IVF at NUH--feedback pls

Sjx,
hi. Back frm NUH. Juz feel a little cramp at e stomach. Only have 5 follicles. Chr will only call me tml to update.better dun take with yolks. Nw I take 6 half boiled eggs so easier to swallow. Thanks to e advise by ladies here. Hope everything turns out well.
Emily, previously I went to SGH as well but e nurses there for ivf seems.'cold' n unfriendly and imagine I was paying private rate. If u're thinking of ivf, would suggest NUH, e nurses here r more encouraging n friendly. I've just gone through egg retrieval FYI.
cheer up.

Jia Xin, Lee, we really got no idea which one, either IUI or IVF direct. The nurse at sgh asked if we want to attend their counselling, cost $22/person to understand more about the available treatment. You gals really so brave. I got phobia for needle.. I read all your message here, knoe that lots of injection required for ivf.. I really so worried if I can do it.
besides, I am PR, my hb a Sporean. Not sure if the process will be more expensive? and I think my age also a problem. 36 already

Emily, I believe no ladies here 'like' needles. Dun tink it's about bravery but we have no choice. Since you have to go through this, why not be more optimistic about it.
ur case I'm not too sure but shld'nt be too exp. IUI or IVF it's better you ask a professional bcos they know best. I started in end Jan but time really past by fast so dun worry. Imagine a cute baby will be waiting for you at the end of the whole process! That will certainly motivate and encourage you.
all e best to u!

Emily,My hubby also has lazy swimmers and I went for 1 round of IUI which failed and we were aware of it more or less as count & motality was really low during IUI. We then decided to move to IVF with Prof Wong. I did my IUI with Dr. Kumar at Glenagles. IVF was very expensive there and we were more convinced with Prof Wong as he was straight forward.

I have just started with my IVF and till now nothing painfull. Yes it took me some time to balance myself emotionally but once you are ready with the fact that we are not undergoing it by choice , it wont be problem. We are undergoing it to understand that motherly affection which every women desires. At NUH IVF will cost you around 10K - 12K in total. You can use medisave and will have some govt grant as your hubby is a Singaporean & u r PR. Hope this helps. Have faith and all the very best.

Lee, Hope you are doing good now. Keep us updated.

SJX, have you started with your Gonal F? let us know latest updated from ur end?

morning Lee,

How is it? pain? how long u stay in hospital?
So when your MC official start?
my coming soon, getting excited tho

Hi Emily,

i do have phobia for needle too, but when you have the will, you will find ur way to counter ur phobia.
I agree with Lee, seek professional advise...

Hi Siddhi,
I started my gonal F today, for ER properly mid March as nurse told

next review is Monday Morning....

Morning ladies
procedure wasn't painful as we'll be completely knocked out with sedation. After I work up, just felt a little cramp, feeling better today. NUH called n told me 5 follicles retrieved n only 3 managed to be fertilized. Most likely tml or sat will put e fertilized egg back n I got 19 days of MC.
can rest at hope and also pray hard for BFP! Yeah yeah yeah... Anyway kind of bored at home...

Sorry sjx forgot to ans ur questions. Procedure started at 1230pm but we rched there at 930am to hand hubby sperm so stayed there until operation time bcos I gt a private room. Gt tv hbo channel so I watched tv till time for operation. Op is only 10mins but u'll take around 1hr to regain consciousness than they'll put u in ur rm. I rched my rm ard 1.30am. Than stayed till 6pm as they need to ensure u're well b4 discharge. Mc started yesterday, 19 days, I believe it's standard.

Sorry, I mean 1.30 pm nt am. Anyway rite after tat they told me nt to eat too heavy food n get sips of water only in case I vomit but I was damn hungry. Initially I ate corn nib lets which hubby bought for me and sip my water but after while I dun think I'll vomit so I ate blueberry bread n double cheeseburger haha... Hubby even commented I look like hungry ghost...

good day to all here
really thanks for all the encouragement. couldnt sleep well and keep thinking of what is next. Should I try IUI / SO IUI first, or go straight to IVF? Thinking of my age.. I think the doctor will ask me to go for IVF straight, plus, my hubby has very lazy swimmers and also morphology problem. What to check with your, which doctor good for SO-IUI?

hi lee

Before ER, how days you went back for blood test and scan?
and the final injection for ovulation, did you have MC for that? or you took leave for it?

19 days quite a lot, which is good.... if you bore, chat with us here....

Yup cool cool, hospitalization leave.

Sjx, b4 ER had to go like 2days once for blood test n scan but 2 times only, very fast one, finish u can go liao so my boss say no need to take leave. But e final injection I tink called ovidrel, e nurse instructed me wat to do etc so tat day is considered e last day for all e jabs, u can take half day off bcos e nurse will need awhile to explain n sign some papers but mine happen to fall on Saturday so I saved my leave. Tat day hubby also need to go so nurse can explain to him on sperm collection also. E injection u will b doing it urself so no need leave but I remember my injection was like 1230am midnite lor. I blur blur set alarm inject oredi than go n sleep. Hehe...

Su, Blue, Andreanie, soul, jamp, and all new sisters
I'd like to share my good news here. I tested postive on Feb 29, 2 months after seeing TCM doctor and taking herbs deligently while waiting for my 2nd FET. Baby dust to you all and all the best!

cool-so happy for U.
I was trying to ask U yesterday when U would be doing yr FET, but don't know why just cannot send through yesterday night.
U take care.
So excited & happy for U.
I catching & holding tightly yr babydust

Hi Blue, yeah.. I am thinking if I should call CHR and get advise. or should i directly make appointment with the gynae. I am a bit worry bec of my previous m/c. so whether if i need support or not..
You are going for natural FET this cycle? All the best ya.

Hi siddhi, thanks. you are on what stage now? short protocol, right? My friend also doing her first fresh with short protocol under prof wong.

Hi Lee,

My office is very far from NUH , so i am thinking before ER do i need to take leave or possible for NUH to issue me MC

sorry what does FET mean haaaaa

Hi coolcool
advance congrats to you

Hi Cool, yes I am first fresh cycle with Prof wong and on short Protocol. Today I will take my 4th Jab of Gonal F. Tomorrow I have appointment for Scan & blood Test. Wants it to be my first & last.

You take good care of yourself. Eat good & stay healthy.

cool-why don't U try to call Sharon (PC wong nurse). Enquire from her. I think is best to see Prof, though is pregnant naturally. As he knows yr history, U can also bring up yr worries.
I going for 1st scan on day 10 after menses, which is 7/3.
SJX-FET is frozen embryo transfer
Siddhi-I don't think would be yr last scan & blood test. It all depend on yr follicles size & blood test result.
All the best for the scan

Hi Blue, I am hoping for first & last IVF process.
No worries have a good time. And thank you for all your suggestions. It means a lot to me and is of great help.

Cool, great to hear this good news.

Take care. You may want to see prof and get his advise.
At least prof has your history.

Enjoy pregnancy hood.
Lee, all the best for your 2ww

Sjx, shld b can get mc.

Cool cool, so gd pregnant Liao. Congrats! By e way, can share ur m/c? Is it 1st ivf? I'm very very nervous to be frank bcos it's my 1st ivf. Tml than put e egg inside my body... Wondering will haf BFP or nt... Nvm, I catch catch catch all e baby dust here n hope for e best...

Thks Su-yana...

Lee, don't stress about ivf stuff.
I did 3 ivf, first bfp but m/c at 7wks, 2nd bfn n bfp 3rd cycle and gave birth last aug. it's normal to be stress or afraid but
I really tried to think positive and it worked

Su, thought I can kw wad causes m/c than I can try to prevent. I'm quite positive liao but tml putting e egg in so started to get abit worried.

lee-Even Prof cannot give me the reason behind my m/c at 10 weeks, he mention likely chromosome. (maybe the egg or sperm somehow is abnormal so the body just stop it from growing)
Like what Su say, U would worry & stress, but try to give yrself positive thinking.
All the best for tomorrow transfer.

Bluenose bear, ok. Thks than i dun ask liao. Nurse tell me to juz keep smiling n be happy can le.
nw at Chr waiting for Er at 1.15pm. So excited. Wish me luck sisters!

was reading other forums then got this question in my mind.

How many follicles then consider normal or healthy?

Lee, no reason to m/c. To think my hcg was around 200/300 plus. No bleeding non pain. When I went for my 2nd scan then we found out. After that d&c was scheduled like a week later. Also no bleeding after that. Prof mention maybe chromosome.

Don't think too much ok

Hi sistas,
I got brown stain when i wiped this morning. So i quickly called CHR and they directed me to go to Prof Wong's clinic. He scanned and said no blood. And asked me to go for blood test and get twice a week support injections and duphaston. In the evening, sharon called and told me my pregnancy is confirmed. And i asked my HCG level and it's 7000! No wonder i got MS symptoms since day 1.

Hi Su and Lee

Lee, Enjoy your 2ww. Rest well.

Siddhi,
when is your ER? My friend ER is tomorrow. She said prof got 3 ER tmw morning.

Jia Xin,
Have you seen prof? and what did he say?

Blue, after the blood test i haven't met him yet. I will see him in next two weeks. I think twins not possible cos we don't have twin genes.

Hi CoolCool, Nurses have not confirmed me on ER yet. I am expecting by end of the week only.

Bluenosebear - Prof has reduced my Gonal F dosage. I am going to Hospital on Monday for scanning & Blood test again

Bluenosebear - yesterday it was 22 follicles
though after check up Prof told "Good" and he believes that its better to have good number of follicles than having nothing.But nurses at CHR were saying that they expect somewhere around 15 follicles and my body is reacting from Gonal F jabs. Lets see, waiting for Monday scan & blood test.

Blue- yes it was 11.5mm, 10 mm, 9 mm on 1 side & 11mm,10mm & 9 mm on the other side. I dont know abt the rest. These sizes were noted down. After getting my blood report the dosage for Gonal F is reduced.