IVF/ICSI/IUI - 2ww

Hi Orangedots
I am really sorry to hear that. I am sure it doesnt feel good. But I am glad to hear that you are persisting on for FETs.

Just to share with you, it wasnt an easy journey for me too, so dun give up. I have problems conceiving, primarily due to PCOS and some adrenal glands genetic problem. As a result, I also have hirsutism. After few rounds of clomid + metformin, I was pregnant but ended ectopic and part of my tube is removed (thus, making pregnancy even more difficult). Then I went for IUI and got pregnant but lost my health baby at 23 weeks due to incompetent cervix. My cervix just dilated to near delivery at 20 weeks. I was given a stitch and was on strict bedrest for 4 weeks before I had heavy bleeding and had to deliver the poor baby. That happened last year. After that I could not get pregnant even though I try abt 4-5 rounds of IUI.

With my condition such as cervix & etc, I know I may need many attempts to have a baby. Thus, I decided to go for IVF so that I can freeze my eggs when young. It has been a tough path for me, but I choose to perservere on, sometimes on the expense of career & etc. I hope my sharing would help you too.

Hi Toy!

Hi Curl, can you also share whether you have any symptoms during 2ww after ET? From DP10 onwards, any? I have none leh! Also getting depressed that this cycle is going to fail.

Hi Curl,

Thanks for sharing. I really admire your courage and perseverance.

I kind of expected to have a negative results on Monday. A few days before the blood test, I have a feeling that menses is coming and have those slight stomach aches whenever menses is due.

Well i guess, this is my first IVF try so it is still not that bad. But I really dun know whether i will be that strong if i fail again after a few more tries.

Hi Toy, maplebabies,

All the best to your blood test. Try not to worry too much. who knows, u will be like Curl too, no symptons but still tested positive. Jia You!

Hi Maple Babies & Toy

I have no symptoms except for slight bloatedness. My symptoms only appear this 2 days when my bloating gets more severe and hardened. V weird & late onset ohss, I think.

But I did cheat & pee on stick on D10 and there was a line already. But becos I have more than 24 eggs retrieved, I never take HCG jab. For those who take HCG jab, I think cannot pee so fast.

curl thanks for your reply..i hope it is so..u see as long as my menses will not come there is still hope...but i dunno intend to do the p kit cos i used soooo many p and o kit to test already ( once was so desperate even use o kit to test)..so this time if i can tahan till next wk end i am p if m comes by this wkn then no choice..sob sob..i wish time flies... i dun have anything..no even bloatedness ..sob sob

Hi Rabbit,

Thanks for sharing. I also don't want to let people in my office to know about it. Are you currently trying IUI or IVF? I'm seeing my gynae on next Mon to do HSG, and will seek her advice on which treatment I should do.

hi jenn,

i had done hsg, so-iui and now 2ww for ivf.
i just shared with close friend and siblings.

good luck.

hi rabbit,
just done my HSG yesterday, very upset, tubes are block, cannot do iui, must go to ivf. which day are you at now? hopefully you can get a positive result.

btw, any gals go for ivf at Thomson Medical? care to share what's the cost?

hi jenn,

sorry to hear that. Do not give up, I read from some of the ladies that they have managed to conceive from IVF with blocked tubes.

few more days to go for the blood test but i think will still need to go for scan after blood test to confirm on pregnancy.

Hi Jenn,

I am not very sure of the IVF cost at Thomson Medical but may be you can consider SGH (CARE) think may be slightly cheaper as compared to private hospital.
The estimate cost for IVF program plus ICSI and extended culture of ambroysis about $6,300 ($6,000 can claims medisave on 1st try)
Cost for Lucrin about $200 (Purchase from SGH)
Neonatal Insurance for 3 embryos $700 plus (cash only)
becasue my Gynae is from MT E so I needs to purchase the Puregon from him and is a bit costly(I think) and also depend on the doses you require (50 to 450 IU), per tube is 400 IU around $250, therefore i spend about $4000 (because of my age i needs the higher doses 450 IU)
Gynae fees to collect eggs and implant around $1800
Therefore over all cost $13K (7k cash & $6K medisave)
Hope this infor help you a bit before you make your choice.

Thanks for sharing, oink.

I'm seeing this gynae at Raffles Hosp. The max IVF cost they quote is around $17k, based on 600 IU coz my FSH is quite high. It seems on the high side eh?

Hi Jenn,

Really hope to hear good news from you.
I am gg for my 2nd IVF/ICSI again some time in Mar/Apr,
The 1st round I got 3 very embryos (9/8/7) inplanted but think my womb liner is not thick enough so it does't stick on. so this round my gynae said he is gg to give some hormone to improve the eggs quality. hopefully this round i can have more eggs for storage also.
If I fail this time round and with no eggs for storage, i am gg to give up liao ...

Hi oink,

Thanks. I also hope you can succeed this time.
I plan to go for IVF in Mar/Apr too, so currently I'm taking the chinese med to improve my condition.
Don't give up! Did you try TCM? The TCM I went to is called Dr Tan Kin Sing. He specialises in Fertility. He told me to tiao my body 1st b4 going for IVF, so that can have higher chances. Why not you also give him a try b4 spending so much on IVF?

Hi Jenn,

I went to Ying Chuan Chinese medical Hall at Jurong east and she gave me some chinese medicine to improve my clog blood in the womb. Where is your Chinese Doc located ? I am now staying at Sengkang. Think my chances of pregnancy is very slim due to my age (Turning 42 sooooon) and my hubby also.
So where you intend to have your 2nd IVF ?
Currently i am seeing Dr Teoh Sin Hin at MT E and he is the consultant of SGH/care.

Currently in my 2ww, was bored so borrowed & drove hubby's car plus slow walk around town for 3 hours, 7 days after ET & suddenly developed cramps on pelvic area that whole afternoon. Collapse onto bed and next day slight thread like mucus blood discharge, anyone similar experience?

Now 9 days post ET & no more pain nor spotting, is it good? Tummy getting bigger everyday but weight went down by 1kg. Last night can't sleep too, how? When to sneak in a pregnancy test?

Hi oink,
I'm planning to do my 1st IVF in Mar/Apr at Raffles Hosp. My gynae is Dr Joan Thong, she's a partner of Raffles Hosp. I went to Ying Chuan last yr, but my hubby doesn't like her, furthermore got to get up so early. I also tried the TCM at Thong Chai, but no result. Currently I'm seeing the TCM at Clementi, Dr Tan Kin Sing. So far I find him quite good.

Hi Jenn,

Ya I totally agreed that She is not really nice and i spend almost 1.5 hrs journey to Jurong and just get to see her in less then 5 mins and she keep introducing me Gynae and keeps asking me to visit them asap. (Think she get commission from them ha ha), anyway i am not gg to visit them.
I am now on Folic acid and vitamin E which were given by my Gynae during my last visit. (not sure for what purposes)
Currently, I am just trying my luck if can get pregnant naturally (get my finger cross and just hope if can have good news hee hee).

Hi oink / rabbit,

I've told my gynae I'm going for ivf in Mar. After finding out the procedures, I guess I got to tell my boss, as I don't want unnecessary stress from work commitment. I don't care whether she's understanding or not, I'm going ahead, she take it or leave it. Most likely will look for another job after my baby plan is succeeded.

Hi Jenn,

I can understand your what you gg to face and the stress , in order not to put myself in the difficult position where by i need to see ppl face while applying leave and explaining the reason, I'd quit my job last oct b4 I started my IVF.
presently I am a SAHM and I am switching to Care/Paragon for my 2nd IVF. went to see Angela last Saturday and she really nice explaining to us in details and what to take and not to take b4 my next starts in my IVF. but i am expected the cost should be much more expensive then SGH. (May be by $5K or more)
Did your Gynae advise you to take vitamin E & C and exercise, and please ask your hubby try to take coconut water everyday to improve his sperm quality. I also read from the threat some advise to take 4 eggs white per day to improve the quality of our eggs (hee hee .. think me gg to try)

Hi Oink,

Resignation will be my last resort. Everything needs $$ can't aford not to work. This CNY I've been a member of PAP (Pay And Pay), cannot imagine how to survive without a job.
My hubby's sperm count is a lot, no problem about that. I've been taking chinese med to improve my condition, thanks for the advice.

i m new to this thread.Juz had my ET done on 29March.Now into 2ww.so stress.Keep telling myself to take things easi.BUt its so difficult to control.Thinking of the $$$ spend n hundreds of jabs n tonns of blood test taken.It really freaks me out.Btw,heard that we can decide wat to do if "heng heng" we kana triplets.ISIT?

hi dishearted,

I understand how you feel, I feel the same too. Regarding the triplets thing, I didn't hear my gynae mention, do you mean you can choose "how many to deliver" if you heng heng got 3? Isn't a bit inhuman?

hi dishearten,

try to relax by watching some shows etc or do som reading. Don't keep thinking if you will strike etc...it can't be controlled by us. Take this chance to relax and think again when you really strike triplets.

All the best

Hi cherish baby,
Is it norm for the stomach to feel so bloated ar?I'm juz like a 4mth preggy woman now.Stomach is so bloated n hard n a bit of cramp.Was wondering when will this stop.

Dishearted - Bloated tummy after ER onwards is normal. Do be careful about cramps, if very short duration periodically is fine. Cramp/pain for hours like my 1st IVF is not fine, better call up doctor. I was waddling like a duck during 2ww and none of my pants fit anymore!

cherish baby,
my cramp is like on n off.But still bearable lor.I agree with u,i dun have pants to put on too.How long will the bloatness last?

Dishearted - Hmm...Bloated throughtout your pregnancy if successful. Heard from those successful ones that you'd be more comfortable in second trimester. It'll disappear when not successful when your mense starts. My TCM Dr said can use your palms to gently rub your cramp tummy but if have to press hard to relief pain, must call Doc immediately for some injections.

cherish baby,
any thing i can do to ease the bloatness?my stomach is really big(like 4 to 5 mths preggy).i cant put on all my bottoms.is this normal ?or do u think i am swelling inside?

Dishearted - 1st is to drink plenty of water, 2nd is to eat plenty of egg white daily to ease bloatedness. Can switch to wearing old dresses with loose waist or skirts with elastic waistbands. Very normal cannot squeeze into your normal sized pants, can only zip halfway & wear big loose T-shirt to cover my exposed belly button & partially zippered shorts otherwise neighbours might feel weird. You are supposed to have an appt with your gynea within 2ww & he'll press on your tummy to make sure you are OK, if OHSS he'll recommend some treatments.

cherish baby,
thanks for your advise.Will try to do wat u mention.But i dun have appt with my gynea during the 2ww leh.Guess i will call her up tmr.Its really torturing

cherish baby,
juz came back frm CARE paragon.Was given 2 bottles of protein drip.(cost $150 each)was told i am over stimulated.N blood test was taken.Was told that it is a good sign as it shows that the ovaries are working well.Am keeping my fingers cross till this sat.

Dishearted - Wow! You will have plenty of follicles and hopefully will result in plenty of good eggs too. Should try to take plenty of egg whites of whatever kinds, up to 6 egg whites a day to grow your eggs. Raw egg white is the best, I crack the egg white into my warm goat's milk daily. Also drink plenty of water, minimum 1.8 litres daily. This is very crucial period to grow your eggs so please eat better and more protein each meal. Try to double boil black chicken essence (with codycep) and bird's nest weekly, good proteins.

cherish baby,
thanks for your advise all these while.I m the lucky one.Tested positive.Will see my gynea next week.Keeping my finger cross.Hope everything goes well.Baby dust to all....