Hazel, me already on multi-vit and takes a lot of fruits liao...

Singapoh, I actually requested for 2 days mc but my doc refused and only gave me 1 day coz no fever. Nevertheless, am well today and back to work...sometimes feel better in the office so can ensure that work are properly carried out by my staff......

Congraz Jane! Cld be twins leh....

Hi vi4n,
Nov/Dec is the off-peak season for my work, hence it's the best period. Am considering going for laparoscopy also. Not sure when's the best time, who and where to do it to clear any endo issues to be in time for 2nd fresh cycle also. Considering a chg of ivf clinic as well. Many considerations... : |

libra & sasha & other ladies,
Have you ever been with KK or NUH? If so, how do they compare with SGH? NUH's a bit too far though been hearing good reviews abt Prof Wong. Not familiar with SGH at all and only heard about Dr Yu from you gals. Any input is greatly appreciated!

muski - u with which ivf clinic now ??

able to switch ?? then the retrieved eggs to move as well ?? any transfer fees imposed then ?

babyluck 74, thanks that what i think too, to use TCM to prepare my body for the FET. I was not in best condition for my fresh cycle as i was trying to recover from a bad cough since i started lucrin injection, and the cough didn't go away till after ET.
Thanks for your information on baby asprin, will ask Dr Loh when I see him in Jan. Are you doing FET too?
I have also make appt with Dr Zou, will be seeing her this Sat.

muski

as for me, i dont find it crowded like KK and i have been to SGH for all my gynae check up for a long time.
For ivf cases, they will move your case to Care clinic after you have seen your gynae.
The staffs there are really patient and will explain very carefully.
My former doc was always encouraging me to go for IVF and he was also a very patient man.
I have changed my doc to Dr Yu after my thyroid specialist recommended her.
I have no regrets.
besides this i cant compare much with KK.

sasha, during the ivf process, do you get to see Dr Yu often to discuss about the progress or you only see him during ER and ET?

Gan, I did my FET last Oct09 and got a BFP. Before that I did accupunture twice a week and consecutively 5 times just before ET. FET is much simpler, cos no injections is required, so less stressful for the body. Maybe,you can bring your test reports during your 1st visit to Dr Zou. Jiayou!

Congratulations Babyluck!

gan
Dr Yu Su Ling is a lady.
i saw her before i embarked on this journey. Also twice in Care clinic.
but after that, the nurses will bring my scan report to her. She will see if you only if the report is bad.
other than that the nurses will take care of you during your ivf.

Isn't aspirin what people take when they have bad headaches?? People on IVF take that too?

Is it ok if you ladies help give input on what foods to take during which phase etc?? I been reading and getting confused and lost...

So far, I see: Brazil nuts, Essence of Chicken, Longan red date tea, no soy products, no chicken products, no cheese, plenty of egg whites...??????????

Sorry, am very dumb dumb. What is to be avoided and what is to be eaten??? And when???

soulvacation - u can eat soya product - I had asked Doctor Zou and she says it is ok to take ... I'm also drinking soya protein powder and it helps a lot with my bloatedness ...

Hi ladies any info on how thick of the endometrium (uterus lining) must be for IVF ??

I did a full body check up in 2008 & my endometrium is 6mm

research online & found that ave is 10-11mm thickness

eskimobaby, singapoh,

already seen doctor yesterday, feeling better now.

eskimo,

can share why you change gynae ??? for me i feel that the service from KKH not that comprehensive, need to go different dept for different svc not like pte gynae got 1 stop svc.

Thanks sasha!
From the start of your ivf cycle till the end (ET), how many times did you get to meet Dr Yu? Does Dr Yu do the scans for you?

For me, since I've no frozen embryos, I guess it's easier for me to switch. Did anyone do laparoscopy at SGH b4? Also, what does CARE and CHR stand for?

libra & sasha,
Are both of you MTB i.e. BFP already? Sorry I kinda lost track for a while.

soulvacation, this is what i copied from the forum before i started my ivf.

Do
- drink plenty of luke warm water
- rest more, meaning 'no shopping'!
- eat more fish, leafy vegetables eg spinach
- drink plenty of soup (chicken or fish)
- take all medication on time
- take prune/prune juice (mix with half a cup of water) if constipated

Don't
- eat fruits like pineapple, water melon, raw papaya (thk they meant green papaya, coconut & green skin banana
- eat raw food like sashimi, oyster, rojak (prawn paste)
- eat spicy food
- cooling vege like brown skin cucumber ('old yellow cucumber'), brinjal, bitter gourd and winter melon
- consume caffeine eg tea/coffee, carbonated drinks or cocoa (aint milo n all cocoa???)
- herbal soup with 'dang gui' or herbal tea
- do any strenuous exercise like jogging
- carry heavy loads abv 3kg
- STESS URSELF!

muski - The scans in SGH CARE are done by sonographer .. the doctors would come in to adminster the dosage of injection based on the scan

CARE stands for Centre for Assisted Reproduction

zaza,
Wah, this time round seems u're having much much improvement. 11 embryos.Tat's great. Wish u all the best for tomorrow's ET.

JJ, the thickness of endometrium varies at different time of the month. It is the thinnest during menses time, slowly build up again to ovulation & post ovulation to prepare for a bb. So, dun panic at your 6mm, coz we dunno at which time of the cycle that is. the 8-12mm guide is just before ovulation. hope this helps.

nctgrace, at kkh, every doc specialises in a particular field. thus, at times, we need to go to different department for different services/checks. i prefer this better though a bit troublesome coz i believe that there is no master of all trades. Just my personal preference.

elle - I put in more effort this time round with more accu with 4 straight days before my ER ... drink protein powder and also eat kampung chicken eggs ... I also drink essence of chicken during my gonalF stage on a daily basis .... wish all the wishes and prayers from the sistas here, praying that this time would be positive

hazel,

i do agree with what you said but is juz that the waiting time is quite long for most of the checkup. And currently if we face any problem we can only go to KKH 24 hrs clinic to see a doctor not the gynae for advice.

hazel - thanks for the wishes and I wld keep you in my prayers for BFP this Friday rite? gd luck in advance in case I do not log in

hazel - only do BTT when u are really ready or just wait for the blood test this coming Friday ... u had done what u can and I'm sure that you will BFP so that I cld grab some baby dust from you

Hazel,
Jia you! Don't do HPT if you aren't ready. Really hoping for the best for you!
6 mths of rest post-lap? Gosh. If I wanna do 2nd fresh cycle using Oct 2010 menses, that means I gotta do my lap in like Mar/Apr?

Ok correct me if I'm wrong. So CARE is for SGH, CHR is for NUH? *confused* :p

Zaza, all the best, i think the last point in the do and don't list is most important. Don't stress yourself.

Some sisters here took brazil nuts during their 2ww too.

nctgrace, u r very right. the waiting tims at kkh is too long! that is the biggest flaw. at kkh, they go by level of importance. not important, means can wait.

u read abt my posting of missed lucrin dosages? i found out on an early sunday AM at 9am that i cld hv missed 3 days of lucrin injections by just injecting air. i freaked out coz i am supposed to do the HCG jab that night. i dial the 1900 no for call a nurse, n they asked kkhivf nurse to return my call to understand wat happened. the kkhivf nurse also dunno wat to do, she called dr loh & i was given dr loh's instructions to do at BT at 24hr clinic that night through her by noon. dr loh also replied to my email shortly.

that night, i arrive at 24hrs clinic, the nurses there have already been informed by my case. So, service is not bad after all.

another sister faced some problem. dr loh called her after 8pm to talk to her.

We may be panic & anxious coz is our baby.. but in a doc's review, if it is serious, he/she will still be contacted.

muski - yes, you right about CARE N CHR

Gan - I had learnt to relax myself as much as possible and leave everything to God since this is already my 2nd cycle ... I do have the brazil nuts

muski, thanks for the well wishes.

though lap is key-hole, u will still be given abt 3 weeks HL also to recover. after that, u need to rebuild ur wealth & ur womb needs to recover fully also. so all this take time. 6 mths post lap is a very good timeline, coz confirmed u wld hv recovered by then.

zaza, thanks for the encouraging words.

Gan, thanks. dun think i will do. if i pass each day smoothly, it means still hv hope. if i see a result i dun wan to see, then all hope vanishes.. that's my theory.. though dh asked me if wan to use HPT also coz i have ready sticks at home. i said dun wan..

Thanks zaza,
All the best to you!!

Hazel,
I'm just rather disappointed that kk did not call to inform me of my BT results, though I already know it's -ve. I also feel I'd be more assured if I can talk to my gynae during the whole process rather than only seeing him/her on ER and ET day.

hazel,
Though HL is 3 weeks, in your opinion, would one need that whole 3 weeks to recuperate or is 1 wk enough? Don't think I can afford to be away for 3 weeks

Gan,
Dr Loh (when I first saw him in dec 08) advised me to do a lap to find out if i've got endo etc. since my womb is slightly tilted, increasing the likelihood of backflow of blood during AF. I'm very scared of GA and don't experience bad AF cramps so I thought I'd give it a miss and try IUI etc. Took Dr Zou's med (those that need brewing) for 3 mths to try to clear mild endo but not sure if it's done it's job completely. Curious to know if there's other underlying causes that can't be detected via normal scans and blood work so considering lap eventually...

Muksi, mine is an introverted womb.

But i think if you intend to do lap, it would be better to take the 3 weeks to recuperate.

muski, so u not confirmed endo? if so, please think carefully if u wan to to lap hor. endo got symptoms one. bad bad cramps, heavy flow till every hr needs to change sanitary pad, thick lining, etc.

my gynae at KKH prior to seeing dr loh also told me abt lap. said that can confirm & treat endo, also can check blocked tubes, check for cysts etc. i told him unless he can conclude to a certain extent that i hv any of these, if not, what for go for lap?

when i see dr loh, he also nv says i need a lap.

if u really do lap, please dun anyhow run around. coz these are internal wounds. u can't see if they heal already or still healing... if u over exert urself & dun rest enough, n the wound dun heal well, or get worse, u will see bleeding & that will freak u out coz u dunno wats happening inside. not meant to scare u. but dun joke on this. MUST rest.

Thanks hazel for the advice on the uterus lining.

Do await for this fri's BT ... only 2 days away ... keep up the positive spirit ya ...

The long long long hrs wait at KKH only to see dr for few mins is also one of the cons factors for my choice of IVF clinic ...

JJ, u r right abt the long long hrs wait at KKH. when i had day surgery for polyps removal, i was admitted by 8am. i was lying on the day ward bed from 8plus am till 2plus in the afternoon for dr loh to come. i was dying of hunger & having headaches coz of the lack of food. i kept chasing the nurse for the dr but i was told he was biz & will come later

patients (with other drs) who were admitted later than me, already had their day surgery completed & discharged!

my dh also suggested we go pte coz he hates the long long wait only to see dr for a few mins. but i told him abt the cost at pte & how i saw some friends in debt, coz of huge bill due to pregnancy complications, i decide to stay with kkh. i tell myself, i cannot hv the best of both world. so, i proritise what are important and what are not loh...

nctgrace,
for me, just find dr loh's waiting time is too long even tho i would prefer to stay with him... if i'm having multiples i'll definitely stay on with him cos he's more experienced with multiple births.. but since i'm having singleton after 1st trimester i switched gynae within kkh who is highly recommended by my colleagues... anyway, i've been to both pte and kkh gynae... i would say both have its pros and cons.... but bear in mind if u go for a very popular pte gynae, u will also have to wait quite long and consultation is also a few minutes... as for my present gynae, i find his waiting time is ok.. abt 15 - 30 min and consultation wise he's thorough and he does have knowledge abt ivf which i feel that i'm in good hands... the only downside abt kkh gynae is u can't see ur gynae as and when u want...

i would say ivf pregnancies are more prone to complications even tho most would say after 1st trimester it's the same as other normal pregnancies but we see more of spotting, bedrest etc... so if cost is a concern to get a peace of mind better to stay on... and facilities wise, kkh is more well equipped to handle than pte hosp where pte will still transfer u to kkh if they cannot handle ur complication... but at that time u won't be able to downgrade urself to save costs

after seeing both pte and kkh gynaes, i can only say that the difference is the frills... more important is whether the gynae u see is the one u trust...