IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

sorry, I meant it's standard protocol for ivf at raffles, but not iui. not too sure about other clinics and hospitals. not trying to raise alarm, uncertainty or worry in any way. Am sure most people were successful at IUI without taking baby aspirin or pineapple core. But if there's just a slight chance of increasing my chances of being successful at IUI, I'm going to grab at it and I'm sure I'm not the only one here who thinks this way. I figured it won't hurt to raise awareness about the existence of baby aspirin and encouraging people to ask their doctors about it. Why pass on the chance to boost chances of being successful at IUI when all it takes is a simple question at the doctor? I wish I knew about baby aspirin during my first cycle of IUI. Whether baby aspirin is going to be beneficial on top of whatever other medication our doctors have prescribed to us, all it takes is a simple question posed to our doctors. Surely that can do no harm for anyone who's trying to boost chances of getting a BFP from IUI?

On a side note, I heard drinking lots of water and consuming lots of protein is important after IUI too. Baby dust to all! :)

No worries, no hard feelings.
There's so many hearsay! Lol...
I'm trying my best to be careful with my diet yet not over stressed about it.
Good luck to all of us! ;)

No worries, no hard feelings.
There's so many hearsay! Lol...
I'm trying my best to be careful with my diet yet not over stressed about it.
Good luck to all of us! ;)

Ya and kiasu me is trying my best to follow as many as I possibly can this cycle! The hubs bought me satay and chicken wings last night to load up on the protein. Haha...not the healthiest way to load up on protein I know, but probably one of the yummiest! Feeling guilty about it so I shall try to eat more healthily today so fish meesua with extra fish it is today! :D

I eat fish almost everyday cos I love fish. Do note to avoid high mercury fishes though... read it's harmful to bb if consumed too much.

But that's only after you have been proven to be pregnant right? Don't think it will be harmful during the first 2 weeks of pregnancy. I am still happily eating sashimi!

Can eat raw food meh? I thought I read somewhere saying that cannot eat raw food/sushi after IUI.

dunno leh. my doctor said I can eat anything as long as I stay away from caffeine so I eat everything but try to make an effort to load up on protein and drink more water. Am also taking brazil nuts and acai berry on a daily basis. read that avocados are very good too but I don't really like the taste of avocados.

Was just wondering if you ladies were put on bed rest after IUI? My doctor put me on 2 days of bed rest but I read reports of doctors saying normal activities should be resumed after IUI :confused:

dunno leh. my doctor said I can eat anything as long as I stay away from caffeine so I eat everything but try to make an effort to load up on protein and drink more water. Am also taking brazil nuts and acai berry on a daily basis. read that avocados are very good too but I don't really like the taste of avocados.

Was just wondering if you ladies were put on bed rest after IUI? My doctor put me on 2 days of bed rest but I read reports of doctors saying normal activities should be resumed after IUI :confused:
Mine told me to continue with daily routine. I told him I exercise quite a fair bit he said it's ok.

That's nice. Mine told me to avoid carrying heavy things, strenuous exercise, long walks and swimming :eek: rather confused cos a lot of women are saying their doctors advocate normal activity after IUI :confused:

Did doctor prescribe any sis medicine post iui? As the doc gave three type of medicine. Not sure is it the side effect, my stomach have mild cramp after iui. Usually i dont have during this normal cycle. I have this too during my first iui and get worse when near to 2ww. Something is pulling yr lower abdomen.cramping badly.

My doctor prescribed antibiotics, progesterone and baby aspirin after IUI. I had cramps on and off throughout my entire 2ww during my last IUI too. Had me thinking it was implantation cramping :oops:

try eating egg whites. 1 egg white a day :)

Thanks for your answer on baby aspirin. I read that it is very good but I wasn't prescribed after my iui. Maybe it's only for ivf

try eating egg whites. 1 egg white a day :)

Thanks for your answer on baby aspirin. I read that it is very good but I wasn't prescribed after my iui. Maybe it's only for ivf

Ah. Eggs is easy. I love eggs! I wasn't prescribed baby aspirin for my first iui as well. It was only after I learnt about baby aspirin during the 2ww after my first iui and asked my doctor about pineapple core and baby aspirin during my second iui that she decided to add on an additional prescription of baby aspirin ☺️

i totally agree on this..

enhanced-21170-1430238888-2.jpg

• Clomid + gonadotropins IUI: Success rates of 14% and 16% per cycle
  • Two + follicles IUI: Success rates of 9%, 13% and 21% per cycle
21% success rate but i still never pregnant :(
try again this cycle
Pixie how many times of iui have you tried ? I am pcos/34 this yr. I have tried 2 times of iui with no success. I always had that impression that iui result on first attempt usually will be successful if not there are some other issue involve and iui not the solution to it. I always read and hear that iui trial for 3 times or more, all end up doing ivf. And looking at this round I guess is hard for me to succeed. I am actually keen to move to ivf. But again was told to continue another round of iui first.

last month first... this month second...
my gynae told me must do at least 4 times, then switch to ivf...

coz i doing in JB, the price is still quite cheap as compared to sg... medicine + iui cost me about SGD600ish per cycle.. if do it in sg, will be at least 1k?
i thinking if im so unlucky need to do 4 times, then SGD600 * 4 = SGD2400, and is still cheaper than IVF

These r just guides bah. Just learnt that a friend miscarriaged .. 20 weeks. And another friend who underwent ivf preggy with twins miscarriaged as well at 6months ...

I managed to convince the doctor to move on to ivf after 2 rounds of iui. I was on 3 rounds of clomid a year a go before I did my iui. I told the doctor I do not want to keep taking clomid.

I was given permission for IVF when I requested for it. The doctor didn't stop me, didn't think twice and said OK. But still, I postponed my IVF appointment to September and try IUI first.

my doctor is already talking about ivf if I fail my second cycle of IUI o_O

My IVF appointment is with KKH. My IUI is with private clinic. So to say, my doctor at KKH doesn't know I'm doing IUI outside. I called KKIVF to postpone the IVF to a later date, in September. I was supposed to have IVF in June. That time the appointment dates were open for April, but I chose June, then postpone to September. I find it strange why I see many women in this forum saying that their doctors don't allow them to start with IVF if they have not done IUI before whereas my doctor at KKH said I could go for IVF the first time even if I didn't go for IUI before. Since everyone is doing IUI first, I went to look for private gynae to do IUI.

I hope iui works for you and you won't need to go for ivf in sept! Been seriously thinking about ivf tho. largely because my doctor and friends keep talking about it. A friend was telling me about ivf in bkk. Sounds really good and the perfect excuse to fit in a holiday in one of my favorite cities in the world ;):p

For my case, my doc explained to me quite clearly.. So despite me requesting for ivf, what he said made sense too:

- I'm 32 this year, so considered young enough
- husband's SA very good (110m after washing)
- body responds to medicine (more than 1 follicle growing), lining also not bad
- why go for a more invasive procedure when I stand a "good chance" with succeeding with IUI

Ya so now just wait and see this cycle how. If fails then ivf liao.

Actually the percentage doesn't matter, really. My husband always tell me, there is only 0% or 100% - strike or no strike. If the 21% can strike, it is equivalent to 100%. If no strike, it is consider 0%. Don't need blame yourself. Blame luck only.

Paper clip. I fully agreed with you and your hubby. I also feel is not useful in term of percentage. I always think that either u succeed at 1 to 2 tries. Subsequent one is not useful and will be unlikely to succeed too.

Pixie my iui is expensive cos I don't respond to low dosage. And eventual cost is about $1500. And my first iui I had try at such low dose that the injection lasted for 29 days. Imagine doing injection for 29 days and amounted to $3000 plus The quality of the follicle is also in doubts after the 29 days.

Sj123, so are you doing ivf now ? First attempt ivf?

Hopeful, this is scary. At 6 months and then suffer losses is really no joke. Moreover they were twins. Is ivf baby subjected to higher risk of losses compare to normal pregnancy with twins?

I hope iui works for you and you won't need to go for ivf in sept! Been seriously thinking about ivf tho. largely because my doctor and friends keep talking about it. A friend was telling me about ivf in bkk. Sounds really good and the perfect excuse to fit in a holiday in one of my favorite cities in the world ;):p

Ivf in another country means away from work for a period of time. Not an easy decision for many I suppose.

Hopeful, this is scary. At 6 months and then suffer losses is really no joke. Moreover they were twins. Is ivf baby subjected to higher risk of losses compare to normal pregnancy with twins?

No the reason for losses are usually chromosome abnormal eggs or some complications. Ivf do not have higher risk of losses. I have many frens with healthy Ivf twins n even triplets.
Every woman has chromosome abnormal eggs even for young lady. As U age U have more which is why success rate is higher when U are younger especially in Ivf. Your reserve dropped as U aged n by then maybe Ivf is not even a good option for U anymore.

Paper clip. I fully agreed with you and your hubby. I also feel is not useful in term of percentage. I always think that either u succeed at 1 to 2 tries. Subsequent one is not useful and will be unlikely to succeed too.

Pixie my iui is expensive cos I don't respond to low dosage. And eventual cost is about $1500. And my first iui I had try at such low dose that the injection lasted for 29 days. Imagine doing injection for 29 days and amounted to $3000 plus The quality of the follicle is also in doubts after the 29 days.

I am on my last cycle of iui. Fingers crossed

then u must prepare 2 weeks at bkk... and 1 week is resting at hotel room only...

wa.. like tat very exp... if you have to do 4 times *touch wood*, will cost 12K!!!!!
then mind as well straight away do IVF and claim medisave?

110m!! :eek: my hub had close to 40 m and our doctor seemed very impressed with the figure already. Not sure why she's so impressed though. It sure doesn't seem very impressive after learning about all the 100 over mill figures! :rolleyes: haha...

A lot of people actually succeed on their 3rd or 4th try wor. A rare few succeed on their 5th or more try but that's if their doctor even allow them to do IUI so many times.

Injection for 29 days with IUI amounting to 3000 plus! :eek: how many eggs did you have with 29 days of injections? I had 5 days of injections, but only one egg :(

Ivf in another country means away from work for a period of time. Not an easy decision for many I suppose.

I believe if you do ivf in sg, you will be on medical leave for 2 weeks too tho?

then u must prepare 2 weeks at bkk... and 1 week is resting at hotel room only...

hopefully i don't need to do ivf lah but if i do and i do it in bkk, i will be very happy resting by the pool everyday at my hotel for a week :p;)

110m!! :eek: my hub had close to 40 m and our doctor seemed very impressed with the figure already. Not sure why she's so impressed though. It sure doesn't seem very impressive after learning about all the 100 over mill figures! :rolleyes: haha...

hopefully i don't need to do ivf lah but if i do and i do it in bkk, i will be very happy resting by the pool everyday at my hotel for a week :p;)

actually quantity is not that important... quality is more important... best is to have rapid linear motility ones...

for me, if do ivf, high chance i will do in sg.. coz can claim medisave and take MC... i dun want to waste my leave sleeping at hotel room :p

For my case, my doc explained to me quite clearly.. So despite me requesting for ivf, what he said made sense too:

- I'm 32 this year, so considered young enough
- body responds to medicine (more than 1 follicle growing), lining also not bad
- why go for a more invasive procedure when I stand a "good chance" with succeeding with IUI

Ya so now just wait and see this cycle how. If fails then ivf liao.

My doctor at KKH asked me to try conceive naturally. I'm younger than you. He didn't propose IUI. He asked me how he could help me, so I told him I want IVF since the success rate is higher, but I heard people saying if I didn't try for IUI, most likely the doctor won't give me first trial IVF. He laughed and said why not, and he gave me the permission for IVF. Everything about me is fine - 3 lining, min. 3 follicle per cycle, 24.5mm follicle size, so what's wrong with me, I always question myself. It all depends on LUCK. Strike or No Strike.

I'm trying natural IUI, not SO-IUI. I think I didn't regret trying out with IUI, but paying for $1K+ hurts my pocket. Sigh... Having a baby is so expensive.

My mrs and i finally have the chance to "enhence" baby dust with science, hopefully. We were given option for IVF or IUI and opt for IUI first.
Till date do not know what the hell is wrong, or maybe we both really do baby luck. Anyway my mrs is still young 31 and i just hit 40 so issue could be me.

Anyway the success rate for IUI from the nurse (KK) share was 10% only and of course disappointed but hey let's take it as buying 4d lor.

Wifey will be completing her first series of shots before going for the 1st Ultrascan.

So i guess at this stage is daily routine and to watch for her mood swings?
Also we were inform no unsafe sex is allow during this period, is this true? Understand is to prevent multiple conceived and hormones reaction

I did hsg on the same mth I started iui. Probably it helped cleared the tubes. Doc say we can bd one day later after iui and we did! By then I was starved up cos have to abstain from it before doing hsg and iui

A lot of people actually succeed on their 3rd or 4th try wor. A rare few succeed on their 5th or more try but that's if their doctor even allow them to do IUI so many times.

Injection for 29 days with IUI amounting to 3000 plus! :eek: how many eggs did you have with 29 days of injections? I had 5 days of injections, but only one egg :(

I believe if you do ivf in sg, you will be on medical leave for 2 weeks too tho?

Sj123, we are in the same boat. I am also hopefully last iui and pray to succeed in this iui cycle. Fighting!

Belpzz yes indeed was a horrendous period for me. And first iui I use medisave after which I use cash thinking that high chance I will have to go for ivf. I have pcos, hence there are many many small follicles. I have a total of 20 overs but only four are of above 15 mm for iui. The second cycle same I have many small follicles and about 3 above the wanted size. Doctors say they wouldn't proceed iui if more than 4.

Beplzz is there indeed a lot of people succeed in 3rd and 4th tries that you know off ?

actually quantity is not that important... quality is more important... best is to have rapid linear motility ones...

for me, if do ivf, high chance i will do in sg.. coz can claim medisave and take MC... i dun want to waste my leave sleeping at hotel room :p

ah..that would make sense for most people I guess. I'm helping out in the family business though, so leave is not so much of an issue for me especially if it's for the purpose of adding members to the family ;)

Sj123, we are in the same boat. I am also hopefully last iui and pray to succeed in this iui cycle. Fighting!

Belpzz yes indeed was a horrendous period for me. And first iui I use medisave after which I use cash thinking that high chance I will have to go for ivf. I have pcos, hence there are many many small follicles. I have a total of 20 overs but only four are of above 15 mm for iui. The second cycle same I have many small follicles and about 3 above the wanted size. Doctors say they wouldn't proceed iui if more than 4.

Beplzz is there indeed a lot of people succeed in 3rd and 4th tries that you know off ?

I have pcos too but only one egg even with injectables! :confused:

A lot of people seem to only succeed on their 3rd or 4th try based on the people here and on the people in the IUI support group on fb! Gives one a lot of hope for sure, especially if one can't afford ivf.

so lucky LBP..... i hope to be as lucky as some of the couples in here. Praying also do le, all the old granny tales activities for babies also do le, including increased in frequency also do so... both of us were nearly on the verge of giving up but not untill we try this.

What is unsafe sex WJZKEV ? I don't know about other doctors. My doctor said it's best to have sex after IUI, but I wait for one day later. I use ovulation test kits every day after IUI.

That is so weird. Looks like every doctor has different beliefs. Mine told us to abstain from sex for a week after IUI :confused:

Did your doctor say why?

My doctor said we have to have sex after IUI, to make full use of the trigger shot and ovulation period. I googled and found the same explanation too.

Did your doctor say why?

My doctor said we have to have sex after IUI, to make full use of the trigger shot and ovulation period. I googled and found the same explanation too.

I didn't ask. I just listened to her. Haha...anyway, I am very prone to having UTIs so I also wouldn't want to risk getting a UTI right after my IUI :oops: