Cup cakes for birthday

J's mum, haven't sleep yet ah? How come you are selling those cookies cutter away? Forgive me if you have mentioned that in your earlier posts. Lately any baking?

Peng

Thanks. Think can bake slightly longer. Have done the toothpick test but hand itchy still bring the cake out. Then diaster happen. lucky managed to hold on to the cake and did not scald myself. I used aluminium foil to hold the cake for easy removal frm the tin.

Maurolin.
owe $ pay $. How much I must pay you? I very paisei ortang for so long liao!

Fatmum, you scared i go your house and hang pig's head ah? Can't remember your amount off hand, not too much la. Your collected your stuffs from pink already? No hurry for me as i also ortang my hk friend. You bake such a big chesse cake ah? Can finish or not?

Ha..ha...if you want to write da zhi pao oso can cos my hse kana once b4 liao. The person somemore come to my hse to look for that guy b4 the writing. Already told him no such person than next day write BIG BIG for me to see.

Paisei mah wait for too long can forget leh. I have yet to collect the stuff from pink. Probably this week or next weekend. Thanks for your help ya!

I follow the quantity in Pinks recipe leh. Maybe its rectangle so looks big. U shld try this recipe. Easy and nice.

Peng, as you also thinking what i'm thinking? Heehee! By the way, have you collected from j's mum on the cutters? How do you find the quality?

Yesterday made Ondeh ondeh sweet potato
1283570.jpg

Today bake 3 baking tray mocca cheesecake

1283571.jpg

1283572.jpg

1283573.jpg

Peng,

Sori lah...kept so long for you..paiseh paiseh

Maroulin,

Talking abt hang pig's head...you dun come my plc to hang hor.. I think I still owe you $ for the pineapple fillings leh. Tat time the bank trfr din go thru rite? Check for me ok? I old liao...poor memory.

Just this week, I bake pink's cheesecake n y'day bake choc n raisin cookies for my son's small party today.

js`mum
base is spongecake after tat pour cream cheese & put in fridge about 20 menite.
After 20 menite pour mocca cheese on top.

wow... so much baking by all of the mummies!!!

fatmum, the jap cheesecake needs waterbath right? ... how u bath the cheesecake huh? ... can't tell from pic leh...

j'smum, thankew thankew... finally it's ROUND!!!

all your bakings all nice nice... i just finished my 2nd batch of doughnuts!!! still round!!! yippee!!!

Tomorrow i can't do volunteer work... but i'll donate donuts to hubby and company... jia you!!! I support all of you in spirit with donuts!!! hehehehe...

xiaoling
ur fruits always v nice! where u find so much time to bake huh. louis must be a v good boy no disturb u when u work!

the cheesecake can sell already leh. hotel std!

Js'Mum, Fatmum, thanks

Questions on baking cheescake:
1. "waterbath"
Question: how to do that huh? so far i only bake butter cake, orange cake for fun.

2. Melt cream cheese, butter and milk in a bowl over a pot of water.
Question: m i right over a pot of hot water? can use mixer?

3. Add in the sugar and whisk until soft peaks form.
Question: until white, won't flow out when u overturn the bowl?.

4. when to add in the butter mixture to the egg white mixture?

starlight, ice_lim
no worries. noted. hello kitty silicon mould.
but if you just wan to make jelly no need to use silicon mould, its more ex. that is to bake. if you only wan to use it for jelly, there should be a cheaper alternative. a plastic one is good enough. let me know which do you prefer.

Js'Mum
have pm you already. thanks for helping the mm square seal!
let me know how much to pay you.

xiau ling
wow! nice cakes! you really have improved a lot!

Peng
chiffon cakes not so difficult huh?

Catika
quickly go practise again. sure can do one!
nice dounts! so now you can do liao huh!

XiauLing and fatmum

your cakes very nice! So good to see your 'fruits' and learn from one another
I love oneh oneh, can make some at next gathering?

Charsiew_rice, I also have the same questions as you - how to melt things (e.g. gelatine/chocolate/cheese etc) in a bowl over a pot of hot water. Can the bowl be inside the pot on a steaming rack or must the bowl be bigger than the pot so it can sit on top? Hope we can be enlightened soon!

angel...i put the bowl sitting on top of a pot of boiling water..the bowl not touching the water only let the hot steam melts the cheese/choco..can u figure out??

mama to 5js
Louis he never disturb me even i bake cake. But i always bake cake is louis take a nap. He can take a nap 3-4 hour.

hwee

angel
i will make ondeh2 next gatering

Peng,

so the bowl must be much bigger than the pot, let the bowl rest totally on the rims of the pot right? I must get a small pot then. But if the bowl sit on top the pot, it will be very hot right with the steam rising up? How to hold on to the bowl when stirring the mixture? Sorry sound so stupid but really no experience lah... If any mummy doing this, can snap a picture and post here?

Xiauling, lookg fwd to your oneh oneh then...

Catika,
Congratulation! so tomorrow session still on? sms me k.

Xiau Ling,
Ur skill getting better and better wor..how i wish i stay near you. :p

Hwee, u gg japan? have not been veri active for past week. if possible, can u get the Hello kitty mould for the cake for me too?? pls....hee hee..

Hwee,

me want plastic type to make jelly n oso if got other pattern cute cute oso can. me anything as long cute n sweet pattern can liao... And the cake mould oso wan.

Hwee,
Something like what starlight posted, that is for baking cake right? cos I want to use it for baking cake and the hello kitty so cute... thanks in advanced hor...so sweet of you.

Hwee

Last updated cutters list
----------------
1)angi - snoopy - x1
2) Eileen Tan - Authentic Mickey, Minnie and Donald Cookie Stamp or Mickey & minnie cookie cutter - Qty :1 Doraemon - Qty 1
3) Tulip - pooh & piglet (Qty 1 set)
4) Starlight74 - Mickey minnie, pooh&tigger, chip&dale, Hello Kitty, each 1 set.
if u happen to find Hello kitty mould i want to tompang too, thanks.
5) Lim - pooh & piglet (1set) & mickey & minnie (1set)
5) Star_eliz - Doraemon (1set) ; Hellokitty (1set)
6) clarisocean - mickey, minnie, pooh & piglet
7)mama mya Doraemon x1, Hellokitty x1, snoopy x 1, anpam man x1
8) sallyngsj - mickey/minnie X 1, pooh/piglet X 1
9) icelim - pooh/piglet X 1,Hellokitty x1
10) MDL - Doraemon x1, Hellokitty x1, snoopy x 1
11) applemum - Doraemon x1, Hellokitty x1, snoopy x 1

ice_lim
no need to waste money la. if you getting the silicon mould then no need for the plastic type. the silicon mould can do both. i also dunno how much. maybe come up to quite ex there also. hee hee...

sweetie_hamster
noted. will get for you.

if i do come across, i'll get some other stuff and come back then ask you all ok? if the list is too long then i also dunno if i'm able to bring back all in one piece or not. and of course provided they have stock too!
i'll try.

hi fatmum and pink,

I'm a novice when it comes to baking cake. Just to check after we have beaten the egg white and sugar till soft peak, what do we do next? Pour the egg white mixture into the cheese mixture and mix or what? Really have no idea.

HI all.

Anyone knows if i cld buy spare part for philips mixer? i accidently spoiled one of the whisks (sob) =(.

Mdl
I think u can get it directly from Philip at Toa Payoh. My philip mixer bowl crawl then check with one electric shop friend, she told me to buy from Philip.

Hwee

----------------
1)angi - snoopy - x1
2) Eileen Tan - Authentic Mickey, Minnie and Donald Cookie Stamp or Mickey & minnie cookie cutter - Qty :1 Doraemon - Qty 1
4) Starlight74 - Mickey minnie, pooh&tigger, chip&dale, Hello Kitty, each 1 set.
12) Kimtan -Doraemon x1, Hellokitty x1, pooh/piglet X 1

Thank you so much!!

Mdl
no, because my hubby bought the kitchenaid mixer for me as bd gift. So I forget about my philip mixer, hehe! U may call them to check the price.

Hwee

----------------
1)angi - snoopy - x1
13) cocomiki- Mickey minnie, pooh&tigger, chip&dale. 1 set each.

Hi Js'Mum,
I hv reply your pm.

Hi Hwee,
I hv bought pooh/piglet cutter from Js'mum.
SO now i like to change my order as follow:

----------------
1)angi - snoopy - x1
5) Lim - Hello kitty(1set), mickey & minnie (1set)& princess (1set

Thank you Thank you.

I've been following the thread cos I'm also keen on baking and decorating.

Have a question pls, hope someone would be able to advise.

When is it that we use the oven's fan mode, top and bottom heating, or just top or just bottom heating...etc...like for baking the jap cheesecake, which functions do you usually use for it to become cottony soft and not too dry...

Xiau ling,

Thks, i'm just looking to buy a whisk to replace e one that's spoilted.

Been trying to call to e philips line serveral times but no one ans. 'sian'

dear mommies,
sorry being MIA for 2days.....

Mdl,
i bot the sparepart from philips sometime ago.
the mixer bowl cost me ard S$20.
a pair of whisk ard S$15.
that was ard 4 yrs ago, not sure abt now.
yes i also very tired called them no one ans. then lucky i got fren willing to help me walk in and buy.....

alamak, jus notice got two archive for two days?
pls pop me a Q again if I missed out anyone.

charsiew rice, happymama, amyamy,
welcome on this baking thread.... be prepared to spend money to buy ingredients....hahaha!

peng, fatmum, catika, xiau ling,
nice "fruits"...

peng,
your chiffon looks very fluffy.... good job...

fatmum,
i believe your cheesecake melt in the mouth, no doubt! the texture look so so good!
dun say "fan" lah... so malu wor...
i'm beginner only.....
btw, i'm big fan of aunt yo, her baking no doubt hor?
evrytime talk to her, always gain and learn new things...

xiau ling,
how i wish i can get a bite of your fruits, yummy yummy leh.....

catika,
what can i say? very successful !!! so proud of you!
thanks for step by step pix, very helpful !!

Pink

Have questions on cheese cake leh..

Questions on baking cheescake:
1. "waterbath"
Question: how to do that huh? so far i only bake butter cake, orange cake for fun.

2. Melt cream cheese, butter and milk in a bowl over a pot of water.
Question: m i right over a pot of hot water? can use mixer?

3. Add in the sugar and whisk until soft peaks form.
Question: until white, won't flow out when u overturn the bowl?.

4. when to add in the butter mixture to the egg white mixture?

thanks. hope to get answer soon 'coz today very motivated to bake! :)

Angel
You trying out the cheese cake soon? share with me how is your attempt, ok?

i was looking at the posts and saw the blueberry cupcakes you baked last month, so nice, i tot i was looking at postcards!

happy (happymama) ,
me abit kaypoh to ans yr Q ya?
pls turn OFF the fan when you bake the jap cheesecake.... 160C for abt 30mnts or till cooked. use the toothpick test ya?
you can use top & bottom function for jap cheesecake.

for those who asked how to "water bath bake",
pls see the below pix, its an example only, don't use the plastic one hor, cos i juz grab anything on my office desk to take pix.
the pan have to sit ON the bigger pan which content of BOILED WATER. water level around 2cm will do.
1284373.jpg

siew lai, eron, sally ng,
ok noted.. will keep u in the loop when i send out invitation via e-mail.

js'mum,
remember to help me order my tupperware hor? i need it to stor my cuppies leh.....

eron,
the tupperware i use to store cuppies on over leh..
me order another 2 from js'mum

----------------
1)angi - snoopy - x1
5) Lim - Hello kitty(1set), mickey & minnie (1set)& princess (1set
9) icelim - pooh/piglet X 1,Hellokitty x1, Doraemon x1

Me add one more item.
Thank you Thank you.