Must stay happy no matter what, this will help in your conditions though you wont notice.

Hi Newbride
If you are considering your cycle later try to go for spirulina because i hear a lot of stories especailly for those with ohss. I am one such so this time i made sure i had enough of it. Also get some wheatgrass drink.
Just stay happy and things will take the right turn.
I was in the same exact state after my first two cycles. (OHSS+money+frustration+alot more issues)
Just take it easy don't force yourself into conclusions.
Rest well and go for regular walks. metformin helps a lot, make sure you take it regularly(it helps to regularize you eating habits also)
Take care

Hi Kalki

Thank you. Pardon my ignorance, but I havent heard of spirulina before. Will do more research. Do you know if there is any side effects of it?

Trying hard to drag my lazy bones to exercise and give up all the chips and icecream (without much success).

It seems metformin helps in losing weight too. Do you know if its helps in controlling PCOS? Not sure how metformin will impact the fresh cycle.

Hi newbride
Metformin is actually glucose base mediction. This is to control blood sugar level. Because PCOS will immediately affect the blood sugar level. Mine was around 750. I took three tablets per day but since my glucose level drop so much and i felt giddy i am taking only 2 per day. Actually when you reduce weight your chances of ohss is lower.
Anyway spirulina is available in ntuc and you get that in tablet form. Make sure you eat properly on time that is breakfast 2hrs from the time you wakeup. It is a must only then can we recover from all this issues.
It took me almost a year and half to do all this because there was no one to guide me. But you are lucky there are so many of us having similar issue so we can talk more.
Don't worry dear just rest well.

hi bakaholic and everyone

thanks. did you tell your colleagues that you were going for ivf ?

does anyone know whether vit B should be taken ? It is a stress reliever but i only have seen spirulina recommended, but not vit B...

Patricia,
i go out once every few days for food, but always chauffered cos hubby was in-between jobs during my HL. on other days, either i cook something simple or hubby buy back.
ever went supermarket for a while also, but can feel the strain, will be very tired and crampy when i reach home. thru'out HL, think i did not walk more than 15mins at any 1 time
minor cramps on & off shld be ok. i hv them since ER, even until now.

hi Ponytail,
if u dun wan to tell office the real reason why u r going for HL, u can always say dat u r undergoing a surgery and need to have ample rest away from work.

Talking about spirulina, is it OK to take during injections and 2ww? How about cordyceps (dong1 chong2 cao3)?

Dear ponytail,
Which hospital did you go to? My gynae is also going on leave in Nov. Could it be the same one? I'll be starting my 1st injection on 20th sept.

Hi ponytail,
I was worried that colleagues will know of my HL, so only took 2 days mc. I continue to work as per normal, had to spend lots of money on taxi fare. I had to go back kk daily for injection and make sure reach office punctually. Not sure if this stress contributed to my loss.

To think back, really silly. I should not sacrifice so must for the company, more important is my own health. The next time round, i will definitely not hide the reason for HL. Quite difficult to avoid telling your immediate colleagues as some 'kay-poh' ones will still ask.

Hi Mala,
Glad to hear that you only have slight cramps. Do hang on, take care.

Hi Kalki,
all the best for your eggs results.

Hi Ponytail,
I only tell my lunch/close colleagues on the ivf. i didn't even tell my boss or my group colleagues about it. I just email my boss to inform him about my HL as i am doing a procedure in hospital.
I didn't dare take any supplements during the ivf. I only take folic acid and a balanced diet. You may want to check with your doc on supplements.

I had another scare again in the middle of the night. Had another intense cramp lasting for another 5 minutes Not as bad as the previous night's but still intense nevertheless. These cramps hit me when I'm in the midst of a dream, one of them being a particularly erotic one. Ha! Ha!. I can't tell the clinic this, can I? But frankly speaking I don't know what on earth is happening. Why only when I'm dreaming and in the middle of the night?

Hi Kalki

Great number of eggs there! May they all be fertilsed and be good grade embryos. All the best to you.

Hi Maykel

You mentioned that the first time you had similar pains to mine. Are you referring to the pains that happened in your successful cycle? I'm just trying to put my mind at ease. Patricia said that she had similar pains during her failed ivf cycle though she bled. It scared me out of my wits.

Hi Newbride

Thanks. You take care and don't give up, ok! All the best to you.

just got a call from my embryologist. She said out of the 14-11 good quality and 8 fertilsed. The grade of them will be known based on their reacting power so must be by tomorrow.
Took my progesterone injection today. Took almost two cups of chickpea and one glass of ensure so the bloatedness has come down.
Also heard from some doc that eating rice helps in reducing bloatedness than wheat because there is more protein in rice than wheat product.
Grace,
Spirulina or any other supplements is recommended only before the start of the cycle, bse sometimes it may create side effects as the chemicals immediately affect the eggs.
Anyway it all depends on individual.My father in law manufactures and sends us spirulina, but i managed to know the info only recently. (he is a doc and lot of family members are so get lot of info)

Mala,
Dear you just think of good things before you go to bed, just relax my dear. Your dreams could affect you badly. If possible listen to some good music before going to bed, forget the fact that you have undergone et.Rest well tons of hugs and prayers from my side for you.

Hi Mala,
This is my 1st cycle. But I had the pain a few times, both before and after i tested positive. U know 2 days b4 my beta, i even have fresh bleeding for 1 day, was super worried oso. But eventually til now oso dun know wats the problem. So please do not let ur mind worry too much, as alot of symptoms are really not conclusive. Rest well dear, feel free to talk to us ok?

Hi Mala, i agree with kalki..think happy moments/thoughts before u sleep. watch a comedy or romantic flick b4 bed.. i know it isnt easy but try oki?

Kalki..congrats.tt's a very good number. u rest well oki.all the best for ur ET!

Hi Maykel, Cale, juju
thanks for ur info. I am gulity coz on the first day i came back from ET, i did vacuumm.
2nd day ET i went to buy food.
Yesterday 3rd day ET i went sentosa picnic to relax, walk henderson bridge and eat dinner.
Dunno whether will affect anot. worried. I still have on and off cramps. No more discharge except some progesterone insert discharge.
Today my 4th day, except going out eat, i will stay at home.
I am a active person, i cannot keep still.
i read a actical about ivf, its says that we need to do moderate exercise, e.g walking to relax.
Anyway, i still MUST stay Positive.

Hi Mala,
Dun worry, i will pray for u.

Patricia,
hee... quite active wor... walk a bit ok la.
i dunno how long is henderson bridge so can't comment
try not to vacuum the house la. either ignore the mess or get hubby to clean up the house. now hubby thinking of doing the laundry but i very scared. the one time he did for me, my clothes got ruined...
i guess go out buy food is ok la. as long as u dun walk too much, place is not crowded.

Hi Patricia,
Try to stop your housework chores from now on. Especially 5-10 days after ET you need to rest as thats the time when your embies try to implant.

Hi juju and Imel,
Ya i will listen to ur advice. I will rest and keep my room and house dirty.
Imel, the implant will take place 5-10 days after transfer? yes u r rite. The 1st day to 4day after ET the embroys only swimming around the uterine lining. What i read from my biology book, the implant is 5 days onwards. most likely must implant latest by 10th day. if not the chances a bit low.

Hi ponytail,
I'm also on my first IVF. You'll be able to manage! Stay positive... Well, guess those of us who are still working will understand the stress to juggle colleagues' and bosses' thoughts, personal expectations and so on! Do feel free to share them here! The ladies here have given me great support and my hubby also appreciates them! Btw, Which dr are you with? Leaving in Nov.... Think we have the same dr!

Dear ladies,
Share a mini emotional turmoil with you all.

I went to the clinic to pch my Suprefact yday. When I stepped into the hospi, nurse told me my dr wanted to see me. Well, I thought it was unnecessary but silly nurse told me dr says I need to do US as he's worried that I may have a cyst! Can you imagine my jaw drop!?!?!? Hubby was really nice, still shared nonsense to distract me.

Went into the room, was put to scan, dr told me my lining's a little thin, seems like there's 'activity going on in my lining' and he recommends I go for blood test. At that moment, my face changed. I kept asking myself what's happening? I'm carrying on life as per normal, not eating junk food, what's wrong?!?!?

Well, I didn't had breakfast when I saw my dr (I planned to pick up medi and go off) so I asked if I could skip the blood test and do it on Mon. He agreed to my request.

Came home, feeling quite upset. Hubby told me things are fine coz we are 'nice' pple and god will treat us well... Couldn't really sleep last night. Hubby asked friends over to play MJ in the night...

Guess what today? Hahahahhhaaa.. AF's here! I'm so pleased! Ok, I know I sound crazy, fancy being so happy when AF's here. At least I know things are on track! I'm so glad!!! Just took my Gonal jab. Now I'm on my 2nd stage on IVF... (*_*)

Hi Debz, and gals,

my doc is at NUH. Debz, is yours too ? i guess you are 1 month ahead of me. i'm waiting for my period this month to start, then start the suprefact. can i know how old are you ? i am 30. i feel a bit shy to go for IVF at age 30, cos that's quite young. i attended an IVF talk last week and i was 1 of the youngest couples. sometimes also feel like a failure

will take your advice on the office/collegaue relationship thing. yes, some of my coll are really kay poh.

what do you feel about eating junk food? i had mcdonalds yest and instant noodles today. yummz, and it makes me happy.

went to cold storage today to look for spirulina but they dont have. will check out guardian and watsons later. what does spirulina do ? how much should you take a day ? i think 1 of you recommended (kalki maybe?) 2 hours after waking up in the morning. correct?

hi ponytail,
The dosage of the spirulina depends on the size. Ok here you go..
if tablet is very tiny(like folic acid size) then may be take 4 per day.
You need to have breakfast 2hrs from wakingup so your glucose medication can have effect.
And I know for sure ntuc unity health care carries it 50 tablets per box.

And there is nothing to feel shy of the ivf it is a common thing, and when i attended my first talk i was just 28years(now 30 years old). We should be happy because we are going for it at a early stage so good for us.

(Other ladies dn't
kao_angry.gif
just trying to encourage her

Anyway i REPEAT 4 SPIRULINA(SIZE OF FOLIC ACID) IN THE MORNING,EAT BREAKFAST REGULARLY (TRY AND STICK TO HEALTHY FOOD)

My dear Debz,
Your hubby was doing the right thing to you. You where stressed because of the hormone and nothing else.
I had been in such situations before, anytime AF due and I feel frustrated means my Af on the way and time for
Anyway now that you r on gonal-f just rest well and do not give way to your emotions. Because it effects the egg growth.

Thanks Kalki! Will rest will rest and manage my emotions better!

Hi ponytail!
I'm with Prog Ng at Gleneagles. Well, he's also going away so I thought you are with bakaholic, austere and myself! It's ok, doesn't matter who you are seeing as long as you feel good with the dr!

I'm 28 but my hubby's 36. Hubby and I discussed and felt that we should try for IVF when I'm younger. Rest assured! You are not the youngest! I think recently we have a lady here who's 24/25yrs! Enjoy the process!

Hi Kalki, Debz

ok cool to know there are ppl my age going for ivf. i thought mostly above 35 yrs... i think its brave of you to be so sure abt ivf at this age, cos i thought i was going to give iui my 3rd try, before resting for few months and calling it quits. always thought of ivf as a last resort. but now that i decided to go for it, i'm going to try and stay positive. after all, technology for ivf improved a lot over the years right ? so higher chance of success now ?*fingers crossed* my doc said when ivf just started 20 years ago, patients had to go for 2 check ups a day. 2 a day! can you imagine? it's like not possible to work and do ivf at the same time. guess its a blessing now that things are more simpler

ok, tip on spirulina noted. i'll go hunt for some next week. to stop eating when period starts right ?

btw, what is AF?

Hi Debz,
Have you done larascopy to check your lining?
Good, finally your AF come.

Hi Ponytail,
AF - Aunt Flow - Menses.

Hi Newbride,

Don't worry too much as u are in good hands. Prof Ng is very famous leh, he is the gynae who delivered the 1st IVF baby in Asia leh.

Hmm, based on my research on PCOS, the western way of curing PCOS is :

1. Diet - cut down on carbos, sugars and fats. Becos PCOS lady has problem processing insulin, our brain will crave for sweet stuff and carbos such as fries and potato chips (all my fav snacks)
2. Exercise - losing body fat % is very effective only if the woman is overweight to begin with. If your BMI is normal, losing weight is not very effective.
3. Medication - metformin to control the insulin resistance in PCOS lady. It only start to take effect 3-6 months after u take the medication regularly. Initally, u will feel tired, have diahorrea and may even feel dizzy. U have to tahan thru' this difficult period.
4. Surgery - some gynae recommend ovarian drilling if metformin doesn't work. Basically ovarian drilling is an op where the gynae used a needle to poke holes in your polycystic ovaries. Scientist don't exactly know why but by doing so, the ovary seem to "reset" itself and produce normal-sized and good quality follicles. But the verdict is still out how long the effectiveness of the op last, the guesswork is between 6-12mths only.

Hope this information can help u!

Patricia,
dat's nice. hubby said we r going next week

Ponytail,
i'm also 30! dun worry. age doesn't matter here
Kalki, u also 30...

actually, young dun mean sure can conceive. had a gf who tried since 23/4, either dun strike or ectopic or m/c, finally had her precious after 3 yrs

Hi Patricia

So sorry! I mixed you up with Lina! And thanks for your encouragement! Make sure that from now on you take enough rest, okay!

Hi Kalki,Maykel, Dimple

Thanks for your encouragement too! I will take one day at a time and will try not to think too much.Rest well and take care!

Hi Ponytail,
I agree with juju, age doesn't matter. As long as we got positive mind and go for it.

Hi juju,
Yuppy, u can see the nice view. Wear sport shoes k. easier to walk.

Hi juju, patricia and all

can i know your tip for staying positive ? is there anything special you do everyday to help you stay positive ?

ju ju, that makes 4 of us who's 30 and below. ok i dont feel so alone anymore...

can i ask how your hubbies are taking this ivf thing ? i mean, my hubby is still learning abt this stuff like me, so dont know what to expect.

I'm a bit anxious waiting. Hmm.. my BT is tomorrow. I had my ET on 30 Sept. I think its 9 days past my ET. Issit too early to try testing on a home pregnancy test kit?

austere,

you meant your ET was 30 Aug, not 30 Sep, rite?
What blood test for 2mr is it? To check your progesterone level?

If it is only 9 dpET, it will be a bit early, must wait at least 12 to 14 after the pregynl injection you took.

austere,

so since your beta test is 2mr... I think it is already safe and quite accurate to test it now. Wah, you can tahan to wait until now? If I were you, I already cant wait to test yesterday already! Hehehe! Understand the anxiety, it has not been easy to sit there and wait for 2 weeks. I am already starting to feel anxious, but I am only 3dpET.

Go and take the test at home when you are mentally and emotionally ready, ok? Hope to hear your happy news very soon!

austere,

but there is one thing i dont understand, you mean your doc will be taking your BT 2mr which is only 9 dpET? How could it be possible? I thought must wait for 2 weeks after ET?

Hi Bliss, thanks! However, I'm kinda not getting my hopes up coz my cramping and bloatedness have stopped for several days already with no symptoms at all. Well, I'll just wait for tomorrow then.