Cooking Tips & Recipe

Choc,
Woah, I read your post last night and I dreamt of mao shan wang! Dreamt that I freezed some durian pulp for the off-season to make durian cake cos cannot eat now due to bad throat.

Anyway, I went to see western doc for my throat liao, cos the Chinese med not working this time round. Doc said I've got sensitive nose and throat, and probably breathe with my mouth at night that's why throat is so inflammed. Gotta take antibiotics now. He thinks it's the haze, esp. the 7th-mth burning that's probably triggered it... he's been seeing lots more kids with asthma being triggered this month due to the air quality.

What cream did you use for your carbonara that is so creamy? Hee, the cream will help your baby put on more weight!

btw, I've developed that acquired taste for Natto beans! Now I eat it for lunch when I don't have time to make any dishes... just natto and seasoned/toasted Korean seaweed over white rice

Choc06

Thanks for your info.I will try and try till I perfect my tie ban toufu and then share recipe with you okay.Kids love the one that done by lemon grass, so I have been going back for three times just to remember the taste and will trial it again...Think its the technique in mixing and cooking the ingredients....trust that the seasoning is right...just the style is not there yet....

Durian
I ate some last week and instantly run a low grade fever...now dare not eat it liao

Huskie
Oh dear, must be the haze cum some heatiness,do take special care.

Dinner
What are mummies here cooking today?Me quite standard,one hew pouh soup, bean paste fried fish and a chillie veg....

Haha husk,
The frozen mao shan wang is like ice cream !
My dd2 also kena a bout of asthmatic attack few weeks ago, also due to the burning !
Looks like your body really very heaty, drink more liang cha.. i always get the bottled ones from Fu hua..

I used the whole cup of bulla cream.. heehee.. 1 and 1/2 boxes of mushrooms and 100gm of bacon.. Tot, i could have 2 portions.. ended up with one portion only.. full of cream.. dd1 said 'mum, next time don't put so much oil"

Hey husk,
natto beans with the multi grain rice also nice, I also wrap natto rice in seaweed and eat .. Now that you mentioned, better get some and stock up for rainy days

k, joy, will wait for your tie ban tofu recipe. Hopefully easy peasy one..
Fried sakura chicken with ginger strips and button mushrooms for lunch today.. the chicken was very fresh and no poultry smell!

Huskie, Sherwin suffered the same thing, sensitive nose and GP said the same thing this mth is the worse cos of the praying.

Choc/huskie, what's Natto beans?

Gig,
Natto beans are fermented soy beans, i think, very high in enzymes, very nutritious. The japs eat them with their staple.
It's a bit 'smelly, fermented', can be found in bishan NTUC, isetan, in styrofoam box packing.. cold section.
Aft your rice is cooked, just mix in the natto beans and the seasoning provided, have it with seaweed

i had try making yam paste last nite for dessert and it turn out to be quite nice...heres the recipe if you all like to try out

Ingredients :

500g Yam (skinless)
120g cooking oil
10 shallots (sliced)
200g sugar
200g thick coconut milk
Gingko nuts

Method:

1. Slice yam into ½" thick slices and steam over high heat till completely cooked and soften, while hot, blend in a blender with water to a smooth paste
2. Sauté shallots in hot oil till golden, dish out shallots
3. Add yam paste together with sugar, stirring constantly till almost dry, remove from heat
4. Dish into a big bowl, serve with gingko nuts and thick coconut milk

I jus boil the ginko nuts till cooked...hubby commented should have add some sugar to cook it so tt the dessert taste better....

Joy,
Yeah, it's the haze... sian, finished my course of antibiotics liao, but ulcer still there... went to see doc again, and this time he gave me stronger antibiotics "Augmetin"

Choc,
Hee, I think I should go freeze some mao shan wang for off-season and hopefully when my throat is better then

Hey, I like the idea of natto with multigrain rice and wrapped in seaweed style, so creative! Will try one of these days. Must wrap until nice nice like onigiri or not? I have no idea how to wrap onigiri, plus too lazy haha!

Hee, one whole tub of cream is quite a lot, no wonder your poor dd complained. But the cream will be good for your little one inside your tummy to put on more weight!

Gig,
Hope Sherwin is not too badly affected by the haze.
Does he sleep in aircon room?
Soph never sleep in aircon room, but the weather is just too hot and haze too bad, so now I turn on aircon for her... a warm 26 degrees so it doesn't dry her throat out.

lilipit,
Thanks for the onigiri link!
Welcome to the cooking thread

Ivena,
I love "Oh-ni"! *drool*
It's such a teochew thing
all my siblings love it actually.

Gals, any child friendly family restaurant u guys knows. I wanted to bring ds and some kids out.

Choc, I just bake cookies over the wkend for teacher's day gift. Went shopping but dun seem to find anything suitable for the cc.

twinkle,

i just bought some microwaveable containers and small stationery boxes for teachers' day. Baking cookies is such a nice and sweet idea, i wanted to do that last yr, but found no time

So how did you pack your cookies?

Globetrotters is a great place for kids.. the menu is so so only, there's a play room for kids under age 8, and someone to look after them, while you can yak with your friends..

Wah husk, you taking augmentin? yah.. it's strong..Take care and load up on your probiotics!
Gyn advised me to drink lots of full cream milk.. ai yo.. can't stomach too much of that..

lilipit, thanks for the link ..

Ivena, wow.. I was thinking about oh ni too.. one of my pregnancy cravings! But these days, just don't have energy to do anything.. waiting impatiently for bb to pop !

Today, i just fried rice with mixed veg and marmite.. and cooked a pot of liu wei tang

hmmm...im also thinking wat can i get for my son's teachers....maybe make a cheesecake for them to share...

twinkle,

how abt e disney restaurant at anchor point...not sure if e food is nice cos neber dine there before...but always see crowd during dinner time...

choc,

how does marmite fried rice taste?...i only mixed marmite when i cook fish porridge....mixed with lotsa pepper n ginger....taste yummy.....

tonite having porridge as i have been eating a lot during the wkend...went for steamboat buffet....prefer something simple....

choc,

i bought a candle holder fm Daiso , very cheap then i wrapped up and find it too hollow so bake cookies and put inside lor. at least now look better

Ivena/choc,
ya globtrotter the food so so only. I been to Disney place their pizza is nice but the pasta is too little cannot even filled my boy stomach. U r right very crowded and all big kids tend to fight over the internet area.

Marmite fried nice, sound like a good receipe, i must try some day.

me make steamed fish and chicken soup tonight.

Mummy

So much about teacher's day...My gal just bought a stalk of flower from popular...no need to think so much...She has never given any teacher anything since preschool as we find it too commercialise....

Cooking
Today, I just steam fish, stir fried mix veg and a chillie binja....

Ivena,, twinkle
heehee.. marmite fried rice tastes kiam kiam.. sometimes I use bovril.. Dunno what else seasoning I can add to fried rice, except salt oter sauce.. thought marmite better than oyster..

wow ivena, what kind of cheesecake you making ?

Hey twinkle, you are very creative and admire your effort! Last yr, I bought some small tupperware container, tot wanted to put some cookies inside, end up put some chocolates and sweets..

choc

hmmm...how abt sambal fried rice...quite like those selling at the foodcourt where they serve in in a small wok...but i find they put quite a fair bit of msg cos after eating i feel so thirsty...

when i run out of idea of wat seasoning to add to fried rice...i just fried rice using sesame oil n ginger...when almost done...add in beaten egg...though simple but taste good...duringduring confinement surely will request for this...hehe....

i made oreo cheesecake...no baking required...simple to do...

Choc, this is the first time I heard of frying rice with marmite leh. Hahaha...

Ivena, can I have the recipe of orea cheesecake? Feel like eating cheesecake.... hehhe......

Giggler,

recipe for OREO CHEESE CAKE

Crust:
200g Oreo cookies, removed filling and pressed into crumbs
165g melted butter

Filling:
Ingredients A:
250g fresh cream
¼ tsp mango essence

Ingredients B:
20g gelatine powder
60g boiling water

Ingredients C:
150g mango juice (Peel Fresh)
25g lemon juice

Ingredients D:
500g cream cheese (leaves at room temp. ½ hour)
150g icing sugar

Method:
1. Combine oreo biscuit crumbs and melted butter
2. Press into cake tin base evenly and chill to harden
3. Whisk Ingredient A (Fresh cream and mango essence) at medium speed till creamy, chill in the fridge
4. Dissolve gelatine in boiling water, leaves to cool
5. Mix Ingredient C (mango juice and lemon juice) till well combined, for use later
6. Beat cream cheese and icing sugar till light and fluffy at medium speed
7. Mix in mango juice mixture at low speed
8. Add cooled gelatine mixture and mix well
9. Combine whisked fresh cream evenly in 3 additions
10. Pour cheese mixture into cake tin with biscuits base, chill in the fridge for 5-6 hours, best chill overnight

Good morning ladies...

How's everyone??

Huskie,
How's ur throat? Getting better?

choc,
marmite with fried rice...something new to me, is it difficult to mix with the rice?
Now I'm abit sianz on my confinement food, haven't start my pig trotters yet, going soon and hope will not be bore by the food.

lilipit,
Thanks for the cooking video, it look good.

Giggler,
ya...agreed Dr chan is very ex and good but hey...my current gynae is good too hee...In fact I really appreciate what he had done for me ,he cut away my old keloid and stitch it inside my skin for me so I will not grow keloid outside my skin and my recovery is better than my previous.
My anaesthetist is Dr Phua WT, I'm having GA, so not sure how is epi like doing from him. So far so good, he's abit strict cos when in the op theatre, I'm keep insisting on epi and he says...If you are my sister, I will ask you to go for GA, is better for you and might not really good for ur spine etc...
Athought he is serious type but he joke too, he ask my hb name and ask where I know him so I reply library and he shouted bull shit hahaha...
The rooms are ok,if want privacy and peace, shld opt for single room. I have chosen a double bedded room and my neighbour is very noisy and no privacy cos when I'm lying down the next day aft op and nurses did not close the curtain so the visitors leep passing me and look at me, aiyo...I feel so uncomfortable so my hb change to single room which is so much better. oh yes...5th and 6th floor got the best room, can request for it. Choc am I right?

Ivena,
Thanks for the recipe! I'm craving for sweet stuff like cakes.

Joy and twinkle,
check with you, is eunos or bedok route always jam?

HI ANN..
Haha.. your anaesthetist really got a sense of humour..
Glad you sounded so well and good! So how's the feeling of holding no.3 in your hands ? So you confirm close factory liao?

Maybe you serve the net for more ideas on confinement food.. Your helper doing conf for you or CL ?

Dunno if can choose the level of the ward leh.. Was given 3rd and 5th floor before.. think 6th floor is the suite ?

Husk, didn't hear from you.. you ok bo?

Eh Gig, twinkle
If you like kiam and marmite taste, try the fried rice with marmite.. When you frying the rice half way thru, can add one and half tsp of marmite.. and sesame oil..

Hey ivena, thanks for the cheesecake recipe, will do that aft i pop no.4 .. heehee.. my no.3 loves cheese..
I like fried rice with ginger and sesame oil too.. can eat 2 bowls of it
YUM!

Choc Choc,
I'm OK... heee, just busy with a few projects now... Photobook, making arrangements with my friend on holiday (I'm going to Darwin
) and doing up a blog.
If you guys wanna see some of the stuff I made for Sophie, you can check them out here http://myfrozentime.blogspot.com/

ann,
Yes, you sound really good and well for someone who's just given birth!
I remember I was constantly tired during confinement and didn't even have mood to log on Internet.

Your gynae is so impressive, can stitch from inside? My wound is a angry red-looking millipede!
And yes, your anaesthesist is a funny man.

It must be so heartwarming to be holding #3 in your arms. Maybe that will make you think of having #4?

This morning hubby just told me Soph is so cute, and that he wants #2 now, but is afraid I cannot cope.

Joy,
Thanks...haiz...dunno where to chose now, will just let my hb decide.

choc and huskie,
Confirmed close factory liao hee... Feel so contented when holding my #3. So far he hehave guai guai, seldom cry and love to sleep, dunno is it good or not, he seldom drink and sleep alot, sometimes I got to wake him up to feed him and is difficult to wake him up.

huskie,
At first I think my gynae is impressive too...maybe me and you stitch from the outside and got the red millipede so doesn't know much abt the outside stitch thingy but my sister told me yesterday that her gynae also do it inside stitch for her. My gynae told me stitch from inside is not easy job and he took the effort to remove my scar completely, to me, he's nice hee...

Went to your blog, sophie has grown up...pretty little girl.

Ivena, sigh... Dun think I'll make the oreo cheesecake liao, too many ingredients
later sure all wasted.

Annlee, thanks for your feedback
So your anthaestic feel that we shd not go for epi too many times? I'll check with my gynae nearer to the date of my c-section. Can you share with me your hosp bill for 1-bedded? Do you think there'll be free upgrade from 2-bedded to 1-bedded??? Hahaha..... Sounds like you're enjoying your cf.

Huskie, make a Darwin bb back hor??? Hehehe...

choc,
forgotten to mention that I have ask my CL to leave on the 2nd day. Think will definitely cannot tahan her so might as well ask her to leave asap, if not will get mentally stress.

Giggler,
Don't think there's a free upgrade for 2-bedded to 1-bedded, think only for 4 bedded for free upgrade. My hospital bill paid abt 3k+ in cash after medisave deduction. I stayed for 4 days 3 night but one night is 2 bedded. But cannot compare my bill to yours hor...cos for my case I paid quite alot of surcharge because of the horoscope time that we want, and some of the things like booking theatre, pd, etc need extra.
My anaesthetist did say not to go for too many epi, but some is ok with it after so many times. GA is not that bad, only thing is that cannot see bb immediately and my throat stuck and can't talk for afew hrs.

ha...huskie...ya lor...make a darwin bb back.

annlee,you went to feng shui shifu for horoscope time? Who is your gynae? He's very accomodating leh. The other time, Dr Chan was not willing to give in to my date and timing. Hahaha... GA not that bad??? How long did you stay unconscious after the op?

Ann,

so nice to hear from you. I think if i go for no.2 will request fm inside stitch , dislike what i hv now.

Eunos and Bedok route tends to jam but again depending where u coming fm. If from PIE is ok. mainly the Eunos jam is the junction going towards Ubi and Bedok reservoir. Also Paya lebar exit at times will jam till where the Cisco bldg. So far i am able to get home and pick DS ontime.

Choc, me no creative just saving $
Hey, I put the XO dried scallop thing in my fried rice. a bit giam and spicy butit blend well. My friend likes to put chai poh in it but my ds dun like.

ann, Gig,
Hee, no lah, cannot have a Made in Darwin baby.
I'm going with a girlfriend while hubby stays in SG to look after Soph.
I'll miss them for the week though.

ann,
What's wrong with your CL? How come need to ask her to leave on 2nd day?
In this kind of circumstances, do you still have to pay CL for the month?

Forgot to answer you - yeah, my throat is better now that I took Augmentin. Just passed by a dental clinic that has a poster saying how much bacteria can fester on a toothbrush by the 2nd day of using it i.e. from new. So now I make it a point to disinfect my toothbrush with the Oral-B mouthrinse every few days... I also started doing it with Soph's toothbrush, but with a baby-friendly mouthwash called Biotene which my PD prescribed.

starry,
I didn't know your ds was also C-sect.

Good morning mums!

Husk, you really one steady woman ! So inspired by you have sewn.. from soph's clothes to the curtains!! WOW! WOW! And WOW!

And soph is so sweet..You sure can cope with more kids;) actually hor, i find the toughest time is aft giving birth to no.2 , cos the adjustment and attention of having 2, sometimes kanang kabuk.. but aft that, it'll be a breeze.. cos the older ones will entertain themselves..

Darwin's a nice place.. esp during spring/summer..

Aiyo, thanks for the info on toothbrush.. didn't know it can be so dirty aft 2nd day!

Twinkle, I tried adding chai po into fried rice too.. but my dds didn't like them.. haiz.. sometimes, I add fried whitebait.. also kiam kiam..wow..dried scallops into fried rice,only tried that in restaurants..

Ya ann, your CL that bad huh ?

Today making Emperor chicken using Seah's marinade, and steam broccoli with rice..

What you all cooking ?

Morning

All e mention abt fried rice makes me hungry n craving for it now....

sometimes i also add crabmeat into the fried rice...can get those frozen crab claws from supermkt....

tonite not cooking cos bring my son out to get bday present for his classmates bday tomolo...

Ivena and choc,
how do you make your sesame oil ginger fried rice with egg??

Giggler,
yes...I went to a fengshui shifu for horoscope time, you want? can recommend you. My gynae is LC Cheng. At first,I chose him because he allow me to chose the time that I want in the night and later realize he's good, highly recommended hee...but hor...waiting time is long. I think they wake me up when everything is done. Hb told me bb was push out 1/2hr later and I'm out abt 2hrs. I'm half conscious when out from the theatre, I remember someone was calling my name and told me my bb is out and bb weigh when inside there.

huskie,
wah...finally got a break for yourself, must really release and enjoy.

My CL attitude prob lor...told her that I want her to feed my bb breastmillk in the night that I pump out but she refuse initially cos too ley chey for her and want to feed formula so I insisted and she got no choice and give me a black face. My colostrum milk is so previous and told her many times not to use hot water to warm the milk, I don't believe her so wake up in the night and spot check and true enough she's using hot water to warm it just to be easier for her.So in the night second feed I got to wake up and do it for her and she's don't even appreciate and ignore me!! I'm actually very angry but did not show it, so how to keep her?? She wash her hands and hold bb with wet hands and when told her to dry her hand she reply, you did not see I'm drying my hand meh...!!! OMG!!! She put her smelly shoes in the room too and when told her to put them outside, she's not happy. The next morning, she just sit and walk ard in the house not preparing bb bathing or my food, so dunno I employ her for what. My maid told me in the night bb cry she simply ignore it and is true cos I saw my maid patting my bb and I'm awake because of bb cry. So where my CL?? She's in the kitchen washing her hands and when told her bb cry too long, she just ignore me and I'm laughing cos I really dunno what to do with my CL. I will go crazy man...
Wanted to close one eye just let it but later think twice as is only the 1st day and so much prob so told my hb abt it and he's so angry and ask her to leave. My hb paid her 2 days amt+transport so she shld be happy enough.

twinkle,
Thanks for the Eunos and Bedok route, now I agar agar know where is the jam.

choc,
wah...Emperor chicken...difficult to make?

Annlee, didn’t know that there's inside stitch??? Thot they stitch from inside to outside? Can I have your contact for the fengshui shifu? How much did you pay him for the horoscope time? Abt your hosp bill, how much is your gynae's charge? I really contemplating abt 1-bedded leh, then maybe my gal can stay with me. Hehhee...... You made the right decision to ask the CL to leave!!! So sian that you met such pple hor? Sigh.......

Huskie, HAHAHA!!! Sorry that I just assumed you gg to Darwin with your hb and Sop.

Giggler,
Here's the contact :
KX International Geomancy
Master Neo
Blk 744 Bedok Reservoir Road
#01-3047
Tel: 64522137/64432137
Look for wendy or anyone there to book appt.

My gynae antenatal package is $2275 include scheduled cosultantions and cover all types of delivery including caesarean section.
Now you book him abit not worth cos you're half way to deliver but then still cheaper than Dr chan hee...

I only know there's stitch inside from Dr Cheng when he told me few days ago

ya lor...I think I made the right decision to ask my CL to leave, now mentally so good, no stress from her somemore.

annlee
Think you make a good decision in sacking this type of lousy attitude CL.Lucky you have a maid to help around...is your maid go?

Cooking
Still thinking whether to cook or not, as day in and day out cook, can get tire.

School Holiday
sept holiday just next week, what are you all doing>Me super stressed up now as that is the week to prepare my gal for exam....

Soph mummy
Do have a good trip,your hubby is so nice to take over soph. I wish I can drop my two kids to my hubby and I go relax but I know I cannot let go cos I dont trust the way hubby take care of chidlren...start feeding all the heaty staff, stand one corner look at things, and leave my son running about in the toy stores....etc

Choc,
Thanks. I'm sure you can also sew lots of stuff, but not easy with 3 + 1 kids. Think if I have 2, I may not have stamina to do these stuff liao.

Hee, #2 really sounds easy for you, but I think Soph is a bit of a attention queen. Then again, I think because of this, a #2 may be good cos then she'll learn that the whole world does not revolve around her

OK OK, will TTC for #2 after I come back from Darwin

If got any problem, I will seek your expertise!

Tonight very sian, dunno what to cook. Had a steamed chicken and vege + rice shared with Soph during lunch. Maybe will cook a steamed fish for dinner.

Yesterday went to Comex at Suntec, but no time to check out the Korean food at Ya Zhou Cafe cos was rushing to United Square. Then tabao-ed food home... woah, I didn't realise eating out even at foodcourt is so expensive now... a Korean set cost $8.10 to tabao!

ann,
Your CL is terrible! Must be the lazy kind who don't wanna wake up in the night to constantly feed baby, so just wanna feed baby FM. And use hot water to heat up milk? All the enzymes and antibodies all heated to death liao lah.
Can you PM me her name so I can put her on my "blacklist" in case next time I wanna look for CL?
I think your maid probably more capable and caring than your CL... maybe your maid can help out with baby.
The shoes incident is disgusting too!

Thanks for info on CL payment. Cos I'm always afraid if one day have to send CL back, then how to settle payment...

Hey, not sure if you're in a hurry for the sesame oil ginger fried rice with egg, but if you are, I've taken the liberty to type this recipe out for you... it's taken from the confinement recipe book by Ng Mui something (sorry I cannot remember her name).

Fried Rice with Ginger and Egg
10g old ginger, shredded
1 egg beaten
1 rice bowl cooked rice
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1/4 teaspoon salt (optional)

1. Heat sesame oil in wok. When oil is hot, fry shredded ginger till fragrant.
2. Stir in beaten egg and fry till slightly golden brown.
3. Add cooked rice and salt (optional). Fry well for 3 mins. This dish must be eaten hot.

*This should be the first solid food eaten by new mother even while she is in hospital. Accompanied by red dates tea, this dish helps alleviate first sign of wind after delivery.

Gig,
Hee, I also wish can go to Darwin with hb and Soph, but aiyoh, everytime Soph goes on a holiday, her sleep pattern gets disrupted, then come back will be super siong for me!

Huskie,
Njouy yr holiday, u deserve a good break.

Ann,
yr CL so problematic, lucky u discover early otherwise too stress will get blues.

It's TGIF me not cooking

Annlee, thanks for the contact.
Dr Chan's fee for c-section alr more than $2k leh, excl pre-natal consultation. Hahaha... Dr Cheng's fee so cheap? How much did you pay Master Neo for the horoscope timing?

Annlee/huskie, how are we suppose to heat bm if we cant use hot water?

Huskie, dun worry abt Sop during your holiday, must have confidence in your hb.

Wah Ann,
your CL sounds terrible and stubborn leh.. If got to put up with her for a month, I'll also go crazy!So who's helping you with the cooking now?

I used the SEAH's emperor chicken seasoning to marinate the chicken. I did on half chicken only n marinated for only a few hrs, not lu wei enough.

The SEAH's seasoning contains herbs and powdered seasoning plus a cellophane paper n aluminum foil. So aft marinating for a night, you can just wrap up the chicken and steam for 2 hrs .. very nice..

Yah husk's recipe on the ginger fried rice is same one as mine..

Also, I saw another recipe.. fried sliced ginger with sliced black fungus.. then add chinese wine.. yummy also..

My CL will also use dang shen, red dates to make soup base every time.. Add kidneys, liver, mee sua and then add wine.. One dish done!

Joy, high five.. also preparing dd1 for exams
plus gr one music exam.. what a nice way to spend the sept hols!

Husk, when you going to Darwin ?

Hi Choc06

Think maybe only you and me will log on to the web on a weekend like this, as usually people are out kai kai...

Am rushing my gal to finish all the revision plan subject by subject before we go out, at the same time, maid mop the two floor upstairs when am home...or she will cut corner...

I bring my gal out everyday regardless school day or not but bottom line she must get some workds done....

Maybe both of us can share the up and down for this sept holiday.....

Gig,
LC told us during class that we're supposed to use warm water, not hot water. Cos hot water kills off the antibodies. So hubby always patiently use warm water to heat up bm.

Choc,
I'm going to Darwin on 26 Sep. Not very long, just about 6 days. My friend will be heading off to Ayers Rock, but I think it'll be too long for me... I'll miss Soph, so I'll head back to SG by myself first

Huskie

Dont think so much when you decide to go for the trip.A friend of mine, is leaving her teenage kid, a baby and hubby back home with the maid, and hands free go shopping...She feels that if really wanna set off the trip, must really enjoy yourself, as you dont do it all the time, esp you also know that your kid is in good hand....

As I have said, if I have someone reliable to take care of both my kids, I will do likewise.When they are really big enough,you will be worry no one supervise their work....

huskie,
ya lor...you're right, can't imagine my precious milk turn to a waste.
And also if you're sending CL back, never pay them full amt if wanna sack them, why shld we pay them so much since they're lousy.

Thank you so much for the fried rice recipe! Have tried it and taste good. Is such a simple dish and good.

Have been using Sakura chicken, taste better than normal chicken.

giggler,
Actually Dr Cheng charges is quite reasonable but do take note that he might want you to do more tests, like ultra sound, blood tests, all these need $$$. He's unlike Dr chan,one triple test and that's it. Dr cheng wants the test as I'm not starting seeing him from the beginning so he need more tests to make sure everything is well on me. Also don't expect 3 or 4D scan from Dr cheng and service from Dr chan's clinic. Dr cheng's clinic there's a total of 5-6 gynae if not wrong and there's only 1 reception counter and we need to weigh ourselves and need to collect our urine to go to another room to do urine test. At first is abit 'ma fan' but after that I'm used to it. The waiting is very long, will take my time to go for lunch with my hb after I weigh myself and inform them I'm there.

Abt Master Neo, I forgotten how much I paid for it, ard $200-300. Do call up and check cos they might change to newer package?

Huskie is right abt warming breastmilk, will kills off the antibodies, so need to use warm water to warm it patiently.

choc,
Thanks for the SEAH's emperor chicken seasoning. can get from NTUC right?
I also cook kidney, liver the same like yours.
Any other recipe for chicken dishes? So far have been using yellow wine, DOM, wincarnis and gg to try brandy soon.

Joy,
ya...my maid has been doing confinement for me. So far so good. Maybe she's afraid that I might lecture her if done anything wrong and so far she has been very careful and clean when handling baby, unlike ly last 2 CL, quite dirty and my 2nd ds skin grows rashes on face, but this time my bb is fine.
My maid don't know abt confinement food so I got to teach her but luckily she can understand once or twice or else I will vomit blood by teaching her.

Huskie, ya ya... Now I rem liao, cant use hot water to heat up bm. Hehehe...

Annlee, $200-300 for Master Neo is ok, I ever came across one master charging me for $800 for horoscope timing and name. Too ex for my pocket so didn’t consult, anyway Dr Chan not as accomodating lor. Your maid is gd

Thank You Everyone for the well-wishes.

How are all the mummies doing?

following is my brief birth story...

8th aug
starting to have irregular lower back pain and anus pain.
frequency abt once or twice an hour.
was thinking baby pressing onto the nerves.. did not do anything abt it.. except to remain still when the pain strikes.
went taka baby fair to check out if any good bargains

9th aug
4+am very intense but irregular lower back pain and anus pain.
could not sleep.. so woke up tp read newspaper.
and kept asking baby shift a bit and pls do not press press on my nerves leh.
then husband and boy woke up abt 8am.
thinking no signs of national day baby... so went mcdonalds for breakfast.
then isetan scotts to get birthday gift for uncle.
sister's place for lunch... then mum's place to nua.
all these while feeling on/off quite unbearable lower back and anus pain.
and trying to freeze whenever the pain strikes.
then went uncle's place for dinner with the whole clan.
everyone asking why no national day baby.
7+pm, getting exhausted fm the pain. so suggest to husband we go home first.
9+pm, the lower back and anus pain getting more intense and regular and unbearable. called tmc to check if i should go down for a check.
burse says better to go over as seems like its labour pain.
shocked that lower back and anus pain is sign of on coming labour.
put the boy to bed and at the same time started to get tummy contactions at 10+pm.
boy finally slept and called sis and bil to come jagar maid and boy.
left for tmc at 11+pm.
timed contractions in the car and its 5 mins apart.
before reaching tmc, detoured (not for mac this time) cos not all the way and 5 mins apart contractions.
felt hungry so the husband went 7-11 to buy chicken essence and muffin and gobbled them up before turning into tmc.

10 aug
first thing when reach tmc was to ask nurse pls give me hapi-dural.
was sniffing the laughing gas like a drug addict before given hapi dural.
dr chong is good... so choc and giggler can ask for him to administer the hapi dural...
after hapi dural..can even sms and watch olypmics...
and was 3 cm dilated.
6+am, nurse says soon and called gynae.
gynae arrived and we joked etc.
and finally fully dilated and ready to push..
gynae was trying not to use forcep or vacuum and kept asking me to push and joking at the same time.
but after a while baby's heartbeat slowed and nurse kept pushing the oxygen mask. then gynae decided must use vacuum.
and saw gynae's face changed. no more jokes... and kept telling the nurse to push my tummy and ask me to push.
and gynae said baby's umbilical cord ard her neck tightly.
but luckily baby not affected and came out safe and sound.

have been busy with no.1 and no.2.
confinement lady went back yesterday afternoon and maid just came back fm home leave this morning.
when confinement lady left... my boy cried badly...
choc..say like yr girls leh.. but my boy cried also becos he thought the auntie going gai gai and he wants to follow.
auntie did not look back... luckily she did not... cos very malu.. i teared a little also...

now guiding my boy like a hawk... cos worried he will attack the sister.
the sister oredi kena pimch on the cheeks and forhead and poke in the eyes.. he even attempt to bite the sister.

now baby sleeping and the husband brought the boy to pil's place.
me taking a break.

how's pinkbunny coping with little bunny?

huskie enjoy yr holidays.

giggler, u told yr family abt yr pregnancy?

ann, u must be enjoying confinement food now. how's the 3 boys doing?

choc, di di still like super glue?
u must rest more and eat more durians. ;)
my girl grew quite abit fm 36 weeks with my durian diet. ;)
hmmm... now school holidays must be busy with the 2 jie jies also. ;)

joy, yr husband really have very 'high taste'.
wondering is he a good cook himself?? ot taste bud spoilt by yr mil.

sorry.. just briefly read thr the thread... sorry if i miss out anything.

the baby waking soon.... will go moo moo...

cookiemonster

Thanks for the time to write...hope you are coping well.

You must be busy handling baby and two older kids.I know why you meant by you tear a bit when cl left...me too cos I know it will be too much for me to handle the baby myself...

You are right, my hubby very high taste.Spoilt by mil...as you know, baba are very good cook...My hubby does not know how to cook but know how to critise...

You take care.

cookiemonster, sound like you've got a gd cf lady to help you out.
Now the whole world know I preg liao cos tummy is obvious now
You take care, look fwd to see pic of your bb.

Hi cookie, glad to hear from you!
Now didi goes around biting my nieces and preys on both young and old!Haiz... My friend had to warn his dog that my boy will bite..

Think when bb comes out, i have to have extra pair of eyes to jagar them!
He's less sticky now tho, but very mischievous..

Take care and go slow hor..

Gig, I also kept my pg until my tummy showed! haha.. How many months are you now?

Joy, me preparing for no.1's exam.. doing revision whole of last wk.. very tiring man!

Last sat, went to malaca and jb with my sis and her church friends.. Nothing much in malaca.. but bought 2 large pizzas home to freeze them, so we can have them for meals that I don't have time to prepare.. very cheap and nice.. 40 ring for 2 large ones..

Today stewing pork( shoulder butt) with tau kua and tau pok.. and steam broccoli with rice..
Season with garlic, black sauce, oyster sauce,sugar, cinnamon sticks and anise star

How's everybody and what you all preparing?

Joy,
my husband also tastebud spoilt. everything i cook he will tell me still have got room for improvement. sigh.... hard to pls...

Giggler,
heee... u no longer need to worry abt how to announce yr pregnancy ;)

Choc,
Good that didi is less sticky.
looks like all our doggie babies have bad habit of biting.
my boy now super cranky (or should i term it nicer... emotional)... cry and whines over the slightest thing. and he is refusing to sleep. every afternoon nap and night is a chore... and got to use my 'ta gou ban' to show him my power! very jia luk now
can check with u how long do u stew the pork? i tried a few times but always unsuccessful. the pork is always not tender...very tough.

tonight steaming chicken with gou qi zi, bei qi, tang sheng, huai shan, yu zhu and red dates.
stir fry xiao bai cai and stir fry tomato with egg.

should be doing some office stuff instead of checking out the forum... better be more discipline and go do my work before the children wakes up...

and huskie went holiday?