IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Hi Duffy bear,

Some ppl go direct to IVF without even trying IUI or SO IUI, coz the success rate is higher. But I am hesitant too, even tho chances of success for SO IUI is lower. So I am gg thru the same process of starting with SO IUI now.

Otw to Dr Loh clinic now. I will be brave!!!

Dream, eu yan sang selling Ginger+brown sugar cube, u just need to pour hot water then can drink. But anyone know brown sugar same with black sugar?

Good afternoon ladies...
Duffy bear, *hugs hugs* Don't be
When the doctor told u that u have blocked tube, is it a confirmed blockage or just say possible to be blocked which that's why u choose so-iui first before ivf? See what the doctor have to say before you decide yourself. Maybe can ask him why will cycle failed?
Take a break & sort out your thoughts before proceeding the next step.
No matter what, we will be here to share and listen to you..
DUN GIVE UP!

When I knew my tubes were blocked, dr recommended I go for iVF direct, but I was scared stiff, so I chose to go for lapro to 'unblock' the tubes and try naturally, it's been more than a year, not sure if my tubes kena 'block' again or not, but I still go for SO IUI.

But if your tubes are not 100% block, still got chance. Coz I believe miracles do happen. :)

Hi nicxl, thanks for your info and encouragement.Is this your first SO-IUI also? I have yet to google information about SO-IUI information and what to expect.

Maybe u can guide me along?

Duffy Bear: Hugz Hugz.. Dun give up! We are all working hard together and one day, i am sure we will succeed. Just stay positive and perserve..

MoreBBs: Thks for letting me know! I will drop by e shop then. I am not sure of the difference between brown adn black sugar. I asked my mum but she said diff type of sugar. Black sugar usually for herbal...mayb black sugar better..

Thanks Dream and Duffy Bear! You are right, not as scary as I tot!

Wondersss, what stage are you at now? I decided to try SO IUI for the first time and today is my D5. I went to see Dr Loh to start puregon injections. I was expecting him to help me with the first injection, but instead he asked me to jab myself... I was so shocked that my eyes opened so big that they almost popped out! But I think I should try with him around so he can guide me, so I said "Yes", and took that big fat pen-looking syringe (but luckily the needle is small and tiny)...

I managed to poke myself but too scared to press the syringe. After 30seconds, Dr loh buay tahan already, he helped me to press the liquid out -it was done!

Then he asked me to practise with another 'fake' one, and I managed to press it finally. Luckily it is the "pen" version so I dont have to "fix" up the thingy. Just turn it to 75ml and poke it into my fats. Hahahah...quite an experience.

Will be doing this for the next 2 day before I go back to let Dr Loh review on Monday.

Actually there were no prep talk (I think I get more info from you all here in this thread), and I stepped out of his room within 10 mins, paid $408. More $$$ come next week.

Wondersss, that's is about all I experienced today. Will share more info with you on Monday.

I think I quite brave today, shall reward myself by watching the Cartoon "Brave" over the weekend! TGIF gals! So glad I can post my experience here today. =)

Duffy bear,

Hugzz.. See what the doctor says next week.. Let's jia you together!

MoreBBs,

From what i understand, both brown and black sugar are considered unrefined sugars.. After the process of churning the cane into white sugar, the molasses (by-product of the process) are added back into the sugar.. Brown sugar has a lower percentage of the molasses so it's lighter.. Molasses contain potassium, calcium and other minerals so black sugar is tjought of as a healthier choice..

Dear all, Thks for the encouragement... Though more or less confirm AF coming cos the flow getting more heavier but I will preserve till the end... ( but can't deny that I'm abit disappointed)

With all the encouragement from the bubbies here, I feel that I'm not alone .... Let Jia you and work toward our goal!!!

Have a nice weekend...

Btw, nicxl , you ate just one big step by injecting the puregon into yourself... Keep up the good work!!! We are proud of you !!!

Wondersss, I oso dunno my tube is blocked or wat?? 2 gynea at KKH say different things ... One say my right tube is blocked whereby another gynea say my tube is narrow but not blocked!!! Sigh!!

Hi Min81, Yes, i think u r correct becos i did read something like this last time, but just cant recall. Thanks.. So if cant find black sugar, brown sugar still better than normal white sugar.

hi nicxl, thanks for the info.. actually i have yet to fix date gir so-iui. im waiting to see dr sadhana to tell her my decision. alot of my ttc mates r advising me to go direct ivf since is a blockedvtube but somehow i want to try so-iui before ivf. i dun want to emotionally traumatized yet..

duffy, hug hug.. i can understand yr point.. y r u seeing 2 diff gynaes? i can understand yr fustrations when there is no direct answers to yr tubes. just like my case, the report shows MOST LIKELY blocked.. wth!! wht is most likely??!! means is either or... vague answer sia th AAA t is y i decided to try so-iui first although might be a failed cycle at the start liao.. haiz

MoreBBs , you can buy black sugar at hock Hua. They are selling at $1.00 per pkt...

Wondersss, we are in the same situation ... Tat why I oso go for SO IUI first to see how my body reacted .... End up only 1 egg matured... But nevertheless, I will not give up my hope... You must preserve too....

MoreBBs,

Don't worry, quite easy to buy black sugar in singapore.. Like duffybear mentioned, can get from hock hua, it's also sold at ntuc under the 'pasar'brand.. I heard in tcm, black sugar has got warming properties, so i guess it'll be good if can use that..

Duffy bear: are the 2 gynea u mention from IVF centre?I run understand y the 2 doc said different things

Nicxl: u are doing great ! A few times u wld be ok.

I will be starting my second type of injection tomo . The nurse will train me tomo. This time the needle is longer and bigger
-_-'

Duffybear,

You did hsg before rite? Maybe you can get the gynae to explain to you using the x ray.. My previous gynae didn't even look at my x ray, just looked at the radiologist's report and saidno blockage but told me lots of other problems.. When i took the x ray and showed my current gynae and told him the things my previous gynae said, he disagreed and explained to me by explaining the x ray to me in detail..

Dian tang, one gynea was from clinic D and the other gynea was from ivf clinic... The gynea from ivf looked at my x ray and zoom into it and explained to me when I told her abt my blocked tube that was told by the gynea at clinic D...

Min81, I did HSG twice ... One time b4 my ectopic pregnancy and one time after my ectopic pregnancy ... It was a painful for me cos I got horrible , terrible cramp when they blow in the air... I dun have a copy of the x ray ... U mean I can request it fm kkh???

Hi ladies, how many days do u abstain before iui? I'm also with dr Loh. He predicts iui to be on mon or tues and told us to bd tonight, which is sat. Any advise?

Laki_gal: ya ya one more week to ooctyes retrieval if everything is ok . Yester they just reduce the drug dosage cos they scared I will have ohss. For the injection I have been doing it myself . But I dunno abt today cos I will be given another new drug to inject . How abt u? U start soon next week?

Dian tang, what process are u gg thru now?

I feel a bit sore throat today, will puregon have any side effects? Hmmmm...

Tub, I was told to sustain 3 days b4 my IUI.

Dian tang, yup most likely to start my cycle once af is here, nw breast feel sore so guess anytime af b here. Starting to feel nervous n excited. Hope n pray for gd results. U jiayou too n let me knw hw d 2nd injection. 2day went for my co body checkup n redraw blood for test, when I c d needle I'm so scare n smemore d nurse poke me so hard so I hope d injection for ivf wnt b tat painful

Nicxl: I am on IVF program , short protocol. Dur my last iui, I run think I have any symptom like. Sore throat . Maybe u can drink more water .

Laki_gal: just had the second drug jab with the nurse coaching. The needle is longer than the needle used in gonalf or purgeon . Think my handling was bad so I cause myself to bleed after jab . Lucky the nurse was patient and taught me how to stop bleeding.but I feel bit sore at the injection area . But I felt ok after an hour. This jab has to be done every morning til the ooctyes retrieval .

Wow I am going for another needle poking session "acupuncture" now !!

Wah so jialat. Ur dh nt ther to help u w d injection? U cn put warm towel at ur injection part as it will help.

I'm thinking af d dis injection, our body full of needle hole n when drink water, all d water will cm out fm d needle hOle lolz

Laki_gal: he was there watching how to do injection . My first time using the longer needle . I dunno why it bleed . Maybe I am too slow to stop bleed . Ok I try that tonight .

Ha ha it made sense cos I always thirsty after the injections ...

Hi Dian Tang,

Can I ask you more about SO IUI, what is needed for DH in the process? Need to know when is he "needed" coz he may be occupied at work this week....

Dr Loh told me DH needs to produce the sperm at Novena Centre, thereafter do we need "transport" the sperm on our own to Thomson Medical on the same day? Do I have to determine if I am ovulating before he produce it at Novena Centre? Seems like a whole day engagement. =(

Nicxl : the dr will advise u which day is the iui . On that day, your DH will give the sperm to the lab and the sperm will be washed . When the sperm is ready, the dr will transfer the washed sperm to you . The process of transfer may take few minutes , just like doing pap smear. Then you will lie on the bed to rest at least for 15 mins . I rem that I request to lie longer time . Then you can go home after that .
Maybe ur DH can produce the sperm in the hosp . It may take u more than half a day depend on the hosp . Maybe u can take one day leave so that you can rest in the afternoon .

Nicxl,

Think your hubby will only know when he needs to submit sperm sample only on the day you take the trigger injection.. So maybe just 1 or 2 days in advance of the iui procedure.. Mine was done on cycle day 14..

Don't worry about it, you'll be given mc for that day.. Have a good rest after the iui procedure

Thanks Dian Tang and Min81, I can pre-ampt DH then. Does he need to take leave as well?

Hmmm... my Day 14 is actually on Sunday (19 Aug), if mine is on Day 15 as well and the clinic is not open, I wonder if Dr Loh will do it earlier?

I heard that in the process if the eggs are not growing, then the plan will be aborted. Is it true?

Hahaha, I only start to ask questions now... hope it is not too late.

i have been a silent reader of this forum.
just like to ask. if IUI done on Day 16, is it considered too late?

thks for advice

good morning girls!!! Hope you all have a great weekend..

nicxl: I'm sure dr loh will time your iui accordingly. I think he is playing around with the date to avoid weekend for my ER and ET.. he mentioned to me they doesnt like it to be on weekend.

when you going back for a scan to check on your follicles? Don't worry so much.. is not good for your body..

rainy: I don't think it will be late. Are you on stimulated ovulation?

Dear All, i called KKH and the nurse say my HCG level went up from the previous reading.

But i got bleeding and the nurse wanted me to go down today to get support... Nurse say might be implanation bleeding or ectopic pregrancy... Im so worry...

Is it too late to eat the support pill since my bleeding started on last friday??

Hi Duffy bear, ur bleeding is not menses bleeding I suppose... Good news and good luck. Do update us yah!

Saralyn, thanks for your tips. Btw, what is ER and ET? When u say they don't like to be on weekends, u referring to the gynae? :p

Follicles grow grow grow! Lol

my menses cycle is usually ard 28 to 29 days. i'm seeing my gyane end of this mth & hope I could do SO-IUI next mth. i tried natural IUI (without any medications & injections) in Nov last yr & last mth but both failed. so thinking of gg for SO-IUI.

Saralyn & nicxl, on my way to take the support pill now... Thinking to ask hb go take the support pill and I eat it in the night!!! But kana scolded by my sister !!! She ask me to take it ASAP as I been bleeding on last 3 days...

Duffy bear,

Are you able to ask for the injection too? You've been bleeding 3 days.. Best to get more support..

Alamak, sound serious, might as well take half day and rest at home.

Are you experiencing any pain? Hope Dr can do a check and give u some assurance.

Don't worry so much... Anxiety can be bad for you. Relaaaaaax

Dear all , there some pulling sensation on my left side on & off... This mrn, I woke up with my backside feeling v sore too...

I will ask nurse got injection or not!!! Stupid services, I did the blood test on Friday pm and they never called me on sat!!! Else, I will go down in sat and dun need to take urgent leave.... Hai.... *sigh*

But the nurse who answered my call is a nice lady... She was shocked when she saw my result ... Say nobody call me to tell me I'm pregnant ah???

Duffy Bear: I think by now you should be 5 weeks pregnant?? Why don't go see a private gynea and do a scan? You should be able to see something for now.. Have a peace of mind..

Please bed rest more and don't walk around so much. Remember to take your support once you got it.

Duffy, OMG... u have given hope to me in situations like yours and hopefully that u are just spotting and will be fine after the support... Get more bedrest meanwhile ok..!!

We are all waiting for your bbdusts!! Pray hard and talk to your beanie and ask him to stick well.. jiayou!

Duffy bear,

Saralyn is right.. If they tell you no doctors at kkh can see you, just go to a private gynae straightaway and ask for scan.. Based on your bleeding, you should be on bedrest now.. Most prob the gynae will give you at least a weeks mc.. Please don't worry about work and taking leave..

Duffy bear, CONGRATS!!!!
Prehaps nw u shld go straight to private gynae as it will b faster. KK will always have to ask u wait n wait so for ur case need to act fast, better to go to prviate gynae. Oh ya oso need to ask kk for d explanation tat y no1 call u up af ur bt.

Hi Ladies, I'm back from holiday!!
I have so much reading on this thread to catch up and I'm so happy to hear your good news Duffybear! Congratulations!! WOW! So happy for you!! Ya, please take care and hope your bleeding stop by now. Take all the support and rest you can get. We are all so 'kan cheong' for you
Ha ha!