Tigger,
Agree with Needle. You should email ur doc to ask what the result means to you. And he shld reassure you. The nurses shld control their expressions when reporting results cos it may unnecessarily worry the patients...how can tell u 'jialat'?!

Needles,
Hope ur pain is better. I sometimes get a uncomfortable feeling like a stitch on my right side just at the lower ribs. And when that happens, I can't really lie on my right side. My appetite seems to have lessen a little. Prev I'll get hungry every few hours, but these few days, I can tahan until normal mealtimes.

Nano,
You can take AnMum or Enfamama now. They also have choc flavour if u like. I try to take fresh milk with my cereal. And I just started my calcium and prenatal vit supplements. I read that multiples means an increased need for vit/minerals. Calcium also impt, cos babies will take from mummy's supply...so we eat calcium supplement/drink milk to replenish for ourselves, else may suffer when we are old. Oh, i forgot to take my progesterone tablet earlier today...only remembered a few hours later. How silly.

helpme,
Don't worry. By then ur follicles will grow more.

Cutiebaby,
Sorry to hear that. I'm not too sure about SO-IUI procedure...maybe the other sisters can share their experience. What are ur plans now? Take some time off to rest first.

Needle, Petals

Yes.. I agree puregon is not cheap, that's why I rather abort this cycle if I have to. I dun want to go thru unnecessary stress along the way..

Have already emailed doc, still waiting for his reply... hope that he does reply...

Petals,

They did not directly say those words to me.. The one answering my call didn't know where's my file so someone at the back actually relayed those messages to her. I'm definite that was my case b'cos before the mouth piece was muffled, there were some discussions which I roughly can figure out what.

Imagine how disheartening it was for me to hear those words... It makes me feel that I'm really hopeless...

Hi pupi,

thanks for replying. i went there but i was looking at the packed nuts section..think u r talking about those many containers before the bread section? ok, will check it out.

think lucrin does affect the mood somehow. i felt better today after going out for fresh air
next wk will b yr blood test to check the hormones? all the best...mine is next wed...

cutiebaby,

i jus failed 1 so-iui round a few mths ago..also like u my mense came early 11dp iui. it started with spotting n i called the clinic n the dr say spotting doesn't sound gd although i kept hoping it wld b implantation. however my mense was not as heavy as my clomid iui failed cycles.

tigg3r,
it'll b my turn next wk also.dunno wat to expect. think u better call dr. loh to check instead of jus waiting for him to reply yr email.at least can have peace of mind n discuss wat to do. actually i wanted to email him later to ask y kkh uses puregon instead of gonol-f as i know glenagles uses tt n it's suppose to b half the price of puregon....wanted to ask cos i did not respond well to high dosage of puregon n is worried for my stimulation stage. call dr. loh tom so at least u'll know wat to do next instead of jus guessing.
all the best

hi petalsbloom and twinstars, thanks for your response. twinstars, i get very scanty period whenever i take clomid. on puregon, im ok. sigh..i will be taking a break before trying again

to the rest, wish u all the best and pregnant soooon!!

cutiebabies,

dun worry, i can try so-iui again if yr hubby dun have much prob. if not the chances r only 12-14% so quite low tt's y i didn't expect much from clomid iui es when hubby has male factor n i have pcos..but i also put alot of hope on so-iui so it was rather hard 4 me when it failed.i rested only 2 cycles n i signed up for ivf cos age catchin up liao...dun give up trying! c u around soon

Stardiva,
Actually, kkh's puregon is already cheaper cos they prob buy in bulk...approx $400 for a 600IU cartridge. I think it's much cheaper than what the prvt docs can get.

Tigger,
They shld have been more professional when answering calls. They forget how worried we patients are whenever we call up for our results.

cutiebaby,
All the best for ur next try, ok?

Stardiva
Puregon and Gonal-F cost about the same at Raffles Hospital. Around $600+ for 600IU (cost much more than KK). Both are FSH, but patients can respond a bit differently in terms of uniformity of size of follicles and quantity. Normally if one does not work, they tend to switch for next cycle. Don't know but my gynae seems to think that Gonal-F has slightly better results. Not to worry, KKIVF has one of the best success rates and your doctor is experienced.

Have decided to do HPT only tomorrow morning before I go to the hospital. Don't want all the bad feelings to come out unnecessarily plus DH practically forbids me to test today. Already felt so tensed yesterday, checking for discharge every now and then, magnifying every twinge in the tummy area and I did not sleep well at all last night due to anxiety. The funny thing is that although the 2WW passes so slowly and is such a drain emotionally, you don't want it to end because you are scared of the result. Anyway, think I have done all I can, the rest is up to God.

Separately, I wanted to check around what is the KK post ET progesterone support for less than 15 follicles. Is it a series of HCG jabs plus oral tablets? Or do they use Crinone as well?

Hi.

Any mummies here seeing dr at NUH centre for human reproduction? Thinking of going there for treatment.
Any good doctors to recommend there?

Babydust
Praying for you that baby is not ectopic and you see the sac in womb when you next do the scan. Thought that risk should be quite low since you place all embies in womb? Anyway, my friend had one last year from natural pregnancy...the symptoms were spotting and sharp pain on one side and no sac in womb when they did the scan. She had to go for an operation (think laproscope) to remove. Let's hope for the best...

Chevall
Take care and hope you HCG level move up quickly.

Mrs Teng
I think ideally they need the E2 hormone to go below 50 so that stimulation response is better. However, I understand from the nurse (when I asked previously what if my blood test reading come in higher) that people have proceeded with higher readings and still do OK. Do press on. If you give up now, your body will take quite long to get hormones back to normal levels as Lucrin makes the body hormones go to menopause levels...

Hi Needle,
So glad to hear fr u again! Looks like you are very busy wif work. I guess you shd be abt 12 wks by now? Do chk wif Dr Loh 2mr abt the cramp again but it's gd to know that the scan shows that the baby is well. Do take care and dun stress yrself too much. Like you, my FTS is nx wk, I hope the nurse drawing blood for me will be skillful. Hee
suddenly remembered u fainted when seeing bld during yr ER...remember to look away this time.

Petals,
Tried Anmmum last nite...taste acceptable, i bought the vanilla flavour. It's gd that a few of you already taking supplements, i think i'm the slow one...better remind myself to take esp calcium. Hmn..i wondered when can we stop the prog tablet..dunno whether does it contribute to the bloatness and nausea tat i still experience frequently after meals.

Haiz...my appetite also abit funny. Sometimes, i can't seems to detect hunger but sometimes i keep feeling hungry. Like last nite, at 2am, i felt my stomach churning wif hunger..i woke up to drink half cup of milo and ate 1 slice of bread. However, when i went bk to bed, it continued to churn..can't sleep..ended up i cooked instant noodles to satisfy my hunger. Felt guilty after eating it...very unhealthy choice

Ophelia,
Yr baby already 7mm by 6 half wks...growing so fast compared to mine at tat time..maybe bcos i din drink Anmum ah..not getting enough nutrients..hope my baby will catch up when i see doc tis sat. All the best for yr scan today! Keep us updated!

Tigger,
Hope u r feeling better. Usually Dr Loh will reply yr email but sometimes takes 2 to 3 days.

Msmummy,
Think some ladies here sees Dr PC wong at NUH. Maybe they can update u better.

Lin Tan,
Actually u r quite normal cos tat time during 2ww i also kept checking my panties for discharge..abit paranoid..kept thinking AF might be coming..in the end i found out that most ladies did the same thing here. All the best for yr result 2mr.

Nano,

I am currently taking Anmum, 4 plastic spoon per serving, twice a day...until my weight ballon from 60kg to 65kg. Heard that it is fattening, now i cut to once a day. Also heard that HL milk is good enough, so I alternate now, morning Anmum, evening HL.

Nano, Petal and all going for FTS,
Will update all tom.

Tigger,
Do email Dr Loh on his gmail account and not the other one. He checks gmail daily but the other one less frequently.

Needles,
I also had a lot of gas yesterday! But I am not as advanced as you...only 4 weeks+. Think I had cabbage for lunch then had soyabean curd on empty stomach at 6pm, I had so much pain after that, I was rolling around in bed and we almost went to KK 24hr clinic, but the location was different from my daily left lower pain and it was all in upper and left and left back too. I was so scared, but soon started burping and all, so i knew it was not part of the ectopic problem. Now all gone and back to baseline mild left pain only. So strange. I never had it so bad. I drank some GRIPE WATER, it helped. Maybe you should keep some on standby.

LinTan,
Good luck for your test tomorrow !!

I had progesterone myself but >20folls, but I think KK does 3 jabs of HCG only. Dont think there's crinone with it. Better double check with someone.

Babydust

Don't take too much cabbage, especially with soya products. They are the best combi for gas production. That's why u'll feel lots of pain.

I'm not preggie but occasionally do take cabbage.. I came to notice the morning after consuming, I tend to have more gas and my intestines seemed to have lots of gas, causing some slight pain here and there. Of cos, sure 'fart n fart', which is the only way to expel the gas and ease the pain..

stardiva
glen E uses puregon too...i shld say my clinic in glen E uses puregon. its really expensive. mine is a 400IU pack and it costs about $500.

btw, can anyone tell me if its ok to go for facial, mani n pedi during the ER, ET and 2ww or when pregnant?

Stardiva, Petals, Nano, LB and Lin_tan

Thanks for all the advices. I didn't sleep well last night. Have already received email from Doc and he said it's alright to proceed with Puregon.

As my situation seemed similar to Junior-mint, I tend to be on the worried side.

Lin_tan

Yes, agree with what you have mentioned. I read somewhere that high E2 level is also indicator for risk of OHSS.

I'm also concern that it may interfere with growth of the uterine lining which may eventually hinders implantation.

Lin Tan,
Quite natural to feel stressed abt testing. I also couldn't sleep and told myself earliest to use HPT is D13 when i couldn't tahan anymore. Don't think KKH uses crinone. For < 15 follicles, they give HCG jabs every few days. Tmrw is ur D14PET blood test?

Nano,
The progesterone tablet is v impt now to support the pregnancy until the placenta takes over at end of 1st trim. So we'll have to continue Duphaston for 1st trim. Yah, I know what u mean abt appetite. Sometimes can't feel hunger, and sometimes stomach growls even after I've eaten. I think this will improve once we go into 2nd trimester.

Tigger,
If doc says ok to proceed, then shld be alright. Anyway, if you compare to those who do short protocol, there prob isn't any testing of E2 levels at all and they straightaway start on puregon, and it still works. So don't worry...

LB,
I think so far I have only gained abt 1 to 2 kg. Thks for yr advice, think for a start I'll just try drink 1 cup..scare too heaty also.

Petals,
Oic..so actually the prog tablet quite impt. Ok will "guai guai" take it till doc say can stop.

Helpme,
I stopped going facial since on Puregon till now..but now I'm thinking whether to resume. I heard as long as dun use electric current type and no massage of body is ok. Guess massage face and neck ard shd be fine. Well, actually to be on the safe side, maybe go after 1st trim better. Reg mani and pedi, i'm not sure but I also avoid putting on nail polish during fr injection time till now.

just a quick note to Mrs Teng,

Was not able to PM you....can disable ur PM function to accept PM?

cheers,
mint

Hi msmummy
Im with Prof P C Wong of NUH. He is the Chief of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology and the Director of ART Programme. He is a experience gynae, assisted with a group of helpful and experience nurses in the Clinic of Human Reproduction.

Hi noi,
i am also with prof wong. i really like his skilled attitude. i am on my supereffect 8th day. you are in which stage? are you doing any accu for ivf?

Lin Tan

thanks . Did a urine test today, finally i see a double line. from HCG of 17 on monday till i see a double line today,My Hcg should be above 25 today. * so relief...

Dr Zou told me my situation not promising yet as blood is too low that is y my HCG is low too. Can onli confirm pregnancy till i see the baby's heart beat in the scan.Anyone continue with chinese herbs for the 1st 3 months of pregnancy?

help me
i also need to know if we can go facial during pregnancy? i needed one desperately. My face is breaking out horribly.

babydust
My tummy was so uncomfortable last night, now thats u mention, i believe its due to the big plate of cabbage that i gallop down during dinner yesterday.

Lin Tan
Good luck to ur blood test tomorrow. waiting to hear good news form u.

Wow some days, the thread moves so slowly...suddenly now it's sooooo fast! haha

cutiebaby,
OMG, i jus realized my big typo...i mean" U can try so-iui again"

chevall,
see still got hope, so don't give up jus yet

i paid $1.5k for 1050ml doze of puregon with dr. fong yang for my so-iui...

was wondering y my so-iui cost slightly more than 2k in total n my friend;s with gleneagles n on gonol-f is only $600 in total for her so-iui.( tt's the reason y i skip n do ivf this round cos it'll cost the same with the $6k medisave deduction)

even with 150ml shot a day for 7 days, Dr. loh was surprised tt with my pcos( there's a danger of hyper stimulation) yet i respond poorly with such a high dosage n only 1 n half mature follicle tt's y i was worried tt i'll have very little follicles for my ivf...mayb tt's y dr. loh say i need the long protocol so can kick start the system. will have to remind him when taking the puregon.yeah, today is the last day of my contraceptives!!!!

Hello Everyone

Happy to see the discussion so active. Pls be strong in each of your cycles.

I have not been feeling very good. I start the day off by feeling a bit hungry but as the day progresses, my nausea becomes so bad I cannot eat. Feeling very tired.

Hi Noi and pupi,

thanks for the advice. Am currently seeing a private O&G dr for IUI, may need to go on IVF. Pte dr is quite expensive. so thinking that NUH will be cheaper!

Will go book an appointment with PC Wong. Do you have to wait a long time to see him at each appointment? Have heard that there is long waiting time in the govt hospitals.

Thanks again

nano
oh....i went for body massage, facial and even mani and pedi within the 2 weeks im on lucrin and puregon.

whats the purpose of doing the blood test? i did one on tuesday and was told its 287 and continue on my injection....i also blur when i listen

Joanna

Looking at the positive side, I would see MS as part of motherhood.. I would pay a million to be able go thru these experiences. I see it as a form of interaction between mum and bb. But of cos, hope that it's not over the limits until we can't bear it.

It may be awfully tough but you must hang on... get more rest.. Take this opportunity to "abuse hubby" and make him pamper you like a big baby..

hi msmummy,
nuh waiting time is very less.may be less than 30 min. and also well organized. if you come from poly ref then you different blood test/scan amount will be less. but in total the price is 8000 - 10000. so i dont think it is cheaper than kkh.

nano,
Do u know whether we need to go for thalassaemia test? Got the brochure but Dr loh didn't mention it.

msmummy,
kkh is $6k - $8k, depending on puregon dose.

Hi Helpme,
I think during Lucrin n Puregon it shd be still alright to go facial, just need to be more careful after yr ER till preg...some facials got use electric current equip, just make sure yr beautician dun use it on you. For me, i'll be going nx wk.

Err..during Puregon I can't remember that i take any blood test. I only remember on the day of my ET I was told to take blood test to chk whether got alot of fluid in the abdominal..cos got quite alot of eggs retrieved..think they wanna make sure no OHSS. Got another blood test on D7 after ET, this is to chk progesterone level.

Petals,
Dr Loh din tell us abt the Thal test also but I went for Thal test before starting my IVF cos my hb is a Thal minor. Luckily i dun have but so told my baby got 25% chance of getting. Pray that God will protect my baby from getting it.

Petals,
Just to add..Initially i went to Polyclinic to test but last minute before they draw my blood i backed out. Bcos i realised the doc ordered wrong test for me, despite me giving him a copy of my hb's result, and the lab person also not sure which is the correct test. So ended up i go kkh to test..they will give a detailed bld test and think got very simple DNA analysis to confirm normal..cos from there they can chk whether the child will get 25% or 50% thal minor. But if you have no known family history shd be quite safe.

Nano,
Oic, I don't even know whether hubby and I have or not in the first place. Will check with Dr Loh later. I'll also prob arrange for my facial once i pass 12wks.

Nano, Petals
When we went to see Dr Loh, we brought all our medical records along. My DH also has thel minor. But I don't.
Jo

Nano & Petals,
I am back fm FTS. Dr Kenneth Kwek was very professional and very informative. The whole process was a breeze, I went in at 8:30am and I left at 9am. Very satisfied customer.

Dr Kwek introduced himself and the reason why this test is encouraged, he went on to suggest using non-invasive method first, and if the result is not satisfactory, then do amnio. While he was scanning, he explained every detail that we saw on the screen. Such as the 2 big giveaways of a down syndrome kid - absence of nasal bone and thick layer of back skin. However, he was very careful to remind that this test is not 100% but it is good enough.

Then I went on to do blood test and pay..
Result will be out in 3 day's time.

Petals,
Not too sure abt Thel test, thot we did all that before our IVF..oh..oh, then I did not do too

Petals,
Ya maybe you chk wif Dr Loh whether it is necessary. When is yr next Dr appt?

My facial skin abit dull now and sometimes my body skin still feel itchy. Have also been applying anti-stretch mark cream to my tummy.

Joanna,
So both DH belongs to the small % of pple who has thal minor. Are u still feeling nausea? Till now I still feel nausea when hunger strike and after eat also feel nausea. But compared to you, i can still eat.

LB,
Glad to hear that yr FTS went well. Dr Kwek seems quite gd ah. Will we get a copy of the ultrasound pic? Do we have to call them for the result?

Nano, yep yep! Imagine I did not know it when carrying my first child that DH has thal minor.

Funny thing about this time round is I would dream of eating so many things. But after that, there is this sensation in my mouth that makes me feel sick. Then I will spend the whole afternoon or evening trying to keep everything down but end up throwing up in the end. The consolation is I can keep breakfast down. So the Duphaston and folic and vit pills stay down long enough to be absorbed.

I am coping. Just tired from these sensations that I need to climb into bed by 10pm.

Littlebaby,
That's great! Thx for sharing. So everything ok for ur baby during the scan? Can see ur baby moving?

Nano,
My next appmt next wk. My legs and bum are itchy and I've started applying both stretchmark cream and body lotion. Tummy getting bigger...i think almost 2 inches. My appetite seems to be better in daytime like breakfast and lunch. Not that excited during dinner.

Nano,
The ultrasound pic will be given to you automatically. Dr Kwek will give you the risk level on the spot based on the scan. H/r the blood test result will be out in 3 days, the clinic will call you.

Hi Petals,

Thx for checking, yes baby is ok, belongs to 1:600 risk level. yes, baby's legs and arms were moving as if they were boxing.

I think I am going to switch to TPS, even the chair got cushion and the atmosphere not so "gan qiong", guess dr and nurses moods also better

LB,
Glad to hear tat we can get the risk level on the spot. Seems like your baby very active, how big is he/she now?

Btw, is yr FTS done at the Breast Centre?..cos mine they state in the bklet to go there...wonder where is it.

Joanna,
Act my hb also din know tat he got Thal minor till abt 1 yr ago during co chkup. His doc then advise him to get me to chk too if we r ttc.

Ya i always have a weird taste in my mouth previously..i can't stand it also but luckily now like no more.

Petals,
My legs, bum and arm all abit itchy but esp my bum bum, if sit on the sofa too long..becomes warm will b itchy. My tummy expanded by abt 3 inches but early morning when i woke up it will be deflated abit.

Joanna

I'm pretty okay.. just that I get bloated very frequently..esp at nite... Anyway..it's nothing compared to the MS all the MTB gets..

Still at the lucrin stage (almost one month) haha.. running out of spot to jab..

nano, petals
I find i need to moisturise my tummy bum and thighs esp. If not, will itch badly. I use Palmer's Cocoa butter formula with Vit E. The one without the smell. I don't like the cocoa butter smell.

Tigg3r. Every stage has its own difficulties and each of us face our own discomfort. Just have to stay focused on the game plan. I used to keep all the discomfort to myself and just withdraw into myself and keep quiet because I din want to be seen as complaining . But now, I feel that i can allow myself to confide in DH and in ppl like yourself who is in similar situation. It is quite liberating just to verbalise my experience in words.

Nano,
Baby is 50mm now, the FTS is done in TPS (Beside 7-11) aiyo, like first class airline lounge.

Tigg3r,
Tell u a secret, i used to pinch a large lump of fat (if u are as fat as me) before I poke the needle in. Seems that the pain from pinch greater than the needle poke, so cannot feel the needle pain...haha u may like to try that

Joanna,
Me legs and buttocks very dry, and itchy.

All,
H/r the most disturbing one is not the itch but the constipation that I experienced, anyway to help?...sometimes have to spent abt 1 hr in the toilet