ronniemini,
u not working for how long? i tink i cannot sustain doing those things for very long... very fast get restless one.. and i dun take afternoon naps.... i just found a kaki to go jogging with me in the mornings from office coz she is also leaving the job....

cordyceps is suppose to b good..for both ourselves and DH... actually.. u can get supplements from CARE leh.. Angela ask me and DH to take COQ10 and a protein drink call Immunocal. Both are suppose to be beneficial for our eggs.

Just Faith, it could b a blessing leh, coz u switch from IUI, not so stressful and probably doing less jabs.. ivf we hv to do 10-11 days of stimulation jabs.. IUI lesser right? You are also another brave ger! can self administer the jabs..

Pandawife,

I started puregon jabs since day 2. it was a roller coaster cycle. first 4 days at 100iu, my eggs grew to only 6mm.. increased dosage to 200iu on day 5, only 6.5mm. I was already on the verge of giving up. But remember once Dr Loh told me, if developed too many eggs, we can convert to IVF.... so told myself not to give up. I was at KK everyday to scan on the development of eggs. Finally, it grew to 9mm.. and every other day increase at 2mm... thats why i end up with so many bigger eggs... then i have suppress the ovulation. so other than puregon, i have to inject another jab to suppress ovulation.

frankly, i m taking a gamble now.... really hope all turns out well for me.

just Faith, i agree this whole monitoring the eggs growth thingy is very stressful! i tink all of us go thru this journey as part of IUI or IVF... i keep telling myself tht i need to relax.. for the sake of the eggs...cannot feel stress...
for ivf, during the 10days of stimulation, also hv to do 2 jabs.. one to suppress the hormones and one to stimulate eggs growth.. same same..

yeah..its a risk..bt tink positive! it might be a worthy gamble with a good outcome.

sorry if i send out negative vibes here. im feeling very sad n hope u guys can help me see hope/reason.

follicles didnt grow at all n so the dr cancelled my ivf. feeling a bit lost and a lot devastated.
next cycle in 2 mths.

Just faith...yup yup..nice to play with them...they are oni 2... Very nice to play..talking to them also very fun... Haha... :p
u in ur 2ww now? Must rest well leh...

12BMami
did the doc explain wht is the possible reason that follicles did not grow?

its natural to feel sad after all the efforts and cannot proceed. have a good cry if u need... bt brave urself after tht for the next attempt.

u also need to find out what went wrong, and wht would be done differently the next time. i tink this is important. but do it when u are feeling better.

Ya lor... guess today is the only day that I dun have take to do any jabs.... hehehe.

Will be watching all HBO channels, read old magazines, and pay to a visit to temple today.

Su_yana, my previous tcm told us tht its not good to take soya bean milk... esp for DH. its supposedly very bad for sperm. i used to take it every morning, but stopped after i was told this.

Pandawife...i've not been working since Jan.. Wanted to build up my body...also wanna take a break...
I feel like I'm enjoying my not working life..haha.. :p my Coll says I look better..happier...

oh...tat's gd..got someone to accompany u running...

Just faith...I agree with pandawife..dun worry...u will succeed..

Jia you! Jia you!

Just Faith, u also not working?

yeah..must maintain 平常心 and relax.. u shld b fine... i oso hv to constantly remind myself to do that....

12bmami,

At what stage are you at now? And what is the follicle size that you scanned today?

I know in some cycles, follicles are very resistant to puregon.

Pandawife,

Me ah... I can choose to work or choose not to work... no lah, just kidding. I am in real estate since 2005. Will be less active this month. My hubby will help me out in my work.

ronniemini, wah.. it seems like u r all ready to embark on ivf...even left ur job already...
its gd to take a break ... rest the mind and body...and glad that you are happier.. i hope i can be the same when i m not working..hee...

Just Faith.. must rest well since ER and ET round the corner. Hope u get good embryos and a smooth 2ww with BFP!

Pandawife
held back my tears at the clinic just now but minute i reached home couldnt control sadness. Dr says can be anything. on d2 next menses going for blood tests to see if there's any change in hormones.
i asked if it was orgalutran stopping the growth. she says its possible thats y the increase puregon dose. supposed to overcome the effect of orgalutran.
was told to rest and take a break til next cycle.

Justfaith
yest was d7 of stimulation. on 1st scan (thurs) they started me on orgalutran coz biggest follicle at 13. sat and today that biggest one remained at 13.5.

cancelled with dr zou today coz i look terrible after crying session. will start back getting my body prepared for next cycle tomorrow onwards. this wont stop me.

12BMami,
Pls dun be too sad... I'm sure next cycle u will be able to make it. Dun give up!

PandaWife,
Soya bean milk u mentioned is those from the market stall huh? Did yr TCM explain y cannot drink? Is it coz too "liang"? I oni know for pregnant ladies cannot consume too much of soya beancurb coz not gd for the foetus.

Haha..actually I tot I could try natural after my op last yr..then who noes...I failed for all these mths..so I tot of ivf..since I'm also not working..can give it a try..but very scared of the procedures...needles esp..
& of cos the cost...
been thinking & discussing wif hb..then decided to start the journey...cos I feel tat I'm getting older & also endo...
Hmm..actually are we the oni ones with endo...

12BMami, sorry to hear that. cant advise you much since i m pretty new in this ivf journey. hv a gd cry as i think tat will make you feel better. look on the bright side n i believe your next try will be successful

blissful2010, oh no, soyabean drink cant take during when huh? me hv been drinking it on off during tis period.

12BMami...Be Strong dear...Recuperate well...and Hopefully HE will answer all our prayers soon....

Stay Positive....Hugs..Hugs....Take care

Article about soyabeans.

http://sweetmother0.tripod.com/healthtipsid16.html

SOYA BEANS

MOTHERS BEWARE OF SOYA BEANS

The recent controversy over the safety of Soya bean by a health publication is surprising and should give the health departments especially within the African sub-region a serious concern. For many decades, the legume had remained one of the world's cheapest and most useful source of protein.

Soya beans or soy, as it is called in America, is said to contain about 40 per cent protein, the highest for any known plant, compared with 18 per cent for beef and fish. Besides, the legume is hailed for its high fiber content and essential fatty acids, making Soya the ideal food for growth and healthy living.

Notwithstanding these outstanding benefits of the bean, new research findings points to high level of natural toxins or anti-nutrients in the legume, enough to warn consumers to eat the food with circumspection.

Among the natural toxin in Soya bean are powerful enzyme inhibitors that block the action of trypsin and other enzymes needed for protein digestion. The publication also stated that, ' Soya bean contains haemagglutin, a substance that causes red blood cells to clump together" Trypsin inhibitors and haemagglutin are said to inhibit growth.

The publication also named phytic acid, which is found in bran or hulls of all seeds, as another toxic ingredient in Soya bean. It is said that this substance can block the absorption of essential minerals such as calcium, magnesium, copper, iron and zinc in the intestines.

From research it has been discovered that Soya bean contain high quantities of various toxic chemicals, which cannot be fully destroyed even in long cooking process. These are: phytates, which block the body's uptake of minerals; enzyme inhibitors, which hinder protein digestion; and haemagglutin, which causes red blood cells to clump together and inhibits oxygen take-up and growth.

There are over 100 research publications pointing to dangers of eating Soya beans, like reputable journals as The Lancet, the American journal of Clinical nutrition and Honolulu star-Bulletin. Some Japanese researchers had reported that consumption of as little as 30grams or two tea spoon of Soya bean per day for a month resulted in significant thyroid stimulating hormone. Diffuse goiter, hypothyroidism, fatigue and constipation were found among the subjects who ate Soya beans regularly.

Yet, in the developing countries, Soya bean has become a house hold name and used as a weaning food for children, especially among the poor population.

12BMami
Cry out if u feel like it. It's only natural to feel sad. After this cycle, the doc will understand ur case even better. Each case is different so he will have better control with drug dosage and no. of days to jab for next cycle. Stay positive

12BMami , always believe that things happen for a reason.

Take this 2 months recuperate and relax as much as you can. Take good nutritious food and prepare your body well for your next try.

Keep your faith strong and move ahead with positive thoughts.. I am sure your wish will come true soon.

Hmm didn't know soya bean is bad...shall stop drinking it...I nearly wanted to buy the GNC - Garden Greens™ Protein Shake..it does contain soy...Must seek alternative...

I read abt Immunocal...anyone knows where I can buy this?

Thanks for the info Jethiangel on the soya products..nvr thot it will be harmful.

Tzac, I oso 've been drinking soya bean product 2-3 times per week..those instant powder type. Perhaps we should not take excessive amount daily. Everything in moderate.

Jeinthiangel, tks for the info.

Nadia, I oso bought the Protein Shake fr GNC leh. According to Dr Zou, 12bMami did ask her whether its ok to drink, she said no problem. Its a gd source of protein.

I oso wan to ask PandaWife abt the Immunocal. I tink she got it fr CARE.
PandaWife, can we juz buy fr the Pharmacy @ CARE Paragon or must be precribe by doc huh?

Hi Blissful...

Ya...I nearly wanted to buy it...Just put in on hold 1st till end mth...Then when saw abt the soy..Gave me a shock...

Yup PandaWife...can advice us? Tanks..

I aso drank the GNC protein shake chocolate flavour 2 cups a day to supplement high protein level.

But I believe we should take everything in moderation.. cannot over eat everything containing soya soya...

I checked tis fr 1 website re soy products. Hope its useful.

http://www.alife.org.sg/q&a/en_q&a_v3.php?index=f

A lady posting this qn to Dr Peter Chew, Consultant Obstetrician Gynaecologist, Chairman of the Board of ALife:

Qn:
I am trying to conceive for about 6 months. Recently I came across people telling me to avoid soy products. Can soy products affect fertility? I have been taking soya bean milk every morning and ate bean curd and tofu frequently, thinking that soy products are good for health. How does soy affect fertility?

Reply fr Dr Chew:

Soy is an excellent source of plant-derived female hormones called phytoestrogens. The type of phytoestrogen in soy is known as isoflavones. They have a very weak effect on the body, compared to the natural hormone and have been used in helping people with menopausal symptoms.

There are not many studies done on the effects of soy on fertility. Reports in countries where soy products are consumed in large amounts indicate that the birth rate is similar to if not more than in countries where soy is not routinely consumed.

A few studies suggest that high levels of isoflavones may decrease fertility by interfering the levels of pituitary hormones which stimulate growth of the egg and ovulation. However, these are taken in very large amount which most people normally do not consume.

Experimental studies on various animal species have indicated that eating large amount of soy can have adverse effects on fertility. But there is no evidence to suggest that these results are applicable to human.

Toxicity studies did not find variations in fertility from soy consumption in healthy couples indicating that normal intake of soy is basically harmless.

As with any food, it is wise not to overconsume. If you have difficulty conceiving, it is a good idea to limit soy in your diet to rule out any possibilities of its effect on your fertility.

blissful, yeah so will cut down on soya drink now. i love it most heehee

today's weather super hot. anyone take temp beside BBT? as i feel super hot, i went to take my temp and it is 37.6. am i having fever? oh no.....

Sorry to interrupt. Anyone from NUH? I've 300 IU of gonadf (exp Jul 2010) and 5 sticks of crinone gel (exp Aug 2011) to give away. Self collect at Punggol. PM me if keen as I seldom check this thread.

Nadia / Blissful
I also got my Immunocal from my gynae when I was doing my fresh cycle in Dec 09. I still have almost half a box of it left. If you want, maybe I can sell it to u as I dun need them anymore. Do let me know if you want them k... It comes in sachets..

12BMami,
I tink u r also a very brave gal. Take some time off, feel sad if u must and u will move on to the next cycle better prepared and a stronger person. We are all prepared to lend a listening ear if u need someone to talk to.

Blissful, i cannot remember the reason why cannot take soya milk leh. i only remember she says no good for pple who are trying to conceive and how worried she feels when she sees young pple like us buy cartons of soya milk from supermarkets.

Nadia/Blissful, I am going CARE tomorrow for scan. I will help to ask if you gals can pop by to just buy Immunocal. Alternative, you can google the drugstores in US and see if can order online?? Its quite costly to buy from CARE. 1 month supply of it is $200.

Wonder how is happyhippo, she's having her BT today.. She have not reported today right?

12BMami,
Cheer up after crying k.. Rest well for now and prepare yourself for the new cycle.

Pandawife,
Ya.. Expensive to get from CARE leh.. You know hor, I just realised that 1 tab of utro cost $2 plus GST at CARE. But it only cost $1 plus GST at my doc's clinic leh. I want to faint when I dig out my bills to see.

blissful, not everyday but more than 2x per drink. tis is the only drink i take since i dun take coffee/tea or fizzy drinks

jeinthiangel
When are u gg for your next scan? I am scheduled for a scan with my doc next morn afternoon. I went for a BT this morn and was told if BT results are good today then I dun need to go down for BT anymore till next Monday's scan. But of cos still need to continue with the medications..

Tzac, me too dun take kopi/tea. Anyway, will cut down on soya product & take milk instead.

Jeinthiangel, I'm not reali a meat lover but will oso take those in moderation.

12BMami,
Hey did u check up what went wrong .. did they tell you the reason? Please be brave and find out with them. Cry out loud if u want to… Please don’t be sad.

Hey Nancy,
Thanks for sharing the tips from DrZou.

Pandawife /Blissfull2010,
Foot reflexology.. wow .. I love that .. when do we need to take ?? any specific stage – during 2WW

Justfaith,
Welcome .. you can share all your fears and concerns. All the best for your ER. Relax.

Sunflower ,
Thanks for the info. Let me check and buy.

ronniemini
Even I have endo.. just don’t think toomuch…decided to do ivf .. so just go ahead iam sure u will succeed.

Keep updating this ladies... will be useful for us to catch up..

Waiting to start IVF
1.su_Yana

Lucrin Stage
1.Fancy

Puregon Stage
1. Baby
2.Pandawife
3.12Bmami
4.Rainzs

Waiting for ET
Gan
Nancy

2WW
1.Mabel - BT date
2.Jstar - BT date

BFP Congrats
tickles
jeinieangel

Third Trimester.
singapoh

fancy, I dun tink foot reflex is recommended to do during 2WW afr ET. Mayb should do prior to tat bah. Juz like the Osim foot reflex, pregnant ladies r advisable not to use.