Cooking Tips & Recipe

Hi Krisjoy, we bought the poh piah from the East Coast branch - I'm not sure if they sell the skin, I will ask them the next time I go there. The beef rendang and green curry are really good too. Thinking of catering from them for my dd's party but min order is for 30 pax leh - I dun intend to invite so many pple, lazy to clean up after that! Thanks for sharing your pics - wow your complexion very nice and fair, what's your beauty secret
How old is Lilo? I love shih tzus! My maltese juz turned 11 this month.

annlee,
I use metal spatula for my anodised wok most of the time, sometimes use wooden spatula as well. I am quite ok with the sound.

Krisjoy,
Does the Qi Ji's version has prawns and the cripsy bits in their fillings?

Will view your photos later,thanks for sharing.

Sophie,
I thought of just storing the photo files only, not other document files.

Van,

No news yet haha,sorry to mislead you.I am focusing on eating well at this point then start TTC.We should be TTCing next year when I'm more healthy;better chances of carrying baby to full-term.

You can try Flickr for your photos.Lots of people are using their service because they're cheap.I am using their Basic account(free) but will switch to Pro account when I have more pictures.

www.flickr.com

Van, Sophie and Krisjoy,

What a horrifying description of Tingkat!
I will ask around for an alternative to Tingkat.Or maybe I should just tabao.

Homecooked meals are the most ideal.But I really don't feel like rushing around to prepare dinner during those critical months leh
You know that show by Darren Lim and Evelyn Tan call "Hey Baby, Xing Fu Mi Ma", keeps stressing EVERY single episode that preggies after 30( I will be 30 next year) will have lots of complications during preggie and only 25% chance of conceiving monthly if I am to TTC.Jeez..make husband and I worry..

Krisjoy,

Yup I agree you're very fair.

Share with you my pics tomorrow..feeling a bit lazy tonight.Leave your email behind?

Van,

Will email you my Flickr tomorrow too.

Krisjoy,
You and your hubby both look very young!
Eh, Lilo is cute... I also like shih tzus.

Krisjoy, Annelise,
Just checked out the Glory website - the buffet menu looks really good. I shall bookmark this page for future catering purpose. The pictures of the outlet in East Coast also looks good... will make my way there one of these days for makan! **drool**

Van,
Eh, even photos to me are confidential to a certain extent. I'll share it with familiar pple on Yahoo Groups, but very scared pple will do funny stuff to my pictures... esp. now Photoshop is so easily accessible and pictures can be digitally modified easily. Hmm... think I am one of the most kiasu people around!

Amelia,
Don't worry so much about age... lots of people are having babies afetr 30 now. Plus my friend told me chronological age and biological age can be different. She found out about this when she went to Raffles Hospital for her health screening, and they asked her if she wanted to do the test. It's quite an expensive test and not really worth doing it so she didn't do it. But the basic concept is that a person may be 30 yrs old chronologically, but if she takes care of her body well, her biological age could be younger. Similarly, if she is very unfit and have habits like smoking etc, then her biological age could be really older than 30.

Annelise,
Thanks for checking out Glory for me next time
Btw, my skin is not that good leh, it is the lighting effect they have on taking pics. I have combi skin since young so if you see me in real person, I still have some scars from my pimply days...Lilo will be turning 2 in Nov, same month my baby will be delivered...so Lilo is the elder sister..hehehe..

Van,
Qi Ji does not have prawns but have the crispy thing and they are generous with the sweet black sauce. Also, they popiah skin does not become soggy easily. I always go to the outlet at Marina Square. If u happen to go there, you can try their nasi lemak which I find not bad...Here is their website http://www.qiji.com.sg/

Amelia,
Thanks for your compliments..my email is [email protected]

Sophie,
Thanks too for your compliments. Both of us are old liao lah. Me 35YO and hb 40YO by end of this year.

Amelia,
30 is still a good age to conceive, dun worry too much about it. I only conceived when I am 34...

Hi Krisjoy, oh it's so nice, your bb and Lilo share the same month for their birthdays! My maltese Bobby is my younger didi cos' I got him before I got married, haha!

Hi Sophie, yeah the chrono and bio age explanation makes a lot of sense! I catered with Glory for my wedding and the portions were good and the food yummy.

Hi Amelia, don't worry too much about the chances of conception - they're juz general statistics. I ttc when I was 25 and didn't succeed until I was 28! Then when I tried for my 2nd one at the age of 30, we succeeded on our first try!

Ok, my dd2 has finished her breakfast, I gotta go entertain her - see y'all later

Good morning ladies,

Just put in some photos of my children in yahoo gp also.. and didi with see hum tongue .. hehe..

annelise, the lymph node swelling will take some time to subside.. so don't worry.. build up your immunity with vit C..

Hey amelia, 30 is ok to conceive.. can start with folic acid and good supplements for yourself.. Jia you.. jia you !Got good news must share huh ..

van and annlee,
Was planning to send dds to yis swimming complex, on sats, when we go over to visit my mum.. but I think they only accept 6 yrs and above cos they think 4 yr olds can't concentrate for long.. so dd2 will just go there to have fun..

Saw one 6 yr old girl in Safra swimming so well, could surface dive into the water and also thread water.. Impressive ! Good to learn how to swim cos its a life-saving skill..

van, think if it's a lady instructor, I would sign dd up...

annlee, for JMC, it's quite good for dd1 and me.. being music illiterate, I learn the tau gehs with dd.. it also depends on the teacher to make the lesson interesting.. For my dd's tr, he was very exam focus, good in the sense.. so dd got to be on her toes all the time.. but stressful for mummy, got to sit down with her to guide her taugeh by taugeh !

I also make her practise not more than 45 mins each day.. she uses a borrowed keyboard to practise the songs. Thought if she really has the interest, I'll invest in a piano and let her continue piano lessons..

dd also went for a few months of art lesson, using crayons and paints .. somehow, she didn't like the company there and was weepy.. eventually she dropped out

Could the crispy thingy in popiah be fried garlic?

Today, CL going home liao.. got to do OMO liao !

Krisjoy

Glory is just outside my house too.Yap, they sell popiah skin now...okay but I will not buy it from them as its egg skin ,good to eat within a day as cannot keep overnight...as for the one that is at joo chiat, plain skin, not tired of eating after some rounds and can keep.....

Amelia
What time and when is the show hosted by evelyn tan?Checking for a friend....

Good day all...

Krisjoy,

Emailed you!

Hey!Both of you seriously don't look like your age!

Sophie, Krisjoy and Annelise,

Anyone over 30 watching that dumb show will feel deflated.The govt obviously can't force us to have kids early, so they resort to scare tactics.They conveniently forget to mention older parents are typically better parents.They should really get off our backs,it's getting annoying.

Sophie,

Thanks.Reading your reply makes me feel better.I don't have any unhealthy habits, so I should be fairly safe.

Hi Joy,
Thanks for the note. I agree, too much of egg skin can be quite 'ger-lat'...

Btw ladies, can anyone teach me how to delete a post? Thanks in advance!

Choc,

Haha ok..will share when I have good news.

Joy,

It's 9.30pm every saturday on channel 8
No point watching the show lah...It's so one sided

Amelia

Okay, noted...thanks....

Oh yes..correct me if you are trying to conceive....if yes, just wanna share with you...I have many friends who tried for many years and no news but eventually I get them to take bei foong wan fron eu yan sen for a period of time and all did...maybe you can give it a try...the many little litlle small round one...no need to brew type....hope to hear good news from you ....

Joy,

I am going to TTC next year.
Just curious, what's the BFW from Eu Yan Sen suppose to do?Mine's a very regular 28 day cycle.Do I still need it?

Thanks for your info.

krisjoy, just seen your photo, both of you look young, don't look like your age at all.

van, yah... i think wooden spatula is a good choice. I can't stand the metal one on the wok, is very 'chi er'.

choc, oh... so must learn tau gehs together, don't think I'm so patience, oh oh.. Was thinking of letting my son learn piano lesson but the school will ask us to invest on a piano but our house is small and don't know where to squeeze it. Now he got one keyboard(those cheap cheap one from carrefour) and enjoy playing it so was wandering whether he will enjoy the real one or the lesson. Thinking of letting him to learn arts too cos our house is near to NAFA.

Ex TV actress evelyn Tan is pregnant, read from the paper yesterday.

Annelise, my son and hb likes maltese very much and always go to sams pet shop near parkway to have a look at them. My hb always want a dog but we can't cos my ds1 has eczema and mild asthma so our PD strongly against having pet in the house. My hb wants a golden retriever and says wanna hide the dog in the house cos HDB don't allow big dog, crazy of him. And also big dog need bigger place to run about too...

hi all, just drop by since the email system is down..
krisjoy like your wedding photo, casual and nice

annelise, glad to hear u r better now, do take care!

Amelia agreed with the rest, not worry to much. btw me this year 38 liao, and my sister 43 got her 2nd one.. so jia you!

choc, saw your little boy with tongue sticking out, he looks so cute!!!
eh your two girls looks so alike, just like same person photo taking at diff age!
eh dun recycle pink dress on your boy hor

i was washing baby last week, was thinking heng ah, since is another boy, no need to get diff type :p anyway most of his baby clothes are white colour, so unisex also lah!

Van, how's our dd? going back to school must monitor closely..

confirmed the Indo maid liao, will need more recepi to teach her how to cook simple food.

i think i will leave her at my house for a start. dun want the auntie to come out diff rules spoilt the market.
wait till i go back to office then start the routine to send all to auntie house then bring all back after work.

Choc,annlee,
My dd started her swimming lesson on her 5th birthday December last year.I didn't choose a lady coach for her, as all the coaches currently teaching in my estates are all male instuctor. I am not so particular about female coach for her yet, as I watch on whenever she has her lessons.But for myself, I insisted on getting a femal coach.

I think 5yrs old is a good age to start swimming, as most should probably be able to understand instuction already.

My only problem with dd is she is too playful and talkative, so if I put her in a group lessons, she will be busy playing and talking with the others, so I started her on a one-to-one first. It cost $45 for a 45min session in my estate,but my friend is paying $50 for 45min session,and she has to bring her son to Polo Club to take the lessons.

As for art class, I let her start with RC's art class, its only $40 for 2 months,1 hr each session.She's with the same teacher for about a year plus, only stop end of last year to start her swimming lessions.

Choc,
I don't think the crispy bits in popiah is fried garlic.

Amelia,
Thanks for recommending the site.My PC is still not very stable, yet my portable hard disk also have problem.Think will have to go out and buy a new portable hard disk first.

Don't worry too much about pregnancy age, you are still young acutally.

Sophie,
Photos for us ordinary people, not celebrities, may be not too bad, not worth the effort for those IT genius to crack the password to see us ordinary people,and photoshop them?!

annlee,
I have a Yamaha keyboard to sell, it's only used for 1 year.I bought it at about $300,not sure what is the current 2nd hand price.I thought of checking with her music school's Manager,as she ever offered to help me sell off the keyboard when we bought the piano.

Did any one of you read TODAY's article on our moderator/owner of this site,Chin Leng's write-up?

amelia, you're still young... must jia you!! Don't stress of getting baby ok, just need to jia you jia you every night hee...

My friend is quite poor thing, trying for so long and still can't conceive. Went for details checkup and found that her fallopian tube is stuck so need to go for keyhole surgery and cost alot. But no choice as chances of getting pregnant is good after surgery. Also that her hb sperm count is low too.

van, your dd is so cute..... busy talking during swimming lesson. I think is very good for her to be talkative and seems like she's very sociable at young age. Think in your dd generation or now definitely someone like her to survive in the industry. Look at those indian and ang mo, they speaks so well and super talkative and earn so much... correct me if im wrong. So my hb and I always encourage my ds1 to be talkative and don't be shy. But of course not to stranger.

I don't think I need a keyboard yet cos not sure to let my son go for the lesson or not and he got one to let him play and just in case he'll spoil it.

annlee,
my dd can actually even talk to strangers in the restaurants,playground,shopping malls...Once when we ate out with my neighbour, my neighbour even asked whether those kids in Macdonalds were her friends as she were playing and talking to them like her good friends. But now as she grows older, she tends to be a little bit shy at times.

The problem is,every progress review at her school's parent-teacher session,other than comments that she is sociable,popular,lots of stories to tell,get along with everybody well in the school, teachers also complained that she talked and played when teachers are talking.And the teachers forsee that she will have problem in Primary 1,since the class is bigger, and the teacher might not like someone like her who's so talkative,headache!

You can also consider sending your ds to speech and drama course, if he is not interested in other lessons.It helps to build up their confidence,and be vocal.

Little_cat,
It's good that you self-trained your maid first, and get her used to your set of rules.Your aunty may give contracdictory instuctions to your maid,then it became too confusing for the maid.

Annlee and littlecat,
Thanks for your compliments!

Evelyn Tan is pregnant with 2nd baby? When I watched her show on Sat, she mentioned that she is planning for one. Wow, she is very fertile hor? hehehe...

Van,
I will go and read Today later...btw, I like talkative kids leh..cos i am like that when i am young..hehehe...also talkative kids tend to ask more questions so they can learn more...

Amelia,
Yeah, those shows are all propaganda by the government, just like those newspaper interviews on people with large families... think they interviewed a family with 8 kids sometime ago... all propaganda lah! Don't worry so much - and don't waste time watching that show if it scares you.

Annelise,
For Glory's catering, is their table presentation nice?

Van,
Now you know how kiasu I am!

Choc,
Your baby's mouth really looks like "hum"!
And I agree with LittleCat, your dds look so similar!
If they're any closer in size, I'd think they're twins!

LittleCat,
Glad you settled on your maid thing!
Now can just relax and enjoy the last trimester of your pregnancy!

Eh van, how does chin leng look like ? What article did she write ?

annlee, yah... you can probably start ds with keyboard first.. let him try out yamaha lessons ? How old is he ?

Eh meow,you finally came out ? haha... since didi doesn't know what is pink, let him wear one pc first lah ! Just one pc ... white is more neutral.. I have a few too..

Yah.. leave indo maid in yor house for training first.. at least you set ground rules for her first.

Eh kris, your wedding shots very casual and nice !

Hi Dear All,

Came across this thread and trying to finish reading the past posts.

really alot to catch up and learn fm.

heee.... to all the 'shi fus' here..... hope i am welcome here. ;)

Welcome, "sleeping" cookie monster!

Krisjoy,
You were asking earlier how to delete a post?
I think:
- A post can only be edited within 20mins of posting, so you can always edited it with **deleted post** or something similar.
- Postings, once accepted, cannot be deleted totally i.e. the slot with your name remains there.

Welcome sleeping cookiemonster!

Wah, trying to finish reading the past posts....a lot to catch up leh...hmmmm.that shows that you are a sincere member!

526695.gif

Welcome cookiemonster!!

van, thanks! Will consider speech and drama course.

choc, my ds1 is coming to 4 next month.

sophie and cat tail, just got a korean drama from my sister is called sweet love(snow white) hee... Will ask my sis whether got lobang for millionair.

Choc,
Thanks for your compliments!

Sophie,
Thanks for the note. That means I can't delete liao..cos I left my HP# on a BP spree and thot of deleting it..

Van,
I read the article liao. Finally get to see Chin Leng's 'ru-shan-zhen-mian-mu"

Amelia

I guess its more for warming up the womb...My friends have regular mens too....You may give it a try...not that expensive too

I am having server problems...

Krisjoy,

You received my email?

Van,

Ok.If you still want to check out my flickr, just let me know.

Talkative children do learn more, and I'm sure your dd will tone down when she starts primary 1.

Sophie,

I won't sacrifice my ZZZ time for that show from now on.

Joy,

Thanks. Will ask Eu Yan Seng about it.

Annlee,

I don't really feel stressed out which is why we've decided to TTC only next year or after.

I suspect my hub has low sperm count(too much coffee, smoking and long working hours) too.It's ok, we'll see a gynae about this.

Hi Krisjoy, I've seen pple requesting the moderator to delete their posts at the thread
"How To Improve SingaporeMotherhood.com" For a faster response, maybe you could drop Chin Leng a PM and give him the link to the post that you want to be deleted.

Amelia,
Don't worry so much about your hubby's coffee, smoking and long working hours. I have friends' hubbies who are like that too (chain-smokers somemore), and still manage to conceive. Another closer example is my sis who is a smoker herself, and her hubby who smokes a lot too, and they conceived the month after she stopped her contraceptives! If you want to feel better, and also for your hubby's health, just make him pop a 1000mg of Vit C per day... it's antioxidants, helps to keep body (and hence sperms?) younger, is water-soluble therefore no harm in popping it, and helps in keeping immunity strong too.

As for BFW, I was taking a bit before I got pregnant. But my TCM says it's very heaty, so if you are seeing TCM, you have to let him know and ask him if you can take BFW together with his medication. For my TCM, during the week I take his medicine, I don't take BFW. And I am kiasu too - I don't take BFW during the 2-week-wait after ovulation in case I am pregnant and I don't know what effects BFW have on pregnancy, even though the EYS people will tell you it's safe.

sophie, how u feeling recently?
aiyoh can't relax also lah... this morning wake up at 4+ ( i have this waking up to pee every 2-3 hours interveal) then can't sleep.
think of work (how silly!) and maid issue (worry will have hard time training), and the auntie issue...sigh.. so at the end i think only get back to sleep around 6am, then wake up at 7am. and for the first time, my son came to me and say 'mummy wake up'... normally i am the one who wake him up..

the maid i m getting no experience oversea, only work as maid in indoneisa b4.
from her CV the recruitor also mentioned she has work in hopital for 3 months helping nurse in delivery ward.. so one plus point.

Just learnt that they have converted the temp as perm, similar job title as mine. so, another reason to think of SAHM liao...

Amelia, me also blame him while trying 2nd one haha.. but he refuse to do anything lah of cos..
but it is true even for some man already had first one, due to work stress will affect the sperm count. But it is always good to get a doc to check. sometime just we worry too much.

hey choc, where is your photo? u didn't know the rules meh? mother must appear in the photo too?

starz, eh need your help liao, quick join this thread back!

LittleCat,
Don't worry so much about the maid - cos no matter how "smart" or "not-so-clever" they are, you will still somehow end up worrying when the time comes. So try not waste your energy worrying ahead now! When is your maid coming in and when is your EDD?

You mean your company converted "your" temp to a perm? As in, the temp who is supposed to help out with your work during your maternity leave?
Hmm... maybe the company is expanding so they need another person? After all, the economy has been doing very well for the last 1.5yrs.

Me having sore throat after gorging myself silly with rojak at the Hotel Phoenix high tea buffet on Monday

Amelia,
The email is my home one so can only check tonite. Will let u know

Annelise,
Thanks for highlighting to me...let me check with Chin Leng..

Sophie,
How was your hi-tea at Hotel Phoenix? Is it good?

Krisjoy,
Hotel Phoenix high tea is nothing compared to the Marriott/Goodwood standards - it's mostly local fare and plus on weekdays, not that much variety, but good enough for me and my friend, 2 preggies who shouldn't eat too much at one go.
Laksa was not bad, rojak is very good (my friend says better than some other larger hotels' rojak that she had), they will keep changing the desserts so we had chocolate cake and creme brulee at the beginning; and cake lapis and ang ku kueh towards the end. Other than this, nothing to shout about on the sandwiches and dim sum counter.
With the DBS card 1-for-1 promo on weekdays, we paid only $10 per person so it was better than having coffee/cakes at TCC or Olio Dome.

sophie, he is task to do other programming stuffs as well.. so not really taking over all my job, but while i am away he will take over.
but think of it since he can take over while i am away, that means they can hire a temp to replace me and let him guide the temp?
ok me worrying too much again.. anyway we prepare the 'worst' liao..
already got my hb agreement, if not happy just quit lor.. he said he prefer me staying at home.
They are many things more important than the $$ issue...

aiyoh.. u must be eating too much?
i find for myself during PG not so easily get heaty compare to normal time..
u take care and control abit hor...
how many weeks now?

my original EDD is 8/nov, but doc said baby could be out in end oct.
then my tummy so big, everyone see me like thinking i will be gone any minutes...
i also pai seh, when they ask when is the big day, i just say next month.
so they won't ask too much lor.. this week is 34, at least another 3 to 4 weeks (37/38 weeks) is not considered too early.
my another fren just told me, she got 4 kids, she said hor all the 4 kids pop at the same weeks. so no discount like 2nd one is earlier than first one... chair spoilt my mood only...

LittleCat,
See, if this guy is doing other programming stuff, then he is not a threat to you!
Don't worry about the company hiring another temp etc... it'll take awhile before this guy can learn all the ropes and before the new temp (if the co. decides to hire one) can pick up too.

On the other hand, are you going to take all 3mths ML at one go, or do 2mths first then split the last month into e.g. 2 days per week?
I know some friends do it cos they either can't bear to let go of their work for so long, or cannot trust the temp in case temp screws up everything.

Wow, if baby comes out end Oct, means your baby is growing very well! Anyway, pple say for subsequent pregnancies, tummy is always bigger so don't bother with what pple think!
37/38 weeks is not early... my sis popped at 35 weeks cos she was also getting very big.

Dunno if I am eating too much leh... but feels soooo heaty that I resorted to drinking coconut juice once in a while to cool myself off!
Will try not to eat too much... Now only 19 weeks
Another half of the journey to go!

littlecat, when is your maid coming in? better not to come during your confinement period. That time is for you to rest not walking around to teach her what to do and if got one blur blur one then will irritate you or make you angry... confinement period better don't think too much and get angry. Your indon maid got some experience in delivery ward so will be good that knows how to handle baby.

I'm getting a Indon maid in nov, will prefer experience in oversea or indonesia but not in sg hee..

Think now you can 'tao liang' as you're giving birth soon.

amelia, my hb used to smoke too, but quit smoking when I'm pregnant. He's that kind will do anything for my son, will not let my baby get 2nd hand smoke and also good for him.

sophie, you're like my hb... eat alittle of heaty stuff gets sore throat immediately. And you're pregnant now and will get more heaty, better watch on what you eat. Don't eat too much of belachan or malay food, spicy spicy food, I know you like it rite

Sophie,

I've been hearing BFW regulating menses, haven't heard about warming the womb part.Best is to avoid it during TTC.

Should we try first then see a gynae or see a gynae then try.Everyone around me thinks I should try first, but I will feel better if I have a professsional to guide me.

Vitamin C ah...Let the gynae knock some sense into him first.He thinks conceiving is super easy.

LittleCat,

Your hub and you good lah.For me, I'll likely stop at 1.

You're right.There're many other more important things than money.Don't worry too much."chuan tao qiao tou zi ran zhi".If you decide to be SAHM, you'll just know what to do.

van, I finally saw 'fen ge' at Tiong bahru market. Wanted to get one but not sure what's that for. What does 'fen ge' do for the body?

yeah....never hear from starz for quite sometime or maybe she give birth already??