IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

zen, 2ww = two week wait post ovaluation. normally in iui/soiui, it's D17 post iui.

sophia, why don't you do a hpt now? are you in D15 now? the hpt should pick up if preggy. BFP BFP!

i just went for my first so-iui jab at KKH today. paid $441 for medicine and $408 for IVF service.

it wasn't as bad as i thought...slightly complicating part is operating the injection pen. after that got to go for scan on monday.

hi dishearted

may i know u went to which hospital and which gynae? i m thinking of going for the iui treatment..will the gynae give u clomid?

Gillian, actually the nurse said IVF service but it's really only registration fees plus teaching me how to self-inject.

Very funny lor, the spotting became very little and has even stopped last night. I've called my gynae and he says to stick to Friday's appointment. Very confused by the signs.....

Need some advise here. I went to my gynae ytd and she has told me that she will be putting me on some medication to be taken during cd2 to cd6 of my menstrual cycle so that I can have more than 1 egg during ovulation to increase my chances at conceiving. Is that medication clomid? I forgot to ask her. I have been checked and I have no fertilty problem except that my husband has poor sperm condition. The gynae also says that I will have to go back for a scan on cd13 or cd14 to check on my follicle. My husband will be going for another SA test as requested by his urologist and my gynae says if the results is still bad then will need to do iui. So what is the difference between so-iui and iui?

hi sophia
i had the same signs as you the other time. one day there is spotting and then stop and then back again, then stop. makes me so confused then. just too bad for me that it really came a day before i was due for check.
some people said it might be bleeding due to implantation which is good news.
all the best to you.

sophia,
spotting might be due to implantation bleeding.When i was xpecting my first child(oso by so-iui) i had cramps n spotting too which makes me so disappointed.who knws it turns out to be i m pregnant.Dun be disappointed,wait till the final day.

worried 79
my gyne is eunice chua frm TMC.

Wen
Think self inject is knwn as so-iui ba,nt ivf.

Hi dishearted, how many SOIUI attempt did you have? I have just switch to Dr Paul Tseng who is also from TLC at TMC.

dishearted,

both your children are from the sucessful SoIUI? you are so lucky. Hope i am as lucky as you. who did all your 3 iui?

all IUI ladies,

does anyone feels crampy when doing the IUI? i was told my womb is anteverted so more difficult. after iui, i felt damn tired and restless as the crampy feeling is worst than menses cramp. anyone has the same prob?

AAbaby,
my first child are frm iui.Now trying for the 2nd child.and this mth is the 2nd iui liao.You shouldnt feel cramp after doing iui leh.Mayb u shld talk to your gynae abt it.My gynae is Eunice chua frm TMC

Hi ladies, this time's procedure not successful. Spotting has increased and menses came. I still went ahead this morning to my gynae to do a blood test. Results will be tomorrow, but oredi know and after a good cry, am prepared to do cycle again. How long should we wait to do again?

Sophia,

dun b disheartened, just to let u know that I tried 4 rounds of IUI at SGH but with no success. I was contemplating IVF, but decided that I will try chinese medicine 1st. It took me 1 year and combined with western doc treatment, I had to take injections to stop my menses for 3 mths bcos of endometriosis. After that, I went for 2 rounds of SOIUI, I managed to conceive after the 2nd round.

Just to let you know, there is still hope, keep on trying..think ours is a miracle baby, we have been trying for the past 5.5 years, so dun be discouraged. The funny part is I told my HB that we will go for IVF if the 2nd SOIUI shd fail, think God muz have heard our conversation and bless us with our precious.

Remember to keep ur spirits up and be +ve, you will succeed one day.

hi, everyone.. just wan to share my experience...

i was trying for my no.2 for 7years...... finally decided to do something... i had my SOUI in may07... though it was a veri tiring procedure with the jab n also gynae visit...after the 2ww, i found myself pregnant!!!!

so despite of ppl saying that IUI or SO-IUI's successful not as high as compare to IVF.... but it is still possible to conceive!!!!
now i am in my tri2....

went for iui yesterday,gynae said hb sperm motility is only 50%.Guess chance are very slim.Hai~think this time is another unsuccessful round.

may i know wats the difference between IUI and SOIUI? will be booking for my first apptmt with tmc next week....interested in the IUI treatment

dishearted, don be disappointed. Its really a game of luck, even tough with 50% u also stand a chance to succeed. Just keep your mood happy.

Worried - SO-IUI comes with medicine & injection while IUI only involve carry out the insemination process. So SO-IUI is more ex compared to IUI.

I'm planning to seek a gynae to perform IUI but I don't know who to look for. Any advices for me?

sophia, sorry to hear. when in Sep will you be doing your iui? i am also planning to do my iui in Sep. think mine will be early Sep. let's root for each other!

worried - I am with LC Cheng! how was your consultation with Dr Cheng?

hi thistle

i've not consulted him yet. book for apptmt this coming Sat morning...how is his consultion fees? u did iui wif him too?

just had my iui done this morning...so i guess it's the 2ww now? i felt some pain and discomfort during the procedure...not sure if that's common.

nurse said i have a couple of mature follicles although not sure if they contain eggs. and since got 6.3million sperms, asked us not to BD for a week to reduce chance of multiple pregnancy.

Hi Thistle,
I have to see my gynae before the start of my Sept period, so I guess it's the beginning of Sept. But, dun know is it becos of the injections and all, this month's period very 'weird'. Only last of 3 days when my usual is about 5. I wonder why.

sophia,
is the period heavy?if nt,mayb u can try to test if u are pregnant.I have a fren who is pregnant although her period comes n last abt 2 to 3 days.

Hi Sophia,
think i did my IUI about the same time as you - i did mine late July... and this month, my menses just arrived...super duper sian. It's my 2nd time now. and my gynae is suggesting that i should go for the HSG to check if my fallopian tubes are blocked... M really afraid that it is and i will need to go for laproscopy.

My menses also only lasted 3 days and was shorter than usual. Btw, i read from a book that if one measure the Basal temperature and have 18 or more high temperatures (after ovulation), one can be guaranteed and very sure that it's +ve!! Did you monitor that?

For those who are going to do IUI, did your gynae check if your tubes are blocked via HSG??

hi trying, my gynae asked me to go for hsg prior to recommending so-iui. although i'm worried, i went for it because i want to confirm that my tubes are not blocked before going for further treatment. just completed my so-iui and will be going for blood test if AF dun report on 30-Aug.

dishearted, cramps may also be preggy signs so dun feel sian yet. does that mean u dun feel crampy after iui? i do feel slight cramps and according to nurse it is expected.

Hi ladies, confirm I not pregnant. I did hsg before my iui too and my tubes are fine.
dishearted: I also felt cramps but it was not the news I want to hear. Dun be too sad, try again and stay positive.

does progynova or duphaston makes the menses irregular or heavy or cramps?

my menses used to come very on time but for the last 2 mths, it was delayed by a week (thought I got pregnant). previously when i had my menses, the flow is not so heavy and i don't have the painful cramps i am having now.

going to call the gynae to schedule for my next IUI.menses just came today.

wen, welcome to 2ww... keep us posted k? pain and discomfort after iui is common. how many follies did you have at time of iui?

sophia - i will also see my RE before start of Sep period to start my soiui. we can be cycle buddies then!

helpme, wow... you will be doing your next iui this month? so exciting!

Rita, we might cycle together too. i plan to do my soiui once menses come mid Aug... so iui should be in Sep.

sigh....menses came today.much earlier then i expect.Think i m gg to take a break for 1 to 2 cycle for the so-iui(since the last 2 cycles failed).Its too costly n time consuming.

For those planning to start their so-iui.Goodluck n stay positive.

I'm so glad I've found this forum and have you ladies for the support and encouragement. It's difficult when people around don't go through this and don't understand what's happening. Stay positive and good luck everyone!

dishearted, did your RE explain how come your soiui failed this cycle? sometimes, i wonder why there can be failure when the previous soiui was successful...

helpme... all the best to your iui!

Cycling in Sep
1. thistle
2. helpme
3. rita
4. sophia

who else i missed out?

dishearted, i see. when i asked my RE how come my previous soiui failed, he said... well.. it's like throwing dices... only one in three chances of success. i pray my next cycle will bingo! maybe you can ask your hubby to smoke less and eat well for your next soiui cycle?