IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

I just did my HSG and m so glad that my tubes are not blocked. Not sure what the next step is now.. i think my gynae will ask me to continue with IUI. M also thinking of continuing my consultation with the Hougang TCM to "tiao" my system.

Every month, i seem to go thru a roller coaster. Beginning of the cycle will feel very hopeful, then when see "red", m disappointed. Luckily, after reading this thread, i realise that i m not alone. Thanks to all who have been contributing and sharing your experiences.

trying, glad you passed your HsG.
totally understand how you feel. yes, you are not alone. come share and chat with us as we root together!

just started my second soiui - am now on jabs... today is day 3 of my jabs... still some more jabbing to go before my iui.

updating our Sep cycle buddies chart

Cycling in Sep
1. thistle
2. helpme
3. rita
4. sophia
5. aababy

wen, how are you feeling now? which day are you in now?

thistle and all sisters cycling in sep...best of luck!

i feel so much better this week though i'm not sure if this is a good sign. for the last week+, i was feeling bloated, sore boobs, constipated and crampy.

now i'm 10 days past iui and the constipation and bloating have subsided. i will call KK tomorrow for results of my blood test for progesterone. if my AF don't report on 30-Aug i will go KK for pregnancy test

Trying, Keep it up we will support you. Dont be stress.

Thistle, remember relex n relex ah....

Wen, Hope to hear your good news .... don't walk so many ah... sit back n relex

wen, wow... you are now day 10... 7 more days to go... how did you pass your 2ww?

rita - thanks... taking things easy...

thanks rita...

just let you ladies know that my blood test for progesterone came out fine

thistle, my work abit busy so it helped take away my mind from it. when i do think of the waiting, i will pray to God.

i also went to attend a 3 hour course to learn to make donuts so recently busy buying ingredients to try make some this weekend.

ya...i'm one of those crazy people who would queue for donuts but definitely not super crazy to join the queue at raffles city lah.

so this 2ww is bearable for me coz i'm greedy...food helps takes my mind off the waiting

i jus got all my test result.. i pass for my hsg and blood test and doc say i am ovulating well jus that my hb sperm count is low and the motility is bad (think is 50% onli). so when ask the doc wat shld we do? he suggest to go ivf.. then i ask "shld be iui first then ivf right?" doc say is almost the same and since my hb sperm is not gd so is best to go for ivf.

so i am wondering any1 is having the same case as me and doc suggest ivf instead of iui? i know ivf is much more ex than iui but the success rate is oso higher.. sigh.. realli dunno wat to do

btw, any1 did iui / so-iui in tmc b4? how much is the price? how abt the price for doing at kkh? i think is much cheaper to do at kkh but still haven decided wat i shld do.

cheer bear,
I m facing the same problem as u.But i manage to conceive after 1 time of so-iui 2 yrs bk.But this time, i fail twice for the so-iui.Gynae did mention abt ivf too.But i m still considering.
Ivf is test tube bb if m nt wrong.As this process doesnt require the sperm motility to b good .And think the process is quite x n tedious.

Cheer bear,

same with me I facing the problem but i manage to conceive after 2 time of so iui 3yrs back. Did your husband take any med. to increase for the sperm? My hubby are taking those Vit. E which is introduce my doc.

dishearted,
how many months u spend b4 u strike 2 yrs back? how much u spend on the twice failed so-iui now? every time same price? u doing at which hospital? sorry for so many qns :p

rita,
doc did ask my hb to take a multi-vit so hope it will be useful.

cheer bear, sometimes, RE will recommend ivf st away, if hb sperm is not good, and also age of wife is a concern.

dishearted, rite, we all in the same boat. i conceuved after 1st soiui 2 yrs back. now on 2nd soiui - pray it will be successful, so can close shop. ha ha...

cheer bear, i am with tmc - i spent about $4K plus for 1st soiui, 2nd soiui, about $3.5k.

helpme, HSG - just insert some dye into your tubes via vaginal. from the dye, can tell if tubes are blocked. i did this prior to my soiui.

Thistle,
Good luck .I m oso with TMC.Which gynae u consulting?

Cheer bear,
i only tried once for so-iui 2 yrs bk.As for the charges,think abt 1k+ each time.Including scan,process of the semen,daily jab for 7 days n pills to strengthen the womb lining(so can hold the bb if pregnant).I m with TMC Dr Eunice Chua.

I would like to seek some advice here with regards to IUI. Does the doctor check on you first before prescribe you with the medication or injection for IUI cycle? Does anyone have symptom that there is leftover egg from last month and menstruating now? Anyone knows of good infertility specialist?

Was about to proceed with IUI at KKH...but decide to hold it for the time being....

Millions thanks...

thanks thistle and dishearted,
i asked my gynae abt it but he said it is very rare among singapore women and said i no need to do the test.

helpme,
i jus did my hsg last mth at tmc cost $192.60 include gst

thistle,
wow.. ur so-iui is realli ex meh.. almost can be the price of ivf liao..

dishearted,
u say is 1k+ each time.. so this price is for doing so-iui now or 2 yrs back? if is for now, then i think is bcoz of the adv technology so now is more cheaper and affordable. doc ask me to try until dec if no preg then have to do ivf but i still prefer to try iui/so-iui first.. ivf is too ex and i am still not prepare for it.

sometimes i realli feel frustrated and sad when see so many preg lady ard and when frens ard me all getting preg so easily and "strike" for the first time trying... sighzz

dishearted, i am with Dr Cheng, the head of the fertility centre at TMC. hmm... i needed 14 days of gonal-F, each about 150 iu to 225 iu. Each day is about $200 plus. so that's why my soiui cost is so expensive. plus the scans, consultations... chalked up to about $4K.

cheer bear - if you are not keen on ivf, can try soiui? it's not so intrusive anyway. more like a natural cycle, just some jabs to assist in ovulation.

thistle,

actualli i wan to try soiui now but doc ask me to try until dec leh.. i realli scare i will be wasting another 4 mths. u think i shld go to tell the doc i wan to try now?

cheer bear - what's the reason for your unexplained fertility? for me - i do not ovulate, so i go st to clomid, then injectables. have you tried clomid? it helps with ovulation. the correct procedure should be clomid, injectables, than ivf. each with at least 3 cycles.

some ppl go st to ivf, due to age reasons and hb sperm quality. i think you should seek a fertility opinion. why don't you see a fertility doc? consultation is less than $100. gives you peace of mind, no need to waste 4 months...

thistle,
i am ok (passed all the test) jus that my hb have low sperm count and motility.. all these tests are done by a gynae.. anyway doc did give me clomid for 3 cycles but i dunno shld eat anot since i am ovulating well and i am afraid of any side effects eventho the doc say seldom pple will have side effects.

cheerbear, if you are ok - dun think you need to take clomid. cos clomid helps to push your ovaries to work harder - no need to do this if you are normal (well, just my view).

think you can just go with iui - no need soiui. iui helps the sperm reach the eggs - as sperms are washed and cleaned, and then inserted back in womb... bypassing vaginal... shortening the process as of travelling as well. why not give that a try.... it's not intrusive, like doing HsG - a fine catherar is inserted and sperms and placed back in womb.

Need some advise from you. Had been trying for 8mths and on clomid for 4 mths, still no news. And had done the blood, hsg test and husband done the sa(sperm)test. Everything is fine expect some infection found in the sa test and was on antibiotics for a week. I would like to go for IUI. Could anyone tell me what is the procedure like? And does we need to be on clomid as well if doing IUI? If yes, how many mg does your gynae prescribe to you?

thistle,

actualli same as ur thinking.. dont realli feel like eating the clomid eventho i shld start next mth when my af come.. anyway thanks for ur advice on iui.. so any idea how much would it be?

Wen, how are you? 4 more days... must be exciting hor?

If all goes well, I am doing my iui this Friday.

Cycling in Sep
1. helpme (29 Aug)
2. thistle (31 Aug)
3. rita
4. sophia
5. aababy

Please keep us in prayers!

hi ladies...all the best in your coming cycle!

ya, it's exciting but i'm trying to keep my feelings neutral. coz on one hand i hope this cycle is successful but on the other i have to brace myself for possible disappointment.

will continue to pray for you ladies

wen, thanks for your prayers... let's keep each other in prayers!

how are you feeling? i am now thinking how to pass the 2ww... any suggestions given you are coming to the end of your 2ww? i recalled my previous 2ww was dragy and slow...

i took a urine test this morning to check for ovulation and there is a surge and my IUI is tomorrow. does it mean the egg is being released? i read that egg only survive 24 hours, so wld it be too late if my IUI is tomorrow?

helpme, maybe you can check with the nurse? coz i remember i was requested to go to KK if my urine test shows +ve surge one day prior to IUI.

thistle, i'm feeling the typical pre-AF symptoms i.e. sore boobs, bloatedness, mild cramping and tiredness. since these may also be early pregnancy symptoms, i'm hoping for the best

helpme, better call your RE asap. nurses told me in my previous iui, if there is a positive on ovaluation kit, need to do iui asap.

wen, all those symptoms are preg symptoms too. pray for BFP! Amen!

thistle
i tried calling 3 times but couldnt get through and now the clinic has closed.

the prev time, the nurse told me if surge then inject in the morning and do the IUI next day.
i didnt have surge yesterday so did my injection last night.

dun tell me i missed it already????

helpme, i didn't have a surge so my iui went as scheduled. on the morning before my iui, i again did a test for surge and was negative...that was day 10 of my cycle. i do find the instructions given to me pretty confusing though. i'm not sure if you have missed it...i hope you didn't. please update us.

thistle, i had a couple of things happening for me during the 2ww so the waiting seems easier.

first i received news that i passed both exam papers i attempted...which put me in a happy mood for a week
then the next week i was deciding which school to sign up for my next few papers so that got me busy as well. i was also sourcing for a nice table cloth for my new dining table so it's busy busy me and that's not counting my work schedule

anyway, i guess time naturally seems to crawl when one is waiting. just find something to occupy your thoughts.

helpme, according to your post, if you did your jab last nite (monday nite), your iui should be wed morning. if so, due to your hsg jab to release ovulation, it is normal to get a positive on the kit. don't think you missed it, cos your surge is due to your jab. timing between jab and iui should be about 36 hours.

wen - how come on your iui day there was no surge? of cos - i also read some RE prefer to do iui before surge. so yours might be that case? normally, surge, than iui.

guess you had lots of things to keep yourself occupied. i have also planned some activities during my 2ww... read two spiritual books, complete my no. 1's pregnancy journal.. ha ha.. left some bits out during the end of my preg... so now better touch up the end bits so i can start a new journal for no. 2.

thanks for all the advise. I am now waiting to do my IUI.

when i did my first IUI, there isn't any surge but still went ahead with it.

i tested this morning again and there was a surge as well. I certainly hope it bodes well for my IUI this time round.

helpme, good good... what time is your IUI today? will keep you in prayers. all the best...

just came back from RE, need two more days or jab to reach ideal size. iui postponed to sunday.

wen... hee hee... 19 dpiui can test liao la... my RE said to test on 17 dpiui

helpme... all the best! another 2ww buddy...

Cycling in Sep
1. thistle (2 Sep)
2. rita
3. sophia
4. aababy

2ww

1. wen
2. helpme

Good luck helpme. I am still waiting for my period to come to start the injection. Dr says this round no need to eat clomid. Still no signs of period though and no symptoms also. Usually will have cramps and boobs are sore and painful. Hmmmmm.......

thanks to all.

is it common to have spotting after the IUI? This time round, I have a little bit of red and brown spotting after tmy IUI.

helpme, i did not have spotting after my iui, but i read online that it can be common. do you feel discomfort at the ovary/womb area? i felt some discomfort after my iui. this time round, i intend to rest in bed and reduce walking too much after my iui.