IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Did u do any injections for the ivf before discovering the cysts?
None...it was due to my previous medicated cycle which i tried naturally but failed...prior to the start of IVF, the doctor did a Day 2 scan during my menses where he saw cysts...so he asked to skip taking anything apart from supplements this cycle and check again next cycle if the cysts are gone. Only once they have cleared up will he start IVF as he said otherwise my response to the meds will be lower with cysts

Been a silent reader. Kudo to you ladies out there for being so brave, strong and positive. After what I am going through, i realised that the journey to motherhood isn't easy. Thanks for sharing your stories and advices. Its really comforting and informative!
Its physically and mentally draining having to deal with the treatments, gynae visits and disappointment and each time MC comes, the thought of giving up is so strong (I really respect you ladies out there for being so persistent).
I have been TTC for nearly a year and decided to seek help 6th mths onwards as we don't wish to waste time. Undergoing treatment (natural with help of medications and Gonal F) for 4th mth now but no good news.
Decided to go for IUI this cycle as my doc don't advice me to go for IVF saying that the success percentage is only slightly higher for IVF.
He wanted me to go for HSG Xray this cycle before we proceed with IUI as all our checks don't show anything wrong with us,. but he keeps telling me xray is painful. And i read that there is trigger shot for IUI besides Gonal F.

I am really scare of injections and each time when i take Gonal F, i will freak out even though it does not really hurt that bad but its the psychological effect.

Would like to hear from you ladies out here who have been through these if HSG and trigger shot are painful.

Been a silent reader. Kudo to you ladies out there for being so brave, strong and positive. After what I am going through, i realised that the journey to motherhood isn't easy. Thanks for sharing your stories and advices. Its really comforting and informative!
Its physically and mentally draining having to deal with the treatments, gynae visits and disappointment and each time MC comes, the thought of giving up is so strong (I really respect you ladies out there for being so persistent).
I have been TTC for nearly a year and decided to seek help 6th mths onwards as we don't wish to waste time. Undergoing treatment (natural with help of medications and Gonal F) for 4th mth now but no good news.
Decided to go for IUI this cycle as my doc don't advice me to go for IVF saying that the success percentage is only slightly higher for IVF.
He wanted me to go for HSG Xray this cycle before we proceed with IUI as all our checks don't show anything wrong with us,. but he keeps telling me xray is painful. And i read that there is trigger shot for IUI besides Gonal F.

I am really scare of injections and each time when i take Gonal F, i will freak out even though it does not really hurt that bad but its the psychological effect.

Would like to hear from you ladies out here who have been through these if HSG and trigger shot are painful.
I went for HSG in Aug and it was honestly not painful...

Thank you Anonymousjane and kittykitty. Feels much better now even though i still feel a sense of fear as I have no idea what to expect really.

Hi ladies! Help! I have moderate to heavy cramps 2 days after IUI. There are no funny discharge, itch or pain just cramps. Anybody experience this before and how do you soothe the cramps

Cramps is normal. Any bloating? I was very bloated and only way is trying to fart but unable to. Lol

Thank you Anonymousjane and kittykitty. Feels much better now even though i still feel a sense of fear as I have no idea what to expect really.
Yeah you'll get use to the jabs after awhile and the jabs to the tummy usually not so painful....trigger shot abit of like an ant bite....but yeah i get you when you speak abt the psychological 'fear' of injections....but hang in there...all for the sake of your potential babies!! you'll get there...

Today is my 2nd day past iui and I'm having cramps since this morning too. Do you have headaches from taking Duphaston? I have to take for 19 days. The headaches are like the kind I get before AF, hormonal headaches. I tried to tahan yesterday, but in the end had to take Panadol because it was really bad. :( The pharmacist said it's ok to take Panadol.
Kitty kitty, hope you are okay now. The cramps in me have subsided after 1 day. I have no headache from Duphaston. I also tahan the cramps as I was afraid to take other medicine which may affect conception. Just being typically kiasu me.
On a side note, my nipples are highly sensitive now and I become moody. I wonder what cause these symptoms and too early for PMS

Hi All! I dunnoe why but there is this surge of negative emotion in me now that I will not succeed this round and moreover it is the first round of SO-IUI. Not feeling hopeful at all! Sigh pie :( Can’t help but feeling useless and also dunnoe if it is blessing in disguise or what I got lay off this period of time. Hence, I have the flexibility of time to do this IUI in JB!
Pardon my rantings please. Must be all the hormones pills/jabs.

Hi All! I dunnoe why but there is this surge of negative emotion in me now that I will not succeed this round and moreover it is the first round of SO-IUI. Not feeling hopeful at all! Sigh pie :( Can’t help but feeling useless and also dunnoe if it is blessing in disguise or what I got lay off this period of time. Hence, I have the flexibility of time to do this IUI in JB!
Hang in there. It is too early to tell. The hormones are the one causing the negative feelings.

i did HSG, it was damn painful for me that my BP spiked during the HSG xray and the nurse was worried I'll faint. Kept asking me to lie down until my bp normalise. It could be also because i skipped breakfast that day, so do take breakfast first. The 2 painkiller shots I've taken before the HSG test wasn't helpful for me but i know some people who took the 2 painkiller shots (insert into anus, sorry for explicit disclosure) was helpful and the pain is minimised. Please bring along a sanitary pad - you'll need it after the xray. My previous gyne didn't tell me beforehand but luckily i had 1 with me.

Do you usually have menstrual cramps? If you do, the main is similar but more intense. And its similiar to the IUI pain level (but no pain killers for IUI). So, i think once you go through it, you can brave the rest. Hang in there!

Ovidriel trigger shot was not as painful as IUI and much less painful than HSG xray. I'm terrified of needles too so i ask the nurse to just poke and don't tell me while i look away. After the jab, i keep thinking theres phantom pain though. haha.. but then i know its my imagination.

I bawled my eyes out 2 nights ago (on my period day 2) and was moping around the house yesterday, thinking about my failed IUI and upcoming SO-IUI which i started taking lezerol for. I'm trying to not think about it but whenever my hubby holds my hand / touch me, i start crying.. i can only imagine how many of you are going through with me.

I told my Godpa I'm losing faith. He told me not to. I think I've prayed so so hard and I'm second guessing if i should go through it. I know rationally I'll try again and again and the negative thinking sets me up for failure. Apart from crying, i couldn't tell my hubby what I'm thinking actually. I think we all needed the vent. And I'm thankful for this forum. Makes me feel I'm not alone in this.

I bawled my eyes out 2 nights ago (on my period day 2) and was moping around the house yesterday, thinking about my failed IUI and upcoming SO-IUI which i started taking lezerol for. I'm trying to not think about it but whenever my hubby holds my hand / touch me, i start crying.. i can only imagine how many of you are going through with me.

I told my Godpa I'm losing faith. He told me not to. I think I've prayed so so hard and I'm second guessing if i should go through it. I know rationally I'll try again and again and the negative thinking sets me up for failure. Apart from crying, i couldn't tell my hubby what I'm thinking actually. I think we all needed the vent. And I'm thankful for this forum. Makes me feel I'm not alone in this.
It is a journey to mould us into brave mothers for our future children. Dont give up and be hopeful. No matter whatever the outcome is, we have done our best.

Dont worry...i used to do the same and felt like i was getting into depression. Even more so when we didnt even know what went wrong...More like failed out of bad luck or it is just not our time...When i was all ready to start IVF and it got postponed, I also broke down because I didnt expect to somehow screw it up...

Somehow changed my thoughts to how bad can it go and the answer is to just try and try and try...be it IUI, IVF or anything else...At some point, lady luck might just shine above us...

Hello! I am new here. Have just started my first cycle of SOIUI at KKH after trying to concieve for 2 years with no success :( the doc say it is just unexplained. It has been day 7 of injections, and I keep feeling very sleepy at work (sleepier than normal haha ) Is this normal??

Hellos StayingPositive, I've also just started my dose of injection on Day 7 today. I feel fine, not specifically lethargic or tired. Think you might have been stressed out and lack quality sleep at night? :(

Did my HSG, it was extremely uncomfortable, unable to describe the feeling, it's not painful but it hurt as Dr inject the dye. Its seems as if the tummy is going to explore. Told myself no matter what I have to do it and I did. Unfortunately 1 side is block

I just switch to see a fertility specialist on august. And October I was scheduled to do my SO-iui, when i got spotting, i panic and thought my menses came so i quickly rang up the clinic to inform them i will be heading down to collect the jabs. But who knows, after i collected, my spotting stop for few days so i didn't manage to jab as gynae mentioned to see fresh blood then start injection and who knows, i'm pregnant naturally. Now i'm stuck with 2 boxes of Gonal-F, though i know there will be very low chances to sell off, but still trying my luck to see if anyone is willing to buy from me at a lower price if their private gynae prescribe them with the same dosage and allow them to use ? Currently, this 2 boxes i've returned back to the clinic to store in the fridge for me. Do pm me if you are interested. Top box is open by the nurse to explain and show me what the boxes inside contain and how to use only. Unfortunately, they are unable to refund me. Thank You.

• gonal_f_1572956837_3a7b4919_progressive.jpg
    gonal_f_1572956837_3a7b4919_progressive.jpg
    78.3 KB · Views: 104
I just switch to see a fertility specialist on august. And October I was scheduled to do my SO-iui, when i got spotting, i panic and thought my menses came so i quickly rang up the clinic to inform them i will be heading down to collect the jabs. But who knows, after i collected, my spotting stop for few days so i didn't manage to jab as gynae mentioned to see fresh blood then start injection and who knows, i'm pregnant naturally. Now i'm stuck with 2 boxes of Gonal-F, though i know there will be very low chances to sell off, but still trying my luck to see if anyone is willing to buy from me at a lower price if their private gynae prescribe them with the same dosage and allow them to use ? Currently, this 2 boxes i've returned back to the clinic to store in the fridge for me. Do pm me if you are interested. Top box is open by the nurse to explain and show me what the boxes inside contain and how to use only. Unfortunately, they are unable to refund me. Thank You.

Congrats

Did my HSG, it was extremely uncomfortable, unable to describe the feeling, it's not painful but it hurt as Dr inject the dye. Its seems as if the tummy is going to explore. Told myself no matter what I have to do it and I did. Unfortunately 1 side is block
hope you are feeling better, mmmgal.. the rest of the procedure should be better for you.

Congratulations mummymich. I already have my Gonal F.. Ask your gyane if they can switch to credits for you?
I also tried asking, they say can’t...
=...(

Anyway, babydust to all of u here. Dun give up, i’ve tried for 2 yrs + and this is supposed to be my 3rd iui. I’ve thought that I will never be able to get pregnant naturally and even with the help of fertility treatment , I’m doubting myself that I will be able to have the chance to be a mom. But who knows, miracle happen. So Jia you everyone....

I also tried asking, they say can’t...
=...(

Anyway, babydust to all of u here. Dun give up, i’ve tried for 2 yrs + and this is supposed to be my 3rd iui. I’ve thought that I will never be able to get pregnant naturally and even with the help of fertility treatment , I’m doubting myself that I will be able to have the chance to be a mom. But who knows, miracle happen. So Jia you everyone....
Congrats! This is a great piece of news!!

Heys totally know how you feel! I went through hell when I suffered an infection 2 months ago after IUI, almost needing a D&C. Then I was told i need to break for 3 months before trying again. Found myself crying on and off during the healing period :(

But on the bright side, this is actually the first month that I’m “clean”, ie off all the jabs and drugs since June... and it really feels damn good, like I’ve “got my body back”! Haha. So going to try to enjoy it while it lasts.

Guess the jabs and supplements also affect our hormones and make us feel emo and all..Try to take a break by doing something you really like (for me is eating and exercising) to pass time during the cycles.

I’m heading for IVF next in January at KK. Dreading the process but also thankful for this thread because I’m reminded I’m not alone!

jiayou!

o dear, mummymich. i think it'll be tough for you to sell direct to other mums though because of the prescription for each individual is different and we all rely in our gyane's instructions/dispensed drugs.

Hang in there, avocadooj!

Its important to keep ourselves healthy and stay positive! Good that your body is ready to try again and good luck for your upcoming IVF!

o dear, mummymich. i think it'll be tough for you to sell direct to other mums though because of the prescription for each individual is different and we all rely in our gyane's instructions/dispensed drugs.

Ya i guess so too....Felt heartpain to waste it but hus consoled me and said at least we are successful now so asked me not to think abt the $ already...haha....Lesson learnt so next time for those who are going to do iui, please ensure you see fresh red blood then collect the jabs, if its brown blood its not considered menses...

hope you are feeling better, mmmgal.. the rest of the procedure should be better for you.
Feeling better today. Still feeling bloated and spotting continue though its lighter today. Doing my first IUI this cycle. Really hope miracle would happen this time.

Hi! We are going for our SO IUI in December at Kkh and supposed to call in on my first heavy flow day to prepare for what's coming next. Appreciate if anyone can share with me in advance what to expect for the menses week especially if yours is done with KK as well?

Hello! I have also just started my first SOIUI in KKH earlier this month. After the first heavy flow day, call the KKIVF centre and they will advice whether you should come on that day, or the next day, to collect your injections and folic acid. A nurse will also teach you how to do the injections. After 5 injections, you will start to go for ultrasound scans. The scans happen every alternate day, unless the doc decides otherwise. The doc/nurses will guide you along.

The only part I felt very blur was during the scans. Haha wah everyone reach very early to queue outside the KKIVF centre glass door. Once it opens at 7.30am, follow the queue in, press queue #1 and there will be 2 slips of queue number issued. Write your NRIC on one of them, attach your injection form (they will give you when they teach you how to do injections) and put it into this tray. And wait for your queue number to be called.

Hope this helps! :)

I just went for my first scan on Monday, second scan today (Wednesday), then the doc ask me to come again tomorrow for a scan. Not sure why so soon and what to expect! Fingers crossed.

Hello! I have also just started my first SOIUI in KKH earlier this month. After the first heavy flow day, call the KKIVF centre and they will advice whether you should come on that day, or the next day, to collect your injections and folic acid. A nurse will also teach you how to do the injections. After 5 injections, you will start to go for ultrasound scans. The scans happen every alternate day, unless the doc decides otherwise. The doc/nurses will guide you along.

The only part I felt very blur was during the scans. Haha wah everyone reach very early to queue outside the KKIVF centre glass door. Once it opens at 7.30am, follow the queue in, press queue #1 and there will be 2 slips of queue number issued. Write your NRIC on one of them, attach your injection form (they will give you when they teach you how to do injections) and put it into this tray. And wait for your queue number to be called.

Hope this helps! :)

I just went for my first scan on Monday, second scan today (Wednesday), then the doc ask me to come again tomorrow for a scan. Not sure why so soon and what to expect! Fingers crossed.
Thank you for the detailed sharing! Then injections are once a day? And where do we jab?

My menses is due to come early next week and thinking if I should be taking leave or do they give mc? Are we still able to go back to work after the scans?

Different KK patients have different protocol for SOIUI. I think for some, it is clomid for first few days then followed by Puregon jab, or for myself, it was Puregon jabs every day since CD2. The nurse will teach you how to jab yourself, don't worry! It is not painful. It goes in your tummy.

You can get MC when you go for scans, as you'll see a doctor. For myself I returned to work. Go very early so you don't have too wait long.
Thank you herekittykitty! I wanted to plan my leave or mc ahead cuz I have yet to inform my team mates and bosses and trying not to be too last minute as well.

Seems like my period will come any time tomorrow or Sat/Sun. Not so worried about the jabs initially cuz my hubby was supposed to help but coincidentally he have a business trip during the right window.

Different KK patients have different protocol for SOIUI. I think for some, it is clomid for first few days then followed by Puregon jab, or for myself, it was Puregon jabs every day since CD2. The nurse will teach you how to jab yourself, don't worry! It is not painful. It goes in your tummy.

You can get MC when you go for scans, as you'll see a doctor. For myself I returned to work. Go very early so you don't have too wait long.
Hi kittykitty! How have you been? In your TWW? I rem we went for IUI ard the same time. How did u feel during this tww? First few days/week, do you have pregnancy symptoms /feel? There after how is it?

Yup today is my 8piui. I don't have any symptoms, just side effects from the progesterone - hunger, sleepiness and feeling moody. How about you? I am trying to be hopeful but feeling pessimistic. I'm already planning ahead for future steps if this round doesn't work.. haha! :)
I have sensitive nipples, sore tender breast, bloatedness n pessimistic too. Just like PMs symptoms.
What are your plans? Can share?

Oh ya I have the sore breasts too! I read it is part of progesterone symptoms.

If this round doesn't work out, we will go for IVF next year. My hubby's sperm count is low and low morph as well. I was told ICSI method of IVF may have better chance for our case than SOIUI. Though the KK doc told me on day of IUI - just need 1 sperm! So if that's the plan, both me and hubby need to build up our health and prep :)
Oh.. ICSI IVF is more expensive! IVF definitely has better changes. Good luck kittykitty and thank you for sharing!

Thank you herekittykitty! I wanted to plan my leave or mc ahead cuz I have yet to inform my team mates and bosses and trying not to be too last minute as well.

Seems like my period will come any time tomorrow or Sat/Sun. Not so worried about the jabs initially cuz my hubby was supposed to help but coincidentally he have a business trip during the right window.

Personally i think easy to jab yourself with the pen, not painful too. The nurse will teach you. Oh the first session where you collect the injections and learn how to jab - that session cannot ask for MC.

Only when going for the scans then can get MC. But as herekittykitty said, can also go early then can go back to work :)

It is quite hard to update colleagues about planned leave/MC. It is quite adhoc i feel, like within this period, may have to come in for scans alternate day, or the next day. I am like texting my boss to let her know next day I will be late or wont come to work... good thing the company is generally understanding about it. Else v hard.

Today the clinic gave me Puregon 50, then told me different method to inject (not the pen). This one is really a syringe, and it is quite painful compared to the pen :(

Personally i think easy to jab yourself with the pen, not painful too. The nurse will teach you. Oh the first session where you collect the injections and learn how to jab - that session cannot ask for MC.

Only when going for the scans then can get MC. But as herekittykitty said, can also go early then can go back to work :)

It is quite hard to update colleagues about planned leave/MC. It is quite adhoc i feel, like within this period, may have to come in for scans alternate day, or the next day. I am like texting my boss to let her know next day I will be late or wont come to work... good thing the company is generally understanding about it. Else v hard.

Today the clinic gave me Puregon 50, then told me different method to inject (not the pen). This one is really a syringe, and it is quite painful compared to the pen :(
Thanks for sharing and baby dust all all ladies!

Hello all, my gyne prescribed me Letrezol to take on Day 2 - Day 6 of mensus, 1 box of Gonal F to administer jab daily from Day 7 - Day 10. Today is day 10 and i went back for ultrasound to check on egg growth. My egg is ready at 18mm, then i was given ovidriel jab today, sperm washing for iui scheduled tomorrow morning.

@iibears, i think everyone's treatment might be slightly different depending on how your hormones / egg is developing. I'd suggest you follow / listen closely to your fertility specialist's instructions..

[USER=69105]@mummymich
i feel the same way as your husband, just forget about the money spent. Its a blessing you didnt have to take the daily jabs! i abhor needles and make my hubby administer them for me daily (Day 7 - 10). :confused: