Cooking Tips & Recipe

Good Morning!

Cookie,
Thanks for birthday wishes to Berenice!
604617.gif

Glad that your niece and maid like it, can help you to finish off. At least you can eat 3pcs, I can only 1 to 2 pcs at one go.

I saw another peanut butter cookies recipe in the library last week, using chunky peanut butter, may be so as rich as the earlier.After I try it out then let you know.

Hey, the peanuts is supposed to be quite soft,almost like those canned braised peanuts.Or is it the peanuts that you used? I tried both the small and big ones, both are okay, although some people said the big ones are very very hard to soften.

Pre-soaking the peanuts usually help to soften them,but with thermal pot, can even skip the pre-soaking.Just boil(boil,not simmer) for 15 to 20 min,then transfer thermal pot.After 2 hours should be quite soft liaoz, then boil on stove top again to thicken and adjust the seasoning. I am quite puzzled why yours still hard?

If I use the La Gourmet thermal pot to braise anything, I will re-boil after every 2 hours,cos the LG brand can't maintain the temperature as well as Tiger and Thermos.

Joy,
Are you staying at Disneyland hotel throughout the trip? Plan to go shopping in town?

Hb kept telling me sure have seats,but I am getting worried after you mentioned that the Tokyo flights are full due to connect to LA.Wish me luck!

LittleCat,
604618.gif
Happy Birthday to you too!
604619.gif

Joy,
Langham Place Hotel is very convenient leh! Have you been to Hankow Road(TST station) Esprit Outlet,it's 2 storey,quite big.There is another one in Mong Kok, Sai Yeung Choi Street area,think it's at basement of Hollywood Plaza,it's smaller than the Hankow Road outlet.

If you are going from Disneyland,you may want to check out Tung Chung Esprit outlet at Citygate Level 2, Shop 201.

Van

Do not wori so much about what I have said regarding seats available....

The esprit store is a factory outlet in mongkok?I know there is one near sheraton hotel, but did not want to go that far....

You sure langham place very convenient...can tell me where can eat, buy and shop there?Thanks

By the way, happy birthday to your princess....may she spent in Japan too....

Joy,

The Esprit outlet near Sheraton Hotel used to be at Salisbury Road, now relocated to Hankow Road, still quite near to Sheraton, and not too far from TST Peking Road Exit.

The Esprit outlet at MongKok,Hollywood Plaza should be nearer to your hotel.

Langham Place hotel is the Hotel I would like to stay if I were to choose a hotel in Kowloon.

There is a Langham Place shopping mall just next to the hotel,and many Cha Chan Ting and Chinese restaurant around.

Wow, so many Dec babies here!

Berenice, LittleCat, Carole, annlee,
HAPPY ADVANCED BIRTHDAY to you girls!

Heh, yep, if my baby comes out Valentine's day, then very poor thing, like Carole, will only get one present... but hopefully a BIG one from her bf/hubby next time

Joy,
Van is right, the Esprit outlet at Hollywood Plaza is near to the MTR, so should be convenient from your hotel.
Mongkok is not exactly the poshest place around, but if Langham Place Hotel is a 6-star hotel, should be OK!
Woah, talk about cha chan teng, me got craving for bo lor bao liao

cookiemonster,
Yep, I am quite looking forward to buying girlie stuff for the baby... gonna chiong all the sales and post-xmas sales soon!

annelise, being home ec teacher is not a simple job. and lessons now are very interesting compared to our time. try asking a school to let u sit in the home ec lessons, you will be in for a surprise. they teach so many fun stuff and the kids really enjoy themselves as they are so proud of their own creations. but this is not the same for all schools. you must see the focus of the school. some schools think that home ec is just a waste of time.

so busy at work...

Van
wow, going to japan! which part are u going? was planning to go next year but japan is soooo ex...

zzzcookiemonster
u got to be firm the first few nights. for me, my bb din see me for 2 nights cos i was sick. on the 3rd night, when he saw me, he stil wanted to latch but i refuse. now he no need to latch already. took him abt 2-3 more days and he was ok.

lyn,
hee, i told my fren i got withdrawal symptom when i first stop bf...really very bu she de

zzzcookie,
There's a new 5 days slimming program if you are interested. hee... I wrote a little about the rejuvenation juicing program in my blog
http://lnung.blogspot.com/
hee.. my hubby asked me to start the program after CNY, cos he wanna do it as well...
Might consider that, cos it's best for both of us to detox before TTC. I am hoping for a healthy and smart baby, and also another smooth pregnancy
Me KS hor? :p

Your boy still wakes up at nite for milk ah?? Aloysius too leh... Few weeks ago, me and my hubby like panda bears. Lately, not so bad already. Can share with me how you gonna wean??

Carole,
Happy Birthday in advance!

Wah.. you have breastfed for 14 months... Peifu peifu...
Really "bu she de" to stop one hor??

annlee, littlecat,
Happy Birthday too

littlecat,
My gynae asked me not to wait too long... :p He even helped me to calculate when to start.. kekeke...
Nowadays, Aloysius is awake most of the time, and he wanna someone to talk to him and play with him. I see already, looks like he's lonely... That's another point to have another brother or sister to play with him...

Van,
You also like "chao tar" food?? kekeke.. I love "chao tar" food too. Now gotta refrain, but very hard to resist sometimes... lol...
My sis and mum's program is 2 weeks.
Wish you, dd and your hubby have a great time in Japan

Choc,
wah... didi 6.5kg.. more than a pack of rice already...

Sophie,
Yalor.. gal gal very good.. got lots to buy. When I was shopping for a swim suit for Aloysius, 90% of the shop sells swim suit for gals! And not much selection for boys...
I am one of those who will not get pregnant during breastfeeding... There are people who can get pregnant during breastfeeding, but not me... cos no sign of menses wor...
Wah.. you only limit 2 pineapple tarts ah... Not easy to resist. You are very disciplined...
You know, I dun have stock of packet drinks in my home nowadays. So my hubby's friends, when they come for mahjong, they will bring their own.. kekeke... a bit paiseh... :p

sp,
But gotta TTC oo... Me and my hubby not very young already.

annlee,
I wrote a little about it in my blog...

hi ladies...

2days never drop by so many postings...

hehe.. Happy Birthday to all e other December babies (littlecat, berenice, carole, annlee) and.. add me into e Dec Baby club leh... i'm 30 Dec...

Choc,
how old is didi liaoz?? 4mths? then u keep carrying him whenever he cries / fuss??? i think ayden also going thru a "difficult" phase now leh.. since saturday he keep crying to b carried.. scared we'll spoil him like tat...

Sophie,
CONGRATS!!!!! hehehe.. be prepared to burn a big hole in ur wallet liaoz... girls stuff are plenty n too sweet to resist.. during preggie i always see so many stuff to buy.. when confirmed mine is boy (me n hb both wanted girl), e only "consolation" we had was.. at least save $$$...

abt filming in e delivery suite, TMC actually also dont allow video-taping.. but my digicam can take long videos (depend on e memory card capacity).. so we actually filmed alot of stuff while inside.. only thing is, they wont allow u to film e baby coming out tat part lor...

Van,
Yeah!!! now u can "answer" all e HK calls liaoz.. n berenice will def enjoy her bday in tokyo disneyland too...
nope, not taking confinement food liaoz.. n my mum "allowed" me to take soft-drinks occassionally le...

Joy, hehehe.. dec is my fav mth too.. Tats why me n hb was "planning" for a Dec baby, but ayden decided he wanted to "join us" much earlier..

littlecat, my hb forbid me to go JB.. he also REFUSED to bring me there... cos he got alot of colleagues who are malaysians.. they advise him not to go one... i loved to shop in JB actually..

annelise,
hehehe.. havent thought of anything for ayden's 1st xmas.. ur god-daughter muz love u very much.. so sweet tat she have something to remember her 1st xmas with..

lyn,
heheh.. u like to "run outside" hor.. everday also bring aloysius out ar???
i started bringing ayden out last sunday w hb ard.. today went out nearby with mum.. dont dare to bring him out by myself yet..
tis weekend going vivocity w hb... hehehe.. hope not too crowded..

cookiemonster,
huh.. bf-ing cannot go biz-trips ar???
i sometimes already "thinking" how to continue pumping when i go biz-trips liaoz.. e short trips still okay.. but usually go NY or LA.. 20+hrs flight..

Joy, paiseh ar but u seem to b e "airline expert" here, wld u know is it possible to pump on e flight???

got to go dinner liaoz... drop by again later if got time...
kao_byebye.gif

Starz,
How's your baby now?? How's breastfeeding getting on??
hee... I like to bring Aloysius out when I go out... hee.. I started to bring him out alone. I think gotta practice

Wah... vivocity.. I still dare not go with Aloysius cos very crowded... and quite far from my place :p

wah! i just stumbled upon this thread today! so interesting!! i also can see some familiar names here hor, like van and carole...

let me intro myself. am a SAHM, got a 21mth old dd. i LOVE to cook and bake!!! so this thread is perfect for me. would be nice to get more recipes from other mummies here, esp for chinese food, cause i love to eat chinese food (btw, i am a malay married to a chinese), and we cook it almost everyday now cause it's not too spicy so my dd can eat it for dinner too.

tks sophie & Lyn...

Lyn: ya very very bu she de.. tts why i never stop.. whether TTC for 2nd one, i guess let nature takes it course...

Starz: me Jan.. but Early Janz.

Lani!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This thread Started by our VAN! hahah welcome!

thanks for the birthday wishes !

wow we have more and more Dec birthday gals here

Carole/starz, happy birthday in advanced!
Mine is 22/Dec, still can eat birthday cake b4 the log cake !:D

I didn't go JB to shop for very long too.
Can't imagine i was working there last time. Heard lots of horror story nowadays, dare not go. And my elder son like to run about when going shopping, if he does that in JB sure kena 'kapok' by someone.

Anyway i dun realy like shopping so it is ok :p

I will go hotel or resort more for relaxing and makan.
We went Palm Resort before, it is quite a nice place & close to Senai. Sometime they have good promo,one of my fren paid less than 100 ringgit for 2 nite package.
The price quoted at the website abit high, but if u call them the price diff. It's quite family oriented, so suitable for us.
Check the website :
http://www.palmresort.com/newsletter/v2/index.htm

They have nice japanese restaurant there.

My baby having blocked nose, can't drink and sleep well. Yesterday from 8pm+ till 11pm trying to sleep but can't.. later finally doze off at 12pm still till 4am+. but so scare he hungry, wake him up to drink.
Any adv for blocked nose for baby less than 3 months?

My elder one very funny, he saw the lion & dragon dance. Then he told me the 'dragon like lollipop'!
I was wondering why loliipop, then i realized he is referring the 'fire ball' in the dragon dance.

Thanks van,littlecat,sophie, lyn and starz... tomorrow is my birthday hee.....

carole and starz, Happy advanced birthday!!

Van, Happy advanced birthday to berenice!! So good to celebrate in Japan. Few years ago also got surprise for my birthday in Bangkok, at that time I'm staying at Oriental and their service is good....seems like everyone working there knows my birthday, from the waitress to the receptionist...also got surprise cake,fruits,card and present which is a windchime...all the effort they make can make the guest to have a good memory...

Lani, WELCOME!! Oh....you're a malay...good good...can introduce some malay food to us

oh...littlecat...my mistake...thought yours fall on 1 dec...Happy birthday in advanced!!

same here....my younger son having running nose...sometimes even block and uses his mouth to breath...haiz..

my hb bday this yr we at Marriott SIN, they actually left a voice mail for him. Saying there is a mail from housekeeping.. so we called back.. and they will be at the room shortly. so later we found, the hotel gotten his particular n knew he is celebrating his bday.

Good morning gals!

Yesterday I went IMM - didn't know IMM so "happening" now huh? Got Esprit outlet, some nice fashionable little carts, and 2 HK Char Chan Teng cafes!
I tried the bo lor bao at the downstairs one called Streets - quite interesting cos they put a slice of pineapple in addition to the butter slice in the bo lor bao.
Then had dinner at the Wan Chai HK Tea Room outside Daiso - Chicken mushroom rice was not bad and comes with a decent potato carrot soup. Black sesame paste was very smooth and not lumpy at all, not too sweet too. Wonton mee (dry) was typical HK style using oyster sauce - noodles was good and not sticky but the wontons are one of the best. I left the wontons on my plate for 20mins, and the skin didn't turn hard at all... plus the prawn in it was quite big!

starz,
Happy advanced Birthday to you too!
Yep, girls got lots of things to buy

I may need to "invest" in a new digicam, cos mine is the older generation kind, can only take 30-sec clips, regardless of how big the memory card is.

annlee,
HAPPY Birthday to you!!!!
My hubby's birthday also tomorrow!

Lani,
Welcome!
I've seen your little girl in a posting on the Graco stroller before... very cute!

annlee and I will be very happy... heee, cos both of us are big fans of Malay food!
A bit paiseh to ask
, but let me kickstart this - can you teach me how to cook sambal goreng? I bought tempeh from the market before, but it's got a whitish color to it, is that normal?

lyn,
In that case, you'd better start weaning Aloysius off and then start to TTC liao!

Heee... Have fun TTC-ing

LittleCat,
SO your birthday on on 22 Dec? DO you get 1 or 2 presents for birthday and Xmas?

Hi Lani,
Welcome, welcome

hmm.. maybe can get some malay cooking ideas from you
I like malay food...

Carole,
Me also early Jan
Going to Bintan celebrate in Jan
Finally can get away from Singapore...

Sophie,
Need babydust from you liao...

carole,
wah! what a loud welcome from you!!!!!!

thanks for the welcome. actually hor, i seldom cook malay food leh. cause me very lazy, and malay food damn complicated to prepare and cook. so everytime i wanna eat some malay food, i ask my mum to cook for me!! haha! actually i very funny, am malay but i prefer chinese food. but my hubby is chinese and he loves malay food! that's why i guess we were both really meant for each other!

sophie,
yes that was my dd! but that pic taken long time ago liao! she now looks very very different. i have never cooked sambal goreng before, but my mum cooks it all the time, so i can ask her for the recipe then i will post here. the tempeh whitish colour is normal lah! it's like that one when uncooked! then once you fry it will turn golden brown, and very yummy!

welcome Lani ! eh u have best of both world leh, and so nice can ask mom to cook for u. cos my mom very old liao, plus after she tought me how to cook, she never cook for me liao...

Sophie, yeah the IMM is so diff now.
eh now hor, no more birthday gift liao lah.. cos i didn't give him on Nov, so he also didn't give lor.. where got so good, 1 or 2 ? the answer is '0', zero, kosong, nil!
Happy birthday to your hb. eh going where to celebrate?
aiyoh i miss going out for dinner leh..

annlee, hehe no prob! i thot i type wrongly as 2/dec...haha!

cookie, so how u find bringing him to Botanic garden? still dare to go or not huh? :p
i find good for my elder one, cos he like full of energy, we bring him there to tired him. If for the younger one, more like we go there and tired ourself...

starz, any video clip to share with us? can post to Youtube, it is free and convienient too.

littlecat: 100 ringgit for 2 nites at the Palm resort?? cheap manz.. i am thinking to take a break in Malaysia instead of gng bkk liaoz. hwhahaha. .cost savings!

hi ladies...

Lani, welcome!!!!! u'll soon find out tat we chat abt everything under e sun too... other than sharing cooking tips n recipe... now it feels like i have alot of "sisters" in this forum liaoz....
kao_welcome2.gif

lyn,
ayden is okay.. only these few days he tend to fuss more in e afternoon n wan to b carried... bf-ing.. supply seems not enuf for ayden cos he cries abt 2hrs after feeding, so i'm stil supplementing wif FM cos dont wan him to go hungry.. at e same time juz bought a bottle of fenugreek from GNC, cos tried all e food/soups but supply nv increase.. last ditch effort to see if fenugreek helps...

carole,
paiseh.. tot u say bday n xmas close, so assumed its december...

littlecat,
so nice... can go for short trips... u bring GC along or no???
i was "discussing" wif hubby lastnite, say we very long nv go out ourselves liaoz... but he still dont know how to "zhuo ren".. ask me so many things like "can meh?", "go where", "can do this can do that meh".. in e end, i sianz already.. wan to "pak tor" abit wif him, but he spoil e mood liaoz... *haiz*.....
clarence so cute.. tot e "fireball" for e dragon is lollipop... sometimes kids do say e funniest things hor... how is he with GC???
videoclip got... but i havent even seen them "properly yet"... wait i free then "screen" thru n share lah...

annlee,
hehehe... enjoy ur bday tomorrow... got celebrate?? presents???

sophie,
wah... u from bishan go IMM so far ar??? i drive also lazy to go so far...

its a good idea to invest in a "newer" digicam.. nowadays got so many to choose from, some quite cheap too... i now stil thinking wan to "upgrade" my digicam or not, cos sometimes take photos of ayden tends to b blur cos he's moving.. or too slow cant capture his expression... but still in e "considering" stage.. u can check out e papers ar.. so many sale nowadays.. can get one b4 delivery so can video, plus nex time wil b put to good use taking photos of ur princess... i'm still taking photos of ayden every single day leh...

Gd evening Gals,

happenings!!!! i must hv missed out alot

First of all , Happy Birthday to all Dec gals , girls and bbies.

Cupcakes very very nice and pro leh . look like one of those foodstuff recommended on TV. Open for orders? :p

Annelise , yr hb very gd leh can cook laksa somemore, ask my hb to cook for me he always find excuses...

Sophie, gal huh i also guess wrong liao. Buy Lot of cuties stuff liao?

Welcome Lani,
remember me , i pick up the baking stuff fm yr place

i hv been busy with work , rushing presentations b4 my biz trip next week. I did made muffin using one of yr recipe but replace the fillings with blueberries which i bought from cold storage. i find not so pretty.

annlee,
<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Happy birthday!</font></font>

Advanced birthday wishes to Berenice, Carole, Little Cat and Starz too!

Lani,
so happy to see u join this thread!

carole,
I think little cat started this thread, not van, kekeke...

starry,
yr blueberry muffins look so yummy...

Lani,
Ah, thanks for the info on the tempeh. Heee, the first time I bought it, I thought they were mouldy and threw them away, cos those "angmoh" tempeh I bought in US last time comes in vacuum pack like those gourmet ham, and no white stuff, so hubby and I were really suspicious of the "mould"

You so lucky, got mother to make you sambal belachan! I love those Malay sambal belachan, esp. the kind that is not the thick type... a bit more watery kind which uses different kinds of chillis I think. The kind that the River Valley Nasi Padang Stall has **drool**

LittleCat,
Eh, I guess after so many years, presents can become a bit meaningless too, unless we know that person really wants something in particular. Like this year, I don't know what to get hubby too, so I think maybe make him a card with baby's ultrasound pictures etc on it.
I asked him if he wanted me to cook steak for him, but he says don't want to tire me out, and wants to eat Crystal Jade Xiao Long Bao for birthday dinner... so I guess we'll be doing a simple dinner.
Eh, how come you cannot go out to eat? Can right? The most go to the baby-friendly malls where there are Baby Changing Rooms?

Starz,
My hubby went to a camp in Clementi area for his IPPT Test, so I "tombang" him for a ride to IMM and waited for him there. Don't think I will make my own way there esp. by public transport... that day took MRT from Bishan to Toa Payoh, no one gave up seats for me even though I am pretty big now!
Eh, I've been wanting to ask you - how was your Maternity Shots with Yew Kwang? You will show us someday yeah?

starry,
I haven't bought any girlie stuff yet... only the detergent and necessities. Waiting for post-Xmas sales

Eh, your muffins look OK leh! Blueberry may not look so pretty cos "pigmented" looking, but I am sure they are very fragrant and yummy!
Did you use fresh or canned bleuberries?

carole, starz
The promo only once in awhile, can check local papers or sometime from the credit card promo.

i am not going now, cos GC still young lah.. i very kai-see one, will wait till may be 4 months old? anyway he doesn't have a passport yet leh...
cos now spending time monitoring him. certain time he is ok, certain time he will cry like mad, so how to go holiday like tat? instead of relaxing ended up more stress...

Sophie, u r right about the present, if u bought sometime he doesn't like is like meaningless + waste money too. Pai seh become very money face &amp; practical nowdays!
So what we did normally is to get a cake, sing a birthday song and blow the candle. Then take some photo that's it!

u mean now still nobody offer u aseat? that's terrible!
u know one of the thing i miss being PG is.. people more friendly to u. but of cos occasionally also got some sotong bor-chap lah..

LittleCat,
Hee... I also more money-faced and practical now

I always tell hubby if he really wants to, no need to buy me diamond ring, just buy me 1 lot of DBS or UOB stock can liao

Got more resale value and chances of appreciation than diamonds!
Looks like I'm the unromantic one!

Yeah leh... no body offered me seats, and when walking in malls, still got pple look at my tummy and can still bump right into me??
Only taxi-drivers and old uncles are friendlier and drive slower.

Palm Springs should be quite OK right? How come not going anymore? Scared of virus or get robbed?
I know where it is cos we used to hold seminars there when working in my ex-company. Super posh and nice!

sophie,
i used canned blueberries. taste so so only , very moist leh , u know like those cannot keep long.

There shld be sales coming up. I saw Istean already hv some stuff on sales liao.

joyful,
i am using the recipe given by a mummy in our DB. i just replace it with blueberries. Lster i go and dig for you.

ladies, me going out today celebrating anniverary w hb bcos the actual day i not in town and he has to look after bb all on his own. i feel so guilty . better buy him a good meal:p

What you all cooking today ?

Me making jap rice with HK mold , toast CP chicken wings and spinach soup.. will post a picture if it turns out well..

Welcome Lani ! I love tempeh too ! When it's fried with sambal chilli and taukua .. Like soph, I also threw away the mouldy tempeh the first time I bought .. but aft reading the malay cookbooks, I realised its norm for the tempeh to be whitish

Hey soph, this morn, I toasted cheese with alfafa on a wholemeal sandwich, you are RIGHT, it is very YUMMY !the raw taste of the alfafa is masked by the cheese and combi is fantastic ! Hey ladies, you ought to try this sandwich .. eh soph, any other sandwich ideas ??

Hey van, I bought the HK egg mold last month, the lady from kai kai says the molds will come in dec..
I used the claypot for my chicken rice, also chow tar and so difficult to scrub, eventually one day when I was cooking the rice, it cracked

Hey starz,lyn, cat,soph
didi is 3 and half months liao.. very heavy , wished he could stay home while I jalan, but I m his cow leh !!
Going penang with him too and bringing a pram.

cat and starz, how are your babies ? BF ok ? Long time never see KRISliao.. wonder how's she coping.. And AMBROSIAL

HEY ANNLEE, HAPPY BIRTHDAY !!!And all the other DEC YOUNG ladies ..

Hey cookie, how's pui pui these few days ? Sky not too gloomy.. How many months is he now ? sorry,this aunty very forgetful

Yah soph, my friend who was tandem bf, stopped when she conceived.. cos doc says her calcium level might deplete and won't be so good for her foetus.. was difficult for the first child cos she was about 6-7 months old

Hey twinkle, your muffins very nice and yummy leh.. easy to make boh ? I tried putting starwberries before but didn't turn out nice..

starz, normally aft sat or sun, been carried and "rocked" and "spoiled" by family memebers, this little puppy will want to be carried by me the whole day on monday..

Hey ladies, there are many recipes on allrecipe.com , cakes, muffins, bread.. etc, think most of you knew about this website

Good Morning Gals! Going to Post office soon,just a quick post.

My air tickets to Tokyo still on waiting list.Hb's paid ticket already confirmed,so he thought of upgrading our economy saver tickets to economy tickets to see if it can be confirmed soon.

Chat with Priscilla yesterday,she is in Kyoto now, and she said it's freezing cold now.

twinkle,
Your blueberry muffins look good leh! Why you said not pretty?! After seeing yours,I am also very tempted to bake,but both my hb and dd don't like blueberry,if I bake got to eat it myself, and give most away.

LittleCat,Sophie,
You both very practical! I also tell my hb not to buy anymore jewellery for me,and told him I don't like surprise,non-practical gifts(Very UNROMANTIC hor?!).So he really got headache what gifts to buy for me. Buy stocks is a good idea! Thanks Sophie for this brilliant contribution!
607032.gif

annlee,
607033.gif
607034.gif
.How you celebrate? Got candle light dinner boh?

Lani,
Welcome to his very "happending" thread!
607035.gif

sp,
You are right! I am not the FOUNDER of this thread, it's LittleCat!

Choc,
I bought a heat diffuser from Spotlight,a cheaper version,but that's the only one I could find in Singapore.Read somewhere that it's good for simmering and cooking claypot dishes.Will try it out for my claypot chicken rice see if it helps.

GTG now...

choc06
how do u do spinach soup? my fren say spinach soup very good for anaemic. thinking of doing it too. she asked me to use those red spinach.

wow so many bday mummies? happy bday!

twinkle starry
fresh blueberris on offer at cold storage. very cheap. 3.95. usualy price close to 5...

Hey SY,
I will normally boil prefried ikan bilis stock with ginger for half an hr, then add the spinach ( heng chye, the sharp leaf kind), then add some wolfberries and salt.. My dds don't eat wolfberries tho, then I'll eat everything including the ikan bilis..

Red spinach is better, but I normally fry it with minced garlic and add wolfberried last.. My granny was also anaemic so nurse told her to eat more red spinach

Hey van , wah.. envy u leh.. do enjoy yourself and take loads of pictures in japan.. Haven't tried the heat diffuser, is it the one they use in catering ?

My HK rice got no eyes and ribbon, think next time I'll use unpolished rice to make , then it'll be more colourful.. I tried putting peas for the hello kitty eyes, it ended up like kerokerokeropi frog !

Hello gals!
I dunno if you gals will be interested in soup without any meat, cos vegetarian dishes seems to be boring here. But it taste very nice... Just in case anyone interested... here it is...
Ingredients: Lotus root, soya beans, black beans, red dates, wolfberries, walnut.

Van,
Wish you a good trip to Japan... with lots of shopping...

Choc,
I am also cow... lol... When are you going to Penang?? I might be going to KL for a seminar next week... This cow thinking very hard how to handle liao... How ah?? Go seminar cannot bring baby wor... Pump to store also lazy. I dun really like to pump also... will cause me sore nipples.

I cooked my lunch today
Stir fry fussili with cabbage, celery, carrots, tomatoes, cai xin, broccoli, walnut, almond, cashew. Soya sauce, sesame oil and black pepper to taste
. Hee... I eat to live now... Not very interesting hor?? I think the food I eat now very bland to a lot of people...

SP,
Where you stay in KL?? haha.. maybe can meet you if got time, cos got a few relatives to visit. I still havent look for hotel. Dun wanna stay with relatives this time. Do you know any good hotel near the stadium in Shah Alam??

Sophie, littlecat,
hee... I still dun mind my hubby buying me things :p I used to be very practical, but after thinking that he might stop buying me anything in future, I just accept whatever lor... Last month, he bought me an expensive key chain... the amount can buy me a thermal pot liao... I just take and use... Last time, during "pak tor" time, I told him no need to buy me flowers cos they will wilt. Then he never buy anymore. Now, I ask him to buy, he will tell me the flowers will wilt

twinkle,
Wah... the muffins look very good... making me drool liao...

starz,
I already stopped taking photos daily liao... lol... my laptop not enough disk space already.

Lani,
Can share recipe or technique how to cook tempeh till nice nice??

today my mummy cooked for us since she and my dad stayed over last night...heehee...nasi lemak, ie. the whole works! with chicken wing, fried fish (the small small kind), cucumber, sambal kang kong, egg omelet, fried ikan bilis, sliced cucumber, and not forgetting the sambal, which is the shiokest part! hee...

wait i ask my mum how to cook the sambal goreng and sambal belachan, and also tempeh. i also never cook these things before!!

choc,
i LOVE allrecipes.com!!! i get alot of my recipes from there. i have been using that website for 7yrs already liao! some of the recipes (esp those higly rated) are actually very very good!

van,
have fun in tokyo!!!! i would love to go there again, but this time to look at Hello Kitty stuff, cause my dd now crazy over HK!!

sandwich ideas:
i love these sandwich combinations - started eating them this way when i was a student in melbourne:

1) smoked salmon, cream cheese, diced boiled eggs
2) chicken mayo, shredded carrot, shredded lettuce, sliced beetroot

YUMMY!!!

lani, sophie, choc,
what is tempeh? I don't know...

choc, lani,
I love going to the allrecipes website to read the reviews, hee... I've tried out a few recipes, so far only 1 or 2 turn out ok, the rest not ok becoz I used toaster oven - temp too hot... not the recipes' fault.

van,
hope u get yr tics confirmed soon!!! good luck ya and hv lots of fun there...

lyn,
I've been to the BlueWave hotel Shah Alam for my forum friend's wedding in 2004, not sure abt the rooms there becoz didn't overnite there.

when u coming for seminar? bring A lah, let someone u trust look after him and hang around the hotel where yr seminar is held. then during the tea/ meal breaks u can bf A... no need to pump, hee. pm me if u got free time to meet up with me... hee...

choc,
u going Penang? me too, going next fri, coming back sun. when u going???

starry,
enjoy yr anniversary celebrations tonite!

sophie, little cat, lyn,
huh, u all also "unromantic" ah? so I'm not the only one telling my hb not to waste money on flowers, wuahhaa...

Thank you very much for the birthday wishes!!!

van and starz, me no celebrate....same like littlecat, my hb bought me a rum and cherry cake from awfully chocolate, sing birthday song, blow candle and eat it...that's it.

I'm also not romantic type... my son ask me what I want for present and I told him money....so he tell my hb that mummy wants money present and my hb faster keep his mouth shut and not asking me about present...I shouted that I also want Prada bag and he replied, okok prata...tomorrow buy prata for you to eat...faintz..

sophie, your hb birthday today too...same same huh...Happy birthday to him!!

Eh sp and lyn, I m going to penang on the 19th night.. basically going there to pigout( ashamed to say), come back then kiam pui.. Have been drinking apple cider in the morning, aft doing my bowels, my stomach feels very good every time, macham very empty and skinny.. hehe..

Hey lyn, my friend who's a tr expresses at a regular timing every day for the next day's feed.. Now her bb 6 months liao.. supply still there but diminishing.. yah.. like what sp mentioned, bring aloy there.. then slowly cut down feed ? ask your hb and mum to go lah.. how many days you staying ?

eh what pump you using ? how come nipples so painful ? but I heard from my friend who was bfing her 2 yr old dd, that when her milk almost dried up, her nipples were painful when her dd suckled..

Hey sp, tempeh is fermented soy beans, right Lani?

Eh Lani, nasi lemak is my ang and my favourite ! Your descripton very tempting leh.. please learn and teach us..esp the sambal chilli ..

Thanks for the sandwich tips ! I only had ham and cheese sandwich every time when we were in uni.. How interesting ! My friend even mixed peanut butter with ham !

lyn, your dish and soup is very interesting and healthy, like I always said.. u WILL be my MIL's favourite DIL !! walnuts are good stuff.. What recipe book u using ?

Sunsweet, Happy birthday to you!!

Lani, ya...choc is right...your nasi lemak very tempting....

wah....alot of mummies here going holiday....I'm going too but next year...cos my holiday plan is budget type so gotta book and plan earlier... whole family going including my maid so everything must be budget hee....

Eh annlee, springhome brand and chinatown brand prata very nice.. hehe..
My bday also very simple one.. mum cooked a feast and my siblings join in.. belated bday present from my ang akan datang !!!

Go for a short trip like to Malacca.. now still got tickets, quickly go and book

HAPPY BIRTHDAY SUNSWEET AND SOPH's ANG !!

Lani,
I used to love and eat lots of sandwiches when I was in the UK. Not anymore when I came back with several health challenges...
At one point, I was crazy over those sandwiches made using the sandwich maker. Spread butter on outside of bread, add cheese, tomato, ham... Then toast with sandwich maker...

sp,
Oh... You going to Penang on the weekend I am going to KL. The seminar is one full day on 17 Dec. If I go for the seminar, most likely my hubby will attend with me
hmm.. gotta see if my mum wanna go.

choc,
Wow... food indulgence in Penang... yummy yummy...
hmm... good idea to pump for next day's feed. I gotta stop latching first... :p Haven't got the heart to start. Just now I pumped out one feed liao

I am using medela electric. It some how sucked my whole nipples into the funnel... lol... Nowadays, when I latch on, it hurt a little. Seems like sore nipples coming back when I started to pump.

Your MIL also into healthier vegetarian food choices ah?? I am not following any recipe books strictly. I mix and match whatever nutrients I need... :p I have recipe books by "Ou Yang Ying". I have another health book by "Jiang Shu Hui" which I havent got time to really read it. Only browsed through.

Sunsweet,
Happy Birthday

annlee,
Where will you be going next year??
I am only going to KL for a weekend, so nothing exciting about... unless my hubby decided to take leave and we can go shopping.. kekeke...
I will be going to Bintan early Jan to celebrate my birthday with my family

Thanks for the birthday greetings!
Will tell my hubby!

Sunsweet,
Happy Birthday to you!!!
Next year's birthday, you'll have your little one celebrating for you too

Is he/she your first or second or third kid?

Van,
Hope you get your seats soon!
Heh, stocks good... if not banks, then some other bluechip also good for long term

twinkle,
I think it's a good choice to use canned blueberries... I think someone once told me the fresh ones not so sweet, so may not be as nice for muffins. If wanna use fresh ones, have to soak in sugar syrup for awhile to sweeten them.

Choc,
You driving to taking flight to Penang?
So envious! I've never been to Penang before... always wanted to go and pig out at Gurney Drive!
Maybe next time I can bring baby there too!

Today I had cheese sandwich with flaxmeal - flaxmeal gives fibre and Omega 3, good for nursing mums too.
I just toast my slices of bread with cheese melted on it, then take out sprinkle with flaxmeal and "close up" the sandwich.
Can hide the flaxmeal in it without the kids knowing

lyn,
I also don't like flowers leh... I feel so sad when they wither. I always tell my hubby buy me a pot of flowers better

Lani,
Thanks in advance for the recipes! **drool**
Remember to take pics and show us your nasi lemak!!!
I also like sliced beetroot

sp,
Yep, Choc answered you - tempeh is fermented soybeans - super high in protein!
You can find them in rectagular slices at Indian Rojak stores, then they will deepfry it and cut into thin slices for you.
Indian rojak ones normally yellowish in color cos they probably marinate and coat it with batter sometimes.

annlee,
Awfully Choc is also my fav!!!

Hope you have a great day today!
You so sweet, bring your maid along for holiday! Budget or not doesn't matter, as long as the whole family enjoys it.
In fact, I like budget travelling... heh, stayed in a S$18/night hut in Koh Samui before... then whack cockroaches at night

Happy Birthday to Sunsweet and Sophie's hb! The candles for all the Dec birthday guy/gals/babies here!
607584.gif

Pepper Lunch Comes to CCK LOT 1! Tried it at their branch at Isetan Scotts, like it very much,so glad that they have a stall in CCK Lot 1 now. I love their pepper salmon rice.

Lani,
i am drooling over your description of Nasi Lemak!Especially Ikan Kuning and Ikan Bilis.
607585.gif

You going to Bangok next year? Bangkok also have lots of Hello Kitty stuff, cheaper too,remember to bring 1 extra empty luggage or a BIG foldable bag.

Choc,
The heat diffuser is a flat piece of metal plate.Don't think it's used in catering. But the one I bought look quite different from what I saw from web sites.

Did you use Thai rice or Japanese rice for you HK rice?

My Tokyo trip until now still no news yet leh. My friend is in Tokyo Disneyland now, sent me sms early today to say "it's cool cool and nice here, come leh, so fun leh...",tempt me even more.

Lyn,
I also told my hb I actually don't like to receive flowers...spend so much money, then see them wilt made me sad. So I'll buy those white powder from florist(don't know what's that??), which is supposed to keep the flowers "alive" longer,and don't need to change water daily?!

hey Mummies,
Can I ask who has used diaper pants before?
My friend says to use them in place of safety pins cos safety pins not so safe with cloth nappies, but I am wondering if it's hot?
Thought i'll ask the experienced mummies here since it costs about $20 per pc.

btw, Twinkle, thanks for info on Isetan sales... can use my vouchers liao!