IVF at NUH--feedback pls

Hi Jamp & Blue, Thanks for taking out time and helping us with your valuable suggestions & experience.

Blue: I am a vegetarian by birth. I have decided to take milk products, dates & nuts, green vegetables during my 2WW. Healthy eating and postive thinking is all what we can do. Rest is all on luck.

cool-today Prof say this cycle, I would try nautrally on my own, 15mm follicle right now. He told me when to BD.
If fail, then on scan on day 10 of cycle.
If yr menses went back to normal, why don't U ask Prof to see is it better to try as natural cycle? That is my suggestion.
Coz no matter what, natural is the best, no drugs involved. Unless if can't then have to forgo that cycle.
SJX, lee & Siddhi-egg whites as in the half-boiled eggs.
Some sistas in another forum had tried Ensure milk, but I felt that if U are on the heavy side, like me, better not try. It sure would put on alot of weight. The reason behind, also the protein & selenium (which immunocal, egg whites & concieve well able to get from)

For me, the egg whites I took it as half-boil, but I saw some sistas wrote as they will eat it raw (put in hot milo).
But after ET, when CHR ask U to take egg whites, it is suppose to be cook, as worry of bacteria.
As after ET no raw food.

hey bluenosebear

thanks for sharin.. i think i wont take Ensure milk as i am taking conceive well now. What i know is that selenium got limit so cannot exceed.

as for the half boiled eggs, not an issue.. is it to take before the ET?

during 2ww i dont think it an ideal to eat raw right?

Yah, Cool, agree with Blue, maybe u shld persuade him to let you try natural FET, what is his reason for med FET for you again?

Sjx- 2ww eat it fully cook or depend on immunocal.
U k take when start suprefact. Likely start as 2 EW or fish as protein bah. Then increase to 4-8 when start gonal F.

Hello Blue
Hello Jamp, Cool too!
I'm starting my fresh this mth. Thanks Blue for sharing wat to take at wat stage. I'll be getting immunocal.

Can anyone advise abt this immunology tests? Is it too late to make appt to see an Immunologist as I'll be starting my suppression (long protocol) next week?

Mel- wave, check w Sharon or chr nurses. Might need to talk to Prof for referral.
Sorry, I forgot, this is yr 2nd or 3rd fresh?
What is yr reason that u want to see immunologist?

Andreanie, I'm sure you are looking forward to see your little one soon. At least yours is planned, so you will know when delivery is going to happen. I had to anticipate mine last yr. when the day came, I was so scared

Soul, take care of your cough ok.

Blue, hope this natural cycle will work for you.

Jamp, mel, cool, starting fresh soon?

Jia xin, it's good to know what to eat and what to avoid.
But pls, do not be too stress up with this esp during 2ww, the stress for this may not be good.
When I was doing my 2nd fresh, I was too concern if the dos n donts. Prove not too be good to my body. 3rd cycle I did not bother too much but still avoiding things like cold drinks n it worked for me.

Happy weekends!

Hello guys! *waves to all

I just joined the forum and jumped straight to this thread.... I had four miscarriages all within 1.5yrs of getting married.... Spent thousands on different gynaes until I went to see doc iswaran at a pte clinic. Just found out i have an inverted womb and my womb was filled with toxins (frm birds cats rabbits etc). Normal level was >1.3 but mine was 347.0! Hehehehe so had a 3course meal of antibiotics (yummy yumm yumm) and had a womb scan.... Finally found out my tubes are super swollen n blocked. Fluids in the blocked tubes were running into my womb which is toxic to the embryo(s) and i finally found out the cause of my miscarriages! Like duh! So doc iswaran recommended IVF with prof pc wong at nuh. Met him and he told me IVF is my only choice. Haiz.... I asked abt the costs and he said $10000 can deduct medisave $6000 and govt grant $3000 so need to fork out $1000 for the procedure and plus minus another $500 for tests and all. I m just abt to go for my first blood test on 22day of my cycle which is 24th feb. Frankly, I dun knw what to do.... I hve been feeling so down bcos of my miscarriages and i seriously dun knw what will happen to me if this IVF is not successful.... I m so glad to read that i m not alone in feeling this disappointed. Anyway, hope things will be fine for all of us... And teeheehee thanks for reading this meandering post......

Blue- this is my 3rd fresh but 2nd fresh w NUH. I wan to see immunologist to rule out any immunological causes for failure to implant. In other words, KS lor
Now that I'm working, I m really stressed. The job is too demanding... Haii... Worse than the prev job (which I resigned to do ivf). Me really unlucky!

Su- yup starting fresh this coming week. Scared work matters hinder my scanning days.

Hellyberry- hello welcome to this friendly forum. Sorry to hear what u experienced. Think positive. At least u know u and ur hubby are able to conceive and have identified the cause of the mc. Besides antibiotics does the Dr do anyth to solve the 'toxic' womb issue?

Hi mel! Thanks for the welcome! I am actually relieved there is this forum! Heheheheh the previous gynaes b4 dc iswaran n wong all kept telling me miscarriages in early stages is common.... Rite, tell that to those that keep having them! Nah, only antibiotics were given to kill n cleanse the womb....If u dun mind me asking, what is ur job! Haiyo IVF already so stress still need to put up with stresful jobs hoh! Heehehe but w/o jobs cant afford IVF lei me!

Hi su_yana,

i am trying hard not to stress haaa but subconsciously will think of it.
was think 2ww that weeks can i do housework? i need to cook and tidy up the house and wash clothes...

Hi Hellyberry
did u go direct to Prpf Wong? as for me now, haven't even officially start the program i already spend thousand plus.
anyway stay positive! we will make it

Sjx... I was referred to him from my previous gynae. My gynae said he is an expert for IVF best success rate blah blah blah. Yeap... I just saw him once and will be taking my first blood test this 24th.... Dunno how many times i've been paying to give my blood away sia! Hehehhe wat is 2WW btw? Eheeh got headache reading and trying to figure out all these acronyms! I got ask prof wong diff in subsidy rate and all that he said IVF itself is $10k even for subsidy patients and need to go thru poly n nuh before they refer to IVF team... Subsidy only for doc visits n tests... And cannot choose prof wong... Subsidy patients get whichever doc is available.... Dunno la, pretty ex sia.... On first visit, i had a pap smear, chlamydia and ultrasound while hubby got the fertility infectious screen, all in all abt $450.... Heheheh so die die also must stay positive bcos expensive....

But hard to stay +ve lei, here i m trying to get pregnant and my bro in law and his wife is having a 2nd preg which is unplanned! Crapadoodle! All the best to u and me and all of us!!

Hmmmm come to tink of it, i dun even knw how the whole IVF procedure is .... Will just nod and do what the doc n nurse ask lor.... Sjx, will u be following thru with IVF? Hehehehh maybe if we hold hands and do together side by side we wun feel so apprehensive?!

Hi berry

Woah, ur post is long haaa I using iPhone to read and it like So troublesome for me to reply u what I wanna tell u haa

2ww is 2 week wait, the period after the egg transfer

This is my first ivf , I have to go through ivf as my tubes are dead...

Don't think and compare with people , we go our way and it will be an exciting experience for us
we know we love and adore our kid more than any people who never go through our experience

Hey sisters who succeeded may I ask a question
For immunocal can I substitute with proteins shake / milk?

Heheheh babe, im also using Iphone lei... I squint to read the posts until cannot squint sia! Hheheh sorry for long posts... Been trying to find an outlet to let go steam sia! Hehehehe ok fullstop for now!

Wakakakaka... And errr wat is the 2ww for?

Ok i hve just proved my point i squint to read this.... Heheheheh re read and saw it is the wait after the trf.... Wahpiang.... Now havent even do anything already stress thinking!

Hello HellyberrySince u already embarking on this ivf journey, just hang on there and hope for the best outcome. Tho ivf is abt $10-12k in NUH, u get $3k from govt subsidy and can use medisave. So outright cash is reduced more so if this is ur first fresh cycle.
I am in FMCG branding. I m no longer carving a career, I want a normal job that I can have family time even if I earn
less but ended up in a more demanding job w a super fast
paced co, 

Blue- I bought immunocal le. It's $106 nett for those who may
be interested. 5% discount if u have OG card.

SJX- Hi. I was looking at the immunocal label it states 9g
protein. I was thinking does that mean I can buy other high
protein thingy to substitute cos I have a feeling this
immunocal may be rather awful to drink alone. My
Grandfather had an operation and his Dr recommended him
to take some high protein nutritional thing said to help heal
faster. Just now he showed me the box, it has 14g
of protein thingy in orange flavor drink. I thought maybe can
consider this if it taste better.

Welcome hellybelly
Mel & SJX- u k substitute protein intake by other protein drinks, but immunocal is kind of whey protein. So is a better kind & easier to digest protein. It suppose to help to relieve the bloatedness.
I tried another cheaper kind of whey protein from Nestle & another kind by the name of Myotein, which my dietician recommend, but somehow I felt that is kind of can't relieve my bloated tummy compare to immunocal during my 2nd fresh. During scans I had like 20+ follicles, so k imagine how bloated I feel.
Mel- the kind of protein drink might help bah, u k try if it is convenient to drink.
Immunocal k be mix with any drinks, but when u shake, normally still have the lumpy thing. I like to mix with sunkist orange mango, is the concentrate. Think this taste is better compare to mix with milk or ribena.
Yr kind be adventurous to mix around with drinks u like

Hey, Mel, u r back!! So u jux start yr new job? Too bored at home?

Su, I saw prof last week aft the hysteroscopy, he told me to schedule w CHR the nx cycle. They r very pack, can only do aft March mense, no more slot for Feb mense
. Think too many pple gg for dragon bbs. For me it's the age factor.

Jia xin, if you really need to do housework do something that's very mild. Don't do mopping or too strenuous housework. Esp after er, the firsts week is crucial coz of implantation.
You can do light job after that. I did simple cooking after a week of trx. I folded clothes n hubby helped to wash n hang laundry.

Jamp, wow going for another cycle. All the best ya.

Su, I am going for 2nd FET. Still have 3 embbies.

Blue and jamp, Prof decided long med protocol for me at the consultation one week after my failed FET. I think he just chose the same protocol as first FET. And already gave me prescription for the medicines. I just need to call when i want to start and can start taking birth control pills already. Yeah.. Natural is the best. For me even short med protocol is still ok. I just don't want to spend one more month taking pills.
I will call CHR and see how.

One of my gf told me whey protein easier to swallow and she, like bear, also use o.j with sacs... She said if shake shake not enough to remove the lumpy bits thats y she use oj with sacs so she can 'imagine' the lumpy bits also orange sacs.... Heheheh well, watever works i guess! Is it a must to drink this protein thingy?

My father in law got this soy protein shake, so was thinking will it help.

100 plus for the immunocal is really ex

But did u ask prof or the nurses is immunocal really useful?

Cool, yeah.. All the best for your fet. At least you have 3 embbies. I only have one.

I did not take immonucoul during my ivf. So for those who takes it may have good tips to share. I just took normal hl milk for protein

My father in law got this soy protein shake, so was thinking will it help.

100 plus for the immunocal is really ex

But did u ask prof or the nurses is immunocal really useful?

Mel, yep i tink so too. Since i've already decided to do IVF might as well do n dun stress! Thanks.

Wat happens after the blood tests and sperm sample? Will prof wong after seeing the reports straightaway ask us to do IVF? And need to pay $10000 (b4 grant n medisave) upfront or wat?

Hi Jamp. Now I really do miss my boring days... Regretted not appreciating and cherishing it!
Act I thought its better that u start in March. At least u let ur body rest after hysteroscopy.

Thanks Blue for the sharing. I didn't know this immunocal will clump up. I dun have a shaker. Hmm... From what u experienced, this immunocal is more for reduction of bloatedness like what egg white does. I was KS. Bought hoping to have better egg quality I think I will just take for gd health (and good eggs if it does help).

If I take it wo juice or milk, is it v awful?

Hellyberry- I think prof will advise the options for u depending on ur age and tests results.
I can't rem how the nuh payment goes. Maybe other sistas here can better advise u on this.

Hellyberry

As what I am now, the payment go as per visit.
So I just collect the invoices and file

I am here now, properly will help u and myself ask the nurses here.

But funny thing is the whole process, I think out of 5 visit I will only see prof 1 time

Hey hellberry

For me, I don't have to pay anything from now, they will let me know how much balance I will have to pay on the day I admit

Mel- the immunocal also act as for imuunity purpose also. U never know, it could help in the quality.
SJX- as for the soy base protein mix, sistas in other forum had wrote that too much intake of soy is not good, due to soy is high in estrogen (if I am right), so we should be avoiding it.
Hellyberry-Once start IVF, that mean start Suprefact on day 21 of menses( this for long protocol), U don't need to pay anything, till the day for transfer.
Pay to CHR, as they would estimate the balance. But the 2 fresh, I did have balance pay back to me by cheque.

Hi bluenosebear,

really?
ok I try to find some day to go buy immunocal. It suppose to take during the injection right?

Hi sisters,
Today is my first jab suprefact...may I ask you all... do u all have side effect for it?

As I dont know it is me or is it the side effect...I kinda feel uncomfortable.

hi sjx, wow finally u started suprefacts ah. tis friday i'll be starting gonal F. :D
no side effects of suprefacts for me. maybe you're thinking too much? what kind of 'uncomfortable' do you mean?

hey Lee,

i feel a bit dizzy, not sure is it becos i am too scare haaa...then a bit nauseousness, then tummy feeling a bit uncomfortable.

I cant image i have to inject for a month! faint.

Hi Hoping ForOne,
All the best to you! hope a sticky one for u

sjx, dun haf e tings u mention, maybe i'm a piece of wood. i think chr nurse did mention different ppl haf different side effects. If it's not too serious than I think you shouldn't think too much. Remember, you're suppose to be stress free... Initially I also thought cannot imagine doing it for one month but time will pass super fast. :D dun worry k?

Jia xin, not too sure if it really helps. I don't really have many follicles. So when I took hl milk it does not increase in number but I guess the quality does.

hi su yana

i thought immunocal is not for egg quality..
it mean for preventing bloating..

for egg quality, i heard is Royal jelly
and i found these from website.. not sure true or not

Vitamin E- this strengthens the outer shell of the egg and helps with implantation-->-->
Folic acid- this strengthens the inners part of the egg-->-->
Vitamin B12- makes folic acid work better (b6 also lengths luteal phase, if you take b6 and get a bfp don't stop suddenly, rather decrease it slowly)-->-->
Zinc- this repairs any of the egg that may have been damaged and also helps with implantation-->-->
False unicorn- This helps the egg (don't know how), helps with implantation and helps to maintain a pregnancy.-->-->

thanx so much sjx. i heard iui has very low success rate but better try that one before we go for ivf. lots of babydust to you and all the ladies here!

Thanks all for the clarification! I do hope we all will pull thru! I just cant wait to start liao! All these waiting for appts and blood tests driving me nuts!!

hoping for one
i don't think so, a few of my friends got it for first round of IUI

bluenosebear
i went to buy royal jelly, as a lot said it is good for egg, improve the quality.
i am taking conceive well which include all the vitamins, so i am think i better don't over take

i decided not to take immunocal, will go for egg whites.. every day 2 to 3 eggs hee....

SJX- Hi, I concur w Blue. Soy stuffs cannot take much cos it's phytoestrogen (plant estrogen).

I was reading about this protein drink called Abound that my grandfather was taking. Thinking of checking it out in pharmacy. Orange flavor drink and doesn't look like milk thingy.