IVF at NUH--feedback pls

wow! Quite shocking to read the story from the website.
Glad, mine went well with my lady gynae.

Just my opinion: if you are afraid of childbirth, do not read or watch stories pertaining to it. It may frighten you more. For me, I did not read up abt this. Only read abt bb development inside me. There is this show at cable 'i did not know I was pregnant', I did occasional watch this during my pg but towards my 3rd trim, I totally avoid that show. I don't want to be frighten by it.
So my labour day, I just followed the instructions of nurses n gynae

hi ladies, to be fair, docs from pte hospitals could also commit mistakes, if u read the newspapers recently. maybe by coincidence, there is a thread toking abt this particular gyane from NUH. i think there shld be other threads toking abt docs from hosp too. i feel if u r doing ivf or other procedures under Prof, shld be in safe hands bah. sometimes i think it depends on luck too. my colleagues's 2 frens gave birth @ NUH recently & both have pleasant experience with the gynae & service.

jamp-perhaps for peace of mind, is better u go for the checkup wif yr regular gynae.

Su-yr gynae is from NUH?

Su, you're under Dr Su Lin Lin right? I'm in my 13th week now, and I'm trying to choose which OBGYN should I go to. I plan to deliver in NUH, since it's closer to my place and also I'm quite comfortable there. If you don't mind, could you describe your experience with Dr Su?

Jamp, I would also want to take this opportunity to say Hi to you. I believe I've seen you and your husband before in Women's Cinic several times, based on the description of yourself that I've read in your past posts. But, I wasn't sure if I should say Hi to you during those times considering I've never talked to you here before. I didn't want to appear like a stalker. Haha! I'm sorry that your cycle didn't work out for you. Our cycles were only a week apart. Yours was the same as Blue right? But please don't lose hope. God will not forsake those who ask for his help and grace. Maybe if I see you the next time, I pray that I will have the courage to say Hello.
To all other sisters who are on this journey, I wish all the best for all of you. Please don't lose hope, and have faith. God bless...

Mel, yep, prof n reg gynae saw fibriod on scan, but both said it'll not affect fertility, until prof said he could feel something during d & c.

For yr case, if u comfortable w prof, think u Shld carry on in Nuh since it's near yr home. I wldnt hv 2nd thoughts if prof can do the hysteroscopy for me. He Shld be best person to tell whether shld go for lap or not, at point of view of fertility specialist. My concern is tat other dr will jux go ahead n suggest lap even if not necessary.

Soul, thanks for yr kind words. Do call me if u see me nx time. I Shld be easily recognisable due to my acne infested face, seldom see pple at my age with face full of acne, sigh... Didn't go for facial for long time due to ivf, jux resumed aft the d & c

Just guessing, i remember u said u r 1/2 malay n 1/2 chinese, Is yr hubby the one who always wear work overalls?

Yes Jamp! My hubby is easily recognisable due to his overalls. Haha! He usually leaves work for a while and accompanies me for my check ups, that explains his seemingly lack of wardrobe choices. Hehe! I will definitely say Hi to you if I see you again.

Soul, so I'm rite!! At first i thought u looked proud until we smiled at each other on one occasion, if u can remember. U look very young, the most late 20s, rite? Mind I ask y u embark on this journey when u r still so young? It's ok if u dun wish to disclose.

Did I really look proud?? Lol! Well actually, there were people who thought of me as arrogant based on their first impression. I'm not sure how I end up looking like that though, but I can assure you I like to smile more instead
. I don't remember if we actually crossed path, where I smiled at you. But I do smile at a lot of people even though they might think I'm crazy. Hehe... But I do remember that I always looked your way whenever you were there at the clinic, thinking whether I should say Hi or not...

I'm 30 years old. I lost both tubes due to ectopic pregnancy, and Salpingitis. So therefore, I can only get pregnant via IVF. At first I had resigned to fate, and accepted the fact that I couldn't get pregnant naturally anymore. And after reading about IVF, I was really scared to go through it. But my husband really wants a child. So I thought, okay... I'll give it a try, just once. And with God's blessing, now I'm 12 weeks pregnant
. But of course, I too had to endure questionings, gossips and speculations from in-laws, relatives and other kaypo aunties during the years prior to my pregnancy. I was angry before because of that, but then I found quirky ways to answer them or sometimes, I just told them to get pregnant for me instead if it bothers them too much. :p

Jamp- or u ask Prof again if he can do for u? I also believe in Prof's integrity. But i always believe in seeking a 2nd/3rd opinion cos sometimes can have mistakes mah and to rule out any hidden agenda. I am not surprised Drs make patients do unnecessary procedures. Last time I heard of a stupid HOD in a hospital who prescribed unnecessary pain killers to patients to help the salesperson hit quota! sales person was my friend's sister's col. Recently I was told that
HOD got suspended for dunno how long due to some complaints. We can only rely on real case feedbacks to make
informed choices.
Rainy- I agree fully. These days lots of medical negligence cases. So we patients must choose our Drs really very carefully.

Soul, I'm very comfortable with Dr Su. She's real nice and is always ready to listen to your concern.
Prof wong recommended her because I've no one in mind.
There was one session where she only did hearing of heartbeat and no scan. It was almost 2months since the last scan. She actually obliged.
During my 3rd trim, my baby was suddenly not moving actively. I called a line she gave me and they hook me up with her. Told my problem and she asked me to emerald. She actually check on me although she had no clinic that day.

On my labour day, I was admitted on 12noon.
She checked on me at around 6pm. Then around 10 she was checked on me again and was around till 2 when u gave birth . Of course she went in and out of delivery suite.
She visited me daily in my ward.
If I get pregnant again, I will go to her

Su- sounds like this dr Su is not bad. This shd be the way a gynae is... I have a gynae in mind long ago while researching for lap endo dr. Lol. If I ever have the chance. Haha

But v weird, why Prof could feel during d&c but dun wake u to ask if wan to do hysteroscopy? Cos if really have fibroids, need to op again. Scar and scar the uterus.
Just to share, when I consulted the endo Dr, he said he will do diagnostic (chk and see) first, if cfm, he will do therapeutic lap to remove whatever nasty things. So in consent form were two separate consents from me.

Thanks Su! I think I will choose her then. She seems like a very caring doctor. I would prefer a female OBGYN if possible, but I don't know which one to choose. She seems young too, so I was also wondering if she's experienced enough in delivering babies. I believe a caring doctor who always checks up on you and would see you even if she/he is not on duty is a good doctor. I've had my fair share of doctors who are only looking to make more money. I had a good feeling with Dr Su when I read her profile on NUH website. But after what you said, it reassured me even more. Thank you!

Soul, 'pretty young thing' came to my mind when I saw u, hahaha, sorry to hear abt yr fertility issues. Yes, it's indeed a precious blessing from God

Frm way u write, can feel u r quick witted n optimistic person. U've gone thru a lot at such a young age. That's y i say most of us here has a story to tell. Will keep u in prayers for smooth pregnancy till delivery.

Hi all, just now I went to see Dr Zuo.
I would start accupuncture 1 week later.
Quite like her, think will continue treatment w her.
Enjoy yr long weekend

Jamp... You made me blush with that "silent" thought of yours
. I used to shy away from compliments. But a good friend taught me that it would be more polite to say thank you. So, thank you Jamp
. You're right. We all have stories to tell, which makes life so interesting.

You are a very optimistic person too Jamp. Despite the ordeals that you have been through, you still look at the bright side of life and still full of hope.
I pray that God will grant you your wish soon and also to all the ladies here.

I'm going to Tradehub 21. There's a sale on perfumes! ;) If you ladies are interested. I love Victoria Secret's body mist! And they're selling them at $14.90 per bottle. So, I will drop in again soon. Take care ladies!

Soul, initially I also thought she is young. She got 3 kids.
So I think not that young.
I will say she has steady hands too. When I pushed out my girl, the umbilical cord was around her neck.
So when she moves out, Dr Su was quick to remove it. I'm so glad.

Soul, yep it's a sincere compliment from me

Sigh...We've been through such an indescribable horrendous tragedy last yr which changed our whole outlook of life. Hv to learn to fight the devil who try to steal our joy all the way and win!

Me almost whole day at car work shop w hubby, now waiting to collect car, near trade hub 21, u made me tempted leh...see whether hubby willing to drive me there.

'see' u soon

Blessed weekend to all sistas! Stay positive & happy! God's peace be upon everyone & may all our baby wish come true!

Mel, sorry, me using iPhone, screen too small, missed yr msgs

Prof actually suspected ectopic too for my case n he had dr f stdby to do lap for me. During discussion, I asked if confirmed doing lap, they could also remove the fibriod at same time, he said cannot, reason was like they got to treat the main issue, do it the safest way to avoid complications like excessive bleeding. Hence, cannot do 2gether.

U r rite, I'm afraid of scarring, dr Zou also warned abt it, she said dun do it unnecessarily. Hysteroscopy is the diagnostic aspect, then decision has to be made whether to proceed to lap.

Jamp- I c. I will ask my endo gynae when I see him. Cos sometimes I become insecured he will chk my uterus?? physically. I dunno how he tell but he will stretch inside feel the walls?? So far he did twice during this 1 yr I've been seeing him. He used this mtd to chk if got small cysts etc when i did not do scan (when not day 2-5). He sees MANY Indonesians patients and aunties. I think it's all the nasty women probs. wait is super long until fall asleep! Once I went in daylight 4pm left was evening dark le! Clinic oso dimmed the lights Liao. Haha

Soul, our car still not fully repaired, work shop doesnt have the parts required, gotta wait till nx Tue. Thank God we managed to drive it home at snail pace to unload stuff. So cannot go shopping

Enjoy yourself, gal! Glad for you, can feel your happiness

Jamp, sorry to hear about your car. Luckily you got home just nice
. I read about what happened to you and your husband last year. When I read it, my heart cried out to you. It is a horrendous tragedy for any mothers or fathers to go through. I'm sure it is still very tough for you both, but hang on... Stay strong. From the way you sound, I feel that you'll be just fine. Your beloved son is in a good place
. Rest assured
. So, don't give up on the good things that life has to offer, which is a whole lot more
. Once upon a time, I've been through some experiences which left me bitter and angry, and full of hate. But the person I was only made my situation worse. So now, I choose to be positive and at peace, come what may. I know my too-positive-of-an-attitude can be annoying to some... Hehe... But, that's okay. I will still annoy them until they too, can be positive and at peace. Stress free. Smile!

Su, thank you for the info
. Yes! Dr Su Lin Lin will be the one then.

Thanks, Soul. We survived by God's grace...Yep, we know our precious boy is in a safe place now, clinging on the hope that we'll meet him again. That's why im still around....Misses him dearly, he is such a sunshine boy, so dear to us...life will nv be the same again for us.

Remember my advice in previous post, do go for no. 2 or more if u can afford to
this is from the heart of a sorrowful mum.

Jamp, if God blesses us with financial stability and good health, we will go for number 2 in a couple of years.
I pray that your next cycle will give you a precious little one, or two!!
God bless...

To those who celebrate, I wish you Selamat Hari Raya Aidi Adha. May you be comforted and happy being among your beloved family, relatives and friends.

To the rest, have a happy HAPPY Sunday!!!

Blue, me gg to see dr Zou tmr...may I know y didn't u start accup immediately?

Waiting for AF to come but no sight of 'her'

Becos Dr Zuo say too fast to start now as still have on & off spotting. Suppose to start in 1 week time but becos I would be busy, so next appt I only can go on 15/11.
U started twice accupuncture per week already?
For Dr Zuo, when menses come, will she still do acupuncture?

I just finish work, yawn, so sleepy now.
Don think of menses la, then it will come leh. Haha. The more u think of it, it will lagi play hide & seek with u.

Ok lah, shall listen to u...u work frm hm or went office to work? Poor thing, PH still gotta work, remember to take care n rest well, yr official Hosp leave jux ended, rite?

I work from office. Will be taking today Ph on fri instead.
But today work also good, as not much pple will disturb me, hehe.
I started work since Monday, never take the 1 week HL after D&C.

Hi Su, did you get HL or MC for your FET? How many days?

My scan is next Monday. Transfer will probably be 18 or 19 Nov. Looking forward to it! Now I am thinking how many embryos to transfer. 2 or 3. Chances will be higher if I transfer 3 but I am also worried about triplets. Do you all decide yourself for the quantity of embryos to transfer or discuss with Prof?

Anyone tried cordyceps? Worth a try cos it boosted my hubby's sperm quality when I had my no.1.

And an ez way to take egg white. Just put 4 eggs worth of egg white into the microwave for 4 mins, then add low fat cheese... Yumz..

Btw I bought the immunocal. Fwah!!! 100 for just 30 pkts! So I may start only during the jabs...