Cooking Tips & Recipe

Sophie,

Thanks for your advise!

I really need to see a gynae before TTC because I haven't seen one in my life.Oh dear, I didn't know ovulation days differ from woman to woman.I thought it's standardised.

I've heard of many ladies charting the wrong way and wasting a lot of time.Guess it's still better to get gynae's input.

Choc,

I've seen your kids photos! Your baby boy is so cute! Why is he in pink ahehehehheh!!

Annlee,

I like Full House! Song Hae Gyo acted soooo well.
Rain is pretty good too.

Amelia
If u hv been TTC for abt a year without results, it would be better to see a gynae. I tried without success for a year before being prescribe clomide (need to chk on spelling) and instructed to try on certain days after mens, n bulls eye, my dd is conceived. Thats wat happen in short for me....

Eh cookie, don't kow tow to me leh.. thought 3 was enough liao ! During my last tri with no.3, I was very sure.. but the moment bb popped, foolish thoughts of having no.4 came ! Xiao4 right ?

joy, yah.. so used to CL doing things for the past month and we joked and talked alot too ! She related all her confinement stories to me.. Now, my sis' maid will come once every wk to help out with my housework.. Going to tingkat from her too..

Eh van, wah.. graduate liao ar ? so fast hor ? 15 yrs or so later will be another one.. and age is catching up with us !
Then we'll be attending talks like ageing gracefully, menopausal and how to look beautiful in our 40s.. haha..

when we were in china people thought dd1 and dd2 are twins.. now I have triplets !

Amelia, hehe.. just wanted to see a pink panther! think I also better lock the photos..

Take it easy when you ttc, don't be too stressed.. go for short breaks..

Kris, thanks for the kaya recipe.. you tried liao boh ?

Van,

Ok, I know which bakery.It's the one near the housewares shop.Will grab some this weekend then.Not bad, can re-create Ya-Kun fare at home.

I need my digicam to be somewhat compact, at least I won't dread bringing it out. My current digicam is like SLRs' bulkiness but without SLRs' performance..sigh.

My hub got me a MacBook on our 4th wedding anniversary because I simply cannot stand sharing a pc with him anymore.He parks infront of the pc for long hours, looks over my shoulder when I'm using it,cuts in every few minutes to check soccer scores and occasionally crashes the computer.*vomits*

annlee,
Full House is good? OK, will tell hubby to keep a lookout for the DVD next time

Choc,
Must be tough now that CL has just left... but I'm sure you can do it! Your hubby must eb so happy that you are thinking of No. 4 cos he wanted 4 kids right?

Heee... like Amelia, I also noticed your son was in pink, but was too paiseh to ask cos it's prob your dds' clothes

Amelia,
Choc is right - don't be too stressed and go for short breaks! I think mine could be Made in Saigon cos my O period was during my Ho Chi Minh trip

Van,
Kids in mortarboards are very cute! Have to take more pictures. I still have my kindergarten one, smiling away with a big gap between my 2 front teeth... one of my fav childhood pics.

I've tried ya kun and four season(not that hotel) home made kaya both are good. Recently bought one XO kaya from NTUC cos lazy to walk all the way to get ya kun kaya. The XO kaya is quite good.

My hb bought nutella spread so these few nights I'm eyeing at the nutella. Can't stand it anymore so take a spoon and scoop out the nutella to eat and to satisfied myself. Very nice and sinful..yummy... better not let my son sees it

I also like Nutella! I always had a jar of it in my backpack when travelling last time! Esp. love nutella and sliced bananas on bread! But now a bit heaty, so I don't even stock Nutella at home.

Had roti prata for lunch and now feel super-guilty cos so oily and heaty

Cooking cabbage, tofu, fishball and hee peow soup again tonight... need to finish up the cabbage from last week's soup! What are you gals cooking?

Amelia,
The Moonriver's kaya is much thicker than Ya Kun's,so don't expect to re-create Ya-kun fare at home.Their kaya is very nice to go with their sweet sliced bread loaf $1.20 per loaf(usually sold out by evening),dd and I love the dark thick "skin" of the bread,and the bread is very soft.

Have you read the reviews of your desired camera models at cnet.com?

Sophie,
I still remember my kindergarten's photo,but I don't like it...so Toot! My mum always make me cut the short short boy-style (Eng Gee Tow) hairstyle when I was a kid, so most of my childhood photos look tomboyish.

Bought lotus root and garoupa from market just now, but think won't be cooking tonight,cos going to bring dd to watch Deep Sea at Omni Theatre in the evening...

Van,
Haha... I am also familiar with the Eng Kee Tow, cos my sis had that too! I was slightly luckier with a China Doll haircut, but my baby/infant pictures all look like boy boy too, either wearing boy's clothes or half naked (topless). I think my parents were really desperate to have a boy to satisfy my grandma

Were you going to cook lotus root and garoupa together? How?

Sophie,
No lah, lotus root,pork ribs and peanuts soup and steam garoupa. Though I have read many fish soup recipe, but I dare not try to cook fish soup,afraid of the fishy smell. Most cookbook said panfried the fish first before cooking fish soup will get rid of the fishy smell, but haven't tried yet. ANYONE tried before?

Have you girls seen this on advertisement?Not bad leh...eat and lose weight at the same time.Nivea claims it's the best selling body product in France and Italy.

528131.jpg

Sophie and Choc,

Haha pink panther..must hide the pic from your son when he grows up heheeh!

We plan to go away during off-peak season,maybe around february or march, but not sure where yet.

Is it possible to ovulate different days each month, like later or earlier?Or is it fairly specific?

Van,

So cute wearing mortarboard! Very fast hor, she'll be in primary 1 soon.

Annlee,

I love nutella but I don't take it often because it's quite heaty.

Sophie,

Not sure what I am making tonight..Need to email my hub for suggestions.

Van,
Ah... ok... I thought you have some new recipe for garoupa/lotus root soup or stew

I also read about frying the fish before making into a soup, but too messy and oily for me.

Amelia,
Yes, I love this advertisement cos the girl's body is sooooo nice! It's the ad with the few girls saying "Goodbye to long skirts" right?
I saw the item at NTUC - selling for $30+ per tube. I wanna try it after I give birth

It is possible to ovulate on different days each month, even though cycle days are the same. I think the rule of thumb is that you always minus 14 days from the day of your next period, and that is the O period. But not always accurate... cos I was using the O-prediction kit, and it says negative but I conceived the last time. So maybe that time it was a late ovulation even though my cycle day was 28 days too.

Cupcake,

I have not started TTC-ing.Thanks for your advise.

Van,

Moonriver is a bit quiet compared to the one with bubble tea.

The other day, my hub tried to make Ya-Kun-style soft boiled eggs.It tasted better than Ya-Kun's and very cheap too:p

Ok, will read cnet reviews later.

Amelia,
Sorry, din have the chance to check my email last nite. Can you hold till the weekend? cos these 2 days will go home late so dun think will check email...paisay..

Van,
I ate Qi Ji's popiah over lunch just now. Just realised that if you want to add prawns, the charge is $2.20 per roll, otherwise it is $1.80 per roll.

Btw, did any of you happen to order Amosco swiss rolls and eclairs from BP before? I just got mine and they taste delicious! Great if you are planning for a tea party as they come in finger food sizes

Isetan's sales include the 1.5 Litre Thermos Thermal Pot,good for cooking porridge for young kids.

$69+less 10% for members.

http://www.isetan.com.sg/newsletter/index.jsp

Amelia,
I prefer the cakes,bread and waffles at Moonriver compared to the other shop.

Krisjoy,
$2.20 per roll with prawns still quite ok if the popiah is nice.Food Court already selling at $2.00 without prawns!

Dou Su
I bought this from the provision shop beside Shop n Save at Beauty World. Need to ask those who used it before, does it have a weird smell? Must fry in low heat? I tried it yesterday but it got burnt quite fast and got weird smell.

Finally posted some pics of my doggy on the yahoo gp. But can chk how to delete an album cos I accidently created another when I tried to post.

Amelia,
I think making soft-boiled eggs at home better.
Hubby was just telling me he went to a nearby coffeeshop to have the soft-boiled eggs for breakfast yesterday, and the eggshells still had chicken faeces on it!
When he told the store owner, the store owner threw away that egg and put a new one into the same mug of hot water and gave to him.
Hubby didn't eat it at all, cos he remembered that eggshells are very porous, so the contaminated water may get into the new egg.
I think safer to make this at home! or at proper place like Ya Kun.

Krisjoy,
I always see the Amosco swiss rolls on BP, but the orders are always filled up very quickly! Went to Amosco website to check too... the stuff looks delicious!

cupcake,

I have tried the Dou Su,the picture can be found in our Yahoo Group.Are you using the same brand? Didn't notice any weired smell.Must fry in low heat till crispy, before pouring the whole thing will oil onto steam fish.

Sophie,
yeee...so yucky, still have chicken faeces on the egg shell?! I wouldn't eat it either.

Joy747,
If it's exactly the same as other thermal pot as what the promoter told me last time...means it's save electricity compared to using slow cooker.

Boil porridge in inner pot over stove for about 5min (longer time for other dishes like soup or stew),put the inner pot into outer pot,after sometimes,depends on the brand and dishes you cook),the porridge is ready to eat. Can boil the inner pot over stove again and add meat or vege. If you add meat before thermal cook, the meat will also turn out very soft.

But I have also heard of people using Tiger food jar to cook porridge WITHOUT boiling over stove, just put rice and hot water and the porridge will cook by itself. Not sure if this Thermos one work the same way...

I am considering getting one actually,cos my 2.5Ltr La Gourmet thermal pot isn't as good as Tiger or Thermos brand.Can thermal cook but can't maitain the temperature as long. There will be another 2.5L Thermos thermal pot with thermometer coming up soon but will cost about $100+.

Sophie,

Yeah! Her butt and legs are soooo nice!! It's looks just right; not overly thin.You can try that after birth together with OTO Trimax

The ovulation days thingy sounds unpredictable.Looks like even O-strips are not very accurate.Best way is to monitor discharges I guess.

A lot of coffeeshops are not hygenic..so sad...I actually love hawker food but must cut down.

Krisjoy,

Understand, will hold.

Van,

Will definitely check out Moonriver with hub this weekend.

aiyoh.... chicken faeces on the egg shell. Don't think the store owner will bother to wash it.

Tonight my dinner will be cabbage rice again. I didn't had enough that day so will make it today again. Also making lotus pork bone soup, i added some dang sheng,fresh huaishan,dried cuttlefish, red dates, wolfberries in it. Suppose to add some black beans but out of stock. I liked black beans, is good for water retention and blood circulation. Very healthy beans for gals.

Amelia,
Haha, don't think I will do the OTO Trimax lah... I'd prefer to exercise off the fats!

annlee,
Remember to take pictures of your food tonight!
Black beans are good... I like them too. My greataunt claims it keeps her hair black and shiny!

Amelia,
Even though my cycle is quite regular, 28 days, I still check out those sites on maternity/pregnancy regarding ovulation date when TTC,and it's pretty accurate,especially using the discharge as guide.I conceived my dd with the 1st try.

Sophie,
ya...black beans are very good for hair.I wanted to start taking black beans with He Shou Wu regularly, at least once a week or even more,having more white hair liaoz.

Van,
Woah, you very fertile! First cycle strike liao?

Let us know if the black beans & he shou wu concoction works for greying hair! I wanna do it next time too.

Amelia,
Van is right about the online calendars... now I remember I used them too. Here're 2 links that I use:
http://www.mycycle.com/html/index.html
http://www.cyclespage.com/index.html

I quite like the second one, cos it gives you a "range" of fertile days, rather than just one day. Heh, I used this to plan our short breaks and hubby's business trips so his biz trips don't clash with the "important" days.

van, I read that he shou wu is good for black hair and some shampoo also has the ingred too.

How do you cook black beans and he shou wu? I'm getting grey hair after my preggie and it's getting more and so funny...my grey hairs only growth in the centre of my head.

Can someone guide me what's the exact timing for making soft boiled egg? I tried a few times, sometime is too raw or egg white turned hard and yolk is soft. Never succeed to make like ya kun egg.

annlee,
hee.. we both need to do spring cleaning for our fridge.

choc,
during my confinement i also told myself one is enough. no more 2nd one. now he is older and more responsive and i cannot be there for him always as i am back to work and missing him everyday.. i am missing the preggy feeling again.
at times i wish he could still be in my tummy and i carry him everywhere i go.
btw, i put on 25kg and was really heavy then.

Cupcake,
after trying for sometime, gynae gave us clomide. i also conceive by taking clomide.

sophie,
my baby was made in bali.
work and family commitments too stress and hectic.
so we went short trip a few times to try to conceive during ovulation.

Van,
my cl used to pan-fried the fish before she cook it with soup. had quite a lot of papaya fish soup during confinement. but for me that did not really help to produce more milk.

krisjoy,
thanks for yr comments on amosco products.
me also joined bp and hope the food will be nice.

cupcake, the first pic of your muffin so so cute... I feel like hugging him. At that time is around 3 months old?

ann,
Muffin is a she, hehehe. Golden retreivers puppies are the cutest. (I biased lah). She is abt 2 mths when I picked her from the shop. But she was a terror during her puppy stage. My house was a super big mess and poo/pee smelling during that period. Now she is so much better, v manja, though she dun look so cute anymore.

cupcake, oh...is a gal. You're right...I also think retriever puppies are the cutest but when they grown up.... er..... maybe pretty hee...

Van and Sophie,

Just registered and bookmarked cyclespage.com

Van, i agree you're very fertile!

Annlee,

heh heh my hub was the one who did the eggs...he captures the timing very well.

annlee,
Do you normally use eggs from the fridge i.e. cold, or room temp? My mum says to use room temp eggs, then the whites and yolks will be consistent. She puts the eggs and water to boil. Once water is boiled, she turns off fire and leave the eggs in the hot water for just 3 to 5 mins. Pretty good.

Also, I think there is a kind of plastic tub that is perfect for half-boiled eggs which I used to use. It's like 2 separate containers put on top on each other. The top one has holes on its base. Can't remember whether you put the egg on the top or bottom, but once the hot water is dripped through, the egg is half-boiled perfectly. The egg for this has to be room temperature i.e. taken out of the fridge and at room temp.

cupcake,
I just saw your pics... your Muffin is very cute!
Not easy to maintain Golden Retriever's coat of fur too yeah?

Joy,
You've seen that tub in NTUC before? The last time I used it was 10 years ago, but I remember the egg came out perfect. Will go hunt for it so hubby can make his own half-boiled eggs

annlee,
I found a picture of this tub! Arghhh... the picture of the final eggs look soooo good ***drool***
http://penangfaces.chanlilian.net/2005/07/05/half-boiled-eggs/

This lady's blog even teach how to make red eggs... think I'll bookmark it so I can make my own red eggs for baby's 1-month next year!

sophie, yes.. I used the egg from the fridge,cold one. Ok now I understand, will let it turn to room temp before cooking.

Will look out for plastic tube for the egg at Ntuc and OG, think I saw something for soft boiled egg at OG before.

Thanks sophie and joy747!

oh sophie... 10 yrs ago!!!

Thanks for the website! Will take a look later.

My cabbage rice is done but don't look very good, my son says is nice and I'm happy about it. Was thinking whether wanna show you gals or not cos not good looking.

Got to feed my son now...chat later

annlee,
Yes, 10 years ago... cos that time I moved out to stay on my own, and missed my mum's perfect soft-boiled eggs

But don't worry, Joy says she's seen it before! Plus this blog says the tub can still be found in Malaysia!

I think your standards too high lah... even your son says the cabbage rice is good, it must be good!
Hee... do my fav trick - tidy up the dish and take the picture from a good angle... pictures are all about packaging!

OK, I have to go cook my cabbage soup now... talk to you gals later!

Annlee,

Very healthy dinner!You're cabbage rice looks good.Can try adding caramelised dark soy sauce(ketchup manis) next time if you want.

Joy,

I have to figure out which software to install.

annlee,
Your dinner is indeed very healthy! The lotus root soup looks good... like my mum's kind where the color is dark and soup very ru wei.

Did you use or mix brown rice into your cabbage rice? Sambal belachan looks good *sigh*