IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

hi helpme,
wow.. gleneagles ah.. must be veri ex hor.. sighzz.. anyway, think alot of us here have already spend alot on TTC liao.. but we still need to jia you right

all the best to u

helpme,
Since AF not report yet, still got chance.

Cheerbear,
I'm quoting Wen's earlier post on difference bet IUI & SO-IUI.
"both procedures will undergo IUI step which is the act of putting sperms into uterus. SO-IUI has additional step of stimulating ovulation via injection so it is more expensive. It's likely those who can ovulate regularly or respond well to clomid will be recommended for IUI-only. "

For SO-IUI, there's risk of mutiple pregnancy as the injection will stimulate more then one egg. If found to have four or more eggs will have to abort procedure or change to IVF.

I'm also afraid of needle and also muti-pregnancy so i do IUI instead of SO-IUI. However, SO-IUI will have a higher chance of conceiving (more egg = more chance).

my mense is normal(5 to 6days) after taking clomid but my BBT fluctuate alot.

Ya, i waiting for ovulation then go TMC for IUI. IUI is a simple procedure, can go home st. after, no need to stay in hospital. i dun think i'll take leave day after IUI.

penguin,
after seeing ur post make me feel like going to iui straight away instead of waiting till dec which thats the reason y my gyne give me 3 cycles of clomid. hmmm.. maybe will try for this month then see how lor..

ya.. me trying for the first one.. this dec will be 2 yrs of ttc

u leh? first bb too??

I'm new to this thread and have also been TTC for a year now. Just did IUI last month but was unsuccessful... doctor advised me to do a laprascopy surgery. Have anyone here done the lap before?

cheerbear,
ya, me trying for 1st bb oso. married 3yrs TCC for 2yrs liao. At first, gyne ask me to try naturally for 1 yr then come back to c her. so i stupid stupid try naturally for one yr. no one teach me to track ovulation n record BBT so i think BD at the wrong time most of the time.

After i found tis forumn, i record my BBT n bought OPK to track ovulation, still cannot conceive.

now gan chiong, want to try IUI loh.

hi sandi,
laprascopy is an invasive procedure to check the ovaries. Have u went for HSG test? HSG is non-invasive (like a x-ray), it a test to check for fallopain tube blockage.

hi penguin,
i've not done HSG either... hence not sure if i should continue to do IUI for another round cos the lap is quite ex, about $4-6k.

sandi,
why ur gyne ask u to do lap? u got endo?
I did HSG to check my tube b4 i consider doing IUI, cos if tube block no use doing IUI loh.

sandi,
why not approach kkh? i heard that their charges are cheaper. btw, i did my hsy and lap and i spent about $3700. medisave about 2 k and cash about 1 k odd. i think it is more helpful to check thoroughly before embarking on your plan...

penguin,
me almost 100% same as u leh.. but i never track my BBT.. anyway i still in doubts to go for iui anot coz veri scare to see "Fail" result

u confirm going iui liao?

hi cheer bear,
yes loh, i intend to do IUI tis cycle, i'm not afraid to fail, anyway the success rate is only 12% per try. if fail, then do another cycle but will consider SO-IUI or increase my clomid dosage. (i'll pay for tis cycle, if not successful, will get hb to pay for the nxt cycle hehehe...)
i went to c my gyne today, she says my egg not mature yet. then i c my acupuncturist, she gave me some chinese medicine to speed up the ovulation. hopefully it works.

dear gals,
for those who are on tcm, please advise me if you take tcm as the same time when taking clomid or injecting gonal-f. how do you all do it? what's the interval like? please advise...

Hi Baby Low,

I m taking tcm same time with colmid and injecting gonal-f as well. For my case,
Colmid start on day 2 - day 6
Gonal-F start on day 5 - Day 11
TCM taking on day 10 for 2 day n rest 1day after that taking 2day n rest 1day this will help to make the egg more mature. After that still have to take for 3 more pack to maintain the body tempature.

penguin,
did ur gyne give u a referal letter then u go TMC for the iui or can go straight to TMC to do?

AC,
all the best to u and rest well

penguin & babylow
i dont have endo but maybe she suspects so thats why ask me to do lap, which i feel is good lah, to do a thorough check. but i go to kkh, means i have to change doctor right?

penguin, i'm also like you too... try natural so long and never knew about ovulation dates and BBT, so must be BD all the wrong time too! should have discovered this forum earlier

cheerbear, is your AF irregular that's why your doctor gave you clomid? i've been taking clomid for about 6cycles cos my ovulation usually very late, around CD17-20. but i read somewhere that should not take clomid for more than 6 cycles so i think i will stop now.

AC, jia you and hope you get BFP soon.

Rita,
Thanks for sharing the valuable information...

AC,
Hope to her BFP news from you!

sandi,
I would encourage to go for a through check. perhaps, you determine which doctor you feel more comfortable with.

Thanks girls. Having a tough time trying to be relaxed

babylow, Post iui a blood test is taken after a week, if progesterone level is good no medication is required.

cheer bear, my gyne's clinic is at TMC they just need to arrange for me to go for IUI when i ovulate (no refer letter).

Babylow, dunno if u r refering to taking chinese n western medicine. the time interval should be at least 1hr apart. Chinese medicine should not b taken together with western medicine or any vitamins.

disheartened
i am not sure how much is IVF but i heard its about 15K and above

my menses came yesterday...sigh....i have decided to go for IVF this time round.

anyone know the procedure?

sandi,
my af is regular but when the doc ask me wan to try clomid anot, i jus say yes without even thinking. onli when reach home liao then i think like not right leh coz i am ok and problem is my hb so y i eat clomid. anyway jus finish my first cycle.. will be trying hard next week see can strike mah.. if not think will go for iui in oct liao.

penguin,
my gyne is attached to TMC but his clinic is at SK. anyway call and ask my gyne liao.. he say need him to write one letter then can go tmc to do iui.

helpme,
how long have u been TTC? have u tried iui and soiui b4? jus wondering wat make u decide to go for ivf? sorri for my kpo qn. :p

hi cheerbear

i have been TTC for almost 2 years. I have 2 failed IUI and we decided to go straight to IVF because both of us do not want to wait any further and IVF will have a higher success rate than IUI.

I did not want SO-IUI because my follicles are developing well according to gynae even on IUI. My hubby's sperm quality is not very good so gynae also advised us to go IVF.

AC,
same as babylow, i would like to know abt ur iui at kkh and who is ur doc?

helpme,
i dunno abt my follicles is developing well anot but from all the past test, gyne say i am ok jus thta my hb sperm not gd so i thinking to go iui lor.. but again i know the success rate is not high and scare will fail maybe will still try for 1 time then say. anyway, ivf is too ex and tiring (trips to hospital and taking jabs) so i am still not prepare for it.

My doc is dr. loh though once registering for iui he will just monitor the test reports etc.

First you have to visit hospital after AF reports and go & collect med - clomid & puregon injectibles. After starting med, have to go for a scan on cd10. Then depending on follicle size they will ask you to continue puregon for some more days till the follicles are big enough.

Hcg injection is then given to induce ovulation & 1-2 days later iui. After a week you have to take the progesterone blood test & if required med is given. Thats it, on day17 post iui is the beta test

Hi AC,

Sorry to ask as I have never tried IUI before, what is beta test? Do you have any idea if it is ok to travel after sometime after IUI before beta test? Thank you.

hi disheartened
i am with gleneagles, i have no idea how much is the fees. i am only on the first step and that is to take a blood test.

hi penguin
i am with gleneagles - Prof Ng

I've heard that kkh has higher success rate but no idea how true or where they get the statistics from. I did mine at TMC and failed 1st time

today go for scanning but the egg not grow very well, have to inject more IU for 3 more days to see the progress. So disappoined, maybe this time have to stop and wait for another cycle if the egg still not grow well

I m at my CD21 today, yet still no sign of ovulation. my acupuntist advise tt i should abort my IUI plan tis cycle as the lining or the egg quality might not be good.
Already went thru 4 rounds of acupunture, now have to abort, felt "buay guam wan".

If tis round abort, then perhaps i'll consider KK SO-IUI. Higher success rate

Baby Low, i took clomid, but seems tt i dun respond well, the IUI cost at TMC is abt $300+ (not inclusive of scanning n consultation).
no ovulation yet so BD just to get rid of hb old sperm.

Anyone doesn't response well with clomid oso?

penguin,
how many times of iui have u tried at tmc?

for me, i still dunno my body respone well to clomid anot as my ovulation shld be next wk if no delay but every time i do the LH test is negative leh

cheer bear,
zero time, i intend to start IUI tis cycle but ovulation playing hid n seek. Dun worry, ur ovulation date still not due yet so always test -ve, nxt wk u'll test +ve liao, be patient.

Tis is my 2nd cycle taking clomid (50mg). 1st try also dun respond well, ovulate on day 35. I tot my body had to get use to it and the 2nd try will work, but till now still the same.

then ytd, my acupunctist was asking y I din increase my dose since 1st round of clomid doesn't work well. So i told her, i dun want multi-preg and higher dose have higher MC possiblity as clomid thin the linning (even if egg fertilise might not get implant if linning too thin). She says i think too much and i'm being stubbon.

Think i want to change acupunctist. Any recommendation? anyone tried YuRenSen?

penguin,
last time i was not on clomid also every time -ve one
but went for checkup gyne say i am ok leh.. ovulating leh..

Cheer Bear,

Ur cycle regular anot? u got take BBT? I using OPK strips n BBT to track for ovulation, i find it quite accurate.

Since gyne says u ok should b ok lah. ur hb got go for SA test? he ok anot?

R u doing IUI tis cycle or clomid n BD naturally?
Hw old r u? sry i kpo.