Sorry, I am confused by the flow. Does it mean that I only start injecting on CD21 (for how many days) and that IVF cycle is gonna be a long long cycle? I thought ER normally will be around CD14 when ovulation usually happens?

tomatoes

I also not very sure but according to the nurse it's about 1 1/2 month process.

2 weeks of injection to suppress the release of hormone ... 1 week injection to stimulate the ovaries to produce follicles then about 5 days for the OR and ET and 2 more weeks for the results.

berry

I rec your treatment plan from Mt E ... if I am not wrong yours also start from CD21 ley ...

Your refer to Stage B ... it's CD21 or one week before next period to start Down-regulation injection which I think it's same as the suppressing jabs ... and after tat you will start the stimulation jabs. I think the whole procedure is more or less the same.

ya tomatoes ... I read from a book that the procedure is very stressful both physically & emotionally.

Ppl had been saying we cannot pin high hopes so we won't be so painful if we failed but the IVF process is consist of many stages ... getting thru each stage is so difficult and if we had finally come to the final stage ie to Test for the results, we had since rec many good news and hopes that there is little room left for the bad news. I'm sure i will break down if the test results is negative .

Hi CT
I totally agree with you on this. It is a emotionally and financially strained process which I dun know if I will collasped or not if successfully. That's why, counselling is definitely very important for us. If my hubby knows that I cannot take results, he surely will discourage me from going thru'. So now, I am trying to mentally prepared myself with these few months for IVF.

2years ago, I went to a fortune-teller and he told me that I will have difficulty in conceiving. So true enuff. But now, cannot look back liao, must look forward. Haiz.

Westbb
How's your scan today?

Hi CT,

I'm online again...anyway, if you look closely, it was ERASED, there are lines across B and C, you might see it as lines only, but it was cross out, which means, it WAS previously day 21 (the down regulation) then, they change the treatment and starts everything on day 2. Maybe they figure out it's better? No idea at all. But i'm really sure that at Mt. E, it will start on day 2nd, i've clarified it from them, or i can check again on Monday. I will definetely ask it tomorrow why Micky (Gleneagles but doc before from NUH) and Mt. E is CD2. Really confuses me

hi tomatoes, today my scan not very good leh.. follicles growing a bit slow, so will do the IVF on Mon instead of Sun. Gynae also up my GonalF dosage for today and tomorrow, and i will take my trigger shot tomorrow night. nurse told me to take more protein because the eggs will need protein to grow.. so today i ate a lot of meat, milk and no veggies :p

i did not further clarify about the medisave thing today. i'll adopt the wait and see approach first. if really cannot claim, i will complain to my MPs.

Mickey, can i check with you - u said u were given HL... but you did not stay in the hospital right? so they still give u HL, or is it medical leave MCs?

I read through my RE's brochure on ICSI. It stated that I need to take some thing to suppress the natural hormonal activities 2 week before the IVF cycle starts. So I guess mine start from CD21 also. After that, then I will take GonalF to grow my eggs.

Westbb
Follicles growing slow doesn't mean it is not growing. Just need a bit more patience and time. Try to relax these few days to prepare yourself for the coming ER. Take good care and keep us updated of your progress

As for the medisave, put it at the back of your mind first.

paisei, the injection starts from CD21, juz checked the protocol. guess my memory failing me liao.

The protocol file is too big to be uploaded, how?

Hi All (especially Westbb)

MOH has revised its T&C for using Medisave for ACP. Medisave usage is now limited for IVF procedures only. IUI will not be counted in the 3 attempts for Medisave claims.

Wow! Our efforts of writing in really pays off!!!! So happy now!!!!

berry

You attended the talk today in KKh right? I think yours is the latest new protocol which Dr CT Yeong mentioned ... a new medicine which will be used to suppress the hormones immediately instead of the old medication which required 2 weeks ... so I think tat explain why your injections start from CD2.

thanks tomatoes for the good news! glad they came to their senses phew!

anyone went to the KK fertility talk this afternoon? it was rather interesting for the last part on touring the ivf lab.

just took my hcg shot. feeling very nervous for mon and the subsequent days having to wait for news on how would my eggs be doing...

westbb

Dun worry ... like wat tomatoes said Follicles growing slow doesn't mean it is not growing ... be positive and relax this few days. You will be alright ... update us on your process on Monday.

tomatoes

Did you attend the talk today? Anyway according to Dr SF loh ... the medisave claimable for the first attempt of IVF in KKH is only $5K as he claimed that KKH charges is TOO CHEAP . He mentioned stmg like the medisave can only be claimed for procedure charges and in KKH the charges total up to about $5K only thus we can only claim $5K.

CT,

I attended the talk too. They had consistently quoted that ivf in kkh cost abt $7-8k. If we are able to claim $5k from medisave, then the remaining in cash shd be pretty affordable at $2k plus.

but he also mention medisave is our own hard earned money too ... so we gotta be cautious on its usage
The interest rate for our medisave account is higher than normal saving accounts outside. Thus, unless we really feel we need the liquidity, or can get better returns for our money, we shd still weigh pros and cons of using medisave and how much to use

Hi CT,

So did Dr Yeong indicate whether when kkh is going to use the new protocol which starts injections from CD2? Also, is treatment using this new protocol going to be more costly?

chemistry,

the new injections that dr yeong mention is the Gnrh Antagonist jabs eg. Antagon or Cetrotide (as opposed to the normal gnrh agonist jabs eg. lupron). He mentoned that with this jabs, you do not need 2 weeks for down regulation... your hormone will be suppressed almost immediately. However as the jab is very expensive and it has not been shown to increase the pregnancy rate, kkivf has chosen so far to stick with the old protocol of starting from cd21. Thus each ivf cycle in kkivf will take abt 6-7 weeks. If the agonist jab is given, then the cycle will be reduced to abt 4 weeks

he never say when they will be using the new protocol. But I guess if the jab become affordable one day, I think they will probably consider changing to the new protocol.

Westbb
All the best to your scanning and ER tomorrow. Dun think so much, you will be just fine

CT
No, I did not attend the talk. I read today papers that KKH is holding a talk for preggie mums. Poohy can attend the talk. And also NUH will have a talk on 4 Sep to talk about ACP also. Wow, so many talks coming....

So still KKH offers the cheapest rate in town for IVF. I will go check with my RE when I see him next month. Will keep you will updated also.

Hi Micky,

Can you advise us on what are the things (eg, what to do, what not to do, what to eat etc) to take note of :-
1)before you start the injections
2)during the period of injections
3)before ER
4)after transfer?

Many thanks.

Dear girls,
Can anyone please recommend a good fertility specialist? I have a friend who has seen two gynaes so far and has gone thru 3 cycles of IUI. She is now looking for a reliable and good gynae. I hope you will be able to help. Thank you.

Tiny,

from what I heard, Dr Ann Tan seems fairly agressive in her treatment, heard she very result oriented. Can ask westbb, think she's seeing Dr Ann Tan.

If your fren is ok with kkh, then the 3 kkivf consultants/reproductive endocrinolgist are caring and good too
I am seeing one of them ...and there are very good reviews on the other 2 gynaes too. The success rate of kkivf also quite high plus charges are most affordable..

Hi Tiny
Yah, your friend should try KKH first. Their success rates quite high and have good REs there.

Wonder how is westbb doing now....must be resting...

Thanks Poohy & tomatoes. my friend is currently at TMC, forgot who she's seeing. I will speak to her again tomorrow.

hebe

i would say generally before starting on ICSI, refrain from taking liang stuff, try to drink DOM (maybe every alternate days) to build up your womb so that it can better support the foetus if the implantation is successful.

After the transfer of embryos to the uterus, try not to walk around too much coz it may affect the impantation.

westbb
how are you doing?

I have been following this thread and must really thank all of you for all the valuable info.! I have been TTC for abt 3 years and I have gone thru' 3 unsucessful IUI! Is considering IVF but still to find out more abt it and u gals are really helpful. I am currently with SGH with DR Juliana Abu-Wong. Wonder if anyone is with her or any reviews abt her or going thru fertility at SGH.

Hi Dang99

Welcome to our thread. Sorry to hear about your failed attempts on IUI. Do you mind if I ask if you have been diagnosed with any problems?

Hi Micky,

How soon should one start drinking DOM?
And do you feel tired during the injections period?

Thank You.

dang
welcome..did your gynae suggets IVF for your case? me dun even hv chance to do IUI..straightaway gynae says ICSI, my case ultimate liao..hehe

hebe
perhaps u can start abt 2-3 mths before the actual ICSI. not tired at all during the injections. simple procedure, juz poke urself on the abdomen every morning with the medication..

in fact, even during my first trimester of pregnancy, i do not feel the normal systom of tiredness as well, think me super active..haha

me will be delivering by c-section on the 08 oct, date has been fixed..

Hi Micky

Wow! 8 Oct. That's another 8 days to go... so excited for you. Btw, that's the birthday of my dad too
So this date is specially chosen by the fengshui master is it?

Ladies, good afternoon!

Did my OR yesterday.. was put to sleep during the procedure so was totally knocked out. Woke up with some cramps but still manageable. Slept almost the whole day and at night I can still fall asleep very fast, really like pig. Now still feeling some cramps but ok lah. Yesterday got a little bit of spotting but now no more already. 13 eggs were retrieved, called to check just now, 11 were mature, 7 fertilised but haven't split into cells yet. Very worried now, the number is small... Thurs will be the transfer.

Mickey, wow time flies. can i ask why are you going for c-section?

Hi Micky
Yah, I really blurr. Keep thinking that this month is Sep. Hee!

Hi Westbb
So good to hear from you!!! Glad you are doing well too
You mean for the fertilised eggs, still need them to split before the transfer is it? Is yours ICSI or normal IVF?

Tiny, who is your friend's gynae at TMC? The gynae currently handling my icsi is from Thomson too, Dr LC Cheng.

Hi Westbb,

Best of luck to you! I read that you did it from ann tan of Mt. E? is it true? i thought you did it from GlenE.

Micky,

Don't answer CT's question, she just got that question from a confused girl
, it's actually 6 weeks waiting before doing IVF.

westbb

Glad you are doing fine and best of luck to you? Btw, did your hus went for sperm storage or he jus collect on that day itself?

Yours is ICSI right? How much did you pay for the procedure? Is ICSI more ex than IVF?

Westbb
glad that u are doing well. dun worry, most of them will split into two cells, then 4 cells then on the day of transfer, 8 cells. doc will assess the quality and decide which ones to keep. me going for c-section coz of low lying placenta..
good luck for the ER, two more days to go. hope it will be successful. dun worry abt the number of eggs, if there is few good ones, then good enuff liao.

CT,
ICSI is a form of IVF. in fact, under IVF, got GIFT, ICSI etc. diff methods used in fetilising the eggs, that's all.

Micky

I understand ICSI is a more complicated procedure for couples with severe male problem and had a slightly higher success rate ... wouldn't teh cost be higher than the normal IVF where they put the sperm into the dish to fertilise the egg?

hi westbb,

glad to hear that all is going well. good luck to your coming transfer this thur. your experience reminds me of my surgery few weeks back. was practically sleeping the whole day, the drug was indeed potent and i vomitted a few times that day...

CT
i don't know abt that. but i presume it would be slighty more expensive as 'delicate' equipments need to be used.

Hi WestBB,
I forgot who my friend's gynae is. but it's a lady. Besides asking her to check out KKH, I've decided to recommend my gynae to her. He is Dr Teoh Eng Soon from Teoh Clinic for Women at Shaw Centre, 17th floor. He's very experienced and has practiced for many many years (he's actually my mum's gynae) and he's even written books on Pregnancy and Infertility. I wasn't sure if I should recommend him to my friend at first cos some people may prefer younger and female gynaes when it comes to dealing with fertility issues, but he is very professional and very experienced and he's been a great gynae so far. I'm sure he will also be able to refer her to someone trustworthy if he feels he cannot handle the case.

Ladies, good morning!

Just checked with the embryologist, all my 7 fertilised eggs have cleaved into 4 cells. my heart was practically in my mouth when my hubby made the call. Tomorrow will be the transfer... i'm really really anxious and worried whether they can continue to cleave or not... did i tell u that i actually cried when i was sitting on the operation bed for the OR. i was so nervious and scared.

CT, we used frozen sperms from my hubby for the ICSI. Yes, it's more expensive than conventional IVF, think it's $1000 more in Thomson.

Hi Westbb
Congratulations! Hope your transfer tomorrow will successful. So they are going to transfer 3 fertilised eggs tomorrow right? So excite for you that your BFP is coming real soon. Do try to rest and relax as much as possible....

Westbb

Congratulations! Really happy for you. All the best for your transfer tomorrow. If you use 3 embryo then you can freeze the rest for your 2nd and 3rd child .... hehehe

Dun worry too much ... you will strike this cycle. Meanwhile rest as much as you can and relax ...

Btw, are you given HL or MC?

Westbb,

Hope you have a successful transfer tomorrow!

We pray for good news from you ya!

All the best and luck!