Cooking Tips & Recipe

zzzcookiemonster, hate to tell u this, today since morning, jurong east can not see the sun leh...-live weather report from JE.

sy, she has been following CL method to cook chicken with mushroom, so far she cooked few round liao, taste good

so i ask her to adopt the similar method to stir fry chicken, then put in bitter gourd and put little bit of dou-jiang. hope it turns out nice

she learnt quite fast, that day the CL show her how to make pancake (chinese version, just water,sugar & flour)she seems to like it, after CL left she cooked twice liao.

May be i should put her with Van & annelise for awhile and haha... i will have all the nice cake/cookies etc...

carole, good luck!
u now staying at new house right? got photo to show us?

twinkle,
You buy the packed herbs for Emperor chicken issit? Yep, I made that once, quite easy, marinate and put into steamer. Can't remember which brand I use though cos I only made it once.
You got any favourite brands to recommend?

btw, for those who like these herbed meats - Dian Xiao Er Restaurant at Marina Square got very good herbed duck. Comes in 3 flavours; I tried only the wild ginseng one - the duck is tender but yet skin crispy with very flavourful gravy. Their "Xiao Er" beancurd is also good and old-style steamed fish yummy. Their rice is also lovely - never ate such nicely textured and fragrant rice before... almost wanted to ask them what brand of rice they use

They don't take reservations, so have to go there take Q number - wait is about 20-25mins, but food comes really fast, like in 5 to 10mins!

i am so stressed!!! cakes in the oven now.. kaoz. i dunno how the cake gng to be turning out manz.. sharkz!

sophie: kekeke.. good luck manz

Littlecat,
after reading yr msg, i quickly called.
sigh... baby again on strike. drinking 20ml, 40ml each feed.
My mother and mil kept asking stop latching baby. But frankly, i can't bear to. I will miss the feeling of the closeness and also the latch half way and he will pause to smile then continue to drink again look. But for baby's good, think I will have to do something abt it.
On the brighter side, after weaning baby off my breast I can finally start to diet and hopefully can lose some weight.

Carole,
ya lor pui pui lost weight.

Yr cake looks very yummy!!!

Sophie,
hahahahaha.. maybe baby really don;t like the pui nickname. Yes, yr mother right. We believe that baby can be really 'pantang'.

SY,

i use those pkt one lor , it come with the wrapper too. i very lazy to go medical hall and ask them to grind the herbs into powder.

Anyone know what to cook with Wintermelon?

Sophie,

today i use the brand Seah's spices. i find it so so only lah. i always use tis brand when i hv no time to go medical hall lor. so far hv not tried other brands

hi ladies...

sophie,
ya lor, so fast.. cant imagine how e past month pass.. now already dreading to go back to work liaoz.. so sianz, keep telling everyone who will listen tat i juz want to stay at home n stare at ayden everyday....

i catered from "House of catering" this time, had 2 types, normal buffet and high-tea buffet (for e pastries, cakes, etc..) hubby said e one we did for my housewarming taste much better.. i cant comment cos didnt get to eat last time.
ya, i intend to use ayden's hair to make e "tai mao bi" too... kept his umbilical cord to make e umbilical cord stamp too... hubby complain i spending alot of money on him...

abt e confinement food hor, actually only e pig trotters can "keep" for long periods of time (my mum actually made it 2weeks b4 i delivered, but i didnt eat any until last week = 1+mth old liaoz), but for e rest of e food, she wont even allow me to take overnite food, cos she say will "cause wind" in our body.. which must avoid (which is e point of taking ginger, to expel e "wind" in our body)....

littlecat,
i'm on if reli got gathering leh... hhmmm... but i also dont know where to go for gathering..
this weekend going SHOPPING for ayden's stroller, n im intending to bring ayden to visit my granny... but she's at an old folk's home.. so abit hesitant abt going at e same time...

cookiemonster,
aiyo.. so sim tia for ur bb too... cant u all on all e lights in e house, n see if can "bluff" him its daytime??? dont let him see e sky also??
eh.. i think i will be like u, cant bear to wean baby off my breast leh... now he already sometimes "pause" in e middle of his feed to "smile" at me liaoz.. then use both his fist to "hold" my breast, as if claiming territory like tat...
i got colleague breastfeeding till her son now 1yrs old liaoz, still bf-ing... she super slim leh... everyone also say bf-ing is e best for slimming.. not working for ur case???

SY,
hi... paiseh havent "officially" say hi to u yet..

how old is ur boy ar??? during my antenatal class at TMC hor, mrs Wong told us not to give brown rice / wholegrain to babies too early leh.. if reli want, muz mix with some white rice.. cos babies stomach not able to process these as well yet...

carole,
ya, ur cake looks nice, e colour so even..
oh ya hor.. littlecat reminded us.. u havent share photos of ur new house leh....

starry,
hehehe.. i only know wintermelon soup.. in fact, we r having it for dinner tonite...

SY and Sophie,

Maybe I should get their deli meats for christmas instead hee hee.

LittleCat,

Feeling blue ah..there're lots of good programmes on cable or you can loan some dvds.I just watched Ice Age 2 two weeks ago, and it's really funny!
The squirrel(i think) is forever chasing the acorn..
If you like watching cartoons, I recommend Spongebob Square Pants.

Carole,

Your new place is very spacious!

carole, thx for the photo
my hb see already 'heart itchy itchy'. eh he ask got more After photo to show us?
Btw is the car Porch big? did u say can park 2 cars? or just one?
ur cake looks nice!

Ambrosial, the baby blue happen in early weeks, now ok liao.. but hor when he keep crying/cranky i feel blue also, then if the maid take over then i feel bad like i didn't do my duty, then also feel blue...
anyway i have been glueing myself to the TV nowadays liao :p
btw did u check the recepi i post there ? i dun know if it works, but no harm trying.

cookiemonster, yeah i know how u feel.. these few days i find milk supplier drop leh, i scare this 'moo' will be out of job soon... thinking of trying the 'mani-chai' (sayur manis) tomorrow.

starz, it is going to be fun if we have gathering with all the same baby/kids!
oh u have not get a stroller yet, then how to go shopping? carrying in your arm? or carry him with the car seat basket?
1 advice dun get those bulky type, imagine someime u alone have to carry baby and carry the stroller. get those light weight type.

ambrosial: yes yes.. good space for us. better than my small small condo.

littlecat: lol after photos?? i think i need to take some more.. kekeke. Can park two cars if squeeze alittle.
but tt means no garden lor.

carole,
yr new hse looks really spacious and nice! yr cake looks delicious too, how r u gonna finish it... need any help? keke.......

zzzcookiemonster, starz,
yr bb so cute while latching! if u continue latching, u'll see different funny actions as bb grows up... very rewarding...

SP: tks tks.. it is.. good space for family n my girl to move ard. As for cake, my hubby come back almost wallop all.. lucky still got little left

Finally I have a breather now that baby is sleeping ;p

We'll be celebrating her one-month this Sunday. And next Thurs will be my last day of confinement. Yipee! After that going back to MIL's place. Wonder if I will have clashes with her over the baby, cos usually older generation have their own way of taking care of baby...

I'm keen too if there's any gathering!

Van and Carole,
How I wish I can have the time to bake! So tempted after seeing your 'end-product'

Tok to u gals later..need to eat lunch now. Tata!

LittleCat,

Actually, it's a good thing that your maid is slowly taking over the baby because you won't feel stressed out when you finally return to work.Not easy being a FTWM leh..
Go for a short walk or shopping if you feel down..

I just downloaded the recipes.Can't read the words in one of the recipes, chinese a bit too cursive hee..

eh so quiet today?

cookiemonster, morning hor is sunny day lah, but now hor rain again......!

Carole, can squeeze 2 cars, not bad.
ok ok, we will wait for your new photo

almost wallop all,wow your cake must be very nice! or is this his dinner ? ;)

Krisjoy, so fast hor u also be out of confinement soon. so far how u coping ?

Ambrosial, pai seh actually she is much better than me in term of taking care of baby...
when he cry and i can't coax him, she will appear and most of the time she can calm him down...
jia lat like tat can't be SAHM liao...

the recipes, can show the chinese medical hall, believe they can see.

Starz,
ya lor, sim tia everyday now. Suggested to change the lights cos my in laws place lights all warm orange lights, but my in laws did not say ok.
I also don't know why i did not lost weight after maid came. heee.. maybe don't need to do anymore household chore now. Only take care of baby in the evening. And I am eating 'very nutritious' meal everyday (can see fm the size of my baby too). Envy yr colleague, Can check with her how she became super slim?

SP,
how long did BF? hee... ya lor a lot of funny funny patterns now. His most recent one is drink half way will look for his father, will only continue to drink when his father cames near and tell him 'daddy's turn', he will quickly latch on again and use one hand to push his father away. Yr son sure very responsive and fun to play with now.

Littlecat,
physco yr husband more to shift. So we can bring our children to play at the playground together.

I tried all methods but still can only partial BF, gave up hope to be 'total fresh milk supplier' long time ago, part time me happy enough.
Ai yo.. why Jurong rain everyday. Tonight go back sure will see baby with dark eyes circles again.

Carole,
Quick quick, send more photos to tempt littlecat's husband.

SY,
really must thank u for the link to boost baby milk intake.
Hope maintain his ah pui status for awhile more, but errr.... hope not when start schooling, otherwise children will tease him. ;)

LittleCat,

You moving house?

You can be a FTWM, absolutely nothing wrong.

My hub is the one wanting a boy..I prefer girls...Don't know if I'll go ahead with those recipes.

Sophie and Cookiemonster,

Ahahhaha ah pui going on hunger strike!So funny!

Cookiemonster,

Ah pui afraid of darkness?Maybe you can buy some white light lamps and switch them on when it's dark?

What kind of very nutritious meals are you having?I need it leh..

Carole,

You can slowly do up your place.Your kitchen looks quite alright too.

Ambrosial: ya taking a step at each time.. need to keep some reserve cos in case anythign in house goes wrong can do repair.

Anyone know of a place that do hair treatment (for damage hair)using chinese herbs ? I know of a place in pasir ris but its really out of the way....thanks

zzzcookiemonster,
I partial bf for 13 mths, after that I stopped pumping and my ss immed dwindled to last few drops. Stopping was pretty emotional for me but such a relief when the hormones adjusted, kekeke.

My boy still wants to latch to sleep when I'm around, don't give will cry until very poor thing, so I no choice but to latch him and feed him those last drops... kekeke...

carole,
yr hb really likes yr cake, must be very fresh and delicious, shiok!

little cat,
what's yr maid cooking today?

ambrosial,
try the recipe lah, see whether it works or not, kekeke... if the recipe doesn't work, u'll hv the girl u want! at least u can honestly tell yr hb u got try, wuahahah...

Ambrosial,
my ah pui not scare of darkness, he is scare of sky dark dark and his supplier not home to give fresh supply.
The lights at my mil house don't work cos its warm orange. Need to change to white lights. But my mil did not say i can change... so my ah pui still on strike when its rainny days.

heee... my daily meal abit too much, carried over fm pregnancy days. Cos I am bordeline anaemic (don't ask me why I so big size but still anaemic, cos i also want to know). Will usually have chesse, milk, butter, egg in daily breakfast. Lunch and dinner must have fish, and lots of meat. Scare my ah pui not enough nutrients. Ended up both mummy and baby pui pui now. And breastfeeding always hungry, so taking oats with milo for snacks and sometimes wholemeal biscuit also. My mil cooking not so healthy, always fry food, like fried fish everyday.

hee.... U are very very slim, can eat lots more and still will not have risk to become my size. ;)

SP,
u are really very determine! I no longer pump now, only latch on at night. Can feel that ss drop also, but still can meet his demand for night feeds. Hope this will last as long as possible.
Think yr son really attached to you. Have u tried not sleeping with him?
I am quite worried, cos will need to go for business trip soon. Wondering how can my baby sleep at night?

Ambrosial, i am looking for a bigger place, the current one only 2rooms + 1 study room, very small.
got any lobang ? ;)

sp, cookiemonster, the weaning part really no joke hor..
Sp, today ask my maid to cook chicken with kunyit (yellow ginger) then fry 1 vege.
Lunch just mee sua with 'sayur manis' in ikan bilis stock. Same as yesterday, bought 1 bunch, $1 only still can't finish.

Got to plan what too cook aiyoh headache... now i know why the auntie everytime cook all-in-1 (1 pot with many dishes) as she ran out of idea...

tomolo, planning to cook black bean with lotus root, fry fish and one vege.
Saturday will go market and buy the whole week supply.
u want to help me to plan next week dishes ? :p kekeke...

Carole,
Wow, your place looks very big! Very good for kids to run around!
Your cake looks good leh, but it's abit moist? It could be because of the aluminium foil pan, cos the bright foil reflects away the heat so the heat on your cake is probably lower than the recipe's temperature required.

Krisjoy,
By today, your confinement must be over liao! Any cravings for certain foods?

Hope you're coping well?

cookiemonster,
Heh, your son so cute, push the daddy away when the daddy wants to fight for his milk?
My hubby also, everyday asking me got milk yet?!

LittleCat,
If moving, you'll be staying in West area too?

sp
u still latching? i cut off latching when i fell sick. got withdrawal symptoms initially and still very bu she de...

zzzcookiemonster
my boy also sleeps with me at night but when he doesn't see me (stay over at my mum's when i was sick) he was ok. no need to latch, and can fall asleep.

littlecat
everyday my maid ask me what to cook i also headache. my meals very boring one.... everyday it's one fish/prawn/chicken, one vege, one egg/tofu/pork chop + 1 soup... not much variety...

sp,

I thought about the recipe last night and decided not to go ahead with it heehee! If hub knows about the recipe, he'll probably brew and force feed me hahaha!

Cookiemonster,

Have you asked your mil whether you can change to white light bulbs?For her grandson, she'll definitely change,or maybe even offer to pay

Your meals sound very well-balanced and nutritious.Will stock up on the snacks you mentioned.Fried fish is very "bu".I intend to fry some(japanese marinate) tomorrow night for dinner.

LittleCat,

Got lobang! You get a flat in CCK lah haha!
My current 5rm is only 110sqm, but big enough to pay catching with cat and husband ala bollywood style.

SY,

Planning daily meals is not easy.

Ambrosial, you're so funny...bollywood style...got tree or anything long that can hide behind playing hide n seek like bollywood show kekeke

hi ladies...

yestday was bz day.. ayden's checkup - finally jaundice at e "healthy" level.. n he had his 1st jab.. ah, see e needle so "thick" n long poke into his thigh... super heartpain leh...

then went back to my office to distribute e full-mth cakes... *haiz*, got reminded tat "honeymoon" with ayden going to b over soon...

ambrosial,
r u starting to TTC liaoz???

other than nutritious meals, can start taking folic acid n some pre-natal vitamins to "prepare" ur body liaoz... i started taking these abt 2-3mths before i got preggie...
ur hse is new or resale?? hahaha.. so u n hb play catching at home very often huh???

littlecat,
havent been out shopping yet lah... so far go out is always carrying bb, me n hb take turns lor... i think my left arm going to b v muscular liaoz, everyday carry him for few hrs..
actually i "shortlisted" 3 strollers liaoz, a maclaren, peg prego n a maxi cosi.. tis weekend go n see n let ayden try lor.. i know bulky nex time difficult to handle if on my own.. but those lightweight one like v flimsy leh, me n hb both dont like... only one i like is aprica, but cannot afford...

krisjoy,
how u coping these few days?? not as bad as u imagine rite...??? hehehe.. v fast u also out of confinement liaoz..
i did my full mth last saturday, n yestday officially 1mth.. but my mum still "persuade" me to tahan with some of e confinement "rules" longer cos i didnt hv a proper confinement... so now still following lor...

cookiemonster,
ok, when i go back to work will ask her.. she not ard when i went back to office yestday.. cos i also wanted to ask her how she express bm in e office..
eh, anaemic cannot juz take iron supplements to help meh?? b4 preggie i also anaemic, but still control my diet v much cos v scare grow fat.. i juz keep some biscuits & candy in my bag if feel faint then eat.. otherwise i'm ok leh...

carole,
any pics of ur cakes today???

sophie,
hehehe.. my hb like urs leh.. he keep asking if he can try.. but i feel v weird letting him try leh... now already feel like my breasts only "belong" to ayden... dont know how to "ahem-ahem" again liaoz leh...

seems like most of e ladies here staying in e west hor... anyone in other areas ar??? like hougang lah... sengkang lah...????

cookie monster,
When i went on biz trip, bb sleep w hb on our bed. he can sleep better.

Starz,
I stay in the East.

Carole,
your cake looks yummy

Today i went pak tor with hubby , came home in evening and went to pick my son. Only just able to login to share gossip. Haha

We met Wong Lilin , her hb and her daughter today in VioCity. She is so so so slim lor **envy** and stand beside her i m 4 of her size leh. Her daughter very sweet looking too.

Ambrosial, get a x'mas tree so u can shake the tree while doing the hide and seek bollywood style :D

sophie/Ambrosial, i prefer west leh.. also becos now i still need the auntie to help out. if stay too far will be problem.

cookiemonster, haha your boy so cute! i can imagine how 'wo-xin' when he smile at u...

my boy when BF he close his eye and enjoying forget the surrouding liao...

These few days he very cranky around evening time leh.. suspect he got colic..

sy, me same lor.. after awhile seems like every week buying the same thing liao...

carole, save some for us staying at west leh...hehe!

starz
i stay in pasir ris.

i m using a combi. initially i also think it looks flimsy cos very lightweight but i brought it with me to sydney and it serve us well there.

carole
looking at all these nice pic makes me feel like getting oven but htink hb will scream at me..

littlecat
yah lor, every week buy the same stuff....think i need to start to dig out my recipe books..

So quiet today.I'm going to make dinner tonight, so will check back this thread tomorrow.

Starz,

No, TTC next year or later.I am very rigid one..won't change my mind once I decided on the time frame.

My house is brand new.

LittleCat,

Will get christmas tree maybe when I have kids...

Which part of west are you considering?CCK is actually not far from JE.

starry: keke.. nice.. this time very good.

littlecat: save some? lol.. iwill try to bake u one the next time. )

SY: oven nt very ex lehz. i never wanted a oven till i shifted into the condo which comes with one. always wanted to try to bake, never got the chance.. now i will learn to bake n bake

Good morning gals!

Ambrosial,
Playing catching with cats very fun right?

Huskie seldom plays with me now, cos I can't really run around too much, so she plays with Babs more.

It's also good you set your mind on when to TTC - take the time now to build up your body, especially the waist and back so you won't feel too much backaches and body aches when you have to carry the extra 10kg weight around your tummy!

Carole,
Woah, you made banana cakes 2 days in a row?
Your second cake looks good - looks like it rose higher than the first one?

LittleCat,
Yeah, I only just realised how important it is to stay near parents/relatives so they can help out with children!
My MIL stays in Bukit Panjang area, so now if I am thinking of going back to work after giving birth, having the kid put at her place will be such a nightmare in terms of logistics!

starz,
I stay quite near you - Bishan is quite near Sengkang/Hougang if drive, but if take train, need to make a loop.

Heh, I also think it's a bit weird to let hubby try latching on directly hor? If express out, OK, but latch directly a bit weird

Eh, so, was your childbirth really a major constipation episode? You promised me this story!

carole,
the problem is got no space in my kitchen. bb's sterilzer takes up one part of the kitchen top and still got his slow cooker. then no space for over liao...

sophie,
i stay very far from both my parents and IL and u r right..it's a nightmare lor...

hmm, when my bb cannot latch properly and i keep getting clogged ducts, i did think of asking hb to latch but he refuse..haha

Hello gals...
I got no time to catch up with the posts. Just to let you all know that there's a thermal pot at $99 at Takashimaya. The brand is "La Gourmet" with a chef hat... Cheap rite??

lyn,
Yep, I think Choc is using the La Gourmet brand. Sometimes they give away free gifts like knives or the smaller 1.8l thermal pot too, which can be quite useful!

SY,
Haha, your hubby dunno how to appreciate it when you suggested that to him!
My hubby will jump at the opportunity!

LittleCat,
I went for a hospital tour of Mt. A, and saw a sign in the delivery suite that no videocams are allowed! So I'll have to make do with using my camera for a short videoclip of the baby then, cos my current camera can only record up to 30secs for clips. Hopefully hubby can record soemthing like yours too

Hi everyone. Sorry I've been MIA for almost the whole week. It's been a super busy week for me - mainly baking and experimenting! Helped my sis with baking the cupcakes for her fren - I made 85 altogether - never baked so many at one go! Now seriously thinking twice abt doing one for my bil! Choc, how did ur bro's wedding go? Okie, I'll let the pics do the talking!

601493.jpg

This is a batch of strawberry cupcakes I made for fun - not so nice - maybe cos' I'm not a strawberry fan!

601496.jpg

Van, have you tried out your HK choc mold? I bought one online too and made a batch for fun. I put it on my choc chip cupcake - look very "or lu lu"!