Cooking Tips & Recipe

little_cat,
i LOVE allrecipes.com website! i have been going there for yrs to get recipes. most of their recipes are pretty good. there is one bluberry muffin recipe there that's really delicious. i always make it for my dd and hubby on weekends, and we all have it for breakfast.

btw, tonight's dinner is a perennial fave of my family, maid included so always gotta cook extra:
chicken rice, fried chicken wing, stir-fried veges, sliced cucumber.

last night's dinner was sweet sour chicken and sambal goreng (mum cooked it, not me).

It snowed through the night and it is still snowing so ds missed this preschool day as I do not want him to go in this very cold weather. It is beautiful but very cold and ds is thinking of going out to make snowman. haahaa....

allrecipes has some very good recipes.

Lani, wow...you work in SPCA.

pris,
used to work there from May 2004 till Oct 2005. went on maternity leave in march 2005 for 5mths, then came back to work and tendered my resignation within 2wks! haha! couldn't bear to be away from my dd lah...so have been a SAHM since then.

hi hi..

food pics again..

I made this for lunch last saturday..

646062.jpg

Hubby contributed this pork dish..

646063.jpg

My first dish in Vancouver, Broccoli, Cauliflower, Carrot, Shiitake Mushroom & fresh scallop.
646199.jpg

Bake a sponge cake sandwich with walnut paste in between for ds's celebration that he is going to preschool.
646200.jpg

Wah.. the pictures that Gohong and pris posted are so yummy !

Eh pris, I also din't see the "if".. will rem to pray for you, take care mate

Hey cat, my mother also mentioned bef that bf can't take spicy stuff.. my sis kena from my mum cos my niece's bottom had rashes ( my sis is a chilli padi queen).. I realised didi's bottom is red also aft I take spicy stuff.. so sometimes I apply diaper rash cream when changing him..

Your beef rendang sounds good leh.. esp for rainy days!

Thanks alot Gohong for the sambal recipe.. I always can't get the portion for onions, I added some garlic and white bait the last time I made.. your sambal looks very nice and perfect..

I love mee tai mak too !Have you tried frying it ?

Lani, for the past week, my malay dd has been eating curry puff, sardine puff, laksa,mee siam for recess.. She said she was going to buy nasi lemak today.. so funny cos at home, she makes noise when I add pepper to her soup

Hey annlee, sorry for the late reply.. the last time I got mine from SH was from those shops that sell souvenirs, tidbits and their local products.. I bought jin hua huo tui.. BJ is bei jing

Have u tried cooking sharksfin melon soup ? My sis helper can "transform" that into "real" sharksfin soup.. it managed to deceive my dd !

She boiled it with a chick breast, chinese ham, scallops.. then shred the sharksfin melon and chick breast and continue to cook .. then lastly added some potato starch.. Very nice soup !

Hey cookie, my didi has been waking up a few times from 12am to 3am! Just to suckle to sleep.. I also buay tahan liao .. Then he would sleep through the morning and wake up at 12.30 noon.. this has been going on for the past few weeks! Dunno what is happening to him.. something wrong with his melatonin level..

Hey gals, one more thing .. stomach flu has been quite rampant these 2 weeks, take acidophilus to boost your immunity.. they sell in capsules..

So many delicious looking pics!

Lani,

Yup, think it's the same Dr Heng.Her new clinic is at CCK, which is also where I am staying.Quite pleased with the caring service, reasonable consultation fees and other charges.How much are you paying for their booster jabs?I intend to bring Sally for her jabs this month.

SPCA hires?I'd love to work with animals.

You have a pic of your 3 cats?

pris - your scallop dish and cake look so tempting and i love the view outside your aptment..can update me why are you in vancouver?

choc - i tried frying the mee tai mak before but to save time..i still prefer to cook it in soup..as for the sambal..i still prefer the one that my mum made..just the correct texture adn taste..

hi ladies...

im back to work liaoz.. super tired everyday cos not enuf sleep... but drop by here to say a quick hello as i'm pumping milk now...

so many nice photos to see...
pris, u used black n white to take e snow photos??? look so "nostalgic" (spelling correct?) n romantic..... "jia you" n good luck for #2..

sorry... am "zombie-fied" liaoz.. catch up with u all again!!! take care everyone...
kao_byebye.gif

Gohong....outstationed with dh doing his research and furthering his studies here.

Starz, it is colour mode, but it is exactly like that outside

so coincident, cooked Fried Mee Tai Mak today! Took photo, but no time to upload to PC.

So many nice photos to drool at and admire...

annlee,
Heard from my cousin that Chinese Ham can be found at Chinatown's market stall,but she didn't tell me which stall.

If your current top-load washer retire,you might want to check out the front-loader.The washer's product specs usually will state the amount of water used,so you can compare and see which one is more water-saving.As for gentle handling, front loader is definitely beter.

I bought my new washer from HDB shop at $799,saw the same model selling at BEST for $999! Other brands/models are also selling at at least $100 cheaper at shops in Bt Batok,Toa Payoh and Alexandra Village.And now they allow ordering by phone, only pay when the item arrived.

cookiemonster,
I still wear that shade of pink (baby pink?) leh...but only T-shirt and Polo-T.

Choc,
The Champagne turkey recipe sounds interesting.The oven bag must be really big for holding 750ml of champagne! I bought oven bag from Phoon Huat before, didn't know that Cold Storage also sells.

Your dd is very adventurous in trying out food.My dd still eat the same thing...biscuits and the most Tau Sar Pau +Milo,refuse to try other food at the canteen.

If time permits, I don't mind to let my dd have JXC and 1-to-1, but I think it may be too tiring and rush for her to attend after school.

Hi ladies...

Have updated some Nara's photos in my blog but yet to arrange them since I compiled from 2 cameras.

And here's ds's snowman...

646790.jpg

646791.jpg

646792.jpg

646793.jpg

Gohong/pris, nice food photo, u gals really tempt me to cook more food man :D

pris, wow i like the snow photo, you boy must be very happy making the snowman, eh make a bigger snowman leh :D

choc, what is acidophilus ? can children take?

After seeing the doc taken the medicine and antibiotic, my baby is ok now.
So poor thing so young got to take antibiotic.. sigh..

Lani, i try the jam muffin with apricot jam, not very nice leh.. may be i should choose diff kind of jam. Will try the blueberry one next time

U so lucky mom still cook for u

will try other recepi today, and keep u gals updated.

van, glad that u solve the washing machine issue. Sometime it is better to get a new one.

We are going to change our sofa set, heard someone donate old set to Salvation Army. So i called, they asked how many seater, i say 3 seater, the lady said oh, they prefer 3+1+1 or 2+1 one. Too bad.

WOW... so many food pictures and view too....

Pris, the view outside your apartment looks like those Japanese drama that I have used to watch before.

Littlecat, didn't know sheng siong sell mortar, thanks for your infor,will check it out from there.

My hb doctor prescribe some acidophilus for him before and is in capsule form. At that time my ds2 is having bad diahorrea so my hb ask the doc whether can my ds2 take them, doc says ok but only allow 1 capsule per day and it helps for my ds2. I've tried those sachet acidophilus for children but don't help that much. But for infant, you might wanna ask your doc about it.

choc, van, thanks for the infor on the ham.....think I'll just tell my hb to ask her colleague where to get them...scarly not allow to bring back to sg.

choc, have cook sharkfin melon soup before that's because I took the wrong melon hee... but it turns out well.

van, I really don't like my washing machine, but don't know when it will spoil kekeke... you bought your machine at very good price, do you have the phone number of the shop? Thanks!

Good morning gals!

Wow, all the food pics are making me drool! But I'm still not well, so have only been eating porridge and macaroni for the last few days and I think for the coming weekend too

Wow, Prisc, the pictures of the snow from outside your window look lovely! Your ds still looks the same - cute!

Eh, you don't have to miss Singaporean food! You can cook most of the local dishes so well.

annlee,
Van is right - the HDB shops are selling all appliances much cheaper!
Over the New Year weekend, I just bought a new point-and-shoot Ixus camera at Best Denki for $729, and then later went to check at some AMK shop, they're only selling at $629, plus they give more useful freebies

LittleCat,
So Salvation Army don't want the sofa set? So wasted!
The sofa is in good condition?
How about places like the old folks' home or those hospices?

Thanks for info on the mortar and pestle too - I've been looking for one ever since I saw that Jamie Oliver has one too

Went to Chinatown, but they don't have the old style stone type, only some new "marble" looking type which I don't like.

Sophie
Hope u feeling better soon.
Think of it eating healthy food also good lah ;)
I scare liao, now must watch what i eat. No spicy food for awhile first.

The soft, they said prefer 'complete set' so they can sell it easily. Anyway they ask me to call again in Feb cos all the Jan schedule is fulled.

Any phone number u have ? i can try calling. if not just paid the delivery man to get rid of it.

It is quite good condition. Becos is in off white colour, after 5 years it does look abit old.
Very funny, we are looking for new place but i am changing sofa. But knowing my hb it will take him long time to get his 'perfect' house...

Today i am trying the apple pork chop, using slow cooker. Imagine the ingredient:1 apple, 2 tablespoon of brown sugar, mustard, clove.. i tried the sauce just now.. wah pian like having dessert... so i add some salt in, hope it will turn out well...
If is successful then i post the full recipe.

The mortar i bought from sheng siong is like the marble very smooth surface. i hope it last :p

annlee,
I just PMed you the contact number. Previously I was praying that my 1st washer will spoil soon so I could get a new front load one.

Prisc,
I like your snowing photos very much.My dd said your son and the snowman are very cute.Too bad, she didn't have enough time to make snowman at Mt Fuji, only have time to make snow balls...

All the parents talks ended, but there should be someore in a few months time,but those will be paying talks.

My dd is coping well in school,except that a girl from her pre-school is in her class and sitting next to her! This girl is known to have behavioral problem and learning difficulties. 3rd day of school my dd only complained that girl used book to hit her,pull her hair and spoil her hair clips.

Though my first thought was to inform the teacher and let the teacher know about the "background" of this girl, but I eventually dropped the idea.I decided to let Ber handle the bully herself.

LittleCat,
How about selling the sofa to Karung Guni?

You made pork chop today?! I made Teriyaki chicken chop for dd's lunch today.

van, i think is good to let your dd handle it herself. Since parent won't be around most of the time to rescue her. Of cos unless sometime serious.

What type of karang guni? u mean those come to collect newspaper type?

hehe, i choose the lazy version more like stewing the pork chop in slow cooker :p

btw do u know what leaf or herb will get rid of the beef smell? is it thyme ?

van,
i am thinking of cooking teriyaki chix for dinner on tue. do you use instant teriyaki sauce or make your own. can you share with me your recipe?

Gohong+Pris,
Ai yo, u two making me hungry in this raining weather.
Gohong, can u pls post the recipe for the pork pls.

Choc,
I like yr malay dd leh. All the things she eats i like it alot. If u too busy, put her at my place and be my god daughter for a few days. And she can help me take off pui pui's clothes before he shower and take care of pui pui a bit okie.
Think didi habit may not be long term. Pui pui at one point in time also like that. The difference is he will latch many many times during the night with eyes closed. Then wake up before we leave for work and start his milk strike for the day. Until he cannot tahan then he drink abit of milk. Maybe he outgrown the phase now. He is latching on abt 2 times after 10pm till next morning 7am. But drinking little milk in the day. also giving him cereal and some vege puree for lunch and dinner now.

Van,
sigh... my dh very bad leh, always say i look so auntie now. And also me big size, maybe don't look nice in such colours.
So imagine a big size auntie wearing this shade of pink. hahahaha.. comical leh. ;)

Littlecat,
we usually donated our old clothes or soft toys etc to guang ming shan. they will give to the needy. Maybe u can try to contact them to check if they want. heee.. and also yr stew pork chop, psot the pic hor.

Van...you are so lucky to be able to go up Mt Fuji, when we were there weather does not permit us to do that so we have fun in Disneyland and DisneySea and visiting Temples in Tokyo.

Think your girl's school is very on. And it is good to know that Berenice adapting well into her new school, dun worry too much, I am sure Berenice knows what to do when she is been bullied. Tell her to speak up usually Bully in school are quite timid so they bully other to make themselves feel more secure. By making her stand, the bully might back off knowing that your girl will not be her easy target.

Van

No worri about the bully issue...The kid will be able to handle it....Like my gal, she will complaint about the conflicts with friends in school..but she live well out of it after Primary One.

was away for 2 days and now seeing so many yummy pic and nice pic of Pris son in the snow! i like the snowman..

littlecat
how old is your bb now? i also pumped initially and i started latching him again at abt 5 months. u can try this method which i find is quite good. before pumping, u must open the ducts first. u press the nipple and roll it btwn your thumb and second finger. use some strength to do it. then u massage ard the breast and esp where u feel lumps. (this method was taught by LC). then u pump for 7 min. then u stop, repeat the whole massage cycle, pump for 5 min. then stop and massage and pump for 3 min. this was a method i read from the internet. i actually found that it increased my supply.

sophie,
while latching wd be ideal, if bb really doesn't latch well, dun hesitate to pump. i made this mistake and only started pumping after i was home for a few days. all the while i was trying to latch and din pump. better have some stimulation than none.

Pris
your photos are really nice but it looks sooo cold!!

the recipe for the pork slices are as follows:

basically hb just dump in what we have in our cupboard..

1) slice the pork (loin mean) into thin slices..
2) marinate with black pepper, mixed herbs, light soya sauce, oyster sauce, little bit of honey & abalone sauce..
3) mixed well and leave to marinate for at least 15 minutes..
4) hb lay the pork slices neatly over a rack and place it in the toaster to cook for about 15 minutes..as for the heat..he forgot liao..he say agar agar can already and also depending on your toaster and the thickness of the pork slices..

hope the above helps as most of our home-made dishes are of agar agar portion one

Here's what we have for our Japanese dinner at home:

Gyoza:
648869.jpg

Grilled Terikayi Drumstick (skinless, dh is very health conscious)

648870.jpg

Chawanmushi (Prawn and scallop version my Japanese friend and I tried out instead of the three common found ones in Supermarket:
1.Prawn
2.Crab
3.Scallop

648871.jpg

Did not have those small chawanmushi porclein container here in Vancouver so we used the baking pan.

We have miso soup, and a simple salad for dinner on Thursday.

All recipe can be found on my blog soon.

LittleCat,
For the sofa, let me check with my FIL & MIL cos I know they help out at some homes... see if can get any numbers from them.
Will try to get them for you ASAP!

I just bought a traditional stone-like mortar today from Chong Pang market
Very happy! Need to "season" it first though.

How did your apple pork chop turn out?

Choc,
Heee, I also like your Malay dd! It's good that the kids start to experience with different types of food... makes them more adventurous in spirit too!

Van,
I think the gals are right - your dd can handle the bully issue herself... good for her to stand up for herself too

SY,
Thanks for tips on bf & pumping. In that case, I'd better sterilise and bring my breast pump to the hospital in case I need it after delivery too... esp. if baby turns out to be sleepy all the time!

Gohong,
Wow, the recipes in this food blog looks good!
I also bookmark some of my fav food blogs... it's amazing that with technology like Internet and blogs, we can now share almost everything under the sun!

Prisc,
I love chawanmushi! Yours look really smooth.
The last time my dh made, the top had lots of bubbles and came out a lot of "soup"

Will check out the recipe soon.

Hey gals,
For those who live in the east and like angmoh food, here's a good one I tried today.

Starter - Tofu & Zucchini Fritters: Lovely, crisp without being oily
Main - Lambchops: Not on menu everyday, but very good esp. the mint sauce
Iced Lemongrass Tea: Very refreshing and homemade, like the kind they serve in spas after your massage, except this is cold
* Some mains are served with their Yukon mash... the Yukon mash is good

** Portions are quite generous, so can share if you're not a big eater

Garden Slug
http://www.thegardenslug.com/
Review by Asiaone recently:
http://wineanddine.asiaone.com.sg/reviews/cafes/20070112_001.html

Sophie...that sounded great. Wish I am in Singapore.

My mum and aunties have told me no lambchop, mutton soup etc especially when I am expecting. So I did not them.

Prisc,
Hee, actually my mum also told me no mutton, but I forgot.
I didn't actually order the lambchops... my hubby did. I only took one bite from him but swiped up lots of the mint sauce!

Joy,
You stay so nearby? That's a very nice area except that if there's a lot of good makan places around, then you may get a lot of illegal parking outside your house/apartment, which can be quite annoying hor?

Sy, my boy is about 12 weeks now.
U mean from birth till 4months, u pump and close to 5months then u latch on and still got enough milk for your baby? did you top with formula ?

Me make the same mistake too, the first few weeks didn't pump to empty the breast.
My boy can latch on well, but the thing is always not enough for him. So i let him latch on then follow by formula milk.
Then after awhile he seems to prefer the bottle cos he can get the milk flow faster than when he suck on the breast.
So he will suck on the breast for awhile then inpatience and cry for bottle.

Now can't feel any lumps or engorge feeling liao so i guess it is really dipping.
Do you think still can get flow back?

Thanks Sophie
let me know if you have the contact.
Van the 3 numbers u gave me still can't contact, 1 is always off the phone, one is 'rejecting call' another pager is no longer in use.

btw how much u paid for the mortar? I prefer the traditional one...

cookie, pai seh my 'stew pork' not nice leh.. so dare not post the photo or recepi :p
I am going to try again today using oven one :D

We went Botanic garden on saturday morning, with gor-gor only, didi at home.
The weather is very cooling (just before the rain), gor-gor enjoy feeding the fish with bread. After about an hour close to 11+, it start drizzling.

LittleCat,
I paid $8.50 for my traditional mortar.
The first shop we walked into - the guy wanted to charge us $17.50! And it was very shallow which I don't like. My hubby was shocked that a piece of stone costs $17.50

Then walked a bit more and found a shop that sells a deeper one for $8.50

Share with you girls my Purchase of the Week
Got this during the weekend at Hock Hua - a double boiler which can be used as a steriliser, cos cheapskate me feel very ngiao just to buy a sterliser for $87, so got this at $120 instead, which will help my confinement hubby boil tonic soup for me

Only downside is that there is no "Rapid Steam" at 6 min kind of mode... min. time to set is 30mins, so have to switch off manually if I wanna steam bottles for lesser time than that.
650276.jpg
650277.jpg

LittleCat,
Don't despair.
The nurse at Mt. A told me to get my sis to "re-lactate" even though I told her my sis' supply dried up for a month liao.

You wanna try calling them - not sure if they charge.
Mt Alvernia Hospital Lactation Consultant Services 9839 9477
Joyful Parenting and Breastfeeding 6488 0286

I think Joyful Parenting is a volunteer service, cos my friend called last Sat at 9:30pm, and someone answered her queries!

Wow, the outing at Botanic Gardens is nice... good to spend some time with gor-gor so he doesn't feel left out of the whole baby thing

Sophie

That is a smart buy not cheapskate...hahaha

No illegal parking from outsiders as I stay very end of the lane but the only thing with parking is from my immediate neighbour. She is so inconsiderate as sometime her daughter boy friend will stay over night at her house and he will park his car, not blocking their entrance but mine instead.....Therefore making parking so tough for me.....

sophie, agreed, it's a smart buy! safe money and same space also.
The mortar also good buy, i bought at sheng shiong at $9.50 leh somemore not those traditional type that i like

thanks for the numbers
just call the Joyful, they said will call me back.

Yes the Botanic Graden is nice, u got a different feeling there not like the usual day where it is hot & warm. For a moment i thot i am not in Singapore.

Sunday we brought gor-gor to Jurong West CC. We enrolled him to the K1 phonics class, one & half hour. While waiting for him we went for coffee and read books at the library. This CC solid leh new and fully air cond too.

Sophie,
Yr new purchase looks very good. Value for money.

Littlecat,
so nice, can go botantical gardens. We wanted to bring baby to the zoo cos the polar bear inuka might be sent to other zoo once his mother passed on. Wanted to go see Inuka, cos its one of my favourite animal in the zoo when i was young. But rain the whole day on sunday.

Gor gor must have enjoyed his own private time with daddy and mummy. ;) Do u leave didi alone at yr place with maid or bring to the auntie house? will be waiting for yr oven pork chop!

Hee... this might sound so 'nursery level' at cooking thread with all the experts around. But can someone teach me how to make popcorn and how to make it sweet.
Also I have some basmatic rice, can i know what/how to cook it. Thanks all in advance. ;)

cookie,
hehe my boy like to go zoo too, but hor last time we join the member seldom go, now the membership expired wanted to go.. sigh..
And now the membership fee quite expensive also right?

eh i have used corning pot to make pop corn b4..
here's the method :

Heat up the corning pot, put cooking oil, wait till it is hot, put in the corn, cover it. Reduce the heat. Wait awhile, it will start poping. After a few more pop shake the pot make sure the is even. U might have to off the fire while waiting for the rest to pop, if not those pop early might get burnt.

Don't put too much hor, i only put like 1 tablespoon each time. abit time consuming lah..

To make the coating, i use a wok, heat up some oil, put in the sugar, wait till the sugar melted, put in the pop corn, stir quickly try to get all pop corn cover with the syrup. Cos once cold it will stick to the corn.

May be someone can share the easier way to make pop corn?

The PD just called, from the lab test my baby stool does not grow any bacteria, so she guest is due to virus. Alamak he kena forced to take the antibiotic for nothing...

zzzmonster,
you cook basmati rice the same way as you cook normal rice. but because basmati rice is slightly different (ie not as soft and as starchy as normal rice) it is great for cooking beryani rice, nasi lemak, chicken rice, etc.

Sophia....that's a good buy.
er
Little Cat and Monster, I bought the popcorn in heating bag and just place in microwave to let it pop. Very easy and save me the cleaning up. Can be found in all supermarket, only disadvantage is that it is more costly.

long time never pop by, just got back yday fm a terror biz trip to India.

what is the latest food review

hi twinkle, what happen to your biz trip?

i think all very busy with CNY shopping and cleaning is it? quiet recently...

Just uploaded some of my baby's latest photo at yahoo group, enjoy!

Littlecat,
think the zoo memebership is abt $150 or $170 for a year. expensive hor.
Thanks for the pop corn recipe.
Can paste yr pork chop recipe here step by step...heee... best if got step by step demo with tasting session. ;)

Lani,
Thanks for the info.
Heee... do u have the recipe to cook beryani rice? Pls post if have okie. thanks in advance.

Pris,
Thanks for the info.
I have bought some corn and thinking how to pop them. Think will try out littlecat corning pot method.
Can check with u for the yam cake recipe that u posted, can i subsitute yam with radish to make carrot cake?

Long time never hear fm sp and choc.

Lani,
Sorry for the late reply. I use Kikkoman's Thick marinate(meant for grills & BBQ) for chicken chop and salmon fillet. Prefer to use ready made sauce, so that I don't have to keep stock of bottles of Jap mirin and soya sauce in fridge, since I don't use them that often.

cookie,
I just put the raw pop corn in my anodised wok, cover then let it pop.When it's done, I'll stir in honey ir sugar syrup and mix well.

LittleCat,
We planned to go Zoo to see polar bear last Sunday but didn't go.Hopefully can go this Sunday.

My dd's school has been teaching Zoophonics and Hanyu Pinyin from scratch,when in fact she has already learnt all in her pre-school.

You ds's pre-school doesn't teach phonics? Do they teach Hanyu Pinyin? I notice the current system seem to place a lot of emphasis on hanyu pinyin rather then trying to train kids to recognise the characters.They also have less emphasis on writing. These are what I don't like.

My friend hasn't replied me re: Karang Guni's latest contact. I asked the regualr Karang Guni who came to my place to recommend someone who take in sofa, but he said most don't take in sofa.

Twinkle,
no wonder didn't "see" you around. Do share with us about your "terror" biz trip.

Sophie,
It's really a good buy! 2-in-1,not only cost-saving but also space saving!

ya...long time never see <font size="+2">SP</font>,<font size="+2">Lyn</font>,<font size="+2">SY</font>,<font size="+2">cat_tail</font>...