IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Booboolina & Clucky,
are u both on soiui? who are ur docs? Wat support are u on?

Congrats Booboolina!! Did ur doc ask u to cum bck to mointor ur hcg level... muz go bck mointor ya! take care!

Lybaby I m on clomid for 2nd to 6th day, then iui on 14th of cycle. Was given duphaston pills for support from day 2 past iui till menses come but menses no where to be seen leh. I dun think mine is the soiui right? I m with prof ng of gleneagles.

Hi Clucky, thanks for the assurance! Really feel better n just leaving everything to God b trying to not stress over it.. HPT will never be as accurate as a BT. Maybe tomoro or a few days later, u can ask for a BT from your doc, or even maybe get one done at polyclinic. Really, that's the only way to be sure

Hi BB n Clucky, my doctor is Angela from CARE at novena.. I was on SOIUI, I think.. It was medicated.. I was taking puregon injections before iui. Then after iui, I was given Progynova n progesterone meds 3 times a day. Plus folic acid daily.

Oh yes, forgot to add, 2 more tests will be done tomoro with blood collected today. Then Thursday must go back for next BT to monitor.

Clucky, yours is considered a soiui as long as you are on medication to grow your follicle & on medication support. I agreed with Booboolina to test for bhcg to be sure..

Clucky & booboolina, how much to do soiui? May i noe how big is your follicle before schedule for trigger jab then do iui?

Booboolina, your medication supports are quite the same as doing ivf at care (had done my ivf & fet there) wat are the 2 tests for? Who is the doc that do your iui? Dr Paul? Good luck ya!! hcg level keep increasing!!!

Hi bb, my SOIUI at CARE (private) is about 4k for this cycle, which is my first iui. My previous ivf cycle pushed me back by about 15k.
My follicle was 16mm when they decided I was ready. I wasnt ovulating yet but they gave me the trigger injection n went ahead with the transfer.
The other 2 tests are for progesterone n for estradiol. Angela n Ning did my iui

Thanks sweetie! Really hope it increases!

bb, booboolina, both you girls did IVF then go back to IUI? may i know why? i failed my IVF too and Dr.SF Loh suggested SO-IUI for me too!

i'm going to Prof Wong this sat for 3rd opinion.

Hi lybaby my AF came today and I am going onwards for my ivf this mth. I spent abt $800+ on the day of iui procedure itself and in between a few hundreds for consultation I hv 3 mature follies on clomid and they were abt 19-17mm on day 12. Was given the trigger shot on day 12 at abt 4pm and was booked in for iui on day 14 at abt 1130pm but I did not get to do it till abt 1pm due to the long wait at clinic and when doc scanned he said I hv already ovulated, I dun know if we hv missed the timing but he says just right wor. Anyway I actually want to skip iui n go ivf cos I know the chances of iui is low but my Tcm says iui gives the doc a rough gauge of how I react to medicine so he can hv a better idea on the dosage in ivf.

Booboolina, that is quiet ex for a soiui... my natural fet cost 6+K... glad u succeeded! No doc doing the iui? who inject the soldier in?

Prosepina, I have done my lap n tubes r cleared so decided to do iui... Y did dr loh suggested soiui? he actually asked me to ttcing naturally but i can't wait... nevertheless both my natural iui are aborted... thinking if doc can do soiui for me this cycle

bb,

Have you managed to find a doc for iui this coming cycle?

Booboolina,

Wow 4k is pretty exp but it's all worth it

Prosepina,

Who did u go for 2nd opinion? Was so iui suggested as well?

Lybaby thanks. Yes prof ng will do e ivf. He will put me on clomid 2 tabs a day from 2-6 days and the injections fr 6th day onwards. The nurse says it's gonal f or puregon. Anyone on this protocol? Rather usual to use clomid back again.

clucky, no, i retrieved 6 but 3 matured only 2 usable so failed with no frozen embroys.

bb, Dr.Loh first ask me to take DHEA then try for natural meanwhile gave me famera to take when i am ready to persue SO-IUI with him. He said IVF is not 100% and my DH SA is actually quite good. so he suggested SO-IUI. i see him in Sep'12 till now.

Min, i'm going to Prof.Wong for 3rd opinion.

1st, Dr.Sadhana (KK) for 2nd fresh with higher dosage and longer day as even 18mm my eggs are not matured.

2nd. Dr. Loh (TMC) for SO-IUI

Clucky, use clomid for IVF? mine was done at KK, CD21 to CD2 is just lucrin injection to prevent ovulation, then CD2 - CD12 is puregon to stimulate then go ER and ET.

Dragonhopes I was also wondering y clomid for ivf I ask dr zou my Tcm dr she said mayb prof did not want to over stimulate and give me less injections. So wondering my ivf will end up cheaper or not. Keke. I know that iui is all abt timing and there r couples succeeding with a few tries of iui. New chances new hopes

Dragonhopes mayb I go ivf immediately after iui so there is no CD 21 to do injections. Is mine call the short protocol?

Hi Prosepina, I felt IVF was too detrimental to my body, as i had mild OHSS after they retrieved 39 eggs! after 1 ET and 3 FETs, which all failed, i really didnt want to go through IVF again (fear of needles, even after everything). So i decided to try IUI which is less strenous on the body and also less expensive.. i was ready to do up to 5 rounds of IUI, if necessary, before giving it up. But luckily, God has decided to end my yearning and suffering and finally gave me a BFP
Maybe, u should try IUI, especially if your doc suggests it. It is less abusive on your body la, i feel...

Thanks Doubles
My trigger jab was 7pm on thurs and my IUI was on friday morning at 11am. about 16 hrs difference la..

Hi bb, thanks
not sure why so ex, but i had to scan quite a few times and my period irregular and I had PCOS, so doc said it will tkae time... hmm... the iui was done by Angela (Embryologist).

Thanks Min81
much worth the pain n $$

Hi Clucky, hugs to you gal, don worry, keep trying, it will happen soon enough
I think both of us went through SOIUI but just different amount of medication and scans, i guess. different protocol for different centres. I had a lot of medication (pills and jabs) from the start and had to go in for scan every 2 days, to see if my follicles were ready. quite slow becos of PCOS..

CARE called to confirm that the Progesterone and E2 level is okay and sufficient, so still okay for now,... just waiting for Thursday's blood test to confirm that everything's confirmed... Nervously waiting................

hi booboolina, wow! 39eggs, that's a lot. so this is your first round of IUI? i also heard that CARE is good. $4k is quite at the high side, i did once SO-IUI cost around $3k at Mt.E

so 4k, what's in the package? mind to share more details.

yeah! i agreed with you, IVF is really abusive to body..haha..but no choice le..

Hi Prosepina, ya it was a lot. this is my first iui. actually it was not really a package, i just calculated about 4k based on all my meds, scans, consultations and iui procedure. i took the puregon injections for 14 days, from the start of my period, plus meds. i had about 6 scans before i was ready for iui. after the iui, i was on progynova and progesterone 3 times a day. so quite a lot of stuff....

Booboolina 39 eggs is indeed very impressive. Can I ask how many fertilized and how many frozen? How do they grade them? I m very worried for the quality of my eggs n embryos even before I start cos I hv a suspicion that they got problem.

booboolina, 14days of puregon, may i know your dosage? is it almost equivalent to IVF just that no ER is involve and the supports given were even better than IVF in KK. so how many folicles do you have for this IUI?

cluckly, have faith with them! the law of attraction, we must believe they can make it.

i had mine grade 3, so in my mind was keep thinking, this is my first IVF, not all IVF succeeded. and yes, it failed! silly me!

Hi Clucky, thanks but i suffered a lot of bloating and cramps n was constipated for 2 weeks after ER. really a traumatic time that i don wanna go thru again. out of 39, 18 were fertilised and frozen. i'm not too sure of the grading though. but i heard it doesnt really matter as long as it gets u pregnant. cos i heard of fellow ladies who had high grades but BFN and some with not so good grades that BFP. try not to worry about things beyond your control. just take care of your diet and physical self and rest well

Hi Prosepina, first it was 50, then it was 60 during the last 4 days. suprisingly, for this round, i only had one mature follicle while the rest were too small. i was actually worried that i might have too many and they would cancel the cycle. one thing i love about this place is that i dont have to insert my progesterone (as previously done during fets, which i hated cos it was so uncomfortable and messy), i swallow them with my other meds. but it makes me drowsy, lethargic and sleepy though...

Booboolina u r right abt quality. Sometimes its all fated. is CARE in Nuh? R u under prof wong? Heard Nuh prof wong is really gd. Abt what to eat, I've started ensure, red bean soup, red date tea and egg whites everyday. Chicken essence twice a wk. more fruits n veges n try to make chicken or pork bone soup twice a wk. I feel I very Kiasu. Kiasu also cannot Guarantee success.

Dragonhopes I will b thinking the same as u. I dun hv a lot if confidence in my first ivf especially having so many setbacks ttcing. still scratching my head wondering y when nothing is seemingly wrong but After so long, nothing works.

Hi gals, I did my iui today. Felt v brave as I v scared of pain 1.

Need some advice, e nurse wrote tat take pregnancy test on day 21 if positive, may I ask, day 21 is how to count?

For ladies who had iui, how do u guys succeed? Any special activity can't do?

Yup Clucky, it's all abt fate n having faith that it will happen one day
CARE is in Novena Medical Centre, next to Tan Tock Seng.

Hi Prosepina, it's difficult, especially since I'm in the office. So I try to wash my face, eat some sweets n just walk a little bit...

yes dragonhopes i think i should not give any negative energy to this thread. sometimes i feel that the greater one up there just want to play jokes on me but i think there r many girls out there who have been thru much more than many of us. mayb its easier to use a 平常心 than to feel positive.

Prosepina,

I see.. Hope the 3rd opinion will help you make a decision on what you wish to do

Splw18,

That's brave of you to go thru that despite being scared of the pain
Since you did your iui today, tmr will be considered Day 1 past iui.. So you can do the pregnancy test on Day 21.. Are you asked to do a home pregnancy test or go back clinic for blood test? Which doc are you with?

Don't have to be too particular i guess.. Maybe no strenuous activities.. Stay positive and happy
All the best!!

Clucky, didn't hear doing clomid then stimulation jab leh... but guessed prof ng know best.. he's the father of ivf here right?
All the best to ur ivf! keep positive mind ya.. we human beings are v special & unique! Im glad I have come this far without having breakdowns.. when I donate blood few mths back, heard before there's a nurse getting depression after 1 failed cycle.. so this thread really served us a v good support platform! Having a good support from spouse is equally impt!! Jiayou!!

Prosepina, if hb SA is good, can do soiui.. less tedious on body.. hope u have good 3rd opinion from prof wong.. when u wanna do soiui? if dec, just to inform, prof will not b around. but dr chew might be assigned to do on behalf.. All the best!

bb, yeah! see how lo! if Prof Wong opinion also go for SO-IUI then i will go back to Dr.SF Loh. He is also away for a week during xmas.

lybaby, dragonhopes, booboolina thanks for the encouragement. i will stop whining and for the sake of everyone here will send more positive vibes to our conversations. i 'm taking my first tab of clomid today.

dragonhopes i think consulting prof Wong is a wise choice. if i were u i will do e same too.

booboolina its interesting that u do ivf before iui. i wanted that too but the Dr strongly encourage iui first.

thanks dear! i am just afraid very soon i will be out of option
well, i told myself, i tried my best and no regret! ultimately, baby is a gift from god. is all depends on him

Tks min81.

I salute all for your positive attitude and decide to stop feeling sorry for myself. We must still lead a happy life regardless of when our baby will come right.

Hi Clucky, actually I wanted to start with iui but my gynae then, dr sadhana at KK, told us to just go ahead with IVF since chances are higher. But unfortunately it didn't work, even to her shock. I took a long break and was considering adoption when Angela from CARE called me. It was meant to be, I guess. God works in mysterious ways.

For all the ladies, don worry about being too whiny, this thread is for u to voice out your concerns and feelings and be consoled and assured by the rest. These forums are the helping hands and shoulders to cry on. We may not have seen each other or even know each other, but we are all angels of comfort to each other.. I know u gals are to me.. It really is a blessing to have pole to talk to, who r in the same boat as u and understand what u r going thru. Thank you wonderful ladies

Tomorrow is my follow up blood test. Really very nervous. hope that my little baby is holding on tight and growing well... Hope the HCG level is higher... please God..

Jia you booboolina, waiting for your good news

I believe everything happen for a reason. Glad that god found you n show u the path! I'm still waiting for him.

How come Angela will call you? Just curious :p

Thanks Prosepina n Clucky! Definitely will rain my baby dust on u gals later, after I hear the wonderful news! (Fingers crossed)

Prosepina, I had previously enquired abt IVF with Angela while I was doing my last FET. After we spoke n I told her that I'm still with KK, she actually called a few times after that to check on my results and health. I was touched by the personalized care n service

Hi Ladies, my HCG level has decreased from 29 to 16. Doc said I miscarriaged n it was a chemical pregnancy. The beautiful dream I had come true is over..