Cooking Tips & Recipe

601506.jpg

This is a batch of choc chip cupcakes tt I gave my neighbour. I used Hershey's cocoa this time and the results were pretty good - not as intense as Valrhona, but chocolatey enough!

Thanks, Joy
How's your itinerary planning coming along? Hong Kong should be quite cold now? I bought gloves for my dds during the last trip to keep their little fingers warm.

601523.jpg

This is about half the batch of 85 - waiting to cool down to decorate.

Hi Carole, your banana cake looks good! Wah, it must have tasted really yummy since your hb ate it all up! So what are you baking this week?

Ok, last pic - not my creation! My hb cooked laksa using the Prima mix - it tasted very nice but couldn't get "hum" from the market.

601535.jpg

Annelise,
Hey your cup cakes are SOOOOO BEAUTIFUL & SWEET!
601574.gif
Did you use buttercream for all the toppings? Need to keep chilled? The after-sunbath Kitty looks good too,she has got a nice tan! you used milk chocolate for that? Have you tried tempering Chocolate Couverture?
601575.gif

You are very patient, even the small HK white chocolate you made small pink ribbons for all of them,quite tedious right? Pei Fu! Pei Fu!
601576.gif

You can put the whole tray of cup cakes (counted, 56 of them) in your oven? Your oven is very big!

I was browsing some cup cake photos last night, and saw this really nice X'mas cup cake decoration:

Courtesy of sgcupcakemomma(can't remember which site I saw this pict,but I did save her name):

601577.jpg

I haven't tried out the chocolate mold,thought of getting the valrhona chocolate first. Hopefully tomorrow have time to go either Sun Lik or Shermay's cooking school to buy, but I thought of baking chocolate cake with Valrhona's cocoa powder first,quite eager to try out a chocolate butter cake recipe that called for Dutched processed cocoa powder.

You mentioned Chong's Trading before,where is it located? Do they sell valrhona chocolate?

My hb needs to go Japan this month, thinking of letting me and dd tag along, but I still can't make up my mind to go or not,cos don't like to travel in cold weather.A friend just reached Tokyo this morning,said the temperature there is about 15 degree.But very hard to resist the temptation of the LAND OF HELLO KITTY.

annelise,
WOW, yr cupcakes look so pretty and delicious! I really admire your stamina and patience! Thanks for sharing the beautiful pics.

annelise,
Although i read thru this thread daily and seldom join in the chat but after seeing ur cupcakes, my saliva is dripping... wow.. looks so pretty & delicious! yummy ymmmy yummy..

BTW, do u mind sharing the recipe for the choc cup cakes?

hi ladies...

ambrosial,
if start TTC next yr, now can start "preparing" ur body liaoz... now already december leh...

annelise,
wahhh... ur week's effort definitely worth it!!!! i see also drool liaoz.. so many cupcakes.. especially e hello kitty n e last 2 batch with decoration somemore...

sophie,
hehehe... my hb n urs e same.. wld have jumped at e chance to directly latch on leh.. he keep asking, i keep rejecting him... reli feel very weird lah....

eh, its a "mix" between menstrual cramps, n constipated feeling... e "earlier" part, it juz feels like menstrual cramps... very very severe type.. for me, its tolerable cos i used to get v bad cramps, no painkillers cannot get out of bed tat kind... probably tats y earlier part of labour i cld still tolerate... only towards e end, when its almost time, then i feel e need & urge to "push'.. tats juz like e constipated feeling lor...

Van,
go, why not??!?!?
15 degrees not too bad mah... cool, but not freezing cold yet... juz nice can wear those nice "winter jackets".. Hello Kitty is "calling" u liaoz..hehehe...

ladies, wat r ur plans for christmas???? now start to feel abit of e "christmas mood" liaoz...

WOW ! Annelise, indeed the cupcakes are so beautiful and I really feel like eating them !Where can I get cupcakes at Tampines ?? slurp..

Can share your recipe ? The HK choc you made is awesome.. my girls and hb said they r very nice !

My bro's wedding is finally over, how about yours ? He didn;t want us to make any cakes for him, he scared he'll lose face ..hehe.. Very busy at the reception table that day

Hey cookie, poor pui pui ! What's your plan now ? My didi also getting a bit spoilt.. keep wanting to be carried..

Eh van, go for the japan trip !! Chill out there !
I brought my nieces and girls to raffles city for the barbie and 12 dancing princesses performance last wk, was a nice show, did you go ?

Thanks ambrosial for the tips on the roast chicken, making it for wed din..

Hey soph, your constipation ok ?

Hey laugh, just join in our talk !! Always get ready your fork and spoon and a cup of kopi beside your PC ! Hehe..

Eh carole, your banana cake not bad leh.. I always like moist banana cakes

Wow annelise
Nice yummy looking cupcakes. Makes me itchy fingers already. Would be great for Xmas to distribute to my nieces and nephew. The laksa looks tempting too!!!

Van
Very peifu the mom that did the xmas cupcakes. So many designs I think I will faint from exhaustion from making the decors.

Choc
Wah u so fast bring didi out to walk walk with his sisters and nieces? I din dare to bring my gal out till she was quite old. Till now I still hesistate to bring her out cos she would want me to carry most of the time till my arms ache!!

Annelise,
Your cupcakes are gorgeous! Be it the olive-skinned Hello Kitty or the fair-skinned ones

Eh, agree with Van - you're really patient to do all these designs! Not joking -> really can sell liao!

I also like Prima laksa pack

Van,
I also agree with starz - go Tokyo! Just need to layer up a bit more to keep warm, plus once indoors, should be insulated?
Eh, I just saw lots of winter wear at U2.... so nice! Miss those day when I get to wear winter wear!
And if you have G2 or U2 card, you get additional 30% discount from now till this Wed, very worth it to buy the nice jackets!

starz,
Heee... thanks for your description of labour cum constipation

I'm now telling baby to turn cos she is still head up.

Choc,
My constipation OK now that I am taking the stool softener + a fibre thingy that gynae gave me.
Just hope to keep it this way so as not to aggravate the piles, but I realised the piles comes out even when I walk too much, so it could be the weight of uterus that's also causing the piles.
Aunties in market all say I am carrying low and pointed, so they say it's a boy.
Last night, hubby cannot stand the suspense anymore cos went to JL sale and saw so many cute blue and pink stuff.
He finally opened the card which we asked the doctor to circle boy or girl.... and tada!
It's a Baby Girl!

Sophie,
ha ha,so now you can start looking at only the girlie stuff liaoz huh! Can also start thinking of Chinese and English name for girl girl liaoz!

G2k n U2 having sales? I don't have their cards but i saw in newspaper some winter wear shops having sale,if really going then either get those or go Song & Song to see any suitable ones,didn't want to spend too much on the winter clothing, prefer to save for shopping there.

You like to wear winter wear? I find it very leh chey leh.Go shopping also very troublesome, then more luggage to pack, unless it's for skiing tour, then I might still bear with it.

Starz,
I can also "hear" Hello Kitty and Little Twin Stars(my school days favourite) "calling" me liao
602231.gif
...but everything not firm yet.
I usually book and confirm everything 2 days or 3 days before the trip when I want to tag along hb's biz trip.

Are you still taking confinement food now?

Christmas plan will be Christmas Buffet dinner cum 1 night stay in a local hotel.We did that last year, and I thought of doing the same this year. More relaxed this way.

Choc,
I didn't bring my dd for the Barbie show, but brought her for the Bob the Builder show and also watched Happy Feet.Happy Feet is very interesting!

I think mid-Dec onwards there will be more shows in shopping malls, will then arrange to bring dd to watch, but she still goes to school and most of her classes, so she doesn't have that much time except on weekends.

cupcake,
I also pei fu that mom who did the X'mas cupcakes AND Annelise! I don't have the patience. My limit is to decorate a big cake with the frosting,topping and filling,and the cake is limited to 2 layers only,haha!

kakis,What's cooking today?

My dinner today is Fried Beehoon with cabbage,carrot,mushroom,pork slices,tau gey and fish cake.Plus a pot of peanut pork rib soup.

Van,
Yep, G2 & U2 having 30% sales only for privilege card members till this Wed only. I borrowed the card from my friend to buy some long-sleeved T-shirts and jeans from U2 for hubby, so if there's something you wanna get, I can meet you to lend you card, but sales ends on Wed.

Winter wear not so leychey actually, if you do the "layering" concept which I normally do. Esp. if only about 16 degrees & in a city, no need those super thick winter jackets. I buy those wool/thick corduroy normal-cutting jackets, then inside wear a tight-fitting T-shirt followed by a long-sleeved turtle-neck (U2 has), then jacket - so 3 layers enough already. Then if neck still cold, wear a scarf. Bottom I just make do with jeans or boot-legged pants, cos I find most important is to keep the top and neck warm. This season, U2 got some nice wool/corduroy jackets going for about $89 I think.

Then these corduroy jackets I also wear for not so cold climates, or sometimes, with just a lacy camisole inside for a play/musical.

Heee... yep, I'm so excited about buying all the pinkie stuff for girls now!

Today never cook - dunno why so tired these few days, keep napping in the afternoon!
Will cook another round of cordyceps and pao sheng tomorrow to bu qi for both me and hubby.

Choc,
You can bring so many kids + a baby to Raffles City? Super crowded in town now leh... you can handle?

Krisjoy,
How're you doing?
Must be busy with the 1-mth celebration + looking after baby.
Post us a pic of your little princess when you are free!

Sophie

You are so right about the layering concept...That is what I usually do...t shirt in side, and a nice turtle neck sweater outside with pants or jeans.....

Hmmm....shopping is good now esp the year end sales is here...happy shopping...

Van
Go...enjoyed the school holiday with your princess before the real school starts....you miss your hello kitty too, right?Go say hello to them for me too..heeeee

Looks that everyone is into festive mood liao...enjoy this lovely month of dec...my fav month all time round...

annelise, wow so many yummy cupcakes!! aiyoh, must be your neighbour next time liao! :D

van, must take a break now before your dd next P1 and also more difficult to tag along if she is studying.

Sophie, congrats!! haha your hb so cute! and also can 'ren' for so long?? pei-fu!!
Abt the video tapping, not sure if they really 'restrict', but if using digital cam to tap, isn't it the same??
May be someone can englighten, why we can't use video cam in delivery ward?
i heard they say should off the HP while in certain area, but aiyoh my fren last time give us 'live update' while she in the delivery warrd leh...

van, good idea to go local hotel for x'mas celebration leh...

Another idea is to go JB hotel, quick getaway and cheaper too.

carole thanks in advanced for the cake hor
hehe...

Good morning everyone! Juz a quick one from me today - need to go PH to buy the stuff for my bil's wedding & my nephew's bday cake. It's the start of a super busy week - I haven't gone to the hairdresser's yet!!!! And my mum juz flew off to Sydney for her meeting so I haven't got a babysitter! Dh hoping to take leave some time this week - hopefully he can really get off from work so that I can try to get groomed!

Hi sp, thanks
The look wasn't perfect - I wanted to buy a bigger tip but my sis couldn't find it. I finally bought one from PH on Sat, so hopefully the batch for my bil's will turn out better.

Hi laugh, do join us in our daily chit chats! I'll type out the recipe after this week, ya?

Hi Van,

Yeah, I used buttercream for all the toppings. Had to keep them chilled because I used a lot of butter and just a bit of shortening so that it'll be healthier. I used Cadbury milk chocolate for the chao ta Kitty cos' I was too lazy to temper chocolate from scratch. I haven't tried tempering chocolate before - but BIY sells a nice variety of chocolate molds. Daiso has a choc mold too - it comes with lolly sticks too!

The small pink ribbons are quite easy to make - I used a toothpick to drizzle the melted choc in, refrigerate for about 10 mins before pouring in the white choc. My sis always complain I do things very slow-motion! I guess it's because I'm a bit of a perfectionist and like things to look nice and neat.

My oven is the normal sized built-in type that came with the apt - I had to bake in batches of 20 each time because the cake liners are waxed, so if put too close together the heat distribution in the oven is not even.

Chong's Trading is in Adelphi - they sell mainly baking equipment - not so much of ingredients. I think BIY sells Valrhona too. But Sun Lik should be cheaper.

Sooooo nice, you'll be going to Japan!!! If you're hunting for Hello Kitty baking stuff, better to check out the household dept or baking specialty stores instead of the Sanrio counters. I noticed all the cookie cutters and cake molds etc. are Sanrio-licensed products by 3rd parties and not Sanrio produced. I didn't realise the difference on my last trip so I checked out all the Sanrio counters and even Puroland but to no avail!

Hi starz, thanks
It's Ayden's first Christmas! Are you getting anything special for him? I bought a crystal Christmas ornament for my god-daughter in Japan many years ago that says "Baby's first christmas" and they wrote her name on the back of it. She hangs it up on her tree every year!

Hi choc, if there're extras from my next baking, I'll send some to you! Have you gone to the new Ikea? My hb insisted on going on Sat and it was soooooo crowded! Waited more than half an hour to da bao my favourite chicken wings! My bil's wedding is this Sat - only 70 guests for the reception, so very manageable for the cupcakes! Thinking of going to BIY to hire their cake stand.

Hi cupcake, there're lots of nice decor ideas for Christmas on the m&m's website - maybe you could bake a batch of cupcakes for your christmas family gathering and get all your nieces and nephews to decorate their own cupcakes - should be really fun! We usually do a gingerbread house. I bought one from Ikea for $7.50 - Ikea Alexandra has no more stock but I still see lots at Ikea Tampines.

Hi Sophie, no stamina to bake and sell! Bake on ad-hoc basis still ok - bake full-time, very tiring! Hmm...when my girls grow up maybe I'd like to be a Home Ec teacher! I find that they should teach more exciting things in Home Ec classes to get the teens interested in baking and decorating - good way to stimulate creativity too!

Hi LittleCat, thanks
Yeah, come join your sister hum and me in Tamp! Hee, my neighbours are always my guinea pigs - I always give them cakes when I try out new recipes cos' my girls & hb not crazy about cakes!

Ok, gotta run - supposed to be a quick post but I very chiong hei!

Annelise,
More & More people into online cupcake business now:
http://www.halfbaked-ideas.com/parties.html

I agree with you! I find that not many Singaporeans are into cooking and baking.The children are better at computer & mouse,PS,XBox,Gameboy then cooking and baking.Unlike say Hong Kong, there are so many baking supplies shops and baking workshops,and the SAHMs seem to take a lot of time and effort to prepare lunch box and snacks for their kids.

I also realised all the bakeware are not produced by Sanrio. I think it's mainly by Kai House. Sanrio has lots of those plastic molds and stencils but not so much of bakeware.

Sophie,
Thanks for offering to lend me the G2 and U2 card, pei seh to trouble you. Anyway,the trip is not confirmed yet. Hb said Japan side hasn't confirmed the date.And the date he told me last nite is 1 week later then the original planned date,which means Berenice might have to celebrate her birthday in Japan,if we are going.

Also realised I missed out the washing machine offer,thanks for the thought! How I wish I stay near you! Actually I did think of going to my neighbour's house to spin dry, but my neighbours either go for holdiay or back to M'sia.

Littlecat,
My hb forbid me to go JB,he said not safe.But he did mention going to KL, but I said go KL might as well go Bangkok,where everything is cheaper and got interesting and cheap food and shopping

I too feel that once dd starts Primary 1,very very hard to tag alogn hb's biz trip liaoz,unlike now, suka suka just absent for 3 days to a week to tag along.That's why this is the pushing factor to go this time.

Joy,
How's your preparation for Hong Kong trip? Enjoy!

Choc,
Have you tried out the HK ice-cream/popsticks maker? Did you notice the liquid will drip out? I went to the HK shop last week, they told me I did put the stick properly,but I am sure I did leh.

You bought the HK egg mold already? They told me the stocks were not in at all?!

Sophie
So its a gal!!! Then I guess wrongly!!! U can prep to burn a hole in your pocket already...there are so many pretty things to buy for gals. pretty dresses, hairclips, accessories etc etc. I am always looking for pretty stuff to buy for my gal rather then for myself.

Annelise
I also wanted to buy the gingerhouse. No more at Alexandra?! Tampines abit far for me. Hiaz shd not hv procrastinated.

Van
Winter time is having sales also, perhaps u can take a look.

re cupcakes,
wow, the cupcakes look really nice!!! looks very yummy too!

sophie
so u can start buying all the gal stuff....really very nice.

cupcake,
i just went to ikea tampines yesterady. really crowded though it's only a mon....

annelise: keke tis week, cant bake, no time.. but will be trying fruit cake for Xmas.. how did u make those icing on the cup cakes? teach me lehz!

Annelise,
Wah.. your cake looks very beautiful and nice... You are very creative and patient.
Your hubby also very good cook... The laksa looks appetising.

Van,
Wah... so nice can go to Japan... kekeke... The land of Hello Kitty is calling you liao...
Happy Birthday to Bernice in advance! Wish her "kuai gao zhang da"!

Choc,
Is the show too loud for didi? I can understand having to carry him for a long time when out... There's once I carried Aloysius for 5 hours non-stop. I felt the ache even with a sling... Good to bring baby out to "see the world"
hehe... my mum is complaining that I am bringing Aloysius out almost daily...

Sophie,
Very tempted to buy things for baby hor?? kekeke... gal gal things are very pretty and cute...

Starz,
Can go out Christmas shopping with your baby already?? hee...

Sophie, Joy,
Last time when I went to Switzerland in the summer, I also used the layering concept... Imagine no need winter clothing for -2degC.. ;) but cannot go skiing in the layers though.. not enough warm to stay long outside...

Good morning gals

Hey mummies who use Pigeon detergent,
NTUC has offer for the box of laundry powder baby detergent - going for $6 instead of usual $8.10, quite a good deal!
They also have an offer for the refill of this baby accessories food cleanser thingy (which i don't know what it is for
) - refill of 700ml going for $10 instead of the usual $13 I think.

Joy,
Yep, I like layering too, cos if too hot, can take out some, then too cold, just layer on... easier than wearing 1 or 2 pcs of thick hot sweaters! Have fun in HK soon!

LittleCat,
I think it's just Mt. A's policy that they don't allow filming? Cos my friend gave birth in NUH, through epidural C-section... her hubby filmed everything down!
Will get my hubby to sneakily take a 30-sec short clip of baby's first cry

Annelise,
Home Econs Teacher is a good idea! Esp. when you're such a patient person, not like my ex-Home Econs teacher who used to call us names like "Butter Fingers" and "stupid girl"

Van,
Celebrate Berenice's birthday in Japan? That'll be so fun! You really MUST go then!

cupcake,
How come you guess it's a boy?

cupcake, SY,
Yep, I am getting excited looking at all the pink stuff already.
Now using starz's method of "bribery" - telling baby to turn head down into proper birthing position so Mommy doesn't have to do C-section, then money saved will be used to buy toys and clothes for her!

lyn,
I am already looking at all the pinkie girlie stuff!

Yep, layering is more for city dressing - if wanna go skiiing, need waterproof clothing too, else very miserable when everything is wet and cold

2007 is coming - you're planning to TTC in 2007? Then your bf how?

sophie,
I gotta try to stop bf already. A bit "bu she de"
I think I will miss the bonding and warmth of breastfeeding. I was thinking of stopping in Dec06. Then intensive detox for a month in Jan07. Then Feb07, start TTC and strike... kekeke... Think my breastfeeding gonna continue till Jan07 cos I haven't started to wean... Just started semi-solids last week.

van, yesterday I'm cooking fried beehoon too....and chicken soup.

So when is your dd birthday? Maybe coincidence again...same date as me...hee

sophie, I guess wrongly too...congrats...having a princess

lyn,
Wow, intensive detox?! But Jan no good to detox leh, cos Feb is CNY, then got so much goodies
unless you're not a CNY goodie fan!

annlee,
You also guessed boy? Hee... maybe cos it's the breakouts I had - but the breakouts went off around mid-second trimester, so maybe the hormones was just very unstable before that cos of my jabs.

Eh, Van and your beehoon is tempting me! I planned to cook fried rice tonight, but maybe will switch to beehoon! Just that cannot add carrots today cos just had my cordyceps soup, so beehoon may end up looking colorless without carrots

What are you girls cooking tonight then?

sophie, I'm cooking stir fry pork with ginger and spring onion, broccoli and kailan stem pork bone soup.

About fried rice, I cooked that on last friday hee....

Forgotten to tell you.... my hubby likes vitasense cleanser. I saw him going to their website looking on their products.....this is what he never do it...kekeke

annlee,
Woah, stir fry pork with ginger and spring onion sounds yummy! Talk about ginger dishes - starting from next weekend, I'll have to demo and train hubby to cook simple confinement dishes so he can cook for me for first 2 weeks

Kailan stem pork bone soup? How do you cook this? I've never had this soup before!

sophie,
kekeke... I dun think I wanna eat so much of those CNY goodies... These few years, reduced a lot already, except for the "lim chee guan bak gua" :p Usually only buy those sweets and cookies for guests. Then if cannot finish, gotta throw away...

I am going out to eat with my hubby tonite
My mum and sis just started their rejuvenation juicing program...
So not eating at home...

sophie, I know the kailan stem soup from my MIL. She uses thermpot to cook it and smells great.
Just get 2 fat kailan stem, pork bone or chicken, some dried scallop and red dates. But I added some wolfberries and ginger. You can skip the scallop too but for me i put all the ingred.

you can take the soup...is healthy huh...but remember not to add too much water as kailan stem is tasteless but the veggie fragrant is there.

lyn, rejuvenation juicing program sounds good....how is it like?

annlee,
This kailan stem soup sounds interesting - should be very nutritious, plus kailan is dark green vege, so iron content should be quite good too.
One more question -> do you dump everything into soup together, or leave kailan stem till last?

lyn,
Yep, I also don't eat much CNY stuff except for my favourite bak gua plus maybe 2 pcs of pineapple tarts. Somehow just lost the urge to gorge myself silly during CNY now... but I better don't talk too early... scarely this year eat alot cos of preggie hormones!

Actually, I don't even buy CNY goodies to stock in my flat, except for bak gua... so you can imagine pple come to my place and visit, only drink Ribena and probably get to munch bak gua and pineapple tarts only!

sophie,
congrats on yr girl-girl! yr instinct is powerful and correct leh!

for my bb, last time gynae said is boy but I always "feel" that it's girl... in the end come out boy but till now ppl still say he look like girl

van,
no need to think anymore, just go okie! and hv a great time in Japan! yr girl will always remember how special her this year birthday is becoz she gets to celebrate it in Japan!

lyn,
"bu she de" don't stop yet lor, after all bf is the best for baby A... hee...

sp,
I think pple think your boy looks like girl cos he's got such fair "tofu" skin, like yours!

sp, lyn,
Can I ask a silly question?
So if still bf, cannot get pregnant issit? Then how come there is such a thing as "tandem breastfeeding", whereby the mommy bf both older kid and newborn baby?

sophie, I dump everything inside to cook. The stem cannot put last cos is hard...take longer to cook to get it soft. Remember is kailan stem, those fat stem not those normal kailan veggie we always see on veggie store.

Hey cupcake, soph,lyn

Yah.. I almost peng san carrying didi when we went for the barbie show.. My nieces and my girls were doing nothing at home, so brought them there with their maid .. while I shop with a 6.5kg didi in my sling.. heehee..

Soph, I can imagine the excitement on your ang's face when he opened the card ! All the anticipation ! Girls are good ..

Hey van, waiting to try out the popsicle when my dds recover from their cough totally.. The HK molds not in town yet is it ? I am waiting for a perfect time to make the cut out cookies!

So u going to ji poon boh ? GO lah ! next yr you'll be busy with dd
We'll be going to penang to PIGOUT ..No HK there tho.. going to the bata there to buy dd's white sch shoes..

Soph, bf can still get pg, my friend was doing tandem bf, didn't ask her how she did it, but her 2 girls' age gap is quite close..

Hey annelise, haven't gone to ikea yet.. I went to the one at Alexandra in nov.. to eat the fried chicken wings and the choc cake

Cooked claypot chicken rice with cabbage today.. think someone cooked that the other day, coming to this forum always gives me ideas what to cook ! THANKS LADIES !

Hi kakis,
After reading all the advices & support to go Japan, I finally made up my mind to go,but SQ flights very very full for the 2 weeks before X'mas,especially dd and I are redeeming the economy saver tickets from hb's frequent flyer miles. Now still on waiting list for the seats.

Taka having 10% storewide discount for members for 4 days,starting from today.Lots of cookware having at least 20% discount,before the 10% members discount. Went Taka today , partly also for the Mickey & Minnie's Meet-and-greet photo session.

lyn,
Thank you! Showed dd your well wishes for her birthday this afternoon,she's very delighted!
604225.gif

Your sis and mum just started on juice rejuvenating program? How long does it last?

annlee,
my dd's birthday is on 20Dec,thought of going on 19th, so can celebrate her birthday in Tokyo Disneyland. I remembered when I was staying in Bangkok's Regent hotel for my birthday, the hotel sent me a birthday cake,card signed by the housekeeping team.Don't know whether Japan's hotel will give such surprise for dd or not.

When is your birthday? Advanced Birthday Greeting to you: HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
604226.gif

Sophie,
Wow, you are very disciplined.Only eat bak kwa and 2pcs of pineapple tarts! I always have loads of CNY goodies at home, when my guests come, I would also eat with them.
604227.gif
604228.gif

A friend once told me, if during the early stage of pregnancy, by looking at the scan,the gynae said it's a girl, or said already can tell for sure,it's usually a girl.Whereas if the gynae is not too confident to disclose or said it's a boy, then may not be really be boy...hmmm..I seem to have make it sounds very complicated,but I guess you can understand what I meant.

hey, it's true that breastfeeding still can get pregnant.My ex-colleague also got such "accident".
604229.gif

Choc,
The HK egg molds and ice molds are not in yet. But I remember you mentioned your girls have been eating HK eggs, so I thought you have already bought,and questioned the lady why never call me when the stocks arrived.

Are you bring didi along to Penang?

Remember to post pictures of your cut-out cookies!

I cooked claypot chicken rice last week.1st time using my claypot to cook from scratch,then Chow Tar at the centre of claypot's bottom,soaked and boil water with vinegar in the claypot and scrupped very hard then managed to get rid of the chow tar stains.But my hb said chow tar claypot rice very pang,just like kopi tiam's.
604230.gif

Van

Good to know you have decided to Japan.Yap, SQ is very full during this season.Even during the normal period, I always get my firmed seat too as this flight is too popular, usually connect to LA .

Anyway, just hope for the best.

Oh yes, I still yet to pack cos very lazy...but will read a bit more on the area that I am going so I will best utilise the short time that I have there....

van, Happy Birthday to Bernice ! and ǧNI

Hope u will get the ticket soon and have a good break b4 another challenging year!

annlee, so u also dec birthday girl? me too.

now my family, 1 april, 1 oct, 1 nov and 1 dec birthday. so will have bd celebration every month for the last 3 months of the year.

sophie, i remember Mout E got put the 'no video cam' sign too. Anyway if nobody say anything just tape keke..
happy shopping
like the rest say u will spend lots of money to buy clothing for her too haha!
me sometime think of it also heng ah, two boys, can save some $$ also :D

Lyn, good planning! if really want more baby, must act fast. Dun wait too long. like me 4 years gap and i forgot how to take care of new born...

wow choc, u brave leh! i dare not bring my baby out to shopping yet, scare he will cry and i will be kelam kabut...
about the sling, is it those like sarong type? is it good huh?

little cat, dun be scare. baby naturally likes to go out. they will usually sleep better during ur outing. i always bring bb in sarong, and she zzz all the way.

sophie: BF can still get pregnant, but the chances arent very high due to the hormones in body changes. I too BF still, my girl now comnig 14th mths. i hope to be Trying for my 2nd one soon, but cant bear to stop BF, so i decided its God's will then.

annlee,
Thanks for explanation. I think I know which kailan stems you're referring to... saw them in wet markets, but seldom at NTUC.

Choc,
You carried a 6.5kg bundle and walked around in town? You "can" lah!
I carry my 7.2kg nephew for a few minutes and I already ache all over!

Van,
I'm quite disciplined with it comes to sweet stuff, maybe cos my mum's family got a lot of them with diabetes, although I know diabetes is not always caused by sweet stuff, but still...
I just passed my Glucose Tolerance Test last Thur at gynae's, so quite happy and don't wanna "risk" anything further

Thanks for info on Taka sale - may pop by this week.

Good luck for your plane tickets!

Joy,
Which part of HK will you be staying at? HK island or Kowloon side?

LittleCat,
heee... I will tell my hubby to "act blur" and just tape using our digital camera then!
Eh, you 4 yrs only forgot how to take care of newborn? I wonder if my MIL will remmeber... it's been 25 yrs since she took care of my BIL! Haha, wait like Choc's MIL, wear diaper wrongly

Carole and gals,
Thanks for clarification on bf!

Van: i realise your hubby real sweet lehz. at least he is bothered to give surprises.

I actually hated Xmas, cos my bday n xmas too close and only get to have one present!

Van,
Japan is nice. Must go to the land of HK! Yr daughter will be so happy so celebrate her birthday there.
And wishing her a Happy Birthday in advance.

Tried yr peanut butter cookies over the weekend. Like u said very rich. I can only take 3 pieces. But my niece and maid loves it.
Hee.. also tried cooking yr braised peanuts. But don't why it doesn't work. I put all the liao in to cook in the inner pot for 15mins then transfer to outer pot and cook over night, next day peanuts still hard. And a lot of water (used 2litres). Is it suppose to be like that?

Sophie,
I guess it wrongly.

But girls good. Can buy many many mei mei clothings and accessories. U will get supper in the future, boys buy supper for their gf mothers.
And girls are more 'tia xin', will always care for the family.

SY,
Thanks for the encouragement. Maybe without seeing me around at night. Baby can fall asleep and drink fm bottle without any problem.

Littlecat,
Can bring baby out. Me itchy legs, so we brought baby shopping and to botanical gardens last first month. But always must carry cos baby cannot stay in stroller for long.

Choc,
Didi so good, so many interesting progammes for him with jies jies.
Me cannot plan anything for the little monster now. Only trying to teach him what is day and night and the difference between raining and night.
Hope he will understand soon. Otherwise really need to wean him off.
I cannot go for any business trip because of bf. Have postponed all trips. Cannot think what will become of him.
But SY says no problem for her baby so maybe can start travelling fm next year.

Lynn,
I remembered u mentioned something abt fast slimming. Can briefly describe how to do it?
Hee.... now dec, very fast u will try for yr piggy baby hor. Hope u strike soon.

Annelisse,
Yr cupcakes look so nice and pro. Can sell them. Heee.. I will help u advertise. ;)
Yr dh can cook very well also.

Carole,
u so cute. Must complain to yr dh for more presents...
sophie will be worried if her baby's birthday falls on valentines day. ;)

Sophie

Me staying in langham place hotel in mangkok. Do not like that area although this is a six star hotel that I am given..Mongkok is like a mini balestier in singapore....Anyone has any idea there is a esprit factory outlet in mongkok itself than kowloon.thanks