IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

dian tang: my friend also gave me conceive well gold.. I really don't like the smell of the pill.. heehee.. I alternate the pill and capsule. taking both at the same time is kinda too much and i think i become very heaty if both are taken at the same day. So, switch to alternate and doing great so far..

lil ponyo: yes.. very near to my er.. hopefully I will have good eggs growing and will be able to do et.. Somehow I am very worry my egg or my husband sperm is not good and I will not have any embryo to transfer.. =(

when are you going back for review and start your stimulation?

regarding IPL, it is best to avoid all these during your IVF. I did not even go for my facial, mani, pedi and massage now... Feeling kinda depressed now without all my enjoyment. Hahahaha..

Hi Dian Dang and Saralyn, we did two IUIs already from different gynaes. DH not ready to do IVF but I really2 wanted to have my own child. Sigh... Gynae suggested several more IUIs but it's kinda expensive plus the disappointments.

Saralyn, which stage r u in ur ivf? Hv u done your ET? Did you eat plenty of chicken eggs?

Hi cheeka,

Normally doc will advise 3 times iui if there's no major issue.. However, if you feel that you really wish to go through ivf for higher chances, you can let your doc know and see what he says..

For myself, did a natural iui.. Conceived but lost bb at 8 wks.. We decided on ivf cos i don't wish to waste any more time also.. I've quit my job and everything is kinda on hold.. My gynae did not approve of me going on to ivf so quickly but my hubby and i explained our reasons and doc eventually said ok..

Most importantly is to have a good talk with your hubby.. This has to be a joint decision.. You'll be needing a lot of his support as well during the whole process..

Saralyn, my review is on 4 Sept. I think I will start stimulation on that day too. Okay, okay, I will cancel my IPL appt. Earlier this week, I cannot 'tahan' and went for a facial. Ha ha!

Don't worry too much as it will not serve any purpose. Your eggs will be fine. Did you ask your doctor about ICSI? If doing ICSI, you won't have to worry about your DH's sperm.

Nicxl, doc told me to rest for at least 3 mths to let my body clear out the medcine from injection... But I was thinking to give myself to rest for 6 mths and at the same time, to go tiao my body.... My gf keep telling me to let my body recover well b4 gg for ivf... So I will rest till next march / April and book appt with prof Wong at nuh.... Most likely not gg bk to kkh for ivf.... My hospitalization leave is until 4 sept... So gg bk to work on 5 sept...

Saralyn, How u feeling today??? Better now??? I cannot tahan staying at home doing nothing so I gg for facial tml... Hahahahaaa..... But will go bk home after facial....

Dream, cannot skip folic acid... I have been taking it 5 years ago till now... Is v important to bb development!!! My tcm oso ask my hb to take but hb lazy to take... So I giving hb COQ10 only....

Min81, wow! You quit your job?! For how long already? I was thinking the same thing and told DH that I should quit my job too. But he said that we need the money for all the treatments and stuff like that cos his income is not stable. I am scared of losing my income also.

DH not ready for IVF. He said that that is the last resort. He doesnt like it that I go through all the invasive treatment. Existingly, he doesnt like me eating clomid and having injectins cos problem is actually with him.

Lil_ponyo,

Ya better not go ipl for now.. Mine last time was done by dermatologist..He told me to inform him if i pregnant then he'll defer my package..

Duffy bear,

Good lah, go facial relax a bit before going back to wk.. Btw, if you intend to make appt to see prof wong, best do it a mth in advance.. Also, for 1st time consultation, u can make appt for saturday.. Subsequently, he will only see you on wkdays..

Cheeka,

It's only been 2 mths.. Tried to save as much as we could before i quit.. Just have to live simpler.. At least we'll know we've tried..

Your hubby must be feeling xin tong for you

I've bought the blackmores coq10 from unity.. They only have the 50 mg and 150 mg.. So i took the 50 mg.. $62 for 1 bottle 60 capsules.. Got 20% off so i paid $49.60..

Saralyn,

Your friend so good, give you supplements.. Now no salary, whenever i spend money, a bit heart pain.. Haha..

Dian_tang,

Can i check with you, the ensure milk is not supposed to drink with hot water? Cos instructions say cool or cold water..

Min81: i drank with room temp water . I suspect maybe the minerals and vitamins wld be affect if drink with hot water.it is quite nice to drink if you follow the 6 scoops dosage. i usu drink it in the morning.

Saralyn: will you be doing ICSI? cos ICSI is whereby the good sperm are picked and inject to the egg that were collected. the only thing that we have to worry after the ET is implantation of embryos.
For the conceive well, i also dun like the smell. but i always eat the tablet and capsules cos both contain diff. vits and minerals.

min81: usu if i drink ensure milk cos it already contain protein, i reduce the EW and eat more tofu and fish.

Lil Ponyo: thanks for the well wishes. I am going for the blood test tomo instead cos i see red in the morning. kind of sad but i know i have to accept the fact. Keep my fingers crossed and pray hard. Preparing for the worst.

min81: btw, once the ensure milk can is opened, the contents have to consumed in 3 weeks. so i always buy the small can.. expensive but no choice.

Dian_tang,

Okie thanks.. Will take note and finish in 3 wks..

Is it full flow? If it's not, could it be implantation bleeding? It's only been about a week or so.. In any case, don't worry too much k.. Just go for the blood test tmr and see how..

Thank you all for the well wishes!! All of us here are strong and brave ladies . We already give our best shot , so it is fated if god want to give us a child .

Laki gal: where do u get the ensure milk that come with the shaker? I think a shaker is more convenient than stirring it .

Hi ladies, I'm joining this thread, hope to learn from each other in this ttc journey.

Abit abt myself: I'm been ttc for 20 mths, I have tried 3 cycles of unmedicated IUIs, 1 cycle of SO IUI, clomid for the first time last month, n I will be trying SO IUI again this month. Today is CD1. The clomid last month (100mg fr CD2-6) really thinned out my lining (it was at only 3.9mm on CD11), so this month, my doc (I'm currently with Dr Foong at Gleneagles) is being creative n putting me on clomid 25mg fr CD2-6, Puregon jabs 100iu on CD4/6/8/10 n estrogen pills fr CD7 onwards. Haiz i think of all the meds I'm putting into my body I feel like crying sometimes. But hey, eye on the prize, if this is what it takes, this is what I will do it. If this cycle does not work I will be moving on to IVF in Nov. Cos I'm already getting into my mid 30s. Never thought it will take me this long!

Good luck n jia you to all the ladies here!

Laki_gal,

Where to get the ensure milk with shaker? I went to a few places just now.. Didn't see that it comes with shaker.. I bought the big tin.. I was still thinking of using a small water bottle and shake up the mixture..

Min n Dian tang, u cn try getting fm fairprice, I got mine tat. I oso saw guardian oso hve d shaker. Beside tat my hospital pharmacy oso hve it.

Bbcrips, welcome. Let jy tog. I might b doin my fet in nov.

Charlotte, I read b4 tat taking red bean soup cn help w d lining

Laki_gal,

That's funny.. I just bought the ensure milk from fairprice just now.. Don't have the shaker leh.. I went to guardian before that also don't have.. Next time will look out for it.. Thanks!

Bbcrips,

Jia you! Wish you all the best for your so iui

Hi ladies, what is ensure milk good for? Maybe I should take too. Is it too late to start?

Hi Bbcripps, welcome to the thread! I'm also with Dr Foong and has been TTC for 21 months now. Failed 3 IUIs (2 natural IUI + 1 with clomid). Now in the middle of my first IVF. Stay positive and jia you, ya!

Lil Ponyo: I drink ensure for protein . But of course the milk also contain other vit and minerals . It is a nutrient drink .

min81, d shaker is actually come w d tin few wks ago, not sure itiz d promo is over or wat but i still able to c d shaker around my plc here.

Lil, is nv too late to get started. U can try drink ensure nw, there are vanilla, chocolate n strawberry favour.

dian tang, gd luck for ur bt.

Morning, ladies...today is Friday and we can now all start counting down to the weekend... i went for tcm last night and understood further from Dr Zou. According to her, if ovualtion doesnt come somewhere between D14-D20, then chances are that the egg may not be very good either.. Today is D15 but my opk yet to be positive. So i only have 3 more days to go.. this month decides to try natural again...so good luck to all of us...

Dian Tang: good luck for your bt! Stay positive! U never know till the results are out.

Is Ensure milk for adults or babies?? sorry for such a lame question cos i hav never heard of this brand.. cos earlier on, my friend was saying how adults shouldnt be drinking milk meant for babies cos the nutrients are too high for us and may initiate some of the cancer cells inborn in all of us...i dunno how true so just wondering..

Hi Bbcripps! You're here too! Jia you! Im doing natural IUI this cycle without any medication.

May I find out from Bbcripps and Lil Ponyo, what is the reason behind your IUI? Is it male factor? If it is, can share how is your DH's counts pre and post wash?

Min: haha! I still got to buy after finishing them. I agreed with you they are very expensive..

Dian tang: didn't read the thread till now.. Hope you are experiencing implantation bleeding..
all the best to your blood test today.

Ya.. The nurse was explaining to me it will be ICSI.. Only if my husband provides a superd specimen and they retrieved alot of eggs, then they will only take afew eggs and do conventional ivf. The rest will do ICSI. Higher fertilisation rate.

Bbcrips: welcome!!

Ladies, regarding ensure milk, my mil told me mix it and put in fridge.. Drink it chill is very nice! But we can't drink cold stuffs..

Laki_gal,

Wah maybe the fair price i went is very popular that's why no more.. In fact, the vanilla was all gone and choco and strawberry left 2 each..

Dream,

Don't worry, ensure is a nutrient drink for adults.. Like anlene milk, it is stated on the tin that it is not meant for children..

Dian tang,

All the best for your blood test today!

Thanks ladies for the welcome. Hope we can all graduate from this journey soon.

Laki gal: All the best for your blood test! Fingers n toes crossed for u!

Cheeka: My first gynae suggested unmedicated IUI, basically to give my DH's troops abit of headstart I guess. His count is good, motility is average, but morphology last yr was only 2%. It did improve to 5% this yr though, I think it's cos of the Vit C n E he took. So we tried 3 cycles of that. But no success. So I changed gynae (hoping to change feng shui haha), n she was more aggressive. Got me to try one cycle of SO IUI with Puregon. Got 3 perfect size follicles of 19-20mm, lining was 12mm, IUI was done exactly 36 hrs after trigger shot, but, still no success. That was devastating. Plus it delayed my next cycle by 2 weeks (when I'm usually regular at 30-33 days). So I changed gynae again to Dr Foong. He said it's because my ovaries r tired cos they had to work extra hard the previous month. He said basically I'm ovulating ok, n DH's troops r actually good enough to work, but just to up our chances with more eggs, he suggested clomid, which is less invasive than injections. So I tried that last month n got 2 follicles but it thinned out my lining alot. So this month he wants me to try the min dosage of clomid plus injections. I'm going to give this a try but if it doesn't work I'm going to bite the bullet n try IVF. I cannot remember my DH's post wash count offhand, I will go home n check tonight n let u know.

Thanks, Laki and Dian_tang, I will go and check out Ensure milk this weekend. By the way, still praying hard for your BFP, Dian_tang!

Cheeka, I don't remember the details of my DH's troops off hand but it's not good. The volume is good but the rest is below the standard. I think morphology is around 2% too. As for me, as far as the tests shows, everything is good. Lining is thick, I ovulate regularly, enough ovarian reserve, etc. But I don't like to think that we failed our IUI because of my DH's troops. This is because although they are poor, they are good enough for fertilization and also finding nothing wrong with me in the tests doesn't mean that I'm 100% good. According to doctor, it just means that we don't know what is wrong with me. And technology and science have not advanced to find out more. Hence IVF is good for us (unexplained infertility cases) because it takes a lot of guessing out of the equation. Everything from ovulation to fertilization can be manually controlled. The only thing left to nature and fate is implantation.

Bbcripps, thanks for sharing. Last time, I did clomid and injections as well with Dr Charles. But the IUI failed, despite DH's count was 20 mil pre-wash. We took about three-four months break already, so this cycle, im trying unmedicated first. If it fails, back to SO IUI next cycle.

Regarding thin lining, maybe the ladies here know how to improve the lining?

When I had clomid last time, I was very dry. So the doctor gave me Vit C. I also tried grapefruit juice and lots of garlic. I think they help.

Lil ponyo, we are in the same boat. My DH's volume is good, but count and morphology was bad. Morphology only 1%. There is also nothing wrong with me so far after checks and blood tests. Gynae did suggest IVF but DH is not ready yet. Sigh...

Cheeka, you can try red bean soup.. the ladies here told me so coz I have thin lining problem too. At my day 6 of stimulation, my lining is at 8. So, i assumed the red bean soup did help. =)

You are with Dr Charles??!! I was with him previosly too. He will give flumicil for you to drink to have fertile mucus right?

laki and dian tang: During your stimulation, do you have alot of egg white discharge? I'm wondering am I ovulating soon?? I thought I shouldn't be ovulating on my own right?

saralyn, during my stimulation, i dont really hve a lot of discharge, is juz tat i go toilet more often, not sure itiz my follicles growing bigger n press onto my bladder coz tat time during d scan, i juz go pee n af a while d nurse told me my bladder is full again. I nearly wanna pee out during d scan.

Lil, thks hope i will have many good quality eggs. I cant take any food/drink after midnite. 2ml ER will b at 8.15am. Pray hard everythin will b smooth for me.

Saralyn, yes, i am with Dr Charles. He gave me flumicil. I also read that Vit c and garlic is good for mucus. :D Yes, I will try red bean.

BBcripps, try red bean too!

Laki_gal,

Best of luck for your er tmr! Saw you mention on the other thread that you're not feeling very well today.. Rest well and drinks lotsa water.. Take care!

min, thks, ya since yest feeling sore throat n hving flu. Now kep drink water till every few mins go toilet till i oso tired of peeing liao. Was tellin dh mayb god know im gg fall sick n tat y need to postpone my ET till when im feeling better which i hope i can do it nxt mth. Really everything happen for a reason.

U will b starting ur cycle soon oso rite, jy k. Now u can start to drink d milk but bcoz it is oso quite heaty so i only drink alternate day. If u r not those ez heaty type then think u can hve it daily.

Duffy Bear, rest properly and mayb go on a short trip to rejuvenate.

Welcome BBcripps! It's good you join us coz ever since I start chatting with the sisters here, I dont feel so depressed...whatever thing (no matter how small it is), you can always tell us.

Saralyn, u are so lucky to have a cooking DH!
Btw, why arent you not supposed to ovulate on your own?

Laki_gal - hope u will feel better soon. TGIF!

I'm on PM leave, even tho I have no plans. I am happy that I get half a day off! Am going to take the blood test (DPO14) and see dr loh for review. I already spotting for 3 days (including today) so I know my AR report very soon coz my swollen ( . ) ( . ) reduced in size today, but it is ok, I tell myself to look forward to the weekend and a short holiday in Sept.

Jia you girl!!!

Laki gal: ok ok thanks.. I got alot of egg white discharge.. Hm.. Wondering why.

Good luck to your ER tomorrow!!!! Drink more water now.. Flood yourself with water..

Nicxl: I thought we should not ovulated because of the medication, Lucrin, we injecting in?

Haha! Ya... I'm lucky but he only cooks on weekend. By the time he came home on weekday, it will be very late so I will do simple food on weekdays.

Good luck to your blood test later..

oh, not very familiar with the prOcedure of IVF. Sorry for asking.

Just finished te blood test- the nurse anyhow poke! Painful sia! Wonder how many times must I go thru this. :-(

Happy tots and positive thinking... +++

Just ate a bowl of red bean soup! He..he... hope it will improve my lining.

Tonight will cook herbal chicken soup "bu xie".

Lil_ponyo,

I was at cold storage earlier and saw the ensure milk on offer at 32.90.. Cheapest i've seen so far.. Just started today.. You can check it out over the weekend

Saralyn,

Maybe you can check with your doc if it's common to have the discharge.. Put ur mind at ease.. Stay positive!

Laki_gal,

Yup i also believe things happen for a reason.. It's good to stay positive.. Just take good care after your ER and prepare to receive your embryos soon!

Just took ensure milk this morning.. Quite nice.. I mixed in water bottle and shake it till well mixed.. I'll try taking daily and see how..

Now waiting for my AF.. Actually it's already 32 days.. Should come by latest 36 days.. Hope can be slightly later cos my doc won't be around on mon and i can only see him on tue.. Nurse told me up to day 5 still can start ivf if no cysts.. Crossing my fingers!

min, mayb ur af went for holidays already

saralyn, i drank a lot of water n kep gg toilet. Hmm think diff pple hve diff reaction to d jab so dont worry. Last nite, i hve d lucrin jab n 2day i saw a bit of d white discharge so mayb is d reaction to d medication.

dian tang n saralyn, 2ml af my ER anythin i need to take note of?