Cup cakes for birthday

sunny, all the best to you! you may wan to try out this weekend first and can ask pink for advice if needed before her actual day. Good luck!

pink,
i wan i wan! pineapple tarts!

but hw to collect??!!

Wow peng
I was working from home for 2 years now back in full time.

Hwee
ya ya can pass in CCK too. My gal Aug, yours leh ? Not cunning lah. Our kids both same year one. Discuss oso easier mah

Sunny
All the best. Ha ha task me to help you buy lah since sun lik so near me then pass you near home ha ha . Your chinese books still with me too.

jj,

Hi we are "classmates"!

I attended the cupcake class by Joycelyn too but it was the earlier one (not specially for Xmas) where she taught buttercream/simple icing and fondant.

sweetie_hamster
So far I only baked cake once. My hubby said taste gd but not presentable

hwee
^5, dat's how I make pizza too

n2inpink
My edd early Apr Oh yes v tired
U like giving birth, contraction not painful meh?
I like being preggie. I like the feeling of bb b wif me wherever I go

I normal delivery. V short labor for my previous. Luckily my boi chose the right time to come out. If peak hr, think I deliver in car liao. Gyne specially indicate in my record tis time round.
I'sian style pineapple contains cheese is it?
Hope I can carry on baking after delivery. My mum keeps nagging....

chicken little
Jap food not easy, esp the deco. v presentable

Ruffy
Both fondant n egg tarts big project. U muz b expert in fondant

jj
can't agree more. Tis thread runs @ rocket speed. No problem it's better late than never

Yap yap, fondant c no eat too sweet for my liking
Your shi fu's blog v impressive

Peng
1st attempt so well done clap clap clap

Nikko,
there are 2 types of fondant- Rolled ( spread over like playdough) and Poured (something like putting melted chocolate all over.)

JJ,
Compiled some recepies I found on the interent in another blog. There are some fondant recepie there..some recepies were from this forum also.

www.recepiebox.wordpress.com

Shook,
No expert in fondant..still learning

hwee
thanks! will try to steal time to do it this weekend.

CL
hee.... i think i will go sun lik myself so that i can kpo and see what they have there other than buying those things that i need. keke.... me very shopaholic one... :p

Sunny and CL,
Wow.. so happy to see u all here.
I am new here too.. wanted to try out cupcakes but no time yet. I enjoying seeing the mummies' hardwork here. They are really experts. So both of u will be baking as well?

RE: Sunlik
Where is it huh? should pop by and see.

*pant* *pant* ... lots of reading to catch up...

niko: ask u hor... who takes my pic with my two babies? ... *KOK* ... u can decode hwee+pink's complex code yet ask me where is hubby!!! *kok* *KOK* *kok*

foreverfriends: i too lazy to go check... hehehe... forget about the 1.40 lah... my gal takes after my hubby... my boy takes after me more... hmm... u say gal takes after me... yeah yeah... i fat fat mah... she chubby chubby... hahahahahha.. hamburger hamburger wor... :p

hammie: wah!!! i so gam-dong... u sell them to me lah... cos it saves me a trip to go buy... hehehee...

pink/mommies: i wonder if SKP got cupcake cups? ... any idea? i really like the one that you got from sunlik... it is v. good quality for the cost.

niko: i think we better hold them (the elders) at the elbow... ikea lunch lotsa people sia... wait their tong-kat kena trip... worse!!! hahahha... me won't bring my stroller cos Ikea cramped and also i park behind ikea, stroller can't kling-klong kling-klong down the stairs leading to ikea.

think tomorrow/sunday will bake cupcakes again... if successful/extras, will bring monday let you all try... by the way, how many going huh? wait not bring enuff, our 'elderly gangster' will say leave catika to her and bring out her shiny shiny parang knife and hack me to pieces on the spot leh! hahahahahahaa... :p

xiau ling, where do you stay wor... hahahaha... u bake/cook/fry everyday... really feel like learning things from you!!! hahahahhaha...

oh.. seems like quite a few of u here same as me, i can only bake after my gal sleeping, usually after 11.30pm.

shook
u are preggie. me too. tis few days really tired, got no energy to bake. always like to sleep.

peng
wah.. WAHM, tat's good, at least got income and also can spend time with ur child.

preggie mummies,
cherish the pregnancy days and must enjoy the delivery moments!!!

i really really really miss my preggie days (not very smooth though, but it's still an experience) and the moments of delivery... hahahaha... can't wait to get pregnant again!!!

next year is mousie year hor... *tap tap tap fingers... pondering* ... hehehhehe

Really miss this thread soooo much…. Has been with very tight schedule, just too many stuffs to clear up the "shits"..oops, sori got to use such term..bo bian really headache and angry lah, tat's why MIA. No time to bake at all, so will miss my baking too. Sob sob… Managed to grab a little time to log on and….wow… I can't catch up liao. Anyone care to update me abit incase I miss sth?

This thread really makes a diff with Pink's coming back to our 'home' hor...hahaha..

Guess how I do my postings here? I hv to spend 2 days to finish reading and writing on the 1-2 days archive..want post but my time's up then got to go off…haiz…so tat's why can post them. This thread really shoots up like ROCKET...esp. when pink's back now.

<font color="ff0000">Pink,</font>

C how popular you are...everyone misses you so much. WELCOME BACK! Now my turn to MIA...but I not worry lah...not so popular like u mah so not too bad lah...hahaha

Thanks for the comment on my cupcakes, I hope I can bake again some day but definitely not this period to improve much better. Saw your yummy lapis cakes and CNY clothes for your kids…really envy you leh, SUPER MUM. I Want your lapis cakes and pineapple tarts too... I became very tam jiat liao leh..how arh... Shall we exchange yam cake to these? Hehehe...

Alamak…dun bully me lah, I headache enuff liao leh with all the 'mess' in the family biz to clear. But I really wish to hv 72 hrs a day like you mention.. Anyway, I really need your help in the accounts matter and I only use Excel niah…too chim I cannot lah...din study to that level. I will sms you to arrange our meetup okie?

Thanks in advance leh.

<font color="119911">Eileen,</font>

Great to hear tat, should you nid more tupperware can just approach me or my friend too. Thanks for the egg tarts recipe too, my family loves egg tarts except me, hv copied for future reference. Hehee… Happy baking.

<font color="0000ff">Sweetie_hamster,</font>

Now I dun hv the time to do any baking yet cos really busy till no breathe liao. Dun think can try out your fruit tart so soon and oso I dun hv the mould too. Anyway, just dun forget cookies for me hor, I oso want leh.

Where do you stay again? Sengkang? Maybe can get a ride from any mum coming for the CNY gathering? Can PM me your email, I will guide you the way.

<font color="ff6000">jj,</font>

Oh, moved to new house…congrats and welcome back. Nice and beautiful creations on your cuppies and box too, good idea to add on with ribbons on the box. So nice... Oops, so sorry, did I forget abt meeting you up regarding the Tupperware Sift N Stor? I did reserve one for you but do you still nid it? Let me know ya...I will try my best to meet you asap. Paiseh...

<font color="aa00aa">Icelim,</font>

Ya, mostly chose Tampines as the potluck point leh…paiseh..I one of them oso.. Do try to make it with your kids lah, they can have fun in the swimming pool there.

Catika,
Nice to see you here again. Everything's fine?
Your boi in P1 oso? Same as my girl…busy busy busy…but hor, just 2day I got complain from her form teacher liao..expected complaints from school but never tot it come super fast...sob sob.

Pink,
Wah…your cuppies for charity can really grow money leh, just like your 3D X'mas tree. Tat's very good.

Chicken Little,
I love Japanese food neh…any yummy recipe to share with?

Ruffy_bear,
Of cos you are welcome to the potluck.

Shook, Catika,
I oso like to be preggie leh, tat's why hor…you know lah. Esp during the labour part…push...push..push then 'pop' ...oh wah oh wah…haha. Really miss tat. But enuff for me liao..bo stamina n more white hair coming out liao..n2inpink, I can join you liao.

Xiauling,
Another new creations...looks yummy.

Updates:

Hope I din miss out anyone in the above postings...

Potluck before CNY :-

Date: 20th Jan 2008, Sunday, 2-6pm
Venue: (1) Function Room @ Eden (Tampines)
Food: Pls indicate your speciality

1) n2inpink (1+2) bring: rendang chicken, spinach and ham frittata, assorted sushi (simple one), risoles (indonesian finger food), onde onde
2) Js'Mum (1 + 2)
3) angel
4) xiau ling
5) sweetie_hamster
6) Eron (1 + 3)
7) Dearie_e
8) mdl
9) hwee (2+2) will bring desserts (let me know wat you all like)
10) nikonnet : Drinks
11) caramum (1) - fried bee hoon
12) Catika (2+2) most prob. bring pineapple tarts
13) Ruffy_happy( Red bean soup or cream puffs??)

Urh..I dunno wat to bring leh. Anyone can suggest? Pineapple rice, yam cake, tom yam soup, pizza, curry puff????

Jsmum: wah... what happen to ur gal? ... u've got 4 kids arh? .. pei fu pei fu... it's our initial plan too... but $ limited liow... hahahaha... planning for no. 3 now!
so far so good... my boy's ok on first day liow... second day 'don't want' me to go see him during reccess... today just go to his assembly hall after saying bye and hugs.

think me no do pineappel tarts liow... scare no time and somemore, lotsa experts here... i novice... wait do liow kena critize and choped left right centre up down by pink (my shi fu)!!!! hahahahha... think i'll do some light finger food... seaweed chicken can???

hmm... u shud bring ur famous yam cakey!!! hahahahhaa... sure sellable one... :p

1) n2inpink (1+2) bring: rendang chicken, spinach and ham frittata, assorted sushi (simple one), risoles (indonesian finger food), onde onde
2) Js'Mum (1 + 2)
3) angel
4) xiau ling : bring layang layang, Lidah kucing( Indonesian cookies )
5) sweetie_hamster
6) Eron (1 + 3)
7) Dearie_e
8) mdl

2) Js'Mum (1 + 2)
3) angel
4) xiau ling
5) sweetie_hamster
6) Eron (1 + 3)
7) Dearie_e
8) mdl (tentatively: tiger strips peppermin choco cake)

hi all...

just being kaypo... pls ensure that food is halal (preparation and consumption) cos dunno if therez any Muslim friends going...

just two cents worth... thanks.

2) Js'Mum (1 + 2)
3) angel
4) xiau ling
5) sweetie_hamster
6) Eron (1 + 3)
7) Dearie_e
12) Catika (2+2) finger food

yesterday nite try baking egg tarts...first batch was terrible manz...did not press the pastry properly into the mould, resulting the base being too thick, have to throw away 2nd batch crust, so gek sim...only 3rd batch is more presentable..

1180780.jpg

may
so far, i only tried baking cup cake once. taste was ok, but a bit burnt. haha...
sunlik is at 33 Seah Street

Morning ladies
PENG,
Nice tarts..
Look so yummy.. drooling already!!!

2) Js'Mum (1 + 2)
3) angel
4) xiau ling
5) sweetie_hamster
6) Eron (1 + 3)
7) Dearie_e
12) Catika (2+2) finger food
13) Ruffy_happy( cream puffs)

Just bake a sponge cake for pandan fudge fillings then realise forgot to put the pandan flavour in the cake. The cake rise up a lot but later sink down n when cut into 2 layer, it is not fully cooked. So have to bake it again. After pour in the fillings then found that fillings not enough Now the cake looks very ugly &amp; is in the fridge waiting to set. Will try to upload a picture later, so sad!

Super busy this morning, bake cake &amp; hubby wanted to eat mee hoon kwan. Lucky he helped to kned the dough &amp; I cook it.
1180955.jpg
1180956.jpg

Wah!!! never log in for a day oni and already moved to the next page of thread.

Pink u buzy counting $ so I help u to take lor....jst kidding no problem la!!

jj it was posted in the archive thread that this blogger is selling but stock is only in in Feb 08. I got mine for $ 7 per set from one of the BP sometime ago. But heard taka bringing in the product but not too sure when maybe can pop by else get from the blogger then. http://playkeen.blogspot.com/search/label/Bakeware

Sweetie hamster, i know y my dough crack cos I add horlick so maybe 2 dry liao!! Ok will try out urs. already save under words doc. kamsia!

Shers..I can only baked when my rascals are Zzzz. So normally tat will be 9-10+ during weekends. And when my hand itch I will asked my ah lao to jagar them. Sometime he will give me tat kind of look 1 but i oso ba bo do.

Would very much like to join in the CNY gathering but can't cfm cos my job always got adhoc projects. Bakers have fun ya!!! remember to take some pic then post in the thread then we know who is who ya!!! Have FUN.

Js'mum, Buzy ya! Miss ur yam cake. No time to try out ur recipe yet!!!

Have a great weekend!

fatmum
the cutter very exp for this blogger. I help one mummy buy from Japan. It is only 475 yen. So confirm about 6 or something I cannot remember liao.

Sunny,
You are most welcome.
Good luck making cake for your darling girl ya..
You can make it, have faith..

Lollie,
Wow, we are classmates..
If only know you earlier then we can attend together.
How is your fondant class? What did you learn to do?

Foreverfriends Honey,
Agreed, her blog is so impressive!!
Drool for her fantastic "finesse creation"..

Ruffybear,
Thanks for sharing the compiled recipes on your link.
So informative indeed..

May Wong,
Welcome to the baking thread.

Sun Lik Trading Pte Ltd
33 Seah Street Singapore 188389
Tel : 6338-0980

Xiau Ling,
You made lovely strawberry trifle dessert and deep fried tapioca cheese..
Both so yummylicious!!
You are good example of a baker, never give up and bake often with different creation all the time.. (thumbs up!)

CatiKa,
You look pretty in picture and so are both your adorable kids..

May I help to answer for pink,
SKP does sell the cupcake cup too, but quality wise not so good (thinner) as Sun Lik's and more expensive too..

Js'Mum,
Thank you for your kind words..
Oh ya, would like to take a look at the tupperware siever pls..
I was so busy before the year end and like wise for you too, till we forgot to contact each other..
Do buzz me when you are free ya.. TQ!

Peng,
Nice egg tarts there.
So yummy looking, drooling lo..
Good try, practice makes perfect.

Eileen Tan,
Your sponge cake in the picture looks ok what..
Pink can help on your situation there..
Sorry me no expert on sponge cake..

You can even make "mee hoon kway"?
Talented! You have a nice hubby helping you to knead the dough..
The meal looks so GOOD!

jj
thanks for the encouragement.
btw, what's the diff between sponge cake and chiffon cake? baking soda and baking powder?

Fatmum,
Thanks so much for the info.
I missed the thread on the spree for the mould.
Do enlighten me if there you do happen to come across any. TQ!

Me too, can't confirm on the CNY gathering..
Otherwise good to meet fellow bakers in this forum.
Do post pics and share the FUN ya..

Saw the blog you posted, agreed with Chicken Little, the mould there bit pricey..

Chicken Little,
By any chance are you going to buy again?
Else may pls trouble you to help buy if can?
No obligation..TIA!

jj
My hubby likes to eat it so he has to learn how to knead the dough, hehe!

My coconut pandan fudge cake because of the fillings not enough got a lot holes. Lucky my hubby do the decorating for me to cover all the holes.
1181164.jpg

Sunny,
To me chiffon cake is sponge cake..
Fellow expert, correct me if I am wrong, I am no expert on sponge/chiffon cake.

I think Pink or someone ever posted the difference of Baking Soda and Baking Powder before in one of the archieve.

I have search out for you in FULL terms:-

Baking soda and baking powder are leavening agents, which means they are added to baked goods before cooking to produce carbon dioxide and cause them to 'rise'.

Baking soda is pure sodium bicarbonate. When baking soda is combined with moisture and an acidic ingredient (e.g., yogurt, chocolate, buttermilk, honey), the resulting chemical reaction produces bubbles of carbon dioxide that expand under oven temperatures, causing baked goods to rise. The reaction begins immediately upon mixing the ingredients, so you need to bake recipes which call for baking soda immediately, or else they will fall flat!

Baking powder contains sodium bicarbonate, but it includes the acidifying agent already (cream of tartar), and also a drying agent (usually starch). Baking powder is available as single-acting baking powder and as double-acting baking powder. Single-acting powders are activated by moisture, so you must bake recipes which include this product immediately after mixing. Double-acting powders react in two phases and can stand for a while before baking. With double-acting powder, some gas is released at room temperature when the powder is added to dough, but the majority of the gas is released after the temperature of the dough increases in the oven.

# You can substitute baking powder in place of baking soda (you'll need more baking powder and it may affect the taste), but you can't use baking soda when a recipe calls for baking powder. Baking soda by itself lacks the acidity to make a cake rise.

Eileen Tan,
Good to make our hubby work for what they like to eat.. hahaha!
Maybe I can try to my hubby next time..

Your Coconut Pandan Fudge Cake looks so GOOD!
Looks very smooth, bet it taste wonderful! Very tempting..
Helpful hubby getting involve in your baking..

Cakes and cakes again..

1181219.jpg
1181220.jpg

Superdy Yummy Durian Cake!!..
Too bad, I don't know how to make it.
This is the Durian Cake I bought from Jane Cake Station, which I had 2 slices.. so GOOD to resist!

Last night baked Banana Cake..
Nice and moist.
Here are the pics..
Sorry (kinda blur, photo skill not good..)

1181226.jpg
1181227.jpg

1181228.jpg
1181229.jpg

Niko, the sliced banana cake is requested by you to see the texture inside (sorry pic not clear).

The last pic decorated ones for new neighbour.

jj,
thot you bake this Durian cake, so wanna order from you. Make me'lau nua' already. My family all loves durian. Yummie yummie..

Eileen'
your pandan cake looks good too. Remind me of Bangawan solo pandan cakes.

Peng,
my kids like egg tarts too. Will try to bake one of these days. Don't give up. Practice make perfect woh...

mdl,
If you buying any more bakeware from kitchen collection, i also want leh..keep me inform, ok?

jj,
very nice cakes you have baked. Hey me can easily walk to sun lik during lunch time one. What do you need ? Just tell me but how to pass to you ?

Eileen
I love pandan cakes, so drooling on your pics.

Aiyo you are all very expert leh. Ha ha tomorrow maybe I should juz try and bake something using microwave oven kind.

Hb and son's birthday just 2 days apart next week. I think should do something for them lah hor. Me more art n craft person than baking but this thread has realli inspired me. Maybe my birthday gift will ask for a oven. Xmas gift I got my scrapbooking table

Oh ya..finally rem I got something to share. I made this agar agar during my FIL 60th birthday. Quite simple compared to all of ur hardwork here. hehe..

1181389.jpg

Hello, sorry cannot join u gals liao, my MIL is in town, so i have to take my name our...<font color="ff0000">can someone pls take care of the bee hoon</font>....i'm gonna miss all the yammy food...sob sob

2) Js'Mum (1 + 2)
3) angel
4) xiau ling
5) sweetie_hamster
6) Eron (1 + 3)
7) Dearie_e
11) Catika (2+2) finger food
12) Ruffy_happy( cream puffs)

may
your agar agr so nice! can teach us?

jj
nice cake
yesterday night i tried baking chiffon cake. total failure. sob sob...
the cake flatten from 2 inch to 1 inch after cooling down. is it because i didn't beat the ingredient long enough? when they said fold the ingredient with another, meaning cannot stir in circular motion, can only stir from bottom to top continuously?
then, the oven's temperature is too high, end up the top is burnt again.... so i shorten the baking time by half... end up some portion didn't fully baked...
i use brown sugar instead of white sugar, is it one of the reasons that the cake flatten after cool down?