hi vi4n
at kk the nurse will test our urine using dipsticks to see any color changes ( include PH, albumin and sugar)..only if color changes, then they will check blood sugar level...wat is the routine in nuh?

hi singapoh
jus my though only la... when is ur next appt?
wonder how is monica?

hi spiffy
touch wood ... i can work in adult icu but not in neonates icu, cos they r so tiny... i m sure all our babies will be full term and healthy de la

Soon-to-be, found the thread already and posted my first question there. hahaha.
so mom to be ladies, can join there too..

Linda, yup I did the urine on the stick thing too on every visit, but no one said anything on the result of the dip, so I don't actually know what is that testing for.
Because I don't have good habit of food intake loh, so hope won't get the diabetes issue.

hi spiffy ! thanks for advice on ice pack, i will certainly propose to DH. yeah thinking of going somewhere within teh region maybe perth; where did you go 7hours will be more north asia japan korea china or australia

i realized that you are a success IVF story ! many congrats , i will cite your example to convince DH for a holiday thanks spiffy

hi vi4n
since no one say anything, we jus assumed all are normal la...or else they will surely check ur blood liao..
btw, i heard my fren said if we get diabetes during pregnancy, baby will tend to be bigger leh..cos i have a fren she got diabetes, her baby boy weigh 3.5kg at birth...wow

hi Linda,
My cousin both pregnancy got the diabetes loh. and has to be hospitalised. I don't want that to happen. So we must watch out for it.

Linda, I can't remember leh. Years ago, but I don't think big leh. It was baby girl and i think 2.something kgs only.

singapoh
ah...very good weight, and is normal weight of cos...js that my fren said will tend to get bigger baby weight if got diabetes durng pregnancy...wonder how true?

vi4n
oh then i realy dun noe how true is the statement liao ...

Hoho, i usually travel to down under for work but in this instance, it was KL, would you believe it. I couldn't stop at the hotel because i had to zip about for business meetings until 7 hours later! LOL.
And you're very welcome. Perth will be very nice, if a bit hot in December.

linda - it's true about gestational diabetes = big baby. There was a recent case of a giant Indonesian baby. It was explained in the article that it was likely due to the mother's diabetes.

hey, anyone has problems drinking orange? I drank the orange juice from mac during lunch and had been feeling unwell since then, keep wanting to vomit.

Soon-to-be, am with Kkh also leh..

Linda, no offence la... Am just making a statement, like wat u said, all human beings make mistake. We also. So, we shld be vigilant, do our homework, etc n ask the doc or nurses questions. Ie, the tests we were asked to do, the side effects, the medicine that we are given etc. We need to know also. Cannot assume they know better n we just follow. they do error, do hv mood swings, etc.

Say u r trying to conceive naturally n there is a chance u Cld be pregnant. Is our responsibility to tell the doc when we see him for our flu. Some doc will ask, some dun. But we do our part by telling. So they will prescribe medicine that is safe if u do get pregnant.

vi4n, is diabetic is ur family tree? if not, chances are u wun get it... So dun worry.

spiffy
wow..is indeed a giant baby...hehe

soontobe
my hubby and MIl forbid me to eat or drink orange...now my daily fruits are kiwi, grape and passion fruits only...

hazel
no worries...jus that medical staffs has their own stress also cos dealing with life and death.. yes vigilant and delivering safety treatment is the key word and that's y medical staffs they will always ensure check and check to make sure everythings are correct.. but sometimes errors may still exist... and also true that we shld knows our parts as well, bcos ultimately we wants the end results in win win situation.

hazel: like that ah wah u vcry busy. have faith!! somethings mus knw somethings have to go forth and have faith..

u take the lift every other day, u got go ask the engineer or manufacturer how they make it etc?

like that ur life very busy ah!

soontobe
i jus follow my hubby and MIL words la... like vege i cant eat cucumber, achar, bitter gourd, all kinds of melons...

Linda, wah, so strict......i still take cucumber and achar, but only a bit lar.....i think i'm going to ban orange.

I have already banned rambutan and choco.

Anyone can share after 7 days of puregon/gonalf, what should be the ideal size for our follicles? Mine is 9mm to 12mm and lining 8mm, good enough or not good enough?

Please share most honest views with me.

hi seed
i rmb u
u r on dhea rite? how many total of ur follicles? and wat's ur dosage? dun worry so much and must be positive... as it will grow in next few days..

sunflower,

Don't worry about all the readings and sizes. Doc or nurse will advice you your next step. Must trust them and stay positive!

Linda
Then i shall go check the gnc pre natal vits... Thks ya..
After starting ivf injections can continue to take? Right thru er and er and after 2ww?

sunflower, agree with singapoh, dont worry about sizes.. you'll be advised accordingly by the doctor..

i eat oranges too...! but not in the initial stages..

yes sunflower dun wori about the size..my follicles were smaller than you after 7 days of puregon injections. but after injecting for another 3 days, today i scan and my follicles are really bigger..according to the doc, the lining should be 8mm to 10mm thick.

vi4n, pregnant lady get diabetic Bcoz her body system cannot cope with 2, hers n the bb... That's genetic generally. It is also a sign that when she grows older, her body deteriorates n she will get diabetic. So she must start taking care of her diet n exercise to slow down the onset after delivery.

So far from friends n relatives who are diabetic during pregnancy, one of their parents, if not 2 of them who are diabetic.

oxidised, yes am very biz with lots of things, including work. most things, I am aware n in control. Those ard me may feel intimated or threatened.. But that's me. To me knowledge is very impt n a key to decision making. So I will make n effort to research n find out more.

Hazel, there's nothing wrong for you to be aware and in control in where u work. You may be at a high level which is y u think it's fine u speak like this...and think "but that's me".

But pls spare a tot for other people feelings. There may be a lot of uncertainties for some of those who may be trying IVF for the 1st. And here we are trying to reduce their fears and worries, let them go thru their process as stress-free as possible, n yet u can make comments which may worry them. If you wan me to put it bluntly across, u need to check ur EQ.

Vi4n, if you wan more to know about pregnancy diabetics, I think the best person to check with cld be ur gynae.

Personally, I'm checking on my sugar intakes coz I've always love sweet stuff. But after knowing some frens who have it during their pregnancy, I'm trying to cut down so as to reduce my risk.

hazel:not saying doing ur own research is wrong.. thats what i did before my ivf also.. but gotta know when to leave it to the professionals n trust that they knw what they'r doing.

during my whole ivf process i didn't even come in here nor searched the web for any info regarding ivf.. too much info n the internet although good can give u millions/trillions of hits.. there r even some people who come to a conclusion that they r suffering from self diagonosed illness cos of the internet.

well, to each his/her own.. to me i trust my dr, the ivf nurses etc.. obviously like u say if i have a flu n see a dr who doesnt knw i have a flu of cos i have to tell him la.. thats obvious..

spiffy: yah i tasted the choco anmum when i was given the mom to be gift pack. yah nice leh! i still got one whole carton of plain one leh

soon to be,

Dog has only 1 master. From what you told me abt your JR, you are her master. Sounds like she's very possesive. You can start training her now. Let her bark till the cows come home. Ignore her totally. After a few times, she will get the message that she won't get anything out of her barking.

If you think you don't have the heart to do it, you will have a hard time later or even force to give her up.

Wait till you have to train your babies. More heartpain to hear their cries! Believe me! I've been there...:p

Hey ladies,

Why don't we just forget about the whole incident and forgive Hazel for once? Nobody is perfect. Our intention here is to support each other. Peace~ hugs~

Soon-to-be, I just speak my mind. Every one here has freedom of speech n her own opinion. If cannot accept that, maybe forum is not a plc for the person to come.

by cutting down on sweet stuff does not reduce the chances of diabetic in pregnancy. Diabetic or not is dependent on whether one's body can break down sugar. Most food we eat breaks down into sugar. Unless u dun eat. fyi, for a doc to determine if a person is diabetic or not, he will ask the person to take a glucose test. Ie drink a large quantity of very sweet drink n 2hrs later test their sugar content. A person who cannot break down the sugar after that time, is considered diabetic at pregnancy. If cutting down on sweet stuff can reduce diabetic, then they wun be so many diabetic pp around. One other cause of diabetic is overweight n lack of exercise.

other then genetic, pregnant ladies tend to put on a lot of weight, n no exercise, such as walking. This put them at risk to diabetic.

some of the information said here may not be factually accurate. Is better to know the truth then to be mislead. At least u go in when u r open.

No EQ beats being ignorant n native, or like a camel who buried its head in the grd n only wan to hear beautiful things.

gan, some said cut down on chocolate, reason is coz it contains cafine. Just like milo, coffee n tea. If u serve for the website on the effects of excessive cafine on conceiving n for pregnant ladies u will get more info.

am still taking coffee daily. but just half a cup. If not, I can't work. If no need to work then I can dun take.

Singapoh, lets very fair of u for making that statement. Thanks.

Some sisters said they take orange juice every day. For those who r pregnant, pls cut down. Every day, 1 glass or 1 whole orange is alot. Orange will result in flam in baby when he or she is born.

also papaya is a cooling food, too much papaya will result in yellow stain in palm n feet. If need to prevent constipiation, take more fiber stuff like lots of greens, drink lots of water n take neutral fruits with skin, such as apple.