IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

thistle
i also read something along that line. this time round, i do slight discomfort just after the IUI but it went off pretty quickly.

It's a POSITIVE!! Yay!

I'll update more later coz rushing for a meeting now
Babydust to all!

Thanks ladies...all the best to those doing their cycles and tons of baby dust to everyone

Thistle, i do feel some discomfort after my IUI and there is very mild spotting for a day which the nurse already told me may happen.

Now that I recall, the 2 things that seems out of the norm for me this cycle was I felt giddy once in a while and got alot of gas ;p

congrats Wen. Catch your bbdust.
Where did u do ur IUI and Who is ur gyne?
I read tt the IVF success rate at TMC is one of the lowest, so I'm considering whether or not to do my IUI there, since my gyne is at TMC.

Penguin, i did my SO-IUI at KKH and gynae is Dr SF Loh. However the procedure was performed by the nurses/doc at KKIVF...not Dr Loh. The nurses are very experienced and quite friendly

This afternoon when I went to KK, the nurse did mention that this round got quite a number of success though there's no statistical info available lah.

There's no guarantee of success for all fertility procedures so we can just cross our fingers and hope for lucky strike

You can do your iui at whichever place you are comfortable with. I chose KKH coz I think it's cheaper plus I delivered my first child there so just stick to the place lor.

Congrats Wen. I'm starting my 2nd cycle of SO IUI today. Period was slightly delayed which made me pray that I am preg. But it came yesterday. Called gynae and he says this round no need to take clomid, inject from 2nd day.

Thanks Wen.

Sophia - your earlier post mentioned tt u did a IUI and the lab did a bad job, may i know which hospital is tt? and oso where u did your SO-IUI?

I'll be gg for my 1st round of IUI this cycle, however, i wasn't confident with the TMC.

all the best to the ladies starting or already in their cycles. i had some slight spotting yesterday...now resting at home. hopefully it goes away.

Hello girls, I am new to this forum though I have browsed it many a times. I to am starting my so-iui this month, have to go & collect my med.. feeling a little nervous about the jab.

Hi wishfor, welcome! I understand your nervousness about the jab coz that's how i felt before starting mine.

Not to worry, it is not as painful as we would imagine. Just follow the instructions given by the nurse/doc and you should be fine.

I did the injection myself coz my hubby dun want to do for me (i suspect he scared lah). anyway just think that this injection is part of the process to help you conceive and you will be able to do it

welcome AC, penguin.

sophia, good luck to you soiui.

my soiui cycle was abandoned. on CD16, my eggs just stopped growing even with a high dose of injectables. Hence, i will have to try again next cycle.

Thanks Wen, Thistle.. Reading all the posts is giving me some courage .. will have to jab myself.. my hubby too scared to do it

AC,
Don't be afraid to jab yourself it very simple I also jab myself as well. My habby also scared to do so for me.

Thistle,
Don't be upset, try again in your next cycle.

Dishearted,
I don't have any pimple after taking the jab.

Dear Penguin, the last iui was not done at the hospital. It was done at a clinic. This time around i'm also doing at a clinic but after seeing this forum, I wonder if I should have gone to the hospital instead.

Thistle, don't be discouraged. Can try again.

This time around I've been jabbing myself. Previously was done by hubbi, but becos he has to go overseas for work, I had to learn to do it myself. He was so worried that he wanted me to postpone the cycle. Made me realise how much he supports me and love me......

Collected my med today, will have to jab myself from fri. I could jab the rubber ball pretty well, lets see what happens when its my tummy instead

Btw, if your follies are good in the scan after how many days is the iui scheduled?

Am new here. Would like to find out mroe about IUI. Can u provide me some advice on the following?

1)What's the difference b/w IUI & SO-IUI?
2)Can I check with u, under what circumstance did u decide to do IUI?

Been TTC-ing for almost 2 yrs and am now contemplating on fertility treatments. Just started seeing Dr SF Loh. Hope u can help me with my doubts. Thanks

Wen, as my egg not grow well if i only take clomid so have to do the injection togther to make the egg grow to bigger size.

Thanks Sophia. I have decided to stick to TMC for tis cycle. However, i've also taken the acupuncture package at Raffles Chinese Medicine to boost my chance of getting preggie.

rejoice, for my so-iui i had to do daily jabs on myself for about 8 days...these were like ant bites...not too painful.

i also had to go KK on day 1 to collect med and days 6 & 8 to scan follicles. on the night of day 8 went KK again to get a jab to release the egg. to be honest, this jab was quite painful as it jabs the thigh muscle.

on day 10 i went to KK to do IUI...the procedure was quite uncomfortable for me but luckily it was over quickly.

day 17 got to go KK to do blood test to check that ovulation took place and day 30 go for another blood test to check for pregnancy if AF dun report.

so if you look at above...yep, have plenty of jabs and frequent visits to hospital. other than iui day which i took leave (actually they can give mc), the rest of the visits were done during lunch time or time off in the morning.

that's for me so i'm not sure if the other ladies experience same thing.

Dear Penguin, how's the acupuncture like? I've always wanted to try but am too afraid. Is it painful? This week had to increase the dose of the iui injection. Went for scan yesterday and dr said my eggs still too small. THus the increase..... Now must scan again on Wed before deciding whether Friday or Sat is the insemination. This time round, i'm feeling some side effects: headache, giddiness and tiredness. Anyone has side effects?

Hi Wen,

Please advise me what's the different between iui & so-iui. which one is more costly? which one involves natural ovulation and involves more injections? I just did my scope (lap and hys) and now I am on acu and tcm. how come not dr loh perform for you? how much did you spend? now you are in how weeks? i m think of doing it in october.

Sophia,
i am doing acup and tcm. personally, i feel very comfortable with acup. perhaps, i am comfortable with my physician. i am thinking of iui or so-iui. just want to start with small steps first...

Its my 1st time doing acup. the needle is really thin so its not as painful as injection, still bearable. After the needle poke in, u'll feel slightly numb.

I can't remember exactly how many needle i was poke, (1 on my head, 1 on each hand, 3 or 4 on abdomen, 2 on each leg). After poking, they place a heating plate above my abdomen n i rest there with the needle for 30min.

Overall it not uncomfotable, I think i can handle better on my nxt visit and actually i m looking forward to my nxt appt.

penguin,
you acup almost whole body. for myself, i acup my lower back with about 4/5 needles for about 30 mins and then on my lower tummy with 4/5 needles for about 30 mins.

wen,
were you given HL after iui? is it necessarily to rest at home for 2 weeks? i think i should go back to work. not convenient to go on leave...

babylow, both procedures will undergo IUI step which is the act of putting sperms into uterus. SO-IUI has additional step of stimulating ovulation via injection so it is more expensive. It's likely those who can ovulate regularly or respond well to clomid will be recommended for IUI-only.

I think Dr Loh will perform IVF...maybe IUI too simple for him ;p I think this is how KKH works lor...anyway nurses/docs are quite experienced so it's ok.

No need to rest at home for 2 weeks coz this is a simple procedure. Can go about your daily chores after that liao. They did offer to give me one day mc on IUI day although I'm not sure if it's HL. I declined coz I oredi took leave liao.

I'm currently 6 weeks but I haven't seen gynae yet...appt is this thurs.

Wen,
Looks like you were on protocol 2 with only puregon which is why your iui was on CD10. Since my scan itself is on CD10.

Penguin,
I am taking the raffles booster too but for so-iui.

Today just go n collect my GonaF and start for inject myself till Day9 for scanning. Will have to check the grow of the egg before doing the IUI.

Babylow, it is the acupuncture booster - they do it for ivf mostly guess it should help for iui too. No really sure how, I think it mainly helps in relieving the stress.

Penguin, The jab is not tough, I was very nervous too and all the ladies here gave me courage. The first time is scary but after that it will seem so very simple - you will wonder why you had to get so nervous
Don't need to worry, its like a ant bite - doesn't pain at all.

Hi wen,

thanks for sharing. guess must be tough going thru e process. wonder if there ll be side effects.

Hi penguin,

may i know where u r doing your acu cos im considering that too. thanks

hi pengiuin,

would like to know who is ur doc for doing the iui? how much does it cost?

me now on clomid for 1st cycle and doc ask me to eat for 3 cycles but i was thinking of going straight to iui and not to waste time.

Hi CheerBear,
I'll b doing my IUI at TMC, the cost of IUI is abt $300+ ( not inclusive of gyne consultation).
The Lab Dr or Nurse (dunno) will be doing the procedure not my gyne.

I also very gan chiong, gyne also give me clomid to try for 3 cycle, but my cycle very long when i take my first round of clomid, 50days (think i dun response well with clomid). So i decide to do IUI tis cycle, now in CD15 still waiting for ovualtion.

did a pregnancy test today as instructed by gynae and it is negative and I have a strong feeling my menses is coming. So sad. I decided to go direct to IVF the next round.

hi penguin,
thanks for ur info

any idea the diff bet iui and so-iui? all i know is that so-iui i will have to take some jabs and i am afraid of needles!!
oh.. u oso taking clomid ah? does ur flow of menses become lesser? me first time eat clomid and my heavy flow onli last for ard 1.5-2 days compare to my normal ard 4 days leh..
so u r waiting for ovulate then go TMC ah? do we need to stay in the hospital or is an outpatient?

hi helpme,
u going for ivf ah? i heard that kkivf has a higher chance compare to TMC but i dunno true anot la.. where u plan to do? TMC?