IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Thanks Koalatree! Can we do both ACU and SO-IUI at the sametime? My sinseh din recommend ACU, she just prescribed all those herbs (to brew) when i did iui. If u dun mind me asking, how many iui's u've done?

Ashly

U r welcome. FYI, For my last So-iui, I didn't do any ACU as my eggs were growing too fast after taking the stimulation drugs.

I have done 2 normal IUI, only with clomid, there was abt one year ago and at that time I din have any idea on ACU. I think if you are doing normal IUI, you may ask the accupunturist or your ER on this.

You are with which gynae now?

Hi Ashly, yes I have been seeing Dr. Sheila Loh who is the head of the Reproductive Unit (IVF). She is good (patient, experienced and very willing to explain, just that the waiting time to see her is super long) and I think KKH has been having quite high success rate with ivf/iui, i think 2nd highest if i remember correctly among hospitals depsite its charges being one of the lowest. I have done 2 SO-IUI....but the 1st one actually stopped the injetctions 1/2way like koala as i have too many large follices....they were afraid of multiple births. Ashly, how long have u been trying? thinking of doing IUI?

Thanks, Koala, do ask for me okay....wonder during the 2ww can do accupuncture? My fren recommended me the sinseh from Jurong, but i read so many negative threads from SBO that i dare not see her.

This afternoon jus went to see a medical social worker at KKH for counselling before IVF. (part of the compulsory procedures) I think it is really going to be rather emotionally/physically/financially straining, so it is really good to sit down with someone professional to guide me and hubby through the expectations and how to deal with our emotions before we really embark on IVF. I really thank god for these threads on the motherhood forums which gave me so much support as i go through this journey. hope our hard work pays off!

Hi dawn and Koalatree

Do your gynae advice you to switch to IVF when you have too many large follices in the process of IUI?

Actually you just need to go for another stage -ER(eggs retreive) and ET(embryo transfer)when you switch from IUI to IVF. You just require a few more injection when switching IUI to IVF.

Who is your gynae when you are doing IUI?

Wish both of you all the best.

Good Luck and take care

Hi Dawn

I don't have too many follices during my so-iui, there were only 2 big 1 small, but understand that we might need to transfer to IVF if too many follices.

As for the JE sinseh, My HB and I have been seeing her for 2 1/2 years, but may be I have no luck to succeed under her treatment, there are some couples managed to conceive after taken her medication. But, one thing can not deny is my menses is very "chun" (28 days) after seeing her and also every month I have ovulation. So every times when I show her the OPK with two dark lines, she will says, " oh, you ovulate, how come can't make it??" Sigh...

But, FYI, she has no accupunture service.

Sure, I can ask for you, I think wat you mean is IVF 2ww right? Dr Xia explained to me that for natural cycle, her method is to do on 11, 12 and 13 day to help our ovulation. I understand from other sisters, they do acu in 2WW after their ET with Dr Xia.

So when are you going to start the IVF? You can join us in the cycle buddies thread.Dun wori, with a lot of support there, sure you can succeed.

Koalatree
thanks for sharing the info. I did my 1st SO-IUI in nov last year with Dr CT Yeong. He was formerly at KKH and now in pte practice at Tanglin shopping centre. Me and HB found him to be gentle and patient. When the 1st signs of "spotting" came, he was actually on vacation in australia, he sms-ed me to "calm" me down until my af came (that same night). hvn't gone to see him yet this year, cos' b-z with new hse and job... btw, whats "2ww"?

Ashly

2WW is 2 weeks to wait, after ovulation and before confirming pregnancy or before next cycle started.

I thought CT Yeong is overseas doing some research now?

Koalatree
Thanks for the info.
oh... I hvn't gone to see Dr Yeong yet this year thats why dunno he's overseas. U have any idea when he's back... if no, maybe i'd drop him an email to check.
I've polycystic ovaries so i don't ovulate regularly. Took clomid (up till 200mg) for 3mths (b4 IUI). Dr yeong said i din respond well to clomid, so hv to take the "jabs" instead.

Ashly

As wat I know now his wife is taking over and he is doing some research overseas.

Yup, I also heard he is a very good gynae, but "sayang" he is not here, otherwise I will choose him as my ER.

R u under any TCM?

Koalatree

which means dr yeong not goin to be around for awhile?! Really "sayang" leh... oh dear, dunno how... whether to wait for him or to go to another doc... But i know hb prefers him... sorry... can explain "ER"?
My tcm is dr velonka toh (at beauty world). She's always flying to china so always MIA... i've been c-ing her for 1 1/2yrs liao...

Ashly

Ya, i think you have been long time not seeing Dr Yeong, rite? May be you want to check with him c when is he coming back?

ER=gynae.

Oh, the sinseh at Bukit Timah, rite? I heard she will want you to see the gynae she prefer?

Hi dawn
i've taking tcm for > 1.5yrs liao... done my 1st SO-IUI in nov last year... hvn't continued SO-IUI cos' b-z wif new house/job this year. actually i was very discouraged/disappointed until i saw u gals all out in "full force"... really motivated me!

R u starting ivf soon?

Hi koalatree
u r rite! I've "delayed" long enuf not going back to dr yeong...

i'll try and send him an email to c if he responds...
actually dr yeong was recommended by my sinseh... but they've since gone "separate ways". My sinseh's current "partner" is Dr CW Fong (gleneagles).

Hi Koalatree and Ashly

I read your encounter and your experience toward the pregnancy. I hope I can help....

I know that you are seeing Dr Xia Rong in EYS. Please continue to see her for tcm treatment. She is the one who can help you. I am delighted that your hubby is seeing Dr Tan Kian Sing. I am not here to promote who is a good chinese phyisican or infertility specialists. I just hope you will not receive wrong treatment from so called qualified RE or TCM chinese doc.

Wrong treatment will damage our body.

Both of you may like to consider KKIVF to do your IUI or IVF. It is cheaper... You can choose Dr SF Loh in KKIVF or the private suite. I did my IUI/IVF in KKIVF. I am currenty in my 2nd trismeter pregnancy.

Please come to below mentioned tread if your have any doubt. I hope I can help you.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/376390.html?1156389904

Good Luck and Do not give up.

Hi Kimly
Thanks for your advice! Congrats on your coming bundle of joy

if u don't mind sharing, how many times of IUI u or IVF u went thru' in KKH before preggie? And how much in total u've spent?

Kimly
its ok. i'll use your thread as a ref. thing is both hb and myself r pretty comfortable with our TCM and if i do intend to switch TCM, i'd need to talk it thru' wif hb. Its a journey both of us take and not only myself.
thanks anyway!

Hi Ashly

I do not mean to introduce any TCM to you when I invite you to that thread. I have no intention to do so. Just want to share with you more about my 2 and the half year ttc experience in that thread.

I respect your decision.

Wish you all the best!

Just come to that thread to write your doubt if you need to know more about the conbination of TCM treatment and IVF/IUI. Thanks

Good Luck!

Kimly

Thanks for sharing. will definitely think of that thread if i need reference... in the meantime, congrats to your "upgrade" to the next level => MTB!! Enjoy being preggie and shower us all with baby dust ...

Kimly

Thanks. I really look forward to be promoted to Mother to be thread.

Dawn

I have asked Dr Xia on your concern to do ACU in 2WW, her answer is no for natural cycle, but for IVF, is up to individual and is depends on your RE is comfortable with the ACU. Hope this helps.

Hi bba,

I have posted some questions in the belowmentioned thread. Can you come over that thread and I will answer your doubt? I will share with you over that thread

I look forward to hearing you over that thread. See you.

Ashly

How much do you spend for per cycle of IUI with Dr Yeong?

Koalatree

How much do you spend for per cycle of IUI with Dr LC Cheng?

Ashly and Koalatree

Give all my babydust to both of you.

Please take care.

Look for me in that abovementioned thread if you need me to clear some doubt. Take Care

Thanks for checking with Dr. Xia for me.... i am in 2ww, natural cycle...so cannot go lor hor? tot i will be free tomolow afternoon, can try try.
Does she "ba mai" to assess your condition?

Ashly, yah this forum has been a source of motivation for me. The gals here are all very encouraging and willing to share. Age catching up leh, if dun go full force will reach 35 soon.
I checked with Dr. Sheila Loh and she has allowed me to try another time of SO-IUI again. hopefully this works so that i don't have to do IVF. Still not very ready for IVF. you going to continue with some more iui? don't give up!

oh yah, the 1st time i did IUI, too many large follicles, they did give me the option to convert to IVF, but i was not ready both $$$$ and emotionally.

Wow... I was only away for a week and this forum is so busy.

Koalatree, no I have not gone back to Prof Chen. Don't feel like going back as yet. I am seeing this chinese sinseh at French Road blk 803. Is Dr Xia Rong good? Koalatree, how often must you visit her each month? It seems that each visit would be at least SGD 320 each time - incl of medicine (powder)+ brew medicine + ACU.

Dawn, today is my day 29 and still no sign of ovulation! Sigh...maybe I am not ovulating this month or maybe it is really really late. I am hoping to do it naturally this month and I have been using my ovulation dip sticks for the past 1 week, none of them show me the double lines.
:-(

Koala, before you saw the sinseh at JE, were your periods regular? If not, how long did it take to regulate your period? Was it expensive to see the JE sinseh? I heard the waiting time is terrible right?

Ashly, I find it encouraging when I come into this forum too.

Sisters, let's jia you together.

Hi Dawn

No problem lah, me just "shun bian"..Good to do another so-iui, who know you will strike? must have faith... u can make it.

Just to share

Hmm.. Yes, Dr Xia is expensive, abt $300 one around, if include ACU for three days, it is abt S$420 for one month. (40 1 round)... but I compare to IVF cost, it is still cheaper loh...and so far I find her comfortable, very motherly and she is very frank to me like she told ACU just to help ovulation and to warm our womb but couldn't do much to cure endo...

Yes, she bai mai for me every time. I see her on monthly basis.

As for the JE sinseh, if you go on weekend and sunday, you can't call and book number, u must personnaly go there to q. The q started 4 a.m.!!! very scary, we always reach there by 5.30 a.m., but just manage to get a number like 30 something!!! After taking number, we still have to wait for 2 to 3 hours to see the sinseh,although she started to see patient on 6.15 a.m,when we settle everything, half day gone...She only distribute 100 patients on Sat and Sun.

After that we decide see her on weekday, at least not so crowded. Reach there abt 6.30 a.m, and manage to see her on ard 8, not so bad lah..

My mensus always late before taking her med, (like 32 to 34 days cycle). One month med is S$92 to $108 for myself and 120++ for my HB

One thing need to tell you is my HB mophology keep on droping even though taking her med for abt 2 years, this is one of the reason y we decided to stop her medication. I wouldn't say she is not good, but may be not suitable to my HB.

justtoshare, yah this thread very fast hor....hee hee....but good lah, lots of support mah.
I ovulated on CD 33 last saturday.....after that the temperature just shot up. well at least ovulated so if not pregnant, AF will come CD 47 so i can start my 3rd IUI. Hopefully strike 3rd time so no need to do IVF, but if really need to do, I will still do it lah.....

koalabear, wah Dr. Xia very expensive huh? her medicine lasts for 1 month?

Hi sisters
lets all "jia you" and try for a "piggy babe" yah?!

Hi just-to-share
How's this sinseh at French Rd? How long hv u been c-ing her? R her medicine the "ready-made" types or those "herbs-to-brew"? Thanks alot

Hi koalatree
Forgot to update u... i emailed dr yeong and apparently he's in the UK. won't be back until next yr (that also not cnfm). He asked me to look for his wife and said she's also formerly from KKH.

Hi Kimly, thanks....i am seeing a chinese sinseh from Thong Chai too...also Dr. Tan ....but not the one u mentioned....i think Tan Siew Lan. cos she also does consultation at Hougang at night, so i can see her after work/dinner.
I will jia you one....

Ashly....yes...want a piggy baby...hee hee...... so cute hor!

Dawn
not only "piggy babe" cute leh...but i ever heard from my granny, "piggy babies" generally hv a "good life" cos' their aim is to sleep and eat... heh... heh...

moreover, my hb born a "piggy" also... i must really try man! Jia you!!!

really ah? pig will have good life ah....ok must try harder liow! actually hubby not born year of pig but behave like pig.....so kena call pig by me.....wahhaaahaaa.......

happy mid autumn festival gals! but it is really smoky tonight!

Koalatree, does the medicine last for a mth? Your SGD 420 cost for Dr Xia for a month includes medicine for a month + 3 times ACU?

Dawn, I have only seen her for about 1 month (if I excl the period in between when I keep falling sick and cannot take her medicine). Her medicine is generally very bu3 (nourishing) and therefore I always get heaty. Gotta take for a while more before I can tell if it is good. :) Her medicine is the ready made solution type. Some people said that this is not good because preservatives are added. I questioned them but they said no preservatives - that is why it cannot be kept for long. Not sure who to believe.

Koalatree, can Dr Xia help with regulating of the menses? Btw, what is the number of her clinic? Feel like going for the ACU to warm up my womb. :)

Dawn, I also want a piggy baby... :)

Hi Ashly

Thanks for your update. Ha, I also like piggy very much, he he, easy going and very "hao min".

Just to share

Yes,the med can last for 1 month, but only the poweder form, 28 packets, two types, eat before and after ovulation. As for the brew med, we have to buy from the eys retail shop, it is depends on how many packet you order. The standard is 7 packets, for the 1st week in the cycle. Dr Xia encourages us to eat for everyday to cure endo.

The timing also important to do ACU, for natural cycle, she wants us to do on 11, 12, 13 days of the cycle. So is depends if she is here or not.Alternatively, she will ask you to go to another acupunturist if she is not around.(using her method)

I attach the eys link for the paragon clinic address and tel for your use:-

http://www.ihealth.com.sg/locations.php

Dr Xia is going back today, and next trip will be on 30 Oct. Please call and make the appointment first if not huh, by then all appt will be fully book.

Dawn/Just to share/Ashly

Look like four of us here also want piggy huh..
Let all jia yu together to get more piggy next year, ka ka ka..

Have a nice weekend...

BEst REgards
Koala

Hi Dawn,

So glad that you are seeing Dr Tan Siew Lan from Thong Chai in Hougang.

I wonder whether you can post the details(Hougang Address & Contract nos) of Dr Tan Siew Lan's Clinic in the belowmentioned thread.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/370263.html?1158652908

I sincerely hope anyone who is staying, in Hougang, Sengkang, puggol, AMK or North East areas of SIngapore can have a choice to go Hougang clinic instead of Thong Chai Medicial Institution. Thong Chai Medical Institution is a bit inconvenience to go....

Please help......Thanks

Hi Dawn, Ashly, koalatree and Just to share

"JIA YOU"!

I pray for four of you to have a cute piggy baby next year....jia you

Good Luck!

Morning people, wah so early got posts liow. Did u all watch Channel News Asia 1130pm last night? was about TCM on fertility, they got interview Dr. Xia Rong.
Also got interview a couple who married for 6 years and cant conceive. they tried 5 times IUI and once IVF. Then they gave up and turned to TCM, under Dr. Xia Rong. After taking her medicine 3 months (yah, i saw her using those satchets mix with water) + acu, she got pregant, going to deliver next feb. *sigh* I watch oredi, can feel the pain and frustration as the lady talked about her TTC process. Now she is delighted! Think she is very brave to share all these on the TV
hope soon, it will be our turn!

Hi Kim, here is Dr. Tan Siew Lan's contact. In the morning, she is in Thong Chai. Every Tues and Thurs night, she will be in the Hougang Medical Hall. Quite a run down, old medical hall....surprisingly, quite a long queue every time i go....have to be prepared to wait for about an hour at least every time.

-------------------------------------------
Physician Tan Siew Lan
Teck CHua Medical Hall
Blk 322, Hougang Ave 5
#01-84
S(530322)
Tel 62810373

Tues, Thurs (6pm to 9pm)
Sat(2pm to 5pm)
-----------------------------------------------

Another gal from SBO introduced her to me one...she also preggie liow, going to deliver soon. I was quite amused to see couples of other races coming to see her too. Got Malay, indian and Angmo/eurasian couples....
ok, have a good weekend!!!

hallo dawn,

still remember me?? sorry, i've mia for quite long time oredi..been too bz to log in here..wonder how's everyone doing...isit tat u hv switched to TCM?

hi ashley/koala tree,

saw frm previous msg that both of u r looking for dr yeong? same as ashley, i'm oso under him for 2 yrs oredi, from kkh to pte. almost aft 1 yr then i've decided to look for him again.but he's away in uk, heard he is doing ivf research there n chances of being pregnant aft ivf is higher than in sin.he came bk 4 a week last month while i was doing so-iui wif his wife.
now i'm currently under his wife which my hubby n i are quite happy abt. though she is not an RE but she's v patient n nice lady.actually quite alright to c her since she has all my records n she knew tat i'm not responding to clomid well.
sometimes she did discuss my problems wif dr yeong before she came to a decision.
mayb shld give her a try?

I also want a piggy baby.......cheers to all of us to be conceiving soon.........

Let's jia you together!!!!!

Any idea if the TCM show at Channel NewsAsia going to be repeated........

Hi okeanosmao
Thanks so much 4 all the update & info on dr yeong & his wife. think i'll make an appt to c his wife when my AF is here... btw, for how long u've been doing IUI under his wife? u succeeded alrdy?
just like u, i din respond well to clomid so hv to use "jabs" instead...

Sisters
hv a great weekend!!

Hi okeanosmao, long time no hear from u....just did ur 2nd IUI? how is it?

*sigh* just came back from a BBQ, hubby's frens' baby's birthday....so many mothers there running after children. told me i am so lucky, can eat my things in peace w/o interruption. wish i can run after some rascal too....haha....

Koalatree thanks for the info. I probably will call them on Monday to prebook an appt. :)

Dawn, I missed the show. Wow...it is encouraging. :) I hope there is a repeat.

Gd weekend. Catch all of you again next week.

hi ashley,

like u, was also hestitating on whether to c his wife but was tinking, couldn't possibly wait for dr yeong to come back and the nurses there do not when he will be back also...
so i jus gave it a try.
for me, i tink i'm quite lucky. succeed the first time rd.. previously took blood test but was told it wld not succeed as the results doesn't looks promising..but who knws, 2 weeks ltr, i've tested positive..even his wife is shocked..
keep on trying,u will succeed one day..

dawn,

tink for me its a miracle, succeed 1st time rd..gynae even took blood test for me n results doesn't looks gd. so i was shocked when i tested + at home..
stay positive too okie?

for me, previously, i always shunned those bb's celebration..dun feel like answering their qs though u knw they are out of concern..but can be real frustrating when they doesn't even knw our real situations..understand yr dilemma too..

to all the gals here, stay positive and hv confidence in yrself, okie?

okeanosmao, wow that is good news!
cos i remembered u posting about the low bHCG results when u did the blood test..... do take care and thanks for coming back to encourage us. how many weeks are u now?

juz did so-iui 2wk ago and after the long 2ww, my AF came. it had never been so 'chun' for so long time. *sign* feel so disappointed, so is my hb. keep asking myself wat actually went wrong?? been ttc for the past two years yet...

jolene, understand how u feel. sometimes i wish i know what went wrong too.....i went to review with my gynae...everything seemed good, follicle size, hubby's sperm count....*sigh* well, we must continue to jia you until we get our baby! my hubby says that this baby is really expensive!!! I going to try my 3rd IUI next cycle.... keep trying keep trying!

Jolene,

It is okay to feel discouraged and disappointed....but do you know that IUI whether normal IUI or SO-IUI success rate is as low as 10%.......?So, chances of failure are always higher than success.....it is like striking lottery.........

I did normal IUI twice and also did not make it........

I have heard of IVF success stories but not IUI though.....very rate successful IUI stories....

Now, really at crossroads......I am taking a break from gynaes and seeing TCM........time seems to be passing very fast and we are already at year end!!

Hi okeanosmao
Congrats on your swift success! wah... u indeed very lucky leh... 1st round of IUI and u succeed!! Your baby really wanted to "surprise" you (during the blood test)... Thanks for the encouragement! How many weeks u are along now? Dr yeong's wife is dr tracey lim is it? I hope she is as gentle and patient as dr yeong, cos' me and hb felt comfortable with him.

hi okeanosmao,

Wa...congrats! Happy for you. SO lucky strike first time. Enjoy your motherhood.

Koalatree, I called up to make appt with Dr Xia Rong already.

joan,

knew of the successful rate. but keep telling myself will strike wan. my hb out of town tis few days, mayb will ask him whether wan to try TCM or not??

dawn,

ya, guess we hav to keep trying lor. *sign*

anyway ladies, thanks for the encouragement. feeling better now, but no mood to work. hav two pregnant women in my dept. seeing them everyday make me so depress. will be going back to kkh on 16oct for review. so tis mth will try naturally lor. jia you! jia you! jia you!