IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

@Hopeful2 I remember we did IUI on the same day. Tml's BT is to test Progesterone levels? I was on duphaston previously for my IVF, not much side effects for me except tender breasts but my gf says she feels very sleepy from it. This time i'm on utrogestan and i almost fainted from my first dose.
Yeah @babyloveyou Ofcourse I remember!! Yeah have to go tomorrow for progesterone level, but not sure why that is needed. I too feel sleepy and have loose motion since I started taking duphaston. I will ask the doctor/nurse abt this tomorrow. So are you still on utrogestan. Is there any difference between this and duphaston?

@babyloveyou Haha ikr. Actually, I was not given progesterone support. I assume it's because I did iui. But I do know that some private gynaes do provide progesterone for iui. I think it's SGH's protocol. However, if this iui fails, I think I will ask Dr Yu for progesterone support. Though I do understand that they are for the idea that if you can carry the bb, your body will naturally produce progesterone. I remember my hormone test and it was found that my progesterone is normal level so I guess maybe that is why she didn't give me.

Surprisingly, last month before my IUI, I also took letrozole. I didn't have any progesterone support at all and I didn't spot till last 2 days before my af.

I know that feeling too, I also don't like to test..forever wasting my hpt haha..but if have spotting and cramps then better test in case u need more support. Are u on any progesterone support now?

Actually my progesterone levels were also normal, still I am prescribed duphaston after this iui. I was wondering why I have been given these pills. All the doctors and procedures are different I guess.

@Hopeful2 you are with private clinic for your iui rite? Usually some gynaes are very careful so they will give. For government hosp, I think they have some kind of protocol they follow. For IVF, they will give you progesterone support for sure.

Actually my progesterone levels were also normal, still I am prescribed duphaston after this iui. I was wondering why I have been given these pills. All the doctors and procedures are different I guess.

@Hopeful2 usually trigger jab will still have 'leftover' effects for about 10days from the date you were given trigger + your progesterone support so it will be abit uncomfy. Must persevere on!! Hope you can strike on this attempt :)

Yeah was given the trigger last thursday and iui on last saturday. Lets see how it goes. Good luck to u too!

Yeah @babyloveyou Ofcourse I remember!! Yeah have to go tomorrow for progesterone level, but not sure why that is needed. I too feel sleepy and have loose motion since I started taking duphaston. I will ask the doctor/nurse abt this tomorrow. So are you still on utrogestan. Is there any difference between this and duphaston?
Its to check if you need more progesterone support if its too low. I too had to go back for this BT when I was doing IVF. But my current gynae don't do that. Actually its better, at least u don't worry whether your progesterone level is too low. Utrogeston is torturing me, I was so dizzy I almost fainted in office when i took my first dose orally. After that I'm taking it vaginally but i still get dizzy spells now and then, sore breasts, headaches..arghh Duphaston was better for me.

@babyloveyou Haha ikr. Actually, I was not given progesterone support. I assume it's because I did iui. But I do know that some private gynaes do provide progesterone for iui. I think it's SGH's protocol. However, if this iui fails, I think I will ask Dr Yu for progesterone support. Though I do understand that they are for the idea that if you can carry the bb, your body will naturally produce progesterone. I remember my hormone test and it was found that my progesterone is normal level so I guess maybe that is why she didn't give me.

Surprisingly, last month before my IUI, I also took letrozole. I didn't have any progesterone support at all and I didn't spot till last 2 days before my af.
Yes you probably don't need. Actually my progesterone level is normal, last so-iui my doc also didn't give but i itchy backside and asked for progesterone support this round. Read online that Progesterone support can assist implantation, so I asked my doc and he say 'ok i can give u if u want' haha..and now i'm suffering from it :confused:

Its to check if you need more progesterone support if its too low. I too had to go back for this BT when I was doing IVF. But my current gynae don't do that. Actually its better, at least u don't worry whether your progesterone level is too low. Utrogeston is torturing me, I was so dizzy I almost fainted in office when i took my first dose orally. After that I'm taking it vaginally but i still get dizzy spells now and then, sore breasts, headaches..arghh Duphaston was better for me.
ohh The side effects you describe are so scary....

@babyloveyou Haha!! I have read about that too but yet I also read that some still prefer the au naturel way where our body is designed to produce sufficient progesterone. Nvm lah, I feel that having progesterone is added form of support. More better than dun have rite? So I'm not hopeful about this iui given that I don't have any progesterone. See what happ.

Yes you probably don't need. Actually my progesterone level is normal, last so-iui my doc also didn't give but i itchy backside and asked for progesterone support this round. Read online that Progesterone support can assist implantation, so I asked my doc and he say 'ok i can give u if u want' haha..and now i'm suffering from it :confused:

Dear Ladies,

Good day!
I am 35 this year and decided to go for SO-IUI in Dec, given another fighting chance for ourselves in Nov. I am with Dr SF Loh @ O&G Specialist all these while.
A bit about my past journey below.
Oct 2012 - Start TTC ing, age of 32
May 2014 - BFP, at the same time multiple fibroids detected with the largest 8 cm measured
Jun 2014 - M/C around 6 weeks, D&C
Aug 2014 - Lap. surgery to remove fibroids
Apr 2015 - Routine check up, Gynae suggested SO-IUI, decided to try another 6 months naturally
Oct 2015 - Routine check up, decided to go for SO-IUI in Dec, DH given 2 different supplements
I am thinking not to waste my golden months (+eggs!) anymore if keep on trying naturally. I hope we are heading to the brighter sunny path...
Stay positive and BEST LUCK to all the lady-fighters out there! 明天会更好

@Hopeful2 you are with private clinic for your iui rite? Usually some gynaes are very careful so they will give. For government hosp, I think they have some kind of protocol they follow. For IVF, they will give you progesterone support for sure.

My gynae did not give me any progesterone or duphaston after my IUI. I wonder why...

@mrschuaflo sorry I cannot rem if yours is private clinic? I think some gynaes is for natural progesterone. They believe that if you are preggie, your body can produce sufficient progesterone de. However, that being said, taking progesterone support gives more support de. My gynae also din give me any progesterone at all.

My gynae did not give me any progesterone or duphaston after my IUI. I wonder why...

tml will be visiting gynae for a scanning on the follicles after 5 days on clomid....

I heard some ppl have some side effects upon taking clomids, like bloated stomach, feeling dizzy etc. But I do not have any feeling at all... Am I normal???

@mrschuaflo sorry I cannot rem if yours is private clinic? I think some gynaes is for natural progesterone. They believe that if you are preggie, your body can produce sufficient progesterone de. However, that being said, taking progesterone support gives more support de. My gynae also din give me any progesterone at all.
Yeah... My gynae is from a private clinic.

I'll ask my gynae the next time I meet him for a consultation...

@Kelle_lee some ppl react well to clomid and don't have much side effects. I think this is very individual. Assuming yours is cd7 today since you will be scanning with your gynae tomorrow, your follicle size should be abt 10mm or more. Don't worry about it ok. See what your gynae say.

tml will be visiting gynae for a scanning on the follicles after 5 days on clomid....

I heard some ppl have some side effects upon taking clomids, like bloated stomach, feeling dizzy etc. But I do not have any feeling at all... Am I normal???

@babyloveyou Haha!! I have read about that too but yet I also read that some still prefer the au naturel way where our body is designed to produce sufficient progesterone. Nvm lah, I feel that having progesterone is added form of support. More better than dun have rite? So I'm not hopeful about this iui given that I don't have any progesterone. See what happ.
Should be ok since you're not progesterone deficient..Stay hopeful! I kiasu la..after trying so many cycles, I just hope to have everything covered for a hopefully higher chance. :)

As long as your follicles are growing, don't worry too much about it..I do not have much symptoms from clomid too but follicles growing alright. Different people react differently to different meds.

@babyloveyou for me, I really dun hope to strike on 1st iui. If yes then I will b quite shocked. In any case, see what comes. I try to occupy myself with things so I dun go think about this.

I can understd if I were u. Can I ask ar, how much does your gynae charge for iui? $500? The reason I'm asking is because next yr feb to june my gynae clinic will be closed so if I have to do at private clinic, I just want to have a gauge of price.

Should be ok since you're not progesterone deficient..Stay hopeful! I kiasu la..after trying so many cycles, I just hope to have everything covered for a hopefully higher chance. :)

@babyloveyou for me, I really dun hope to strike on 1st iui. If yes then I will b quite shocked. In any case, see what comes. I try to occupy myself with things so I dun go think about this.

I can understd if I were u. Can I ask ar, how much does your gynae charge for iui? $500? The reason I'm asking is because next yr feb to june my gynae clinic will be closed so if I have to do at private clinic, I just want to have a gauge of price.
IUI procedure is 1.2k. Additional depends on how many jabs I need for that cycle. Averagely total about 2k for one SO-IUI cycle. But my gynae don't do delivery, he specialize in infertility treatments. So after BFP gota find another gynae le.

Hi graceakaclouds, u mean sgh care clinic will be closed next year feb-jun16 ?

Hi sisters, when you say "different people react differently with clomids", I wana know how do u define clomids has an effect or no effect on u?
Clomid is suppose to stimulate follicle growth, there are several brands of clomid. So far I've taken duinum and letrozole before. My follicles growth is better with letrozole, meaning I respond better to letrozole. So I guess I can say letrozole has greater effect on me..

@littlebaby_melissa @babyloveyou is right. For me, I have very bad side effects when I took clomid. I took it for 4 cycles but my follicles just never grew in size. That is an indication that it didn't work for me. Incidentally, when I took letrozole, my follicles grew pretty big so I knew it worked for me.

I tik med wise is just like jabs. It will work for some n some just no effect.

Hi sisters, when you say "different people react differently with clomids", I wana know how do u define clomids has an effect or no effect on u?