hi babydust2,
hehe.. i like the way you put it.. as though we're sneaking around. i dunno ah, at the moment, no i'm not inclined to go and test myself yet. if i continue to think this way, i'd probably wait til i reach my blood test day then i will know. hehe..

btw, i'm taking prenatal vitamins from gnc. been taking it since b4 the program. its a good dosage of folic acid plus other required daily vitamins.. oh talk about being cranky! oh my god, at the moment, can't stand hubby. haha, everything seems to go wrong with him..

hi chua_family,
yes, according to the nurse who did it for me a few days ago, she said, you can ask your local GP to do the jab for you. but you may have to pay.. at the moment, we don't pay after we jab. anyway, good luck for your ER tomorrow!

hi yck,
hang in there, what's important is your health. rest well yeah..

hi nicole,
is walking bad? i'm doing my fair bit of walking. will it really affect my condition being in 2ww? btw, i like your eating schedule.. hehe.. very detailed.

hi littlebee,
i'm feeling much, much, much better! thanks. yay, no bruising for you!

hi babywee,
be patient yeah, let's hope for the best k? good luck!

for the first time since ER (6 days post ER) i'm feeling better. the first time i can walk normally. i do feel the occasional twinges in the tummy. aches at the back of waist because of the progesterone jabs. feel the need to hold my tummy when i sneeze and cough.. bloating is still obvious but i'm not going to be bothered so much about it.

just went out after going kk today to go buy myself some loose pants. hehe.. got nice ones at bugis village. no more jeans for me at the moment..

Hi Emma,

I think EPO is not recommended to be taken during pregnancy. I have read from the internet that it may cause uterine contractions. Perhaps you should ask your gynae regarding supplements.

Merlena, I think we can walk but dont over do it la. We shld really take care of ourselves and be extra gentle. They say once 3months than everything more stable. Pls ask you gyny as they know best. For mine, she told me to take it easy when I had my staining. It couold be old blood. She told me to rest as much as I can n asked if I wanted MC to rest told her no need la, mine is office job, I sit all day. hehehe. already for IVF I was away from work for 3 weeks! Dont worry Im sure your baby is growing well.

Emma, yup she said to cut down on caffine. I avoid uncook meat n sushi too. I actualy stop my coffee intake during my 2 week wait. I have been on Milo since n load up on milk. Good for both mother n baby. Im not on any jabs, was just on Dushapon tablets and folic acid. Now Im on Folic Acid only. She told me she will provide Vitamins to me at my 3month scan.

Babywee, keep thinking positive! baby dust to you..

I am wondering if there is anyone here who had more than one pregnancies through IVF? Was pregnant with IVF last year and have plans to go for number 2, but rather worried about coping with the treatment with baby around. Would be grateful to hear advice.

Hi Merlenna,
I also went to GNCand watsons- they said dont have. SO hard to find. So i bought Pregnacare from the internet. Should get it in a week.

to all,
I was reading that Omega-3 fatty acids from fish is good and is now recommended as well, but then how come someone told me Salmon is not allowed in pregnancy bcs of high mercury levels? DO you all eat Salmon (cooked)? It has very high Omega3. I dont know what to do. I love salmon, but now am confused !?!
Any advice? Has anyone found out abt this before?

hi babywee,
ALl the best with your test. Its a little difficut to say if the HCG in pregnyl or your own body caused the 2nd line. I know even a faint line is still positive and you had 4 days after your last pregnyl for the body to clear it, so hopfully its good news!!

hi nicole,
ok, i will take note of that. i shall do things in moderation. didn't realize some of the things i do subconsciously now, i have to remind myself not to over-do. heh.. must remind myself..

hi babydust2,
have lah! its called prenatal formula. its specifically at GNC. i bought it there twice already! guaranteed!

something to share, just now was my day 7 of progesterone. as i was getting my jab and blood taken, nurse chatted with me. she said the record kkivf had for number of eggs retrieved is 88. 88!!!! she's warded obviously and her ivf couldn't continue that month. she had to only do ET after her ovaries reduce in size. and now she has 40 embryos frozen! amazing, i tell you! i'm still in awe.

anyway, after u/s was done just now everything seems fine according to the nurse, i will know the results tomorrow when i come again. just that my ovaries are still swollen which explains the protruding tummy now.

back fm my ER today.I had 11 eggs retrieved only,so really have to pray hard for it to be gd grades.
Now still painful at my lower abdominal,need to hold on to my tummy.Hope it will goes off soon.

Hi Merlenna,
u mean we still need to go back for u/s aft ET?
So u travelling to kk everyday for the jab?
Super amazing,dunno how her tummy is to store 88 eggs.

hi chua family,
hey, same no. of eggs as me
dont worry, i'm sure some of them will be in good grade. so, your ET will be on this friday?

Halo,
I am a proud mommy of a 3 year old boy and is trying very hard for a second one. I have done 4 times of IUI with Dr Koh, gynae at Toa Payoh but no luck. Very discouraging.... I was wondering if I should continue trying or proceed with IVF instead?

Any advice please? My 1st gynae was Dr Ong from Mt E. Dr Ong is good but I decided to switch cos his package is quite costly. Was wondering if I should go back to him again or any other gynae to recommend? Thanks.

Add Your Message Here

hi chua_family,
have a gd rest yeah, don't move so much just relax and lie down. i'm like you a week ago. wish you lotsa luck for your embryos to develop and have a successful ET.

yeah only once, a week aft progesterone jab. its a tummy u/s to check the womb lining whether its developing to support the implantation of the embryos. and yes, i'm going back and forth to kk now, gonna be for 17 days to get that progesterone jab on my butt.. hehe.. looong way to go til the end of 17 days..

I'm still making my plans to come to singapore for the IVF with Dr.Foong. It's going to be very expensive. I just want to know whether any of you have done an ivf at Gleneagles under him and what it cost you?
Good luck to all of you.

Hi Merlenna,
Sorry I didnt' write in some time. I'm now making my plans to come. It'must be difficult for you with all the injections etc. I didn't know you had to take injecitons after the ET. Do you have to go every day during the 2ww? what else do youhave to do? and I'm confused about the number of U/s?? how many do you have to take after the embryo transfer?

Hi everyone, can I join in? I had IVF last year but it turned out to be blighted ovum. Now I'm trying for another IVF and currently on lucrin. Tomorrow will be my first day of puregon injection.

Welcome Imel Cheung...
Finally I will have a cycle buddy. I will also start my puregon tomorrow.

Chua Family,
Have plenty of rest ok for your upcoming ER. I am sure you will have sufficient eggs.

Babywee,
Good Luck to you...hope you will bring in another good result.

Hi bakaholic
thanks for the info, I stopped taking EPO today and will see my doc tmrw wat are the vitamins I should and should'nt take.
Are you with sc Ng? When r u embarking your ivf? Im with prof sc ng too.

Hi Nicole G
I had better stop the other vitamins and just take whatever the doc prescribed. Thanks ya.

Hi babywee
Good luck to you!

Hi Emma,

It's great to find someone having the same gynae.
I was supposed to start my ivf in early jun but i decided to postpone it. NOw I am considering to start soon...trying to get myself mentally prepared.
Just wondering, how long was your lucrin and puregon jabs before you do your ER?

I am new in this thread. I did 2 rounds of clomid then 2 rounds of SO-IUI and all not successful. Very discouraged and decided to try IVF.

I just started on my 21days of Yasmin pills. Abit unsure of the IVF procedure, as far as I understand, i am supposed to eat 21 days of Yasmin pills, then after start Puregon injection and then go for ET then 2days later ER. This is the basic knowledge I am given.

But after reading this thread, I am all confused (and scared) and have some qns to ask.

Qn 1 - Merlenna says something about walking normally 6DpER. U mean the ER process will cause such extreme pain or it is due to the bloated ovary? Is bloated ovary a normal reaction in IVF?

Qn 2 - What about the progestrone jabs and pregnyl jabs? When do we have them?

Qn 3 - My gynae says if I can get a good-grade egg then high chance of pregnancy success. Do the chief embryologist grade your eggs accordingly? eg. out of 11 eggs, your gynae tells u you have 2 Grade-B eggs, 3 grade-C eggs etc?

Qn 4 - Any ladies experience hormonal rage due to the high hormonal dosage injections? Like sudden anger and feels like crying or screaming at small matters?

Sorry if these questions sounds trival. Will be very grateful if you all can help me out so I won't feel so lonely and scared. I can't ask my friends as they are all healthy and have families and my parents are old (they just worry for me) and my husband is very busy with work and he just comfort me that next time we will strike.

Hi Catzeye
Glad to find someone with the same cycle as me. Last year I have been quite miserable cos I dun really have someone to talk or ask to, except my husband.

Chua Family
11 eggs indeed a good number. Last time the doc retrieve 10 eggs but only 6 eggs are good. I trasfered 3 and froze the rest. But then since the frozen eggs are of poor quality, my husband and I decided to do a fresh cycle. We all jia you! All the best to your ET.

Hi Ruru
Welcome. I also new in this thread. But since I have done IVF before let me answer some of your questions:
Q1 - The ER process indeed will cause some discomfort, because the doc has to retrieve the egg from our vagina. As for my case, I indeed experience pain, but after I ate pain killer, I felt better and dun u worry, the pain is bearable. The bloated ovary can also cause some discomfort and it is caused by the puregon which is used to increase the number of egg.
Q2 - Progestrone jabs - is like a hormonal type of medication that help to stregthen the womb so that it can support embryos. It is usually jab after the ET.
As for the pregnyl jabs - it is usually injected 36 hrs before the ER and it helps to mature the egg to be ready for retrieval.
Q3 - In my last IVF the doc did grade my eggs in terms of how many cells the egg multiply. And yes in someway it do help to increase the chance of pregnancy. But then I have known that even a lower grade of egg can still have a success pregnancy.

I hope my answers help. I also felt lonely and scared last time when I did my IVF and I kept reading articles from internet. So dun you worry you are not alone.

Btw I read your IVF process is somewhat different from mine. What is Yasmin pills?

Hi catzeye,
Hey we are under the same doc. Im doing a fresh cycle. Last time I did my iVF with dr sc ng, gleneagles.

Im just wondering whether or not we can consume chinese medecine like "bai feng wan". I forgot to ask the doc. But currently I did take other supplements like follic acid, anti-oxidant, gnc women ultra mega and vitamin C.

Imel,
I am nt too sure abt chinese med though coz i am a malay. I am also taking sum oth vitamins beside folic. Vit c, epo and spirulina. Glad that finally i am on stage 2 coz i had my lucrin more than 1 mth. To be exact today is è 42 days perhaps due to my endo i assume.

Hi catzeye,
I think the supplements that we consume is enuf, though Marlenna do take prenatal supplements from gnc and I think im going to go there to look at the content. Think Im paranoid. When I did my first IVF last year, I was not very fit cos never eat any supplements. I had flu (coughing) and heart palpitations. I dunno what cause the palpitations, but it really annoyed me when the heart missed beats.
Today will be my 18th days of lucrin. I was quite worried before that the nurse didn't let me go to the 2nd stage since I had history of endo.
Btw is this your first ivf?

Hi Imel,

Thanks for your advise. Hmm, Yasmin should be the same as Lucrin (used to suppress ovulation).

My gynae says it is ok to eat TCM with western medicine but take them 2 hrs apart. I did took progestrone insert and oral medicine to maintain the thickness of the womb lining during my 2 SO-IUI cycles but quite surprised have to do progestrone injections in IVF.

So based on what you told me you experienced during your last IVF, you only experienced slight discomfort during the fertility injection period (due to the bloated ovary) but bearable pain after the ER, other than that, you are in relatively normal frame of body and mind?

Sorry so many qns, and thanks so much for answering.

Hi imel,
yup tis is my 1st endo. Was a lil paranoid too in è beginning coz of è long intake of lucrin. Almost gave up when i see oth sisters in è thread manage to go to è next stage despite starting later. But my hubby was very determine and gave me all è encouragement. Hope it will pays off.

hi Little Flower - i did my IVF with Dr Foong last Dec and it costs me around $16K (inlcudes blood tests and consultations). The drugs Gonal F is one of the main expensive component - for me I am lucky that I need only 1.5 pens and not more (cos then will cost more $). The next main bulk is the surgery costs (paid during ER) that is abt 7K but for Singapores can claim Medisave abt 6K.

Dr Foong is a great doc - very patient and caring. He will call u on the results for all ur bloodtests (which is not a usual practice for alot of gynaes) and if u email him, he will reply u at the most 2 days. Very nice doc..

Hi Ruru,
Yep during the fertility injection period, you will feel bloatedness, feel fat and slight discomfort on your stomach. Straight after ER, you will feel pain at your vagina area cos thats where they retrieve the eggs out from our ovaries. As for my case, I was only in pain for about 30 minutes but after I took pain killer, al the pain gone. Still got a slight of discomfort thou, still its bearable.
During the ET, you won't feel any pain at all. Its just like performing the IUI. Very fast. But i felt bloated after the ET and fart alot too hehehe.
The 2ww wait is the worst one. Not because of pain, but because of constant fear. Always checking whether or not I bleed. My breast sore due to the progesterone injections, my stomach bloated, and frequent passed urine. I did cry alot too because I was scared. One day I felt my breast sore and the next the sensation gone and I got panicked. Dun u wori, ask questions if you feel unsure. I had a cousin who went thru IVF 10times before finally successful with triplet.

Hi catzeye,
I understand how it feels. Dun give up!
I was devastated when I was told that the sac was not growing. I was so happy when I was tested positive. But 2 weeks later on 31st december the doctor told me its gone. What a day to spend my New Year Eve. It was really hard for me and my husband. Then, we had to remain cheerful in front of our family. Because we dun want them to feel worried and upset because of us and it was New Year anyway. We could only cry in bedroom.
Here I am trying for another round. My cousin went for IVF 10 times before it pays off. So I will keep on trying.

Thanx imel...
I will try to me positive with watever the result is. Hope this second stage i will not be required to extend. I will be going down to get my puregon around 1pm...

Hi all, Pls keep positive and keep trying if its within your means. Its a tough road with loads of bumps along the way, but eventually you will get to your destination. Keep postive and wishing all of you babydust!!! One day you will hold your baby in your arms.

Thanks Nicole for your wishes and encouragements.

Catzeye, I will go there earlier since Im afraid its going to rain soon.

Sorry to interrupt cos i just need 1 more dosage (75) of Gonal F pen injection on sunday so if anyone is on the 2 wks wait or just pregnant, i dun mind getting your left over Gonal f pen as long as it is not opened for more than 1 month..
sorry a bit disappointed cos i thought my follicle will grow but it has not and the doctor asked to increase dosage and i am short of 75..pl pm me or sms me at 81274036 if you have...thanks soo much..

thanks for the wishes..tmr is the day of my bloodtest..frankly speaking, i dont have any confident that it will not be a postivie result..just feeling that..

see..i cant even write a correct message
i mean i dont have any confident that it will be a postivie result
just not in the mood

Hi Vanilla,
Thank you very much for the information. I wont'be able to get medisave since I"m not from Singapore. So we will have to pay for everything our selves...it's really hard we are putting in almost all our savings...it's a gamble....but I hope it pays off. A baby means more to us than all the money in teh world. When do you have to take the Gonal F?

Hi Imel & catzeye,
I'm also having endo....after reading your posts I"m really worried.. dont'know how long it will take for me to go to the second stage..I'm still waiting for my next period to start the lucrin. Ányway let's keep faith and hope for the best. Good luck with teh next stage catzeye. Hope everything goes well for you.

Hi Babywee,
My dear, dont feel so bad about it... we all dont know what tomorrow will bring ok, so try your best tos tay positive and think of all the good vibes the baby will feel when mummy is happy and upbeat. Try your best. Have you tried the urine test again? or will wait for tmr ?
GOOD LUCK and lots of hugz for tomorow .

Hi babywee
Be positive, fingers crossed

Hi bakaholic
I was given suprefact and GonalF by Prof ng. I must say that I was so sensitive to GonalF despite the lowest dosage but my body over reacted that I was told to put on a stop from using GonalF for 3 days. So my eggs when extracted were of smaller size like 16 and 18 but surprisely I managed to get positive results. Now am hopping that we could hear the heartbeats of my twins.
Have you done your blood test yet? If you need more info, you can PM me.

catzeye,
you'll be able to pull through! be positive ok? you'll surely be able to hit it this time round.

merlenna,
waiting for your good news too!

babywee,
don't think too much ok? you'll get a positive tomorrow!

to all, never give up!

hi Little flower, Gonal F is the stimulation drugs and is injected after around 2 weeks of Suprefact (the suppression drug). I took Gonal F also for abt 2 weeks. During the time u take GonaL F u will also inject Suprefact (but a lesser dosage).

Hi Little flower,
Its too early to get worried. I worried too much from day 1 till I had heart palpitations. Now I tried to take it easy, have been eating supplements. I have done my best so I let GOD do the rest. Must have faith!

Just collected my puregon. Starting today Im officially off the gym. No exercise said the nurse. Hehehe think I will gain more weights starting now =P

Babywee,
Good luck on your blood test tomorrow =D. Well at least your 2ww wait is ending and you are no longer in suspense. Keep thinking +ve +ve +ve +ve..... You are pregnant until proven otherwise!!!!!

Little Flower,

Different people may have different response...some may take a longer protocols while others will remain as told. I just state the duration earlier in order to get other newbies to keep an open mind abt the length of each stage. Just take each and every words other ladies in hear say as a note but not as a guideline... Good Luck!

Imel,

I have just collected mine too... My dosage is kind of high... I am required to take 400 IU. How about you? Thinking +ive rite now... hope all my hardship pays off...

hi little flower,
so far the injections during lucrin and puregon were bearable to me. even now, having to go back to kkivf for my daily progesterone jab, its still ok. for me its the recovering after ER that's a challenge. after ET u/s is done only once during the course of the progesterone jabs. that's as far as i know.

hi rurucat,
i was in pain coz during ER, the needle went in for 27 times as there were 27 eggs to extract. the pain for me was at my lower tummy, which causes the bloatedness. every single step i take during the first 5 days were aches and pains. even after my u/s yesterday, the nurse claims my ovaries are still swollen. i guess, its the effect of high number of eggs. but it gets better lah.. plus, everytime i eat, drink, even a bit, i'll feel so full. that adds to the discomfort. i don't feel any pain at all at the vagina.

hi catzeye,
yay, you've finally on stage 2! good luck to you and hope you produce good eggs yeah?!

hi babywee,
don't let the negative feeling overcome! c'mon gerl! think positive. you've got no bleeding so far right? just hang in there! i wish you all the best for your test tmw!!

hi miss hae,
thanks.. hehe.. not so soon. will only do test on 28th. so got long way to go. i'm not thinking of the end yet. only going thru the progesterone jab, one day at a time. so fast, i've done 7 days of it. 1ww done. 1ww + 3days to go! hehe..

got my results for the tummy u/s and blood test i did yesterday. results are good. nurse says, no need to increase the progesterone dosage. i think the nurse mentioned the number 302. perhaps that's the progesterone level or thickness of the uterus lining? hehe.. no clue, but whatever it is, its good.

Hi babywee,
dun worry too much,be postive,sure u will have a postive result.Jia You!

Hi Joan,
I am in the same situation as u.I have a son 5 yrs now.I try 1 time of IUI when he is ard 3yrs old but failed.Aft that I took a break fm other treatment cos the failure is really to hard to take plus I am a SAHM that why each treatment cost me a lot.My previous gynae is Prof Chris fm Gleneagle which is too costly for me.Now i am seeing Dr Loh fm kk which i read alot of gd comments fm him,hope he will give me postive result.

Hi Merlenna,
the progesterone jab is jab at the butt or thigh?Last time I jab at the butt.So how was yr scanning yesterday?

Hi Imel,
dun worry too much,just jab & each day will pass very fast,soon u will be at the ER stage liao.Gd luck!Really admire yr strong will.

Hi catzeye,
thank,will be going for my ET tomolo.Take care ok,wish u have lots of eggs!Grow grow eggs.

Hi Emma,
all the best to yr chk up tmolo.Update us how yr bb development.

hi chua_family,
hehe, there! i mentioned it in the post just before you! hehe.. so far so good. i opt for the butt jab. hehe.. achy at night when i wanna chg position to sleep.. but just bear with it lah..