I Can Read - Anyone tried?

Singaram, any of your friends kid attend Jan& Elly phonics? I'm thinking of putting my boy there but so far receive only one feedback from a mum ( I think not that "well-known" yet)

Hi Meng Hong - Jan& Elly website. They only got 2 centres: The Rail Mall & Serangoon Garden Village

http://www.jan-elly.com/index.php

Hi Clare

I am also interested in the i-creative learner's classes. Currently we are starting a new class but still short of 1 student to start the class.

How does you feel about the course? Do you see improvements with your child's reading ability?

I started my child with music therapy at 15 months and by 2.5 she was already doing simple spelling and reading. By 3.5 she already knew her 2x and 3x table. By 4 she knew up to 5x table and do addition and subtraction. If your child has speech and language delay, no harm sending him/her for assessment at the hospital before enrolling in any enrichment programs because there are many reasons as to why the child is delayed and teachers at enrichment centers are not trained to give any formal assessment.

After reading gd reviews on ICL, i'm keen to let my girl (K1) try. The principal told me they'll start a new class for this age group only if there's at least 4 students enrol by Oct 08. So far I'm the only one registered, still short of 3. Anyone interested ? Can PM me, or call ICL to enquire. The class will be at Ang Mo Kio Ave 1, Mon 3.30pm.

Hi joconde

I am also keen on i-creative learner course and like you I am also looking for participants.

But I think your girl is 1 year older than mine.

Hi YY,

U're right, my girl is considered "late comer" for ICL, if she doesn't get into a class by Oct, there's no other way she can get in liao :-(

My girl has been attending church kindergarten, and she just only managed to recognize and read A to Z recently !! That's why now i panic to brush up her English, otherwise she'll definitely suffer in P1 ... sigh !

hi joconde,
I think it is not too bad. If you start with ICL soon, she should be ok. My son started last year at N2, within a year, he could read simple books like dr seuss. So I think still ok.

Hi joconde,

My K1 son just joined ICL and will be begining his 1st lesson this week. The teacher will be giving him individual lessons until he can catch up with her group who are in the long vowels stage.

Do not be worry as I think once the teacher accepted your child, she will give extra lessons to prepare her to join the current class standard.

My son is in Ang Mo Kio Ave3.

Any comments on the teacher at Ang Mo Kio Ave3? From my 1st impression,she is very dedicated and friendly.

Hi November,

Is there any more vacancy in your class ? Which day and time is it ? So is ur child the only new comer in the class ?

Since I registered a week ago, there hasn't been enough students to start a new class yet -- as I've been told by the principal.

I'm so eager to start !!

i m keen to enrol my 4 y.o gal in language enrichment weekend programme. Been considering i-creative learner @ sembawang but the weekend classes have been filled up (only weekday day classes available) so now thinking of ICR @ woodlands or yishun (chong pang) branch. any mommies care to share how do you find the teachers over at these 2 branches? any recommendation for good langauage enrichment programme in sembawang/yishun/woodlands area?

Anyone heard about LiteracyCircle Jurong East Branch? Thought of sending my son there. Please advise.

I heard good reviews of icreativelearner and would like to register her for next year's class. I contacted the principal and however, most of the the slots are fully taken.

Does anybody has the teacher's contacts to share with me? I hope to check with them whether they can squeeze me in.

I am also thinking of asking them to open up classes in the North or Northeast areas. Anybody keen? If we have 6, I can try to talk to the principal.

Pls PM or email me at [email protected]

hi ! anybody attending I creative learner at bedok Terrence ?

I heard that they offer daily weekday classes too !

I had very bad experience at Literacy Circle JE, had my deposit refund even before my son started lesson. Feel that staff had bad attitude as compare to Zoo Phonics @ JW, had actually intended to switch my son to them.

Hi Sumiko,

Wen my 6yr old son went for assessment we were told that he could read like a P3, so they say will put him in Lift Off when they class start on 2nd wk of Nov. Tot them my son has ASD child, if they can accept, we'll pay deposit. On 1st wk of Nov, at 3.30pm I reC a sms informin to bring my child for lesson @ 6.30!!! I call them back n ask wat's hapenin?? Y wasnt we inform a day or so in advance? Their immediate reply 'Its OK if u cant make it today, den start nxt wk lor' To dbl confirm tat i din rember wrongly, i ask wat lesson. They tot mi last stage of Launch Pad beco my son start P1 nxt yr. I tot them tat teacher say tat he's ready for Lift Off?? They reply tat he has ASD & anyway start P1 nxt yr. The main reason I chose them over Morris Allen was they assess the child, they dont use age to determine a child level. My son was already doin creative writing when he was wif ZP n his group consist mainly P1, his teacher oso agree tat he can handle P1 level well. LC cant justify Y my son has to start wif Launch Pad for 2 mon b4 gg 2 Lift Off n the last straw was they use my son's ASD as an excuse 2 rip u an xtra 2 mon of fees. I really cant feel any sincerity nor keeness in their attitude.

i sent my daughter for their free assessment at different branches. and we got different results. some teachers just have that 'dun care' attitude and quickly complete the assessment. so i brought her to another branch. I had a totally different experience. The teacher took time to explain and talked to my girl and even spoke to me about her recommendation of classes for my girl after that. very different from the 1st branch that i go to.

so i guess you have to go and find out who is the teacher of the class before you enrol your children.

Pretty woman, I had the same experience for ICR....I think the teachers may not be trained to handle younger children (those 2.5+ - 5 yr olds). Cos I noticed that they don't bother to help the younger children to warm up to them and just want to finish the assessment quickly.

Any good branches for "I Can Read" in the west? Any recommendation for I Creative? I cannot decide between ICR and I Creative...Any advise?

Dear Mummies, the I Can Read PANDAN VALLEY Centre is now open at Block 2, Pandan Valley Acacia Court, #01-213. We are accepting bookings for FREE Assessment with our Reading Specialist. Classes will commence on 18th Sep FRI. Please call us at 6468 6846 / 6464 6476 today! Thank you.

Hi bubblechic, our Centre is located along Ulu Pandan Road, is it convenient to you? You are invited to our Centre and to call us for more information. Cheers.

My son is 3.5 years old. Wanted feedback which enrichemont school is good.

Anwyay will bring him to ICR Katong to assessment and see how it goes.

He has been with Zoophonics for lettersound. I personally feel taht zoo progress slowly.

Just to share, my daughter who is in k1 now started ICL early this yr. Very happy with the prog..I hv difficulty getting her to learn n recognise alphabets since last year. Thanks to ICL she is beginning to read now.

Hi Littleprincesses,

Thanks for your sharing. This is very encouraging.

Do you pratise with her at home? Aside ICR, anything else that you expose her?

I teach my son myself. He is not keen to learn and real difficult to handle.

No matter how he has knew his basic within 7 months eg: lettersound and name,number 1-20, about 40 words, shapes, colors and now pratising writing daily.

I get him to do MAZE, DOT-DOT,SPOT DIFFERENCE when i am out to work to train his concentration.

I find that $160 per month for Thinking & creative class at ICR, taught by local is expensive.

I wonder is Montessori at Kee Sun Avenue good? The ratio is 2 to 1 teacher.

I have another thought, that is to teach him for another couple of months, if gotten poor result, then ICR.

Rabbit - my daughter is with ICL (independant creative learner) and not ICR

Yes, on a weekly basis she brings home a book and other materials for reading. i hv to go thru with her..

guess every child has diff learning style. my girl is quite strong headed n not very helpful when she is a yr end child.had so much difficulty teaching her basic stuff like alphabets n numbers... not to mention other activities like u mentioned..

she was in a kindergarten with 30 kids in a class n we cld see she was struggling to keep up. in the end we took her out n put her in a montessori kinder n started ICL.
We are glad we took this risk to switch school. i hv an older child who is in p1 n believe me reading readiness is so important.

not too sure of the monte at kee sun ave. where is it by the way?

LittlePrincess- Thanks for correcting me.

Mind to share what reading materials do they provide? Is it structure reading books like Peter and Jane, Rigby? Do they learn phonics as well as reading?

Which branch do you go? How many children in a class?

I wonder is Montessori Kindergarten really helps as everyone can just put a name Montessori. So, is hard to find a real Montessori and yet affortable.

I will bring my son to MMI at Upper East Coast Road, 12 Keen Sun Avenue to take a look for weekend phonics next week.

He has been with Zoophonics since Aug09 and will switch him to other enrichment centre to try out.

So far, i know I Can Read & I Creative Learner gotten very good comments.

I creative learner has no vacancy at the moment & I Can Read is too expensive. I am considering Montessori approach.

Another one that i heard of is "Read in a week". Heard is drilling and some children couldn't take it. Anyone mind to share your experience with this enrichment centre?

Rabbit - no prob.

will pm you the material use.

Dd goes to Ghim moh..not sure if you are aware it's home base setting, about 5 in a class.

I opted for this kinder bcos close friends have kids from there and apparently they prepare the kids well for p1.

Can anyone advise which school is better? ICR (I Can Read) or LP (Learning Point) for Creative Writing?

Heard LP is more School-based while ICR is more enrichment-based. Is it true???

My dotter is in ICR Advanced writing class for nearly 2 months. She is Pri 1 and initially had problem writing her school compo as she has no idea wat to write. Now, she is writing more sentences than required effortlessly.

However, School-based is more relevent here, rite? If so, LP mayb better?

hi everyone! my boy is born dec-06 n attending full day childcare at cherie hearts. Is it necessary to send him for enrichment classes like i-creative?

Hi Pam,

Mind to share more about your experience with Lapbooking classes your child has attended?

The blogger mom is so organised and i believe she must have spent many nights to get ready teaching materials.

I taught my son to read via flashing method without any success when he was 3 yo. Phonics was then introduced to him after 6 months of flashing. My son recognises lots of words this way.

I learnt about lapbook through this blog. It is really time consuming for preparation of lapbook lessons. not easy for working mom.

What do you do with your kids daily? Do they still attending any enrichment?

Hi Pam,

I have signed up the lapbooking lessons with Shirley.

She indeed know how to handle kids and has great passion coaching young tots. she knew the importance of communication with parents and little kids.

Yet to find out more in the class. Hope to be inspired.

My son has attended zoophonics and he dislikes it. I personally find that the pace of progress is far too slow, not worth money spend. I got better result by teaching him phonics myself.

Aside Zoophonics, he also attended Berries chinese (tial) and loves it very much. I intend to sign him up for the class next year.

Well, we did 2 simple lapbooks so far. It is so hard for me to keep on the lapbooking spirit due to time constraints.

I hope to continue lapbooking with my son...

The difficulties that i encounter now is how to get my child loves to read and speak up.

He simply refuse to read and lazy to do his homework. I hope he will be inspired by Shirley.

He has a set of homework to do daily when i am out to work.

This set of homework (10pages)includes: maze, spot differences, dot to dot for number and alphabet, writing and learning numbers.

Watch educational DVD daytime too.

My maid helps to coach and read stories to him.

When i am back at night, i teach him phonics and read one or two stories. Sometimes, give him scissor for cutting, do some arts and crafts. We do 1-3 simple arts and craft in a day. sometimes none sometimes a lot depends on our mood.

He dislikes coloring and has short attention span eventhough he likes the activities so much. He would do it for a good 10 minutes, then go away. Will ask again the next day if he likes it.

I intend to do christmas lapbooking with him. Plan to do lots of arts and craft and some literacy relates to this theme.

Pam, if you cancelling your kids for attending other enrichment classes, wouldn't you worry that they might miss out something? Math, languages in chinese and english. You think Lapbooking is good enough?

I am thinking of sending my child to ICR to learn English. Any comment for Simei branch ICR, what are the course fees like?

Does Community club's courses match up to the courses conducting in learning centres?

Pam, thank you for sharing so much.

This is really encouraging.

I read to my son everynight before bedtime. He does learn a lot. How do i do better in this part?

Have you sign up her classes for next year?

For the phonics cards, he hates it the moment i take out the cards. The other alternative i do is to take the phonics readers and sound out the words.

Thanks for your compliment. I don't really do much with him. May be it sounds a lot. My maid indeed helps me a lot coaching him to write and learns numbers. This is his daily homework.

He has bricks when he was under 1 year old but we didn't really work on it. I bought him 1000pcs of bricks yesterday and hope to encourage his interest to play with bricks.

He doesn't like drawing and coloring much, so i try to do arts and craft with him. He slowly has the interest to draw, especially his dad's face. Face with snout, few pairs of ears......

Encouragement, is all a child needs.

However, i have yet to know how to encourage him to read. No matter what i said. His answer is no no, i don't want to read, i dont want to be clever.

He will be turning 4 yo next year. I am quite concern about his study.

For my case, i have to leave my children to maid and they have a lot of idle time. Aside educational dvd programes to occupied them, reading some books, i couldn't expect my maid or parents to do more.

If i were a stay at home mommy, i could better make use of timing i have. Day pass just like that wihout much doing with kids. Sigh!!

Dear Parents,

I Can Read is now open in King's Arcade! Come and visit us for a free assessment at 559 Bukit Timah Road, #02-01A King's Arcade, Singapore 269695.
Phone: (65) 6468 0486 , Fax: (65) 6468 3038 Email: [email protected]