Cooking Tips & Recipe

Hi Laugh,
Welcome here!
Don't feel like you're interrupting - we're always happy to have someone new to yak with. Plus we talk about everything under the sun besides Cooking

Thanks for info on Mdm Yue!
I'll give Ah Kiao a call tonight if my 2 KIV ones cannot make it.

A big THANK YOU for all your input on the MIL vs Mum vs CL for confinement!

I've called the agency, but she said only got CLs available on 6th day of CNY, and it's $2.2k (before 6th day is $2.8k but all fully booked liao).
She said if baby comes out before 6th day, ask my MIL or Mum to help out first. Only if baby comes out much earlier before that i.e. 3 to 4 weeks before CNY, then she can give me CL earlier.
But if I return home between CNY Eve - 5th day CNY, have to "tong" myself first. (MY EDD is 4th day CNY)

I've gotten another contact from a friend's friend who is doing her confinement now. Her Malaysian CL is willing to do mine during CNY at S$3k, and if baby comes out before that, even on Eve or 1st day CNY, she will still come. Friend's friend's review of this CL is that can cook well in non-oily way, helps mop floor, but "generous" with food so must get my hubby to do marketing more often, which I don't really mind, cos I think old pple all like to cook alot, like my own mum! So now waiting to discuss with hubby whether to confirm this CL

Starz
You must be enjoying your confinement now..live like a queen right?

Hope I can be less stress but super worried cos its aedann first trip....
My son did not shave his hair, he is okay.

starz,
My mum also did not shave my hair, and my hair is OK too. More brown in angmoh way when young compared to my sis' who shaved, but thickness still OK

I tried the stool softener for 2 days liao - today it works as in, not so stone-like. Thanks for letting me know about this!

Heee... I'm also going to start telling baby to let mommy have easy delivery

joy,
nope... i'm not e one living like a queen, no CL, only my own mum helping me... i've already done housework like laundry n mopping liaoz...

i dont dare to speak up / "say" parents one... initially not happy with e way my mum do things also dont dare to say.. but now better liaoz lah...
okay... 1 vs 1 on e hair dropping for baby who shave vs dont shave... i see which way e "majority" goes.. then decide lor...

sophie,
u r welcome.. at least now u dont hv to keep worrying abt ur poo-poo problem.. concentrate on "psycho-ing" ur bb to let u have an easy delivery n be a good baby lah...

okay, now e score is 1 vs 2...

Starz,
Maybe 2 down liao!

hey gals,
My hubby said OK to the $3,000 CL, but I am now having second thoughts.
Cos I just called CL to confirm my hubby said OK to $3k, then she told me I need to apply work permit for her which is not included in the $3k. Work permit will cost another $200 I think. She sounds nice and chatty, but I am wondering if she is pushing for too much, and what kind of bomb she will put on me next.
Plus of course she also asked for a deposit which I think is fair.
Then when I asked her about actual day arrangements, she asked me to ask my hubby to go Woodlands checkpoint to pick her up instead of meeting us at Bishan MRT.

Hmm... is she too pushy or am I being ngiao?

Wondering if I should screen more carefully like Joy mentioned, and screen a few more, or should I take this one...

Joy,
Enjoy your HK trip!
Nice cool weather now!

cookiemonster,
Your baby very chubby! Looks like my sis' boy actually - same face shape, and esp. the ears. I heard some pple say this kind of earlobe very prosperous leh!

Me now 2 weeks into confinement liao...really hope it will be over soon! My CL just left today as customs only allow her a maximum of 3-day stay. So she has no choice but to leave today...Hence I am now on my own...I already start to miss my CL! My mom will cook for me and I will take care of baby...

Starz,
I doubt you will have the time or energy to bake before going to work,especially thinking of the washing up after baking
591197.gif
You might prefer to just rest at home,play with ayden or even go out with friends when you have free time.

Anyway, i feel that the peanut butter cookies are really for peanut butter fans only.My dd can take 3 to 4 pcs at one go,but for me, 1pc is more than enough, it's too rich for me.

Krisjoy,

How come your CL only can stay for 2 weeks? Before the introduction of temporary work permit for CL, previously they have to go and "chop"/Stamp passport after 14 days, then can continue to stay for another 14 days, now no such rule already?

You got the CL yourself? Didn't apply temp work permit for her? When my CL left, I also missed her. Actually wanted to employ her as baby's nanny after I went back to work, but decided to get a local one eventually.

So your mum stay with you now? You also started to do housework yourself already?

Joy,
Don't feel too stressed about bringing aedann for his first overseas trip. You have brought Deanna for overseas trips before right? should have some experience already?

My dd's first trip was to KL.We started with the shortest flight KL, then Bangkok, then Hong Kong, then Taipei....as she grows older, the time on board is longer.So far so good, except that twice she threw up in flight.Luckily I was prepared, did bring extra clothings on board for her to change and wash up.

Even when she's already completely off diaper,I still bring diaper pants on board and during long distance sight seeing trips, in case can't find toilet or Queue at toilets are too long.

Food can be a headache when she was much younger,but luckily she's on Pediasure, so I am not too worried about lack of nutrients.I just have to pack extra servings of Pediasure out, a thermo flask of hot water in case I can't get clean hot water from outside.

Sophie,
My CL through agent was ferried by the agent from and to custom,so no headache for us. I did notice my neighbour had to pick up their CL from custom and also send her back.

Baked Chocolate Chiffon Cake Today. Considered successful as the texture is perfect,even better then my last Banana Chiffon Cake,which has some banana flesh sunk to the bottom of cake.But the cocoa taste is weired.

First time using Van Houten's Cocoa powder, the only one I could find from Rail Mall's Cold Storage today.The cocoa just didn't taste right. Lucikly I bought some baking chocolate, manage to "cover up" the weired cocoa powder taste.

Anyone has recommendation of good cocoa powder?

I've stopped buying Hershey's Chocolate products, cos the last time I bought some baking chocolate from NTUC, saw some big worms inside, even though it's still many many months before the expiry date. Yucks!

I brought it back to NTUC to get refund.Should have taken photos and send to press or the distributor, so that others could be warned.

591206.jpg

591207.jpg
591208.jpg

van: u are making drool.. i am planning to start to bake next week.. i will try with banana cake first then cup cakes as i have guest over my plc on 10dec.

Krisjoy,
Your CL has been in Singapore for the past 1-2 months ah?? That's why only can stay 3 days...

Sophie,
I think $3,000 is "guang1 tian1 hua4 ri4 da1 qiang3" wor... But if you and your hubby are ok, should be fine ba... I think if you request for her to meet you at Bishan MRT, it is fair.
I think it's still not that bad to do confinement without a CL
Just get a few telephone numbers ready for help. For BF, tel for a LC to come to your house. For laundry, tel for a dobi to come pick up clothes and send back to you. For food, cater, or cook very simple dishes. I read up on simple recipes to back up while preggie
. I looked into catering, but lots of meat involved. When I was pregnant, nobody wanna do confinement for me and I dun wan a CL, so I got these back up. For bathing baby, get your hubby to do it, and learn during the hospital stay.

Starz,
Gotta be firm and assertive to get what you want
I dare to "say" my parents... ;) For my MIL, I tell my hubby and he go and settle
But most of the times, really gotta "ren" and think on the positive side of things.

Babies are very smart. When hungry and not fed enough, sure let you know
Dun worry not enough breastmilk. Baby can suck more breastmilk than we pump by about 1 oz.
hmm... breast as pacifier. I really dunno about that now. Aloysius woke up almost hourly. I let him suck, he will fall asleep and drink milk with his eyes closed. If I dun let him suck, he will cry louder and louder, and wake up to look at me with big eyes. I think I am a human pacifier now. I hope it will get better
At some point, he already can sleep 6-8 hours straight without waking. I dunno what happened to him...
It has been like that since he fell from bed to the floor

Van,
Your cake looks good enough to sell! Very smooth and perfect on the surface! **drool**
For chocolate, I think the last time someone tried valrhona and said it's very good? Sun Lik opposite Raffles Hotel sells them - more expensive than normal cocoa, but much darker and richer.
The worms story is eeeky! I also bought Jap rice from NTUC before, came back and found some worms in it. Hubby had to spread the rice on newspaper and take out the worms, so maybe it's NTUC's storage style that has a problem?

lyn,
I think I really may have to do confinement myself liao.

I got a contact who is free during CNY from one of the girls here, but have to forgo it cos my MIL made a fuss about CL when she found out about it. Her brother just passed away suddenly, and they are doing the ceremonial rites today. She is super upset and traumatised, and my hubby and I both agreed not to upset her further by pushing for the CL issue now. So we will KIV this issue for now, and see how it goes *sigh*

Meanwhile, I will start to read up and find out from you and friends how to do confinement alone, as a worst case scenario if MIL still insists on not having a CL.
For bf, I'll keep a LC number on standby even though MIl is nurse and pro-bf, cos my sis says if let her handle, could be worse cos very stressful to have MIL breathing down your neck while you try to bf.
For own laundry, not a problem as there is washer & dryer. The only leychey part is handwashing off the poo from the nappies, which I don't think laundromat do?
For food, yep, I will consider catering for 2 weeks first, cos scared sick of the food. After 2 weeks, I may be strong enough to steam simple dishes.

sophie,
Sorry to hear about your MIL's brother...
Get all the phone numbers of the possible help you might need ready
Try not to listen and read too many "horror" stories about MIL. Have a positive mindset for now
Cos if we judge before we are in it, we might not succeed
Not easy though...
Is your MIL going to stay with you for confinement?? My mum did stay with me, so 3 months before giving birth, she started to stay with me to get used to it
During those 3 months, not easy. Lots of arguments and disagreements :p cos she's not used to the things at my house, and not used to the way I do things... But after that, after delivery, my confinement was a breeze. She knew what I wanted, and I know what she expects. Before that, I also tell her what I wanna eat during confinement. Got arguments there also :p But better to ironed out things before delivery.. else the sudden change and expectations might be too hard to swallow...
During confinement, everyone can even nap in the afternoon... lol... and at nite, I will look after baby myself, and sometimes my hubby will help to feed.
For nappy, my back up plan was to use disposable ones to reduce the laundry... :p these are the things that can be solved alternatively
You have filtered water at home rite?? For me, I have Kinertec V6, and I used the filtered water to wipe baby's bottom. Till now, I have not used the nappy rash cream though I am using disposable diapers all the while
For me, less medication and less chemical for baby
That's my believe after reading some books.. It's up to you to read up and choose what to follow

Sophie,

I thought your plan was to have your MIL and mother help out during confinement leh.Don't think MIL will like it too much if you employ a CL, especially a 3k plus CL.I am sure you've heard of hell-ish CL too..this kind quite heng-sway.Only our inlaws and parents will do things in the best interest of our kids.Maybe I'm a scrooge, but with the 3k plus, you can actually do up the baby's room.

Food wise, seems like you got that covered or you can ask your mother to cook additional herbal dishes for you if you worry your MIL cannot manage confinement food.Get a slow cooker to assist you.Herbs for bathing, say your own mother insists that you use them lah.
Laundry wise, can you use disposable diapers instead?

lyn, Ambrosial,
Thanks for advice and your concern

Think I will start planning for doing confinement myself now - thought of giving my MIL sometime to get over her loss before broaching the subject with her, and if by then, prob too late to get a CL for CNY.
But at least I will get hubby to tell her what we expect in terms of food + bathing + herbs etc.

Yep, for disposable diapers, my sis already gave me some so I can probably save some money on those too.

Actually, I don't have any "horror" feelings about my MIL - all I know is she is very westernised. But my hubby is the one who said his mum is very opinionated. Like yesterday, my MIL was saying how terrible it is for his cousin to raise their son as a vegetarian, saying kids should eat meat to grow etc etc. Then my hubby and BIL both defended their cousin, saying shaolin monks so fit also vegetarians. Then his mum just blackface and kept quiet cos 1 vs 2, cannot win

I think that's why hubby scared his mum will overwhelm me during confinement lah, like making me stressed over bf, telling me to do things this way and that etc.
So he'd rather we spend money on a CL than sour all future relations with her.

Anyway, she won't be staying with me beforehand, cos she will only quit her job 1 or 2 weeks before my EDD, and plus she is always telling me how busy she is
so I don't wanna impose on her!

Hi everyone. Finally the 2-day concert is over! Just have a few days of breather before I help my sis with her fren's wedding cupcake and the next week is my own bil's!

Hi sp, I'm not sure if I'm gonna do the cake for my bil cos' I'll be busy dolling up my girls and making sure that I don't look too bad myself, haha! It's been close to 10 years since some of my hb's relatives have seen me at my own wedding, so dun wan to look too "yellow-faced" at the wedding - so vain, hor?! Will be going for a facial and a hair-cut this week - I haven't cut my hair in 2 years!

Hi Van, mmm your chiffon cake looks very good! It rose really evenly and is very well baked! I used Valrhona the last time - it really makes a BIG diff in the taste - but colour-wise, it is very very dark. I bought a small pack of 400 gm for $4+ from Sun Lik, but the taste is worth the price!

Hi Sophie, sorry to hear about your MIL's loss. I agree with Ambrosial that you may want to use disposable diapers for the first few weeks cos' babies poop very very often - almost after every feed and the first few days of poop i.e. meconium is very sticky and difficult to clean. Don't worry too much - chuan2 dao4 qiao2 tou2 zi4 ran2 zhi2

Hi starz, so fast Ayden one month already! I didn't shave my girls' head - dd1's hair didn't drop much, dd2's dropped but she was evenly bald! I guess it's really up to you.

Hi Krisjoy, for both my confinements, my mum also did the cooking and I looked after the babies myself. Do rest whenever you can - don't overwork yourself!

Gotta go - need to cook lunch for my 2 little bosses

Sophie,
oh dear, your MIL actually made a big fuss?

Well, dun think too much abt it. think got to wait and see. maybe your hb can find a chance to bring it up again?

u r due over CNY? i also had my bb over CNY. everything was so ex during that time!

sp,
hee, i got attracted by the yummy looking pic of the food!

Van,
hmm, think i better use my mum's oven then. dun think my small small oven toaster can work well.

the cake looks really yummy! did u ever think abt setting up shop?

Van and Lyn,
My CL has been in S'pore for quite a while as she has assigments almost every month. So I guess she exceeded the stay limit and customs needs to send her back home...sigh..guess I was just unlucky...

Now I already start to have backache bcos of feeding and bathing the baby and doing some housework..

Sophie,
Sorry to hear about your dilemma...In any case, just remember to rest well during confinement. Try to avoid doing housework...

sophie,
I will be having that challenge... meat and meat and meat for kids to grow... :p No meat = cannot grow... lol... Worse is titbits with lots of colorings and sugar and salt and other additives... cos my MIL eats lots of titbits. In fact, I am very scared to start semi-solids for Aloysius now... But gotta start next month...

Krisjoy,
Try not to bend too much. Bending will cause backache. I sit on the floor to bath baby one, can avoid backache... while my mum sit on a chair.. lol... During feeding, try to lie on the bed to reduce backache.

thanks for the compliments on my baby.
He is really cheeky now.
During our gathering, aunties pls feel free to pinch his thighs or cheecks ;)
*evil mummy*
Sophie, the earlobes really will be properous??
hmmm... then i better start telling him to earn lots of money for us, then can retired already.
Jia luk... noon time only... I am here day dreaming already.

Choc,
hahaha.... yr dd2 really daring. Luckily she did not take out the diapers too.
But hope u will not scold her too harsh for that, cos she may feel that u favouring didi.
heee.. think on the brighter side, maybe she is just trying to help u get didi ready for his bath.

Van,
yr cake and cookies always look yummy.
This cookiemonster here is going to squeeze out some time to try the peanut butter cookies this weekend.

SP,
same here. I was feeling very low and ultra sensitive after delivery.

Sophie,
No matter who does the confinement for you, pls do communicate when u feel down okie. (touch wood).
My harmones wrecked havco after giving birth.
I was feeling very depress, even had the idea of bringing baby away with me and live on our own. Just me and baby. Everything that happens that few days after giving birth irritates me, except for my baby.
If yr mil or mother or u yrself doing yr own confinement, pls do not keep yr feelings bottled.
We are here for u.

Starz,
I did not shave my baby during his first month.
But his month started dropping after 3rd month. Uneven patches so after his 4th month, we shaved him.

Krisjoy,
Must take good care of yrself.
Try to close one eyes on the cleaniness if you can. Don't strain yrself too much.

Littlecat,
my 007! I went home last thurs to see my baby tears flowing down his eyes (like free tapwater), nose red, have got dark circles under his eyes. He cannot drink milk fm bottles, cannot sleep. Waiting for his 'fresh milk supplier' to come home.

Ambrosial,
yr chicken looks yummy!

wow so many nice food over the weekend, i shall slowly 'digest' it later.

Van, i used to use Hershey's Chocolate and now with your posting ..... oh boy!

hi ladies....

finally ayden 1st "party" was over... he was passed ard like a "human baton" tat day, but amazingly, he sleep thru everything, n only woke up for feeds, and after everyone left...

now planning to bring him out next weekend liaoz....
eh, got gathering include me hor!!! i definitely want to pinch baby cookiemonster's cheeks!!! hehehe....

krisjoy,
take it easy on e housework... me too got backache as bending over to bath for baby.. try to let ur mum do it most of e time lor...

krisjoy n sophie,
another thing to "KIV" if doing confinement on ur own, think abt getting a part-time cleaner to come on weekly to do e household chores lor.
i'm already thinking of doing that, but when broach e subject, my mum wld say dont waste e money, she'll do for me... but when she start to do, she'll "complain" tat my house so big lah, dont know how to operate my washing machine lah.. etc etc...

lyn,
oh dear, aloysius fell from e bed ar?? was it high? mayb he got frightened by e experience.. so need sometime go "recover" n feel secure again lor...

ayden's hair -
my hubby decided liaoz tat we shd shave ayden within these 2 weeks.. cos he dont want to take e risk of dropping patches of hair, n also he's confident tat ayden's hair will grow back quickly cos now his hair already grew abt 1 inch over this 1 mth... i still very "bu she de"... see how it goes lor...

<font color="0000ff">Annelise,</font>
Remember to take pictures of those cupcakes that you're making ok? Can't wait to see them! **drool drool**

<font color="0000ff">SY,</font>
Yep, MIL made a fuss, but now not good time to argue with her.
My hubby promised he will talk to her about our stance on herbs + bathing + things that cannot eat + DOM. Luckily he also believes that we must "bu" our body back after pregnancy

I thought about it very carefully - don't care what she thinks, I'll just do things my own way. No point living my life to please someone else

<font color="0000ff">cookiemonster,</font>
Yes yes... my ex-boss got earlobes like that, and he is a prosperous and benevolent man. My hairdresser also says this kind of earlobes very good, especially if they are thick at the same time

You got depressed and wanted to go away?
Oh dear... I've always wanted to go away to somewhere like Bhutan and stay by myself. I've had this thought for many years liao, and I didn't even have any pregnancy hormones to wreck havoc on my system!

Heee... can't wait to pinch and hug your baby!

<font color="0000ff">starz,</font>
Ayden has passed his first month celebration? So fast hor?
Did you do catering? With who and how was food?

You're gonna shave Ayden's hair? My sis shaved her baby's hair and made a mao bi (calligraphy pen) out of it - a shop at KK does it. Then can also keep some in angpao and put in dictionary like LittleCat suggests
or encyclopedia, lagi more "powerful"!

Will take note on part-time maid

<font color="0000ff">lyn,</font>
You plan to raise your kid as vegetarian? Vegan or non-vegan?
My hubby was defending his cousin that vegetarians only mainly lack Vit B12, and those are mostly vegans. But non-vegans who take dairy products like cheese and milk has no deficiency at all. His cousin is non-vegan, cos the father is angmoh and eats cheese... just no meat.
But my MIL very pro-beef, so not happy that my hubby and BIl went against her on the vegetarian issue

<font color="0000ff">Krisjoy</font>,
Get your hubby to help with housework when he comes home at night?
You have to rest well too!
lyn's suggestion of putting baby bathtub on floor is good - but if no one helping you, remember to use a smaller container to pour water into the tub, don't strain your back by carrying a bathtub of water and putting it on floor or anywhere else!

BTW, What are you girls cooking tonight?
I'm doing black bean chicken feet soup &amp; cabbage rice. Got addicted to cabbage rice when you girls were talking about it the last time!

Hey van, yah.. your choc chiffon cake looks so perfect, can go and sell liao !

Hey Annelise, haha.. my bro's wedding this sat, also going for a hair cut , went for facial last wk liao! Don't want to look yellow face too ;) went shopping yesterday to look for nice dresses for my girls .. very difficult to find !

Hey cookie, didn't scold dd2, I don't know whether to laugh or to be angry at her.. but quite impressed with her skills to take off didi's shirt totally !

Has been raining these few afternoons, did your ah pui think you were coming home early to feed him?

Hey Kris, 2 more weeks and you'll be released ! Hope you coping well.. don't overwork yourself with the house work, ask your hb to do if possible

Soph, headache confinement hor ! but I agree,during conf, the post preg hormones will create havoc.. Having had 3, my first conf was the worst.. 3rd one was best , I try not to be too kan cheong over things and adopt the ear in and ear out method esp to MIL ! but you definitely must REST

How's your bowel movement ? I put red dates in the black bean soup too.. very sweet! Me not cooking tonight, but making five grain porridge with heng chye tomorrow for lunch

eh twinkle, you eat only few crackers and a cup of milo for breakfast ??? I crave for fried bee hoon in the morning and can eat a few slices of bread!

wah.. starz, congrats !!

eh ambrosial, your bbq chicken very yummy, what's in your marinade ?

soph, if you thought of cooking for yourself, get someone, your mum or hb to wash and cut the meat and then portion them into bags.. fry the ginger before hand , so you can just "stew" the meat with the ginger or double boil black chicken soup to eat with rice..

Was on my own aft 2 wks of conf ( my first one), everyday was mee sua fish or chicken soup with ginger and kai lan and dinner was tabao from my mum

Sohpie, i reply your email liao. sigh.. u r right we can't please everyone, sometime just got to tell them off, of cos do it in a nice way...

choc, yes mdm yue, i guess must be her, cos nobody else got such unique sur-name.

starz, show us his 'botak' photo ok? :D

eh u gals serious about gathering? but for baby so young what do we need to prepare ? like sun block, insect repeller if going places like Botanic Garden? or better choose a air-cond place?

lyn thx for the info, wow 1kg grain rice, wait dun like the taste jia lat...
eh i try the black bean with lotus root, like got little bit engorgement, but at the same time i also take the oatmeal, dun know which work.

me also human pacifier leh... cos sometime he got so cranky, mainly due to trying to sleep but wet the cloth diaper. i can't calm him, i find the more i talk or sing to him, the louder he cry.

i am still given him BF + FM.
last saturday went to visit PD, his weight is 5.17kg, 58cm, doc said like 3 months old size! i got worry if feed him too much, but doc said quite propotional so should be fine.

zzzcookiemonster, pai seh today another raining day in Jurong East. It was quite heavy around 2+, then i think of u and you poor little boy!
eh like that got enough food for him? since he only wait for the fresh milk supplier?

tonite dinner : pan fried fish, fry silver fish with french bean, chicken herb soup.

gals, me too feeling blue after delivery. want to talk to someone feel terrible when left alone. with CL around she will talk to me and tell me lots of story, some scary one.
after she left, i will on the TV make sure not too quiet.
So sophie as i say in my email it might not be that bad with someone around.

Choc and Littlecat,
My baby again not drinking milk today.

Weekend was good, his milk intake dropped but he's still drinking.
Have tried spoonfeeding him cereal during lunch over the weekend, he's perfectly fine. Finish the milk and one and half tablespoon of cereal.
Today, his 'pattern' start again. My dh went back my in laws' place to monitor his feed during his lunch. sigh.. baby did not even finish half his cereal and drink only 40ml milk. Then I was wondering why... and finally littlecat enlightened me.... cos sky dark dark again. ;)
We are very worried abt his milk intake, so pd suggested to start him cereal cos he's coming six months also.

aiyoh cookie, so sim tia for ah pui
!

eh cat, my didi was 6.2kg before 3 months also.. when I look at the growth chart, he's overwt..

agree with u, must have someone to talk to around the house .. sometimes i also feel blue, think it's the hormones.. always waiting for hb to come back earlier ! come to the forum and we yak together lah !

fried silver fish with french beans is new to me, will try it one of these days

sophie,
must really take care during confinement. for me i fell sick during confinement month so think my health not very good. and once over the 40 days, no matter how much bu u eat, it is not the same.

cookiemonster,
hee, i had the same thoughts too during the first few months with bb...esp when i m so tired, i will think abt packing bb with me and run back to my mum's place...haha

but now no more liao.

my boy's milk intake also dropped when he was reaching 6 months. in the end i started him on cereal. got a few recipes that u can try with milk so can boost milk intake. u can go to www.youngnutrition.net

littlecat
how old is your bb?

human pacifier? i was still one abt 2 weeks ago but cos i fell sick so during that time, completely cut my boy off latching. so now he can fall asleep without latching. but it was a painful process cos so bu she de...

sophie,
must really take care during confinement. for me i fell sick during confinement month so think my health not very good. and once over the 40 days, no matter how much bu u eat, it is not the same.

cookiemonster,
hee, i had the same thoughts too during the first few months with bb...esp when i m so tired, i will think abt packing bb with me and run back to my mum's place...haha

but now no more liao.

my boy's milk intake also dropped when he was reaching 6 months. in the end i started him on cereal. got a few recipes that u can try with milk so can boost milk intake. u can go to www.youngnutrition.net

littlecat
how old is your bb?

human pacifier? i was still one abt 2 weeks ago but cos i fell sick so during that time, completely cut my boy off latching. so now he can fall asleep without latching. but it was a painful process cos so bu she de...

Hi all,have been boh eng again cos hb came back from China with food poisoning.
593518.gif
.Must be the ham sandwich he took before boarding,cos his colleague who also took sandwich had food poisoning as well.

Then my washer(my most indispensable elect.appliance) spoilt, water keep flowing in non-stop,so got to handwash my clothes.
593519.gif

Thanks for the compliments of my chiffon cake.My skills still not good enough to sell lah...actually I don't quite like to make chiffon cake, cos very troublesome to use separate egg method. Butter cake is much easier to bake.

SY,
593520.gif
My "standard" still can't open a shop.Would at least need to go through the formal training before even think about it. My friend's sis went for a professional baking course,she can make really good pastry!

Starz,
I didn't shave my girl's hair as well, her hair dropped,but not in ugly patches.

LittleCat,
I saw your didi's video,but MINUS the sound, cos my sound card is not working! But very Sim Tia to see his little naked body even without hearing his cry.Must be quite cold in the delivery suite...

Can understand your concerns about sunblock and insect repellant....,but for babies very young, also better avoid going to crowded,enclosed,air-con places.

Sophie,
What ever decision you have made, just look on the positive side,agreed that Chuan2 Dao4 Qiao2 Tou2 Zi4 Ran2 Zhi2.Like mine, thought it would be during CNY,but I gave birth earlier, and finished my confinement just 2 days before CNY.

Getting a part-time maid to do houswork and laundry, some can even do grocery shopping for you is a good back-up plan.You can also arrange for them to come in like 3 times a week if necessary during the first 2 weeks or even for the whole month.Use disposable diapers,catered for confinement food are all workable solutions.PLUS you have a loving,understanding,supportive and helpful hb,things should be alright.
593521.gif

Thanks for suggesting valrhona chocolate.I actually forgot about this Sun Lik store,was thinking only can get it at BIY or Shermay's Cooking School.

Dinner tonight is Sweet Potato porridge,Steam Dou Su Fish,Stir-fry pork slices,Stir-fry green vege with fish slices.

Ambrosial,
Your BBQ chicken looks yummy,what did you use to marinate the chicken?Coincidentally,I also bought half a roast chicken from Cold Storage to share with my dd on Saturday.

Annelise,
If you are making the wedding cup cakes, do share with us the photo!

Thanks for the suggestion of valrhona,think will defintely try using it next time if I make chocoalte cake again. Actually chocolate cake made with baking chocolate don't have that kind of weird taste like cocoa powder. And blur me, the cocoa powder I used is Nestle,not Van Houten, and it's stated as 100% cocoa butter,yet I still find the taste weired.

I am very tempted to try icing Hello Kitty Cake soon.Already bought Wilton's blacing icing in a tube!

cookiemonster,
WARNING!
593522.gif
The peanut butter cookies is for peanut butter fans only, it's VERY rich!

cookiemonster,
You baby not bad leh, don't drink so much milk but still so chubby!

Choc,
Thanks for the advice too. I think the portioning of food into small plastic bags and even just eating rice with double-boiled soup is good idea

For my vege needs, I can just eat whatever MIL cooks for my hubby, so not a problem, can just supplement my own "confinement dish".

Also called my mum - she said for things like chicken with rice wine and pig trotter vinegar, she can cook for me then my hubby go pick up. She said these food can keep a few days (more ru wei!) so not a problem.

Your baby is breastfed right? I always thought bf babies smaller, how come yours so big too? LittleCat's also very big, cos I remember my sis told me that a 3-mth old baby's weight is 4.99kg according to her PD.

Forgot to add red dates to my soup... no wonder my soup is nto so sweet

LittleCat,
Thanks for the email - just read it. I didn't know even second-time mommies like you will feel lonely, so like the rest say, just don't take too much of what my MIL says to heart, do whatever I want cos cannot please her anyway
... then take her as "companion" for talking.

Eh, LittleCat, how you fry silver fish with french beans? Do you deep-fry your silver fish first with any coating of cornflour or just fry as per normal?

SY,
Now your body still weak?
I remember annlee said this website has some rejuvenation program - I think she mentioned can take it to try and help, but it's not the same as the confinement one which of course "targets" the body on time.
http://www.peiling.com.my/

Van, Annelise,
Yep, chuan dao qiao tou zi ran zi.... I like this phrase!
Need to tell myself more of this phrase cos I also put off having kids earlier cos scared financial, emotional commitment etc... then my mum told me this phrase

Woah, washing machine not working? Siong man... if I am your neighbour, can come over use mine

I used Heinz Honey and Garlic BBQ sauce.Rub salt, pepper and BBQ sauce all over the chicken and roast at 250C for 20 mins to crisp it, then coat some more BBQ sauce and roast at 200C for remaining 20 mins.

Van,

I like Cold Storage's roast chicken especially their Black Pepper roast chicken.

Van_G
hee, if got chance to try your cakes, can give some feedback. i got a fren whose mum can make very nice cakes too but she never go and open cake shop...

aiyo, hope your hb get well soon. so many things happen at one time.

sophie,
yah think plus my boy quite tiring to look after, so my health not very good. my boy used to wake up 3-4 times a night and i still got to work in the day. now he's better. cut down to 2 times.

ambrosial,
yummy, i also love cold storage's chicken..just had one the other day...

sophie,
hmm... not likely to be a vegetarian, cos me and my hubby are not vegetarian :p. Must "yi shen zuo zhe". I still eat pork or beef once in a while.

Starz,
Yalor.. my bed is pretty high. My mattress alone is already 16 inches high... still gotta plus a bed pad and a mattress protector, and the bed frame
Nowadays, he's a happy baby again

Try not to bend too much
It will really cause backache.

Van, Ambrosial, SY,
I am also a big fan of Cold Storage Deli meats! Love their honey roasted chicken &amp; ribs... the duck always look so tempting, but one big duck abit difficult to finish.

SY,
How old is your boy?

LittleCat,
You were saying 1kg of 5-grain rice is too much?
I saw at NTUC today, they sell the smaller pack which I bought before too... I think only about 300 to 500gm for less than $7.
There are 2 brands - GreenMax and Green Love.
I am eating GreenMax now - it's got more than 5 types of grains in it inclu oats, buckwheat, black rice etc.
I checked Green Love ingredients - there are exactly 5 types of grains... I think it doesn't have black rice etc.
GreenMax is OK, but I find it a bit not-starchy enough for porridge, so I always add abit of Jap rice when making porridge.
Next time I may try Green Love.

lyn,
Which brand are you eating? Good or not?

How's everyone dinner? I did not cook today as i came back late fm work and rush to pick up my boy.

five grain rice
If to cook rice, do we put same amt of water as normal rice or less???

Wah....so many mummies here talking about 5-grains rice. I've bought one packet 1.8kg Greenmax 5-grains rice recently but haven cook it yet, think will start to cook it tomorrow.

sophie, I've went to the organic food store at Fortune centre that you mentioned before, they're still around...beside selling cooked food, they're selling organic stuff too.
I went to Fortune centre 1st level to have vegetarian food and is very crowded...the food is quite nice because they added lotsa MSG hee.....

Now is 8am in the morning and I already know what to cook for dinner hee.... so report here first..tonight simple dinner, stir fry kway teow mee and fishball tanghoon soup.

How about you gals...what's dinner tonight?

Van,
Thanks for the warning. This cookie monster here must try to made some peanut butter cookies this weekend. If really too rich for me, will bring them for my niece. She is a big fan of peanut butter. Can eat peanut butter sandwich for breakfast, recess (teabreak in the morning), tea break in the afternoon and supper everyday.

Sophie,
my ah pui pui lost weight recently cos he just started his afternoon milk strike abt 3 weeks ago.
Am also eating the greenmax 5 grain rice at own home sometimes. Only cook once in a while during weekend, so taking long time to finish one packet. u reckon need to keep the pack of grain in the fridge?

Choc+Littlecat,
heee... didi and littlecat ds2 can join my baby 'pui pui' club. Chairman of pui pui club will be me.

pui pui lost weight!?!?! oh dear.. no more pui pui.. so sad....

i will be baking my banana cake today. wish me luck manz..

annlee, breakfast not yet digest u already think of dinner huh? hehe..

for me :
lunch - fried rice,
dinner - chicken with bitter gourd, prawns with kailan stem.
Supper - steam black chicken essence.

sophie, there are 2ways, one is to fry silver fish then stir fry with french bean.
another one is fried the silver fish without coating, put on top of already fried french bean.

btw i 'outsource' the cooking job to maid now.. i think she can cook better than me after trained by CL

sy, my boy is 5weeks now.

zzzcookiemonster, since it is closed to 6 months, is it better to stop the BF totally and let him go for bottle only?

sophie, thx for the info
i think should try from smaller quantity first

starz, where u going next weekend?

annlee,
Yep, I went and check out Green Pasture too - didn't eat there cos I ate at Victor's Kitchen. I like Victor's carrot cake and zhar leong (you tiao wrapped with chee cheong fun), which I think is better and less oily than Imperial's! Unfortunately, no peanut sauce!
I bought some beetroot bread from Green Pasture, a bit exp at $4 but hubby wanted to try. Verdict: Can't taste anything... taste like those old fashion kopitiam brown bread!
Wanted to go try their lei cha fan cos they have it on Wed, but hubby can hardly make it home on time last few weeks.
Yep, I saw the ground flr vege places, but not really my type, maybe cos I don't like those Chinese vegetarian gluten stuff.

cookiemonster,
Maybe ah pui sick of pple calling him ah pui, decided to go on afternoon hunger strike!

My mom very pantang, says we cannot say things like "He's so fat" in front of baby, she says after baby will go in "opposite manner" i.e. become not so fat. But old wives' tale... dunno whether to believe or not!

You bought the big pack?
Yep, I put my pack in fridge - in fact, I have a habit of stuffing everything in my fridge, inclu red dates, wolfberries, and even my cornflakes! That's why I seldom keep overnight food, cos no space!

Maybe can consult lyn on this... also can consult lyn on the amount of water for 5-grain rice, cos I mostly cook it in porridge style, not rice.

SY,
I like 5-grain rice, and also brown rice, cos more fibre. But my mom always warn me cannot eat brown rice too often, cos very heaty.
5-grain rice should be ok, since barley is liang.

LittleCat,
Thanks for instructions on silver fish and french beans!
Now you can retire from kitchen liao!

lyn,
Can advise if 5-grain rice need to put in fridge? &amp;
How much water to use if cooking rice?

Carole,
Good luck! Show us pics!

Ann,

i hv not had breakfast yet leh...hmm... let me think today is another busy day , i think i will make Emperor chicken. simple right?

Wow, you guys making such elaborate food for dinner tonight?
Today a bit lazy - think I will just make a pork chop + steamed veges + bread for dipping in olive oil!

littlecat,
hee, i also outsource the cooking after CL train my maid. but my maid not very adventurous. she only takes my instructions and i dunno how to cook a lot of things...

how to do the chicken with bittergourd? maybe can try. sounds quite nice.

sophie,
maybe i shall go and get 5 grain rice to give my boy. i got brown rice for him but haven started yet.

twinkle starry
u got a simple recipe for emperor chicken??

SY,
5-grain rice can feed 10-mth old boy?
Would it be too "grainy"? Cos texture quite coarse leh. Plus it contains wheat. My friend's PD told her babies should not start on wheat too early cos their digestive system cannto handle it, and also cos wheat causes a lot of allergies. Cos her first kid got wheat allergy, now always get eczema. SO PD told her to start 2nd baby on wheat later. He said rice is OK.
I thought most pple grind brown rice into powder, then cook with stock or water to feed babies?