Cooking Tips & Recipe

sophie, that lemon3 if mai hiam, the food is actually not bad for the price. Not sure whether they having set lunch for weekend or not. They also got ala carte. Saw some host or actress picture in the restaurant.

starz, if you're vain pot like me, sure can shed off those kgs. No problem hee..

Thanks for your concern

I am feeling better.Just woke up at 7pm(!).I ate so many different kinds of food, that I don't know what caused the food poisoning.

Sophie,

Thanks for the links.

I just went through BabyCenter, and it states the chances of m/c and infertility are ONLY SLIGHTLY higher in our early 30s compared to 20s.So we're definitely very safe.

My period came today and I've marked CyclesPage...mine's indeed 28 days cycle.

Annlee,

I ate taiwan porridge at oasis a few times...very delicious!!

Wah your dinner tonight so appetising ah!

Starz,

And I remember all the other girls' gynaes too..

I haven't tried OTO Trimax, but I heard from a few friends that it's effective.I'll buy and use this after birth instead of malay massages.

Thanks for your reply.Will see if I can get obimin over the counter.

annlee,
Hee... I kind of guessed it'll be very difficult for you to cook the pork belly with all that fats lah!

Flu bug really floating around... hubby down with flu today, so I guess this weekend will be recuperation time, and no spicy food! Still thought of trying lemon3, but think I'll nurse him back to health first!

Amelia,
Yep, don't worry so much about TTC-ing. Just enjoy the process!
Get a Brazilian wax, go for a short break...

You can get Obimin at pharmacies - I saw it at NTUC Unity pharmacy before. But you may want to check if the iron content in Obimin is much higher than normal multi-vits as it's meant for preggies. High iron intake can cause constipation. If you're not comfortable with the higher iron intake and constipated, then maybe during TTC can just pop folic acid (also avail at NTUC Pharmacy at $2.52 for 100 tablets) and normal multi-vits without herbs (e.g. some GNC women's multi-vits contain danggui... not so advisable).

I like Taiwan porridge. Where is Oasis? Is it buffet style or ala-carte?

Isetan will be having another round of interesting sales on 7 october onwards...

Any mum here heard of negative ioniser device?It suppose help to generate good air and help in building up good immunity, esp for kids...anyone used it before?

Oasis is somewhere in kallang....

Goodwood park used to serve very good porridge buffer.

Sophie,

Thanks, will check out normal multi-vitamins instead;constipation is soooo scary!Are you taking obimin now?Is it compulsory for preggies or can they just take normal multi-vits.I also thinking of upping my calcium intake.May get a carton of fresh milk from NTUC later.Are you drinking the powdered or fresh?
Powdered seems more cost-effective, but I cannot tahan the smell and taste.

Oasis is somewhere central to east(can't remember too clearly)..probably Kallang like what Joy said.I had ala carte the few times I went.Not sure if they serve buffet style.

This should be the one

Oasis Taiwan Porridge (Cuisine: Taiwanese)
50 Stadium Boulevard Oasis Building Singapore 397796
Tel: 6346 4418

Amelia, Joy,
Thanks for info on Oasis. Checked it out on blogs - seems like it's 24 hrs!

Amelia,
I'm not taking Obimin, but some big pink-colored prenatal multi-vit from gynae.
I asked the nurse to show me the bottle, and it's from Sunward, which I think supplies to clinics directly. This one has higher iron content I think, and when I get constipated, I just skip the pill for a day.
Better for preggies NOT to take normal mutli-vits, cos some contain very high proportion of Vit A.
Vit A in beta carotene form is OK as our body only converts what we need from beta carotene into Vit A, and the rest of beta carotene just makes our skin/palms a bit more reddish/orange.
But Vit A in other forms such as retinyl is not good for our bodies esp. in high dosages cos may cause birth defects.
Most prenatal multi-vits only contain about 4,000IU of Vit A, but those normal ones can contain up to 10,000IU.
So if you're preggie and wanna take normal multi-vit, make sure (1) the Vit A is in beta carotene form which is safe, and (2) Vit A to try not to exceed 5,000IU.

It's good to increase your calcium intake, cos calcium in our bodies is stored like a "vault" i.e. whatever we do not use does not get excreted out, but gets stored/saved, so the higher calcium buffer you have in your body, the better.
I'm not taking milk - I hated powdered milk since the age of 4, and don't like fresh milk except in my coffee

Gynae does not force me to drink milk cos milk will cause bloatedness/gas which can be uncomfortable esp. in first tri.
Starting from 2nd tri, he gave me calcium pills, and I top up by eating ikan bilis (as snack or with porridge) and my rice milk, yoghurt & orange juice contains calcium too.

OK.... hope I wasn't too long-winded on the vits!

Annelise and Sophie,
Thanks for the link to the receiving blanket
I bought mine yesterday liao from Taka. It is $12.40 with a hood. Also bought some bb towels from Aussino cos they have sales...

Later going to Robinsons to see anything else to buy. Nowadays cannot shop for too long. Feel so tired and feet very heavy. Guess it the water retention thingy...

Sophie, the 2nd trimester is the best time for shopping so enjoy it while you can

Sophie

Thanks for the info.I forgot the fact that calcium will be stored in the body, will it be harmful if overstored?

I know too much of vit which someone mentioned is toxin..maybe someone can advice?All this knowlege I have forgotten after leaving school....have a good sunday all....

Starz,
I find that the eclairs are much better than the profiteroles. If u have the chance to order, the elcairs are a must! They taste better than some hotels ones...

sophie, yes.... Oasis served Taiwan porriage, ala carte. I went there for supper and lunch, so shld be 24 hr. Think there's 3 restaurant there floating in the river. Oasis is next to Kallang Stadium. I liked their dried fried pomfret with black beans sauce, stir fried liver, chai poh omelette and that caused me food poisoning raw hum hee... They don't served porriage by one bowl per person but by those small ice cube container and I don't think can finish the whole container of porriage for 2 person.

Amelia,
Din receive any email from you to view pics leh? Can't see any of your pics in the Yahoo group either...eh, can u advise me cos sometimes i blur blur one...

Sophie and annlee,
I like Oasis taiwanese porridge too! The Chay-poh omelette there is very nicely fried! But parking is a problem..

Woah, so many good reviews about Oasis... must go there one of these days! **drool**

Joy,
I think too much calcium can cause kidney stones, but if we are just taking calcium from our normal foods, it should be OK. Think I read somewhere only amts exceeding 2500mg is a cause for worry, but if we are not suppplementing if we do not need it (e.g. if not pregnant, we do not take calcium pills), just the calcium from foods should be OK. Plus, caffeine inhibits calcium from being absorbed, which means we do not absorb all the calcium from our food anyway.

As for Vit A, I read that beta carotene, also known as pro-Vitamin A, mainly derived from plants, is the "safe" form. It is considered safe cos your body only converts how much it needs of Vit A from the beta carotene, therefore beta carotene is not a "ready-form" of Vit A, but known as Pro-Vitamin A. Retinyl and other ready forms are normally derived from animal (e.g. livers) so that can become toxic in large amounts.

Krisjoy,
Talk about shopping - I did a bit of that yesterday. Lots of nice stuff in Far East Plaza, but so crowded with kids! I was there to makan actually.

Then headed to Robinsons to kaypoh on strollers although I am not buying one yet. The Aprica ones cost $900! **faint**

Sophie

Thanks for info.I think vit c is also safe. Extra will just pass out...

Far east plaza got nice things...like?

Aprica is always very expensive. I think Mcclaren is also not bad.

sophie, I had dim sum at victor's in sunshine plaza yesterday. We ordered har gao, siew mai, chee cheong fun with cha siew, cha siew bao, pork rib, wala porriage and milk custard bun. Their dim sum is not bad... I like their milk custard bun. Their cha siew bao filling taste different from others, quite good and their chee cheong fun added some plum black sauce on the side, quite different from others.

Oh yes.... Aprica brand is expensive.

annlee,
Woah, so fast and you tried Victor's Kitchen? Did you try their king prawn har kau? That was supposed to be their specialty. OK, that will be another place I'll make my way to. What is wala porridge?

Hubby still got a lot of phelgm and blocked nose, so I think lemon3 will be out for now. Tonight may go try this pasta place called Creation at Shaw @ Beach Road ground flr. Walked by the other day and saw lots of people eating there!

Joy,
Far East Plaza got lots of small shops with nice clothes and shoes. Saw a lot of those vintage-style one-of-a-kind tops and flat pumps, but no energy to go squeeze with the young crowds!

I ate at a vege place called Sunflower there - their Sunflower pasta is like a fusion penne with "fatt choy" (black moss), pine nuts, dried beancurds and mushrooms in olive oil base. Potato fingers (deepfried though) is yummy.

Sophie,

Bought 2 litres of Farmhouse fresh milk from NTUC.Me too, I really cannot stand powdered milk even though it's suppose to be better and cheaper, and I think most preggies drink powdered ones.

Krisjoy,

I sent to you and Van. I think Van has received it leh...

You have any other email addresses?

Amelia,
My hubby also like Farmhouse - I always buy the green packaging one cos that one is low-fat.

btw, I went to Sundream Pet Shop yesterday and asked about the discount card. Basically,
- the first time you purchase $50 & above, you get the discount card
- the first $50 is not entitled to the discount card, but the subsequent amounts are e.g. if the first time you buy $80, then the first $50, you get discount card; the remaining $30 you get 10% off
- every purchase of $50 and above, you get free delivery
- If the girl is on duty there (her name is Cheryl), you can tell her you're recommended by me (need to tell her my real name though.... Sophie is only a forum nick).
She's really friendly and when we popped by yesterday, she could remember me and my hubby's names + where we stay!
- Tried to buy Science Diet Ocean Fish, but out of stock. It'll only come in next week, so after I have bought it, I can let you know if it's cheaper than other shops.
- Forgot to ask about cash on delivery too
. I'll ask next week when I buy my Science Diet Ocean Fish.

sophie

Thanks for info. I drink farm house all this while too..the low fat type,at least its not so sweet...best deal is in NTUC.

Hi everyone. Next week is my dd's bday but we celebrated today. I finally plucked up enough courage to bake a cake for the party instead of buying one from the bakery. Need more practice with the piping skills and the pic is not centred
But my dds and nieces were thrilled!

531068.jpg

Annelise,
The cakes are gorgeous! I thought they were bought from a store. I can't tell that it's not centered at all!

What flavour cake is it? Roughly how much time did you spend baking it + piping?

Hi Sophie, thanks
It's plain chocolate cupcakes. The birthday cake is actually made up of 9 cupcakes. Hey, I finally used the Valrhona cocoa that I bought from Sun Lik - nice colour, yeah? But if find that my cupcakes were not moist enough cos' I didn't use vege oil but butter, thinking that it'll make it more aromatic. Now my niece wants a Hercules cake for her birthday! I think I'll bake a normal cake instead of a cupcake cake the next time. I made the pony image 2 nights before and kept it frozen till this morning - think I took about 1 hour! The cupcakes were very easy - about 40 mins from start to finish.

Amelia,
Can you send to me again at [email protected]

Annelise,
Your cakes look very professional! I am sure the kids had fun eating them
My friend also told me that the valrhona chocolate at Sun Lik is better than Phoon Huat. Is this true?

Sophie,
Do you like the food @ Creation? I've been there a couple of times and I find the set dinner value for money. Also, I like the crab meat pasta. The service there is also quite good though they dun hv service charge.

annlee,
How do u like the food at Victor's? How much did you pay for it? I am interested in the place leh...

Sophie,

I bought the full cream one.

Was at Pet Lovers Center today and got my Science Diet Ocean Fish.I had a $5 off coupon, so I only paid $16 instead of $21.Let me know if Sundream is selling cheaper than $21,thanks.
Many thanks for finding out about their discount card.

I may switch over to Sundream Pet Shop soon;the staff at Pet Lovers Center are so rude to my husband(young people these days!) and have zero product knowledge.

Krisjoy,

Can you check if your pac.net email is working alright?That's the exact email address I sent to, and I emailed a few people that same day and they all received.

We trouble-shoot this tomorrow ok?It's late and my brain shuts down at night haha

Annelise,
I thought the cakes were chocolate cakes, but then was wondering how come so dark that's why asked you what cake it is. So Valrhona chocolate does make a difference!

Now that you mentioned it, I can see that the pony cake is made up of cupcakes... otherwise, I wouldn't even suspect it! I thought you purposely trimmed the sides so there are curves!

Krisjoy,
Today didn't end up at Creations cos we needed to do some grocery shopping, so went to Plaza Singapura instead.

Had Vietnamese food at this restaurant called Song Tran near the HSBC Building. The standards has dropped quite alot - my Bun Thi Nuong (Vietnamese vermicelli with veges and grilled pork) was a disappointment; instead of using the Vietnamese "bun" which is the stickier white vermicelli, they used chor beehoon!

And my goi cuon (spring roll that is not fried) has no vermicelli in it, maybe cos chor beehoon cannot be used to wrap inside spring roll. Last time used to be better.
Disappointment... will not go back there again!

Didn't feel satisfied so shared a mee siam with hubby at Toast Box outside Carrefour on ground flr. It's too sourish and I can taste a hint of coconut milk in it - yucky!

Finally tabao tau huay from the Rochor Rd place. But instead of trying the original Rochor Rd one, I tried the Beancurd City that is opened by another brother just next door.
Verdict: tau huay is softer and smoother! But hubby is not used to the sugar syrup which is the orangey type one; he prefers the sugar syrup from the Original Rochor stall.

At least the tau huay saved my day

Thanks for info on Creation. Will try it sometime next week!

Amelia,
Hee, you can afford to take the full-fat one!

Yeah, everytime I go to Pet Lovers, I never had a good experience. Will let you know next week after I've bought the Science Diet Ocean Fish.

annelise,
Hey, your cake look so professionally done! hmm.. Makes me want to do a cartoon character cake for my dd as well....but I don't know how leh...Have only tried simple fresh cream decoration with chocolate shavings and almond slices,and chocoate ganache icing so far.

How you made the pony image? When you make something similar again, can you take some pictures of the steps?

Amelia,
Your food poisoning completely okay liaoz?

I uploaded some pictures to flickr,I thought they won't shrink the pictures like yahoo photos, but the actually did right?

Still trying to familiarise with Flickr...

Sophie,

Thanks for all the food reviews ..so we know which is good and which to avoid.

I've been to Oasis for Taiwan porridge as well, it's quite famous...and good too!

I haven't been able to find Prima's Mee Siam Paste ,and Hai's Instant Curry Chicken Paste in Lot 1 yet.Would like to try them out.

annelise,
WOW! yr cakes were very well-made and beautifully decorated! I really admire your skills! I also didn't notice the cute pony was on 9 cupcakes until after you told us, hehe.

Morning all!!

Van,

I am alright now,thanks.My last visit to the loo was saturday night/early sunday morning.

Click on the individual pics, the pic will enlarge slightly.Click again on "All Sizes" on top of the pic, it will display the original size you've uploaded.

wow annelise, your cakes really looks great!!
yeah very professional!
must teach us leh...!

van the olive rice is on the spot they fried for u, so i think the price is ok lah hor, somemore in orchard area.

i went to bu-yea-tian fish head steamboat (EFL eating house) at Bukit Timah last friday for dinner.
we ordered one crab tong-hon, one petai and the steamboat.
at the end we found the crab tong-hon and petai taste very good, the steam so so only.

they have other dish like beef with bitter gourd, prawn-paste fried chicken... must go back to try the rest.

annelise, next week is my ds1 birthday too....going to order a cake online for him at coffee bean and tea leaf.
Your dd cake looks good... and pro enough for the first time.

sophie and krisjoy

yah..... me super fast one hee.... no lah... is because we went to NTUC at IOI building(closed down) next to sunshine plaza and happened to pass by and remember you mentioned dim sum so we go try it lor.....
Tried the king prawn har gao, didn't know is make from king prawn,maybe they chop chop smaller to fill in to the skin, prawn is fresh but skin is so so.... I don't really fancy har gao, the one I always remember and tasted the best is at Bangkok, Oriental Hotel. Wala porriage is lychee boat porriage if not wrong, there's slice fish, cuttlefish, century egg, fish cake in it... so so only but seen alot of ppl try their porriage leh... Their dim sum is not bad, I like milk custard bun which I usually don't, there's a small egg yolk inside. There's some fry stuff but didn't try cos hb sore throat. kris, their price is reasonable, ordered 8-9 items, paid about $19

littlecat, we went fish head steam boat on saturday near my mum's place at old airport road. Because that day is raining so my hb tot is a good idea for that and we went... my hb always like steamboat or fishhead steamboat, their soup is tasty too...

sophie, thanks for recommending creation. My hb is a fan for pasta but always go to sketches at Bugis Junction, boring now.... now got another place for pasta at shaw also near our place so another choice.

Good morning everyone!

Van,
Yep, go try Prima's seasoning packs and let us know your review. I had prawn mee at the Prima Cafe at Centrepoint on Sat evening. Soup stock is very good, but I find the yellow noodles a little too thick for my liking. At that cafe, they sell the prawn soup stock and other seasoning in larger aluminium foil, whereas in supermarkets, they only come in standard box packing for small servings. So if you find the mee siam good and wanna serve it for gatherings, next time can go to the cafes/shops to buy the large aluminium packs... cheaper.

LittleCat,
I like petai! But gives lots of gas

Where is this EFL Eating House near?

annlee,
Lychee Boat Porridge? Never heard of that... will try it if I go there. Price is very reasonable!

Yep, think I will go try Creation after Krisjoy's review too. Plus, on the outside, I saw some posters on some awards by the chef, and if I am not wrong, it says the chef used to work in the kitchen of either Westin or Raffles Hotel. Definitely not the "head chef", but nevertheless, good enough for the price.

annlee,
Thanks for the dim sum update...

Sophie,
I read from Straits Times that the younger brother's tau-huay is nicer than the older brother...so it's true then! Now Suntec has a lot of small shops selling snacks. They have the famous durian puffs and Don pies..

Good morn everyone.

Annelise,
Your cakes are so lovely! U must be a very patient Mom to bake them.

annlee,
I stayed at Old Airport Rd! Which stall of "Yu Tou Lu" u go?

Amelia,
How's the Science Diet Ocean Fish?

Good morning all!

Kris Joy,
Collected the eclairs, and 'glurps'! they are really very nice.
Agree with u the mini profiteroles are not as good though.

Starz,
Yes Dr kee is very assuring!
My first pregnancy ended up in mc, was still crying on the operation table when had to end the pregnancy which dr kee told us that there is no more heartbeat.
Dr kee helped to build our confidence and try again. My 2nd one was difficult also. had to take injection almost everyday for 6-16weeks to keep the baby. Dr kee at times waive off the consultantion fees if i am only there for the injection.
heee... no secret to losing the weight.
i took care of baby alone after confinement.
busy taking care of baby, doing housework and pumping milk. lose 20kg after 2month plus.
now 4months, left with another 5kg to go now. but cannot diet cos breastfeeding now.
everyday still eating lots of fish, meat, milk.
infact milo have became my 'staple drink' now.
and hope its not too late for me to go on diet when i no longer breastfeed.

Littlecat,
Yr son sooo cute! hee... pardon me.. but he is pretty and lips has got a very nice colour. and he can pose very well leh.

Van,
Yr girl so serious in her graduation gown! and i like the pic that she took at the playground. look very 'dong shi' type of girl.

amelia,
dun worry so much abt the pregnancy.
i also worry alot.
but one day, i woke up and told myself, i will never be happy and baby will be a gloommy and grouchy baby.
so i decided that whatever will be will be, and pregnancy is not an illness, just try to enjoy pregnancy. hope for the best, but prepared for the worst.

Sophie,
using maclaren stroller is quite good.
hee.. sometimes using it for grocery stroller when baby dun want to sit in it.

annelisa,
yr cake and muffin looks so pro.
i wish i can cook and bake also.
attempted to cook chicken stew last friday.
my brother asking me is it that i am making another type of 'japanese curry' cos all the potato melted and the stew became thick and starchy.

choc,
how are u doing? must be running ard after the confinement lady left.

Cat_tail,

It's very tasty.Sally gets all excited by it and finishes her free trial pack very quick.The price is slightly higher at $21.

Krisjoy,
Where are the Suntec small shops? Are they near the Happy Kidz area, the basement fountain area or Carrefour area?

Hee, I told my hubby I'll run down to get the tau huay, then when he saw me going into the other shop, kept signalling to me that it's the wrong stall... but I wanted to try the younger brother's tau huay afetr reading ST too. But the shop got lesser people...

cookiemonster,
Your grocery cart is an expensive one! maclaren brand

I was hoping to get the kind that is good enough to go through drain holes and pot holes, cos I go to Botanic Gardens and MacRitchie for walks quite often, and will like to take baby there next time. Saw a lot of mummies using those strollers with small wheels at Botanic Gardens, and keep getting stuck in the holes and drain coverings.

sophie, lychee boat is the name in chinese on menu, no lychee hee....

Not bad huh... chef from westin wun go wrong... will definitely try creation

cat tail, that yu you lu think is at Blk 18 or 19 coffeeshop. Next next to ex old airport rd hawder centre. Is quite nice but the place abit dirty. Their 'bai gu wang' pork rib king and zhao bai tou fu also good.

cookiemonster,
Which Maclaren model are you using?
I won't be buying till baby is a few months old, cos sis has 2 strollers, and has offered to pass me the one where baby can lie flat for the first few months. Then after that, I'll see how. So just kaypoh, wanna find out model first.

annlee,
Haha, I thought it was some fusion porridge with lychee in it!

Amelia,
Looks like it's another option when I go for my next shopping..heehee..

annlee,
Is the lady boss of the yu tou lu very mama san type one??

Sophie,
For Maclaren stroller, I am using the Techno Classic. I like their wheels & somemore got suspension! Heehee.. very good for ruggard path.

sophie, went to suntec yesterday, saw quite alot of ppl using maclaren brand... the safety belt look very secure fasten on the bb.

I also went to Imperial Teo chew Kitchen at suntec for lunch. They don't served dim sum but some teo chew dishes.... We ordered goose meat noodle,stired fry noodle, double boiled pig stomach salted veg soup, fry bread with peanut filling dessert and yam dessert recommend by the waitress. The goose meat is good, stir fry noodle is yummy, soup is very nice and 'ru wen' but added too much of pepper seeds but still good. Dessert so so... will definitely go back there again!

cat tail, last time I went the lady boss wears alot of gold on her hand, i remember cos of her long red colour painted nails when she written down our order. Those typical aunti lian kekeke.... but she's not there on saturday.

hi ladies...
me on half day today, so was rushing some work in e morning...

sophie,
i really "pei fu pei fu" ur knowledge.. i've been taking obimin, but hv no idea of e contents.. only take it cos its a prenatal vit.. hehehhe.. no wonder my constipation so bad, cos i've been taking obimin PLUS doc's calcium pills..
but i console myself n "think" its "paying off" in a way lah, my boy's very very strong now liaoz.. these few days i sometimes got "shocked" by his moving/stretching...

annelise,
your little pony cake is so nice!!!!! ya, can u share the steps next time u do it again.. next time i also wan to bake for my little boy... hehehe..

krisjoy n cookiemonster,
okay, seems like i have to try e eclaires liaoz.. i just checked out e website, only stated weight but no price or quantitiy leh... maybe later call n ask, cos i got sisters-in-law n my mum nearby, if not to ex, i buy n share with them lor.. cos e weight they mentioned 2kg seems "finish-able" leh.. hehehehe...

abt strollers:
i'm also considering to get maclaren techno XT, currently other choices are Peg Prego n a maxi cosi birdi... dont know models for e other 2 tho.. all cost about S$300+.. dont know if should get it now, or after baby's 1st mth...
kao_confused.gif

littlecat n annlee,
ya, where's e place?? recently i keep craving for yu-tou-lu leh.. hehehe...

sorry i'm going "out of topic" again here hor.. but there r so many experienced mummies here...
can anyone describe to me how is contractions suppose to feel like? cos recently i've been feeling tummy become very very very tight... then i think my heart also beat faster n feel whole body abit "weird".. but its not painful leh.. just uncomfortable...
i sometimes quite scared i ownself dont know when baby wants to come out.. cos i got quite high pain threshold.. dont know when to go n see gynae abt these type of "discomfort"...

look like so many activities going on while i was away. still trying to crawl thru the postings.

Annelise,
Your cake really look like fm those bakery leh, i cannot tell the imperfection fm it
How do u make the pony??