IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Maybebaby : I did not feel dizzy but breast sore after iui cause by hcg jab. Can't give u more infor as i only tried once but I wish u success this round! Good luck!

Doubles, good luck to ur next iui jy!

min81, tmr going for d12 scan...was so busy past 2days... how r u? preparing for dec? r u seeing any tcm?

Jen, going to scan soon...abit relax this round.. going see doc tmr...

maybebaby, im trying natural iui so unable to advise u. however when doing ivf, if took medication like utrogestan it will make u giddy.. are u taking this? which doc are u seeing? take & rest well ya...

Doubles> Thanks! Good Luck to you too. Let's hope we can gradute soon.

bb> Yes, I'm taking Utrogestan. But I did not encounter dizzy spells previously. Not sure issit becoz I've stop treatment for a while then the body needs to get accustomed to the drugs all over again. I'm seeing Dr Henry Cheng. By the way, where you did your IVF? Coz my plan is, if this cycle is not sucessful, I will still try another 2 or 3 rounds of injectables IUI. If by 3rd quarter of 2013 still no BFP, then I will embark on IVF. Coz right now my metal state is not strong enough to handle the emotional failure, which my doc agrees as well coz I actually suffered anxiety disorder due to the pressue of TTC. So now I'm taking it easy & hope that luck will be with us.

bb,

Good luck for your scan tmr!
I'm not doing anything much.. Not seeing tcm now.. Just taking coq10 and ensure milk.. Trying to be more relaxed.. AF due ard 11 dec, hope it disappears for 9 mths.. Keke.. If not then ivf will start, hopefully without any glitches this time..

Maybebaby,

I only had dizzy spells for my recent iui probably cos i was on duphaston.. Don't worry, i think sometimes we react differently to the same med at diff points in time.. All the best for ur iui!

maybebaby, mayb its utrogestan which is making u dizzy... are u working at this moment? do take care.. im seeing prof wong for my iui... previously did ivf with other pte docs but recently did lap so now trying to do iui...

min81, is your short protocol? yes! hope af dun appear for a good 9mths

I tried for 4 cycles of clomid, having one to two big eggs each time. But DH's morp is less than 10%. My gynae suggest me to go for iui.
Will the chance for me to strike high?

Fanice, if u never try..u will never noe... to do iui is one step nearer to fulfiling our ttcing goal.. may i ask who is your gynae? morphology less than 10% is normal, that is what most docs will say...

min81> Thanks. Good Luck to You too!

bb> Yup, I'm still working. Do you mind sharing what was your cost of doing IVF with a private doc? I understand there is no subsidy if we're doing with a private fertility centre but able to use medisave up to S$6k for 1st cycle right? Coz I'm likely to go to CARE for IVF as my last resort.

Fanice> IMHO, luck plays a big part in the TTC journery. So I guess no one can really answer you if the chance to strike is high or not. But if you really decide to go for IUI, just go with an open heart & positive mindset. Your little surprise might just come knocking on your door before you know it! Good Luck!

maybebaby, my 1st ivf with tfc is ard 12k. 2nd fresh with care is ard 20k inclusive of the bts to test hormones before start the cycle & also include growth hormones jabs which need to jab abt 3mths before the cycle & those medication suppports & bts after ET. Yes, 6K for 1st cycle, 5k for 2nd then 4K for the 3rd..

maybebaby, just to give you an idea, I did my IVF with private doctor at gleneagles and the procedure costs $16k. I was able to use $6k from medisave. The 16k did not include the multiple doctor visits before hand for scans and tests. I was very lucky and got BFP so I was put on support medicine for 3 months. So all in all, support medicine, scan, blood tests, etc, I think the costs came up to $20k.

bb : My gynae say that it will get a longer time then normal as the morp is less than 15%(normal). My gynae is dr yc goh.

Maybebaby : thanks. I also took utrogestan for 7 days starting on date of ouvlation to raise up the basal temp.

bb> Thanks for sharing. Am I right to say that the no. of jabs differs individually? Or is it a set of standard protocal that once you start on the IVF treatment, you are to have the stipulated no. of jabs? Sorry for all the questions coz just want to find out more as my backup option and get myself prepared mentally & financially.

Lil Ponyo> Wow! Congrats on your BFP!! Please sprinkle your baby dust here too! haha...Ok, so I guess I should set aside approximately 20k. Thanks for sharing too. Appreciate that.

Fanice> Think on the positive side. You just need 1 good spermie to strike. My gyne did share with me before he got a patient, the dh has low sperm quality & quantity but managed to conceive naturally. For me, I need to take utrogesten 3 times daily until the day where either my AF comes; or I get my BFP. I hope is the latter.

Maybebaby, thanks
Here are my baby dusts to all the sisters here. I'm crossing my week 12 this week.

IVF protocols and no of jabs depends on individual. There is a long and short protocol. Short ones can be 2 weeks while long ones can be around 6 weeks. (and of course the costs will be different depending the length of protocol) For me, I jabbed myself everyday for almost 5 weeks before my egg retrieval and transfer. So it really depends on how well the body responds, etc. All the best to all the ladies here. Baby dusts, baby dusts!

Lil Ponyo> Great! Before you know it, your little one will be in your arms. Meantime u can try to take more double-boiled chicken soup or home-made chicken essence. It really helps the little one to grow big & strong but bear in mind no herbs to be added.

Yup. I read from the pamphlet on the long & short protocol. So how do they access which protocol you should be in? Is it by monitoring how well you respond to the jabs? Is the ER a scary process? Coz I just cannot get over the mental challenge of going through a sedation. I'm afraid that I will fall into a deep slumber & never wake up from it!! Haha I know it sounds silly but this & my fear of maybe getting OHSS is kinda making me freak out than the daily jabs! Hehe

maybebaby, thanks. Will try the chicken soup & essence when I have more energy and appetite. Right now, I feel sick and tired all the time and barely do anything besides going to work.

Which protocol depends on your ovarian reserve and how well you respond. Your doctor will access your situation for you. I had failed 3 IUIs before my IVF so my doctor knows how my body respond to stimulation drugs and how well I ovulate. The key is to get just enough eggs. Not too many (which will cause OHSS) and not too little.

The ER and ET process are not scary. Don't worry, during ER, you will have the best sleep you've ever had. Strangely I enjoy being sedated. Ha ha! Basically, all the work is done by the doctor so you just trust in him and relax.

Unfortunately, I developed late onset OHSS. Usually, OHSS strikes after ER but I got mine after ET. It was the most horrible experience I've ever had. My tummy ballooned up and I looked 4 months pregnant when it was only 1 week after my embryo transfer. My tummy was so big and stretched that I could not stand upright and my belly button was only a horizontal slit. Then I had diarrhea, breathlessness, sharp excruciating tummy pains that at times I really don't know if I could survive the day. The doctor diagnosed me with moderate OHSS so I shudder to think what severe OHSS would be like. If it was severe then need to be hospitalized and have tummy drained of fluid.

Anyway, I don't want to scare you. Just take things step by step. Most important is to be very comfortable with your doctor, trust in him and relax.

hi popping by to say hello.
min81: hope you can srike naturally . your positive thought always motivate us to be so.

lil ponyo: very glad we are in the comfortable zone now "2nd tri". you will find ur appetite picking up .now i am busy with vitamins and fish oil

Dian tang,

Sorry, I've not been very positive these 2 days and have been feeling down.. Ivf has been postponed to feb.. I'm not in a wonderful mood but will try to keep my spirits up.. I've stopped tracking my ovulation since m/c and have no plans to do so.. Since my af is pretty regular, i'll just estimate my ovulation.. Don't know if i can strike naturally, hope so.. Whatever will be, will be..

Lil ponyo, dian tang,

Glad to see you gals have safely stepped into the 2nd trimester.. Wishing you gals a smooth pregnancy ahead

Min81: I saw ur post at other forum . Sometime things are fated . Maybe u may strike bet these months .. Just keep positive and our body will perform well !!

min> ya its really fated.. perhaps feb is a better n more auspicious mth for u!

ponyo, dian tang> hope both of u are well, n baby growing healthy inside day aft day

bb> are u doing iui this mth?

Dian tang, lin,

Thanks.. I'm just feeling unexplainably down suddenly, something i sometimes get before my af but i'm at mid cycle.. Probably just hormones..

bb,

All the best for ur iui!

Thanks, Min81, hope you are feeling better now. Dont worry, its normal to feel down. I know it must be disappointing and frustrating when things don't go as planned. Especially when you have planned for so long. Remember to try and stay positive because you are a strong woman and you have come so far. You are near your final lap now so hang in there. Sometimes unexpected things happen so try not to let it affect you. Mostly important is you stay happy and healthy.

Thanks Lin and Dian tang, I'm feeling better now though still a little nauseous. Can't wait to feel like myself again!

maybebaby, sorry late reply...guessed Lil has helped replied your qn
it will be good to have slightly more than wat u have estimated cost juz in case of unforeseen circumstances.. good luck

Thanks min81.. Lin, if everything goes smoothly i will be doing iui.. there's some issues on sat so I can't go for my 2nd scan on sat.. will be going down tmr.. really relax this round.. so far have not detect any ovulation yet..

min81, heard abt prof's leaves in dec...haiz.. i was also thinking if no do iui this cycle..will push to dec & my O coincides with his leaves as well...

Fanice> i guess u can try iui. my dh morphology is only 1%!! faintz. yr dh case is so much better.. nt to worry

maybebaby> dun worry too much.. just go with the flow. when something happen during ivf, just be brave n strong, things will be better sooner or later...

bb> hw was the scan? still going to do this mth?

Hi everyone, I'm new here. i'm nearing the end of my 2ww for my first clomid induced iui. Was given duphaston pills 10mg twice a day. Just wondering if would my AF be delayed by the pills if my iui is unsuccessful?

lin, v sad.. couldn't do D14 scan coz was away so on D16 scan.. left follicle either disappear or shrink as told by prof.. but yst detected 2 dark lines on opk so juz bd loh.. before that detected v slight lines on opk on my D16 scan which is on mon.

Do anyone of u experience follicle shrink or disappear during D16 or before any doc can give green light to take trigger jab? both cycles are like this but prof still say if still wanna do iui, will do a natural cycle coz all hormones bt done are ok...

Oh ya i oso wanna noe if do so iui, if "choy choy" unsuccesful, will our next cycle be haywired? If like that then have to tiao again & rest till body is ok again? Pls advise...

Hihi, i just finished my appt with dr sadhanna at kkh.. after seeing our medical records, she suggested we go with so-iui forst and if it fails then ivf. Has anyone done so-iui with kkh and what is the cost? Can we use medisave to pay for this?

Thanks on advance!

BSR, It shld cost less than 1.5k to do a soiui at kkh (depends on individual) so its not wise to use medisave coz 1st time can deduct $6k, 2nd -$5k & 3rd - $4k... hope this helps

Bb: dr advise to rest for at least a month before trying so iui again... Not sure after so iui cycle will become haywire or not. For me, I'm in the middle of "resting" cycle. So far still ok..

Baby step rainbow: i m with kkh under dr matthew lau. bb has answer ur qns on cost. N the actual cost also depend on the dosage of ur injection too.

Thanks bb and doubles...

After insemination, do we get Hospitalization Leave like IVF? Wanna plan ahead and let my boss know when I might need to take leaves..

I'm actually torn between using cash and medisave too.. hubby says what if we are successful then that cash could haf been saved for the baby.. hmmz ...

Dear ladies
Just a word of encouragement for those going iui. I been thru 4 times, the first try: managed to conceive but later during my 6th week scanning, detected no heartbeat, did a D&C. Second and third try no luck, was devasted.
Finally, God decided to grant me a baby on my 4th try and I had delivered to a healthy bb girl on 17th Nov 12.
4th iui was done by Dr Loh(the man with magic hands) and I must say I am very comfortabe with him. He knows what he is doing.
Maybe I am lucky, he is always cheerful and always listen to my queries on each visit. Once he told me & my hubby before, he can still hear patient's conversation although he seems like not paying attention. Those ladies under Dr Loh, you are under good care and believe in HIM that you will be blessed with a health baby soon. Dont give up.

Hi pandager, thanks for ur encouragement. May I know all your iui is medicated? What kind of medication are u on?
The last iui what is ur dosage? I was with dr loh last time until he left to tfc. Sorry for many qns. N thanks in advance.

Hi doubles
If i can recall correctly, i was on gonal-f for sometimes and two jabs of ovidrel juz before so-iui procedure. Was shocked by the two ovidrel cos my previos gynae only give me one jab.
Was put on utrogestan during the 2ww.
As to the dosage, i cannot recall..sorry cos all these was done in mar.

Congrats Pandager, may i noe how much is the soiui done by dr loh, is it done at dr loh's clinic.. i assumed u did soiui for the 4cycles so when u failed the medicated cycle, how long do u need to rest before starting the next cycle? did u go for any tcm medicines & do accu? if u dun mind, could u share which docs did u go to do the other 3 iui? sorry for askg alot & tq so much...

Hi bb, d cost will have to depend on the usage of medication, est to be abt $2.1k. After d&c, i rested abt 3mths and proceed to 2nd try and 3rd try was immediately after the failed cycle. According to my ex-gynae, its ok to do immediately.
I did see tcm & did accu, but this was before my first iui.
Sorry, i do not wish to reveal who is my first gynae here as i dont think its nice to post here. But the first gynae is a very nice person with good bed manner.

pandager> congrats to yr baby gal. dr loh told u tt means he knows we thot he is nt paying attention? haha.. i'm going to do ivf with him in dec.. wish me lots of luck.

bb> i think depends on yr own body reaction to those jabs. some will have irregular cycle aft jabs so will need to rest.. some dun have any. i thot folicles disappear means ovulated liao?

Pandager, juz sent u a pm.. thanks so much for the info!!

lin, my folicle is only 11mm on my d12 scan then on mon which is my d16, prof couldn't see the follicle.. he said it might shrink & last cycle i ovulated on d16 this cycle.. but i only see v light 2lines on d16. This cycle after d16 scan, i mointor via opk.. & i got v stretchy mucus on D18 & there's 2 dark lines on opk... so that mean i ovulated on D18.. but strangely where does my follicle goes if i ovulated tested via opk on d18... that's v strange haha... we bd anyway..
Noted dr loh is away during xmas week & prof oso away... im thinkg of doing somewhere...

Lin,

Starting your ivf in a couple of days right? All the best!!

bb,

Seems like doctors are away a lot during dec.. Guess they need to spend vacation with their own family and children too.. How about dr charles lim at mt. E and dr L C Foong at gleneagles? They seem to have pretty good reviews too..

Hi bb, may i noe how to read PM? I tried accessing to the email a/c which i hv set up for spore motherhoox, but cldnt find anything.

min81, i have considered Dr LC Foong however when i called up the clinic, they no appt slot for me leh... i wonder why? even i asked to squeeze me in & i dun mind waiting... they still reject.. im still thinking loh..

Pandager, mayb it goes into your junk box or other folder? u might wanna check there...

bb,

Oh wow, they're so packed? When is the earliest they can slot you in? Maybe can give dr charles lim a try?

Hi Ladies.. It's 17 days after my iui.. Had the blood test today.. And it's a BFP! Really feel like its all a dream!

But dr said the HCG level is 29 n quite low so must monitor.. A bit sad to hear that.. For those who got BFP, was it that low too? Or is 29 really too low to be happy? Pls help me gals....

Hi booboolina, congrats to u. Dun worry too much abt the HCG, at least u r positive!!!! Make sure u take gd care of urself. It's also my 17 days after my iui tomorrow too but I am afraid to test cos I feel I dun hv many preg symptoms and they seemed to b fading. I hv spotting since day 12 but seem to lessen as the days past. My doc did not ask me to go for BT just ask me to test on my own on day 14 but i got no courage to test. I suspect its the progesterone support duphaston delaying my AF. We're u given the progesterone support after iui too?