Cup cakes for birthday

you ladies up in the wee hours talking about bloody bak? Whoahahahahaha!

Ling,
I love salmon belly... but like celery, I love mine raw!!! Sashimi.... mMMmmmmm.... sedap!!!

Ling
hee hee me dun realli take salmon belly. I love sashimi. I love salmon skin. Just yaki the skin and eat with salad so shiok

Hahahaha u all very funni eh...

Kendy: No bak la.. i dun take bak till feb.. come back next yr :p unless i am in the mood to cook it for HB.. haha

Yany & CL: Hehehe i don't take salmon de.. dun like the strong taste of it... basically its 98% going to HB.. i only pinch abit here n there. RAW??? my stomach not able to take it eh...

salmon belly is meow recommended de.. coz hb love salmon... he tried it and find it nice oso.

kendy? ... kendy's gone... long long gone... chopped up liow... now is Celery liow... hahahahahaha...

Okay... yesterday house no elect; cut off for maintenance... so baked these at Celery's house with her help... nice nice!

Just done the kiap kiap part... later bring party lor!

*mad season's ON*...

1977576.jpg
1977577.jpg
1977578.jpg

salmon skin... some fried till crispy crispy de... taste nite... like a cross between thin bah-you-pok versus tee-poh (a kind of thin crispy fish for wanton/dumpling) ....

wah lau... u r right leh... just powder and color is easier to handle... see u piak piak piak also got high feet... hehehehehe...

yeah... NORMAL buttercream...

hi peng,

i just dropped you a msg on your blog, but never mind, i can just ask you here.. keke

Regarding aging the eggwhite hor, issit necessary cos i wanna bake macarons today. I saw some blogs, they just leave the eggwhite at room temperature.

if i have no parchment paper, can i just use baking sheet? Issit a must to use parchment paper or silicon mat?

Kendy...wah thks for the tips :D i try tat next time :D

elaine77...definitely must use parchment or else will stick on baking sheet. rgds aging the white, the day b4 i want to make i separate the egg b4 the nite and keep in fridge then morning take out n leave till rm temp.

hi peng, thanks for your reply. I just went over to PH to buy some baking paper and ground almond. In the end i end up buying many other things.. jia lat..cannot step into PH. Im going to do the macorons.. wish me luck...keke

My macs failed, i think i overbeat the egg whites, when i was folding it, the bottom of the mixing bowl looks abit watery. But after folding, its ok but the final product failed.. crack, except for 1 mac which has feet, amazing.. only 1 survived.. haha

A few qns to ask from all the experienced mac's fever bakers.. :p
1)The batter is abit runny, issit supposed to be this way? After piping the macs onto the tray,

2)the macs actually spread out abit, issit normal?

3)Macs actually cracks on the top, issit i overbeat the batter or my oven temp is too hot or my macs is too thin?

1978557.jpg
1978558.jpg

Elaine....quite hard to describe the consistency of the batter to u, is not too runny though, thick and it does spread a little after piping. I only encounter once crack macs, i realise that time the batter is slightly stiffer. What is the temp u use to bake the macs? did u see the slide show i posted on my blog..though not very clear, maybe that can give u an idea how the whites and batter looks like

Peng
I oso enconuter crack & feetless mac but are those near to the oven door. I uses the 80g icing proportion. If i uses tartel recipe majority will not have this problem the feet is very nice but i notice its turn out crispy & taste more like biscuit or did i overbake it?

Elaine
me no expert...but I got a book states that u can used a spatula to test out. The batter should be like lava flow almost conitnously and not too runny. Hope this help.

hi fatmum and pengs for your advise, i think the prob is also i did not age the eggs. Im eating the cracks macarons..keke.. abit chewy and taste like meringue cookies.

fatmum, wow.. this blog is very useful. One more qns, what do you do with all the egg yolks, i have 4 eggyolks sitting in the fridge.

Catika
wa, did u grind your own peanut powder? nice nice macarons. seeing all the successful macarons really tempting leh, i wanna try soon too!!

Mischa Mummy
if we use fresh egg whites for tartlette's recipe, can we use it straight away without microwaving like what helen from tartlette said? if no need to microwave, how long to stand egg whites @ room temp?

Kendy
where can we get powdered food coloring?

TL
nice bakes!!

Peng
Hmm...then i must have overbaked it.

Elaine
I used it to make custard sauce as filling for the macs. It goes well with chocolate mac

elaine77,
me no expect too...but looking at ur piped batter, it looks too runny. the batter should be able to 'sit' within the size u have piped, but no peak should form ie. the nozzle tip should go bk and blend into the batter forming a nice dome.
1980072.jpg

ixorarred, i didnt microwave the egg whites. i jus cracked the eggs straight from fridge cos egg whites seperates best when chilled. then let it stand in a bowl outside till it reached room temp then beat the whites. cos recipe says that egg white shouldnt be cold otherwise it will not beat well. dun stand too long if uncovered cos bacteria thrives in our weather.

S@l
did u cut ur silicone mat to fit into tray? Am thinkg shld i cut mine?

elaine
did u beat ur egg white to soft peak? i find this method useful to beat the egg white u can used this method. Beat at medium speed for 20s add 1/3 of sugar then beat for another 20s, add another 1/3 of sugar, beat another 20s then add remaining sugar beat for another 20s. thereafter lower to a lower speed and beat for abt 1 min. U shld get ur white at the desire peak. So far this method works for me. But u may want to note diff mixer got different speed so u have to guage which is medium & low.

Need to check with you gals again... my mom told me food processor very difficult to wash and advise me to get those small one that looks like a cup... not sure is she referring to the handheld blender...

Is it true that food processor is difficult to wash and have to change blade for different purpose? Hers is a very old one...

Actually, I just need 1 equipment that can help me grinding nuts, spices etc... no need other functions... in this case, which one should I get? Thanks in advance!

fatmum, the mat i was using is the Bake and Bend range. ya i cut it to fit my baking pan. but i totall hate using this with batter directly on it. it sticks! so now i only use the non-stick parchment on the baking pan, works much better.
the Silpat mat i bought was way too big for my oven,so i hvent used that to bake at all.

snowbelle, i think the easiest to wash blender will be Ulike brand. the one that isetan is selling with a salesman/woman doing demonstration. washing is a breeze!

oh ya FAtmum, i actually beat the hell out of my egg whites....its stiff peaks! hahaha. i realised for non-aged egg whites, need to beat till stiff peaks. for aged whites, soft-medium peak will do..hehehe...

today 'tam chiak' went to Bakerzin with hb...couldnt resist and ordered 2 macs cos hvnt had time to bake any recently....
Verdict: macs shell is too thick, and see the pink mac? the filling actually sunk into the shell..so u cant see the filling! Guess what? i pryed opened the mac and saw it HOLLOW!!! whahahaha...so, Peng, Kendy, and the rest of the mummies...our macs actually got standard wor..!
1981387.jpg

*pardon my 'looking-kinda-bored' hubby in the background..hehehe

Wow Nice macs. No time to bake over the weekend as my baby boys having high fever since thur. Eat medicine liao temp still 39, 40 degree, wont go dwn. He so cranky untill i almost burst out. Control Control....

blueangel30,
Thanks. But I'm a bit confused... blender same as food processor? I don't use any of them before coz I scare I'll cut myself when washing the blade... silly right... :p

Mischa's Mummy: which bakerzin did you go to? Yeap i agreed their shell is very different from most of what we did. But the ones i tried is good.. no hollow in the inside. Crispy yet abit moist and chewy. HB kind of like their version more.

snowbelle, if its for chopping/grinding then this Ulike blender can do it. It can also make fruit juice and mash vege...so is a food processor too.I had those moulinex processor too but is always a nightmare to wash cos too many parts etc...really like my Ulike blender, u should 'invest' in one.

Missyling, i was at Vivo's BKz. hubby said my version taste better! Wahahahaha! He complained that its a tad too sweet and have the 'gelak' (dunno who to spell) feeling aft eating BKz. hehehe

Wow so nice fruits from all of u... esp the macs can sell liao....

So when start to bake cny cookies? kekeke.....

Eliz, have pm you on the HK mould.

Waa...now everybody expert in mac liao. Peng, yr ginseng mac sounds gd. Must make some more and let me try leh...This yr log cake no biz huh? Haven been logging for a while coz went states. Wilton is cheap here. Bot quite a bit of the baking stuff here.

Can buy Mac from Vivo Bakerzin? I didn't see from the display leh.. then decided go to starbuck at the end. I went there to check out, thought of buy some macs to try, as never taste before and feel tempted to try after seeing so many nice and yummy mac baked by mummies here.

Btw, I baked cream puff but failed. It never raised, any idea what happen? I follow the recipe step by step... so sad.

I need help. I've got a lot of egg yolks after baking all the macs..pls someone share with me the recipe for using the yolks to make custard.

bottle, have ah...still have lots left when i was there last night at 9pm! its in the glass display next to the cake le...

bbgirl, u check Kendy's blog. i used her recipe the last time. super easy and tasty. but then hor got any other ideas to use egg yolk or nt? one reason why i stopped baking macs for now is also becos i wasted /threw away lotsa yolks the other time! hehehe

Mischa's Mummy,
thanks..I will go search there now..Think I also need to stop making mac liao..but mac with choco ganache, taste very nice...lol

Woke up today feeling pek chek... going to have a long long day... HB not yet back... OT...

lunch today was simple... Thai Yellow Curry...

1985277.jpg

dinner tonite MUST be simple and easy... minimum washing and I want to watch TV at 8PM...

Baked macaroni and dory fish... one oven settle all!

1985278.jpg
1985279.jpg

1985280.jpg
1985281.jpg

1985282.jpg
1985283.jpg

MY boy and gal whacked this much for dinner! GOSH!

Just now feeling bored... baked Green Tea Muffin with Red Bean fillings... this time set temp too high... top cracked... but no doubt, very pang and the inside is okay!

(Picture of inside looks moist because it was still smoking-hot when i take pic)

First picture looks GROSS now... hahahahaha... you know what i'm thinking of? hahahahah...

1985284.jpg
1985285.jpg
1985286.jpg

kendy
your mac is so smooth and nice. Aiyo when can I join this mac gang.

Anyway, siow cha bo today doze off last nite early and so up early again to bake my breakfast. Thanks to Peng who answered some of my queries and keke, presenting my banana cupcake from Peng's blog.

1985374.jpg

Cat,
How's ur feeling today? Dun feel pek chey leh... wait later got to meet u 1 leh... btw, is it that green tea cake must put red bean? Me bot green tea power from PH for mths liao still din bake anything out... Can give me the recipe for choc n this green tea 1?