blue rabbit
no worries
glad to know progesterone level is looking very good
luckily no injections or tabs. dun worry abt the bloatedness, it goes away but for now, it's the hardest part to bear wif...

hi all, my so-iui failed as AF reported for duty this AM.... so after giving some thots, my hubby & I will b doing ivf...... appt with gynae next mon afternn at KKH....

Renee, thanks for your explanation. just told my boss about my plans for the IVF and was advised to take 6 months unpaid leave so that I won't get stressed out during the whole process. I was told by KK that I will be given 5 days of MC after implantation. Is that all the days that we need to rest for IVF? Wonder if we have to factor some time to rest? For those sisters who have gone through this, would you advise me to take off? My work is quite stressful but to forgo 6 months pay is alot to me.

ww
PCOs is a very common "disease" according to my chinese sinseh. apparently it's also caused by this imbalance hormones from our brain (cannot remember is it LSH or FSH).

when i first went thru the prog last sep, i was prepared to take 2 wks break from the time of ER to ET (ard end oct) to the 2-wk wait. when i was tested positive, i took a further 2 months leave (hospital leave) to a total of 60 days hospitalisation which my company covered me for, so i was still paid my salary during that period of time. the stressful period is not the frequent visits to the doc nor injections but the waiting and wondering if it was a success. so yes, i would say take some time off during the waiting period but be prepared to take longer time off when tested +ve cos that's truly where the stress of keeping the bHCG hormones up set in.

ww,
I rested for 2 days afer ET and then I came back to work liao. My work is also very stressful and I hv to endure with all the side effects at the same time too. But at least I don't hv time to think too much abt the end results.

blue_rabbit, which Dr u seeing at KKH?

I had high progesterone and bad bloatedness and it all turned out well!!...so it's a good sign.

renee, thanks. Not sure whether my son knows or not..like blur blur. Still young lah..but when he push my tummy too hard and I say cannot do that, didi and meimei will cry, he will say sayang sayang...

ww,
Ya I think your boss or company is very important for the day off part. Hopefully they will be understanding enough to support you. so taht you won't get so stressed up. Which missmoon's company is very kind and she's very fortunate.... really wonder how many bosses can do that to their staffs.

ww, renee's right. i was lucky to have a very good boss and have good employment benefits.

perhaps a good start is to check your appt letter to see how many days of mc and/or hospitalisation leave you're entitled to. from there, you can make your decision how many days you want to take off.

tch,
Oh goodness!! your boy is so so cute. how sweet hor? sayang sayang..... i think blue rabbit's RE is the same as ours Dr. SF Loh

Hi Renee and missmoon,

I am entitled to 60 days of HL (inclusive of MC). But would the Dr especially those from KK be generous enough to recommend long HL to you to rest at home? Or do they go by the book strictly?

Renee
Thanks for your advice, so hope tat my case will be different lah....

Blue Rabbit,
Are you ok now? You will have to endure the bloatedness. Take care. As for me, not sure if it was bloat? tummy a little coming out but not sure if it's fats or what??? Still can eat as normal, no pain, nothing.... You mention that your progestrone is high, do you know your reading?? I had mine yesterday it's at 189.4. Anyway, doc did prescript tablets. When will you be going for your pregnancy blood test? I will be going on next Thursday, it's really exciting and scare at the same time to know the results. it's like getting exams result. pass or fail ??? I am trying to relax now, telling my dh, if pass go where celebrate or fail wat to do ha. we shall see lah.

Wish both of us will succeed and fulfill our dreams......

tch,
I'm with Dr SF Loh.... thinking of going KKH for my bloatedness, now walking also feel pain and nausea... cannot tahan alr.

ww,
It's 5 day HL starting from ER. If u need more MC hv to see Doc and get MC but hv to pay $56++ for consultation lor.

Jolene,
I dunno my reading... forgot to ask, but I don't need to take extra tablets lor. My pregnancy test is on the 13 Mar but I'm alr planning when to do home pregnancy... heehee, can't wait leh.

My journey to GIFT program is starting soon. Today just done mine and HB blood test. Cost me $420...wah so expensive!!! I got so upset after doing the bloodtest, keep thinking to myself why I have to spend so much to get pregnant. Really feeling morale low and depress.

hi hopeformiracle,
no choice lah, that's the price we have to pay. think you should just put the $$ portion aside, else, it will be very stressful and upsetting... for me, think i have spent almost about 20k liao. from the first attempt till now... i already 'see open' where $$$ is concern..

Thanks for the well wishes. I'm so touched but quite regrettful that I cant post as often to give more encouragement to those who need it. I just can't sit upright for too long to type. Anyway, to all the sisters who are just starting or thinking of starting IVF, please be strong and dont give up trying. You'll find comfort and encouragement from this forum whenever you need it. Stay strong ok.

Ms Moon,
Congrats for your little prince! Have a name for him yet?...

Blue Rabbit,
Haha...I guess we are both in the same boat. But I hope it is true what they say about the bloating being a good sign. The nurses at KKH also said the same thing, so I hope you'll have good news for us on the 13th. I take my girth measurement every morning and the bloating seems to have stagnated to an average of 96cm for the past 2-3 days. I hope it will start going down from now on although the discomfort stays the same. Nurses said that on average, it takes 10 days from the date of your BHCG count for the bloating to subside, so I'm counting down the days. Hang in there ok. We'll go through it together. Jia you!!!

ww

Like Blue Rabbit, I got the protocol 5 days mc from my ER. But when I returned to work and suffered the bloatedness after 3 days, they gave me an extra 2 days mc. And then when I was warded, which was when my tummy was about 84 cm, they gave me 18 days hospitalisation leave. You can apply for the mc at KKH 24 hrs clinic, so you dont have to pay the $56 consultation fee. I don't think KKH is too strict with mcs. I mean, when they saw how bloated I was, they figured I couldn't go to work looking like that lor.

Hi Mrs Z, missmoon...congrats..all the best to those who are already in the prg...hope to see more good news in this web...

Blue Rabbit,

Ha, you really can't wait huh. I heard tat it might be too early to detect from urine test. Ai yo, wait patiently till 13th lah.

HopeFormiracle,
I do understand your feeling, hv tot of this question before. Have learnt to take things easy, dun get too stressful, it's no good for your body. We are here to support one another.... You must feel happy that we are willing to explore all chances instead of waiting and getting disappointed month after month. Let's jia you.

hi sisters

i just came back from my Pregnly jab....its' not painful, jab on my left buttock so now cannot put too much weight on that side.

Will be doing my ER this weekend but doc will not do the ET for me so soon cos he said my lining is not so good. My heart sank .....
After 2wks+ of injection and i have to stop half way, i feels very dishearted. If my embryos are in good grades,I will be to doing a FET later.
For now, i've stop all my jabs.

blue_rabbit
awaits your good news...

hopeformiracle
good to hear that you are starting your prg soon. something to look forward huh!?

hi summer06

so sori to hear abt yr situation. Pls dont give up as u will still get to do yr FET rite ? stay positive !!!

what is the reason why u cannot do ET? Lining not good means what? Does it mean u cannot support the pregnancy ?

hi mimi

when lining is not so good, the chances of getting pregnant not so high. After ER, probably
i be on some medication to strenghten the lining.

Tks, i know the race is not completed yet. Will stay positive. After tonight sleep, i'll be better, i guess

So blue rabbit is with Dr SF Loh too. I just talked to a nurse in TPS, she also mentioned that his success rate is very high...also a lot of multiplies..

What about Mrs Z, are you with Dr SF Loh too?

chin up summer, don't worry ya...everything will be fine.

hopeformiracle, i can relate to that feeling and in fact all the sisters here will agree me...we are all here to support each other...must have the 'can do' attitude...we sure can make it

last evening I really can't tahan and went down to kkh 24 hr clinic. Doc took my blood and said that if it's really concentrated then I hv to be warded. Luckily I waited till 10 plus and no call came. The bloated feeling really gone down alot this morning, although tummy still very protruding.

hey sisters,
I guess in life there are many ups and downs. It's beyond our control most of the time. Especially to our IVF prog. Atleast we tried. So we should not regret if things didn't turn out to our expectations.(can be sad and disappointed lah) After the ET it's all up to god or other reasons whether or not we will see the success. Basicaly there's nothing much we can do. There will always be other times and chance.I am too trying hard to cope with whatever that's comin along.

summer, it's not the end or the worst for you ok?Good things always come later!!

Blue rabbit, please have more rest.

im new to this thread..i used to be under Dr Sheila Loh at kkivf. had triplets in my 1st attempt but at 23 weeks last nov due to incompetent cervix and subsequently lost all 3 baby boys.

i have changed gyne to Dr Foong at gleneagles and now doing my 2nd ivf..next fri starting my gonal-f injections..feeling very stress and apprehensive..dunno why but i feel so down and not confident at all..i guess just scared and frightened if turn out negative..

jus like to talk to more ivf sisters going thru same program

hi puipui80,
sorry to hear your lost.... I did my 1st fresh ivf cycle in last year sept and din make it. followed by fet in dec, still din make it!!

i can understand your worries and being negetive. likewise for mee too. but i will not give up. though i din even make it to positive result but i will keep trying. so you should not feel down, cause you managed to have a positive result. i believe you will be able to make it again this time,and not let the pass bother you now. be strong ok!

tch & Mrs.Z,
may I ask did you actually avoid chicken and soya during the prog? as well as the shampoo and skin care too? did you change them to organic shampoo and skin care?

hi sister,
had my blood test last week for prolactin. nurse told me my prolactin level is VERY VERY high. so high that it may affect my brain. haven't got a chance to see prof yet. but he instructed the nurse to give me some medication first.

anyone knows about this prolactin thing? read over the web that high prolactin may cause irregular mensual cycle, ovaluation problem. but i never had such problem before leh... now i am so worried that it may affect my program... can any one advise?

hi blue rabbit,
relax and relax...this is the key word...the rest juz leave it to God
btw, how're u feeling now?

hi tch,
how're u & the little ones doing?
I'm starting the SO-IUI programme tomolo! I wonder if it will cause OHSS like IVF or not? My doc is SF Loh too. Was told that if 5 or more follicles stimulated, more advisable to convert to IVF.

hi seow,
my blood test (long time ago) also shows i have a hyperprolatin (although it is just slightly higher then the borderline), my dr. also give me some medicine to consume for 2 months...well, just take the medicine as per your dr. instruction. do take it before you go to bed, or else u will feel dizzy.

hi missmoon,
thanks, read the website. but i don't have any of the symptoms leh... that's what that worries me.

will be seeing prof this wed... hopefully things will go on fine...sigh

hi sisters

i've done my ER, abdomen area doesnt feels good. kinda of pulling effect. Is this normal? I was feeling alright until last evening...
This is the first time i feel uncomfortable since i started the program.

20eggs have been retrived..gonna wait for the lab result to know how good are they.....Pray that i'll have good grade embryos. keeping my fingers cross

can anyone share on the experience on FET??

hi seow, good that u dun hv the symptoms, i think? it could be a spillover from the hormone drugs given during last prog.

meanwhile, stay your positive & cheerful self

Hi curious,
I also dunno what I'm feeling now. On one hand I want to know whether I'm pregnant or not. On the other hand, I'm scare that it would turn out -ve.

These 2 days hv been feeling very tight ard my abdomen and also some cramp and I look like I'm 3-4 mths preggy, I also dunno normal or not leh. I don't want to read too much into the symptons and get myself too stress up. I just hope that the discomfort will go away soon.

summer,
Good that u hv 20 follicles extracted. Just rest well and prepare yourself for the FET. Just do one thing at a time and don't think too much abt it. Impt thing is a relax and +ve mind.

Hi blue rabbit,
I believe you're working now still? When you're at home, try listen to music, watch TV programmes, rent your favourite DVD and watch during your free time. Wow...those korean shows u like or not? You'll be very busy 'chasing' those episodes and no time to think or worry about other stuffs. Very soon, 13 March will be approaching. Stay positive! And relax your mind. Or read a religious book...will help to calm your mind.