IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Hello all. Today i had a temperature rise in my bbt, but still negative opk since the past 3 days. I am confused as yesterday I went for a scan and had negative opk. Is it possible I ovulated yesterday? Today is cd11 for me.
Hi Hopeful2, was there a temp dip before the rise? Mine usually has a temp dip and rise about +0.2cel after ovulation. The dip is when u ovulate. But temp fluctuations can be due to other reasons too, sleeping patterns etc. so opk still more accurate I feel.

Hi hopefulmoms, thanks for answering my doubts...

Any polyclinic will do?

Do you ever ask how much is their government hospital private rates? Is it expensive, as compared to private hospital rates?

Do you have to wait very long for your IUI and how much U pay after subsidized? I am thinking whether KKH or SGH is better..

Sorry for my questions....
Any polyclinic will do. I did not ask how much is the difference btwn government hospital private rates and private hospital rates. But from what I read from other source, private hospital rates are much higher. I am a KKH patient..
It depends on the case of patient. They will investigate your problem. Send you to different test like, blood test, pap smear, HSG, and test your husband sperms too.. For my case doctor wants me to try naturally for 1 year. After 1 year still not pregnant, they gave Clomid and try for another 6 months.. It didn't work then finally ask me to do SO-IUI.. I supposed to do this month but I have work commitments so I delay it to early January 2016. It's a long process but I won't give up and keep trying. :)

Any polyclinic will do. I did not ask how much is the difference btwn government hospital private rates and private hospital rates. But from what I read from other source, private hospital rates are much higher. I am a KKH patient..
It depends on the case of patient. They will investigate your problem. Send you to different test like, blood test, pap smear, HSG, and test your husband sperms too.. For my case doctor wants me to try naturally for 1 year. After 1 year still not pregnant, they gave Clomid and try for another 6 months.. It didn't work then finally ask me to do SO-IUI.. I supposed to do this month but I have work commitments so I delay it to early January 2016. It's a long process but I won't give up and keep trying. :)

I see..we been trying naturally for almost 2 yrs and done all the tests we could already. Hope they don't ask us to do anymore tests (I did all the tests in private hospitals)

hi, can check with any ladies here, if your average cycle days tend to be long, eg. 35 - 40 days, after consuming Clomid, do you actually shorten the cycle days to the norm like 28 days?

@babyloveyou Frankly, they would be looking at 18 to 21mm for ideal follicle size. With trigger, it will grow even faster so can understand that yours will be trigger tonight. Sorry, I forgot. Did you take any med or jabs?

My trigger was done when I had a 16mm follicle. It grew fast overnight surprisingly. That time mine was also cd10 when I did my trigger and cd11 I did the iui.

So don't worry, you are on time ;) All the best!!

Just had my d10 scan and there's 23mm and18mm follicles. Usually how big should the follicles be at trigger? I thought it's between 18-22mm. My trigger is tonight and iui on sat.

@littlebaby_melissa I'm good. Taking things slow as in not walking super fast like I usually do haha, non-lifting or carrying of heavy things and exercise. The rest just as per normal. Today is 6dpiui for me. Honestly, the next day after iui, I had really bad cramps but after that, it was really ok liao. Since no bleeding, I didn't call the clinic back to check. So I just left it as that. To be frank hor, I think if really early pregnancy (1-2 wks or so), there won't be much symptoms de but you may get spotting or may not also de. Now trying to keep it very positive and stay happy de.

how you feeling? this is your which day piui? :) share your experience!

@babyloveyou Frankly, they would be looking at 18 to 21mm for ideal follicle size. With trigger, it will grow even faster so can understand that yours will be trigger tonight. Sorry, I forgot. Did you take any med or jabs?

My trigger was done when I had a 16mm follicle. It grew fast overnight surprisingly. That time mine was also cd10 when I did my trigger and cd11 I did the iui.

So don't worry, you are on time ;) All the best!!
Yes I was on meds n jabs, today my day10, trigger tonight and iui on sat. I guess I will have to place my bets on my 18mm and hope the smaller 13mm will keep growing and catch up by sat haha

Hi Hopeful2, was there a temp dip before the rise? Mine usually has a temp dip and rise about +0.2cel after ovulation. The dip is when u ovulate. But temp fluctuations can be due to other reasons too, sleeping patterns etc. so opk still more accurate I feel.
Hi babyloveyou. Yeah i had a temp dip yesterday and a big rise. I went for a scan today, not ovulated yet. I will trigger tonight and have iui on saturday like you!! the follicle was 22 and lining was 8. Since its my first time, I am really stressed and hoping the iui process will not be painful.

Great that your lining thickened! Your follicle size is awesome too for a natural iui..good luck to u on sat! :) the process is just 5mins and it's not painful. May feel cramp after that but should not last more than a day. All the best! :)

Just had my d10 scan and there's 23mm and18mm follicles. Usually how big should the follicles be at trigger? I thought it's between 18-22mm. My trigger is tonight and iui on sat.
Hello babyloveyou, what do you mean when you say your "trigger" is tonight? What is this "trigger".
I did IUI in my last cycle as well, but it wasn't successful. :(
The gynae scanned be and said the follicles are ready and we proceeded with the IUI procedure on the same day. However, after I went home, I used ovulation test kits and tested negative for ovulation over the next 3 days! I only tested positive on the 4th day. By this time, the sperm injected would have already died. Though the gynae told us to continue intercourse after IUI, which we did, I feel that the gynae should have timed the procedure so that the injection coincides with my ovulation period.

Did your gynae give you any injection to release the eggs before the IUI procedure?

Great that your lining thickened! Your follicle size is awesome too for a natural iui..good luck to u on sat! :) the process is just 5mins and it's not painful. May feel cramp after that but should not last more than a day. All the best! :)
Thanks. Yeah the lining was fine. Maybe because of raspberry leaf tea I had yesterday!! Thanks for the info. Lets see how it goes. All the best to u too!

Hello babyloveyou, what do you mean when you say your "trigger" is tonight? What is this "trigger".
The gynae scanned be and said the follicles are ready and we proceeded with the IUI procedure on the same day. However, after I went home, I used ovulation test kits and tested negative for ovulation over the next 3 days! I only tested positive on the 4th day. By this time, the sperm injected would have already died. Though the gynae told us to continue intercourse after IUI, which we did, I feel that the gynae should have timed the procedure so that the injection coincides with my ovulation period.

Did your gynae give you any injection to release the eggs before the IUI procedure?
Hi milkcandy, trigger is when doc give u the hcg jab to release your eggs in 24-36hours when they deemed your follicles are mature, preferably around 18-22mm. IUI is done 24-36 hours after trigger jab is given.

@milkcandy actually sperm can survive up to 5 days and this is washed sperm, it should be able to survive even longer. Sometimes it could also depend on the type of ovulation test you use. The lh surge in your body may be lower to increase so hence it would reflect as negative.

The injection to release the eggs is the trigger jab. Usually when the size of your follicles is nearing the ideal size which is 18 to 21mm, they will give you trigger jab.

@milkcandy actually sperm can survive up to 5 days and this is washed sperm, it should be able to survive even longer. Sometimes it could also depend on the type of ovulation test you use. The lh surge in your body may be lower to increase so hence it would reflect as negative.

The injection to release the eggs is the trigger jab. Usually when the size of your follicles is nearing the ideal size which is 18 to 21mm, they will give you trigger jab.

May I know which part of the body would the doctor usually inject the trigger shot? I went to a GP to do my trigger shot and she asked me where I want the shot to be done.

Usually tummy where you have fats. There is nearest to ovaries and follicles de. You went to gp to do trigger shot? Not your gynae?

Yeah I went to a GP to do a trigger shot because it must be done between 5-7pm and my gynae close at 530pm. Plus my gynae said it's easier for me to just pop by a GP near my office to get it done.

The GP at first asked me where I want the trigger shot to be done and I said my tummy, but she looked surprised and said should do on my butt. Does it make any significant difference?

Yeah I went to a GP to do a trigger shot because it must be done between 5-7pm and my gynae close at 530pm. Plus my gynae said it's easier for me to just pop by a GP near my office to get it done.

The GP at first asked me where I want the trigger shot to be done and I said my tummy, but she looked surprised and said should do on my butt. Does it make any significant difference?
Not sure if it makes any diff but I always had my trigger shot on my tummy for my IUI and IVF.

Hi milkcandy, trigger is when doc give u the hcg jab to release your eggs in 24-36hours when they deemed your follicles are mature, preferably around 18-22mm. IUI is done 24-36 hours after trigger jab is given.

Thank you babyloveyou and @graceakaclouds! My doctor didn't give me any jab to release the eggs for my IUI procedure. But when I was trying naturally, he used to give me jabs to release the eggs. So I'm wondering why he didn't give me the jab to increase the chances for IUI. :( I will ask him next week when I see him.

@mrschuaflo This is really strange but I think it's a common practice for those who go to non-govt to do jabs on the butt. Previously, when I was with private gynae, he also did trigger shot on my butt. However, now I'm with sgh, they did it for me on my tummy. Frankly, I don't know if there is a real difference since cannot see inside but I still think should trigger jab nearer to the ovaries bah which is where the tummy is.

Thank you babyloveyou and @graceakaclouds! My doctor didn't give me any jab to release the eggs for my IUI procedure. But when I was trying naturally, he used to give me jabs to release the eggs. So I'm wondering why he didn't give me the jab to increase the chances for IUI. :( I will ask him next week when I see him.
Maybe he scanned u and thinks you will ovulate soon on the day of IUI from the size of your follicles thus no need for trigger? Do share with us after u check with him k? So we learn too. Don't worry, I'm sure your gynae knows what he's doing. :)

@milkcandy just before your IUI, how big was your follicle(s)? Ya maybe can ask him why he didn't give you trigger jab? Maybe he's very sure that your follicle popped?

Maybe he scanned u and thinks you will ovulate soon on the day of IUI from the size of your follicles thus no need for trigger? Do share with us after u check with him k? So we learn too. Don't worry, I'm sure your gynae knows what he's doing. :)
I'm sure he knows what he's doing. Just that this is my second gynae already and I somehow feel that they just want you to keep going back so they can earn more. I hope I'm wrong, but yeah will share with all after my next appt with him on Thursday!

I know what u mean, I did get that kind of feeling before with some private gynaes I've seen. See what he says on Thurs. Are u still in your TWW? You're going back on Thurs for BT?

@milkcandy I think different gynae have diff protocols de. Hope your next appt with him will go well! Would that be for your next IUI or for blood test?

Natural iui is done without using any meds, injections. There will be only 1 follicle present for fertilisation.

Thanks Hopeful2,

I am taking clomids this round but not doing IUI first.

I am wondering does government hospitals accepts test results from private hospitals? We both done all the tests already and don't wish to repeat again :(

My HSG test is done last yr June and results are good and fine..Are there any expiry date for this HSG test?

@Kelle_lee I think usually they will tell you to take clomid and try naturally first. If after a few cycles and don't work, they will put you on IUI. For me, I was from private hosp too. Government hosp does accept private hosp test results. I think it's usually the other way round - private hosp dun accept government hosp's.

For SA, I think it would be 1/2 year timeframe. But not sure about other kinds of tests. It would have to depend on the gynae. I think you can ask if can don't do anymore?

Thanks Hopeful2,

I am taking clomids this round but not doing IUI first.

I am wondering does government hospitals accepts test results from private hospitals? We both done all the tests already and don't wish to repeat again :(

My HSG test is done last yr June and results are good and fine..Are there any expiry date for this HSG test?

I know what u mean, I did get that kind of feeling before with some private gynaes I've seen. See what he says on Thurs. Are u still in your TWW? You're going back on Thurs for BT?

Haha I'm a noob in this forum so am not familiar with a lot of abbreviations still. What is TWW and BT? :D
I am going on Thu to scan and then see if I'm ready for IUI and then determine the date for IUI.

Thanks @graceakaclouds

I am more worried on my egg's condition. I did consulted TCM all these while and she trying to push up my basal temperature but it seems not working (not sure is my body's problem). She said my ovulation is normal, just that the eggs are not mature enough. Even I get pregnant, miscarriage chances is also high. Just I went n see her and she ask me what is my highest temperature before my current mens come. I reply 36.5 and she give a sianz look :(

And in order to undergo IUI, I understand follicies must be an ideal size. I suppose this is referring to the egg maturation from my TCM's opinion

Does any ladies face this same situation as me and are there any supplements or food to improve this condition?

@Kelle_lee I believe I do have similar egg condition in the sense that my egg size is pretty small so it does need some form of stimulation to grow to optimum size. However, my basal temperature is generally pretty high so that part is different from yours.

I believe you have done bbt for sometime right? What is your baseline temp? Hmm, I think if your pre-af temps (definitely after ovulation) is 36.5, it can be abit on the low side. Try to eat more warming foods like red wine chicken, beef, etc weekly. It doesn't have to be daily because it can have adverse effect. When you sleep, wear socks and make sure your body is well covered. Don't have to be wrapped like mummy haha but just well covered like no spag top and shorts kind lah.

As for your egg based on your tcm comment that egg is not mature enough, perhaps try to up your intake of eggs. Eat more eggs for protein and more well balanced diet with bright coloured veg like broccoli, red and green pepper, etc. If you are scared of eating more than 1 egg then take 1 egg and egg whites together bah. Try to reduce your intake of sugar, white bread, white rice, etc. These are high sugar content food which is not really good. For me, I have been taking eggs more constantly than previously and it does seem to help coupled with my intake of letrozole. I never do jabs this time round. I know that KKH practises SO-IUI which is giving you jabs. Generally, jabs can make your follicles grow faster. When I took jabs previously, my follicle grew almost 10mm within 2-3 days. It is very fast de.

Yes your tcm is right. For IUI, I think the general guideline is 18 to 21mm in order to proceed with IUI. But if your follicle is about 15mm or so, they might do trigger to prepare you for IUI too. It really depends on your gynae. Where are you going? KKH or NUH or SGH?

Also, you may want to take supplements if you haven't been taking like folic acid, coq10, maca, etc.

Thanks @graceakaclouds

I am more worried on my egg's condition. I did consulted TCM all these while and she trying to push up my basal temperature but it seems not working (not sure is my body's problem). She said my ovulation is normal, just that the eggs are not mature enough. Even I get pregnant, miscarriage chances is also high. Just I went n see her and she ask me what is my highest temperature before my current mens come. I reply 36.5 and she give a sianz look :(

And in order to undergo IUI, I understand follicies must be an ideal size. I suppose this is referring to the egg maturation from my TCM's opinion

Does any ladies face this same situation as me and are there any supplements or food to improve this condition?

@graceakaclouds

I been bbt since this yr january and this is my 2nd TCM. My 1st TCM did not ask me take bbt. Baseline temp is referring to the lowest temp?

I been taking vegetables a lot and is 1 egg per day (egg yolk and egg white)? And been taking folic acid when I started my TTC journey 2 yrs ago...

Previous gynae is Dr Sheila Loh from Raffles and now, I switch to Dr Chan from Gleneagles for 2nd opinion. He give me clomids to try for this cycle after seeing our test results. Today is the 2nd day I took clomids and next sat, will be going back for scanning and see the ovulation progress

If IUI is the journey I have to take eventually, I will go to government hospitals for subsidy rates. But not sure which is one is good - KKH or NUH or SGH?

@mrschuaflo This is really strange but I think it's a common practice for those who go to non-govt to do jabs on the butt. Previously, when I was with private gynae, he also did trigger shot on my butt. However, now I'm with sgh, they did it for me on my tummy. Frankly, I don't know if there is a real difference since cannot see inside but I still think should trigger jab nearer to the ovaries bah which is where the tummy is.

May I know what's the reason why you went from a private gynae to a public hospital?