Gestational Diabetes

I was with KKH. I injected insulin before 3 meals, high dosage of 26units insulin.
34weeks bb's weight 2.6kg; 35weeks bb's weight 2.5kg; doctor said bb was not growing and suggested to induce by 37weeks. By 36weeks scan, bb's weight 2.4kg. I was really don't understand why bb's weight can decrease. Doctor gave me the reason was :"machine's measurement may not accurate..."

By 37week+1day, my bb gal came to this world and weight 2.87kg.
Hmm.., seems KK's scan really not accurate, wasted my money to scan.

@mkosh 2hrs reading below 7.8 is normal.

@MTB-2015 ya talking about Kkh scan ... My fren also had such experience that the fetus weight decreased in the last couple of weeks before delivered, her no. Are even more drastic.... Of coz bb turn out to be very ok. Donno machine problem or didn't see properly.

For my first pregnancy, my weight stagnated after 28 weeks. I might have lost a little towards the end. Weight stagnating seems common. My overall weight gain for whole pregnancy was 9kg (I was underweight before pregnancy). My baby size dropped from 70th to 10th percentile in 3rd trimester. Baby was born at 3kg.

Try not to worry about our own weight gain, because from understanding, baby will still grow, only at controlled rate.

It also depends on factors such as the parents' genes. If parents are on the thin side, then it follows that baby is likely naturally smaller compared to the general population. Can check with doctor to find out about the percentile but I'm sure if there are issues with the baby size, doctor will inform you.

Have some handy snacks that you can eat in case very hungry (I have berries handy as they have lower GI/ GL. I limit to no more than 5 for the respite I need). Idea is to ration in small portions to maintain steady blood glucose levels. I target to keep my blood sugar within 4-5.5 mmol/l at all times. Thought that might be low but doctor said it was good. Don't worry about the occasional spikes/ drops. Think back on our last food intake and moderate accordingly. Work out a plan you are comfortable with.

Stay positive. Most important is that baby is growing and healthy:)

Jiayou to all.

Dear Mommies,

I'm 34 weeks now and yesterday baby measuring 2.4 kg. Doc said quite huge and scheduled me for OGTT tomorrow. Does my baby consider big at 2.4 kg? What's normal range for OGTT?
fasting - btw 3 to 6. 2 hr between 4 to 7.7

Hello, how r all GDM mummies doing? Hope u r doing fine and healthy. Am wondering if any of u r in ur third trimester now and losing weight or having stagnant weight. I seem to be losing weight lately, diet not much changed but sometimes do feel less hungry and sleepy than before so I skipped some in between meal snacks and took nap instead.
i am still having glucose intolerance. I suspect I have that even b4 I got preggie as I have pcos. I just had my 3 mth review and my gynae was saying I can just keep to the diet he recommended to me when I was preggie. I am happy to do so cos it is acty v convenient. that time I kept a tin of glucerna at my desk. lunch will just be me running downstairs to get a salad , and I have a glass of glucerna. snack will be raw almonds and yoghurt. I rly do hope that with further wt lossfrom bf-ing I will have a better glucose tolerance profile.

Actually i find myself much healthier after starting GDM diet. Don't worry too much, if u can keep to this lifestyle, in any ways it is beneficial for our long term health & well being.

Actually is not uncommon to be IGT, in fact a lot of people may fall under this category but not realized only, since body check is only taking fasting blood sugar reading.

Keep it up with the healthy diet!

Actually is not uncommon to be IGT, in fact a lot of people may fall under this category but not realized only, since body check is only taking fasting blood sugar reading.

Keep it up with the healthy diet!
Ya lor...if I didnt do the ogtt when I was preggie / post partum I wont know also. One option definitely is to take metformin after I wean my LO. BUT now it is healthy diet and bf-ing

Failed my glucose test yesterday. Result was 8.5 - 2 hours after glucose drink. Put on strict diet by my gynae. But I think will be really hard to follow as I'm still working full time and always eating outside. Sigh!

Same as me.. always eating outside. YTF and fish soup are still okay.

U can try drinking Glucerna http://glucerna.com/ on some days. Add that with some green salad with no dressing. If you want dressing safe ones are olive oil, vinaigrette. I found that glucerna + 2 handrolls work fine for me too. See ig you can get things like grilled fish/chicken with no sauce also. That should be fine

Stay positive ya. You can also stock some snacks like natural baked almonds, peanut butter n low GI multigrain bread from Gardenia, wholemeal crackers etc in ur office to snack during mid morning or tea break. Try to eat small meals to keep ur sugar level regular.

Try to bring healthy snacks to munch in office if u feel hungry. It's very normal if u feel hungry very fast, just eat small meal every 2-3hrs will do. It may seem hard to follow in the beginning, but you will get used to it. It's temporary only, don't worry.

haha for me it is probably goin to be a lifelong thing..

Ya lor...if I didnt do the ogtt when I was preggie / post partum I wont know also. One option definitely is to take metformin after I wean my LO. BUT now it is healthy diet and bf-ing

Just wondering is it necessary to take metformin for IGT? I know people with diabetes would take it if they choose to go through diet control instead of insulin injection, those already under control with proper diet would pop a pill before indulging good food once in a long while as precautionary measure.

it's an option u can choose to take. not necessary.

For moms who have delivered, did you have prick test right after? And they prick baby too to check their glucose level? Thanks..

GDM diet can be fun too. My fav is Paul's yogurt (plain) and fruit, low sugar cereal with magnolia milk and some strawberries.. As long as you arent hungry you wont crave so much for the sweet stuffs. Im just sad I cant eat banana now.. My fav fruit..

For moms who have delivered, did you have prick test right after? And they prick baby too to check their glucose level? Thanks..
Yes, my LO was pricked 4x over a 24 hr(?) span to monitor her glucose levels.
My glucose levels were not monitored during and after delivery. Only repeated my OGTT recently before my 3 mth review.

I had GDM and injected insulin 3x per day, each injection with high dosage of 26units insulin.
I delivered my bb gal on 1st May, after I back to ward, nurse continued to check my blood sugar level for two days and reduced my insulin dosage to 2units. On the third day, doctor stopes my insulin. I back to normal diet already.
Yes, nurse will monitor bb's sugar level too, they will prick bb's heel to get blood and test for sugar level. My bb's heel prick for too many times till blue black already, me so heartpain .

Didn't have any prick test after delivery, only during labour monitored every six hours. Baby got pricked to check also, but I didn't know how many times since the PD 1st visit reported ok already. The last prick for myself was 6 week postpartum review, only did fasting reading, no OGTT.

GDM diet can be fun too. My fav is Paul's yogurt (plain) and fruit, low sugar cereal with magnolia milk and some strawberries.. As long as you arent hungry you wont crave so much for the sweet stuffs. Im just sad I cant eat banana now.. My fav fruit..

I don't mind eating brown rice everyday, but just that it's much more expensive than normal white rice. :(
Still remember my happiest meal when having GDM was having salad bar buffet when I can go all out to eat veggie until full. Now with LO can't even have a proper meal if eating outside.

Oh dear.. I ll be so heart pain if bb got pricked like that :(

My happiest meal is a bowl of yakiniku salad and 4 or 5 sushi roll (the cooked type) at Sushi Tei..

i was still wondering if I should be continuing to do the 2 times a week prick test after deliver all the way till 6 weeks postpartum OGTT?

No lar, don't have to and don't stress yourself to do it... Don't think u even have time to do that when you busy with taking care of LO, breast feeding and so on.

No need. When I discharged from hospital, doctor never asked me to do so. Only remind me to do OGTT after 6weeks.

How are you all doing?
I just committed a sin.. Ate a slice of birthday cake which I cant resist :( Its not the super sweet type though.
Feeling so good yet so bad at the same time!
For mums in 3rd trim, do gynae ask you to do prick test ever again after the 2 day 7 times test?

How are you all doing?
I just committed a sin.. Ate a slice of birthday cake which I cant resist :( Its not the super sweet type though.
Feeling so good yet so bad at the same time!
For mums in 3rd trim, do gynae ask you to do prick test ever again after the 2 day 7 times test?

Yes my gynae asked me to do until i deliver. They are v strict abt it.

Wow.. So you can still rent the clinic meter?

My gynae at TMC nv say anything about testing again and just told me to continue the diet. I wanted to buy the meter for self test but the stress of doing it makes me hesitated.. End up indulging myself occasionally n feel so guilty:( My weight gain is quite controlled though.

Don't be so guilty for ocassional indulgence. Next time instead of one slice, just take a few bites. Sometimes I eat a one or two mouthful of ice cream when I see my hubby eat. The point is we have to eat in moderation n exercise self discipline so don't be so hard on urself.

I agree with Skivewalker.

Happybump, I too cannot resist myself at times .

Sometimes I will take 2 slices of Loacker hazelnut wafers. I have tested myself after eating it. Still within range.

Yup...occasional indulgence...is understandable !...and, it's also about how much carbo we eat at one go, whether it is high or low GI food.

To continue testing or not depends on the gynae. If they trust you enough, they will let us auto pilot when you get the hang of it. As my current gynae puts it, it is only for me and my baby's own good. More importantly, he checks on my weight and baby's weight gain in each visit.

My first gynae was insanely strict though. Microscopic checking of the table every follow up. I also felt very stressed then. And I felt being policed like a kid then, not to mention the countless glucose strips I bought which isn't cheap...

However, I did buy a meter and do random testing just to make sure that I am still on track. So far so good...

Thanks Jeannen.. Perhaps its good to buy meter since we are high risk for type 2 anyway.. Are you back to normal diet after delivery and results are still good?

I realise its worse to resist when we go to shopping mall basement.. Where its filled with food and snacks we cant eat!

Thanks Jeannen.. Perhaps its good to buy meter since we are high risk for type 2 anyway.. Are you back to normal diet after delivery and results are still good?

I realise its worse to resist when we go to shopping mall basement.. Where its filled with food and snacks we cant eat!

Had OGTT again after delivery and was back to normal. But my carbo intake such as rice became permenantly low and I developed interest in "customizing" my own food. Haha.

Ya. Sometimes the lure is very strong. Then I will rope in my husband. And steal 2 bites from him.

I find it very hard to give up bubble tea which I by default will go for no sugar less less pearls (when normal) , and durian puffs, strudel!

@Happybump The meter is not expensive, but the test stripes are very expensive. Sometimes if there is promotions, the bundle of stripes with a meter is even cheaper then buying the stripes alone with the same quantity some more....

I guess we dont need to test so frequently. Just want to know what food is safe and whats not. Btw I saw the limit for normal ppl is more generous (i.e 7.7 post meal vs 7 for GDM). Perhaps we can relax a little bit haha..

Got diagnosed with GDM with a reading of 8.6 for the 2h OGTT (currently 27 wks plus pregnant). Seems like most mummies here only had to do 2x weekly test and not daily prick? My Gynae referred me to an endocrinologist and I've been asked to prick 9x a day for the next 5 days.. At a minimum I'll have to prick 6x a day for the rest of the pregnancy. Dunno why so strict! :( did anyone have to prick daily too? Hope to get used to it and manage the condition with a sensible diet..

I think the min requirement is to prick 2x weekly, 7 readings in a day. I m surprised urs they ask u to do daily for 5 days. Nevertheless I also did almost daily to be sure food is fine, and to also determine what i can or cant eat.

I am still monitoring now on and off after delivery.. will do another test in July :)

When I was pregnant 27weeks, 2hr OGTT reading was 13.2! Doctor warded me for 6days to control my sugar level. I did prick my fingers 7x per day, everyday till I delivered my bb. I used up more than 300 pcs of strips, the strips expensive leh.

Were u using optium freestyle? i am using close to 150 strips myself..
today i checked 2hrs post-dinner 8.2! but i ate like siao lar.. white rice too. Prolly tml will start brown rice again. How is urs so far?
My bb is fine though, luckily!

I think the min requirement is to prick 2x weekly, 7 readings in a day. I m surprised urs they ask u to do daily for 5 days. Nevertheless I also did almost daily to be sure food is fine, and to also determine what i can or cant eat.

I am still monitoring now on and off after delivery.. will do another test in July :)

@isenggirl and @MTB-2015, thanks for your replies! I am supposed to do 9x over next 5 days (0,1,2hr after main meals) and submit my food diary to the doc next week, following which pricking will still be necessary cos doc said insulin resistance declines as pregnancy progresses. Seems like I have to count calories also as I'm underweight. It's daunting to think abt the process but I'm so inspired by u mummies who have delivered safely!

Just wondering if any of u have a list of food that is ok to eat in our local context? Cos I eat out quite a bit.. Hoping to get decent lvls next 5 days for a start and hopefully my doc can gimme some leeway... My doc gave me a 'manual' but it's more fine-tuned for ang moh context.

I've been reading this thread history and seems like the 'safest' food is fish soup, Yong tau fu, subway (w/o dressing)? Need more variety tho!

Actually anything that isnt obviously seasoned with sugar. Just cut down on rice and eat more vegetable. I boiled veggy in the microwave and bring with me whenever lunching at work :) half your meal should be veggy.. Wholemeal bread, magnolia hi-low milk are my best frens ever since GDM..

Your gynae is so strict btw!!

@Lynelyn Your gynae is very strict. If really gotta prick like so many time better put ice on your finger to numb it first.
Actually just cut the portion of white rice is ok, replace to brown rice if possible, eat more veg and proteins (egg/tofu/lean meat), fruits eat in smaller portion. If eat outside, no gravy, don't drink the soup in YTF etc., drinks no sugar.
I was also underweight, even now still borderline underweight.. I didn't really count calories, just eat more meat instead of carbo, was still drinking full cream milk that time.