Nanz, thought the most accurate way to test for DS is amnio ? please ask your sis regarding this in details. 300+ is ok as amnio is around 700 - 800.

Yvonne, I also think about the DS's part but just have to take things one step at a time. So I felt my primary objective now is to get preggie and worry about the rest later, no point worrying till the suitable time to take the test

Yvonee,

U 32 can put 3 embroys? I tot only for 35 and above. Don't worry about down syndrome, 1st u r only 32 and like Nanz mentioned u can do test by 3rd mth. I was told in Europe doc do not test before 4 or 5 mth cos they do not encourage abortion if yr child has down syndrome. Lucky we are in Sin, at least we hv a choice. But let us throw this worry out of our head now, let's talk about IVF, FET and prengnacy. Worry too much can drive us crazy.

For my case is sperm quality so i do ICSI. They pick the gd sperm and inject into the eggs, wait for sperm to swim by itself can die liao.

Hi! Yvonne,
My hb's SA is getting worse so the Dr said must ICSI this time. This is a more advanced techno. which involves IVF and injection of sperm into the egg for fertilization. 2years ago , the Dr suggested IUI for his SA fell below average but no too bad. We did't take step and waited for another 2 years to seek treatment. So I learn a valuable lesson "dont wait too long" as our biological clock is moving, age catching up.

Stacy P,

After 6 mths of medication, my hb SA quantity improved from 3million to 30million but quality "normal form" is far below the requirement of 14%. Is yr hb taking any medication? If is due to quantity maybe can try Provironum.

Didi, i saw her report last nite and the report indicate egs.: like DS -Low, leg-visible, feet-visible, hands-visible...i dunno wat the test called but she say is just a simple process simply by drawing the blood...let me check with her again tis wkend. This is her 3rd pregnancy and first time doing this test as recom by her gynea saying a new test...

Ad,

I also dunno why so expensive leh, for NUH, the IVF is around $8000 plus and FET was told is around $2K plus to $3K and not incl. insurance. Take serophene or clomid for FET is considered natural FET?

stacyp,

so your case is similar to BB and Ad, I still think that since the problem lies with Hb and if can get the sperm to fertilise the egg and form embryos, it is only sooner or later that you girls can get pregnant whereas for me, my hb got good alot of sperm and good quality too, dr even said he is impressed with the quantity of his sperm, unfortunately for my case, much more complex lor, first blood test showed low progesterone, and then some dr said i got PCOS and I suspect that my LH, FSH hormone is not balance too, so even when dr tried to solve this problem or that problem, in the end still got the imbedded problem, maybe my linning or womb condition not good enough so even I have got good quality of embryos and good response to the IVF treatment but ended up not successful too :-( so hoping that my lucky day will be here soon :)

bba,

okay, then I did HSG once before, cannot remember that it was painful, just remembered that it is kinda of discomfort and later can get abit of staining.

Yvonne,
I dun know whether taking serophene or clomid is consider natural cycle or not...Mine was to inject lucrin. My 1st fresh was done by a pte RE. Paid S$11+k,,everything in. Then did the FET with the same RE & clinic, less than S$2k.

I didn't know that only above 35 then can put in 3 embbies leh...is that a rule or a guideline? Cos i put in 3 from my every 1st fresh cycle...

Yes Stacy, we have to start early to go thru IVF...read alot of report the younger u are the higher the chance...mine oso thru ICSI as out of my 28 eggs, 9 failed thru IVF oni 1 survive but not very good quality, 13 passed thru ISCI with gd embroys and 5 not fertilised.

Dr say for my case, my eggs and hubby sperm cfm have problem 'joining'... may be due to egg shell too hard so sperm unable to penetrate or sperm is not good swimmer (but my hubby sperm test results show average) ....awy, we still not sure where exactly our prob is.

Stacy, u are rite we should do it at a younger age once we suspect there a problem. I started check up when I am 28, went thru alot of test and unable to determine where the prob. Then we did IUI early tis year, but was not sucessful. So the DR ask me: are u sincere and really want a kid, if so dun waste time we shall do IVF straight away. I'm really glad i met tis DR. She DR Sadhana from KK. If not for her advice, today i may still be hanging down there dunno wat to do..

Nanz, maybe your sis took the 'Triple Test' to see whether she belongs to the high-risk, she could be low-risk that's why maybe she need not do amnio. My reason for ICSI is also male's factor, hubby's sperm mobility and normal forms no good.

Yvonne, actually young women also have the possibility of having DS babies ? as I ever saw young mothers with DS kids

BB, thought we can put in 2 or 3 embryos, up to us, the doc can only advise ? Not sure ......

Ad, if i 'm not wrong it is jus a guideline. Below 35 - 2 embryos, 35 to 40 - 3 embryos, and above 40 - 4 embryos...cos they wan to prevent multiples births that consider higher risks..

I oso read from a report before (can't recall from where), if u have 2 failed AR cycles it is recommeneded to try and switch to another DR/ cinic...dunno how thru is tis...

ad,

remembered that nurse said that it is a ministry of health guideline, for FET, I can even put in max four if I want which of course, I dare not.

Yvonne, have confident in ur body!!! I'm sure u can become preggie soon...drink more warm water...alot of preggies told me so....

singapore government allowed women below the age of 35 to transfer up to 3 embies . as for women above 35yrs and bfn more than 3 times, they can transfer up to 4 embies but only with the approval from the ministry of health and you will need your doc to write in for approval.

Nanz/Yvonne,

Nanz,
I've actually switch from a pte clinic to KKIVF. Still failed...hahaha!! Think it's not the lab/gynae/clinic...it's just me la...haiz....

Yvonne,
I actually asked Dr Loh can put in more than 3 or not, during my ET...nearly freaked him out! hahaha

didi,
maybe today, she needs to run to clinic to check, to take more puregon, needs to do yoga, needs to do accuputure, needs to bake, very busy hor :) but today not wed leh, so no music lesson. wait, she mentioned that her piano exam coming, could it be today is her test date, no leh, i think she mentioned begin oct right??

Ad,

really? that's funny cos I heard from renee that Dr Loh very daring one, he will put in as much as he can if the guidelines around.

you very daring hor, want to put in more than 4, i putting in 3, already dun no have to consider for how long, one thing for sure, I cannot manage triple, it is becos of the low success rate of FET, that's why I harden my heart and said yes to 3 :)

renee told me that if really struck triple, you can opt to "kill" one of them while it is still in a very early stage. I wondered how they do that, were it not affected the other 2 foetus, but renee said after the two bb are born, the being sacrified foetus will become like flat sheet being pressed thin and come out with the placenta too, sound gross and cruel hor but triple for me is no no cos japan standard of living will "kill" our whole family. all of us will starve to death and there is no such thing as " domestic help" hor.

Yvonne,
I am not sure if u r right cos if sperm quality no good, does it affect the development of the embroy? Anyone with ans? Forgot to ask doc! Think egg condition is also another factor. Sian

My prayer:

oh my mighty god, forgive me for i have no choice but to put in 3, HOWEVER one blessing at a time from you is more than enough for me. Do not put me to test and make me a "killer"

actually i keep feeling bad for deciding to put in 3 cos I thought if I really have faith then I should just put in 2 which I can still accept and not put in 3 and pray for 1 or 2. god, I am in such a delimma.

Should be okay right, god knows how desperate we are already, he is very understanding hor. Forgive me, forgive me!

hi yvonne,
that is selective reduction, singapore government only allow yr doctor to perform if the multiple bbs are posing a health risk. there was this lady who went to kkivf 2 yrs ago and transferred 3 embies but ended up with 4 bbs because one embryo split into 2.she was being offered selective reduction but she rejected.

BB,

This qn I know cos that is wat will happen, if egg quality or sperm quality are no good, it will definitely affect the growth, in fact, if it is really no good, then your body will react to it and terminate the pregnant, meaning miscarriage, that is what happen to me twice I suspect. Dr did a test for me after he performed D&C for me, the XY chromosomes were not normal, instead of a pair, I have got two pairs, so that's why it stop growing and the reasons are due to generic problem, quality of egg and sperm or just a one time unlucky chance that quality of egg and sperm leads to that.

However what I am saying is since in the lab, your egg and sperm can form embryos right, so when put in, it will get implanted if the linning or womb condition is good, assuming that the quality of sperm or egg are no good, it will still get implant first since they are already formed embryos but will stop growing at further stage lor, usually depending on how abnormal it is, can be like only after 6 weeks, then you cannot detect heartbeat and must to terminate it. so in IVF, you can still get preggy and just like other natural pregancy, still have risk of miscarriges lor.

I do have concern that even if I get pregnant which I did twice, will the pregnancy advance further? until I see the bb's heartbeat and foetus formed, then at least I can rest my heart abit, cos of my history.

BB,

me now waiting to go for an appointment at 5:45pm, stupid customer requested that and last night sent my hb to A&E, suspected tiny kidney stone, so today too tired so now at home eating snake till my appointment time.

miracle bb,

ya ya ya, I heard abt this case from renee too, imagine still got chance of splitting into two embryos hor, I got a pair of twin cousin leh, (cross my fingers) but the woman so brave!

my hb said even with twin, he also worried that my body cannot take it, I am underweight, only 43kg, skinny like pencil and got mitra valve prolapse (heart murmur, common problem)

anyway, i am sure there is a way out finally!

Ad,

maybe after I failed this FET, i will switch to KKH, cheaper right? you think any complication if I used to supefact and gonalF, then next time, switch to lucrin and puregon? will it be too much for my body, already haywire liao and my bet for myself is that I will die of woman problems (breast cancer lah, ovarian cancer lah) becos of all those hormones injections :-(

I told the AIA guy to do up a health insurance for me, meeting him this week. cos I dun think japan insurance is enough for me, do you know that japan insurance covers for miscarriage? funny hor but I got about $2K for the last miscarriage leh.

Yvonne, actually during my ET, me and hubby considered putting in 2 but Dr Loh told us the chances of getting triplets is like striking TOTO, very unlikely so we put in 3 lor..... guess he knows best

BB,

wow, you also so free today ah! trust us to crack joke here when we keep failing our treatments, I laugh until tears come out when i see your posting, both of us siao already!

didi,

precisely that's what finally made me decide to put in 3, 1 already difficult, so like my dr said, increase the bet and chance lor.

Yvonne,

Ya sometime siao siao is good. Bad day today la, had lunch with a women (long story) and she kept telling me abt her 2 kids. Aiyo so long story and i must pretend very interested in her kids activities, almost die.

didi,

you better dun say too early yet, tomorrow your blood test and two weeks later, when you go for scanning, it has not been confirm yet of how many you will see there, maybe you strike toto this time. you okay with triplets right? singapore still easy, can afford and got parents and maid, so still not so worried right?

Yvonne, when you said chromosomes, do you mean DS ? sorry just checking, did you do the generic test to vertify that it is a 1-time thing ? you mean you were pregnant after ICSI then the foetus stopped growing ? don't worry I believe 'lighting won't strike twice'

Yvonne, don't scare me leh, I am fine with twins but triplets can't imagine got to get all reinforcement, although hubby told Dr that he is be very happy if that happens but triplets high risk.

Yvonne,

Now i am waiting for u and Renee to strike to gv me some confidence. Recently fedup abt IVF, thinking if i fail the next FET than will stop IVF but try TCM only. Have hv don't hv don't hv. We did so many lifestyle adjustment.....

didi,

it is okay, I dun feel sad now about the miscarriage anymore, so feel wasted sometimes. I actually strike once when my first dr peter chew injected me with something like lucrin or so to stimulate egg and then artificial hatch it, then he told us to ML on that few days and then I got pregnant but BHCG was very low already in the beginning, suspected chance of miscarriage, so that time, I did not do a D&C, just let it flow out like menses and therefore no test done, second time was I was on the way to doing IVF, started injection of supefact/lucrin to suppress hormones and then found out that I am pregnant, I thought the test kit shows pregnant is becos of injection but no, so I stopped the IVF half way, BHCG was okay but then after 6 weeks, 7 weeks still cannot detect heartbeat and BHCG did not go down too, but waited until 8 weeks, dr think that no chance liao and suggested D&C, this dr is from NUH, current dr. so he did a test for me due to second miscarrige and subsequently I did somemore blood test for couple of months lapse to show if it is generic or one time unlucky thing, in the end my result show fine and doctor said highly is becos of unlucky for both times.

BB,

renee got higher chances, her dunno how many times liao and fresh cycle, mine is FET, not much chances, just wanted to clear my frozen embryos else wasted lor.

didi,

not trying to scare you lah, trying to make you more relax for tomorrow test mah, you today like sitting on needle pillow right? relax okay, it will be fine. furthermore, you got reinforcement, i dun have leh.

BB,
our friends are all mothers already or mother to be, so very difficult position hor, wat to do, have to bear with it when they talked about their kids, I am sure we will be like them in the future too, i think we will be worse than them!

Yvonne, I know you are just kidding
guess you can understand what am I going thru, whole day been sulking until my hubby comforted me then I cry (are you like that too ?) or just me. I also discussed hubby what if I don't get pregnant this time round, then he say try again lor. Everytime I go pee in the toilet< i am so scared to see 'RED'
waiting is terrible

Didi, u sure can't sleep tonight! Awy, tml u will party liao!
(I like u, even now still go toilet and see got 'red' or not, still not secure cos have not scan yet.)

Yvonne,
I think all the hormone jabs are basically the same, just manufactured by different companies under different. That's what i heard somewhere...aiya...to be frank...if really times up, no need all those hormone jabs to get cancer leh....so dun worry so much la....

Didi,

Saya saya. Try not to be anxious or cry if not baby in tummy can feel it. Maybe Nanz is right, tomoro u'll buy us all a drink!