Cooking Tips & Recipe

hi ladies...

Sy,
no lah, my co. dont allow flexi hours too.. cos i still got plenty of maternity leave.. plus just went back to work, so took all half day leave to "adjust" first lor...

sophie,
can start taking chicken essence daily now if u dont mind e taste... e "last stretch" is like tat one lor, taking chicken essence also suppose to "help" build up ur strength for delivery....

Gohong,
yummy... i love soups, but notice u put nan xing n bei xing in both ur soup n dessert hor... why ar???
ur hubby also can cook ar??? wat he use to marinate e chicken???

krisjoy,
how's e nanny getting along???
got any new photos of ur dd to share??? ya... baby looks change almost every week... my SILs once a week / fortnight see ayden always comment he looks diff liaoz...

starz,
I don't mind teh taste of chicken essence, but heaty or not?
That day I ate 1 slice of durian cake from Polar, then go toilet got blood... first time man! Freaked me out too!

Me C-section leh... don't think need so much strength cos no need to push? Heee... just lie there and get cut up

Gohong, your soup looks good...

sophie, you're so funny....just lie there and get cut up. I think chicken essence is abit heaty, my hb drink 2 bottles for 2 days and had a bad sore throat...maybe he drank too much but he say drink one bottle no shiok so drink 2 bottles.

I'm not cooking assam pedas tonight cos I can't get any fish at Sheng siong today. So last min I'm cooking yong tau foo soup + lotsa tang or veggie.

Hi....

i am new to this thread... i am a SAHM with a son coming to 22mths.
i had tried to acccess the receipes on the yahoo site but is not able to do so cos not authorised.
can anyone advise how can i access to all your receipes?

Finally back in Vancouver. Still lots of packing to be done as well as need to buy new furiture for the living room, groceries and stuff.

Quite happy with the new apartment though it is smaller and without a backyard. And it was snowing this morning and we really enjoyed our breakfast by the window looking at the falling snow.

Will update my blog soon with more whistler photos and move on to Japan's photos as well as more recipes.

Will log on only after I have finished packing and next monday, ds is going to preschool.

hey ladies sorry to interrupt,
u gals know any food that will not clash wif fever?
my hubby down wif fever today...seen a gp n resting at hm
hopes his fever will gone soon
I intend to cook something healthy tomr though I am nt really very good :p

hey Pris,
which part of Vancouver u staying?
my hubby's aunt,MIL n BIL staying around Coquitlam and BC
we will be gng there in July to attend my BIL's wedding

hi hi, glad that the pics help to whet your appetitte

van - i will continue to share more pics of home-made dishes

sy - can share the pics of the dishes you made for hb in future?

sophie - i like lotus root soup but mine always turn out to be bland, i wonder why..cabbage rice is yummy..i like my mum's version..unable to create the same taste on my own though..

starz - i use nan xing and bei xing as they are supposed to help to clear or to prevent phlegm and cough which both myself and hb are very prone of having..

as for the chicken, hb used nugmeg, cinnamon powder inside the chicken..light and dark soya sauce, black pepper sauce, mixed herbs, pepper and honey are used to 'rub' the chicken on the outside..

annlee - just wondering which soup caught your attention?

Finally manage to clear all the boxes. Just need time to pack the kitchen utensils and stuff.

And it is snowing now, very beautiful scene but freezing.

Happyger...I am staying in Burnaby.

Happyger,
How about porridge?
Can do either pain Teochew muay style with a steamed fish (ngor he), or a pork porridge congee style?

My grandma don't normally let us eat chicken when sick, cos she says chicken "promotes fire", and sometimes fever can be from being too heaty or too cooling, we also don't know. But I do sneak soem chicken broth into my congee base for flavour, although if you do a minced pork ball porridge, it should be sweet enough even if you use water and not broth.

Prisc,
Glad to know you are home in Vancouver - it must be so beautiful now that it's snowing.
I'll check out your blog again soon

annlee,
Haha, my friend said she ate so much during her last few weeks of pregnancy and her mum asked her "You look like you're storing enough energy to give birth to a cow!"
Then in the end, after an 18-hr labour, still no strength to push, kenna C-section.
So she's been trying to tell me planned C-section also sometimes got its pros. Guess I won't need to store energy like her

Gohong,
How come your lotus root soup is bland?
Mine is very sweet even without salt, but I use lean pork to cook soup base instead of pork ribs.
Then for the lotus root, I choose the darker colored kind which my mum says is older and gives a nicer flavour to soups.

Viv,
Welcome!
For the yahoo site, you will need Annelise's "approval" which was set up when she first started this Yahoo Group.
What kind of recipes are you looking for now?

Just packed my dd's school bag for next Monday.Her packed school bag weighed 3.5kg!

Sophie,
I laughed when I read your "lie there and get cut-up", so loudly that my dd asked why am I laughing
638798.gif

My last front loader washer can just wash n rinse. Or Wash,rinse,rinse-hold.Then can select to just drain off the water, or drain +spin.This will help to reduce crease. My current one has instruction that says can add in "forgotten" clothes even when the program has started, but I have yet to try.

A lot of Chinese physicians advised against eating chicken when having cough.Recently I read that the culprit is the chicken skin.If remove the chicken skin, then should be okay.But I have not found the reason for this yet,or other article that support this.

happyger,
Guess most elderly will advise eating porridge when having fever. I would think that anything that is easily digest,not heaty and not oily should be fine? Like Mee Sua,Tau Chiam,Macaroni,Bee Hoon,Mee Tai Bak?

Gohong,
What else did you add to your lotus root soup? I always add some dried scallop or dried cuttlefish to add flavour.Sometimes I also add peanuts.Sophie is right, using the darker version helps too.

Prisc,
So you don't get to stay in your previous apartment? Must be unpacking and rearranging like mad during the first few days when you are back right?

Think your ds should have no problem with his pre-school since you and dh have been training him to be independent.

Can imagine the beautiful scene...taking breakfast by the window,watching falling snow... reminds me of Korean dramas.

hey ladies, thks for the ideas

well think i will cook porride for him with steam vege...
thk God his fever went dwn alot

Pris,
hey Burnaby is very beautiful, we went there during autumn in 2004
took alot of pics..really looking forward to my summer trip this yr

Oh Whistler snowing scene is spectacular, hey enjoy the snow...

sophie
hee, no lah i dun do the washing. i got a maid since my boy was born. before that i was using washing machine for everything and find that my clothes go out of shape....

gohong
i used to cook for hb but now i dun cook. only cook for my son. but i will still plan the meals and ask maid to cook. so each day when she ask me what to cook , i m always scratching my head cos i run out of ideas very fast...

starz
oic...tot your co very good can allow flexi hours....

last time i also wanted to spread out my maternity leave but give up that idea in the end.

Pris
sounds like u had a busy time unpacking.

Van
i always take chicken even though i m sick. so as long as i remove chicken skin its ok? wonder whether the western doc wil say the same thing...

Krisjoy,
I didn't receive your PM.

Annlee,
Is your LG top loader or front loader? You should try front loader. It's really much gentler on clothes.I used to hand wash all my work clothes and going-out clothes, now I either use delicate wash program or hand wash then spin dry.All the other clothes I'll machine wash.

SY,
Think western doctors always encourage Chicken soup...

Van...yes, we removed all the items out from the storage and throw away some furniture and will probably go shopping for new furniture for the living room. We did not get to stay in the old apartment.

SY...yea....repacking like crazy but it is finally done. And also we throw away our old pots and utensils for kitchen so spend an afternoon hunting high and low for the pots that I want in the different stores. Will probably go to Chinatown to get the steamer as we love lots of steam stuff.

I agreed with Van....chicken soup is good for cold with lots of vegetables and carrots.

happyger...was in whistler during the summer as it is unsafe for us to drive there during winter but we were at Grouse Mountain when it was snowing with ds in the beginning of the year.

As for fever, I was told not to give porridge and rice as it will prolong the fever. So I always give ds oat when he has fever and lots of barley water and herbal tea.

Viv, I have some recipe at my blog, you might want to try.

My blog link

Ladies, I am updating the whistler photos of my trip in August and will be putting up the Kyoto, Nara and Disneyland and DisneySea photos as well. Probably will also include the food we eat in Japan as well as the apartment that we will staying. As I am quite forgetful, did not take too many photos of all the food we have cooked. Osaka was beautiful but we did not take any pictures as ds and dh were rather tired after all the packing and cleaning before we moved to the hotel. We done lots of shopping for gifts for our friends here in Vancouver and their children. Ds enjoyed all the shopping the most as he gotten himself so many toys.

It was rather cheap to get winterwear in Japan compare to Vancouver so we throw away quite a bit of clothing that we brought there as well as Ds's winter coats since they are getting smaller and got him a few new ones.

Really thankful that JAL did not charge us when our luggage was slightly overweight. Our trip back was terrible as it was a 10 hours transit from Osaka to Narita to Vancouver and the flight back was filled with turbulences. Ds was disturbed from his sleep a couple of time due to turbulences that he became super cranky.

Overall, it was good to be back to a place where we can communicate easily and more familiar with.

hi sophie and van,

i just dump the lotus root, pork ribs and peanuts in the slow cooker and cook lor..but the taste like not as nice as those i tasted outside..

More pics to share..

This is the curry chicken that mum made..very sinful but delicious especially with piping hot french loaf..

639595.jpg

This is mum home-made sambal which is very user-friendly..can be used to make curry, fried marcaroni etc..

639596.jpg

This is the char siew that hb made..

639597.jpg

This is the pig liver and lean meat mee suan..

639598.jpg

Gohong, I love soup...all your soup caught my attention hee.... I like pig liver/kidney with mee suan too and eat alot during my confinement. Your curry looks very spicy...

van, my washing machine is top load.... never try front load before and you mention can save water and gentle,im more interested.

sophie, go to peiling website to see what to eat during your last month of preggie and for c-sect.

SY, van is right...western doc always encourage chicken soup but not chinese doc.

Wah.. Gohong, your food photos very tempting leh ! Esp the sambal... the dessert and the soup so appetizing too ! Can share your ingredients for your sambal ?

Hey annlee, I think BJ should have the chinese ham.. CNY is coming, use it to cook soup .. very tasty !

hey van, i cook multi grain porridge last week for lunch, today steam leather jacket fish in tau cheo and blanch nai bai veg to go with rice.. tomorrow going to roast chicken thigh and blanch one veg .. hehe.. my veg very bland, so I don't have to clean the stove..

So far this sch got no talks for parents.. no cca yet.. I packed a hotdog bun for dd the first day and she bought mee siam and wang wang biscuit the next day( didn't know she so clever to eat mee siam!) I asked her what she was going to buy today, she told me mee siam !

Started 1 to 1 piano liao.. heard that some parents enrol their kids in JXC and also private lesson..

Soph and van, the oven bags can help to retain moisture when you roast the birds, esp the big ones.. I got mine from cold storage Reynold's brand.. comes in large and medium sizes

My ang marinated the turkey with garlic salt, pepper and butter then poured a bottle(750 ml) of champagne into the oven bag with the turkey and baked for 3hrs

Eh soph, don't worry too much, mine was breech until the last 3 weeks.. Felt very hot the last tri also, kept drinking cold drinks and took showers 4 to 5 times a day.. take heart.. U ll see your darling soon

annlee - you are right..the curry is spicy but very very nice..

choc06 - my mum used the following for the sambal..the portion she 'agar agar' one so i also not sure of the exact quantity..

1) small red shallots
2) big red onion (looks like normal onion but is red in colour)
3) dried red chillies
4) normal red chillies

Steps:

1) blend the onions into paste
2) stir fried onion paste until fragnant
3) blend the chillies into paste
4) add the chillies paste to the stir fried onion paste and stir fried until fragnant and paste has thicken..

choc,
your dd got malay tastebuds leh...like mee siam so much!

don't know if i read correctly, but some of the mums here got cats isit?? what a coincidence! i have 3 at home!

my 2 male cats are autralian cats, very big and tall, the size of an average small dog. we got them when we were students there more than 10yrs ago, and when we came back in 1997 we brought them home with us.

then my 3rd cat is a stray cross-siamese female cat we picked up from the void deck of MIL hse in 1999.

did someone mention feeding their cat science diet? my cats have been exclusively on this diet for 8yrs already, but then in dec the distributor stopped importing them in. the told me that production has stopped. is that true? are you still able to get your supply of science diet canned food for cats? if so, where do you get them? so now no choice i gotta change to eagle pack canned food, cause my cats are on low magnesium diet, and they can't eat dry food either.

sorry if i diverted here abit, but my cats are also my babies lah! hubby and i always joke and tell ppl our dd is actually our 4th child...kekeke...

pris,
thanks for the link. i am aware that it's available elsewhere, but now s'pore no more. the main distributor not bringing in anymore. not sure why, i think got some problems with importing it, something to do with beef ingredients in it (started when s'pore banned all beef pdts and by-pdts from USA few yrs ago). sian leh...in s'pore very hard to find low magnesium canned cat food, and they're usually quite EX. eagle pack is S$4/can leh. i got 3 cats, so they consume up to 2 cans a day!! can you imagine my cats' food and litter bills alone comes up to $280/mth! that's excluding all medical costs...

Finally more settled down but have yet to get a suitable sofa for my living room.

Getting very excited as my boy is starting preschool today and crossing my fingers that there will be not separation anxiety.

I also just found out that if I have my #2 in Canada, everything is covered under health insurance and I just need to top up if I select or insist of having an ob/gyn for about C$300 to 400 and top up if I am using single private suite for my stay in hospital at C$195 per night(this one can claim from extended healthplan, so just need to pay for Ob/Gyn).

Pray that God will grant me a healthy bb girl ....will be equally thankful for a healthy bb boy but will definitely more stress as boys ae always boys haahaa.

Gohong...you make me what to cook curry right away haahaa....will need time to go and source for all the spices and herbs soon.

Lani...It is expensive to keep pets.

Hi all...finally brought ds back from his first day of preschool and he loves it and did not cry when I leave him in the care of his teachers. There will 3 teachers in a class of about 15 children and he makes lots of friends and have fun playing with them all.

Hi pris, when do you intend to come back to sg?

choc, where can I get the chinese ham in shanghai? And where is BJ? Thanks!

kris, sophie, vitasense is having 50% at watson but not sure about the cleanser

Lani,

I am feeding my cat Science Diet dry food.Not too sure about their canned food.You tried Pet Lovers Center?They may carry them there.

congrats Pris !!!
so happy for you!

wow gohong, nice photo make us drool... u so lucky hb can cook.

sophie, yeah like the rest say, not to worry too much on the c-sec, lots of my fren opt for it.
how u feeling now? must be excited as the date draw closer

Yesterday i try the banana muffin, follow the receipi on this link http://www.joyofbaking.com/breakfast/BananaMuffins.html

Result turn out to be ok

I have taken some photo but i can't download the photo to my notebook, somehow the device like not compatible leh, so got to wait for hb to download to his notebook then use thumb drive to copy over...

choc, did u eat spicy food when u BF ?
Saturday i took some Rendang chicken cooked by my maid, Indonesian style.
Then i realised these two days my boy like got diaherra, sometime come out when he fart. but he still got the normal poo-poo. Today i check, found the watery stool got little bit red dot... sorry hor guys, it looks like the minced chilli leh...
i heard some old myth saying if mother bf eat chilli the baby will get it too.. not sure how true...

Any idea when we should be alarmed if the diaherra is serious?
cos he still drink milk, sleep and happily smiling to us...

ambrosial,
the whole of s'pore no more science diet canned cat food, cause the main distributor not bringing in anymore. every single shop i went to has confirmed this info with me, even pet lovers. looks lke my cats gotta eat eagle pack permanently liao...

gohong
your hb can cook! my hb hasn't cooked anythin for me yet....the pic looks so yummy

i find that using slow cooker to do soups dun taste as nice...do u think so?

pris
so u must have no 2 soon!!!

littlecat
actually if the stool is watery it does not mean diaherra straightaway. u must check whether the anus is red also. babies wil ltend to have watery stools sometime. i used to bring my boy to PD straightaway when he has watery stools and PD told me that it is not considered diaherra all the time.

if your boy can still drink milk etc, it shd be ok. plus he is on BM so is ok.

what u take will affect the taste of the milk and certain foods can cause wind. so must take note whether your boy got any reaction when u eat certain foods

Hi gals!
I just came back from my gynae appt.
Pushed forward my appt cos I caught a viral fever on Sat, went to see GP on Sun, but GP gave only Panadols and some lousy cough mixture that made my originally scratchy throat turn into a whooping cough!

In the end, phlegm all turned green and I got worried about baby, so went to see gynae today. After eatign gynae's medication, I feel much better now so decided not to lie in bed too much in case body heats up again.

Baby is doing OK, altho he didn't measure weight. But I put on only 600gm over the last 2 weeks, so I'm worried if my baby will be too small *sigh* So many worries during pregnancy!

annlee,
Yep, I've been reading Peiling's website - in fact, have been drinking honey water every day! Didn't dare to drink red date tea yet cos scared heaty, will make me constipated more.
Vitasence at Wtasons got 50% off? Wow, that's better than any online offer! Will go check out if it applies to the cleanser and can stock up.

Choc,
750ml of champagne? That itself can drown the bird liao

But it's an interesting recipe
I may try with a chicken one day!

Choc, LittleCat,
Yep, I'm looking forward to seeing my little princess

Have scheduled my C-section for 8 Feb, that's about 2 weeks ahead of my EDD, so I hope if the little one is going to turn, she'll turn before that.

Funny how I keep hearing stories about babies turning at the last few weeks, but when I read those books and websites, they say that if the No. 1 baby does not turn by 33-34 weeks, chances are they will probably not turn at all!

Lani,
I've got 2 Singaporean streetcats at home too

I also feed them Science Diet dry food, but once every 2 weeks, they get wet food.
Isn't it very taxing to feed them only wet food?
But after so many years of wet food, don't think your cats will get used to munching dry food again?

Lani,

Is it possible for your cats to take dry food?You can try wetting the dry food with some water or milk formulated for cats or evaporated milk.

SY,
Think I will be like u and be the one to get separation anxiety instead of baby. Jia luk.

Starz,
heee... so its the mummy's gene that ayden got! And ayden and mummy can stick out tongue together to show daddy.

Van,
I also love the shade of pink that yr dd likes. But that was when i was younger, if i wear this shade of pink now my dh will say i act cute.

Choc,
pui pui still same leh. no improvements. sigh... pd says only way is to give him more solids. And maybe he is latching on alot at night and storing up reserve so during the day he has got enough reserve to go on milk strike. hmmmm.... One of these days, i must pump out my milk to check how much is he drinking.
yr dd so cute, can buy mee siam. she is also a 'la mei' can take spicy food. hmmm... me day dreaming again, wondering what food will pui pui eat on his first day of school hor.

Sophie,
did u tell yr gynae abt u feeling breathless?
I was feeling breathless towards end of 1st trimester and its actually due to anaemic.

Gohong,
Yr food looks very tempting! And yr dh definitely a good cook too.

Pris,
The scene u were described sounds so picture perfect! Breakfast while watching falling snow.
Wish u luck for no.2 and hope to hear yr good news soon!

Littlecat,
I also eat chilli but baby poo no little red dot. U might want to check with pd? hope didi is alright. The redang u maid cooked nice?
When didi is more manageable, we can have gathering ok.

Sy/cookiemonster, yeah i did check the website, here's one of the link explain quite well.
Cos he normally poo once a day, but now after every feed he will poo and quite obvious is diarrhea.

http://www.americanbaby.com/ab/story.jhtml?storyid=/templatedata/ab/story/data/1298.xml

i didn't do TBF, only can get like miserable 1oz thru breast pump, twice per day. Recent few days i have diarrhea, same symptom like him after food will feel stomachache and have to go toilet.
Called the PD he suggest i change to soy-based formula for a week and monitor the situation.

Btw the maid's rendang is good!
she used fresh chilli paste, coconut milk, coriander seeds, buah keras(candle nut), serai & lengkuas. Must be patient to cook till dry, i think she took 1.5 hours in the kitchen to do that...

After that she told she know how to cook fried cereal prawn, and also one dish cook using chicken to cook with coriander she said very nice. will let her try if good then post the recepi here.

Sure must have a gathering after this
also must remind me to return the book to u too.. although not very succesfull in TBF but this time round is better than previous

Sophie, wow so exciting

how about the confinement arrangement ? your MIL will do it for u?

Check with mommies here, what is the different between yunnan ham and Jin Hua Huo Tui or is the same thing?

littlecat, 1oz of breast milk is also good for bb.
wah...your maid cooked rendang...I bought one packet of rendang paste from grahim but haven try it yet...I don't have the pounding stone so gotta use ready make type. My maid told me she use slow cooker to cook rendang for many hrs till the meat is tender. But not sure which method is better or maybe slow cooker more convenient for your maid

Still trying, if got good news,will let all of you know.

Very forgetful these few days, we could not find our old phone so cannot find out our apartment phone number. And also going to look for a cellphone provider that offer a one year plan or even prepaid since dh has applied to Australia to do his Ph.D there and we will see whether we are on the move again or we will stay here for a couple of years depending on whether which side offered him a better deal for his research.

By the way, what is peiling's website?

I started with Folic Acid, Calcium and Vit D for prenatal and will add fish oil once I know that I am expecting.

I also contact the hospital here and will be giving them a call tomorrow to talk to their representative who will help me source for a list of Ob/Gyn as well as Family Doc.

Lots of things to settle, need to get all the information for ds's preschool as which family doctor that we are going as they do not want us to use the university clinic.

Need to find out more confinement food as I do not think my mum and in-law will travel here for my confinement if I am having #2 here.

It was a beautiful sight when we are watching the snow falling from the sky but alot of people were stranded on the mountain as the roads were closed for travel for a couple of hours as it was unsafe for access on the mountain slope.

ambrosial, sophie,
i am under VERY strict instructions from the vet that they are NOT allowed any dry food at all under any circumstances.

actually it's more for 1 of my male cats. he has severe urinary tract disease. went for surgery a few times to remove the stones (ea surgery cost ard $1K), then finally he almost had liver failure so vet adviced to perform a sex change operation, which we did. don't laugh hor, he REALLY did have a sex change operation! they actually removed ALL his male organs, and then formed it into a female one. the surgery was one of the very 1st to be performed on a male cat in s'pore that it was recorded by the media and shown on tv leh!

ever since then he's not had much problems, just 1-2 relapse every 2yrs or so, but he is on strict diet. at first he was on the prescription diet, then after a few mths vet gave the okay for him to have over the counter regular science diet.

my other male cat also had mild urinary tract disease, so to be safe i also put him on strict diet.

because of the severity of the disease, no dry food allowed at all for them.

btw, my cats' vet is Dr Jean Paul Ly - i really feel he is one of the best vets we've ever come across! he gives excellent medical care and advice, and he really loves the animals he treats at his clinic. but his fees not cheap lah...

Hi Mummy

Good morning...

Hey, anyone went to JL sales?

Just wanna check with you, anyone has got good non stick stock pot to recommend?I am actually thinking of getting the 22cm meyer stock pot, mainly use it to pan fried or deep fried some food...I like the height of it...anyone has got better recommendations?Thanks all...have a pleasant week....

Pris, sorry didn't see the 'if'... haha! wish you all the best of luck !

annlee, i was telling starz, i squeezee and press sitting there for about 15min only can get 1oz from right side (if i m lucky) then another about 10min from left only half oz.. dun know still should continue or not.. sigh..
then now i have diarrhea, i am thinking to stop. but my diarrhea is recovering soon, just wondering if i give him will it help him to recovered faster?
His buttock is red red now, poor thing. Also after each meal the soft stools will come out, he kind of scare also, sometime try to control not to fart or push, cos he know it will be painful...

can use blender to blend if u dun have the mortar. She said prefer fresh ingredient, which is good also cos can control the amount of chilli. My hb can't take too hot.
Using slow cooker huh? hmmm how to stir leh? cos she need to stir all the time, according to her if dun stir the coconut milk won't taste good.

btw where can get the jin-hua hua toi (chinese ham)? cos wanted to try cooking it with soup.
can found in NTUC or not huh?

Littlecat,
yr maid can really cook well! u got 'kou fu'.
no hurry to give me back the books. I am not planning for no.2 anytime soon. ;)
Didi very poor thing. Hope he will recover real soon.
Don't lose heart on pumping okie. Annlee is right, 1oz also good. U have done yr best. I take long time to pump also, abt half an hour on each breast and the quanity also little. So in the end I only latch on at night, day time give fm.

Pris,
u will be busy busy again.

Hi Prisc,
This is the Peiling's website given by annlee earlier:
http://www.peiling.com.my/tips01.asp

Lani,
I heard that male cats normally end up with more problems like cats' AIDS etc.... it's amazing what Dr. Jean Paul Ly did!

I brought my mum's dog to him for a cataract surgery before too, cos he's the only vet in Singapore who can do cataract operation. My dog was only 3 yrs plus at that time, but had what he called genetic cataracts on both eyes. Although the cataract operation failed, he still put my dog on a strict vegetarian diet plus Kordel's EyeBright supplements to slow down the cataract formation.

He's expanded a lot since yeah? SOmetimes my sis brings her dogs to his Balestier clinic, but she complains that the younger vets are not very good - just told her they need to pull out her dog's molar but cannot give reason!

annlee, LittleCat,
Not sure where to buy the jin hua huo tui leh, but I'm sure NTUC don't have, cos I hunted down quite a few NTUCs and checked liao.

LittleCat,
How come you don't latch anymore?
During the antenatal class, the nurse said that expressing and latching gives different amts i.e. if you can only pump 1oz from the breast, it doesn't mean your baby is only drinking 1oz the next time you latch him. During latching, it's normally more.
Regarding diarrhoea/illness, the nurse also said if you are sick, all the more you should breastfeed, then the baby gets the antibodies which is being produced in your breastmilk.
You wanna call up some helpline and ask? I've got some numbers on hand!
By the way, don't give up if you want to continue bf... I remember the Sister said can "re-lactate" if you call them and ask for help!

littlecat, you mean you squeeze and press not using the pump? If so, really peifu you... if you squeeze and get 1oz I think is very good already. I remember when I breastfeed and had diahorrea, my bb diahorrea too, I suppose is from my milk but still continue to give him. You shld continue giving bb your milk if still have it,as what sophie says the bb gets antibodies from your breastmilk.

Normally if bb having soft stool, their buttock will become red. Remember to clean immediately when the stool is out and put some baby rashes cream. Is actually quite painful for them so I prefer to wash their buttock using normal temp water not warm then using baby wipes to clean buttock. Hths!

About the rendang, I don't have a blender hee.... my maid prefer to use mortar, she says using blender and mortar the taste of food will be different. She told me using gas must jaga, stir and take very long to cook, slow cooker also long to cook but don't have to stir it so often and jaga. But she say using gas the rendang will taste better then slow cooker.

Sophie, oh yes...I can't find chinese ham at NTUC too. My sister told me maybe some provision shop that sell dry stuff like scallop shld have it. But so far I didn't see any of it.

Can any mommies help....where can I buy Jin hua huo tui from shanghai?

sophie,
yah male cats seem to develop more health problems later on in life...

yes, Dr Ly is amazing. he is extremely skilled and very experienced, and yes, he is probably the only vet in s'pore that can perform major complicated surgeries on animals.

actually his clinic started expanding some time back. we usually go to see him at his greendale ave clinic, then after a while he became the consultant there, so if you wanna see him must request and make appt beforehand, and his fees are higher. i didn't know he had clinic in balestier now! last i heard was only greendale and simei eastpoint mall. i also agree that some of his younger vets not so good. if i go to the clinic for routine stuff, then we will just see any vet. but if it's for complicated and serious matters, we request to see him.

littlecat - yup..my hb can cook..lucky for that if not i tink i would have starve when i was having very bad morning sickness for my 1st pregnancy..

sy - yup hb can cook although he don't cook that often..as for cooking the soup in slow cooker..i find that the taste is ok leh..

zzzcookiemonster - thanks for your compliments..

cookiemonster, yeah i was surprise too she can cook quite a few dishes. The rendang looks and taste good, but she said her mom's one even better. Her mom also make 'siew mai' and other dishes too. No wonder she can pick up quite fast from the CL during confinement.

annlee, yeah those who use mortar to pound one agreed is better than blender

I just bought a mortar from Sheng Song, looks very nice but not sure can tahan or not. cos looks like cement type not like those kampung day like batu (stone) type.

cookie/sophie/annlee
I m using manual pump, while pumping got to use hand to press/massage then will come out more.
I bought the madela electric too, but the funnel abit small so after pumping, my nipple pain. But the Avent manual one is ok.
My boy abit impatient, may be he is used to bottle feeding, if the BM supply is low he dun want to suck and making lots of noise.
I start pumping recently, also to check how many oz i can get.
May be due to that so now i can only get about 1oz in the morning and one at nite.

yeah i think it make sense if really the diarrhea start from me, since now i've recovered, there should be something in the milk that can help him?
but i read from another website, they said it won't pass thru the breastmilk leh.

After switching to soy-based milk, find got some improvement. But also see blood in the stools.
Hope he receovered soon, no mood to do anything liao..

Lani, Sophie

Lani, your male cat so poor thing!!How long did he take to recover after the sex change op?Poor guy, must be so traumatised.
Sally's vet is Dr Grace Heng; pretty popular too.

So wet food is better than dry food?I thought dry food is suppose to benefit their gums and teeth.Have you tried IAMS canned food?I find it pretty good.

Super tiring after all the packing and then it is like a mad rush in the morning to get the laundry done, lunch, getting ds to read & write and he watches educational program while I prepare lunch and refrost fresh food for dinner, have lunch and clean him up before sending ds to preschool. (My free time while he is in school - go sourcing for household items as well as to library to read). Then bring him home, flash cards and give him snacks, do some writing and will probably start him on art again when we are more settle. While he naps, prepare dinner. That's my typical for now.

And we are also storing up food as it is snowing today again but not as heavy as last Friday and weather is still very unpredictable.

ambrosial,
hey, i know Dr Heng leh!! she used to be a consulting vet at SPCA right, then she recently started her own practice (about 1yr+ ago)? she has a vet asst. by the name of yvonne?

if that's the right dr. heng, then i know both of them, cause i used to work part-time at SPCA mah. i was the Volunteer Coordinator there for 1.5yrs. i left the job 1.5mths after my maternity leave ended, to become a SAHM. what a small world...

surprisingly, my cat (his name is Tiger) recovered very quickly. and we thought he would have a hard time coping with his "change" in gender, but apparently not! up to today he is still the Alpha Male at home, very macho and very bossy and assertive, esp with the other 2 cats. no change in behaviour whatsoever...

it's true, dry food is good for teeth and gums. but for cats prone to urinary tract infections and diseases, wet food is better and we should limit their intake of dry food, and encourage them to drink more water.

thats why my cats got very bad dental hygiene! every yr gotta go bring for scaling at the vet! haha!