IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Thanks LaKi_gal and JoyHope. Yeah, I got myself to start thinking of what Im gonna do if I dont have children. Probably I'll go backpacking around the world
if I have the $$$$$$$$

I'll learn how to make beautiful cakes...
So many things to do actually.

Cheeka > For us if destined not to have human kids, I will stick to my furkids and maybe adopt a few more furkids. For those who're dog lovers, they'll tell you how these lovely doggies behave so much like babies and kids (though some non dog lovers may not relate to it and find it offensive). And will go travelling when DH retires. Like you said, there's so much out there to explore. Stay cheerful.

Hi All, am new here. Just had my first SO IUI and is currently in my tww... So nice to find a thread that is so supporting to those tcc n in tww.. This journey is really not easy....

Cheeka.. Understand Ur frustration.. My DH used to have low sperm count n bad morphology too.. Then I jet him with lots of raw honey cherry tomatoes ( fr ntuc) daily for quite sometime n take oyster 1day before sperm test n iui.. N miracle was that his result was fantastic n better than required for iui...maybe you can try jet Ur hubby for a month or two then go for test again.. Hope it helps.. =)

JoYHope: Yes! I was thinking of adopting a dog from SPCA, but we stay in HDB, so it's kinda limited. Also... the requirements are rather strict.

Baby: What kind of honey may I know? Oh really? The normal cherry tomatoes? I am trying to ask him to eat oyster once a week
Thanks for the tips!
Good luck for your 2ww!

Cheeka > Google for ASD, they are rehoming dogs. Understand that there's a pilot project with SPCA & ASD to rehome smaller local dogs to HDB flat owners. Or google petschannel to check on its adoption page.

Cheeka: thanks.. Need lotsa luck now.. Ha.. Just normal cherry tomatoes.. Usually I buy from Ntuc .. The box writes Honey Cherry Tomatoes... =) oysters can eat on n off la.. But not too much k.. Later high cholesterol also troublesome... So I just ask my hubby eat the night before he go testing n the night before we go for iui...

Can get Ur DH to eat zinc supplement la... That's wat is needed from oyster but minus cholesterol.. =)

Cheeka,

Glad to see you're in a more positive mood now
Good idea to go for a holiday and spend more quality time with hubby.. Like the others have shared, there are many things that we can look gorward to and enjoy while ttc-ing, so let's just focus on making our lives meaningful.. We want kids because they'll be the gift of the love from a couple, let us not be too stressed or unhappy in the process..

I love to spend time on baking and cake decor too.. You can sign up for some classes and make new friends at the same time
It's not difficult to have a doggy, i stay in hdb and i have 1 too.. But it's a big responsibility so still gotta think carefully k.. They can really bring a lot of joy

My hubby took zinc and his sperm count increased significantly.. He has started on selenium to improve motility/morphology.. If ur hubby is interested, maybe can give it a try..

JoyHOpe: Ow... thanks!!!

Baby: I tried to find zinc supplement,but apparently, they dont sell only zinc supplement. Usually, it's sold together with Vit C. Which is good! But DH is not discipline lho...

Cheeka,

Yup not easy to find zinc supplements.. There is only one that we found that matches exactly the content of what my previous gynae prescribed.. Zinc Chelate 30 mg by Greenlife brand.. You can find it in unity.. My hubby's sperm count went from 10 mil to 50 mil in 9 mths so i guess it helped..

Thanks Ladies, you are always so supportive

Yesterday, I called doctor to give him an update of my condition and he asked me to go in for another blood test. He also ordered a pregnancy test too. Well he has called me back and said my OHSS is stable and although my pregnancy test is a little early (only 8 days after ET), he said it is highly likely I'm BFP. He asked me to go for another test tomorrow to confirm it and see if my HCG level has increased. he told me to be cautiously positive in the meantime.

Wow, I never expect to get this news in this way. I don't know to celebrate yet or be nervous. Today, I still feel the same but seem more nauseous. Still bloated and miserable.

So ladies...I cautiously get my baby dusts ready until my confirmation

Lil ponyo: congratulations!!!!! So happy for you!!!! You must rest well k.. My doc mentioned before if you got ohss and bfp, it will take longer for the ohss to subside.. So pls continue your water and protein intake!!!! Wishing you a smooth 9 months ahead...

Laki: I'm not doing too good.. I thought all my bfp symptoms are disappearing which mean my body is used to the new development but then suddenly I am hit by ms and tiredness... Sigh.. I have been sleeping non stop. The moment I'm awake I feel tired and sleepy again.. Then the nausea also makin me very sick.. Sigh.. Trying to control my food intake and still finding out what kind of food which my stomach can take it and not give me nausea..

How are you girls doing? Hope you all are doing great..

Cheeka: initially must keep reminding my DH to take tomatoes every night too.. Then soon it become a routine to him.. Ha.. Maybe u can just ask him daily if he take his pill.. After that he will probably get use to it ba... Men usually not as Kan Chiong as us.. So not discipline.. But they are afraid of our powerful nagging.. Heehee..

Baby: Thanks for the tips. You know what? Im gonna incorporate tomatoes everyday for his breakfast! Hahahaha....

Cheeka: ya.. U remember to give him eat them he bo bian will eat le.. My DH usually eat every night for supper.. Now he loves it n He will eat half a box a day with salt.. So we buy my tomatoes in the fridge... Ha..But they can't last very long... So initially you try buy 1 or 2 box first...

Thank you ladies, but I'm being cautious about my hopes until tomorrow's blood test. To be honest, I'm a bit scared to get BFP because it will prolong my OHSS like Saralyn said. I'm scared of more pain and nausea. Really hope this will go away quickly. This really reminds me again how strong and resilient we all are to put up with so much physically and emotional to have our baby. Jia you!

Saralyn, I can totally understand what you mean with the nausea. Hang in there, girl. You will get through this.

I want to share with you one saying that I read from the Internet recently that helped me get through these few days is "moment by moment, day by day, I will get through this!"

Hope it helps!

Laki gal, is your AF here yet?

Lil, havent lei, 1st time hor i wish it will come haha but still waiting. I believe u will sure get better de. Think of ur end result w ur baby in u n u will go thru everythin. Btw kep us update on u hving twin or singleton k.

Saralyn, try to eat small meals at a time n it might help u w it.

Laki gal,

Remember last time u helped to track the timeline of the few of us who were going for ivf? Looks like all have bfp-ed on 1st try.. You'll be the next

min81, ya i juz tell my dh tat most of my cycle buddies already bfp n on 1st try. He oso envy of them. Actually I guess u will b d nxt coz u will sure success de coz u already did fm ur iui

Fanice, it shld b d other way round. IUI success rate shld b lower than IVF. I rem my doc was telling me tat iui d success rate is bout 15% while ivf is higher bout 30%. D % actually depend on age as well.

Lil ponyo: Try to eat more egg white k... As i got pcos, I get ohss easily too... I started taking egg white while was on injectable le as was scared by my first SO 2 years back that resulting in many eggs n was converted to ivf but did not suceed... =( I have bad ohss and was hospitalized for 5 days on protein drip.. Every meal they will bring me a big bowl of egg white... Already wan to poke but still got to drink it.. So nurse teach me to pour in a little of room temp milo.. It make it better n easier to drink.. So now I make thick milo.. Press only a little hot water.. Abt 1cm in height.. Wait for it to cool then mix in egg white.. Then think that you are drinking chocolate jelly so not so bad.. Ha... Egg white really helps.. H2O helps too but not as effective as egg white.. Just make u pee n blurp more to relieve the uncomfort...

Laki and Min81, jia you, it will be your turn very very soon! Meanwhile enjoy your days of being free and active and without pain! Ha ha! I was telling DH this morning (after 9 days of bed rest and pain) that I miss my old self. Being able to walk without being breathless, going to the gym to do kickboxing, fitting into my clothes and even standing up straight!

Baby, thank you so much for the tip! May I ask if the bowl of egg white cooked? (like half boiled?) or raw?

Fanice, Laki is right, depending on your age ivf success rate is approx 30%. Iui is generally lower at 10-15%

Laki gal, Lil ponyo,

I hope so too! Haha.. But trying not to think too much.. Think i'm taking enough health stuff already so now not reading up much or stressing myself too..

Laki gal,

So you're waiting for AF too? Me too! Supposed to be these couple of days if lap didn't disrupt my cycle.. Don't know yet whether iui will be oct or nov.. Gotta wait till i see my doc next wk..

Lil ponyo: it's raw egg white.. Cannot cook.. That's why milo must be at room temp... Take 2 to 3 egg white after every meal.. N drink h2o ( without gassy).. Ohss is a lot of water retention.. So u got to pee more to release the uncomfort.. I remember while in hospital I got to measure my water intake n my pee daily lo... Hope it will helps... =)

lilponya> yup its alright. everything is going to be fine in the end, if its not, it means u have not reach the end, and the end is when u deliver the cute baby(ies). congrats!!

cheeka> i totally can feel hw u feel. my dh knew his troops is nt good since 2009, yet nv want to improve. bot selenium, zinc, vit E as previously rec by ex-gynae, but he took 3/4 of ea bottle and din continue. and he still thinks we can conceived naturally! really frustrating... until now old liao, and after lots of pushing from me, we went to another dr and he gave him supplements. dr said its for me to feed him! but too bad, SA still not good. altho aft tcm (8mths eating tsb medic), it improve, but still below normal. so dr said conceive naturally is like 1-2% only.. i think only recently dh "woke up" n start to take supplements that i suggest to him. now preparing for ourselves to do ivf in 3mths time.. but its really stressful.. dh said no kids, he will not be happy..
then i suggests if no kids, we have doggies, then he shows me the "dislike" face. haiz, i think no kids means we will have no couple life anymore.. sighs

baby> i heard cannot eat raw EW, as raw will contain virus in the eggs? my hubby said he read from some internet sources..

Lil > I'm queuing for your bb dust! All signs are so positive!

Baby hope faith > The nurse kept warning me again and again to eat as many egg whites starting from stimulation stage to prevent ohss... thanks so much for sharing. She warned me if bad, must be hospitalize and put on protein drip.

lin: I think should be fine ba.. Cos my Gynea ask me take n hospital also gave me a lot every meal... Maybe once crack the egg must immediately eat dun leave it in open for too long ba... Initially I also tot is half boil but when admitted to hospital realized it must be raw to enjoy its full protein... =)

Saralyn: hang in there. Eat some sour plums , it may helps. My doc gave me vit b6 ,hope to relieve nausea feeling . I always remind this statement ' although I am unwell, as long as you are growing healthy' ! JY jy

Lin: Yes! Why men are like that! So frustrating!
kao_angry.gif

Dont they know that this is so important for us! Why cant they put 100%!!! Sigh... Im trying to encourage my dh too to change his lifestyle - with tender loving care. Anyway, he is not ready for IVF yet. So... here I am, wasting my biological clock... tick-tock-tick-tock...

Lil ponyo: thank you.. Hanging there strongly..

Laki: ya.. I eating small meal now.. And drinkng orange juice now.. Can't take water.. I used to love fish a lot but now the sight of fish makes me so nausea. Sigh.. Preg can really Change one totally..

I believe you will bfp in the next cycle when you doing fet. Is a bfp month for us in this thread!!!! This bfp will continue to you all!!

Min: you too!! Don't give up!!!

Dian tang: I thinking of getting my b6 to eat too. I really can't take it.. Last night my husband was drinking soup infront of me and I got super nausea by seeing him drinking soup!! Cannot believe it.. Do you think b6 helps in reducing the ms? My appointment is only next Monday.. I don't think I can take it till then..

ya this mth alot of bfp! hopefully when its my turn also so lucky hhaa

saralyn> what is b6? hope u can feel better soon, some preg will feel v sick esp first 6mths, some for 3 mths.. but stay strong ok! its all worth it!

cheeka> oh TLC doesnt work for me.. haiz.. i also wasted 3 yrs of my bio clock. they can wait but we cannot leh! and i asked him to slp earlier, cos maybe will affect, but he said cannot slp how to?? urgh! i really dunno hw.. just hope he good boy these 3mths

Joyhope: ya.. Egg white really help.. I started to eat during simulation stage this round though I on very low dose cos I only doing iui... But was very bloated after the H&G jab.. So continue to eat just in case... I did check with Gynea if it will affect the procedure or chance n he say no.. So I just take ..

Saralyn: I ate vit b6 plus sour plums and it helps . But the nausea effect is on and off now . So u feel easily hungry now? Take small meals of what u feel like eating . I even try to eat Mac fillet o fish burger too .
Maybe u need the nausea med too .

Lin: is vitamin b6.. Read online this can help in ms.

Dian tang: today I feel better. Only nausea before I had my 3 meals.. I am ok now but can feel the nausea is slowly coming back again.. Sigh..

Ya.. I had lunch at 12.30 and I was starving at 2... But I don't get hungry so fast all the time..

I realised I can eat mac chicken burger and nugget very well.. Cheese bun too.. No fish no soup..

Ok I will definitely get it from my doc during my appointment. Can't wait to be next Monday to see them.

Saralyn: are u drinking milk? Milk cause the vomit too. I stopped my ensure drink .You can try to drink ginger tea , can relieve the nausea feeling too .

Lil Ponyo: good luck to your BT tomorrow .

Cheeka: good luck for your iui . Avoid strenuous activity dur 2ww . Keep positive and happy !!

Laki gal and min81: hope to hear the bpp news from u soon !! Jy !

Hi everyone! Long time no see!! Hi Min, Saralyn, and Lil Ponyo!!

Saralyn, is that good news I see??? CONGRATS!!!! Wow, lots of baby dust this month

Sorry I have been away for a long time, I just didn't want to think about ttc too much. Update from me: did a few cycles on Chinese medicine as Clomid did nothing for me, it seemed to help a little but still no BFP. Last cycle I tried Femara (Letrozole) for the first time and it worked like a charm! All the medical research on Femara and PCOS seemed to be right in my case. I had three large eggs, perfect lining, triggered on the right time, BD'ed, but .... AF arrived yesterday :\

Just went to see my doc (Dr Charles Lim)today and he says, getting pregnant is not a numbers game, it's about persistence. So, jia you all of us here!

I wanted to get some feedback from all of you. We are thinking about (finally) moving on to IUI, and I was shocked how much it costs! Then I started reading up about insurance/ medical funding for assisted fertility, and was shocked by how restrictive the benefits are. Can only do three times, must do public hospital, got cap here cap there....like that how to improve our birth rate?

So this is just a little thought here, but I want to collect your feedback, and maybe petition MOH/the government in some way to improve the insurance coverage for girls like us. I was so mad after reading about how lousy medisave coverage is, I mean, keep talking about wanting graduate mothers to have more babies, then put your money where your mouth is! Please share your thoughts, don't shy shy!

(Parting shot: I mentioned this to the nurses at my clinic and they were very supportive. They said yes! yes! Must write in)

One more thought. How many of you here are on Facebook, and would you be comfortable on a Facebook private group?

I'm on a US facebook group for girls like us now, and it's INCREDIBLY helpful. It's also 100% PRIVATE, meaning your posts don't appear on your friends newsfeed, NO ONE but the girls in the group see it, and joining is by invitation only.

The reason I mention this is this sgmotherhood forum is great, but in terms of mobile access and posting photos, charts, etc, can be quite difficult to use/follow. I'm thinking of starting a group on Facebook - we'd all be using our real names instead, but remember, everything is 100% PRIVATE.

PM me if you're interested? I have a few girlfriends offline also ttc and who are keen to start a FB group.

Yah! Cannot use insurance some more right! That's why I want to bug the boost-population team to investigate and improve Medisave coverage for girls like us. You want babies, right?

Jen: IuI itself cost below $600.. It's more ex if its SO IUI at abt $1.5k... However there is a need to take blood test for both urself n DH before first iui n cost abt $500 n is valid for 2 yrs I think..

For the grant for assisted fertity, u can do it with private gynea too. Just that u need to top up the access that exceed the grant.. Usually private Gynea charge higher than governed Gynea.. I think ppl will usually leave the grant for ivf as iui or so iui is much lesser than the grant...

Hopes the above info helps.. =)