jeinthiangel, dun give up, think u r stress thats why af delayed. Try relax ok. If u r concern drop an email to dr loh see what whether he can give u any advice

I am doing IVF... suppose to get my flow on FEB 16th that week... but was delayed... i insisted they do the Preg test as well. First Bloodtest was hormone unstable and 2nd was wait till menses comes.

Last week I went they keep telling your menses will come. Ok i waited. I kept calling with them to check, I drop an email no reply (Im under Marianne)

today i called them but think my head went bonkers I just shouted on the phone - u arrange a face to face session with Marriane tomorrow no matter what...

My last scan they scanned and said something about the lining and small follicles..

I asked if all is Ok... they claimed yes ok.. you just pay up collect ur 2nd btl of lucrin and go back...

Thats it!!!!!

hi bing, gan, brownie,
thanks for sharing ur experience. Puts my mind to rest. During this 2ww, I can't help but keep wondering what my body is trying to tell me: to rest? thats its happening? that its not happening? So many thoughts whenever I slow down.

hi holidaygal, Jinnous, working_wife,
welcome to the thread. I've been a silent reader all this time. I am also on my first IVF journey and reading this forum has helped me learn more about the process and what to expect.. all the little details at a very personal level. The ladies are very active in the thread and they've helped me with questions that I cant ask anyone else. I think in a weird way, they have unknowingly helped me prepare mentally for the possibility of failure because I've read about how some ladies failed and bounced back again, how some ladies lost hope but eventually triumphed. I hope that from reading about their experiences, you can draw strength for your own IVF journey too. All the best to us

Working_wife,
Thank you for the encouragement.

btw wat is FET mean in this forum. I tried iui once but fail. Feel disppointed back then. Hope this time rd can be successful.

Check with you if my menses come before my blood test meaning my ivf is fail?

After reading through the forum, i find that all woman here are so courages and some even go for more than 1 cycle. Really admire all the patience, courage and more impt dont give up attitude.

jenithi u did a hpt to rule out u r pregnant? Can understand ur frustration. during lucrin stage they scan to check the lining after af and the bt to confirm u r surpress.
Have they given u an appt to see doc?

Fashion spree- FET means Frozen embryo transfer. if you had any leftover embryos frozen, then the next time you don't have to go through the whole process of egg retrieval, just need to do transfer.

If your menses come before blood test, you shld inform your doctor and they will determine if you should do a blood test to rule out the possibility. But depends how much is yr menses. sometimes in early pregnancy, you might have some light spotting and that is not menses. if your menses is really heavy and like yr usual monthly flow, then it probably means its real menses.

Remember, don't give up whatever the outcome!

Working_wife,
I will. Thank you.

i read in the earlier forum that boiling of wolfberries, longan and red date is good for the womb.

How often can i drink that?

Initially tot hubby will be going to US for 6 months to work then I can accompany him go over and try... tot a more relaxed environment would help.... Now maybe not going....

I give myself another month, if I still dun strike nxt month, then the next step would be IVF lor. I think will see back Dr. Lee. Glad there's a support group here that we can share and give encouragement. It makes a difference.

Dr. Lee is with TMC, anyone knows the charges in TMC huh? I think the last checkup on my hubby's sperm count, Dr. Lee said his sperm count normal just the motility not very fantastic. So I presume he got lazy sperms lor.

Wow Gan ! 4 at one go ? think thats abit too much for me .. They did warn that if kanna OHSS (choy!) will hv to abort cos might hv multiple birth.

if wan I also prefer twins ... but if financially unable to support I rather just 1 ... but all this are juz wishes only .. I juz hope everything goes smoothly & when april comes it will be successful ...

Hi jc_ttc18mth ... our name quite similiar ! haha ....

The longan drink's purpose is to warm the womb & blood circulation. Think you can drink before the procedure ... like I'm trying to drink alt days for this mth cos I will be starting soiui in April

TMC - Thomson Med Ctr ?? Think their fertility clinic is TFC (thomson fertility centre) headed by Dr. LC Cheng.

Dr LC Cheng is a very patient & kind, he went into detailed explaination with us on our problem. Something that kkh didn't do. But since TFC is private, its expensive. Their IVF est cost is $15K (less 1st grant) = $9K.

Compared to KKIVF cost is 9-10K then grant = medisave deduction juz paid $1K ... but due to the different meds/ jabs this price is an estimate only.

Many seeing that kkivf is packed will try out NUH's Prof PC Wong (name correct or not ?)

Hi JJ, Skies & Pandawife,

Thanks for the recommendation and suggestions. I think I will go for a private clinic next time rather the public hospital. I guess with the heavy volume at public ones, the doctors have no time or rather wont want to help investigation the cause. We are prepared to spend if it’s worth the while.
Skies, may I know roughly how much did u spend at Thomson Medical for one cycle?
Is it around $20K-30K?

I keep seeing this abbreviation “TTC” on the forum , what is that?

Hi Gan,
To answer your question, I was also puzzled by “what do u mean eggs are not matured” when the news was given to me. It appears that doctors do not tell us patients this piece of information until it happened, what a joke right? (becos to them, it’s rare). From what I know, eggs must be of a certain maturity before they can do ICSI. Any eggs smaller of a certain size will be useless.

Hi Hope_4_bb,
Prof Wong did my IVF twice. Are you doing the programme with him now?

Hi jcxuan,
Good luck to u!

jeinthiangel, dun be upset. *hugs* ask your gynae what needs to be done to move on to stage 2.

JJ, so-iui won't have ohss lah, the dosage is much lower. i was on 50 unit only. but if you have more follicles, maybe can convert to ivf.
But during my scans, the doc on duty actually asked me to abort because i got 3 leading follicles, scared got multiples, but i insisted to continue.

Some time no hear...How is everyone ?

jeinthiangel,

Jab Lucrin for 1 month is long..... Is it a must to wait for menses to come then you can move to the next stage ?

The reason why they ask you to repeat blood test is the duration for stage 1 is between 2 weeks to 1 month..9 Feb to today is exactly 1 month.. That is within the protocol of the hospital....

But you have to monitor closely from today onwards, sometimes, nurse too busy, they will forget about you.

My current status is resting, waiting to start fresh cycle... Taking a break from IVF is heaven... I feel happier and savour freedom..
what was i doing all the time ??

Last time, i was apprehensive about eating everything.... esp cold food like orange, chilled drink..pineapple.. now i eat what i like..

I used to eat frolic acid and other kk medicine and drank the bitter chinese medicine diligently and shuttle between amk and my home...

I was tensed and task driven.I wanted to get pregnant fast ...but all things are fated...

Nevertheless, please dun be discouraged after reading my post... Lots of ladies do succeed. You could be one of them.

People tell me that usually people do ivf at least twice to succeed.... i hope it is true..
I wonder how much $$ i must continue to "pour"in. Come April.... i was prob do what you ladies are doing right now..

holidaygal,

How was your experience with Prof Wong ? Is that Fresh cycle ? I am queuing to see him and wld like to knoe more abt him

TTC means trying to conceive

Are you seeing Dr Cheng from TMC or doc Eunice ?

Holidaygal - TTC is trying to conceive.

I did IVF at Thomson Fertility centre... one cycle cost around $14k - that includes ICSI, freezing, assisted hatching, the whole works.

judebabe, Dr Eunice was my gynea, she is a fertility specialist.
very warm and nice doc, a few of my gfs are seeing her too

TTC = Trying to conceive
= ) that's what we all hope for !!

Got ... I was told that OHSS is a possibility ... YA if like that will become IVF ... But I still not prepared for IVF yet ... Will see how it goes ...

Working wife
Dont blame yrself for not bed resting enuff.. Im sure it will not have impact on the chances.. There are people who went bk to work after et also got bfp... Dr told me before it will not affect chances without bed rest... Thou no heavy lifting.. Try to take it easy for the first few days after et.. Afterwhich no issue.. Can go out for walk or dnr... I also implanted two best grade embryos.. It failed.. Even dr told me i should hv succeed... I too blame myself for all reasons for the failure.. But i realise its not our fault.. It just not the right timing yet... So hang in there ya..

from what i gathered having a stress free & more relaxed 2ww has a better success (not based on actual figures) ...

But it is always best to be relaxed .. even though its easier said then done ...

Gan,

today I went to see Dr Loh in Clinic D. I saw the pix of the quadruplets ( conceive thru IUI) in his room. 3 gals and a boy. They are now in Primary 2. The mum was in her late 30s when she conceived them.

singapoh, they are so big!!! when Dr Loh "warn" me that IUI no control can have quadruplets, the pic he showed me were babies, must be the earlier pics

JJ, i read before in overseas, some clinics do double iui. i.e. u go back for 2 days for the iui process.
Are you starting your cycle in early april? what is your dosage for puregon?

ya .. early april starting. My AF should be arriving on the 28 Mar (D1) then will end on 2 Apr (D6).

So i will start on D3 for clomid & D6 puregon but didn't state the dosage.

Really double IUI ?? So its like natural try 2 times la ... but no such practise in kkivf

JJ yea but that is done overseas.
All the best! Remember to eat egg white when u start ur clomid and puregon, your eggs will grow big and fast.

Wondering if can request ?? hmmm .... aniwei I will be taking 1 week off from work to Relaxxx... at hm ... got all the movie lined up to hv a movie marathon ...

Ok noted on the egg white & must be those 1/2 boiled type rite ? if not the protein will be lost.

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+2">Allo, Lelong Lelong

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+2">Selling 30 opks strips 20 miu, expiry Nov 2010, at a flat rate of $18 inclusive of postage stamps. </font></font>

Click my nick to drop me an email.

Hope everyone Huat Huat Huat!
</font></font>

Gan, I was thr in the afternoon during lunchtime... No need to wait... Nobody one... Haha...
U gals r starting ur iui or ivf cycle soon... I m stil counting dwn to jun... grr.... Long long wait...

Can anyone advise me on what would be expected of me in May before my IVF? Yest I went to see SF Loh for the 1st time, and was told that i could do IVF in June, starting my injection in May. Then he mentioned a nurse will call me. What is going to be the start of the cycle to be like. How long is the whole process? I feel lost.

Hi Holidaygal,
Does it mean that for both times, you need not proceed to ET? Or was it after ICSI and fail to fertilize and Prof concluded it is due to eggs immature?

holidaygal,

I'm not really sure how much I ve spend. For my 1st cycle, think is ard 10- 12k (inclusive of 6k medisave) which I stop at freezing all embryos.

2nd cycle, ET plus pills, jabs n insurance is also fr medisave (4k) which i think still have abit left.

Hi Working wife &amp; Skies,

Thanks for the charges information at Thomson. Now that I have a rough idea of the costing at private hospitals, will prepare for it. (actually I dint know we can use medisave at private clinics!). Which doc is good, Dr Cheng or Dr Eunice?

Hi Panda wife,

U r right. I think I am one of the million cases that didn’t even proceed to ICSI. It was too early for disappointment and I cried my hearts out for both times. It’s something no one can understand how u feel. Prof said due to immature eggs, they cant even do ICSI and he has zero answers and zero advice to that. Have u heard of anyone with similar case? And how do they overcome this?

Hi Judebabe,

Why r u in the queue to see Prof? I hardly have to queue. Which stage are u in now to see him?

As for your question with my experience with him, to be fair to him, he is the first doctor that I had consulted on this programme and have no comparison ability with other doctors .Therefore I hope to make a fair representation of “how is he like”.
If you want someone who is caring with personal attention, he is not the one. He is a very factual and scientific doctor. Do more research on your own and ask him questions whenever u have to. He will not say too much unless u ask. I guess with his volume of work, his schedule may be too formatted and becomes a checklist with every patient. That’s my 2 cents worth. Good luck!

Ladies – I have two questions, at what stage do u take clomid and puregon? I read that some of you had experienced “poor fertilization”, do your doctors explain or analyse why?

Wah .. this morning ate the blackmore conceive well pills ... feel like puking after a while ... Think the pills too big plus I ate it on an empty stomach ...

The pills also hv a fishy smell ... so xin ku ...

holidaygal,

I ve not met Dr Eunice before. I went to Dr Cheng straight. Juz tt smtimes his waiting time can b quite long.. Maybe you can make appt w both of them and bomb them w questions during d consultation. But I feel most imptly you muz feel comfy w your gynea.

Hi Holidaygal, for both attempts, was the protocol the same or you went on different dosage/drugs, but outcome still the same?

my last cycle, the embryologist also says my eggs were immature when the fertilization rate was very low.. but when i seek a 2nd opinion, it was otherwise... would suggest u shortlist 1 or 2 doctors.. go and consult them to see what is the next best option.

Hi Panda Wife,

Thank you for sharing. Yes I was under Long Protocol for both attempts. During the process, all my bloodtests &amp; scans showed excellent results and I was given same dosages (same drugs) for both times. The doctor has no conclusive answer to this mystery case. I don’t know if it’s my body not reacting to the “same” medicine or “same” method, but I am curious to find out more “what other IVF” methods can I try?

Hi Skies,

Thanks, I may want to find out more from both doctors. I believe all of us understand the anxiety and frustrations of feeling helpless.

Hi Holidaygal,
I have the understanding that different hospitals/fertility clinics does different protocols and uses different types of stimulation drugs. Of coz, they will make changes according to individual patient conditions.
We are all going through the journey in a sort of trial and error way, because doctors cannot confirm how our bodies will react from using the drugs. What we can do is to find the option that we are most comfortable with.
I am sure after you speak to the two doctors, you will have more clarity and able to make a wise decision.

Thank you PandaWife, it helps alot emotionally "talking" through this forum. With my 2 weeks of rest at home, i am slowly crawling out of this dark hole, trying to face life again. I couldnt sleep at night(s), kept thinking of my problem. Sorry that i sounded negative to anyone reading this, please dun get affected. i am sure u will do well.

You are welcome, Holidaygal. It is normal to take some time to heal, both emotionally and physically after a failed cycle. I also find it encouraging to talk to the ladies here, makes me feel that I am not alone, and we can all share our experiences and feelings.
Remember, our lives is more than just going thru' ivf/ttc. Take a break, just relax, and do what you like and enjoy. After my failed cycle, me and hb put aside more time to go dating, and i started doing mini home decor projects.... just to take my mind off ivf for a while.

U r so right Pandawife! I am looking forward to go back to office soon, keep my mind occupied and relax for the next couple of months. I tend to realise, we all have supportive husbands and that is the most important thing! One of my galfrens is expecting but her husband does not care for her or the baby at all (and i really mean it).

aH .... lesson learnt blissful_fate ... the feeling so horrid ...

I trying to take the western vits early in the morning so that late morning I can take my chinese herbs ...

Is it over kill ?? or should i juz stick to 1 vit / herbs only ???

Today's appt at KKH was very long... lucky i applied half day from Office.

Today's result was... my lining was 5mm and the the one who scanned me said wah lot of follicles.. (still no sign of menses)

Saw Marriane and was informed I can start my Puregon. (was told there are some woman who wont get menses after Lucrin)

Did my BT and just now they just call me to inform that I have to start jabbing Puregon on 12th-19th Mar. On 19th Mar go back for another scan to see eggies size.

Hubby is asked to eat the antibiotics doxycilin as well from March 12th.

So from now on what am I suppose to do... Do i start protein stuff from nw ? Egg whites?

JJ, i have stop taking blackmore conceive well pills as it mess my messes. Now only take normal vit. I really dont know as 5yrs ago when i strike FET with my son I never took any extra med or do any acc. Failed 2 fresh cycle for 2nd kid now doing acc, so all really based on lucky.

Holidaygal- I am seeing Dr Cheng. He is really patient and kind and takes the time to explain alot of things.He doesn't just ask you to do this test and that test, he weighs the pros and cons of each option. And he was willing to take phone call and even called me back when I had an urgent question to ask him. I liked him from the first time I met him, so its important you feel comfortable with your doctor. His staff are all very nice, they are like a big family, they are genuinely concerned, and you feel like you journey together with them.

jj_ttc - at my TCM place, they advise to just take folic acid and the chinese herbs they give. Try not to mix too much western and chinese meds.