Dr Lawrence Ang @ Sun Plaza

I'm new to this forum. I'm almost 6weeks pregnant, and is now looking for gynae. My GP recommended 2 gynaes to me. One of them is Dr. Chan from GlenE, the other one is Dr. Lawrence Ang @ Sun Plaza. Any comments on these 2 gynaes ?

Hi Mickey_72

Firstly, congrats!!!

I'm currently with Dr Ang. Now into my 34 weeks of pregnancy. Was recommended to me by my sisters. He's quite a nice guy. Why don't you make an appt with him and see if you are comfortable with him.

Most importantly, you must be comfortable with your gynae cos you will be seeing him for the next 34 weeks.

BTW, there's a thread on Dr Lawrence Ang from TMC at Sembawang. Maybe u can drop in to take a look at ppl's comments

Heard fm my gf, tt's he's a wondrful doc.. gd listener & patient doc. She 's was so pleased w him that she's still w him for her 2nd bb.
Btw, if u choose TMC as the place of delivery and booked 4 bedded, he can upgrade u 2 2 bedded.. u only pay the 4 bedded charges..

Can consider : )

I've just delivered my gal last mth. Dr Ang was great! Though sometimes he can be quite gan cheong kekeke... He helps his patients to save $ too.

i went to him on monday, cos i had some mild discharge.
he did a scan and he din manage to find my baby's heartbeat.
he said from the date of my last mense, i should be in my 6th+, but from the scan result, it seems like i'm in my 5th week only.

when will the baby's heartbeat been check?

wat advices or explanations did he gv u? follow up check up? Act, bb's heartbeat shld be ard 1 to 2 mths if im nt wrong.. for my bb, can be tell after 6 - 7 wks..

On the 1st visit, he did not do any blood test for HCG level, HIV, nor blood pressure reading, nor weight. Is it normal?

I heard at KK they will do many readings and test on the 1st visit.

Hi! undiscern,

I'm also with Dr Ang and prior to that with KKH.
Is true that KKH will do many tests cos thats their standard procedure. Mayb most public hosp wld do these standard test.

As for dr ang, he advise on a case to case basis depending on individual preg progress.

I did a blood test on HCG at KKH when the scan cldnt detect anything.
Even the 20th week detail scan is a must at KKH but in dr ang's clinic is optional one. Mayb for private gynes they will leave the decision to you. If you feel like doing any blood test or detail check feel free to ask Dr ang abt it. He's a very nice doctor & will help you as much as he could.

My boy was deliverd by him 1 1/2mths ago via c-section. He stitches very well too!

There are more discussion abt him at the other thread "Dr Lawrence Ang from TMC at Sembawang".
U may wish to read more from that thread.

i am seeing dr ang too. indeed, i am quite comfortable with him than my previous doctor, Dr Peter Chew whom i saw for infertility issues. Though Dr Chew helped me to conceive, I prefer someone who is patient, humble and willing to listen to you.

but i am curious, for those who have been delivered by Dr Ang, how was his stiches skills for vaginal delivery?

i am seeing dr ang too. indeed, i am quite comfortable with him than my previous doctor, Dr Peter Chew whom i saw for infertility issues. Though Dr Chew helped me to conceive, I prefer someone who is patient, humble and willing to listen to you.

but i am curious, for those who have been delivered by Dr Ang, how was his stiches skills for vaginal delivery?

snowpooher, was there any discomfort due to the stiches after delivery? like when u pee? or any issue when u have intercourse? heard some could still feel the pain when they had intercourse!

i am more worried about the stiches's pain than contraction!

No, I dun feel any discomfort. Pee is also ok. As for intercourse, I dun feel pain also. But I heard from a lot of ppl they do feel pain for the 1st time. I think it depends on individual.

MBD, I didn't

I find the mask is good enough to relieve the pain.

for those who opt out of epidural, can u share on how u manage to go through the pain? the 1/2 hr before delivery is the worst?

i hv no idea about my endurance rate in this case and is still considering whether to opt out it of it or not.

I am currently 13weeks pregnant. Highly recommended by our friends, my husband and I decided to try out Dr. Lawrence Ang and we have never looked back since.

Dr. Ang is very patient, friendly and responsible. He gives his hp no. so that MTBs under his charge can contact him anytime should they have any queries.

This morning I had some brown discharge. Worried, I tried calling him and he returned my call as soon as he could. Such timely reassurance is indeed valued and greatly appreciated.

I heard from my friends (whose babies were delivered by him) that he's skilful and experienced in the delivery room too. For that, my husband and I have utmost faith in him too.

Dr Ang's charges are also very reasonable...perhaps even one of the lowest (for example, ultrascan costs only $10). He will even recommend ways to help MTBs save money.

I hope my feedback will be of use to MTBs who are looking for a suitable gynae or considering Dr. Lawrence Ang.

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Mybabydream</font>,

U blur lah, His hp no is on e pink booklet.</font>

hi all where is Dr Ang's clinic and contact? also what are his packages like? me live in east, trying to fix up an appt with gynae to confirm pregnancy &amp; what to expect...

hi ixwong

thanks.. but 550 is for consultation rite?? consists of how many appointments?? wat abt delivery charges?

JO
$550 for all visits from the moment u preggie until deliver (inclusive of 1 post-delivery checkup). Covers consultation + normal u/s scan + pre-natal vitamins. Does not include delivery charges (which is abt $800 - $1200, I think).

mybabydream, tat 24hr emergency service no. is Dr Ang's HP lah.

Josephine, Dr Ang's clinic at located at Sun Plaza and TMC.

Sun Plaza
30 Sembawang Dr
#03-06 Singapore 757713
Tel: 6753 5228
Mon - Fri: 10am to 4.30pm
Wed: 10 am to 1pm (no afternoon clinic)
Sat: 9 am to 1 pm
Sun/PH: Closed
Night Clinic: Mon, Wed, Fri: 6 pm to 9 pm

Thomson Specialists Clinic
339 Thomson Rd
Thomson Lifestyle Centre Level 5
Singapore 307677
Tel: 6352 6550/559
(Not sure of operating hrs, pls call to check)

Ling, detail scan is not necessary but Dr Ang will strongly encourage you to do. Charges is $115 and will be done at TMC. The scan can check how healthy the BB is, 85% accurate.

ixwong, not 1 post delivery checkup lah, mine is 2 leh.

Jenny,
wow, that's long... seems like painful when they keep rolling the scanning thing on your tummy.

By the way, what are your delivery charge like?
Did you use medisave to claim? If not using medisave, do you know how much will that be?

Ling,
I don't feel long cos the room is so cosy that feel like sleeping :p
Painful? No pain lah. The lady who does the scanning will apply the gel first then she will slowly do the scan and check every detail. (If not won't known as detail scan liao).
I can't remember my delivery charge now. Need to go back to check. Yes, I use medisave to claim, deducted $2.8k from both Mother and BB bill (My bill and BB bill are separate bills). The nurse will advise which is the best method to claim, so that you only pay a little bit of hard cash.

"They"??? So far only Dr Ang did the scan during my visits. The only time is the nurse at TMC, she did it for my detailed scan.

thanks ixwong,

i tot of going to dr ang. now expecting my 2nd. my current gynae is gg away for a couple of mths earli next year.. my edd rite now is 17may06.. now coming 3mths preg. uncertain if i shld try dr ang.

heard of an incident where he didnt clean up the patient's placenta properly.. cos the patient to bleed badly for a few days.. kinda scary.. now i hesitate.

Jenny, Oh I See,because last time i went to see my doctor for monthly check-up, he press very hardly, so thinking if go for detail scan, scare they press hardly also, somemore takes 30-45mins. Heee.....

Hi Jo(bliss)
Where did you heard about the incidents? Sounds scary....

hi ling..

got to know it from a fr. me too hesitate whether to go to dr ang.. think of it, not everyone so suay rite? its oso the first time i heard of such thing..

can anyone tell me for the package of 550.. do i hv to paid unfront on my first visit?

Jo, it sounds scarly but I do heard other gynaes also got the same problem with not cleaning up the placenta properly.

For my case, I got 3 tears. One of the tears is very deep, near to the womb area. On the 3rd day after my birth, the stitches gave way, and as a result, I had blood clot. (I might be moving too fast or whatever, hence, caused the stitches to give way!) I was bleeding very seriously. The whole bed was stained with blood. The nurses at TMC called Dr Ang immediately and once Dr Ang arrived and saw my situation, he called for immediate operation. I was put on total GA. Dr Ang washed up my womb and restitched the tears. My stay in TMC was extended to 5 days cos Dr Ang wanted me to be completed ok before he discharged me. He ordered me to bedrest for one week after discharge.

The package of $550 is inclusive of all visits starting from day 1 till you deliver, regardless of how many visits + the folic acid + multi vitamins + normal scan at Dr Ang's clinic. Detail scan at TMC is not inclusive in the package. Triple test is not inclusive as well. The package will be signed up when you reached 4 mths (20 weeks). You will pay the $ from 0 weeks to 20 weeks for the visits. After you sign up the package on 20 weeks, the nurse will substract what you paid from 0 to 20 weeks from $550, then you need top up the balance.

Am I clear with the package details? If not, call up Mdm Chan for enquiry.

thanks jenny,

clear abt the package payment.. the payment term is something i missed out asking dr ang when i called him earli this week. i m now coming to 12weeks preg n he told me he wld charge me 500 from now till delivery. it kinda confused me when i saw u gals posting as 550..

hmm.. i do get alot of good comments abt dr ang. guess i will just go to him n find things out for myself. wats impt is that i must feel comfortable with him. plus point, from my place at cck to s;wang is nearer n it has got nite clinic. dun hv to purposely take leave to see him during day time.

Hi Jo,

U live in cck?? Y dun u try Dr Adrian.. he has gt a clinic in Cck Central.. E'thing the same as Dr Ang cos they belong to Thomson Women Clinic.

hi glad

frs did ask me to try dr adrian too but i read from the forum he not very popular, thou its definitely very near to me.

does dr adrian deliver at MAH?? i delivered my first bb at MAH.. feel comfortable there