IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

@Kelle_lee I believe I do have similar egg condition in the sense that my egg size is pretty small so it does need some form of stimulation to grow to optimum size. However, my basal temperature is generally pretty high so that part is different from yours.

I believe you have done bbt for sometime right? What is your baseline temp? Hmm, I think if your pre-af temps (definitely after ovulation) is 36.5, it can be abit on the low side. Try to eat more warming foods like red wine chicken, beef, etc weekly. It doesn't have to be daily because it can have adverse effect. When you sleep, wear socks and make sure your body is well covered. Don't have to be wrapped like mummy haha but just well covered like no spag top and shorts kind lah.

As for your egg based on your tcm comment that egg is not mature enough, perhaps try to up your intake of eggs. Eat more eggs for protein and more well balanced diet with bright coloured veg like broccoli, red and green pepper, etc. If you are scared of eating more than 1 egg then take 1 egg and egg whites together bah. Try to reduce your intake of sugar, white bread, white rice, etc. These are high sugar content food which is not really good. For me, I have been taking eggs more constantly than previously and it does seem to help coupled with my intake of letrozole. I never do jabs this time round. I know that KKH practises SO-IUI which is giving you jabs. Generally, jabs can make your follicles grow faster. When I took jabs previously, my follicle grew almost 10mm within 2-3 days. It is very fast de.

Yes your tcm is right. For IUI, I think the general guideline is 18 to 21mm in order to proceed with IUI. But if your follicle is about 15mm or so, they might do trigger to prepare you for IUI too. It really depends on your gynae. Where are you going? KKH or NUH or SGH?

Also, you may want to take supplements if you haven't been taking like folic acid, coq10, maca, etc.

Is Coq10 helpful? Read some mixed reviews online on how Coq10 can help fertility.

Was wondering whether my husband and I should start taking it because Coq10 is quite expensive.

@graceakaclouds

I been bbt since this yr january and this is my 2nd TCM. My 1st TCM did not ask me take bbt. Baseline temp is referring to the lowest temp?

I been taking vegetables a lot and is 1 egg per day (egg yolk and egg white)? And been taking folic acid when I started my TTC journey 2 yrs ago...

Previous gynae is Dr Sheila Loh from Raffles and now, I switch to Dr Chan from Gleneagles for 2nd opinion. He give me clomids to try for this cycle after seeing our test results. Today is the 2nd day I took clomids and next sat, will be going back for scanning and see the ovulation progress

If IUI is the journey I have to take eventually, I will go to government hospitals for subsidy rates. But not sure which is one is good - KKH or NUH or SGH?

Hi kelle_lee, is the Dr Chan you are seeing at Gleneagles Dr Chan Kong Hon?

@Kelle_lee No, baseline temp is not the lowest temp. Maybe this link can help to explain better on what is baseline temp. http://www.fertilityfriend.com/courses/lesson.php?p=1;7;0;0

Actually, I think the gals on ivf thread take about 6 egg/egg whites per day de. I think on a good gauge, about 2 eggs per day would be good especially during the period up to your ovulation. Have more food rich in zinc would be good to boost your egg too.

It is good to take the med and go back to scan and see if it's working for you. Then you will know if Clomid works for me. I took Clomid for about 3-4 cycles but it just didn't work for me so my med was changed to letrozole. It works much better for me.

I think here have ppl from diff govt hosp doing IUI bah. I cannot answer for those who did in KKH and NUH. I did it in SGH mainly because it's very near me as I know that I would need to go back to scan so I would need a convenient location and I have friends who have a good gynae recommendation at SGH so it was just nice for me. In terms of prices, I believe it wouldn't differ much between the diff government hospitals.

@graceakaclouds

I been bbt since this yr january and this is my 2nd TCM. My 1st TCM did not ask me take bbt. Baseline temp is referring to the lowest temp?

I been taking vegetables a lot and is 1 egg per day (egg yolk and egg white)? And been taking folic acid when I started my TTC journey 2 yrs ago...

Previous gynae is Dr Sheila Loh from Raffles and now, I switch to Dr Chan from Gleneagles for 2nd opinion. He give me clomids to try for this cycle after seeing our test results. Today is the 2nd day I took clomids and next sat, will be going back for scanning and see the ovulation progress

If IUI is the journey I have to take eventually, I will go to government hospitals for subsidy rates. But not sure which is one is good - KKH or NUH or SGH?

@mrschuaflo Frankly, I didn't quite see results. In a way, most gynaes is also kinda of trial and error until they find something that works for you. Also, the $$ spent is just way too much already. Then I did think that likely I want to try IUI 3 times first and then proceed to IVF if still no success. So I wanted to seek a government hospital where I can enjoy the subsidies and yet, use CPF too to reduce the total sum of cash paid.

May I know what's the reason why you went from a private gynae to a public hospital?

@mrschuaflo Actually coq10 is a very good antioxidant and it helps to reduce cell and DNA damage and also in turn, improve egg health, sperm health and embryo quality. You may want to read this for more info. http://natural-fertility-info.com/antioxidant-ubiquinol.html

However, for us women, it would be better for us to take coq10 that is ubiquinol. The Ubiquinol I bought from iherb costs abt USD19.70 for 90 tablets (this would be 3 months) so I think it's pretty worth. For the men, they can take norm coq10 de.

Also, if your hb doesn't take multivit, he might want to consider megamen from GNC. It works pretty well for my hb. His SA has no issues but he still take and it improved his new SA test even further in all aspect (motility, morphology, etc).

Is Coq10 helpful? Read some mixed reviews online on how Coq10 can help fertility.

Was wondering whether my husband and I should start taking it because Coq10 is quite expensive.

@mrschuaflo Frankly, I didn't quite see results. In a way, most gynaes is also kinda of trial and error until they find something that works for you. Also, the $$ spent is just way too much already. Then I did think that likely I want to try IUI 3 times first and then proceed to IVF if still no success. So I wanted to seek a government hospital where I can enjoy the subsidies and yet, use CPF too to reduce the total sum of cash paid.

Are we able to use Medisave to pay for IVF at private gynae?

How much does it cost for IUI at govt hospital? I recently paid $1k for my IUI at private gynae.

@mrschuaflo Actually coq10 is a very good antioxidant and it helps to reduce cell and DNA damage and also in turn, improve egg health, sperm health and embryo quality. You may want to read this for more info. http://natural-fertility-info.com/antioxidant-ubiquinol.html

However, for us women, it would be better for us to take coq10 that is ubiquinol. The Ubiquinol I bought from iherb costs abt USD19.70 for 90 tablets (this would be 3 months) so I think it's pretty worth. For the men, they can take norm coq10 de.

Also, if your hb doesn't take multivit, he might want to consider megamen from GNC. It works pretty well for my hb. His SA has no issues but he still take and it improved his new SA test even further in all aspect (motility, morphology, etc).

Oh! That's good, yeah I heard some good comments about Megamen. But when I went to GNC, the sales lady recommended that we buy l-arginine.

My husband SA not very good, maybe will try Megamen then. But right now he's taking quite a bit of supplements plus TCM, so not sure whether will be overdosed! Haha.

@Kelle_lee No, baseline temp is not the lowest temp. Maybe this link can help to explain better on what is baseline temp. http://www.fertilityfriend.com/courses/lesson.php?p=1;7;0;0

Actually, I think the gals on ivf thread take about 6 egg/egg whites per day de. I think on a good gauge, about 2 eggs per day would be good especially during the period up to your ovulation. Have more food rich in zinc would be good to boost your egg too.

It is good to take the med and go back to scan and see if it's working for you. Then you will know if Clomid works for me. I took Clomid for about 3-4 cycles but it just didn't work for me so my med was changed to letrozole. It works much better for me.

I think here have ppl from diff govt hosp doing IUI bah. I cannot answer for those who did in KKH and NUH. I did it in SGH mainly because it's very near me as I know that I would need to go back to scan so I would need a convenient location and I have friends who have a good gynae recommendation at SGH so it was just nice for me. In terms of prices, I believe it wouldn't differ much between the diff government hospitals.

Thanks @graceakaclouds, for the information and try to take eggs daily :) Will take 2 boiled eggs for my dinner later on

How is he as a fertility doctor? I have a friend who swears by him but it's for normal delivery.

May I know how much is his consultation and cost of doing IUI as well?

I cannot comment much on him as I only visit him one time till now..But first impression not bad and he is friendly to talk to. Dr Chan is suggested by my husband as he said that quite a few of his colleagues are under him and have good reviews about him. So we both went to him for more opinions

My consultation fees is $155 but if you have other tests like Uultrasound scan, then will have separate charges... I did not ask for IUI charges

I cannot comment much on him as I only visit him one time till now..But first impression not bad and he is friendly to talk to. Dr Chan is suggested by my husband as he said that quite a few of his colleagues are under him and have good reviews about him. So we both went to him for more opinions

My consultation fees is $155 but if you have other tests like Uultrasound scan, then will have separate charges... I did not ask for IUI charges

Thanks for the info. Maybe if our IUI does not succeed 3 times with our current gynae, we will see Dr Chan. Is his waiting time long?

Thanks for the info!

So are you going to do IUI with Dr Chan?

Not confirm yet but higher chance doing at Government hospitals because of subsidy

Have to ask Dr Chan's rates on IUI before we decide. If his rates are affordable and have high chance of success, I will do with him. But still, these are unforeseen...

I did ask Raffles before and their rates is from S$1,600 to S$ 2,000

@mrschuaflo before you buy the megamen for your hb, perhaps it would be good to check what supp he is taking and check if there is any of that content in megamen to avoid overdosage. I think for taking supp and TCM med, as long as there is 2 hours difference between taking, it should be ok.

Oh! That's good, yeah I heard some good comments about Megamen. But when I went to GNC, the sales lady recommended that we buy l-arginine.

My husband SA not very good, maybe will try Megamen then. But right now he's taking quite a bit of supplements plus TCM, so not sure whether will be overdosed! Haha.

Not confirm yet but higher chance doing at Government hospitals because of subsidy

Have to ask Dr Chan's rates on IUI before we decide. If his rates are affordable and have high chance of success, I will do with him. But still, these are unforeseen...

I did ask Raffles before and their rates is from S$1,600 to S$ 2,000

Wow! 1.6k - 2k is quite expensive!

Possible to let me know how much Dr Chan IUI cost after you find out? Thanks!

Anyone prescribed with utrogestan after iui? Do u feel giddy after taking it? I almost fainted in office this morning from it, called my doc and he asked me to try inserting it below..Some people feel dizzy taking orally. No side effects from duphaston previously but this utrogestan is making me feel so lousy.

@babyloveyou I wasn't given this for iui. However, I took utrogestan before orally and like you mentioned, I had alot of side effects too including dizziness, etc. I think some ppl do insert it vaginally however, it can be abit messy I think. No choice bah, you are scheduled to do BT when?

Anyone prescribed with utrogestan after iui? Do u feel giddy after taking it? I almost fainted in office this morning from it, called my doc and he asked me to try inserting it below..Some people feel dizzy taking orally. No side effects from duphaston previously but this utrogestan is making me feel so lousy.

@babyloveyou I wasn't given this for iui. However, I took utrogestan before orally and like you mentioned, I had alot of side effects too including dizziness, etc. I think some ppl do insert it vaginally however, it can be abit messy I think. No choice bah, you are scheduled to do BT when?
The nurse did warn me of dizziness and feeling sleepy but didn't know it can be so bad. Shall try inserting, nurse says can change to duphaston if I prefer that. Mine not required to go back for BT. When is yours? Should be quite soon? Any symptoms so far?

I started my "so-iui" journey today. Visited KK for briefing by the nurse.

Now need to eat 10days medication to induce menses. Afterwhich need to call kkivf centre on my 1st day of menses for further instructions (come down to collection injections medication, teaching by the nurse how to self inject, etc).

Hope I won't give myself too much stress.

Ya maybe you can try to insert or change back to duphaston.

Mine also no bt, just test hpt tis Sun. Whether positive or negative, call back. So far, occasional twinges on right side. Other than that, nothing I tik. You?

The nurse did warn me of dizziness and feeling sleepy but didn't know it can be so bad. Shall try inserting, nurse says can change to duphaston if I prefer that. Mine not required to go back for BT. When is yours? Should be quite soon? Any symptoms so far?

Mine also no bt, just test hpt tis Sun. Whether positive or negative, call back. So far, occasional twinges on right side. Other than that, nothing I tik. You?
Tried inserting last night was ok, not giddy. So guess I'll continue with it though it's more troublesome :(

Me having sore boobs and twinges now and then but I'm sure it's more because of the meds. Symptoms don't start so early. I'm only 3dpiui.

That is good to hear. Indeed, inserts usually have lesser effects.

Haha don't say you hor. I at 10dpiui and I also think it's just the med. Some ppl dun even get symptoms till they are 5 weeks. However, possibly due to progesterone, I get tired easily so I just sleep when I'm tired.

Tried inserting last night was ok, not giddy. So guess I'll continue with it though it's more troublesome :(

Me having sore boobs and twinges now and then but I'm sure it's more because of the meds. Symptoms don't start so early. I'm only 3dpiui.

I am blood test on Saturday.. Fingers crossed.. Feel twinge here there but maybe jus normal..everytime mind rushes to think if this is it :)

I started my "so-iui" journey today. Visited KK for briefing by the nurse.

Now need to eat 10days medication to induce menses. Afterwhich need to call kkivf centre on my 1st day of menses for further instructions (come down to collection injections medication, teaching by the nurse how to self inject, etc).

Hope I won't give myself too much stress.
hi, may I know the 10-days medication to induce your menses, is it called "medroxyprogesterone"?
My gynae also prescribed me with 10-days worth but when i ate my 5th tablet, my mense came!
Did your nurse tell u, if half way menses came, do u still need to continue or have to stop?

Hehe I think if always see 1 line then suddenly see 2 lines, cfm tio shocked so i said chua sai haha. That happ to me before. I showed my hb that time then he was also in shock. So farnie thinking back.

Oohh what cd r you at now?

hahhahhahaha!!! your last 2 words made me LOL! Chua Sai is such a funny word to use!
I can't wait to have my AF come fast so I can start on my iui! Jiayou all!!!

Just failed my third iui. Previously failed one fresh ivf and one frozen ivf

I guess it's back to ivf again. Can't stop crying.

I really don't know if my heart can take anymore heartbreaks..

@ttc77 Hugs!!! Can I ask how come you did 2 ivf and then iui again? I had the impression usually gynae will ask you to try iui a few times and then to ivf after that if fail. Does jabs work better on you? If yes, then maybe your next ivf your gynae can give you different jab. Who knows? It might work? Have faith ok!! We are all looking forward to the day where we can carry a little babe in our arms. Jiayou!!!

Cos I change dr
Dr says actually we don't need to ivf Cos our condition not that bad

But looks like iui really doesn't suit us

Sigh

Cos I change dr

Sigh

Ivf success rate determine by age so don't drag too long to try again. I have friends who waited n reserve dropped by half. The younger the better to try. Don't give up. Many people succeed ivf after 3 tries. It's not a one time strike thing.

@ttc77 That being said by the dr, that means he believes that you should be able to tio with iui. But if like that, then do ivf even easier to tio right? Then again hor, how sure can the dr be about that? Alot of times, it's really hard to say. Some ppl do iui tio. Some ppl do so-iui tiao after their failed iui. But for some ppl do ivf tio but others don't. And some do ICSI ivf tio instead of natural ivf. I think it boils down to the reasons for infertility unless it's unexplained infertility.

Did your dr suggest for you to go straight to ivf this time or try another iui instead? Or do so-iui instead?

Cos I change dr

Sigh

@ttc77 That being said by the dr, that means he believes that you should be able to tio with iui. But if like that, then do ivf even easier to tio right? Then again hor, how sure can the dr be about that? Alot of times, it's really hard to say. Some ppl do iui tio. Some ppl do so-iui tiao after their failed iui. But for some ppl do ivf tio but others don't. And some do ICSI ivf tio instead of natural ivf. I think it boils down to the reasons for infertility unless it's unexplained infertility.

Did your dr suggest for you to go straight to ivf this time or try another iui instead? Or do so-iui instead?

He says do ivf Since iui no success

I will start ivf very soon Cos really age is catching up.can't wait anymore.
Hello to more pain
Sigh

Jia you sister! That day I asked my gynae averagely how many times do people succeed with iui. He said he has some succeed on their 4-5 tries, so far max 7 times. So don't be upset, be it iui or IVF or even naturally..as long as we still have eggs and bullets, we WILL have a chance! :)

@babyloveyou wah your gynae so prudent with his ans ar. I heard that averagely ppl take about 3 tries on iui. However, there are also ppl who get it on their 1st try too.

Jia you sister! That day I asked my gynae averagely how many times do people succeed with iui. He said he has some succeed on their 4-5 tries, so far max 7 times. So don't be upset, be it iui or IVF or even naturally..as long as we still have eggs and bullets, we WILL have a chance! :)

@babyloveyou wah your gynae so prudent with his ans ar. I heard that averagely ppl take about 3 tries on iui. However, there are also ppl who get it on their 1st try too.
I also read online that averagely is 3 tries for iui but I wouldn't expect that for myself coz I know my own health condition and age etc. My gynae gave me the statistics from his clinic which I felt he's being realistic. A lot of docs SOP is, after 3 iuis and it's time to move on to IVF and it sometimes makes us feel lousy after failing all 3 IUIs and 'we are only left with IVF'. And touchwood when IVF failed, we feel even worse. My doc made it clear that not all succeed with 3 IUI, that there's still hope after that. That IVF is not the only option after 3 failed IUIs. And failing IVF is not the end too, he has patients who BFP on IUI after failing IVF.

@babyloveyou I see. Understd frm your gynae's pov. If you dun mind me asking, how old are you? I think many gynaes also recommend iui first as a less invasive procedure compared to ivf, however it would also depend on your situation I believe.

Sorry I cannot rem if this is your 1st iui or?

I also read online that averagely is 3 tries for iui but I wouldn't expect that for myself coz I know my own health condition and age etc. My gynae gave me the statistics from his clinic which I felt he's being realistic. A lot of docs SOP is, after 3 iuis and it's time to move on to IVF and it sometimes makes us feel lousy after failing all 3 IUIs and 'we are only left with IVF'. And touchwood when IVF failed, we feel even worse. My doc made it clear that not all succeed with 3 IUI, that there's still hope after that. That IVF is not the only option after 3 failed IUIs. And failing IVF is not the end too, he has patients who BFP on IUI after failing IVF.

Hey ladies..

I finally have the chance to leave a comment - it isn't easy to go through a thread consists of 215 pages.
I only read from page 1-5, then page 170-215 - it took me 1 week+ almost 2 weeks!

This will be my first post hence bear with me a little for the long story.

I have been together with my husband for 8 years, 3 years of marriage, no news. I was kinda scared of IUI and/or IVF 'cuz I know both involves injection and somemore it gotta be done on our own! Yeah I very chicken and timid :oops:

We did not actively try until March this year. I was on 4 rounds of clomid on and off, 50mgx2 and 100mgx2, responded well but never hit the jackpot. Like what many of you said, it is all about luck and fate.

So recently, I also visited TMC at Johor Baru, saw Dr. Fabian.
He actually asked us not to waste anymore time and suggested us to go for SO-IUI or IVF straight. He also asked me to go though laporoscopy during our first visit when he hasn't even went through our pass records of the tests. We were scheduled to do AMH (ovarian reserve) SA, going back for review on coming Saturday as he's away last week.

Wish us luck!

Oh and before I forget, did anyone go through laporoscopy before?
How was it and how much does the surgery cost?