Hi Ladies, I had my ivf for the first time in Feb this year and dr told me it was very successful and I had many grade 1 eggs. Everything went smoothly until I had my u/s at week 7 to reveal a weak heartbeat and at weak 8, no more heartbeat. Dr said it was a missed abortion. Did anyone have such an experience? Is it advisable to go for D&C? Dr was advising against it as it may make my uterus thinner. Please advise. Thanks.

Honeypoppy,

Just like to share with you, the embryogist at KKH told me last thursday that all my eggs were fertilised through ICSI. I was abit worried hearing that, cos she gave me the impression that my egg shell were to hard to penetrate or my hubby's sperm is weak... then she corrected me, because only 13 eggs were collected, Dr loh made the decision not to fertilise naturally but to do ICSIl. This is to make sure that all eggs will get fertilised instead of leaving to natural fertilisation.

Unless I have 20 over eggs collected, then they may use half to fertilise naturally and another half to ICSI.

Hope this info helps to give you a peace of mind... Most importantly, is to relax. What will be, eventually it will happen :D

Gan, so early ur scan is done? ur FET on tue, still got a few days for lining to grow right? since already decided to proceed, must tink positive! the embryos will also jia you!

Penny, sorry to hear that.

So what did the doctor say? Did he advise D&C or wait for the heavy bleeding to come?

For my last miscarriage, I wait for the menses to come... Dr told me no need to do D&C... it was week 6 then.

PandaWife,

your symptoms for OHSS is very strong leh.... headaches and then now nausea.... how much puregon do you use now?

Just Faith, yesterday nurse oso says got OHSS symptoms leh...
bt yesterday i din get headache.. just very nausea after my lunch.. so she ask me to take the charcoal pills and also immunocal twice a day..
i m using 200iu of puregon.. later go for scan, i will double check with the doctor ...

penny, if doc advised no need to do d&c, then do bah, because may thin ur lining. I am doing my fet soon, and my lining is not good but i guess cld be due to stress, that's why hormone not balance. As i was concern i asked my tcm doc is it becoz of my age that's why thinner lining, she said age shld not be an issue but pple who went thru d&c cld have thin lining as their lining maybe hurt. I am sure ur doc will give the right advice.

Pandawife yes will be positive, hopefully these few days will grow somemore. Maybe the 2 days leave did help. =) since lining didn't grow for 1st 2 scan and grow abit for 3rd scan

PandaWife,

Cause I read your previous posts, headaches, nausea, urinary retention etc.... all these are OHSS symptoms. Being PCOS patient, I also worry about all these symptoms. But being on 200iu, you are really over-reacting. And I know how it feels men!

My highest dosage was also 200iu. And right now, in 2ww, I still feel very bloated, especially after a meal.... but waht to do, I feel hungry easily.

Are you taking some kind of protein shake?

came done to dr zou for some med, no acu coz i didn't make appt but 2 of her patients were late, so liying asked me do acu....so lucky!!

Penny, I had similar experience like u.
Had my first ivf last June n got pregnant. Week 6 scan was ok but week 7 totally no heartbeat. Of course was upset. My dr, prof wong from Nuh, told me to go d&c. I can't remember if he told me y not to wait for menses to come.
I planned my d&c a week after that which I was told I should not delay after that as it's not goodto have that in my body for too long. Nurses also told me if I had any bleeding within the week I must straightaway go to the hosp which luckily did not happen to me.

honeypoppy,

I started GYNERA on april 15 ( one week after u) so i guess I will take till early mid may?

i have been taking folic acid all these while so she just mention to continue. COQ10? nope she did not ask me to do so...will ask her again next week..

vivi_jc: thanks for the tip..will pop by the book shop to take a look..

pandawife: you feeling ok? hang in there.....the day is soon to be here..

Gan

Good that your lining had grown... Now very close to the 8mm already so just think positive. Have u started to introduce progesterone via inserts? Normally that is done 2 to 3 days before ET. Are u doing a D2 or D3 transfer?

My ET is on Monday D3 transfer. I started progesterone last night. We will be in 2ww together...

LAdies,
Everyone gets up early even on saturdays.. iam the lazy goose ...

Gan,
Lining will grow each day.. stay positive. don't worry.

Penny,

Last time i had my IVF in July and BFP 900 Units and then Week 6 - empty uterus,
they said suspecting - ectopic .. almost admitted for Keamo injection, but suddenly doc called up and
asked us to wait till next week ,if no pain and bleeding, hence waited, Week 7 - sac found, no heat beat, waited for another week ,
since no bleeding or abdomen pain and HCG level was 30000 , Week 8 , sac grown - no foetus, no heartbeat, hence decided to D&C - week - 9 , as a formality
they check in scan before d&C. still no heartbeat , HCG was 12000, did d&C on week 9.
Listen they asked me to wait , to confirm what is the situation and if there is no bleeding and menses don't come , better to go in for D&C,
bcos they totally clean up your uterus and once healed after 3 -4 mths. you are ready..the lining will be back thats what my doc said.

i know what you are going through.. truly understand ur feeling.. it is tough... cry out loud.. and discuss with doctor again and then decide.. iam just sharing me experience.
Hugzsssssssss

pandawife.

hey take care.. .. relax and hold on till ER

Pandawife/Just faith,
Iam now scared leh... what iam going to do dwith 450 units of puregon..
first fear is i should get more eggs.
next is i should not get OHSS.
cha..

Rainzs.. ya too heavy dosage.. i don't know why the doc gave high dosage .. just trying to relax and trust doc.

Ladies i have a query.. many take protein supplements..
Immunocal (2 sachet/day)
CoQ10 300mg
do we need to consult doctor before taking it ??
or just go ahead and buy..

fancy,

i dun take any supplements... so cant advise you on that... suggest that you discuss with your doctor before taking it. Cos it may have been included in other process that you dunno.

Regarding your 450iu, I really peifu you gals. Have you tried IVF before? Any idea how come doctor put you on 450iu so fast? Each pen only comes with 400iu, how many jabs are you taking then?

Fancy,

do you have PCOS? If no, dun worry too much abt OHSS. Cos OHSS is common among PCOS people like me and PandaWife.

just faith,
ya even i thought let me check with doc,
so many questions going through our mind.
ya 2nd time ivf... might be based on previous IVF experience....sorry its 450 units - gonal f..
one pen has 900 units ...

Just faith,
U know what .. this IVF journeyhad really made me strong .. my attitude towards life changed..
iam glad i found this forum..

This ttc journey makes alot of gals here stronger.

From someone who is so afraid of going hospital, now I go kk like I go NTUC.... now see needles also no scared liao... tomolo I will inject on my own. Pregnyl... those mix and jab type....

Ya, this forum really rockzzz

I see. We are both seeing the same doctor.

Now I know most of the KKIVF nurses by their first names.... we are like family.

ya true.. i have absolute no fear of needles.. i can poke myself.. ready to go through anydamn thing for this little one..
we should all be so proud.. we are the onez who will appreciate motherhood well, bcos we go through all this to achieve..

Fancy, all the best to your IVF journey.. stay positive. I am sure we will carry the little ones in our arms one day.

Justfaith,
Thanks .. you take lotof rest now... all teh best to you too...

ok let me go and cook .. now.. and catch u all later after few hrs..

Lyn

the insert is cyclogest. And dr also gives duphaston for medicated fet.

Just faith

different drs have different progesterone protocols. Some have jabs, some have inserts, some oral medication and some a combination. Inserts typically given for fet.

gals, i m back from my scan.
today lining is 10mm, follicles size is between 14-16mm. Dr Paul says the follices are growing well. Final scan on Mon and ER will likely be on Wed.

Just Faith, yes, i m taking immunocal.. a protein drink.
i asked Dr ..he says is normal to feel so bloated since i hv many eggs. But I tink this cycle i feel better than my previous cycle.
Last round i used 250IU thru out.. by 5th day of puregon, i started taking 10-12 raw egg whites a day....
this time, i try not to take the whites....since i m on immunocal...the thot of the whites makes me wanna puke even more.

miraclebaby, yes i am on inserts, cyclogest, twice a day, will start inserts on sunday, et on tuesday. Will also continue with 10mg progynova, after et, 8mg daily.

Fancy my gonal f is 400 units for my fresh cycle.

Pandawife good lining and good follicles size. =) thomson road towards novena church quite jam right..

Gan, Su_yana, thanks!

hmm.. i came back home the opposite direction, so no jam. u went novena church?

still dun like to go tmc... the clinic was so packed today...with pregnant ladies and alot of little kiddos.. waited 40mins to do my scan.

Dr Paul told me Mon i hv to go there again.. when i called to tell my DH..he went "OMG!" haha.. today he is working, so my parents sent me to tcm.

panda, no didn't go novena church, but heading that direction as i am shifting to the apt next to church, so after acu with dr zou went there to meet hubby to see what reno to do. The traffic there was like snail crawling. =p

miraclebaby.forgot to mention, think mine is D2 transfer.

Pandawife,
Hey Good result.. All the best for ER..

Gan,
u 400 units of gonal F in fresh cycle?? oho..
Did u feel bloated during frist few days of jabs?? how did u manage..? u r in FET rite now?

Pandawife
I also just came bk frm scan... Linning is at 12.6mm... Got a shock.. Its only 10.6mm yday... I ask dr will it be too thick.. He say no.. Its just nice and good... I just had my 9th puregon.. Tml will be my last dose.. Er on tue... Dr say today scan hows better result then yday scan.. All the small ones catch up and the big ones slowed down.. So all balanced..

Im worried im aldy at 12.6mm for my linning.. I still have tml for puregon which means my lining will still continue to grow.. Will it get too thick? Im gng for daily acup now.. Will it make it grow thicker? Cos i know acup helps in linning growth...

This time im not having pregynl for trigger shot.. Its ovidrel.. More exp. Can administer myself.. No need to go gp... Anyone had that?

can i join u gals in this thread? I've sign consent form and counselling with kkivf. will be going down on 30apr to buy lucrin and will start lucrin on 2may.

baby, ur lining is growing fast leh... maybe becoz u do acup. my lining seems to b growing 1mm every 2 days..so by mon scan, it shld b 11mm.

if doc says ur lining is just nice..then no need to worry!.. must tink positive.

i tink my pregynl shot will b monday night... i was told to go to CARE, Angela will go back to help me do the jab.

next one to update shld b Rainzz..

Yeah! Gan, so happy for you! Got grow got grow! By next Tues sure more than 8mm! That time my last scan 8mm, 2 days later at ET already 9mm. Can de. JY! And take care of yourself now, must have strong body and immune system, your journey has just begun!

fancy, i started taking 2 egg white at lucrin stage and 4 egg white at gonal f stage. The bloated feeling only came in after er. During gonal f, only side effetcs is daily headache.

Vivi_jc,
congrats congrats!! Enjoy ure preggy n take care... Hugggzz n kisses..

Nm
u mention doc gave u bb aspirin as ure blood clot easily?do thEy actualli test ure rate of clotting?
I ask as I have slower clotting rate..hope d doc will pick it up m give me med to help clotting.

Pandawife,
all d best..
When I did my soiui at150iu, I m getting all d headaches,migranes,bloat,burp,gas.
Eating less rice at night will reduce d bloatedness.
N during 2ww, try to take d utrigeston on empty stomach.it really help to reduce d giddiness.

Fancy,
u r on 450iu? Due to high fsh or??
I tink,I b ard there too..
When on 150iu,Gynae complaining nt enff eggs :-(
will b fine de..jiayou k...

Girls,
immunocol-hv to start 3mghs prior ivf.
Kk didn't advise mr to take lei.Do u guys take eggwhites too?
If I start to take immunocol yet didn't proceed w ivf..is it okie?

Btw,kk slot me for June ivf.but my menses is late or 3rd wk of mth.meaning I will start my lucrin jab in end June?
Orthey can allow end may start?
Any1experience this??

A mth more I have to decide whether proceed w journey!!!

Also,I realize mc rare for ivf seems high,or m I over worrying?
Read a statemt fr net: if d egg quAlity no gd,no doubt there r med to stimulate ovulation n ivf means to aid in pregg.but rate of mc is high as d egg is ofpoorer quality for a start....

Also..I m left w a mth plus or two Nia..if indeed I am proceeding to ivf.
Hw best can I prepare myself,supplements n dietary wise..for me n hubby??
Appreciate advises :)