Cooking Tips & Recipe

Littlecat,
Where is the Ramen Ramen in Bt Timah located? you are funny, even think of pretty girls in the restaurant.

annlee,
Tian Qi and Tian Ma are totally different things,also look very different. Tian Qi reduce blood clotting time, stop bleeding etc. Whereas Tian Ma is for pains and aching.

Chua,
I used to make bread after attending Phoon Huat's baking class, but the bread didn't turn out well ,may be didn't knead enough. Did you add bread improver to your bread?

Thanks for recommending the book, will go and look for it when I go Popular.

kakis,

BTW, we have a lunch gathering next Friday, 14 July, look up SAHM thread in Temporary Holding Place for details.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353635/389844.html?1152155742

Hello kakis!

Havent seen Sophie in a long time..

LittleCat,

You're so cute!People must love being around you!

Which part of Bukit Timah is Ramen Ramen restaurant?I had Ajisen 2 weeks back with the husband at lot1.The food(eel rice, mayo prawns, crispy chicken, gyoza and ramen) was acceptable but forgetable.Doubt we'll be repeat customers.7 years ago when i first tried them, i felt the same way.7 years on, my opinion still hasnt change.Sorry if i sounded too harsh:p

Chua,

Thanks for scanning it.
I vaguely remember seeing this cookbook.I will drop by Popular again to check it out.

Van,

Me not mother leh...cannot join the gathering

kakis,
Guess what? I have bought my 2nd Thermal pot! I bought the La Gourmet 2.5L for $69.00.Saw the 2.5L Thermos Brand at Tangs selling at close to $200,that's too expensive for a pot that size!

The outer pot of this 2.5l La Gourmet looks like the 1.8L Endo ones.

The size is good for broiling herbal soup for 1 to 3 servings, also good for boiling small pot of soup for myself and dd when hb is not home for dinner.

So far I have tried boiling a few types of soup in it. Today I even tried braised soya sauce chicken with mushrooms, and cooking rice in the additional tray that comes in it. I was quite sceptical that rice can be cooked this way, since steaming would need 20minutes, at high fire. Surprisingly,it's cooked!

I did notice,though, this one is not as good as keep the food piping hot, like the TIger ones. When I open up the soup in Tiget pot, still can see smoke coming out, whereas this La Gourmet one, the soup is not as hot.

As my girl loves braised peanuts, I'll be using this to make braise peanut for her, and other braised dishes.

ooi Van, can not go leh got to work on friday ... u gals enjoy yourself

When i finally become SAHM will join u gals!

van/amelia, it is at the Railway mall.
if u guys can take Ajisen ramen then this is much better. My hb dun like the Ajisen ramen that's why he so scare when i said want to go on last thursday.
Frankly i Agreed with u on the comments on Ajisen.. hehe u can say they are 'consistent' standard never change! haha!

I came to knew this shop thru TV program u know one of those channel 8 show, i think last year program. but only now then have a chance to try it! They have the shark fin one also $28 i think. But so far only try the basic Ramen, it is called ahem "Ramen-Ramen Ramen". $7.90.
very long name hor? but u can't say "Ramenx3" wait they give u 3 bowls...

littlecat,
Story ah... hahaha... my boy quite cranky now wor
Just fed him and he fell asleep. Put him on bed, his eyes big big...
I am going to make passport for him
Then next weekend, we will bring him to JB.

chua family...
hee.. got... I take photos for him almost everyday. I forgot to take pictures of his "drumstick".. lol... his drumsticks seems to be growing very fast. hahaha...

later will post pic.. now go attend my crying baby...

Why today so quiet....

Hi Van,
I did add bread improver but still turn hard the day after.Heard of this bread softener too but is it the same as bread improver?
Yesterday,went to Suntec Carrefour & bought the BlueSky bread machine for $59.90.Many of other forum recommended this brand so bought & try out my first loaf of white bread yesterday using RedMan White Bread Premix.It's very easy.

I cooked "Fen Ge" w Small Red Beans Soup fm the soup bk yesterday too.

Ingredients:
400g "Fen Ge"(peeled,cut into pcs)
300g Spare Ribs
50g small red beans"chi xiao du"(soak into water for 20 min)
4 honey dates
1 small pc of tangerine peel(about 5g)
2500ml water

Seasoning:
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp monosodium glutamate(optional)
1/2 tbsp light soy sauce

Method:
Blanch spare ribs into boiling water for a moments.Remove & drain well.
Put spare ribs,"Fen Ge" & the rest of the ingredients into a deep pot.Pour water & bring to boil.Cover,cook over a low heat for 3 hrs.Lastly,blend in seasoning & mix well.Remove fm heat & serve at once.

van thanks for the info on La Gourmet pot.
so there is a diff between this and the tiger.

chua, did u go to the Jurong Lake garden yet? wow it is huge and nice leh!
that day brought my son there, but abit late in the morning quite hot.
saw someone fishing then my son keep asking can he go fishing.. aiyoh..

annelise, where r u? watch too much world cup?
remember to drink more liang-teh hor!
my hb also, he scare, already ask me to make the chrysanthemum+yang-sin-chiu for him to drink.
Anyway Monday morning last show liao, world will be 'peace'...

Van,

Didnt realise it's on friday.I have work assignment next week and it may spill over to the weekends.Feel tired just thinking of it.The cafe you are going sounds good, i am very tempted.

LittleCat,

Railway mall is near Van and my home, wouldnt mind checking that place out.
Yah, I noticed that area has many pretty girls.Rich man estate hehe!Saw lotsa tai-tais shopping there in designer top to toe..

Chua,

The bread machine is cheap!

Hello ladies !
I'm back to civilisation .. Wah.. looks like you all have been cooking alot huh ..

Yo van, yah.. my la gourmet thermal pot also got no steam coming out from soup also.. but my sis' one, chapalang brand has steam coming out from her soup.. very envious !
Wah.. can make braised chicken ! I must try for my confinement ! Did you just stir fry the chicken , add water then put into the pot ?

I'll be going to si ma lu also to buy herbs.. dunno where is it.. heard it's cheap.. thanks for the directions!

Hey chua, I also have the alex goh's bread recipe book, Tried a few recipes, yah.. my bread turned out hard too ! Went to learn from PH, tried also, better a little, but still tough, think I got no kung hu to knead the dough.

How did your bread machine go ? A friend made bread using the machine and the bread is so soft and yummy.. very tempted to buy too ..

Yo cat, how you feeling now? My pelvic and back going to break soon ! Now, you have more appetite huh ? So what ho liao you cooking to bu ?

Hey lyn, how you coping ? So who's doing cooking for you now ?

Eh anne, where have you been ? Sleeping day time and waking up at night to watch soccer is it ?

Finally got a new monitor!

Went to MOE's Excel Fest 2006 at Bt Panjan Pri Sch to attend a course on Using Model to teach Maths.Hopefully can help my girl when she goes to Pri Sch.

chua,
I remember there are two types of bread improver sold at Phoon Huat,the chef instructor did explain to us the difference, but I forgot liao. It's stated on the packing label, you can check it out if you go Phoon Huat.

My bread is not too hard, but it's not fluffy enough,may be becos I didn't knead unitl it's elastic enough?

Your bread machine at$59.90 sounds like a good buy,what is the capacity?

Choc,
I made braised soya sauce chicken wings yesterday. My ang said it's very good, chicken very tender and "ru wei". I stir fried in a wok first, transfer to inner pot,add water, boil, then transfer to thermal pot.

I asked the market stall people to chop the chicken wings to smaller pieces,so that it could fit into my La Gourmet better,and thinking that small pieces make it cook more "through".

I will be using it to cook braise Chap Chye and braise peanuts next week.

What is the your sis's chapalang brand thermal pot? I cook a pot of soup with Tiger and braise dish with La Gourmet at the same time, when open up after 3 hours, can see the difference, Tiget one still have smoke coming out.

Hey, you gals can try adding fried cuttle fish strips and fried whole shallots to braise soya sauce chicken, it's very "pang".

Oh, Just found out that there are two types of Dried Sea Coconut. The African Sea Coconut (Fei Zhou Hai Di Ye) cost $30 for Yi4 Liang3,whereas China Sea Coconut Cost $4 for Yi4 Liang3.So huge difference!

Apparently, the one I bought from Yew Tee is the cheap one.

Choc...
Welcome back to civilization... lol...
My mum cooks for me during the weekdays, and my MIL during the weekend. Today, I ate durian for lunch... lol... I think durian can cause constipation in my boy. Last Sat, I also ate durian for lunch and dinner, then he had a hard time "gek" his "sai". Today also like that...

I think breastfeeding is a very nice feeling... I like to see baby gazing at me with his big eyes when feeding. I lie down and feed at nite, so I dun feel so tired... before he finishes his feed at nite, I am already asleep... :p

Van,
Wah... So much difference in the dried sea coconut ah...

Eh van, the chapalang brand is a picture of a lady cooking happily.. haha.. my sis says it's made in Korea.

Your braised chicken sounds very yummy.. so you marinade the chicken first ? wah.. good idea to add in dried cuttlefish ! I also like the chewiness of the cuttlefish! what style is this ?

For your chap chye, do you use the fermented bean curd, Fu yu is it ?

If you want to learn the model approach in solving maths, look for Dr Fong Ho Keong's model approach and the Heuristics method in Popular.. Some of the ridiculous, mind boggling questions are from these 2 books.

Eh lyn, your bb gek sai aft you eat durians, I overate chilli padi during bf and bb's backside was ang ang !
So nice to bf bb hor .. and smelling bb..
So what soup did you drink for conf ? I scared my conf nanny don't know how to po thong .. I like soup everyday.
My friend's nanny bought lots of fish bones, fried them and made soup for her.. didn't know this kind of soup existed !

Choc,

I drink lotus root soup daily... lol... Very easy to boil and very good to "bu".

Ingredients:
Lotus root,
black beans,
red dates,
black dates (sometimes),
pork ribs.

I only drank once the papaya soup with pork ribs. I think the lotus root soup can help in breast milk supply...

LittleCat,
I went to Prime supermarket at Bt Batok Blk 153/155 area.Also can't find the Dou Su anymore.Hope it's just temporarily out of stock.

Choc,
I usually marinate the chicken first for other types of soya sauce chicken dish.But for this particualr one that I tried the first time, I didn't,since I am using thermal pot to cook.

Here's the recipe:

Braised Chicken with Mushrooms
1/2 Kampong chicken,chopped. (I used fresh chicken wings,chopped into small pieces)
100g whole shallots,peeled.
10g cuttlefish strips
10 slices ginger
10 slices Mushroom,soaked till soft
100g canned button mushroom
700ml water or chicken stock

Seasoning:
3 tbsp oyster sauce
1 tsp sugar
1 tbsp Shao Xing Wine
1/4 tsp pepper
1 tbsp light soya sauce
1/2 tsp dark soya sauce

1. Deep fry shallots and shredded cuttlefish strips separately until golden brown.Dish up and drained.Put aside.

2.Saute ginger till fragrant, add in chicken pieces, stir fry until color of meat changes.

3. Pour in water and seasoning,bring to boil. Add in pre-fried shallots and cuttlefish,stir. Add in mushrooms,stir weel(If using thermal pot, transfer to thermal pot and bring to boil) Cover and braise for 25minutes or until the sauce thickened.

For my Chap Chye, I didn't use Fu Yu, cos my Hakka Ang not use to eating Fu Yu.

You found your Confinement nanny already? What dialect group is she? If Canotonese normally good at cooking soup.

I heard of frying fish bones then cook soup with it,got to put lots of ginger, if not very fishy smell. Some restaurants in HK actually use whole Red Snapper Fish,fried first then use it to boil soup, Very Zhong Ben.

Thanks for recommending the two books.Will go get it.

lyn,
I heard the papaya soup very good for milk supply,supposedly better than lotus roots leh.

Check out this site for confinement dishes (In Chinese):

http://www.5721.net/Pregnant/morelist/News54.shtml

Eh hello?
So quiet today..

The absolute cheapest baking supplies are from Phoon Huat, right? I am new to baking so am not intending to invest too much $.What are the ok brands for cake tins and cookie trays?

Van,

The dishes u prepare are delicious and varied..your daughter and hub very lucky!
Sea coconut is used for desserts?

Amelia,
Ya,don't know why so quiet today.
kao_confused.gif

Phoon Huat may not be the cheapest in terms of baking tins and trays. Some houseware shops in HDB estates are cheaper.The one at Linbang,there is one at Bt Gombak near Fu Hua,one at Bt Batok near fruit stall and Guardian, all selling at good prices. Don't need to go for "branded" tins and trays.

My hb and dd are both fussy eaters,very hard to please. but once they like a particular dish, they can keep eating the same dish,never got sick of it.

I used the sea coconut for boiling soup to cure my cough.My cough almost recovered but I am too Tam Jia,ate the Arnotts chocolate biscuits that my neighbour gave,then the cough came back and got worse,so got to boil more soup.

Oh, sea coconut is "liang"?I didn't know that.What's in your sea coconut soup?You seem to have lots of soup ideas hor.

I am also very tam jia, bueh kim chwee.I finished the entire pack of oreos and got high fever whole of last week.Still drinking milo as i type this haha! I am incorrigible!!Are you hokkien btw?

Yah, very difficult to cook for both kids and adults.Husbands normally prefer more meat and fat while kids' palates are more bland, not easy to achieve a middle ground.

You tried grocery shopping at Sheng Shiong ten-mile junction?They may carry the dou-su you're talking about.

Amelia,
Hey, Milo is very heaty,if you can get fever from Oreos, better cut down on Milo.I control my dd's intake of Milo as well,doesn't allow her to drink more that 1 cup per day.It also trigger phlegm.

Ya,I am Hokkien.But I don't really speak Hokkien very fluently.Guess you must be Hokkien too?

I drank sea-coconut soup in HK, and it soothes my throat after that.So when I am back in Singapore,I tried searching info about the effect of sea coconut.Apparently it's good for cough.

I Added Huai Shan,dried longan, nan bei xin,wu hua guo,bai he and honey dates to my soup.

Other than drinking during dinner time, I drank another bowl just before I slept.Even hb commented that I didn't cough so badly last nite.

I went Sheng Shiong at ten-mile junction once, find that it's very small compared to the one at Woodlands Centre.Have they expanded already?

good morning!

van,
glad to hear yr cough is better. yr sea coconut soup has a lot of nutricious ingredients, hehe.

amelia,
huh, fever 1 whole week, so poor thing! ya, milo is quite heaty, don't drink so much as u just recovered.

last nite I tried this easy orange cake recipe, it works!!! so happy...

Easy orange cake

A
1 cup flour
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 cup white sugar

B
1/4 cup milk
1/4 cup orange juice
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 eggs, beaten
3/4 tsp grated orange zest

1. Preheat oven at 350F (175C)
2. Sift A into large bowl and stir in sugar
3. Make a well and put B inside, stir till combined.
4. Bake till done

Made 6 cupcakes. I used the zest of 1 small orange as I felt 3/4 tsp too little.

Oh Van, i just can't find fresh sea coconut in the market,does sheng siong sell sea coconut?

Now weather is quite bad,rain sunny and rain. My son is sick for four days down with fever,flu and cough, haiz... he's just got the cough yesterday and i cook zhi ke tang for him.

My zhi ke tang got Ju bing, wu hua kuo,nan bei xing.
Is my ingredient good enough,any better recommendation?

Hi lyn,
Are you doing your confinement right now?
My confinement nanny used to steam small green hawaii papaya add milk inside and cook green papaya peanut fish soup to increase my milk supply.

I've read somewhere says that lotus is consider 'liang' food so is better to check first if you're doing confinemnt

annlee,
I got my fresh sea coconut from Prime at Bt Gombak.Sometimes I also find it at Linbang wet market. Haven't seen it in Sheng Siong.

The ingredients in your Zhi Ke Tang are the normal ones for treating cough.The one sold at Fu Hua also has similar combination,but they added Chuan Bei,which is also for cough(remember Chuan Bei Pi Pa Gao?)

Kakis,
NUS has two Chinese Medicine courses starting soon,one of them:

http://www.nus.edu.sg/nex/pepe00113.htm

Several years ago, I was VERY interested in these courses,put my name on their waiting list, but they never get back to me, then I got pregnant and forgot about it totally.

Read about it in yesterday's newspaper. Haven't make up my mind to sign up or not....7 Saturday afternoon...

yes im interested but got to sacrifice alot of saturday and discuss with my hubby first cos i want him to pay kekeke

hello van & annlee :
u two should go, since u gals already know all the chinese herb. for me i only recognise a few :p

van, can pregnant woman take sea coconut?
any sweet sea coconut receipi?

btw u just bought a new monitor? LCD type or? how much u paying? i have a desktop at home with those huge bulky monitor, feel like changing it to the flat screen type so can let my son use for games.

LittleCat,
I also feel like going to the course but so many Saturday afternoons leh...

I guess shouldn't be any problem for pregnant lady to take sea coconut,after all it's not even herbs.But take in moderation.

I don't have any sweet sea coconut recipe.....yet.

My hb bought the Philips LCD monitor at $399 from Sim Lim Square.

Hi everyone. Sorry I haven't had time to log in - no time to update the database either
. My dd2 has been down with flu and fever since last Thursday until now - I haven't slept well for one whole week - worse than during World Cup!

Does anyone have difficulties getting your kids to drink meds? My dd1 never had a prob with meds - with dd2, I'm at a total loss. I used to put into her milk but sometimes she can't finish the feed. Yesterday her fever was very high so I had to force feed her - felt so bad. Is there a less traumatic way of giving them the meds? She will take a few sips voluntarily but after that she'll start to reject it cos' she doesn't like the taste.

Hi Van, thanks for the feedback on the thermal pots! I'll wait for the year end sale and get the Tiger pot for my sis for Christmas cos' I bought her something else already! The TCM course sounds interesting, but 7 Sats a big commitment for me - plus the course is in Mandarin, right? I could barely read the course outline! I find that you're really knowledgeable in TCM and nutrition, so I give you moral support to go and bring your culinary and TCM skills to a higher level!

Hi Cat, it's better to switch to LCD if you plan to let your son use it - gentler on kids' eyes. Read in the earlier post that you took a week's break from work - that's good! You need to rest more as you're coming to your 3rd Trimester. Thought of any baby names yet?

Hi sp, your cupcakes sound really easy to make. Did you bake it in your toaster or oven? Those small cupcake paper liners hold their shapes well on its own without the use of muffin trays. My 2 muffin trays from PH can keep in the storeroom already!

Hi ann, it's a good idea to give your son the zhi ke tang. My dd was already recovering from her flu and fever last weekend and when her cough started, I didn't watch her diet properly and allowed her to have orange juice on Sun - she's been having high fever and a bad cough from Monday - I feel like I'm such a terrible mummy

Sorry for having so many grouses in today's posts!

yeah too many saturday afternoon wait can't plan for outing liao..

Last saturday started the Art class for my boy. He seems to like it, it is at the CC cheap cheap let him try if he can adapt.

last saturday i cook the salmon belly soups.

I like the salmon belly soups from Sushi Teh, very nice!
you can find the salmon belly selling at NTUC.
I just cook with chicken stock, through in the salmon, then some bean curd, some golden mushroom that's it.

ic will check out the LCD monitor. btw u know they have trade in or not huh? the old fashion screen good one leh not spoilt but dun know where to throw.
oh btw i went to the cash converter to check the juicer (only for pressing citrius fruits), they only selling at $8, i wonder how much they will pay me if i sell it there. $3? then i must well organize weekly orange/lemon/limau juice fair for my kaki? hor?

van,
7 sat is a big sacrifice for u, but if can, do go for it as I think u will truly benefit a lot from it for many years to come!

little cat,
yr salmon soup sounds nice, hehe...

annelise,
sorry to hear yr dd2 not feeling well & u not getting yr sleep. don't blame yrself lah, u thought she's ok already mah, who knows the sickness will come back one.

baked in toaster lor, no proper oven, hehe.

Hi anne,did you try using those measure syringe to feed your kids,hope it helps!

Littlecat, i love the salmon belly soup from sushi tei too,always order it when im there.
Or you can also add miso paste instead of chicken stock,or maybe chicken stock taste better?

Hello kakis!!Nice to see all of u back!

I have a nice cake recipe to share with all of you.My mother made it for my birthday when i was 7.Will post the recipe later.

Van,

Yup, I am hokkien.
Sheng Shiong at ten-mile junction has expanded quite a lot from when they first started.It's pretty big now, you should be able to find what you want.

I must make your soup soon.All that lack of sleep is making my body very "heaty".

The TCM course outline seems professional and very reasonably priced, but I am not sure if i can be present on all 7 sessions.What a great pity!

Which part of CCK are you at?Nearer to CCK mrt or Yew Tee?Hub and I will go Lot1 once a week to stock up on human food, cat food/toys/toiletries and human toiletries.

sp,

Yah loh, fever till my eyes turned red.Thanks for your concern.

LittleCat,

My LCD monitor is by Samsung, you can check it out as well.

annelise,

What about giving dd2 a little reward after she finishes her medicine?My mother did that when i was young.

Saturday afternoons usually no outings,but need to bring dd for Golf class,unless hb can committ to bring her.

<font color="0000ff">Annelise,</font>
I sympathise with you.I had problem feeding dd medicine when she was around 3 yrs old.Imagine the scene,daddy shouting and force feeding, dd and mummy both crying....

Using syringe helps,but sometimes she still spat out after that.We tried mixing in milk,then she rejected milk.Then we tried giving her something sweet immediately after every sip of the medicine,did help.

I found those chocolates and acidic fruits really bad for cough and phlegm.Oranges,grapes,Del Monte Bananas,Fuji apples are big NO NO. In fact, when dd has cough, I try not to give her fruits,I gave her vitamins as supplements.

<font color="119911">Littlecat,</font>
If only few dollars, might as well keep the juicer.

I donated my old monitor to dd's school.Another one I sell to Karang Guni, only $3!

Does the salmon belly have "fishy" smell?

My dd also attended art class at RC for about 1 yr plus, only $45 for 2 mths,cheap and good.Has since stopped cos no time.

<font color="aa00aa">sp,</font>
still no plan to get an oven is it?

<font color="ff6000">Amelia,</font>
You made your grocery shopping sounds funny!

I stay opposite Lot 1.Can wave to you from my study room if you stand at the Sugar Cane juice kiosk.

Thanks for updating me about Sheng Song.Will go there may be next week.

Hey, going to have a big pasa malam soon.My dd looking forward to take the rides.

<font color="119911">hmmm.....Sophie still MIA...</font>

annelise, oh so poor thing the dd and the parents!
My son was like that! we use cane, use sweet, talk till sliva dried up.. i know how u feel!
Then kena lecture by our family doc. he said u must do it no matter how much he/she spit out! he said once he/she know that u won't 'force' after awhile then they just dun drink. His method is go to the toilet, if he spit out, feed again. then just wash up.
aiyoh say is easy lor.. my son somemore is those 'cow strenght type'. very difficult to hold him and feed.
but hor after awhile he some how can drink liao. now no problem feeding medicine.
that was once his fever very high, so we feed him buffen, orange flavour, he likes the taste so no problem feeding.
later his fever drop not so high, so i give paracetemol, (sorry about spelling), he said he want orange flavour one refues to take the cherry taste. so i got to go find the orange flavour panadol syrup from pharmacy.

worst come to worst use the buttock one.

Anne, please take care of yourself too.

Fruity Flan by Betty Yew

Sponge Base

3 eggs
90g ( 3oz) castor sugar
90g ( 3oz) self raising flour &amp; 1 teaspoons baking powder { sifted together}
1 tablespoons corn oil
11/2 tablespoons fruit syrup

Topping

1 small can ( 312g/11oz) mandarin oranges
1 small can ( 425g/15oz) peach halves
1 small can ( 454g/ 1lb) pear halves
some maraschino cherries, halved
1 cup whipped cream

Method ( Bake at 175C for 15 minutes)

Grease the sides and line the base of a 10 inches round cake tin with greased greaseproof paper.

Whisk eggs and castor sugar until thick and white. Sift in dry ingredients and fold quickly and thoroughly with a metal spoon. Stir in corn oil and fruit syrup. Bake in moderate oven for 15 minutes until golden brown in colour.

When cool, remove paper lining and place cake on a serving plate.

Drain syrup from canned fruits. Reserve a little syrup. Arrange fruit and maraschino cherries as desired. Spoon 1-2 tablespoons of reserves syrup over fruit. Decorate with whipped cream and serve chilled.

Van,

I am trying to recall if there's a sugar cane stall.Is it below one of the blocks?

Good, I finally get a chance to taste the famous Ramly Burger.

Amelia,
The stall is where Coffeebean used to be,near MRT station.They sell sugar cane juice,corn etc.

Ramly burger nice? no wonder always see people queueing up.I like Man Jian Kueh,Tapioca cake,sharks fins soup...

Van,

Ok,I know which stall.That means your block should be right across the big field?

I like Mian Jian Guo and tapioca cake too.There's this stall at chinatown that sells nice Mian Jian Guo..there's always a queue.

Ramly Burger originates from m'sia and I hear it's very good.Been wanting to try but keep forgetting.

Have you tried the high-tea at Goodwood Park hotel? I have tried the lunch there but not the high-tea.Is the Local High-Tea ok?Buffet style or ala carte? Hub and I would like to go there for our 4th wedding anniversary.