Cooking Tips & Recipe

Choc,
What is the difference between washable breast pads and disposable breast pads? My sis passed me a pack of disposable breast pads, so do I still need to buy the washable ones?

Also, I bought some tops from motherhood.com, and they come with inbuilt bralet... just an extra pc of cloth with elastic band under the breasts. I find it too hot to wear a strapless bra under this, but don't want to cut off the inbuilt cloth in case the material frays... but also cannot go braless leh, nipple will stand out like dunno-what when in aircon. Do you think I can insert the washable breast pads in it? Somemore, you said the Medela ones got lace... sounds pretty!

How are you going to celebrate your baby's 1-mth? Coming up soon yeah? My sis had hers last Sat, with the full-month celebration catering from Mum's Kitchen... food so-so only.
Her baby is now botak cos they shaved his head and made "mao(2) bi(3)" (caligraphy brushes) out of his hair

Amelia,
Wow, 0909! It's a nice number... my mum's birthday too!
I got married on 31122001... just chose the most convenient date to ROM cos hubby was working in US at that time, and could only make it back to SG around that period

Not sure about the valuation of my flat leh, cos we cannot sell till another 2 more years, so nobody has sold and we don't know the valuation price.

Van,
Hope you've backed up your data!

annlee,
Wow, cabbage rice with belachan chili sounds heavenly! I still don't dare to eat too much vege that cause gas... that day ate long beans, woah, so much gas throughout the night that I cannot sleep! So I guess cabbage rice will be something I will eat only next year! Eh, your dinner for tonight sounds very healthy! You don't like using dried huai shan? I'm quite lazy... sometimes just use dried pack ones.

Here's the citric acid posting by Van, with pictures too. I remember her saying the neighbourhood or $2 shops sell it. DIY shops also sells it, but more exp.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353640/443323.html#POST1776233

Joy,
Yep, Ayam Buah Keluak is the famous authentic Nonya dish... I also like Itek Tim (duck and kiam chye soup).

van, sophie

I found the posting on citric acid for descaling, is for electrical kettle. Do you think I can use that for non electrical kettle?

Joy747, thanks for your advised on overnight cabbage. Chap chai is good to eat overnight then got to reduce them from eating overnight.

hi all , just drop by to say 'hi'...

no energy/no idea to cook during weekend liao :p

now got to settle maid thing and other preparation.. will chat again..

Hi littlecat, good to hear from you! Take care hor!

sophie, i know i know..... what is washable and disposable breast pad cos im using them when BF. Washable pad is washable and can be use again and again. Disposable pads throw them away after one use when is loaded with milk and is convenient when you're out but more exp. You can use the washable pad under the top that you bought just make sure there's something to support it. But i feel that it will be quite warm around the breast area if you use the pad.

sophie, I've never try using dried huai shan on this soup before. I like to eat fresh huai shan, does it taste like dried one cos im using dried huai shan on tonic soup pack from chinese medical hall and never eat them.

Amelia,
Yalor... SLRs take better pictures... Response is faster... I like to use my sis's SLR, with faster response... kekeke.. but I am lazy to carry when I go out... :p I am thinking of upgrading my digicam too. So far, I am surviving with a Pentax only..

choc,
I am having problems with bra now... :p I like to wear bonds bra, but with a breast pad underneath look so ugly.. then if i wear padded bra, I get bad engorgement... Does the shape of the breast pad follow breast shape?

How much is music lesson now? What's the minimum age?

annlee,
You are lucky not having to sit outside the restaurant... lol... imagine people walk pass and keep looking at what you all are eating.. even I make reservations for wah lok, I gotta sit in the extra room..

Wat's the price range for dim sum at golden peony?

happyger,
Peranakan love lace a lot.. so very expensive..

Amelia,
I also think cabbing is better
Cos, can sleep inside the cab and reach our destination when we are tired... :p

Re: Peranakan food
My sis is studying the tourism course now. She said the best peranakan food is in Joo Chiat... But she havent brought me there... :p So far, I tried Ivins at Upper Thomson. It's cheap, food ok only...

happyger,
I think it's "buah keluak"

Sophie,
Wah.. your hubby cycle to work ah... Healthy lifestyle...
I also thought of a weekend car recently.. What car did you get?

Amelia,
I think causeway point crystal jade do not serve la mian.. I just went there two weeks ago... I only saw dim sum and the normal wantan noodle, etc.

Aiyo... so long to catch up.. Think I got no time liao... I just finished my lunch
Very simple one... Boiled sweet corn, broccoli, mushrooms, mee sua soup for lunch.. with a little bit of salt and sesame oil

hmm.. going to the airport for dinner tonite
Gonna host a friend from Austria

Lyn
Have a great dinner at airport tonight..I usually just drop hubby and go...now, best, just drop him at MRT cos no luggage as he said that the train ride and car ride is almost the same when I drive him up and down.....

U are right, many nice peranakan food around joo chiat area but the best is still self cook as we can control the quality of food....

Recently, just discovered one shop in parkway sell quite trendy baba cloths....

Annlee...do not mention, we are all here to

share and learn....

Sophie, I know the ayam...something duck you talked about....I do not like cos its kind of sweet, so I refused to learn the dish...hahaha

LittleCat,
Don't rush about and get stressed over maid and last-minute baby issues... now in your last trimester already right? Must rest well!

annlee,
I think descaling non-electric kettle should be similar? Else can use vinegar cos vinegar is also acidic? I've never tried before, but found some websites here on it... not sure if it works though:
http://www.t-fal.ca/tefal/services/faqs.asp?univers_id=400&dept_id=430 Read Question (8)
http://everything2.com/index.pl?node=vinegar

Oh, if you like to eat the huai shan, then fresh one is better, taste more yam-like. Cos dried ones are in thinner strips.

lyn, Choc, annlee,
I just went to Robinsons and saw the Medela washable breastpads. Very nice with lace and costs $19.90 for 4pcs. But it comes in a standard free size, so I think a bit small to wear just under my tube top... I think will be able to see the 2 "circular padding" perimeter if my top is those T-shirt material. Better to wear under a proper bra then cannot see the 2 circular outline so clearly I think. A friend suggested maybe I go buy those "cups" used in swimsuits type. So I didn't buy in the end.

Also saw a white-colored cot at Robinsons which I like very much... $299 inclu mattress + half bumper + 2 pillows and bolster all in Winnie the Pooh yellow design. But my friend's mum says cannot buy anything till I am past my 7th month of pregnancy, so have "stoppped" myself from buying it at the moment. Will probably wait till year-end Xmas sale.

lyn,
We got a Corolla Altis cos it's the most practical car - good value for money, good fuel efficiency and large boot space for prams, car seats etc. We were looking at Honda Jazz actually, but the boot space is too small... but so stylish! In the end, settled for a practical "uncle" car
Reported in news that LTA just increased the quota (number) for COEs again, so prices of COEs will probably start coming down again in the next 3 to 6 mths time.

Today took MRT to town - I tried to look "ke lian" and rub my tummy, but no one gave up their seats for me!

Joy,
The duck soup, Itek Tim, is not sweet leh... more salty cos of the salted vegetables and of course oily cos of the duck.

Annlee,

Your dinner sounds delicious expecially the shitake mushroom stuffed with minced pork.What's the marinate like?

Sophie,

Have to choose a nice date to get married(ROM) so the husband won't forget(he better not!).Yours is a good number too!31/12 is super easy to remember.

Actually, I like CCK Crescent very much.Not too keen to move.Hope the husband drops the idea of moving.

Most Sgreans won't give up their seats;so niao.

Lyn,

I've compared pictures of digicams and digital SLRs.SLRs pictures are soft and artistic but the downside is it's too bulky.Even my Canon Powershot is bulky..Definitely gonna switch brands.

Thanks for your info on Crystal Jade CWP.

lyn. you mean wah lok will ask us to sit outside??? So funny to sit outside to have the meal. Don't think I will have the meal if they put me outside.
At Golden Peony I'm not sure about the price range, only know is around $60+ for 2 person only for dim sum no side dish.

sophie, hahahah... you so cute, followed me and be ke lian to get the seats. Those ppl are very cruel, see you rub your tummy still didn't gave you the seat, must box them. Maybe I got the ke lian look that why can get the seat kekeke...

Thanks for the website, is very informative! I will use vinegar for my kettle, many thanks to u!

I got those cups for from the swimsuit, just take note to fit in the exact right place or it will move to the side without realising it. How about using those nipple shield?

Amelia, I marinated mince pork with soy sauce, corn flour and pepper, very simple. I also add chopped spring onion mix with mince pork. Before I steam, I add some sesame oil on each of the mushroom. The mincepork must add water when marinating or else it will turn quite hard after steaming the meat. Look abit like dim sum hee..

sophie,
I am having big headache when I go out every time. I cannot wear those nice clothes cos of the bra
Sometimes, I spent time changing bra after bra... lol... Last time is headache of clothes, now actually headache on bra! I cannot wear padded bra, which I have many, cos my breasts will be very engorged with blocked ducts. So, I wear the Bonds one, and it's not strapless, and can see the "print" of the breastpads

Oh, Corolla Altis is good also
More fuel economic...

hmm... You took the MRT during the day time? Last time, I felt that the worst time to take the MRT for preggie is during the day time... lol...

annlee,
Did you see tables set up outside the restaurant?? I saw people actually have to sit outside to dine.. cos they are too packed...
Your stuffed mushrooms sounds dim sum...

Din log in yesterday cos was on sick leave. My body rashes is getting worse and i am scratching them so badly that i can't sleep at nite
So went to gynae and he prescribed some oral medication to control and itch and since the medicine causes drowsiness, it is also easier for me to get to sleep. So i am now back to work

Sophie,
My car is also Toyota Altis. When we bought it, we also considered the mileage it can give us and apparently, this is one of the most fuel-economical car around. Also, we bought it when the COE was quite low so it is quite worth it lor..

Btw, anyone knows if Robinsons sales has started? I still have some little items to get...

Krisjoy

Take care....

Amelia

All are quite silent today....

Anyone celebrating mooncake festival...thinking about it as its more for my older gal to have fun....there again, its actually exam coming up soon....

Krisjoy,

Your rashes cleared up?

I'm not sure whether Robinson's sales started...but year end sales are probably more attractive.

Eh lyn, same problem as you ! The breast pads under the nursing bra can be quite obvious .. the medela one is contoured( shapes the breast a little), not much of the padding can be seen, yet to try out with more fitting t shirts..
me headache too.. can't wear light colured t shirts.. and nursing bras got no support too( n the br sag very fast

What's Bond's bra? Is it padded ?

My friend wore the normal padded bra after about 6 months and will flip it up to nurse her bb.. but not very discrete bcos the bra goes to the top.. unless you go to a corner to nurse bb.

JMC ( for 4-6 yr olds)is about 220 for 3 months and 1 hr per week and requires one parent to sit in with child for the lessons.
For 2-3 yrs old, there is "music wonderland" course ,for 4-5 it's "Little notes"
I think they teach the little ones appreciation of music, using tambourine, castenates, etc..

Eh soph, I normally wear the washable pads at home cos the disposable ones are quite expensive... If not much of a leakage, the washable pads are good enough.. but they can be quite obvious under t shirts..
Haven't tried the motherhood tops, can it be worn for nursing ?

Hehe.. not celebrating bb's one month.. just giving cake cards only.. dunno how to clean up after the buffet ! Wah.. your sis' bb got "extra" hair for mao bi .. can her bb donate some hair to mine ?

Sorry to digress from makan..

Joy and Amelia,
Gynae said rashes will only go off after delivery so now no choice got to tahan. Can only depend on medication and cream...

I've celebrated the mooncake festival with my hb's family last sunday. We ordered food and eat mooncakes and it is more like a family reunion. Will be celebrating with my family this Thurs.

lyn, Amelia & all dim sum craze,
Been following ppl eating dim sum so can do some food review. Heehee...

For Tung Lok dim sum buffet, pls check it out at the Teahouse at ChinaSquare. The food is not bad & it's cheap. The only thing is u may not have many varieties, just the common dim sum. But what the heck lah with such cheap price.
http://www.tunglok.com/index2.html
Noble House oso serves nice dim sum.

As for Yum Cha, so so leh. I think I like the Ka Po better & their specialty is Big Pao, so juicy. Red Star leh, very HK style but I dun like.

Amelia,
Good morning! Hee, yes, had a good dinner at mum's place last night, so woke up pretty late today

Krisjoy,
When I went to Robinsons yesterday, I didn't see any sales. Also have not received any mailers on their sales although I heard some girls mention they are having sale this week.

Choc,
Come to think of it, I think Motherhood tube tops can be used for nursing... just pull the elastic band of the tube down if you don't mind exposing the breast.

But for real nursing tube tops, I've seen these Bellithots tubes in a shop before:
http://www.bellithots.com/index.php?action=catalog&item=247&ps=&item_listPage=
See the band under the bust area? It can actually be lifted up so that you can breastfeed from there.

My sis' baby's hair doesn't look like a lot leh, but somehow, they can make 2 mao bis out of it! You haven't posted your baby's pic to show us?

lyn. I didn't see any table outside or I'm early that day for brunch.

krisjoy, my sister got rashes during preggie, also very itchy and sometimes got hives too. She gets more on the last stage of pregnancy. My sis rashes go away after confinemnent.

cat tail, Is the ka po restaurant at chinatown? I went to Tak Po at chinatown they sells big bao too.

Check with you gals, is it ok to give mooncake after mooncake festival as I'm visiting my in-law on Sunday and mooncake festival falls on Friday.

annlee,
I think it depends on how "ngiao" or "pantang" your in-laws are.
I know my mum does not like to celebrate anything late i.e. birthdays etc can be celebrated early but cannot be later than actual date.
Asked her why, but she just says "CANNOT!"

So I normally give her mooncakes or anything before the actual date.

Soph, yah.. kept forgetting to ask ang to teach me how to download the pics from the cam to the comp ! Will try to remember.. got amnesia liao !

Wah.. pull down the top, I don't dare lah.. Unless I wear a cardigan..I'll flip from bottom to nurse bb..

Kris, sounds like your rashes are quite bad ! Is it allergy ? Maybe it's the heat ? Take care !

sophie, yah.... about birthday I also prefered to celebrate early not late, not sure about those festival. In that case I will not give any mooncake to my in-law cos my MIL also quite pantang.

Krisjoy,

How many weeks are you at now?Sorry you have to tahan till delivery.Try to keep yourself occupied and not think about it.

I just eat mooncakes(like a morsel)..not exactly a celebration..my family is not really into traditions except for CNY.

Enjoy your celebration on thursday.

Cat_tail,

Tung Lok at ChinaSquare sounds more accessible than Red Star at Chinatown.Will pay Tung Lok a visit.

Thanks for all your dim sum suggestions.

Sophie,

So lucky to have someone cook for you!
I was discussing with my hub last night about ordering tingkat for the first 3 or 4 months of pregnancy so I don't have to rush about preparing dinner.

The designer behind Bellithots was featured in Cleo many months back.

I cannot stand all the pantang-ness..Think I will not ask my mil to participate in my confinement else I may fling myself off the building.

annlee, choc and Amelia,
Thanks for your concern
I am now 32 weeks. My rashes started off with only the lower tummy. Now it has spreaded to waist, thighs and calves. My skin is already the sensitive kind so I guess now it is worse. Hopefully will go away during confinement like annlee's sister.

Krisjoy

I think this is due to hormonal changes...sure it will go away...hang in there and you take care...I know how itch can affect a person....

annlee,
If cannot make it in time for mooncake, just give a small token angbao for your MIL?

Choc,
Don't rush and don't get stressed over the uploading of pics... take your time!

Krisjoy,
Hope your rash is better.
Just checking - you didn't use any new products on your tummy right? E.g. stretchmark creams etc. Cos my nurse told me using new products may cause allergy as the skin is more sensitive during pregnancy thanks to the hormones. So she advised not to use any "new" products, but just keep to our usual pre-pregnancy moisturiser... cos she said allergies can start at any time.

Amelia,
I also thought of ordering tingkat before - last Sunday's papers had a feature on it. But then afraid of eating the same "style" over and over again, even thought the menu changes.

Bellithots designs quite nice huh? Plus their website also very classy, not like some other messy and more cheena ones.

Krisjoy

Hope you and the rest of them had a good lunch too...me usually skip lunch but take dinner...I just got back from parkway and had a bubble tea,my all time favourites.....

Sophie,
No leh, i did not change my cream. The rashes just developed when I reached my 3rd trimester. Hormonal changes can be a strange thing...

Amelia and Sophie,
Nothing beats home-cooked food. My MIL orders from Tingkat for a few years already. To be honest, I am quite sick of their food. Somehow, it has the metal tingkat taste but I have no choice but to eat it. They deliver to our place at about 3 plus everyday so u can imagine what time they have started to prepare the food. By the time we heat it up for dinner, all the nutrients are gone...

Joy,
U like bubble tea? Have you tried the one at Bugis Junction? It is a tiny eating place where they serve food as well. The bubble tea there is slightly more expensive but they are really nice and fresh

Just came back from my son dentist appointment. My son bites the food too hard and broke his teeth, end up a hole inside one of his teeth. Filling was done for him 2 weeks ago and came off 2 days ago so went back to do the filling again. Luckily they did not charge me or I will make noise over there hee...

Also just went to Ah chew to have dessert. I ordered steam egg for my son and mango sago for me. Didn't know the dessert can make my stomach so bloated, think they added coconut milk in mango sago.

sophie, oh.. can give ang bao but think shld be ok not to give mooncake cos they're easy one and my hb told me my in-law don't like mooncake too.

krisjoy, the bubble tea at bugis is it Rockery, next to escalator? Their bubble is also quite good. There's another one near cold storage at bugis call sweet... something, always long queue mostly teenager.

Sophie and Krisjoy,

I thought tingkat comes in disposable microwaveable plastic containers these days.Or at least it's so for Neo Garden.

Yah, eating Tingkat for a few years can be rather dull.After a few months, you're able to predict what they'll serve next.I intend to order maybe 1st 3 to 4 months of pregnancy and during the confinement.It won't be a long term thing.

Krisjoy, perhaps you can suggest to MIL to tabao instead?

Sophie,

Her designs are pretty.

annlee,
The bubble tea is near to Rockery, called the Tea Hut. I think they model it after Taiwanese concept. They only have dine-in, no take-away.

Amelia,
Microwaveable containers come with extra charge so I guess that is why my MIL sticks to tingkat version. My MIL is already 77 yrs old so it is a bit inconvenient for her to tapao everyday...so tingkat to her is the best choice. She only needs to cook plain rice...

No sweat soph ! Will remember to download when my mind and hands are free..

Eh Kris, sounds like the itch is due to the skin being stretched..
my friend showed me her tummy full of red rashes and even her arms during her third tri.. She told me they really itched and she got to keep applying cream and stay cool..

Saw the tingkat article too.. very tempted to try the paranakan food ! I ordered a a 5 days trial for 50 bucks( forgot which company) and got so sick of it aft 3 days.. and they came as early as 3.30pm

Finally able to use my crashed PC after hb did some rescue work.SOME data are lost, and ALL the programs need to be re-installed.
526062.gif

Choc,
I will probably let dd continue with JXC, cousin and niece who have gone thru it said it's more fun for the kids then 1-to-1 lessons,and most importantly, I only have 1 dd to take care of, so it's not as troublesome as compared to you, need to sit-in with DD2 and take care of DS3.

Amelia,
I ordered Tingkat from Tong Jiang during the last 2 months of my pregnancy.The food arrived quite early at about 5.30pm.They used the metal container,by the time I came home from work, the green vege turned yellowish, the pork dishes had awfull smell, I was sick of it. During those days when I was on MC at home, and got to eat it as soon as they arrived wasn't so bad though.

Hey....you have good news is it?

Have u gals read the ST Life's Top 8 Popiah? The No.1 looks good, can see the prawns in the filling. So tempted to try it. Nowadays, those popiah hardly have any prawns and lup cheong inside, yet it's so expensive!

Haven't seen SP,Starz,Annelise for quite some time huh???

Good to hear from you van .. buzy ar ? How's Ber ? Went to sch boh? dd2 says she wants to attend JMC and swimming lessons, so got to juggle that.. Has Ber started hanyu pinyin ? Mine struggling with it now..

Have not eaten prawns in popiah for a long long time too.. had a popiah lunch party with my ex colleagues last time .. wah.. very satisfying and healthy , tho the popiah was unskillfully wrapped..

Choc,
ya, very busy...dd going to school next week, but will bring her to school for a short while this Thurs to practise her concert dance,rehearsal will be this Saturday, and actual concert next week,yet her teacher going to make some changes, so very rush. She has started Hanyu Pinyin for a few months already, now her Ting1 Xie3 comprise both the Hanyu Pinyin and Chinese characters.

Is your DS1 taking swimming lessons? Where is it and how many children in a group? My dd may have to wait for another few weeks before PD will give green light for her to do her ballet,swimming,and golf.

annlee,
So your in-laws are the same as mine... they don't really celebrate the Chinese festivals. So I am thinking that instead of buying them unhealthy overly sweet mooncakes, might as well give them an angbao instead... so old liao, shouldn't be eating such sweet stuff!

I didn't know Ah Chew Mango Sago has coconut milk - maybe that's why it's so thick and creamy. I normally order the papaya with white fungus + steamed egg

Krisjoy, Amelia,
I think for tingkat, whether it's in metal or plastic containers, I find that there is a "food smell" in it after having been cooked and stored for a few hours before we eat it, so not very appetising. I think 2 times a week is OK, but everyday is too much for me. Van's description is lagi worse... I hate yellowish vegetables!

Choc,
The Peranakan tingkat does look good hor? But no matter now much I like Peranakan food, I still cannot imagine myself eating it everyday... like today, got sore throat, then very hard to eat spicy food.

Van,
Did you back up your data in a portable harddisk? I do it cos my harddisk is not very stable too... once in a while, I get a blue screen that says "Operating System not Found" which scares me! I'm especially kiasu when it comes to my photographs - I make a copy of them in CD and another backup in the portable harddisk.

Yes, I was eyeing the Popiah on the papers! The No. 1 is the Joo Chiat one right? Looks really yummy, but Joo Chiat a bit leychey to get to without cat, and with car, difficult to find parking during weekends.

Van,
Yes, I read the article about popiah..have only tried Qi Ji's version. Was thinking of ordering the skin from Qi Ji if I organise a popiah party next time. But heard that the one at Joo Chiat is good...

Choc,
Agree - nothing beats home-made ones cos you can add those stuff that you like
My friend organised one sometime last year and although it is only popiah, we were so stuffed by just eating a few pieces. Guess we were greedy cos all our popiah fat fat one..hehehe..

Sophie,
I just bought mooncake for my aunt from Lot 1.Saw that Harbour City Restaurant's mooncakes have sugarless version,they also claimed that their Not-so-sweet Mooncakes and Moontarts have 20% less sugar. I almost wanted to buy the sugarless version for my cousin's wife,cos she is diabetic, but the promoter didn't offer me any samples to try, so Ngiao!

I have a portable hardisk, but the portable harddisk isn't very stable, so I didn't do back-up regularly.Think I got to buy another big capacity portable harddisk. I got lots of photos too.Do you know of any sites that give free storage space for files? CDs and portable harddisk also not very safe.

I will probably go and try the No.1 Popiah when hb is on leave on a weekday, headache of the parking problem too!

About Mid-Autumn celebrations... my estate usually has celebration which come with a goodie bag with lantern,water and mini-mooncake.There are mooncake tasting and sometimes performances as well.Kids will carry lantern and walk around the estate followed by sparklers. Sometimes I'll bring my dd to my cousin's place in Bt Panjan where the kids carry lanterns and play with sparklers together.

GTG now, taking the mooncake to my aunt's place.

van, I'm getting Harbour city mooncake for my mum as her sugar level is quite high. I went to have a look at the mooncake just now and you're right they didn't offer any sample for me too. Breaktalk keep pushing the sample to me but i don't want so no choice let my son have it.

Would like to check with you, what spatula you're using for your anodised wok? I find metal spatula got very irritating sound while using that on the wok

Van,
I don't know any online sites for storing data leh... hmm, I don't trust them! I used to work in an IT company, and you'll be amazed at what the geeks can do even if you have a password. So kiasu me as usual would never store my files online. My portable harddisk is a brand called Prestigio with 40MB space - I've been using it for 3 years liao, and still no problem with it. I try not to move it around too much i.e. I just place it in my cupboard when not using. When I am backing up, I try not to move it at all.

Think I saw Harbour City Mooncakes at the J8 Mooncake Fair too... heard from friends it's not bad. Yep, no samples for some, especially those durian ones! Hee... I was looking forward to sampling the Goodwood durian ones, but also no samples.

My mum is also diabetic - even though I got her a box of mooncake + small angbao, I still warned her not to eat too much lah... dunno what they put in sugarless ones... too much of those Equal or saccharin-type of sweeteners is also no good for the body.

Hi everyone, thanks, I'm better now - although my lymph nodes are still a bit puffy and I don't feel 100% recovered. Will see my ENT dr if the lymph nodes are still swollen by the end of this week.

I tried the Glory poh piah 2 months ago and the skin is really tasty and yummy! The liao also very generous but it doesn't have that sweetish crispy stuff that some poh piahs have - what exactly is that anyway?

I too had to endure tingkat food during the first few months after both confinements. The food can be quite nice on some days - guess it depends on the cook's mood!

Speaking of mooncakes, I never liked eating them until recently. I love the white lotus paste mooncakes from Hotel Intercontinental! The paste is really smooth and not too sweet - I ate 2 boxes of the double yolk when I was pg with my dd2! Even my fussy dd1 likes it too.

Hi choc, where are you sending your dd2 for swimming? I'm thinking of starting my dd1 on lessons too. My friend's kids have been learning from this middle aged lady for the past year and seems that she's quite good with kids.

Hi Van, good to know that your dd is well and will be going back to school next week

Gotta go...need to prep dinner...catch up with y'all later!

sohie, yeah...is true that those artificial sugar no good for the body and although the mooncake is sugarless but still fattening cos of the oil content hor... I used to take alot of equal when not marry to maintain my weight but stopped after reading their bad reviews. So now change to those sugar make of fruits and less calories too.

choc, would like to check with you about your dd learning music. How is dd progress of learning the music now or what has she learn? I'm thinking of letting my ds1 to learn music or art.

annelise,
Glad that you are recovering
Where did u try Glory's popiah? Cos I only know they have a branch at East Coast and it is too far for me leh..btw, do u know if they sell the skin as well?